0099143015651

Char-Broil

Model # 13301565

Internet # 202018204

Store SKU # 764103

American Gourmet Barrel Style Charcoal Grill

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

The Char-Broil American Gourmet Charcoal Grill combines the functions of charcoal smoking, barbecuing and grilling for flexible cooking. The grill features cast iron cooking grates and a grate lifter that provides easy access to the removable ash pan. It includes front, side and bottom shelves for storage space.

  • 623 sq. in. cooking surface offers space for cooking many of your favorite foods
  • Cast iron cooking grates for durability
  • Adjustable steel fire grate with an ash pan helps you control the cooking temperature
  • Black slat side and front shelves for additional preparation space
  • Includes a temperature gauge, a wire bottom shelf and a cast iron grate lifter for your convenience
  • Assembly required
  • Protect your investment with a grill cover (sold separately)
  • Note: Product may vary by store

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Assembled Depth (in.) 
29 in 
Assembled Height (in.) 
49.5 in 
Assembled Width (in.) 
35 in 
Cooking space (sq. in.) 
623 

Details

Color 
Black 
Color Family 
Black 
Grill Assembly 
Full Assembly Required 
Grill Color Family 
Black 
Grill Features 
Catch Pan,Heat Thermometer,Storage Rack,Warming Rack,Wheels,Removable Ash Catcher 
Grill Grate Material 
Cast Iron 
Grill Material 
Painted Steel 
Grill/Smoker Fuel Type 
Charcoal 
Grill/Smoker Fuel Type 
Charcoal 
Ignition Type 
No Ignition System 
Outdoor Living Product Type 
Charcoal/Wood Grill 
Product Weight (lb.) 
75 lb 
Returnable 
90-Day 

Warranty / Certifications

Certifications and Listings 
No Certifications or Listings 
Manufacturer Warranty 
90 days 

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

28 Questions115 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

American Gourmet Barrel Style Charcoal Grill
American Gourmet Barrel Style Charcoal Grill

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
 
6 answers

what is grill top dimensions?

This question is from American Gourmet Barrel Style Charcoal Grill
Asked by
Honolulu Hawaii
Read all my Q&A
May 14, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (6)

Asked by
New Boston Nh
Read all my Q&A
June 24, 2014
Answer: 
625sq inches of grilling space
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Thousand Oaks, Ca
Read all my Q&A
May 31, 2014
Answer: 
Approx 24" X 21".
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Albany, OR
Read all my Q&A
May 27, 2014
Answer: 
It is 19" deep by 20" wide. With easy to move grates (4) and a tool is provided to move the grates if they are hot.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Richland, WA, USA
Read all my Q&A
May 27, 2014
Answer: 
Approximately 21" wide and 19" deep.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Arizona, USA
Read all my Q&A
May 18, 2014
Answer: 
Top grill is 20x10
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 14, 2014
Answer: 
This Char-Broil Charcoal Grill has cooking dimensions of 18.79" x 6.48". Follow this link for more information on this grill... http://www.charbroil.com/american-gourmet-charcoal-grill-600-series-10301565-26.html
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
 
6 answers

Is this grill worth buying?

This question is from American Gourmet Barrel Style Charcoal Grill
Asked by
bronx,ny
Read all my Q&A
May 12, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (6)

Asked by
Phoenix
Read all my Q&A
May 20, 2014
Answer: 
Yes, this is a sturdy charcoal grill. It evenly distributes the heat, smokes the food, and is a great value.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Olympia, WA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 19, 2014
Answer: 
Absolutely. It's a good value. It has cast-iron grates, which you can season like any cast-iron, making them really slippery. It has good temperature control too, a real necessity. And its barrel shape really helps funnel the air through it, keeping the fire as hot as you want. It takes a little practice, though, to control the temperature. With time, you'll learn to control the temperature, let the food Read More
Absolutely. It's a good value. It has cast-iron grates, which you can season like any cast-iron, making them really slippery. It has good temperature control too, a real necessity. And its barrel shape really helps funnel the air through it, keeping the fire as hot as you want. It takes a little practice, though, to control the temperature. With time, you'll learn to control the temperature, let the food cook and keep the lid down. That's where this grill really shines. I love mine. It's all in the cast-iron grates and the rectangular shape (and a little practice at first). Read Less
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
phillipsburg, NJ
Read all my Q&A
May 14, 2014
Answer: 
Yes it is!!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Philadelphia, PA
Read all my Q&A
May 13, 2014
Answer: 
it was for me, my son put it together in about 90 minutes, I use it for a large cookout , and we even use it in the rain that same day, depending on how large a grill you need , this was a perfect size for me
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
South Jersey
Read all my Q&A
May 13, 2014
Answer: 
Yes, it is great, and you can't beat the sale price
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
San Antonio, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
May 13, 2014
Answer: 
yes, if your the attentive type while you are grilling and if you are good with assembly instructions.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
 
6 answers

How well does it smoke?

This question is from American Gourmet Barrel Style Charcoal Grill
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 10, 2014
I'm almost 100% about picking this up but I really love smoked meat, but don't have room for a giant smoker.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (6)

Asked by
Albany, OR
Read all my Q&A
May 27, 2014
Answer: 
Although I haven't tried that yet as I loved smoked meat too, all you really need to do is add the wood chips (soaked in water first) to the coals and you should get enough smoke flavor to satisfy your tastes. This is not a smoker though, it is a grill. However it does have a temperature gauge on it to help maintain the temperature you need to smoke meat and just might work for you if you can maintain Read More
Although I haven't tried that yet as I loved smoked meat too, all you really need to do is add the wood chips (soaked in water first) to the coals and you should get enough smoke flavor to satisfy your tastes. This is not a smoker though, it is a grill. However it does have a temperature gauge on it to help maintain the temperature you need to smoke meat and just might work for you if you can maintain the consistent heat. Read Less
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Phoenix
Read all my Q&A
May 27, 2014
Answer: 
smokes the food as well as any smoker; quite impressed with the amount of smoke and how it's infused in the meat
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Richland, WA, USA
Read all my Q&A
May 27, 2014
Answer: 
I smoked a small partial brisket by placing the coals on the right side and the meat on the left. I used large hickory wood chunks and controlled the vents to get the right temperature and smoke. The grill is in three sections, so I left off the right one to add wood chips and adjust the coals. It worked fine, but I would not give up my propane upright smoker for this same task or for cooking much larger Read More
I smoked a small partial brisket by placing the coals on the right side and the meat on the left. I used large hickory wood chunks and controlled the vents to get the right temperature and smoke. The grill is in three sections, so I left off the right one to add wood chips and adjust the coals. It worked fine, but I would not give up my propane upright smoker for this same task or for cooking much larger or more meats. Read Less
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
phillipsburg, NJ
Read all my Q&A
May 14, 2014
Answer: 
It is a very good smoker!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
San Antonio, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
May 13, 2014
Answer: 
When you smoke meat you constantly need to check your heat source and with this grill you can do that because it has three grilling plates if you remove one you have easy access to your fire, your meat can rest on the other 2 grilling plates, just keep your fire to one side of the pit.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 12, 2014
Answer: 
This American Gourmet Charcoal Grill is great for smoking or grilling food when you're limited on space. Don't let the size fool you. This grill can cook just about anything you can think of.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
 
6 answers

Can I smoke a slab of pork ribs on this grill?

This question is from American Gourmet Barrel Style Charcoal Grill
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 8, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (6)

Asked by
Albany, OR
Read all my Q&A
May 27, 2014
Answer: 
You sure can, there's more than enough room, I would say there's even room for 2 or maybe more depending on the size of the slab.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
phillipsburg, NJ
Read all my Q&A
May 14, 2014
Answer: 
Yes YOU CAN!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
San Antonio, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
May 13, 2014
Answer: 
Yes you can, just place the fire tray at its lowest level and use a medium size pile of briquets and they will cue nicely.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 9, 2014
Answer: 
Ribs can definitely be done in this American Gourmet Charcoal Grill. Follow this link to view all of the wood chips that we currently have available and that can add a great smoky flavor to your food... http://www.charbroil.com/grilling-smoking-accessories/flavored-wood.html
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Las Vegas, Nevada
Read all my Q&A
May 8, 2014
Answer: 
Ooh for sure, people might be turned off by the cheap price of this unit (something i thought of before I purchased it) but the thing is wonderful, unless you plan on cooking a whole pig this grill can pretty much handle any of your standard grilling needs, coming from a non-professional but a seasoned griller.
My personal favorite option of this grill is that it has a charcoal tray (easy for cleanup) Read More
Ooh for sure, people might be turned off by the cheap price of this unit (something i thought of before I purchased it) but the thing is wonderful, unless you plan on cooking a whole pig this grill can pretty much handle any of your standard grilling needs, coming from a non-professional but a seasoned griller.
My personal favorite option of this grill is that it has a charcoal tray (easy for cleanup) and also four different heating slots for the tray, did I mention easy set-up? Read Less
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Anonymous
Orange, Ca.
Home Improvement Profile: Other
May 8, 2014
Answer: 
Hi Jack , unfortunately this is not a smoker. You can indirectly grill a slab of ribs.
You place coals on either one side of the grill or both sides of the grill, leaving the middle of the grill open. Place a drip pan with water, or beer under the grates. This will give the ribs moisture and catch the drippings. On the sides have your coals ash gray and use wood chips. You can soak wood chips for 30 Read More
Hi Jack , unfortunately this is not a smoker. You can indirectly grill a slab of ribs.
You place coals on either one side of the grill or both sides of the grill, leaving the middle of the grill open. Place a drip pan with water, or beer under the grates. This will give the ribs moisture and catch the drippings. On the sides have your coals ash gray and use wood chips. You can soak wood chips for 30 minutes, then place them in aluminum foil. Poke holes in the aluminum foil and place on top of the coals. You will get smoke. Read Less
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
2 3 »
  • 2016-07-29 T16:52:00.022-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_202018204, prod, sort_default
2 3 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 63ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 270 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Easy to assemble and large cooking space Some might call this a medium cooking space, but i think it is big. Super easy to assemble, although it would have been easier if i had followed the suggestion to build with a buddy. May 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Quality Grill for Low Price Drill was easy to assemble. Gets really hot. Cheap. July 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by wonderful The grill came already assembled, which was great for me. July 20, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Grill! Took this home and put together myself. Hint: Let the store do it. Would have been easier if I had help, but was fairly straight forward. Cast Iron grates are more work to clean but worth it when cooking steaks. Sears quickly and cooks just right. May 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by all what I like about pick up in store they put it together for me, I brought this for my Neice and her two sons she picked it up after work the day I orderd and they use it the same day. They loved it couldn't thank me enough June 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good for the Price! Good grill...its a bummer to assemble. But overall it does the job perfectly!! July 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great lttle grill Great little grill for the price. No flair ups or burnt food. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that it doesn't have anywhere to hang utensils. Not a big deal. June 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by very solid built grill the grill was easy to put together,and it is pretty heavy duty. July 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Smoker and Grill I have had a lot of Smokers and Grills in my time. There was 1 thing I wanted this time because it is just my wife and I. I wanted to cook indirect and also smoke at the same time with ease and speed, this thing did it. Alot of cooking space made that happen. May 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Grill! I am very satisfied with this grill. I bought it for my charcoal-loving husband and he thoroughly enjoys it. He and our 9 year old daughter are bonding over this grill. The reason for the 4star rating: while my husband was seasoning his grill, the temp gauge rose to 325° and it hasn't moved since. I don't imagine it'll be too difficult to have it replaced. January 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by love it both wood and charcoal Love to have smokeing some if my food in. Easy to build. With the rights tools. Could of brought assembled already but don't want a truck or SUV. May 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Grill for general use. I'm not sure about the assembly of the grill, so I can't comment on this. However, I love the grill space andthe 2nd shelf. Also, I love the easy lift charcoal tray. June 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very good grill for the money Lightweight cooks very good on top grill good thing also you can move it very Easley July 15, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by nice design for cooking I found this to be a very good cooking surface because you can move the food around to cooler areas and still be able to flash up some flames when needed. (for me) Came with everything but the axel to attach the wheels. May 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great assembly! Time to replace the old grill. Not looking forward to assembling the new one. Kudos to CharBroil for packing the bolts, screws, washers, etc., in a blister pack LABELED on the back! This is an idea whose time has come! Took less than an hour to assemble and feels very sturdy. Not bad for the price. Love the cast iron cooking grates; have to season as if they were a brand new cast iron pan, but worth the trouble if it lasts a few years. April 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Met expectation Heavy lid, good Air flow, easy to adjust temp with air flow vents. Good charcoal shelf design for longer life June 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Five stars Very satisfied with the grill. Highly recommended. July 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Grill I originally bought this grill looking for sufficient cooking area combined with a low cost to purchase. I wasn’t expecting much in terms of performance. It turns out that this grill is wonderful. It far exceeded my expectations. I have used it a number of times now and every meal turned out perfect. I used a few days ago to cook for a group of 15 people and it handled it with ease. I had chicken, hot dogs and hamburgers all cooking at once. I highly recommend this product. A few notes: the height of the coals is very easy to manage but watch out for the hot handles. If you don’t use pot holders of some sort while holding the handles you may burn yourself. Also, hot dogs cook great on what they call the warming rack rather than on the very hot grill surface. The free shipping should have said "shipping included in price". If you buy from the store, as I did, it is $20 less ($99) August 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by OMG, the best!!! The grill was very easy to put together...if you like the old fashion way of grilling with charcoal, "YOU WILL LOVE THIS GRILL".. ..I had this grill for almost 2 years and I LOVE IT!!! May 14, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great product for the great price. Easy to use and clean. I brought this assembled already for an excellent price. July 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by product good for what it was manufactured for i purchased this grill already assembled at the home depot which was a plus to me. June 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Grill Easy to use not to big or not to small. Perfect size July 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by It was exactly what I needed it!! I broke my olds grill, rather got rusty so looked thru HomeDepots site to check on grill! It was met my budgets & very handy! June 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Grill Grill easy to assemble. Grill food Great ,,,, great grill for its price June 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great barbecue/smoker grill Though it is highly recommended to have two people assemble the grill, I only had myself, a 60+ average strength lady. By bracing against other furniture, I was able to complete the project and feel that I got an excellent grill for the price. I have used it several times in my first 30 days, including the seasoning of the cast iron grill plates, and am very satisfied with my purchase. There are no hooks for hanging cooking tools off the tables, which is a minor lack. There is a cast iron grill lifting tool provided by the manufacturer....it broke at the hole which could have been used for hanging it (if there were hanging hooks) after the tool hit the pavement while I was grilling, but the tool is still usable. You need the lifter to move the hot plates when adjusting the coals. I like the ease of adjusting the height of the coal pan to the grill plates for different cooking variations, and for lifting out the pan when cleaning the ashes. The smoker chimney is easy to figure out and use. I would have preferred a better handle to move the grill when not in use, but the side table does work for steering the grill to roll it where you want it. June 10, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by They tried to reject my review The lid never closed properly and I had to return product. July 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great grill to cook out Easy to assemble , Light to move around , and the value was right July 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Charcoal grill Great deal, has metal grate for cooking on. and the heavy metal shell makes it very sturdy. June 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Good! Very good ! easy to instal ! clean cut easy to use! June 17, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by American Gourmet Barrel Style Charcoal Grill Just O.K. - The lid is out of square & does not fit properly on the base unit even after much tweaking. The thermostat is rinky dink & doesn't give an actual temperature reading - it only says if the grill is hot, cold or "ideal" which isn't exactly helpful if one wants to smoke meat in it. The coal height adjustment feature is flimsy, awkward & unstable and can only be reached from the inside increasing the risk of burns to the user June 26, 2012
  • 2016-07-28 T13:47:17.260-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_270, tr_270
  • loc_en_US, sid_202018204, prod, sort_default
<< 3 4 5 6 7  ... 10 >>
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 109ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT