Model # 13301565

Internet #202018204

Store SKU #764103

Char-Broil American Gourmet Barrel Style Charcoal Grill
0099143015651

Char-Broil

American Gourmet Barrel Style Charcoal Grill

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

The Char-Broil American Gourmet Charcoal Grill combines the functions of charcoal smoking, barbecuing and grilling for flexible cooking. The grill features cast iron cooking grates and a grate lifter that provides easy access to the removable ash pan. It includes front, side and bottom shelves for storage space.

  • 623 sq. in. cooking surface offers space for cooking many of your favorite foods
  • Cast iron cooking grates for durability
  • Adjustable steel fire grate with an ash pan helps you control the cooking temperature
  • Black slat side and front shelves for additional preparation space
  • Includes a temperature gauge, a wire bottom shelf and a cast iron grate lifter for your convenience
  • Assembly required
  • For full warranty details please see the User Manuel located under Info & Guides
  • Protect your investment with a grill cover (sold separately)
  • Note: Product may vary by store

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar

Price
$199.00 /each
$99.00 /each
$139.00 /each
Name Smokin' Champ Charcoal Grill Horizontal Smoker in Black Wrangler Charcoal Grill Pro Deluxe 29 in. Charcoal Grill
Brand Char-Griller Char-Griller Char-Griller
Ratings (84) (49) (33)
View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

28 Questions115 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

American Gourmet Barrel Style Charcoal Grill
American Gourmet Barrel Style Charcoal Grill

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
 
6 answers

what is grill top dimensions?

This question is from American Gourmet Barrel Style Charcoal Grill
Asked by
Honolulu Hawaii
Read all my Q&A
May 14, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (6)

Asked by
New Boston Nh
Read all my Q&A
June 24, 2014
Answer: 
625sq inches of grilling space
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Thousand Oaks, Ca
Read all my Q&A
May 31, 2014
Answer: 
Approx 24" X 21".
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Albany, OR
Read all my Q&A
May 27, 2014
Answer: 
It is 19" deep by 20" wide. With easy to move grates (4) and a tool is provided to move the grates if they are hot.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Richland, WA, USA
Read all my Q&A
May 27, 2014
Answer: 
Approximately 21" wide and 19" deep.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Arizona, USA
Read all my Q&A
May 18, 2014
Answer: 
Top grill is 20x10
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 14, 2014
Answer: 
This Char-Broil Charcoal Grill has cooking dimensions of 18.79" x 6.48". Follow this link for more information on this grill... http://www.charbroil.com/american-gourmet-charcoal-grill-600-series-10301565-26.html
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
 
6 answers

Is this grill worth buying?

This question is from American Gourmet Barrel Style Charcoal Grill
Asked by
bronx,ny
Read all my Q&A
May 12, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (6)

Asked by
Phoenix
Read all my Q&A
May 20, 2014
Answer: 
Yes, this is a sturdy charcoal grill. It evenly distributes the heat, smokes the food, and is a great value.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Olympia, WA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 19, 2014
Answer: 
Absolutely. It's a good value. It has cast-iron grates, which you can season like any cast-iron, making them really slippery. It has good temperature control too, a real necessity. And its barrel shape really helps funnel the air through it, keeping the fire as hot as you want. It takes a little practice, though, to control the temperature. With time, you'll learn to control the temperature, let the food Read More
Absolutely. It's a good value. It has cast-iron grates, which you can season like any cast-iron, making them really slippery. It has good temperature control too, a real necessity. And its barrel shape really helps funnel the air through it, keeping the fire as hot as you want. It takes a little practice, though, to control the temperature. With time, you'll learn to control the temperature, let the food cook and keep the lid down. That's where this grill really shines. I love mine. It's all in the cast-iron grates and the rectangular shape (and a little practice at first). Read Less
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
phillipsburg, NJ
Read all my Q&A
May 14, 2014
Answer: 
Yes it is!!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Philadelphia, PA
Read all my Q&A
May 13, 2014
Answer: 
it was for me, my son put it together in about 90 minutes, I use it for a large cookout , and we even use it in the rain that same day, depending on how large a grill you need , this was a perfect size for me
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
South Jersey
Read all my Q&A
May 13, 2014
Answer: 
Yes, it is great, and you can't beat the sale price
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
San Antonio, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
May 13, 2014
Answer: 
yes, if your the attentive type while you are grilling and if you are good with assembly instructions.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
 
6 answers

How well does it smoke?

This question is from American Gourmet Barrel Style Charcoal Grill
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 10, 2014
I'm almost 100% about picking this up but I really love smoked meat, but don't have room for a giant smoker.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (6)

Asked by
Albany, OR
Read all my Q&A
May 27, 2014
Answer: 
Although I haven't tried that yet as I loved smoked meat too, all you really need to do is add the wood chips (soaked in water first) to the coals and you should get enough smoke flavor to satisfy your tastes. This is not a smoker though, it is a grill. However it does have a temperature gauge on it to help maintain the temperature you need to smoke meat and just might work for you if you can maintain Read More
Although I haven't tried that yet as I loved smoked meat too, all you really need to do is add the wood chips (soaked in water first) to the coals and you should get enough smoke flavor to satisfy your tastes. This is not a smoker though, it is a grill. However it does have a temperature gauge on it to help maintain the temperature you need to smoke meat and just might work for you if you can maintain the consistent heat. Read Less
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Phoenix
Read all my Q&A
May 27, 2014
Answer: 
smokes the food as well as any smoker; quite impressed with the amount of smoke and how it's infused in the meat
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Richland, WA, USA
Read all my Q&A
May 27, 2014
Answer: 
I smoked a small partial brisket by placing the coals on the right side and the meat on the left. I used large hickory wood chunks and controlled the vents to get the right temperature and smoke. The grill is in three sections, so I left off the right one to add wood chips and adjust the coals. It worked fine, but I would not give up my propane upright smoker for this same task or for cooking much larger Read More
I smoked a small partial brisket by placing the coals on the right side and the meat on the left. I used large hickory wood chunks and controlled the vents to get the right temperature and smoke. The grill is in three sections, so I left off the right one to add wood chips and adjust the coals. It worked fine, but I would not give up my propane upright smoker for this same task or for cooking much larger or more meats. Read Less
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
phillipsburg, NJ
Read all my Q&A
May 14, 2014
Answer: 
It is a very good smoker!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
San Antonio, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
May 13, 2014
Answer: 
When you smoke meat you constantly need to check your heat source and with this grill you can do that because it has three grilling plates if you remove one you have easy access to your fire, your meat can rest on the other 2 grilling plates, just keep your fire to one side of the pit.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 12, 2014
Answer: 
This American Gourmet Charcoal Grill is great for smoking or grilling food when you're limited on space. Don't let the size fool you. This grill can cook just about anything you can think of.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
 
6 answers

Can I smoke a slab of pork ribs on this grill?

This question is from American Gourmet Barrel Style Charcoal Grill
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 8, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (6)

Asked by
Albany, OR
Read all my Q&A
May 27, 2014
Answer: 
You sure can, there's more than enough room, I would say there's even room for 2 or maybe more depending on the size of the slab.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
phillipsburg, NJ
Read all my Q&A
May 14, 2014
Answer: 
Yes YOU CAN!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
San Antonio, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
May 13, 2014
Answer: 
Yes you can, just place the fire tray at its lowest level and use a medium size pile of briquets and they will cue nicely.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 9, 2014
Answer: 
Ribs can definitely be done in this American Gourmet Charcoal Grill. Follow this link to view all of the wood chips that we currently have available and that can add a great smoky flavor to your food... http://www.charbroil.com/grilling-smoking-accessories/flavored-wood.html
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Las Vegas, Nevada
Read all my Q&A
May 8, 2014
Answer: 
Ooh for sure, people might be turned off by the cheap price of this unit (something i thought of before I purchased it) but the thing is wonderful, unless you plan on cooking a whole pig this grill can pretty much handle any of your standard grilling needs, coming from a non-professional but a seasoned griller.
My personal favorite option of this grill is that it has a charcoal tray (easy for cleanup) Read More
Ooh for sure, people might be turned off by the cheap price of this unit (something i thought of before I purchased it) but the thing is wonderful, unless you plan on cooking a whole pig this grill can pretty much handle any of your standard grilling needs, coming from a non-professional but a seasoned griller.
My personal favorite option of this grill is that it has a charcoal tray (easy for cleanup) and also four different heating slots for the tray, did I mention easy set-up? Read Less
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Anonymous
Orange, Ca.
Home Improvement Profile: Other
May 8, 2014
Answer: 
Hi Jack , unfortunately this is not a smoker. You can indirectly grill a slab of ribs.
You place coals on either one side of the grill or both sides of the grill, leaving the middle of the grill open. Place a drip pan with water, or beer under the grates. This will give the ribs moisture and catch the drippings. On the sides have your coals ash gray and use wood chips. You can soak wood chips for 30 Read More
Hi Jack , unfortunately this is not a smoker. You can indirectly grill a slab of ribs.
You place coals on either one side of the grill or both sides of the grill, leaving the middle of the grill open. Place a drip pan with water, or beer under the grates. This will give the ribs moisture and catch the drippings. On the sides have your coals ash gray and use wood chips. You can soak wood chips for 30 minutes, then place them in aluminum foil. Poke holes in the aluminum foil and place on top of the coals. You will get smoke. Read Less
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
2 3 »
  • 2016-10-31 T00:00:19.551-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_202018204, prod, sort_default
2 3 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 71ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

American Gourmet Barrel Style Charcoal Grill is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 270.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Medium Size grill with Great Grilling Features I purchased this grill from Statesville, NC store. Got it home and got it "seasoned" with Hickory wood. Next grilling proved to be exactly what I wanted with a charcoal grill. Movable interior charcoal rack made cooking chicken and steak very easy. Great cast iron grates (comes with 3) makes food look like it's suppose to when you grill. The store associates were most helpful in my selection. Thanks Home Depot!
Date published: 2013-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A REAL GRILL I have been using this particular grill for a few years now. It gives me the latitude to cook different ways. Direct, Indirect, and smoking. The grill units are thick cast iron tht distributes heat very well. The top or warming rack is very good for indirect slow cooking. I sear the meat over the fire to seal it then move it to the other side to cook slowly. I cook 12-15 lb. ribeye loins indirect. Each time they come out beautifully done in 3-4 hrs. I travel the country when the weather is good and I have 8 of these grills staged at different places. I know these grills and I know how they cook. I use lump not briquette charcoal and no lighter fluid. I have also cooked with wood. Thew results are the same. Consistently well flavored and done to perfection. Cleaning the ashes is made easy with the movable coal grate. The bottom piece of metal under the grate is a good heat deflector for full, even coverage within the barrel. This grill makes pros out of any body.
Date published: 2010-12-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Rustic and sturdy Heavy components, so assembly may require a helper. The lid was dinged in the back due to rough handling in storage/shipping, but not enough to send back. Looks like it will last a long time. Large enough for a small get together, small enough for 2. Would recommend.
Date published: 2013-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Barrel and weber in one Moved into my house recently and needed a grill. I usually get a Weber grill but i wanted something a little bigger this time. Was thinking about getting one of those huge barrel grills but i just couldn't justify the size and cost. Then i ran across this gem. At the time it was $99 as opposed to the $79 price tag i see here which is insane for what you're getting. If you like charcoal grills and you're cooking for a family you don't need anything larger than this. The temp control works and i've smoked with it too. I assembled it within an hour by myself. Make sure to prime it with vegetable oil treatment like the manual says. I left mine out for a few days, it rained and started rusting a little bit. Soon as primed it i haven't had any issues. Great, great, great charcoal grill for the family.
Date published: 2014-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very happy I've never bought a bar-b-que grill before, but saw this one early this summer and thought it would be perfect for the project I volunteer with in CT. We do most of our cooking outdoors and we had been using a dilapidated, "built-with-loving-hands" grill that was way too big and used way too much charcoal. Those of us who used the old thing were fed up with it. The new one is a joy! You can use it to cook several different ways, including smoking. It uses far less charcoal, cooks twice as fast, can be rolled into the garage when it rains--even while cooking-- and is easy to clean up. What more could you ask for? The price was astonishing when you consider all the perks that came with it: shelves on the front and side, grease catcher, inside wire fold-down shelf to keep food warm or to cook something additional while bar-b-queing the main dish. I just hope it holds up under all the use. But right now, everyone who's used it, loves it!
Date published: 2012-08-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Has it's flaws but decent for the price. Design: Pretty- looking grill. The barrel design is very nice and it holds a lot of food. My top swing away grate came broken but my local Home Depot gave me a replacement ( awesome customer service ). Front and side shelves are nice. The bottom rack is good for storage but don't expect it to hold a ton of weight. The smoke stack is cute but I never see smoke come out of it ( useless decoration ? ) Smoke always seeps out around the bottom of the cover instead. Side vent is useful for controlling heat as is the adjustable ash pan ( which comes dirty and discolored by the way. I was told this was part of the metals treatment process so don't be alarmed ). Some hooks at the bottom of the grill to hold hang utensils would have been greatly welcomed. Materials: The "barrel" is very soild and heavy. Otherwise the rest of the parts are the standard cheap fair found on lower prices items. Front and side shelves are not wood as stated in product description. They are metal. I was disapointed with this. Coating scratches easily and some of my parts came with scratches. There is special spray paint you can buy to correct this. The temperature gauge is very cheap and probably not entirely reliable. The grilling surface is soild and cooks well. Universal replacement parts are readily available at Home Depot. Assembly: Pain in the neck. Manual is not clear at times and refers incorrectly to several parts. Says you need two people for assembly and it's probably a good idea although you can pull it off solo with some acrobatics. If you have an aptitude for assembly you may be off better than I made out. Performance: cooks fine. Make sure you are familiar with charcoal cooking as it can be a hassle if you don't do your research. Overall: What you get is pretty decent for around 100.00. I would still take this grill over the more popular Weber "dome" style grills because you get more features. If you are budget concious and looking for an entery level charcoal grill with some added pizazz this grill may be for you.
Date published: 2010-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great as a gift I bought this grill for my fiancé's birthday. He loves it so much he uses it everyday. The features make it very easy to regulate the temperature within the grill. The basic shipping was very quick, I ordered the grill on a Friday and received it on the following Wednesday. It absolutely needs 2 people for assembly. It took us about an hour. We've had it for about 3 weeks now and it has been outside through all kinds of weather without rusting at all. I would just recommend following the seasoning instructions. Overall I'm very happy with the purchase, especially since I don't have to worry about cooking anymore!
Date published: 2011-06-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really like this grill! My husband and I purchased this grill a few weeks ago and have really been enjoying it. My husband put it together himself (even though it could have been put together for free in the store!) and it didn't take him too long. We have used it several times and everything has turned out great. I really like the warmer shelf on top for corn or veggies. The only thing we've noticed is that the grill burns hot for a very long time. It will completely burn up all the charcoal in the grill so it feels like a bit of a waste when you only do one round of burgers. Also, we've had a few times where the heating hasn't been quite even. Lastly, it seems a little difficult/awkward to get the ashes out of the grill. For the price, you can't beat this grill!
Date published: 2012-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well worth the purchase. The grill was easy to assemble. It takes a little bit of time. I have used it three or four times in the past month. You can put a family pack of chicken wings on it and still have room left over. The upper rack is great for food that doesn't need much heat. It is easy to adjust the level of the charcoals.
Date published: 2014-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than expected! Had been looking for larger and better quality grill. Purchased sight unseen because $79 was such a bargain. Happily surprised that it was a very durable and sturdy grill and I am more than pleased with it. I even built a little patio for it to sit on. Was also assembled for free and ready for pick up at my local store! I couldn't be more satisfied with my purchase.
Date published: 2014-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Charbroil Charcoal Grill I purchased this grill on 03/09/2010 at Home Depot and let me tell you. If your not looking for an over sized charcoal grill then grab you one of these babies. This is one of the many 2010 modles they have and the best thing i think is the best about the grill is theres a way if you purchase a second grill, you can join the 2 together and have 1 big grill. It has holes drilled in the sides and you just purchase some nice size screws from a hardware store and put them in and your in business. Also you get cast iron cooking grates and they make for easy cleaning, along with a temp gauge on it to tell you if the temp is warm, the ideal temp or hot (niiiiiiice). I started out with a $35.00 charcoal grill and upgraded to this baby. By the way i named her midnight lol. Charbroil is a great grill brand and i recommend everybody to snatch up one of these grills. The grill is well built and made out of great material. The grill also has 2 hangers on the side so that when u dump the ash pan, u dont have to reach in with your hands. You just lift up and take out. Great price and a great gift. O yeah forgot the customer service is great when needing help just keep receipt handy, serial number and modle number. 5 star for me and charbroil has a faithful customer so thumbs up
Date published: 2010-03-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good Enough Box and grill was pretty beat up on delivery and covered in oil which made setup a bit more involved and unpleasant than I had hoped. The wheels are pretty cheap. I don't expect them to last long as they're connected with pins. The non-heat handle is pretty lame, just a coil spring. The warming rack and smoker are nice to have. There isn't a good way to roll the grill other than to lift it by the shelf which causes a lot of stress on the bolts and will inevitably ruin the shelf. Thermometer works and is a nice addition. Bigger than the pic seems.
Date published: 2013-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Charbroil Charcoal Grill I purchased this grill on 03/08/2010 and so far i am loving this grill. Reason being is this grill is made out of very very good material and is built to last several years. Another reason is it has a large cooking surface that will allow you to put a bunch of food on it instead of having to wait until something get's done first. It has a temp gauge on it that tells you if the grill is warm, the ideal temp you want or hot setting also. I am very pleased with this grill and think charbroil is a great company to buy grills from. I would recommend this charcoal grill to anyone. Was missing some parts for grill when i first purchased it, but charbroil customer service was helpful and polite and cover shipping and the parts for me under warranty. Go get this grill.
Date published: 2010-03-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from barrel charcoal grill The grill was easy to assemble. I got a good laugh with the first direction "Get a helper." We have only used it once and it worked great. The only problem I have with the quality is the lid does not close correctly. Could it be the people that put it together?
Date published: 2012-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Summer Lovin'! We love this BBQ! First time we've had a charcoal BBQ and the results of the burgers are amazingly Delish! It was easy to put together and is the perfect touch to great summer bbqs!
Date published: 2014-07-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from my grill this is the best grill ever!!!! The first time I used it i was like a kid with a new toy and the way my food cooked was perfect I have never had a grill like this, usually I would lose my burgers through the grates but not this time. I am loving my new grill I will be grilling until it starts to snow
Date published: 2010-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The "REAL" BBQ Grill first off i love this grill if your a hard core charcoal and wood man /or woman this one is this grill for you , this is not your push button, propane, quick start gas flavored food grill this is the real deal . its beautiful and simple nice handle has a thermometer on front on/off smoke stack and its easy to clean up i would recommend this to anybody looking for that old school BBQ grill.
Date published: 2010-05-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Happy Customer I just purchased this grill after doing quite a bit of research. This grill is easy to put together - nice looking not cheap looking. The material seems to be pretty study and durable - time will tell but this is a great grill for the size of our deck and for our family. No issues yet and the food tastes great! Awesome Charcoal Grill and great price! ;)
Date published: 2010-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this grill. I bought this model grill about a year ago to replace a slighly smaller smoker lost to a storm. i've always been more of a griller anyway but this lets me smoke with lump charcoal just as as well as it lets me grill with briquets.. For grilling, it can't be beat. It's easy to have a hot, a medium and a cool zone all at the same time. Plus the ability to raise or lower the height of the coals makes it especially easy to sear meats or quick cook hot-dogs and hamburgers. The lower settings make it perfect for chicken or pork. And the warming shelf if perfect for buns or veggies. Next year I plan on trying fish and shrimp.
Date published: 2013-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great grill for the money! This is a great all-around grill, and an especially good deal. I bought this to replace my old Weber Jr., which had been a wedding gift many, many years ago. Ordering and shipping was outstanding. It took me and my son about an hour to assemble the grill. After following the seasoning instructions I finally got a chance to enjoy some grilling and the results were great. It's so much more convenient than my trusty old Weber.
Date published: 2011-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Grill!!! Purchased this grill on Saturday... Sunday morning i began to smoke a Pork Shoulder. 6 hours the grill held up great and kept a perfect temp with ease. Best value by far!
Date published: 2011-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A lot of bang for the buck! After moving to a house from an apartment where I wasn't able to have a charcoal grill I was excited to get back into doing some real bbq. I picked up this grill because I'm a cheapskate and I'm very pleased with it. I assembled it, oiled the inside as per the instructions and then seasoned it with a charcoal/hickory fire for about two hours. After re stoking the fire I set it up for smoking and made the best ribs I've ever cooked! I now know this grill is going to work well for direct and indirect grilling and temperature control is easy. After a few hours of hickory smoke you open it up and you just smell that "this is where the magic happens" scent of a good charcoal grill. The only way I see myself replacing it is with a larger one. The ribs went way too fast!
Date published: 2014-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from American Gourmet Charcoal Grill I love this grill. It was fairly easy to assemply. I assembled it by myself. (I am 62 years young) Cooking time is cut in half, I believe it is due to the Cast Iron Grates
Date published: 2010-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great and relatively easy to assemble. My husband is not a fan of assembling anything but he had this put together in no time. It works great and the food tastes wonderful.
Date published: 2012-02-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from American Gourmet Barrel Style Charcoal Grill Just O.K. - The lid is out of square & does not fit properly on the base unit even after much tweaking. The thermostat is rinky dink & doesn't give an actual temperature reading - it only says if the grill is hot, cold or "ideal" which isn't exactly helpful if one wants to smoke meat in it. The coal height adjustment feature is flimsy, awkward & unstable and can only be reached from the inside increasing the risk of burns to the user
Date published: 2012-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Buy it! Best grill we've ever had. We no longer use the gas grill since we bought this last month. It's better than a Weber charcoal grill. This charcoal grill has an accurate thermostat, cooks to perfection, and smokes the food. It also has a front and side cart for plates, utensils, etc. Unit is strong and fairly easy to assemble. This will hold up for years.
Date published: 2014-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great assembly! Time to replace the old grill. Not looking forward to assembling the new one. Kudos to CharBroil for packing the bolts, screws, washers, etc., in a blister pack LABELED on the back! This is an idea whose time has come! Took less than an hour to assemble and feels very sturdy. Not bad for the price. Love the cast iron cooking grates; have to season as if they were a brand new cast iron pan, but worth the trouble if it lasts a few years.
Date published: 2013-04-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice little grill Assembly was pretty straight forward,however somethings required a beer or 2 to look at right. I do think it is a little on the weak side, it could use a little more sturdiness. I got it home assembled it in like 30 mins and threw some burgers on it at 9pm.. It was cold but the burgers were worth it!
Date published: 2014-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this grill! Great advise from "MDFL from Melbourne, FL" to "season your grill." Read the procedure in the front of your manual. Assembly took about 1 hour, with a friend and you do need 2 people to assemble it. Cast iron grids are great for grilling everything. Price versus value is excellent. We grill out weekly and were looking for a new grill with a larger cooking area. This is perfect for us.
Date published: 2013-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good This is the second 1 of these grills we've purchased, the first 1 just wore out, probably had it 8-10 years. Just the right size for 2-10 people.
Date published: 2014-04-10
  • y_2017, m_1, d_22, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_270
  • loc_, sid_202018204, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 81ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT