Model # 463251413

Internet #202018212

Char-Broil Gourmet TRU-Infrared 2-Burner Propane Gas Grill
0047362325020

Discontinued Char-Broil

Gourmet TRU-Infrared 2-Burner Propane Gas Grill

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

The infrared heating system featured in the Char-Broil Gourmet TRU-Infrared 2-Burner Propane Gas Grill helps to sear in flavor and keep food moist and juicy. You can drop wood chips through the grill's cast-iron grates for added flavor. Fold-up side shelves on the grill offer extra food preparation space. The grill's Surefire electronic ignition guarantees a quick and easy startup every time.

  • 430 sq. in. main cooking grates offer plenty of grilling space
  • 2 stainless steel tube burners
  • 24,000 BTU cooking system delivers powerful heat and performance
  • Infrared heat cooking system provides a wide temperature range, from intense searing to slow rotisserie cooking, for added flavor
  • Cast-iron cooking grates are porcelain coated for strength
  • Fold-up shelves make the grill more compact when not in use
  • Mounted on wheels for portability
  • Surefire electronic ignition ensures the grill fires up every time
  • Catch pan, heat thermometer and warming rack included for convenience
  • Dimensions : 46.4 in. W x 24 in. D x 46.1 in. H
  • Quick and easy assembly
  • Protect your investment with a grill cover (sold separately)
  • Don't forget the propane -- available at our in-store propane exchange centers

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar

Price
$199.00 /each
$299.00 /each
$342.99 /each
$396.97 /each
Name Gourmet TRU-Infrared 2-Burner Propane Gas Grill 36 in. Propane Gas Griddle Cooking Station 4-Burner Propane Gas Grill with Side Burner Falcon Series 2-Burner Propane Gas Grill in All Stainless Steel
Brand Char-Broil Blackstone Dyna-Glo LANDMANN
Ratings (755) (83) (82) (2)
Grill/Smoker Category Freestanding/Cart Style Freestanding/Cart Style Freestanding/Cart Style Freestanding/Cart Style
Grill/Smoker Features Grease Pan,Heat Thermometer,Warming Rack Foldable Legs,Grease Pan,Storage Rack Grease Pan,Heat Thermometer,Warming Rack Grease Pan,Heat Thermometer,Warming Rack
Number of Burners 2 4 4 2
Grill Color Family Stainless Steel Black Stainless Steel Stainless Steel
Grill Grate/Surface Material Porcelain-Coated Steel Porcelain-Enameled Cast Iron Porcelain-Coated Cast Iron
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

97 Questions317 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

Gourmet TRU-Infrared 2-Burner Propane Gas Grill
Gourmet TRU-Infrared 2-Burner Propane Gas Grill

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
 
7 answers

Does this come with roterssiery?

This question is from Gourmet TRU-Infrared 2-Burner Propane Gas Grill
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
June 19, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (7)

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
August 5, 2014
Answer: 
mine did not come with the equipment for roterssier
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Carson City,NV
Read all my Q&A
June 20, 2014
Answer: 
No. This model does not include a rotisserie.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
June 20, 2014
Answer: 
This Gourmet TRU-Infrared 2-Burner Grill does not come with a rotisserie. A rotisserie must be purchased separately. We recommend the Deluxe Grill Rotisserie. This is model # 3184727.
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0

Asked by
Pahrump, NV, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 20, 2014
Answer: 
No. The rotisserie does not come with the grill. but one can be purchased separately.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Eden Prairie, MN
Read all my Q&A
June 20, 2014
Answer: 
No, but a rotisserie is an add-on accessory that you can get separately.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Asked by
Kansas
Read all my Q&A
June 20, 2014
Answer: 
This unit did not come with a rotisserie. Appears to have a mount for one.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
NJ
Read all my Q&A
June 19, 2014
Answer: 
There is a rotisserie setting on the dials, but no actual rotisserie hardware was included in mine.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
 
7 answers

How do you use the self cleaning with this model?

This question is from Gourmet TRU-Infrared 2-Burner Propane Gas Grill
Asked by
Rich
VB, VA
July 25, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (7)

Asked by
Rochester, ny
Read all my Q&A
April 11, 2015
Answer: 
I have found from a friend on cleaning gas grills the grates to be very easy to do. Take aluminum foil with the shiny side down on the grate and turn on the gas grill on high for about 5-10 minutes. The grates will turn white or gray just wipe off and you are done. Very simple no scrubbing or scrapping needed. Wish I had learned this one years ago but have used it the past few years and has worked ever Read More
I have found from a friend on cleaning gas grills the grates to be very easy to do. Take aluminum foil with the shiny side down on the grate and turn on the gas grill on high for about 5-10 minutes. The grates will turn white or gray just wipe off and you are done. Very simple no scrubbing or scrapping needed. Wish I had learned this one years ago but have used it the past few years and has worked ever since. Hope this helps you and any one else in regards to cleaning the grates. Read Less
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Santa Clarita
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
February 17, 2014
Answer: 
I normally just turn the knobs to the clean markings and close the lid for about 10-15 minutes. This allows the bbq to incinerate any food matter thats stuck to the grill. After 10 minutes you scrub it with your bbq brush to scrape off all the burnt bits stuck on the grill. They should fall right into your trough. The next day, or after its cooled down, you can remove the grates and scrape out the trough Read More
I normally just turn the knobs to the clean markings and close the lid for about 10-15 minutes. This allows the bbq to incinerate any food matter thats stuck to the grill. After 10 minutes you scrub it with your bbq brush to scrape off all the burnt bits stuck on the grill. They should fall right into your trough. The next day, or after its cooled down, you can remove the grates and scrape out the trough to clean all the burnt particles. I noticed that the trough fits into most standard sized trash bags, so I place the whole thing in the trash bag and scrape it down. The trash bag keeps all the black burnt stuff from getting all over your concrete or yard. Read Less
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Read all my Q&A
August 3, 2013
Answer: 
The self cleaning function is simply the highest setting for the gas valve and will create high temperatures inside the grill. The high temperature (~600 F) burns food debris and grease/fat to ash. Typically 10 min at the highest setting will clean the grill. If left on for long periods the high temperatures can damage the grill. This has happened to me. It will also consume your gas much faster.
It is Read More
The self cleaning function is simply the highest setting for the gas valve and will create high temperatures inside the grill. The high temperature (~600 F) burns food debris and grease/fat to ash. Typically 10 min at the highest setting will clean the grill. If left on for long periods the high temperatures can damage the grill. This has happened to me. It will also consume your gas much faster.
It is probably only necessary to clean (burn) out the grill when is is obviously dirty or once a month. Read Less
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Parker, CO, USA
Read all my Q&A
July 26, 2013
Answer: 
I am not exactly sure what you are asking. If you turn on the two burners to full flame, you will reach 650 to 700 degrees in approx. 10 minutes. I use this temp to grill steaks, ribs and other beef cuts and they are juicy and tender and only take a few minutes to cook.
I suppose you could use this high setting to "self clean" as well. It will certainly turn any residue on the grill to ash and then just
Read More
I am not exactly sure what you are asking. If you turn on the two burners to full flame, you will reach 650 to 700 degrees in approx. 10 minutes. I use this temp to grill steaks, ribs and other beef cuts and they are juicy and tender and only take a few minutes to cook.
I suppose you could use this high setting to "self clean" as well. It will certainly turn any residue on the grill to ash and then just brush it off.
Be sure you clean the pan under the grates as well to keep grill from smoking a lot when cooking.
Manning
Read Less
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
July 26, 2013
Answer: 
This Char-Broil Gourmet TRU-Infrared 2-Burner Grill does not have a self cleaning function, but it can utilize the burnoff technique. This can be performed by turning the grill to high for about 15 to 20 after you have finished cooking. This will burn off any food or grease particles that may still in the grill. After this the cooking grates can be prushed off. Follow this link for more information on Read More
This Char-Broil Gourmet TRU-Infrared 2-Burner Grill does not have a self cleaning function, but it can utilize the burnoff technique. This can be performed by turning the grill to high for about 15 to 20 after you have finished cooking. This will burn off any food or grease particles that may still in the grill. After this the cooking grates can be prushed off. Follow this link for more information on cleaning... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e8jtZ62hukA Read Less
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Asked by
California, USA
Read all my Q&A
July 25, 2013
Answer: 
I'm not aware of a self cleaning feature. Let me know if you find one. I will say the grates are so heavy duty that they clean very easily. They will live longer than I will. I have used everything from an Easy Off oven cleaner on them to just a scrub brush... especially when the grill is hot... and they clean up just fine. Sorry I can't say more.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Garland, TX
Read all my Q&A
July 25, 2013
Answer: 
Turn both burners to the highest setting for about 10 minutes after the food has been removed. That will burn off any grease and turn any remaining food particles to ash.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
 
7 answers

do you lite gas grill with lid up or down

This question is from Gourmet TRU-Infrared 2-Burner Propane Gas Grill
Asked by
cwlretired98
Bean Station, Tn.
June 22, 2013
We bought Char Broil Infrared gas grill, we don't know IF you lite it with lid up or down
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (7)

Asked by
Columbus, GA, USA
Read all my Q&A
June 25, 2013
Answer: 
Always lite it with the lid up. Then we cook with it down.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Colorado
Read all my Q&A
June 25, 2013
Answer: 
down
-10points
0out of 10found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful10

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
June 24, 2013
Answer: 
The lid should always be open whenever lighting this Char-Broil Gourmet TRU-Infared 2-Burner Grill.
+7points
7out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful0

Asked by
Charleston, IL
Read all my Q&A
June 22, 2013
Answer: 
ALWAYS light with the lid up. Otherwise, you could get a buildup of gas under the lid which could lead to a most unpleasant result. Open the lid, turn on the gas knobs and close the lid once it is lit.
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0

Asked by
St. Joseph, MI, USA
Read all my Q&A
June 22, 2013
Answer: 
Always up!
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Asked by
California, USA
Read all my Q&A
June 22, 2013
Answer: 
It shouldn't matter but I like lid up so I can see that it is properly lit and lid up also allows a better flow of oxygen to assist in ignition. More important is to click the igniter switch on just slightly ahead of turning on the gas to avoid the popping/mini-explosion of gas one gets if excessive gas accumulates before the igniter is activated.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0

Asked by
Dawsonville, GA 30534, USA
Read all my Q&A
June 22, 2013
Answer: 
Always up
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
 
7 answers

Which is better, the Home Depot porcelain coated cast iron grates or the Lowes stainless steel grates?? Both are Charbroil infrared grills!

This question is from Gourmet TRU-Infrared 2-Burner Propane Gas Grill
Asked by
Givens3725
Orlando, FL
September 28, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (7)

Asked by
KC
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 11, 2015
Answer: 
I don't have experience with the longevity of the porcelain (HD version) but the Lowe's version (stainless grids with IR tray under them) lasted about 4-5 years of 2ish uses per week during Kansas City "grilling acceptable weather". The grill was always covered. Now my IR trays, which are directly under the grilling bars, are rusted through. In theory, the porcelain should never rust, but there is quite Read More
I don't have experience with the longevity of the porcelain (HD version) but the Lowe's version (stainless grids with IR tray under them) lasted about 4-5 years of 2ish uses per week during Kansas City "grilling acceptable weather". The grill was always covered. Now my IR trays, which are directly under the grilling bars, are rusted through. In theory, the porcelain should never rust, but there is quite a bit of feedback that the IR trough of the Home Depot version is prone to rusting. I am not sure if this is due to lack of "seasoning" or coating the trough with High Temp Silicon as preventative or not.
We enjoyed the compact size of the grill, the quality of the food but now in addition to trays being shot, the regulator is kaput so I am grill shopping again. I would buy this model again, just deciding on which version. I am leaning toward HD version. However, the trays directly under the grates does catch grease and food bits which smoke and add to the "grilled" flavor if you don't burn them off completely before cooking the next time. Read Less
+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1

Asked by
Garland, TX
Read all my Q&A
April 6, 2013
Answer: 
I've had better luck with the porcelain-coated grids - the stainless doesn't seem to last as long over time with the heat - they're too thin.
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0

Asked by
California, USA
Read all my Q&A
March 17, 2013
Answer: 
I preferred the Home Depot porcelain coated grates... easy to clean and strong!
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Kansas City
Read all my Q&A
March 16, 2013
Answer: 
Cast iron is almost indestructible except for one thing: rust. Stainless Steel resists rust and is equally indestructible.
So, all things being equal, I would think the edge would go to stainless steel.
However, cast iron can be coated with enamel/porcelain (is there a difference?) to prevent rust, but can the enamel be chipped? Especially with metal cooking tools?
Stainless steel is often seen in Read More
Cast iron is almost indestructible except for one thing: rust. Stainless Steel resists rust and is equally indestructible.
So, all things being equal, I would think the edge would go to stainless steel.
However, cast iron can be coated with enamel/porcelain (is there a difference?) to prevent rust, but can the enamel be chipped? Especially with metal cooking tools?
Stainless steel is often seen in round rods. Thickness of the rods should count for more durability. Read Less
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1

Asked by
San Pedro, CA
Read all my Q&A
November 9, 2012
Answer: 
I think a lot depends on how much a neat freak you are. The cooking and taste of the meat will be about the same. Much like your stove and oven, the ceramic lining makes it easier to keep it clean. But for the BBQ, grates can be cleaned with a wire brush or crumpled foil. Many say the charred bits on a steel grate helps add flavor to the meat. We use the steel grates and I cannot taste any difference. If Read More
I think a lot depends on how much a neat freak you are. The cooking and taste of the meat will be about the same. Much like your stove and oven, the ceramic lining makes it easier to keep it clean. But for the BBQ, grates can be cleaned with a wire brush or crumpled foil. Many say the charred bits on a steel grate helps add flavor to the meat. We use the steel grates and I cannot taste any difference. If you like a clean great, get the ceramic. If you do not mind a little crusty, use the steel. Read Less
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Rpe1
November 1, 2012
Answer: 
Neither. They won't grill your food properly. It will take forever and you won't have control needed for a properly cooked piece of meat.
-23points
4out of 31found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful27

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
October 1, 2012
Answer: 
Both grills have the ability to provide amazing flavors and a TRU infrared experience. Each grill can reach the same temperatures and allow for the same level of control. The main difference between the two is the setup each grill uses to cook infrared. The Commercial Series, at Lowes, with the stainless steel cooking grates and housing trays and The Gourmet, at Home Depot, with the porcelain cooking Read More
Both grills have the ability to provide amazing flavors and a TRU infrared experience. Each grill can reach the same temperatures and allow for the same level of control. The main difference between the two is the setup each grill uses to cook infrared. The Commercial Series, at Lowes, with the stainless steel cooking grates and housing trays and The Gourmet, at Home Depot, with the porcelain cooking grates and emitter trough. Both TRU infrared grills are very evenly matched and would be great addition to any outdoor setup. Please visit our website for more information... www.charbroil.com Read Less
-13points
1out of 15found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful14
2 3 4 5 6 »
  • 2016-10-30 T23:57:03.313-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_202018212, prod, sort_default
2 3 4 5 6 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 129ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Gourmet TRU-Infrared 2-Burner Propane Gas Grill is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 755.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Sorry I purchased Takes forever to get hot uses lot of gas after 3 months igniter failed Charbroil will send new one for $8.99 , So I can possible watch another fail??? Cheap materials already rusting WILL NEVER BUY ANOTHER charbroil
Date published: 2011-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well made and a great buy! This is a very well made BBQ. Everything about it makes it a perfect choice for the home. Stainless Steel construction will last forever. It is rated #1 for this size of BBQ in a Consumer's magazine.
Date published: 2011-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Grill Cooks very even and no flare ups! A lot of assembly, but well worth the time. I have been using this for about a month now and must say it is the best grill I have every owned.
Date published: 2012-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Grill I purchased this for my son. We assembled it without much trouble. A few screws were a little challenging to access. It took a little over an hour to assemble. As with any grill you need to get familiar with its heat controls and this grill is no exception. By turning on both burners for 5-10 minutes it heats up well, you can then adjust the temperature down if necessary and its ready to cook. One feature I like is the large drip pan which makes for easy cleanup and protects the burners.
Date published: 2012-03-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Do not buy Char-broil infrared grills I bought a Char-Broil Commercial Series 2-Burner Quantum Gas Grill and in 4 uses the grate started to rust and now it is totally rusted despite the careful seasoning with oil and maintenance. The same happened to be with another Char-broil infrared grill that I bought. Char-broil has let me down big time. I will not buy Char-broil ever again even if it means not cooking with infrared.
Date published: 2012-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love, Love this grill! Just got this grill recently, and used it twice. Had an old (less than $100) Char-broil that lasted almost 10 years, that's why I chose Char-broil again (great brand). I picked this one based on all the positive reviews, and wanted to try this new infared that I keep reading about. It doesn't disappoint! My chicken was cooked so fast and when I turned the chicken over the juices were still running off of them (moist). My hamburgers tasted like they came off of a charcoal grill. The infared system is pretty simple, you just allow the grill to heat up first, and when you put the food down it sizzles like crazy and there is no open flame to see (so no flare-ups). Then you leave it on clean and the heat burns everything to ash, talk about an easy clean up! It also looks very nice with all the stainless steel. Sure you need to wait for it to cool down before covering, but it is worth it. My only "complaint" is that I did let the grill run for 15-20 minutes to burn off any oils from the factory as per the instructions, and I am now getting a lot of these black flakes coming off of the grill grates (grilling surface area), even used the brush to scrape it, but it still flakes. So, hopefully that will stop soon.
Date published: 2010-09-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I LOVE this grill, but it is kind of a pain to clean I am a novice griller, but everything I have made on this grill - steak, chicken, hamburgers, shrimp - has come out terrific! Read the instructions before using it.... the grilling times / instructions are very helpful and accurate. My only complaint about the grill is it is kind of a pain to keep clean. There are these tiny pin holes in the grates and if they get clogged it is hard to clean them. I do a mini clean now after every use and a major clean every 6 times or so. Overall I would definitely recommend the grill!
Date published: 2011-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the grill--Assembly easier that expected. When delivered, the box looked huge. Looked at assembly instructions. It can't be all that hard, it wasn't. Some things required two people, insturctions were correct. Took me a couple days to complete, not hours. The hardware blister pack made assembly easy. Self taping phillips screws were hard to use, I replaced them with Hex heads much easier in steel sheet metal. In general the assembly went very well. I would lile larger casters.4" or greater, like former grills. My patio is covered, The grill produces a lot of heat. Instructions warn about enclosures and overhanging covers. The small diameter wheels are hard to move on the lawn. Cart type would be easier to navigate the yard. Really love the grill and cooking on it is a pleasure. First experience with infrared, love it. Looking forward to great cooking experiences.
Date published: 2011-07-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Check Quality on Free Assembly Unfortunately, I have not had the pleasure of using my new grill yet so I cannot comment on the quality of the product at this time. The subject of this review is the free assembly, or at least partial assembly. Only after I drove it home and unloaded it did I realize the 2 vanity panels on either side of the burner control panel were only being held on by 1 screw (total of 6 screws missing). After further inspection, I found scratches on the interior of the grill area due to the warming rack being improperly installed as well as the ignition module just dangling underneath. I am overall very disappointed with this free service not only because it is now going to require much more of my time to resolve, but because it is evident there is no supervision or quality check during or after assembly. So for those wishing to take advantage of this free service for any item, I would recommend a full inspection prior to taking the product home.
Date published: 2015-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome grill, love how it cooks. Trust in the infrared! The grill is light and easy to move around, and the casters are very free flowing. We have a large patio so its nice to be able to easily move it around. Also has locking casters. Both the side panels fold down for tight storage, but when theyre up they are very sturdy. The grill as a whole is very sturdy. The grill comes with a tips book for cooking with infrared. (Im sure you could look online and find ways to do it as well) I have never used an infrared cooker before, so i used the book to grill a steak, and the way they said to do it cooked the steak perfectly. I am used to cooking with charcoal, but am tired of always dealing with the mess, and this has no mess. Once your done just set it to clean for 15 min and it all turns to ash. It does require a bit of LP usage cooking it as the book describes, but the way it cooks so evenly is well worth it. The only problem i can see having is grilling more than 6 steaks at once due to the smaller cooking surface, but you should be able to fit at least 12 burgers at once on there, and grilling by the book it only takes 6-8 min to grill a burger. Bottom line it cooks very evenly and quickly, and if you want a bigger cooking surface because your always grilling for large number of guests, then buy the 3 burner version. But for the amount of people im grilling for this is perfect. the taste and juices it gives you is unbelievable. Love this little grill!
Date published: 2011-07-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from its falling apart! its not sturdy and after a year and half its is not holding well. every time i use it i am afraid its going to fall and hurt anyone!. As far as the heat goes it was amazing for a while but now it takes forever to warm up and the knobs are hard to turn not only that letters have fade and i can no longer tell wheater we are searing or cleaning only beacuse i remember where it was. it has lots of builtup inside and it is impossible to clean. It seems as we buy something now for a year and then is time to trash it. good for the time it last. this is our second grill in three years. we even have it in a cover patio and with a grill cover and its still deteriorating fast.
Date published: 2012-02-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Grill This grill is perfect for my needs. It's easy to use and cooks food evenly. This grill has plenty of cooking space and I love that the sides fold down to save space. July 4th weekend I was able to fit 8 large chicken breasts on the main grill and a dozen chicken legs on the raised rack. I was also able to cook a dozen ears of sweet corn at the same time. I had no trouble with food burning or with flames rising thanks to the infrared heating.
Date published: 2011-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Compact and powerful I spent a good chunk of time researching grills before settling on this one. I read great (and not so great) things about "infrared" grills and in the end decided that a Charbroil was the best option in my price range. Please note that Charbroil RED grills are NOT really infrared grills in the traditional sense (like what you'll see at a steakhouse), they are radiant heat grills. This means that they heat up a plate with a flame and the plate radiates the heat. They take a bit longer to heat up than a real infrared, but the effect is generally the same. This grill gets HOT, and I mean HOT. (700F) It took a few tries to get used to the unique way you have to cook on the grill (food looks more well done than it actually is because of the amazing searing), but now that I've got it down I love it. The one major drawback to the RED system is that you lose most of the "grilling" flavor you get from a charcoal grill or a dirty propane setup. I remedy this by adding some wood chips while cooking and the result is a clean smokey taste. Cleaning the grill is a breeze since 700F will incinerate anything left on the grill into a fine dust. I doubt I will ever purchase a "normal" propane grill again. The size of this grill is great for anyone who can't sacrifice the space for a full size grill. It folds down neatly and performs really well for its size. I would have preferred a dual zone setup like on the 4-burner model, but since the 2 and 3 both have one-zone setups I chose the 2 burner for the smaller footprint. My grill did come with a defective radiant heat plate, but my local Home Depot took care of me with no problems, despite the fact that I ordered the product online.
Date published: 2011-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT Grill I recently bought this grill and i must say it is well worth the money. I was debated between this grill and a cheaper Brinkmann gas grill. After reading the positive reviews for this grill i decided to spend the extra money and get a quality grill. I had the juiciest steak ive ever had last night. The searing on this grill is amazing. It really keeps the moisture in. Couldnt be happier and strongly reccomend this grill.
Date published: 2011-01-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from quickly rust out of stainless parts charbroil cust service will not replace rusted stainless infared grate but will glady offer to sell me a new part for double of what it sells for on ebay. sorry I ever bought a charbroil. never again. buyer beware. 2 year old rust junk.
Date published: 2015-04-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Tru Infrared Disappoints I was attracted to the idea of Tru- Infrared cooking, where the burners are housed under a solid pan. Seemed like it would be easier maintenance, but found that with nowhere for the drippings to go but onto the super heated plate, everything cooked had an overly smokey, burnt flavor, no matter how low the temperature. Switched to a traditional Weber Grill after 2 years. No going back. Though this is discontinued, I would avoid this type of cooking system!
Date published: 2016-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Happy Griller I purchased this grill about a little over a year ago and it has been great! During the spring summer and fall I use it multiple times a week grilling chicken, pork chops, steaks, hamburgers and brauts. Always holds in plenty of flavor while thoroughly cooking meat. Never had a problem. My next purchase will be a grill griddle for cooking fish on. As for the negative comments about it rusting and not holding up.. my advice is make sure you clean it every time after using and spray it down with pam or nonstick oil to prevent the food from sticking to the grill. If you take the time to clean it shouldnt have any problems. Mine still looks new!
Date published: 2014-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best grill ever I've been grilling with a Weber for 16 years, the heat was never consistent. This grill's heat is even all around. cooks perfectly
Date published: 2014-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect grilled meats Grilling for over 40 years, sometimes 3-4 times a week, I've used many different grills - this one cooks the very best! No flair ups! Nothing but perfectly cooked meat every time - it takes a few times to get use to cooking by measuring the thickness of the meat, setting the timer, and not watching, however after 1-1/2 year of using this grill, it is the very best way to grill with perfect juicy meat every time. Our bottom pan burned out just before we had to put for a new one (CharBroil sent us one free), but since then we put the wood chips in a separate pan to see if the catch pan lasts longer. Even if we buy a new pan once a year, it is worth the perfect cooking method. Buy this grill or buy one with TRU infred for the juiciest best grilled meat you ever had.
Date published: 2015-05-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So Far I Like It I've only had it for a couple of weeks. A lot of the reviews said that it was hard to assemble. I think that if you follow the instructions and don't tighten the screws and bolts all the way until the end the assembly goes pretty smoothly. Another mentioned rusting. The instructions do say to put a coat of oil on everything after assembly. Here's what I do: I spray a coat of WD40 or other type of penetrating oil on the OUTSIDE of the grill then wipe it with a soft cloth to get the excess off. The penetrating oil gets into the crevices and helps prevent rusting of the sheared edges. I also do this for maintenance when the grill gets a little dull. For the inside I've used both Canola oil on a rag, and PAM made with Canola oil & both work. As to the grill's performance, I like the even heat and the way the grill is designed makes cleaning pretty easy. Any new grill requires a little seasoning and that comes with use.
Date published: 2011-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the Best I Have Owned This is my third season using my grill. The temperature range is great. I can slow cook (ribs) at low temperature or sear (steaks) at high temperature. The trough provides a great place for wood chips and protects against flare ups The clean mode works great turning everything to white ash. I'm not certain why others are having rust problems but my trough is 3 years old and still going. I grill all year long at least twice a week. I clean after every use and I coat the trough with canola oil from a spray can after each use. No rust problems at all. .
Date published: 2013-06-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Buy it. It's great. You'll love it. I'm not a grill gourmet. Steak, burgs, dogs and chicken. Nothing fancy. This grill cooks everything to perfection. Even in the rain. I'm amazed how well everything comes out. I will never buy anything else but an infrared. Maintenance is maintenance. The better you service it the better it will service you. A no drainer. GZ, Waterbury, CT
Date published: 2012-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE this grill!!!! We bought this grill already assembled, so no problems there. I have had many grills and this is by far the best one ever. Before we purchased this, I did some online research of these infrared grills. I had never heard of infrared grills and was a little bit nervous about buying one. . I'm so happy that I read some good reviews and decided to try it. It has so many features that I love, it is hard to know where to begin... I love the quick and easy start up, I love the fact that the entire grilling surface is all one temperature..no hot spots or cold spots, I love that there are no flare ups, I love how easy it is to keep clean. All the grease and marinades fall into the bowl that protects the burners and bottom of the grill. It has a "clean" cycle, much like that in your oven. All you need to do is scrape it a little bit and dust it out.. No messy bottom of grill and no little hanging dish to catch grease. I'd buy this grill again in a second!
Date published: 2011-06-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Rust Bucket! The grill is still working after owning it for a year, but the outside is a total wreck. The decals that indicate heat level, etc started flecking off within the 1st month. We have to remember to use a Sharpie to write on the dials or it will disappear and be useless! The stainless steel is incredibly cheap and started to rust within the first 3 months. I wax it regularly to try and save it. We keep it covered too.
Date published: 2012-01-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Top rated grill The grill was top rated by Consumer Reports. However, it's a bear to put together. Some steps require two people, and although I have small hands, it's difficult to get into tight spaces to attach screws, nuts and washers. I wouldnt order it online or buy it unassembled. Our local Depot offers free assembly, but they were sold out.
Date published: 2011-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great cooking concept Flame does not touch the meat. Cooks fast and seals the juices. Almost like a propane convection grill/oven.
Date published: 2012-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great grill for the price. Bought this grill on Sunday, picked it up on Monday evening and started using it on Tuesday. I've grilled shrimp, chicken, steak and barbecued a pork shoulder. All have come out great. Everything was so juicy and delicious. I've never been good with a grill, all my food usually came out a little too dry. It seems I just can't make a mistake with this one. Love the easy clean up as well. The debris in the emitter tray just wipes up with a paper towel. I would definitely advise anyone thinking about a grill to get this one. Mine is the 2012 version.
Date published: 2012-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome value! This grill arrived last Thursday, and we have used it almost every day since - including for a party we had on Saturday. It cooks the meats just right, we enjoy the "red" technology. Our last grill did not have that and foods would often get charred and tough. With this grill, everything comes out perfectly moist. A surprising favorite has been grilled asparagus with a little oil and salt - very good, even our kids like it! We are excited to use it all summer long for many more parties! It is a smaller grill, which is fine for us - we cook in batches for larger groups and prefer one that doesn't take up so much space. It was a great buy, we looked a long time and we're so glad we finally decided on this one. Very happy with our choice!
Date published: 2010-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from lover the red 2 burner infrared gas grill it's not fun to put together, but is so nice to cook on!
Date published: 2011-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great grill and I would purchase it again! I love the grill. I cannot see the flame to really know that it is lit, but I touch the ignition button one time and it lites because I can feel the heat. It rapidly heats and evenly cooks the meats. Consumer Reports listed it as a recommended grill to buy and I am happy that I did.
Date published: 2012-06-05
  • y_2017, m_1, d_16, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_753
  • loc_, sid_202018212, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 178ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT