Free Shipping and BOPIS
Discontinued

Brush Master

Model # CH3-WO

Internet # 203128361

11 HP 270 cc Gas Commercial-Duty Chipper Shredder with 3 in. x 3 in. dia. Feed with Bonus Kit

This item has been discontinued.
The Home Depot no longer carries this specific product.

$1,029.00 /each

Loading...

PRODUCT OVERVIEW

Model # CH3-WO

Internet # 203128361

This powerful Brush Master chipper shredder with bonus kit has a 11 HP co mmercial duty engine. Features a 2-way feed including over-sized funnel for leaves, an ATV or lawn and garden trailer hitch, and a chip collection bag. Self feeds and chips up to 3 in. diameter branches, turning yard waste into useful 1/4 in. mulch. This chipper is belt driven and equipped with a centrifugal clutch to protect the engine. Transforms 12 bags of yard waste into 1 bag of chips. Ideal for landscapers, large lot owners, rental, and yard clean up. This environmentally responsible product keeps yard waste out of landfills. Bonus kit includes chip collection bag, trailer hitch, an extra belt, and two extra blades.

  • Transforms 3 in. x 3 in. dia. branches and debris into 1/4 in. chips
  • 2-Way feed; side chute and over-sized top funnel for leaves
  • Equipped with safety mechanism centrifugal clutch to protect engine
  • 11-HP, 270 cc co mmercial-duty engine with automatic low-oil shutdown
  • Environmentally responsible; transforms 12 bags of yard waste into 1 bag of chips
  • Hardened steel cutting blade and 16 ha mmers for chipping efficiency
  • Solid heavy gauge steel construction for durability
  • Includes a trailer hitch, chip collection bag, belt and 2-extra blades
  • Only minimal assembly required
  • Home Depot Protection Plan:

    Home Depot Protection Plan

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

SPECIFICATIONS

Dimensions
Product Depth (in.) 
29.5 
Product Height (in.) 
44.5 
Product Width (in.) 
34.5 
Details
Bag/maximum load capacity (bushels) 
6.5 
CA (CARB) Compliant 
Not CARB Compliant 
Chipper blade material 
Steel 
Chipper capacity (in.) 
Commercial 
Yes 
Engine Displacement (cc) 
270 
Engine Type 
OHV 
Engine torque (ft.-lb.) 
11.8 
Feed capacity (in.) 
Fuel tank capacity (oz.) 
179.2 
Housing Material 
Steel 
Power Type 
Gas 
Product Weight (lb.) 
275 lb 
Reconditioned 
No 
Returnable 
30-Day 
Self-Feeding 
Yes 
Start Type 
Manual 
Translucent fuel tank 
No 
Wheels 
Yes 
Warranty / Certifications
Manufacturer Warranty 
one year limited 

CUSTOMER REVIEWS

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 78 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Chipper Jammed with Every Use - Doesn't self-feed Chipper jams every time I use it. It jams regardless of branch diameter. It doesn't self-feed. While it's running it chips up branches with a diameter of 2" or less fairly well. It struggles with 2"-3" branches. The jams occur because it doesn't self-feed. As you feed branches into the chipper funnel I have to push them into the chipper or they will not feed at all. Once they are entirely inside the funnel all I can do is try to mash them into the chipper with another branch. In the end there will inevitably be the last branch jammed in the chipper blades which makes starting it up for the next use impossible without unjamming it. I've taken off the belt cover so I can check to see if the belt moves freely before I try to start the machine. If the belt doesn't move the machine is jammed. May 23, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by So far, so good Even with a lot of mixed reviews on this item lately, I must say that so far (10 hours of run time) this has been the right selection for us. Assembly is easy. However, a couple of the factory installed engine mount nuts were loose, but after going over the machine and oiling up, the engine pulls and starts easily. The decal does have the choke position backwards, but the little embossed plastic detail is actually correct. It is a heavy and bulky machine, not really intended for movng around on rough terrain by hand. Best moved by towing behind garden tractor/mower. In mild hardness woods it eats branches up to 3" very easily. The inlet however has an oval, size restrictor plate that tends to catch smaller off shoot limbs and prevents smooth feed. The plate is riveted on. Competitor models do not have this type of restrictor. Keep your pruner / lopper handy to clip offshoot limbs even down to 1/2" if two or more branch off near one another. This seems to be the best value (dollars per horsepower), The real payback is the nice volume of wood chips being produced. February 19, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Machine I purchased the brush Master CH3 two years ago. It has been fantastic! My land is quite wooded and I have used this machine more than it probably should be used for private use. It starts easily and does an excellent job of chipping tree limbs up to 3 inches in Diameter. Because of the low retail price, I thought for sure it would not last very long with the amount of limbs I would be putting through this chipper. Now I see why they call it "Commercial Duty" In essence, this is a great chipper and for the money, nothing can beat it! July 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by 11 HP Gas Commercial - Duty Chipper Shredder Just got the unit and have put about 5 hours on it chipping, shredding limbs from about 10 trees. Unit worked very well. Was easy to start. Small limbs (2 inch diameter) went through very quickly. Only issue was with the collection bag which lasted one loading then the grommets ripped from the bag. With that said, went and placed a small tarp under the discharge which worked just fine. So far, so good! August 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best home owner model I have ever seen. My wife and I have used this model for two years and haven't changed the blade yet. We have over a hundred trees and shrubs on one and a half acres so we have a lot to trim every year. Do your chipping while branches are green. You'll be happy with this model if you do not try to chip large dry hard wood. Makes great smoker chips! Built like a tank, no cheap plastic. Screw your head on right before you use it and you'll be happy with it. March 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by This thing is awesome! Picked this up at the store today--fit in the back of grand cherokee. Got 10% off using a coupon from a competitor-- Home Depot honored the coupon without question. I got it home, filled the oil and the gas and started it right up. It ran almost nonstop for over 6 hours without a problem. I was able to get rid of about a dumptruck full of tree branches and limbs by myself without much trouble. As long as the wood can fit in the chute this thing will have no problem chopping it up, and it chips the wood to not much bigger than sawdust size pieces. I was considering getting the 14 hp model, but I'm glad I didn't because this 11 hp model did everthing I needed it to do. November 11, 2009
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by used it twice then it wouldn't start again We used it twice for 1/2 day. Chopped stuff up pretty good. Starting (pulling cord) was difficult but not impossible. After use, emptied the gas, so it wouldn't get old and left it in the garage until spring. New gas, new oil. Wouldn't start. Could NOT pull the starter cord. Too hard to pull. Out of warranty by now. $250 repair to adjust the valves it works again. It should not have needed valve adjustment after 2 uses. I had read this on other reviews but gave it a chance. Wish I hadn't. October 27, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 3 in. 11 hp Commercial-Duty Chipper Shredder Outstanding. Exceeds all expectations. Will eat anything you throw at it. I have used it on Pine and Oak (lots of it) up to 3" thick, it just begs for more. It will certainly outwork me. Needs a smaller gas tank (so I can take more breaks). Very easy to start, wife can do it with 1 pull. Easily tows behind mower. Keep discharge chute clear for consistent size chips. January 31, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Brush Master 11HP Chipper This item arrived on a pallet and well packaged. It was easy to assemble, fill with oil (included) and gas. I wheeled it out to the garden and adjusted the discharge chute. It started on the second pull with no choke. I ran it for nearly 4 hours and fed it everything from dry cedar to green birch limbs, garden waste and leaves. Never bogged down and ran like a champ. Ran it out of fuel but was done for the day. Second use filled it up and it started with the choke on first pull! Very hardy platform. Blade and hammers are thick, construction of the unit overall is very sturdy. I like the draw bar and pneumatic tires. They make it easy to either move or tow. I have not tried the collection bag but it looks good enough to me. I highly recommend this chipper. It has a lot of high end features (high horsepower engine, air filled tires, belt driven, and seperate hammers and cutting blades. Well painted and well engineered. December 1, 2010
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value for the money !!! Product was easier to use than expected. As long as it is not force fed or overloaded it should last forever. July 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by this chipper is a monster! This chipper gobbles up anything that fits through the chipper chute. I cleared hundreds of saplings from my woods and the chipper eats up a 20' sapling in minutes. I have to hang on to some of them to slow them down as they feed through so they don't overload the motor. The chipper is a huge work save for me because I previously had to haul the saplings up a hill to my pickup truck and haul them away. It is also a great alternative to burning which is ecologically unsound and is actually illegal in the county where I live. I love it. April 10, 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Loose Bolts & Cracks Due to Vibration I have had the CH3 chipper/shredder for about 6 months. Generally it works well and fullfills my needs on our 5 acres. However, considering what this machine is designed to do, it has vibration design issues. The branch chute is cracked at a lower weld, the gas tank is cracked at two fastening points (not leaking yet) and is currently held in place by 3 of 4 bolts (about to loose a second gas tank bolt due to cracks). Bolts are constantly vibrating loose (main pully bolt, gas tank bolts, engine bolts, leaf chute bolts, muffler bolts and muffler screen screws). I'm spending all most as much time checking and tightening bolts as I am using the product. Would not buy another one. April 12, 2010
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Tempermental I have to use starting fluid in the carb if I don't want to pull the rope for half an hour. It chewed up its first belt after a couple of months. If the engine mounting bolts are loose are not in perfect alignment the belt jumps. If you start it with a small piece of wood in the bottom of the input chute the clutch starts burning and the whole machine freaks out. I have the 3" but I treat it like a 2" to not press my luck. Other than that it will run for hours on little gas you just have to be real careful because it seems like it's looking for an excuse to break down. March 26, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by NOT BAD,,, CUD BE BETTER PROS----SEEMS WELL BUILT, ARRIVED IN GREAT SHAPE, EASY TO ASSEMBLE,,,,,,DOES A GOOD JOB ON CHIPPING LIMBS,,EASY TO START,,, SHIPPING INCLUDED CONS----OUT OF THE BOX HAS A GAS LEAK UNDER CARB, NOT SURE WHY, WILL INVESTIGATE SOMETIME SOON, CHOKE SEEMS TO OPERATE BACKWARDS FROM WHAT IS PRINTED ON CHOKE CONTROL,,,,,HAS NO SPEED CONTROL--EITHER ON OR OFF---NO BIG DEAL I GUESS,,,,,AS FAR AS LEAVES-YOU HAVE TO FEED THEM VERY VERY SLOW,,,,AS MOST REVIEWS SAID THE BAG IS PRETTY WORTHLESS VERY VERY TRUE. SEEMS LIKE ALOT OF CONS BUT FOR WHAT I NEED IT DOES A GOOD JOB April 30, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by chipper shredder powerful piece of equipment, heavy duty and performs great October 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Performance and Features Wood chippers require a good compilation of quality parts to function well and long. This machine, the "Brush Master 11 HP Commercial Duty Chipper Shredder", has just that. Knowing that the vibration would be severe, the manufacturer included needed locking steel/nylon nuts for every bolt on the machine. When torqued appropriately, nothing will fall off or vibrate loose. Additionally, the drive from the engine to hopper is via belt, rather than direct, which protects the engine from the "violence" and vibration created by the 16 rotating hammers and hardened steel blade chewing through whatever wood it is fed. The heart of the machine is the DEK 11 hp engine. It is the same size, 401 cc, as the 14 hp, just slightly down-rated in horsepower to 11, making it under-stressed. It has electronic ignition and a fine screen filter for its fuel tank - both very much appreciated. It comes with ear protector, eye protection, extra blade and belt, AND its own tools for the little assembly needed. Though rated "commercial", it easily fills the bill for anyone that has a back yard or field filled with trees, saplings, or fast growing brush. For the money, the very best choice available. October 27, 2009
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Hard workin' machine! I ordered the Brush Master 11hp chipper because of it's 3" capacity. I have a lot of wooded acerage and needed something that could handle the job. Like I said... 11HP! The unit I received came with a 14hp engine. (that's the same size that comes on the bigger model with a 4" capacity) After some easy assembely I put oil and gas in it and it started on the first pull and ran very smooth. This machine handled everything i could feed it (as long as it fit in the 3" hole. Makes nice clean 1/4" wood chips. My only real complaints on the Brush Master are 1) The discharge chute is on bottom front and hard to fill the bag. and 2) When attached to ATV for towing the feet on back only clear ground by about 3/8". Happy with it so far!!! May 11, 2010
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Unbelievable power We've the had the brush master chipper for about a year now and have used it extensively. Doing a lot of clearing, although Brazillian pepper trees, not a lot of hardwood per se. And we keep the size of the limbs limited, not the stated limit, to extend the life of the machine. This beast is worth every penny. It has never stuttered or stumbled with anything we've fed it. Most definitely recommend this product. One note to the designers though: redesign the tow bar so when towing with an ATM or lawnmower, the stabilizers aren't dragging the ground. April 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fairly easy to use, fast shredding Good product. 3" of soft wood shreds OK, hardwood doesn't go thru with out a lot of effort and banging around 1.5 - 2 usually will go thru. Leaf mulching is difficult to get to go thru shoot. Wear eye protection with leaf shoot since a lot of debris flies back up. Overall met and exceeded my expectations! Good value. January 3, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Not a bad choice if you're felling a tree once in a while. NOTE: MADE IN CHINA. This machine came well packed, with about everything anyone would need to assemble, except the oil & gas. It took me about 1 casual hour to assemble, but I like to look things over to see what makes it tick. It's a hefty machine that weighs some 275 lbs & will occupy considerable space in a garage -- less so when partially disassembled. As others have said, it started on the second pull of starter cord, and would have even started on 1st pull if I was quicker with adjusting the choke. Construction is adequate, but not refined. It runs at a steady 3600 rpm (governor-controlled), slowing down a bit when feeding larger (2 to 3") branches. I fed it hard maple, partially dried, and it took it well for the 2 hrs I've used it. However: 1) any branchlets that cannot be bent by hand to fit within the 3" limit of the chute need to be cut off before being fed. 2) there aren't any kind of feed rollers -- branches are consumed by the beveled-edge cutting action of the single, rotating, 3"-long cutting blade; this makes the branches pretty much self-feeding, although they vibrate quite a lot. Wear gloves when using, at least; goggles and ear muffs are supplied. The leaf shredding portion seems OK too, but it took me a while to realize that the protective shield in the leaf hopper apparently needs to be in place for branch chipping, but tilted up for leaf shredding. Leaves should be dry and somewhat brittle. I didn't bother using the collection bag, which other bloggers have complained about, which looks to hold about a bushel of chips/leaves. Perhaps it wouldn't be a problem when using the bag, but I found it useful to have a shovel handy to move chips from the outlet; otherwise because the outlet is close to ground level, the product pile eventually builds up and can clog up the works. July 11, 2011
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Does a good job Bought it today, used it for about 2 hrs. Seems to be ok. December 28, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Did not Work After 20 minutes of use the belt and blades ceased to work and overheated the engine. I called the manufacturer several times (had to leave messages to call back) and sent emails. The manufacturer would not respond at all to try to remedy the situation. September 23, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Does Not Meet Specification Listed The specifications say: Transforms 3 in. diameter branches to 1/4 in. wood chips Neither the length nor the thickness of the wood chips is 1/4 inch. I talked with the company: They said that the chipper shredder cannot produce 1/4 inch wood chips. My requirement was wood chips 1/2 inch or shorter. I bought the chipper shredder because it said 1/4 inch wood chips came from the chipper shredder. April 23, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 11 HP Commercial Duty Chipper Shredder I was pleasantly surprised when I unpackaged this product. With little time involved, I was able to attach a few of the components like the chute to feed the branches. I was also impressed with the quality of the product, all metal, no plastic. The only plastic involved was the cover for the air filter that was indeed cracked. I called customer support for Home Depot and the assured me it would be replaced and ordered the part. The product has worked wonderfully and saved many hours that I would need to burn the same amount of brush. I was also impressed that this product came with extra "goodies" like ear protection, some very basic gloves, tools to attach the pieces, extra belts and blade. This is the first product like this that I have purchased that had all these extras. I would highly recommend this product. April 17, 2010
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by It disintegrates and rattles apart Worked great initially then welds fractured after less than 10 uses, switches failed and now engine no longer runs. Have used less than 20 times. Dont buy! I have not been able to use after 6 mos of ownership July 19, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Chips well, but has quality issues Unit arrived ok - one wheel was flat (not big deal once someone explained how to fix it - i.e. clap the tire to the rim and then inflate) and the leaf shute was a little damaged. During use, it chipped everything without any trouble. The exit shute isn't the best design - it is hard to position the bag to catch all of the material. Spend too much time picking up after the machine. Sadly, after one use, the side shute is splitting at the bottom weld. After contacting the manufacturer, they are sending a new shute. Very responsive and easy in that regard. Will have to wait and see if this will be a reoccuring problem. July 14, 2010
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Overall Chipper This chipper has the guts to chip up much more than the 3 inch size limit imposed by the feeder. It is loud but with ear protection, the noise is bearable. It doesn't bog down under heavy continuous use very easily. I like the fact that the engine is isolated from the chipping mechanism via a drivebelt which dampens vibrations and excludes the engine from being stopped abruptly. The one negative feature I have found so far is the oil drain plug is mounted too close to the base of the platform the engine is bolted to, only allowing an open end wrench to access the bolt and getting it off the first time is a bugger. Overall, great machine. September 7, 2011
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by junk Only ran for 30 minutes. Never could take choke off or it died. While I was trying to get through to customer service the belt burned up while my wife was still using it to chip bamboo- less than 1 inch diameter. Home Depot was great in taking it back and even picked it up at our house. October 10, 2011
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Doing what I wanted it for I never had a chipper before, but had a lot of wood to " eliminate." I wanted to reduce the wood for use as fill, and for garden, which would clear up the edges of the yard. I am accomplishing that, with ease. The 3 inch diameter allows me to do less prep to get it in. The chipper makes a great, fine (in my opinion) mulch. August 21, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 11 HP Commercial Duty Chipper Shredder Very well packaged and easy to move by sliding on concrete or using a dolly. Assembly from unpackinging to cleanup of packing materials and startup was 1 hr. Everything needed for assembly was included. There was even a funky funnel for the oil that is designed to put oil into this particular machine. Nuts, bolts & washers were attached to the parts they went to/go on. No guessings as to what bolt went where. A socket wrench & 13mm socket would marginally speed up assembly. The only negative is that the amount and weight of oil is not in the specifications, but buried in the text of the manual. Operation is easy. All safety gear is included for eye, ear and hand protection. Initially several pulls were required start. I've noticed that even after letting the machine run for several minutes after inserting the last limb, often a 1-2 inch piece is left in the input chute. So check the chute prior to restart. Otherwise the machine might jam. Towing is the easiest way (and really the only way) to move the machine around. It makes speedy work of branches, and small limbs. It's really neat watching a 3" limb 5 -6 feet long go in one end and 1/4" sawdust come out the other. Overall I'm very satisified with this product. May 15, 2010
  • 2015-08-27T13:40:43.114-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_78, tr_78
  • loc_en_US, sid_203128361, prod, sort_default
<<2 3 4 >>