Free Shipping and BOPIS
Discontinued

Cub Cadet

Model # ST 100

Internet # 204627329

Store SKU # 1000022409

22 in. 159 cc Gas Walk-Behind String Trimmer

This item has been discontinued.
The Home Depot no longer carries this specific product.

Loading...

PRODUCT OVERVIEW

Model # ST 100

Internet # 204627329

Store SKU # 1000022409

Store SO SKU # 639830

The Cub Cadet high performance 159 cc OHV engine is equipped with an AutoChoke system that eliminates the need to prime the engine prior to starting. Cub Cadet’s unique deck design allows you to trim right up against fence lines, posts and other obstacles

California residents: see  Proposition 65 information

  • Powerful and efficient 159 cc OHV engine provides plenty of power for tall grass and weeds
  • AutoChoke feature means no need to prime the engine before starting
  • 22 in. cutting width and five adjustable height settings (1.75 in. - 4 in.) provide versatility for all your cutting needs
  • Unique deck design allows for trimming against fence lines and posts
  • Rolls smoothly on large 14 in. rear wheels with ball bearings
  • Heavy duty 0.155 in. trimming line included
  • Debris shield on deck protects the operator
  • Handle folds for easier storage
  • Easy setup: just fold up handle, add gas and oil and go
  • Motor oil included
  • Choose Cub Cadet with confidence, backed with a full 3-year limited warranty, including the engine
  • Model # 25A-262J756

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

SPECIFICATIONS

Dimensions
Assembled Depth (in.) 
22 in 
Assembled Height (in.) 
41 in 
Assembled Width (in.) 
55 in 
Line diameter (in.) 
.155 
Size of Yard 
1/4 - 1/2 Acre 
Details
Cutting Width (in.) 
22 
Engine Displacement (cc) 
159 
Engine Type 
4-cycle OHV 
Features 
Rust resistant deck 
Fuel tank capacity (gallons) 
.15 
Lawn Mower Type 
Trimmer Mower 
Maximum cutting height (in.) 
Minimum cutting height (in.) 
1.75 
Product Weight (lb.) 
70 lb 
Reconditioned 
No 
Returnable 
30-Day 
Self propelled 
No 
Start Type 
Manual 
Terrain 
Uneven with Obstacles 
Wheel Size 
14 x 2 
Warranty / Certifications
Manufacturer Warranty 
3-year limited warranty, including the engine 

CUSTOMER REVIEWS

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 90 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Little Cub This little cub came ready to use right out of the box added oil and gas and started on the first pull.Came with added string my son and i cut blue grass bout 3 ft high lasted around 3 hours on a tank of gas .The string had some wear but not much. This is good for lots and fields with rocks are you don't know whats under the grass .Was just what i needed . May 10, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Light wieght. Starts on first pull easy to push, string easy to replace. April 25, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best piece of yard equipment I have ever used. Technically this is a string trimmer, and it is an excellent one, but once you get going, you can mow with it faster than with a walk-behind gas mower. Cut weeds, even the stalky ones, cut grass, cut obnoxious grasses, like Johnson grass, easier than any other string trimmer I have used. You don't have to carry the thing --- the large wheels move over the terrain without a problem. With this, I feel like I am in control again. The house next door is now a rental, and their weeds migrated to my yard, so now I can handle them more easily, without getting out a mower and a trimmer. This Cub Cadet string trimmer trims and mows both, so I forgot about replacing my old mower, too. I don't need it. June 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by So totally worth the money! This trimmer is an absolute beast! The grass in my back yard had gotten completely out of control to the point it was in places shoulder tall or higher. It was slow going in places, but this trimmer absolutely demolished the weeds and other debris that had taken over my back yard. I truly wish I could show before and after pictures (I failed to take any) because the difference is night and day and only took a couple of hours to do both my back and my front yard that had also started getting out of control. It starts easy and the large wheels make it easy to push. The cable is super easy to replace. Almost for got to mention, it can get in close to fence lines and such. I wish I would have bought this a long time ago. May 25, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Trimmer Mower! This is my first trimmer mower and I'm very happy with the product. It works exactly as described. I really like the large wheels that allow you to access areas with high and thick grass/weeds and areas with uneven terrain. It is useable near fence lines and other obstacles. The handle also folds for better storage. Adjusting the trimming height is not as easy as I would prefer, but it is still manageable while in the field. The motor starts from the first or second pull. I haven't had this machine long enough but from my first use I am impressed. As a bonus, oil is included! April 18, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by junk I bought this thing to help control the tall grass around my property. I let it get maybe 24in. It cuts for 30 sec and I have to stop because it kills the manufacturer recommended sting. My shovel works better. April 30, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Trimmer Mower for the price In the past I've owned two walk behind trimmer mowers. The first was a DR trimmer. While expensive it lasted me almost 15 years. The second was a Sears Craftsman DR look alike. It broke down just after the warranty period expired with broken throttle and engine control cables on the handlebars. It also required frequent mow ball replacement and belts. The grass tended to wrap around the mow ball more than just cut it. I shopped for a replacement DR but didn't like the reduced quality I was seeing. In addition shipping prices were very high. They don't even include the needed oil or oil drain plug on many of their engines. I stumbled on this Cub Cadet model while price shopping. While it has a powermore chinese made engine, reviews were generally favorable. It has an oil drain plug, includes the engine oil and comes with a three year warranty. It only has one engine speed so does not need a throttle control. It also has an auto choke so no bulb squeezing. Home Depot delivered it to my home for the purchase price plus tax. Plenty of Cub Cadet dealers in my area for service if needed. So far the unit performs as expected. I mow 12 months of the year so my equipment gets a regular workout. Only time will tell how long it lasts. March 10, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by No Support fo Repair . I purchased this trimmer in Jan 2014. Ran great for 6 months. Appears to have a gas/carb issue now. Called local repair shops listed on line by Cub Cadet. Both said they do not Cub Cadet service string trimmers. Called Cub Cadet directly. Basically no help. I going to try Home Depot locally if they can refer to someone who would repair it. August 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Too soon to tell, but so far so good. The mower was shipped to me within a few days. I put oil and gas in it and looked for the gas adjustment and choke. Didn't find either. Pulled on the line and it started right up. There doesn't seem to be a throttle adjustment but it cuts like crazy. I gave the quality 4 stars because it is not that fine a piece of equipment. But I didn't want to spend twice as much to get a little better one. And the weeds don't really care. It's the only one I have found that lets you adjust the height of cut! May 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Works As Advertised Only things I would change are: 1) Longer handle and a setting adjustment to set it higher or lower 2) Bigger Gas Tank 3) The hard plastic bottom under the trimmer line should be a metal plate, I suspect (has not yet happened) that it will wear out relatively quickly Starts and runs great - had plenty of power - line is easy (really easy) to change May 26, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by easy start up this mower/trimmer is fully assembled, and right out of the box it was ready to go. the packaging was tremendous, with a very sturdy outer box, and plenty of cardboard packing. it took two of us to lift out of the box, but the unit comes with the oil needed to get it going. the handle was easily adjusted, and it was ready to run. my husband was looking forward to this mower, as we have neighboring yards where this trimmer will be the perfect solution near the fence line.. the large wheels allow for easy maneuvering, and quick response to walking behind the model. it was nice that printed directions are included in the box, with easy to read instructions. several extra pairs of trimmer lines are included with this trimmer. i was very impressed with the design and appeal that cub cadet has used with this model the trimmer is nicely painted with a quality technique on the body. the handle does fold nicely to store in the garage. April 20, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great machine Very easy to use starts and runs great. With 5 acres to trim this will make my work easier with less strain on my arms and shoulders. February 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Performance Thanks to all who posted reviews. Based on these reviews, I think I made an excellent choice. After using it for 3 hours cutting tall grass and assorted weeds over uneven terrain, it exceeded my expectations. Easily started, ran smooth, cut cleanly, and tilting to cut higher on thick high growth not at all difficult. For the money, I can't imagine a better deal. But this is my first walk behind trimmer, so I have nothing to compare it to. I wish though they included line replacement with the unit since I finally lost the line against a large tree stump. Home Depot didn't carry the replacement line so I bought regular thick trimmer string recommended by the store representative. It didn't work as well as the manual suggested it might not. They only recommend the manufacturers string replacements. It could be I didn't install the replacement string properly. I only did it once before calling it a day. July 19, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not what I expected The motor started fine, but the lines break too easily. I've gone thru all the lines they supplied. I can understand them breaking in very heavy brush and a lot of use, but I have only used in some heavy grass. Not very pleased with having to change the lines so often . September 21, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Would Not buy I bought the machine because of it's easy start feature and it came already assembled. After using it I found that purchasing the correct trimmer string for the machine was next to impossible. My local Home Deport did not carry it and could not seem to get it. A near by Cub Cadet store didn't have it either and the string they sold me was worthless. I called Cub Cadet and could order it from them except it was back ordered. In addition the only line that really works well with the trimmer is sold at Exorbitant prices. I bout this machine to replace a 15 year old DR trimmer mower. I wish now I had bought another DR They cost a few dollars more, but are worth the difference. August 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by WOW! Super impressed! I rarely do product review but I was so impressed with this machine I feel compelled to write this review. Purchased Friday evening and used for 3 continuous hours Saturday AM around the perimeter of our 11 acre property which had not been trimmed in over a year. This machine powered thru the thickest/tallest brush without missing a beat. Super durable but light enough so I could trim the down the 4 foot bank along our 400' of road frontage. I was a little skeptical at first since there is no throttle on the engine....it just runs at one speed which did not seem all that powerful but it mowed thru everything I fed to it! Changing out the string is also super easy. Highly recommend!! August 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quality machine I owned several Sears string mowers and they always needed repair. When I first started the Cub Cadet and started cutting my lawn this machine made the Sears trimmer feel like a toy. It felt like a solid pro quality machine. I've already recommended it to my family...Home Depot Hilo, keep it in stock because more sales coming your way. Thanks May 31, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good but could use some refinements I got this trimmer for overgrown areas with uneven ground, fencing and rocks. Works well for this. Definitely easy assembly and startup out of the box. But it seemed all of my overgrown fence lines were uphill on the offset side and with the string trimmer head having to be lifted off the ground to move ahead, it was heavy going for me. Not bad on a flat surface but you still must lift the trimmer up to clear the ground and move forward. I'm used to strenuous work but at 5'2' and 62 years old, I wish there was a solution for this. June 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Did a great job with Salt Grass We bought a beach lot that has waist high salt grass with 8 inches of dead grass. It has never been mowed. This mower did great. It was quite time consuming, and I went through a ton of replacement string. The grass was incredibly thick, strong and sharp. It started right up, and ran for two days straight. Replacing the string is very fast and easy once you do it a couple of times. Finding the replacement string was a pain. The manufacturer gave me a part number, but I couldn't find it at home depot or at my local cub cadet store. You can cut your own, but I bought Swisher 18-Inch Pre-Cut Replacement Trimmer Line from Amazon and it worked fine. May 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by a wonderful walk behind trimmer This is my first Cub Cadet product, my first impression is that it is very well made. Right out of the box I was impressed with the large wheels giving you plenty of flexibility to maneuver the cutting head up and down. The engine is a four stroke so you don't need to add oil to the gas. As with all of my outdoor equipment I buy a high octane gas for the fact that ethanol seems to be hard on engines for the most part since they sit around more than they are used and throughout the winter months This trimmer started easy for me. The handle has the capabilities of being folded down for easy storage. tall grass is no match for this beast it will eat through it like nobody's business. it is a real joy using this machine where a regular weed eater wouldn't be up to par it also has a debris shield to protect the operator but one still should wear a face shield or safety glasses. So if you're a homeowner that has to deal with tall grass running along the fenceline or have a farm and needed to cut tall grass back from your property I would not hesitate to buy this. This machine comes with a 3 year Limited warranty very nice May 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I Love this trimmer. Super easy to assemble. Was a little leary about the pull start, but this trimmer starts very easily. Strings are a breeze to change and this trimmer cuts through everything I need it for. I could use this walk-behind trimmer to mow whole lawn if I wanted to. Much more versatile than a push mower. I would definitely recommend this trimmer. July 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect tool for clearing overgrown brush It started right up, and is the perfect tool for maintaining a farm. I have a similar one at home, so we purchased this for my daughter's farm. Easier on the back than a hand held brush cutter! Handles slopes well. Be careful around fencelines - if your wire fence goes to the ground you'll be using a lot of string! September 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very good equipment Equipment performs its function very well. It is a good piece of equipment. March 4, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by A Qualified Recommendation I spent a lot of time reviewing different machines and finally settled on this Cub Cadet string trimmer. Some of the features that were very important to me were price, extended warranty and stated ability to cut under fences. Few of the walk behind string trimmers on the market speak to the issue of an offset cutting head or design features making it easy to cut under fences. During my research process I did not even think about the general design of the string trimmer, and what it would be like pushing it up hill. The front of the machine rides on the string trimmer head, and it is one thing to use this on level ground and it is something else to push it up hill. Your cutting edge for going under fences and up against landscaping timbers is the left side, which meant that I would have a lot of up hill work on my property. While the machine did well on level ground and for that matter up against landscape timbers, it was no fun pushing it up hill. It was for that reason alone that I took the machine back. I am considering a Walk-Behind Stihl product now. I'm just going from memory, but I think that it was called the Yard Boss. This device has a wheel out front similar to the athletes jogging stroller, and two wheels behind, with the string trimmer in the middle. Because of the long front and small wheel, it appears that it would be easier getting under fences, and based upon the design, you could cut up against objects from either the left of the right side. This feature makes it possible to go down hill cutting areas that the Cub Cadet might only be able do going up hill. I think the Cub Cadet is a fine machine for level ground, but consider that issue and the lay of your land before you buy it to maintain your yard. July 1, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Junk Motor froze-up after six hours of use, would not restart. Needed to replace strings about every 15 min. Mulches brush well, but long grass just piles up. October 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Cub Cadet 22" walk-behind trimmer Great machine, cuts right through that Hilo grass. Will whack thick grass and high weeds. Cut my mowing time in half, we'll worth the money! February 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good , well built unit ! The only small issue is the Nylon trimmer string staying in the head. It seems to be a common issue with most field trimmers when used against brush or small saplings. I used the factory .155 line along with a second loop of .95 line on the the inside and I had no problem with the string afterwards. Good unit ,, glad I bought it. :) July 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best buy This is one of the best string trimmer made it is far passes a 5 star rating /I will be buying another product made by Cub Cadet May 28, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worst Equipment Purchase I ever made The first one I purchased online only lasted about 14 hours worth of weeds before the motor failed. It just quit and then was very hard to try to restart. Would not start at all. Returned that one and decided that it was just a fluke for it to quit so soon. So I used the credit and purchased another one. One dumb moved followed by another. The second one only lasted 20 days. I don't think I used it more than 8 hours on my 2 acres when the thing started banging and the shaft literally fell out of the front. I will never buy this brand of equipment again. June 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Especially Useful for Large Spaces to be Trimmed The Cub Cadet Walk Behind Trimmer Mower is great. First, it's surprisingly quiet - even quieter than a regular trimmer. It's especially been useful for covering large areas that need to be trimmed but where a mower cannot easily operate (ie, over extremely rocky / uneven soil). It's an extremely effective trimmer, trimming down grass, brush and even small (1/2" diameter) trees. Big tires make it easy to move over rough terrain. Also useful - it has a guard on the front that allows you to trim an edge really close to objects without hitting the objects or damaging them. The walk behind capability with the heavy flaps is the best part - you can trim and trim and trim without debris being kicked up or hitting your legs as you walk behind. May 26, 2014
  • 2015-07-29T11:51:44.425-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_90, tr_90
  • loc_en_US, sid_204627329, prod, sort_default
<< 2 3 4 >>

SHIPPING AND DELIVERY OPTIONS

Store Exclusive. This item is available for purchase in select stores only.