Model # DC970K-2-4

Internet #202019943

DEWALT 18-Volt Ni-Cad 1/2 in. Compact Drill/Driver Kit
0885911182119

DEWALT

18-Volt Ni-Cad 1/2 in. Compact Drill/Driver Kit

  • Compact design fits into tight areas
  • Transmission offers dual speed range
  • Highly rated high-powered motor (see reviews)
Was  $104.94
$89.00 /each

Save $15.94 (15%)  through 01/31/2017

Dewalt Compact Drill New Low Price
Promotion Details
Price Valid : 11/01/2016 - 01/31/2017
Dewalt Compact Drill New Low Price

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

DeWalt Hero
Feature 1

Includes the drill/driver, two batteries, a charger and a soft storage bag

Feature 2

Maximum control and versatility with 17 clutch settings

Feature 3

One-handed chuck operation and tighter bit grip with 1/2 in. single-sleeve ratcheting chuck

Specification Icon


voltage

______________________________

18 volts

Specification Icon


max speed

______________________________

1,500 rpm

Specification Icon


batteries included

______________________________

2 ni-cd

1.2 AMP HOUR

Specification Icon


Warranty

______________________________

3 Year

LIMITED

Free Shipping Icon

Free Shipping

On power tool and accessory orders over $45

Get jobs completed quickly with the DEWALT NiCd Cordless 1/2 in. Compact Drill/Driver. With its small, easy-to-hold design, you can tackle almost any job around the house or job site with precision. It delivers a dual-speed range of 0-450 and 0-1500 RPM for powerful, reliable performance.

  • Includes the drill/driver, two batteries, a charger and a soft storage bag
  • 18-Volt, 380-Watt motor
  • 1/2 in. single-sleeve ratcheting chuck that offers a tighter bit grip and 1-handed chuck operation
  • 17 clutch settings for maximum versatility and control
  • Lightweight drill/driver design at only 5.2 lbs. to lessen fatigue
  • Compact size that is easy to maneuver and fit into the tightest spaces
  • Cordless design for necessary mobility
  • NiCd battery that charges in just one hour
  • CSA listed
  • Works with batteries DC9096 and DC9180 and chargers DCB103, DW9117, DC9310, DC9319, DC9320 and DC012 (sold separately)
  • 3-year limited manufacturer warranty
  • 1-year free service contract with DEWALT
  • 90-day money-back guarantee
  • Includes (2) 18-Volt compact batteries (DC9098)
  • Note: product may vary by store
  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

28 Questions108 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

18-Volt Ni-Cad 1/2 in. Compact Drill/Driver Kit
18-Volt Ni-Cad 1/2 in. Compact Drill/Driver Kit

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
 
12 answers

Does this drill have a light?

This question is from 18-Volt Ni-Cad 1/2 in. Compact Drill/Driver Kit
Asked by
Anonymous
November 29, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (12)

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
October 4, 2016
Answer: 
No light on this drill.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Windsor, Ohio
Read all my Q&A
June 17, 2014
Answer: 
No but you can get a dewalt battery operated light
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
February 14, 2014
Answer: 
No light on the drill
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Bucyrus, KS 66013, USA
Read all my Q&A
February 11, 2014
Answer: 
No Mine does not
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Marietta, GA, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 24, 2014
Answer: 
There is no light.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
state college, pa
Read all my Q&A
January 23, 2014
Answer: 
no
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Tyler, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
January 23, 2014
Answer: 
No the drill does not have a light.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
January 14, 2014
Answer: 
No it does not
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
California, USA
Read all my Q&A
January 9, 2014
Answer: 
This drill does have a light. Useful when using it in dark locations or at night.
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2

Asked by
34982
Read all my Q&A
January 7, 2014
Answer: 
No
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Rio Grande City, TX 78582, USA
Read all my Q&A
December 10, 2013
Answer: 
No, but in the future I will buy one that does have a light.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
December 10, 2013
Answer: 
no
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
 
11 answers

Would the battery charger work on 220 V AC?

This question is from 18-Volt Ni-Cad 1/2 in. Compact Drill/Driver Kit
Asked by
Pennsylvania & London
Read all my Q&A
January 9, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (11)

Asked by
Palm Coast, FL, USA
Read all my Q&A
May 6, 2014
Answer: 
No, only 120 volt.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
April 15, 2014
Answer: 
Probably not. It's 110 v.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Val Verde, CA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
February 14, 2014
Answer: 
No. It's only for 120V AC
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Bucyrus, KS 66013, USA
Read all my Q&A
February 11, 2014
Answer: 
No
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Staten Island
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
January 24, 2014
Answer: 
The charger is designed to work off a standard 120v AC outlet. 220 would require a different plug setup, and probably would fry the transformer if you tried to alter it. Just making an assumption on that one, never having tried such a thing myself.
In any event, the 120 v charger does the job pretty quickly, usually within an hour, so it's not necessary to try to force any greater speed out of the
Read More
The charger is designed to work off a standard 120v AC outlet. 220 would require a different plug setup, and probably would fry the transformer if you tried to alter it. Just making an assumption on that one, never having tried such a thing myself.
In any event, the 120 v charger does the job pretty quickly, usually within an hour, so it's not necessary to try to force any greater speed out of the charging regimen.
Best advice: always have a battery on charge when using the drill or any cordless tool. The batteries don't give a lot of warning that they're running low, so just have one charging whenever you're using the drill and you'll never run out of juice.
Read Less
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1

Asked by
Hauppauge, NY, USA
Read all my Q&A
January 24, 2014
Answer: 
Not possible
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Marietta, GA, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 24, 2014
Answer: 
The charger input is 120V AC only.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Right Here . . . At Home!
Read all my Q&A
January 23, 2014
Answer: 
No. They are 2 totally different male plug configurations thus preventing connection to the wrong power source such as would occur here.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
California, USA
Read all my Q&A
January 23, 2014
Answer: 
No, the charger only works on 110-115 vac
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Tyler, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
January 23, 2014
Answer: 
To my knowledge, the battery charger only works on 115 Volts AC. It is not compatible with 220-230 Volt systems. The plug is for 115 Volts.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Anonymous
Orange, Ca.
Home Improvement Profile: Other
January 13, 2014
Answer: 
Hi PJH60, unfortunately this charger is designed to work on standard 120 volt household electrical power.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
 
11 answers

Does Home Depot give military or builders discounts?

This question is from 18-Volt Ni-Cad 1/2 in. Compact Drill/Driver Kit
Asked by
Tawas City Michigan
Read all my Q&A
January 4, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (11)

Asked by
Olathe, KS, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 10, 2015
Answer: 
Yes they give 10% discount to Military, Active and retired. Its great. The program covers a lot of items, but not wood. Thats ok with me because the work I do people pay for the wood. I buy new drills, and other tools to have what I need to do the job. I use my discount every time I can and it adds up.
Contractors, When I purchased a large quantity of wood for building a deck I was told that my wood cost
Read More
Yes they give 10% discount to Military, Active and retired. Its great. The program covers a lot of items, but not wood. Thats ok with me because the work I do people pay for the wood. I buy new drills, and other tools to have what I need to do the job. I use my discount every time I can and it adds up.
Contractors, When I purchased a large quantity of wood for building a deck I was told that my wood cost was put into a basket and I was given a better price on my wood because I bought so much. Stop at the Pro Desk and talk to a Pro Manager and they will explain the program to you. They are great people to work with.
Hope this helps answer your question, When in Doubt Go to Home Depot on Line.
Be Safe
Read Less
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Utah
Read all my Q&A
February 25, 2015
Answer: 
Yes they do that is why I shop there and drive an extra 10 miles and bypass Lowes. I also inform all my Veterans friends and organizations about Home Depot supporting Veterans.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
NJ
Read all my Q&A
November 6, 2014
Answer: 
Yes for military. Not sure about builders.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Saint Cloud, MN, USA
Read all my Q&A
May 24, 2014
Answer: 
Yes, there is a military discount; however, do to not being able to verify identity there is no option for online purchases.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1

Asked by
Val Verde, CA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
February 14, 2014
Answer: 
Our local Home Depot gives a 10% military discount.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
February 11, 2014
Answer: 
Yes they give Military discounts. I don't know about builders but would assume that they do.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Kirkland, WA, USA
Read all my Q&A
January 28, 2014
Answer: 
yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Staten Island
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
January 24, 2014
Answer: 
I can't say for sure whether Home Depot offers military discounts, although it would not surprise me. I'm sure they do offer contractors a variety of incentives and discounts as well as offers through their credit card. You'd have to contact them for the specifics.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Marietta, GA, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 24, 2014
Answer: 
I am retired military and I always get a 10 percent discount when I show my ID card.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
34982
Read all my Q&A
January 7, 2014
Answer: 
yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

January 6, 2014
Answer: 
Thank you for your recent inquiry with The Home Depot. For assistance with a military discount, please contact our Customer Care department at 1-800-430-3376.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
 
11 answers

is this battery interchagable with other DeWalt cordless tools

This question is from 18-Volt Ni-Cad 1/2 in. Compact Drill/Driver Kit
Asked by
utah
Read all my Q&A
December 9, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (11)

Asked by
Windsor, Ohio
Read all my Q&A
June 17, 2014
Answer: 
Except for the new slide on battery tools yes 18v Dewalt will interchange with other 18v Dewalt tools
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Val Verde, CA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
February 14, 2014
Answer: 
The battery is interchangeable, but make sure it's an 18V battery. The 14.4 and 12 will not physically fit. The 20V is a flat battery - different type.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Bucyrus, KS 66013, USA
Read all my Q&A
February 11, 2014
Answer: 
Yes so long as they require the same voltage
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
state college, pa
Read all my Q&A
January 23, 2014
Answer: 
yes it is interchangeable with other dewalt 18 volt cordless tools that use the same style battery
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Tyler, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
January 23, 2014
Answer: 
The 18 Volt batteries are all interchangeable with all 18 Volt DeWalt cordless tools.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Granger, IN, USA
Read all my Q&A
January 9, 2014
Answer: 
yes all other 18 volt dewalt tools except the the new 18 volt Lithium-Ion style
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
California, USA
Read all my Q&A
January 9, 2014
Answer: 
This battery is interchangeable with other Dewalt cordless tools on the 18v system. Dewalt has many different voltage operating systems, from 12v on up. Your 18v battery can only be used on tools on the 18v system.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
34982
Read all my Q&A
January 7, 2014
Answer: 
All 18 Volt. That's why I bought it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Staten Island
Read all my Q&A
December 20, 2013
Answer: 
This battery is definitely interchangeable with any 18 volt Dewalt tool.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

December 17, 2013
Answer: 
The batteries are interchangeable depending on the voltage of the tool. I have been buying 18 volt DeWalt tools for years now. They are fully interchangeable. In fact, I do not know which battery was originally bought with which tool. I put any of my uncharged batteries in the charger when needed, then use it for whichever tool needs one. DeWalt just came out with a 20 volt line of tools. Just make sure Read More
The batteries are interchangeable depending on the voltage of the tool. I have been buying 18 volt DeWalt tools for years now. They are fully interchangeable. In fact, I do not know which battery was originally bought with which tool. I put any of my uncharged batteries in the charger when needed, then use it for whichever tool needs one. DeWalt just came out with a 20 volt line of tools. Just make sure you look at the voltage of the tool if interchanging batteries is important to you. Read Less
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Anonymous
Orange, Ca.
Home Improvement Profile: Other
December 12, 2013
Answer: 
Hi RMBX5, you can interchange these batteries with other DeWalt 18 volt power tools.
This includes using these batteries on the new line of lithium power tools as well as the older line of DeWalt Ni-Cad 18 volt power tools.
+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
2 3 »
  • 2016-10-31 T00:27:29.296-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_202019943, prod, sort_default
2 3 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 95ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 650 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Sweet LiL Drill This is a sweet compact drill.for a single but handy woman. It's powerfull for mostly all needed household fixings and cute:) March 8, 2016
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by This drill has excellent power. In the past I've had many different cordless drills,but have never bought a Dewalt because of the price differntial. When I saw this drill at The Home Depot at the "special price"I had to have it. Being a woodworker for 50 years I have seen and in one case used a Dewalt cordless drill of a friend of mine and was surprised at the power. I had to have one. October 9, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent price ! Drill was bought for my ice auger and works fine. May lack a little power for commercial applications if used consistently. Excellent for the home owner tho at that a great price. Would spend that much on the batteries alone. Note the batteries were a little smaller than the ones I already had but work fine. February 23, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Cordless Driver is a bit heavy, but a great value with plenty of power. Purchased item for all around basic use. It's a bit heavy, but holds a charge very well, and has plenty of power for turning even the toughest screws. Bag is a bit small, but holds all items, including charger. Overall, this was a great value. June 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great buy & price Just what I needed great price, new battery for my old 12volt would of cost as much as the new drill and I got two with the new drill thanks February 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by This drill is great. Affordable and durable. Had the 12V for more than 10 years...this one is a great replacement December 24, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Appears reliable The drill is excellent as per DW's job site reputation. The batteries are old school technology. I was surprised by the drain put on the big batt. by my job site radio after I had to switch over to my drill in a pinch. The batteries charge quickly enough. February 10, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Happy Husband! I bought this drill for my husband for the holidays. It was the only gift he wanted, so of course he was extremely happy when it arrived! As the daughter of a contractor, I know the indispensability of DeWalt when it comes to construction. My father has always touted them, and I've used his drill versus others on days when I worked with me dad and know its quality. My husband is also working with my father now, and learning how to become more handy around the house. This drill really completes the package! Thanks a bunch! January 26, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great deal for the price Price was out of this world to get what I receive it was great January 28, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great drill I bought this for my husband, his old drill had quit working. He is thrilled. The drill is powerful and came with 2 batteries which was a huge plus. He loves it. It is not very heavy. February 23, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by just the right size/power for around the house I needed a tool that was medium weight, cordless, both a drill for light duty work & a screwdriver. I have installed many things both inside and outside with no issues. I wouldn't try to use it in place of an air compressor tool, but it has a nice battery life and it is a name brand I trust January 12, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect drill for any house project Solid performer at a great price. The 2 batteries is a great touch. February 10, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Drill This is a great drill that was bought as a replacement. Works wonderfully and the extra battery is a plus. Home Depot offered the best price around! February 11, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Strong drill I like this drill. It already broke two philips bits due to its stronger than average tork. For less than 100... I think is a good buy. February 10, 2016
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Dewalt drill rocks This item shipped very quickly so i could get to work ASAP! the extra battery was a good idea to include for those days away from the grid. I used mine for hours without needing to switch batterys. Great tool &) January 27, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great product My Dewalt products have been great for my projects. Will continue to buy them. January 26, 2016
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by DEWALT 18-Volt Ni-Cad 1/2 inch compact Drill/driver kit I purchased as a gift for my daughter and son-in-law. I know they we're glad to receive it and had a few projects it came in handy for. I think they are happy with the product. I was happy with the ease of ordering and the earlier delivery date than I was originally told it would be. January 12, 2016
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good deal q Good package for the price. I use both this drill and the 18v impact drill. Work great. January 19, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 3rd drill for me Drill is great, Purchased more for the batteries than the drill as I have two other drills, I have most of the other tools these batteries fit also, Good buy not only for the drill but the ability to keep and use the dewalt tools I already have........ January 7, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome drill It is a tremendous drill, dewalt makes the best power tools. January 19, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Value Purchased the complete drill driver set for less than the cost of two new battreries January 12, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Dewalt to me is the best You can depend on Dewalt whenever you need it, my last Dewalt is over 10 years old December 8, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Ordered this as a gift for my brother for Christmas. Delivery was quick and the product arrived in good condition. He was very happy with it! January 5, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Christmas present Drill was fine. I have always purchases Dewalt products December 8, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great drill very easy to use. arrived very well packaged and easy to use. January 5, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Just what I thought it should be The DeWalt was a gift to my daughter for Christmas and she LOVES it. January 5, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 5 Stars Product has been useful and works flawless. Highly recommended!! December 29, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent drill for the money The drill and charger perform as expected from a DeWalt tool. Very pleased with the purchase. December 29, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 18 v dealt drill Best price. Cheaper than buying batteries by themselves December 15, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome drill I am really pleased with the battery on this drill. As well as the drill is lightweight and easy to maneuver. December 22, 2015
  • 2016-10-30 T15:35:12.298-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_650, tr_650
  • loc_en_US, sid_202019943, prod, sort_default
<< 2 3 4 5  ... 23 >>
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 124ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT