Free Shipping and BOPIS


Model # 13301565

Internet # 202018204

Store SKU # 764103

American Gourmet Barrel Style Charcoal Grill

This item has been discontinued.
The Home Depot no longer carries this specific product.




Model # 13301565

Internet # 202018204

Store SKU # 764103

The Char-Broil American Gourmet Charcoal Grill combines the functions of charcoal smoking, barbecuing and grilling for flexible cooking. The grill features cast iron cooking grates and a grate lifter that provides easy access to the removable ash pan. It includes front, side and bottom shelves for storage space.

  • 623 sq. in. cooking surface offers space for cooking many of your favorite foods
  • Cast iron cooking grates for durability
  • Adjustable steel fire grate with an ash pan helps you control the cooking temperature
  • Black slat side and front shelves for additional preparation space
  • Includes a temperature gauge, a wire bottom shelf and a cast iron grate lifter for your convenience
  • Assembly required
  • Protect your investment with a grill cover (sold separately)
  • Note: Product may vary by store

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.


Assembled Depth (in.) 
29 in 
Assembled Height (in.) 
49.5 in 
Assembled Width (in.) 
35 in 
Cooking space (sq. in.) 
Color Family 
Grill Assembly 
Full Assembly Required 
Grill Color Family 
Grill Features 
Catch Pan,Heat Thermometer,Removable Ash Catcher,Storage Rack,Warming Rack,Wheels 
Grill Grate Material 
Cast Iron 
Grill Material 
Painted Steel 
Grill/Smoker Fuel Type 
Ignition Type 
No Ignition System 
Outdoor Living Product Type 
Charcoal/Wood Grill 
Product Weight (lb.) 
75 lb 
Warranty / Certifications
Certifications and Listings 
No Certifications or Listings 
Manufacturer Warranty 
90 days 


Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 270 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great grill at a great value! I purchased this grill for my husband last Christmas and he loves it (as do I)! Assembly was fairly easily. Together, it took us about an hour to assemble. Everything we have cooked on it has been delicious! Heat is easy to adjust and distributes evenly. Cast iron grates are durable and divided into 3 separate pieces making it convenient to remove them to add charcoal or clean if needed. In addition, it has an adjustable ash pan and side and front shelves. I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for an affordable, quality charcoal grill . November 18, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Season the cast iron = NO RUST I love this grill. Great cooking surface, charcoal bed is suspended above grill bottom - plenty of airflow and control. If you follow the instructions, wash and oil cast iron grills and insides, start a small fire and add to it, the insides and grills will SEASON and NOT RUST. Treat this just like any cast iron skillet and it will turn BLACK with carbon (natures non-stick). This will be my last grill for a long time. I LOVE THE CHIMNEY! September 12, 2010
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love it! This is a fine grill for the money, and Home Depots' free service in putting it together for me as a Christmas gift was superb! Love the warming tray, and can see lots of use out of it for the coming years. Only con is trying to find a grill cover that fits it, but I will keep looking. January 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Barrel and weber in one Moved into my house recently and needed a grill. I usually get a Weber grill but i wanted something a little bigger this time. Was thinking about getting one of those huge barrel grills but i just couldn't justify the size and cost. Then i ran across this gem. At the time it was $99 as opposed to the $79 price tag i see here which is insane for what you're getting. If you like charcoal grills and you're cooking for a family you don't need anything larger than this. The temp control works and i've smoked with it too. I assembled it within an hour by myself. Make sure to prime it with vegetable oil treatment like the manual says. I left mine out for a few days, it rained and started rusting a little bit. Soon as primed it i haven't had any issues. Great, great, great charcoal grill for the family. May 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Medium Size grill with Great Grilling Features I purchased this grill from Statesville, NC store. Got it home and got it "seasoned" with Hickory wood. Next grilling proved to be exactly what I wanted with a charcoal grill. Movable interior charcoal rack made cooking chicken and steak very easy. Great cast iron grates (comes with 3) makes food look like it's suppose to when you grill. The store associates were most helpful in my selection. Thanks Home Depot! May 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A REAL GRILL I have been using this particular grill for a few years now. It gives me the latitude to cook different ways. Direct, Indirect, and smoking. The grill units are thick cast iron tht distributes heat very well. The top or warming rack is very good for indirect slow cooking. I sear the meat over the fire to seal it then move it to the other side to cook slowly. I cook 12-15 lb. ribeye loins indirect. Each time they come out beautifully done in 3-4 hrs. I travel the country when the weather is good and I have 8 of these grills staged at different places. I know these grills and I know how they cook. I use lump not briquette charcoal and no lighter fluid. I have also cooked with wood. Thew results are the same. Consistently well flavored and done to perfection. Cleaning the ashes is made easy with the movable coal grate. The bottom piece of metal under the grate is a good heat deflector for full, even coverage within the barrel. This grill makes pros out of any body. December 6, 2010
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Rustic and sturdy Heavy components, so assembly may require a helper. The lid was dinged in the back due to rough handling in storage/shipping, but not enough to send back. Looks like it will last a long time. Large enough for a small get together, small enough for 2. Would recommend. February 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very happy I've never bought a bar-b-que grill before, but saw this one early this summer and thought it would be perfect for the project I volunteer with in CT. We do most of our cooking outdoors and we had been using a dilapidated, "built-with-loving-hands" grill that was way too big and used way too much charcoal. Those of us who used the old thing were fed up with it. The new one is a joy! You can use it to cook several different ways, including smoking. It uses far less charcoal, cooks twice as fast, can be rolled into the garage when it rains--even while cooking-- and is easy to clean up. What more could you ask for? The price was astonishing when you consider all the perks that came with it: shelves on the front and side, grease catcher, inside wire fold-down shelf to keep food warm or to cook something additional while bar-b-queing the main dish. I just hope it holds up under all the use. But right now, everyone who's used it, loves it! August 9, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great as a gift I bought this grill for my fiancé's birthday. He loves it so much he uses it everyday. The features make it very easy to regulate the temperature within the grill. The basic shipping was very quick, I ordered the grill on a Friday and received it on the following Wednesday. It absolutely needs 2 people for assembly. It took us about an hour. We've had it for about 3 weeks now and it has been outside through all kinds of weather without rusting at all. I would just recommend following the seasoning instructions. Overall I'm very happy with the purchase, especially since I don't have to worry about cooking anymore! June 11, 2011
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Has it's flaws but decent for the price. Design: Pretty- looking grill. The barrel design is very nice and it holds a lot of food. My top swing away grate came broken but my local Home Depot gave me a replacement ( awesome customer service ). Front and side shelves are nice. The bottom rack is good for storage but don't expect it to hold a ton of weight. The smoke stack is cute but I never see smoke come out of it ( useless decoration ? ) Smoke always seeps out around the bottom of the cover instead. Side vent is useful for controlling heat as is the adjustable ash pan ( which comes dirty and discolored by the way. I was told this was part of the metals treatment process so don't be alarmed ). Some hooks at the bottom of the grill to hold hang utensils would have been greatly welcomed. Materials: The "barrel" is very soild and heavy. Otherwise the rest of the parts are the standard cheap fair found on lower prices items. Front and side shelves are not wood as stated in product description. They are metal. I was disapointed with this. Coating scratches easily and some of my parts came with scratches. There is special spray paint you can buy to correct this. The temperature gauge is very cheap and probably not entirely reliable. The grilling surface is soild and cooks well. Universal replacement parts are readily available at Home Depot. Assembly: Pain in the neck. Manual is not clear at times and refers incorrectly to several parts. Says you need two people for assembly and it's probably a good idea although you can pull it off solo with some acrobatics. If you have an aptitude for assembly you may be off better than I made out. Performance: cooks fine. Make sure you are familiar with charcoal cooking as it can be a hassle if you don't do your research. Overall: What you get is pretty decent for around 100.00. I would still take this grill over the more popular Weber "dome" style grills because you get more features. If you are budget concious and looking for an entery level charcoal grill with some added pizazz this grill may be for you. May 15, 2010
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Really like this grill! My husband and I purchased this grill a few weeks ago and have really been enjoying it. My husband put it together himself (even though it could have been put together for free in the store!) and it didn't take him too long. We have used it several times and everything has turned out great. I really like the warmer shelf on top for corn or veggies. The only thing we've noticed is that the grill burns hot for a very long time. It will completely burn up all the charcoal in the grill so it feels like a bit of a waste when you only do one round of burgers. Also, we've had a few times where the heating hasn't been quite even. Lastly, it seems a little difficult/awkward to get the ashes out of the grill. For the price, you can't beat this grill! July 10, 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by You Get What Ypu Pay For Well I see lots of fabulous reviews so I guess I got the one lemon out of the bunch. We had been without a grill for a few years and even though we struggle financially I broke down and decided to trust a well known brand name. The grill on display really looked well made so I decided to take a chance. I brought it home and near the final assembly stage noticed a broken piece. I had to drive back to the store where they promptly swapped it with a piece from the assembled display grill. I followed the seasoning directions to the letter. I used an entire family size can of spray vegetable oil to thoroughly coat everything inside and burned a $10 bag of charcoal before ever trying to cook anything. A week or two after using it I noticed the grates are now rusted. The grates also don't fit correctly in the bottom half of the grill. Either they are too small or the frame is too big. When you try to clean or scrape the grates before using when they slide all the back to the rear of the grill the front part of the grate falls down into the coals. This has also happened when cooking and when trying to slide a spatula under the burgers etc they fall down into the coals with the grate. This is not riight. I expected more from a brand name like this. I wish I had my $100 back for sure. I attached a photo where you can see that when the grates are pushed all the way to the rear of the grill the front edge BARELY is hanging on to the front ledge. All it takes is a little force towards the rear of the grill and the front edge falls down onto the coals. October 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My Charbroil Charcoal Grill I purchased this grill on 03/09/2010 at Home Depot and let me tell you. If your not looking for an over sized charcoal grill then grab you one of these babies. This is one of the many 2010 modles they have and the best thing i think is the best about the grill is theres a way if you purchase a second grill, you can join the 2 together and have 1 big grill. It has holes drilled in the sides and you just purchase some nice size screws from a hardware store and put them in and your in business. Also you get cast iron cooking grates and they make for easy cleaning, along with a temp gauge on it to tell you if the temp is warm, the ideal temp or hot (niiiiiiice). I started out with a $35.00 charcoal grill and upgraded to this baby. By the way i named her midnight lol. Charbroil is a great grill brand and i recommend everybody to snatch up one of these grills. The grill is well built and made out of great material. The grill also has 2 hangers on the side so that when u dump the ash pan, u dont have to reach in with your hands. You just lift up and take out. Great price and a great gift. O yeah forgot the customer service is great when needing help just keep receipt handy, serial number and modle number. 5 star for me and charbroil has a faithful customer so thumbs up March 17, 2010
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Good Enough Box and grill was pretty beat up on delivery and covered in oil which made setup a bit more involved and unpleasant than I had hoped. The wheels are pretty cheap. I don't expect them to last long as they're connected with pins. The non-heat handle is pretty lame, just a coil spring. The warming rack and smoker are nice to have. There isn't a good way to roll the grill other than to lift it by the shelf which causes a lot of stress on the bolts and will inevitably ruin the shelf. Thermometer works and is a nice addition. Bigger than the pic seems. April 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Charbroil Charcoal Grill I purchased this grill on 03/08/2010 and so far i am loving this grill. Reason being is this grill is made out of very very good material and is built to last several years. Another reason is it has a large cooking surface that will allow you to put a bunch of food on it instead of having to wait until something get's done first. It has a temp gauge on it that tells you if the grill is warm, the ideal temp you want or hot setting also. I am very pleased with this grill and think charbroil is a great company to buy grills from. I would recommend this charcoal grill to anyone. Was missing some parts for grill when i first purchased it, but charbroil customer service was helpful and polite and cover shipping and the parts for me under warranty. Go get this grill. March 16, 2010
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by disappointed I just bought this as a Christmas gift the other day for my husband, as he's been wanting a charcoal grill. I did my research and this Bbq got great reviews and 4.4 stars. However, he just got done assembling it and there are already several things that I am displeased with. 1st, the cast iron grate lifter was broken. 2nd the grates are uneven and do not sit flat on the ledges. Also the lid handle was either cut or shaped incorrectly, as one side the handle is about an inch longer than the other side. Lastly, the bottom storage rack was welded wrong. One crossbar is straight while the other is at a 45° angle. Needless to say, I am very embarrassed and have been apologizing again and again for this gift. Not a happy customer. December 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by barrel charcoal grill The grill was easy to assemble. I got a good laugh with the first direction "Get a helper." We have only used it once and it worked great. The only problem I have with the quality is the lid does not close correctly. Could it be the people that put it together? March 13, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Almost Best Grill Ever I have been charcoal grilling for over 40 years and this is the best...if I could attach a rotisserie to this it would be 5 stars. I have owned gas grills,but nothing beats the taste of charcoal-NO lighter fluid ever. This easily starts with a bit of newspaper loosely rolled under the charcoal. The 3 grates are high quality cast iron, not just cheap wire. Also it is wide enough that it is easy to move stuff off the heat. So easy to raise and lower the coals for maximum control. The dual air vents add another measure of flame and heat control. The side & front "counters" come in handy. Great grill at a terrific price. I opted to put this together as a project with my grandkids. It was a great teaching moment and we all had fun. We have used it 4-5 times a week for the last month. Notice the grates in the picture and sorry they are sideways. Be sure to follow the set up directions for prepping them. July 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome groll This grill is awesome. Took a little bitof time to get togeher and I needed a little bit of help to hold pieces while attaching other pieces. Works great, looks good (except the charbroile emblem is upside down on the lid). Overall a fantastic little charcoal grill! July 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by BARREL STYLE CHARCOAL GRILL Best charcoal Grill that I have seen lately, also best price as well. I have been searcing for a charcoal grill to get best taste for my BBQ parties and so finally I got one and enjoying my Kebabs and All other grill parties with my friends and loved ones, Thanks Home Depot!! July 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love this grill. I bought this model grill about a year ago to replace a slighly smaller smoker lost to a storm. i've always been more of a griller anyway but this lets me smoke with lump charcoal just as as well as it lets me grill with briquets.. For grilling, it can't be beat. It's easy to have a hot, a medium and a cool zone all at the same time. Plus the ability to raise or lower the height of the coals makes it especially easy to sear meats or quick cook hot-dogs and hamburgers. The lower settings make it perfect for chicken or pork. And the warming shelf if perfect for buns or veggies. Next year I plan on trying fish and shrimp. October 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by my grill this is the best grill ever!!!! The first time I used it i was like a kid with a new toy and the way my food cooked was perfect I have never had a grill like this, usually I would lose my burgers through the grates but not this time. I am loving my new grill I will be grilling until it starts to snow September 18, 2010
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The "REAL" BBQ Grill first off i love this grill if your a hard core charcoal and wood man /or woman this one is this grill for you , this is not your push button, propane, quick start gas flavored food grill this is the real deal . its beautiful and simple nice handle has a thermometer on front on/off smoke stack and its easy to clean up i would recommend this to anybody looking for that old school BBQ grill. May 8, 2010
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Happy Customer I just purchased this grill after doing quite a bit of research. This grill is easy to put together - nice looking not cheap looking. The material seems to be pretty study and durable - time will tell but this is a great grill for the size of our deck and for our family. No issues yet and the food tastes great! Awesome Charcoal Grill and great price! ;) July 19, 2010
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A lot of bang for the buck! After moving to a house from an apartment where I wasn't able to have a charcoal grill I was excited to get back into doing some real bbq. I picked up this grill because I'm a cheapskate and I'm very pleased with it. I assembled it, oiled the inside as per the instructions and then seasoned it with a charcoal/hickory fire for about two hours. After re stoking the fire I set it up for smoking and made the best ribs I've ever cooked! I now know this grill is going to work well for direct and indirect grilling and temperature control is easy. After a few hours of hickory smoke you open it up and you just smell that "this is where the magic happens" scent of a good charcoal grill. The only way I see myself replacing it is with a larger one. The ribs went way too fast! April 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT! Little Grill Have had this grill for about 2 months, on sale at big box store, it is one of the best grills I have ever owned, I am not a young guy, and I have had more grills than I can remember but this is one of the best. I can actually cook on it, heat control is fantastic, and you can't image what you can do with 2+ pounds of char coal, I was amazed. Keep in mind this is not a large grill, perfect for a small back yard, or to do a few steaks, salmon on a plank, or 8 or 9 hamburgers. To think of all the money I spent on previous grills that stated they were the "greatest", well I found the greatest for a great price too. June 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Buy it! Best grill we've ever had. We no longer use the gas grill since we bought this last month. It's better than a Weber charcoal grill. This charcoal grill has an accurate thermostat, cooks to perfection, and smokes the food. It also has a front and side cart for plates, utensils, etc. Unit is strong and fairly easy to assemble. This will hold up for years. May 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great grill for the money! This is a great all-around grill, and an especially good deal. I bought this to replace my old Weber Jr., which had been a wedding gift many, many years ago. Ordering and shipping was outstanding. It took me and my son about an hour to assemble the grill. After following the seasoning instructions I finally got a chance to enjoy some grilling and the results were great. It's so much more convenient than my trusty old Weber. September 27, 2011
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice little grill Assembly was pretty straight forward,however somethings required a beer or 2 to look at right. I do think it is a little on the weak side, it could use a little more sturdiness. I got it home assembled it in like 30 mins and threw some burgers on it at 9pm.. It was cold but the burgers were worth it! April 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great for the price I love smokers so I love this grill. plenty of room for all your treats and the adjustable ash pan that hold the coals is a plus. I like the ideal of moving the coals up or down and not the food; no chance of dropping your food. I think the ash pan could have been a little wider as a few coals fell off but they stayed in the bottom of the grill. The grate is heavy duty and you even get a handle to lift the hot grate if needed. A non-stick grate would have been better but I try to remember to spray my grate with Pam after cleaning so it don't rust. I got mine for $79 so get one before they are gone... June 3, 2014
  • 2015-11-22 T10:36:46.043-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_270, tr_270
  • loc_en_US, sid_202018204, prod, sort_default
<<2 3 4 5  ... 10 >>