Model # DC970K-2-4

Internet #202019943

DEWALT 18-Volt Ni-Cad 1/2 in. Compact Drill/Driver Kit
0885911182119

DEWALT

18-Volt Ni-Cad 1/2 in. Compact Drill/Driver Kit

  • Compact design fits into tight areas
  • Transmission offers dual speed range
  • Highly rated high-powered motor (see reviews)
Was  $104.94
$89.00 /each

Save $15.94 (15%)  through 04/30/2017

Dewalt New Low Price
Promotion Details
Price Valid : 03/20/2017 - 04/30/2017
Dewalt New Low Price

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

DeWalt Hero
Feature 1

Includes the drill/driver, two batteries, a charger and a soft storage bag

Feature 2

Maximum control and versatility with 17 clutch settings

Feature 3

One-handed chuck operation and tighter bit grip with 1/2 in. single-sleeve ratcheting chuck

Specification Icon


voltage

______________________________

18 volts

Specification Icon


max speed

______________________________

1,500 rpm

Specification Icon


batteries included

______________________________

2 ni-cd

1.2 AMP HOUR

Specification Icon


Warranty

______________________________

3 Year

LIMITED

Free Shipping Icon

Free Shipping

On power tool and accessory orders over $45

Get jobs completed quickly with the DEWALT NiCd Cordless 1/2 in. Compact Drill/Driver. With its small, easy-to-hold design, you can tackle almost any job around the house or job site with precision. It delivers a dual-speed range of 0-450 and 0-1500 RPM for powerful, reliable performance.

  • Includes the drill/driver, two batteries, a charger and a soft storage bag
  • 18-Volt, 380-Watt motor
  • 1/2 in. single-sleeve ratcheting chuck that offers a tighter bit grip and 1-handed chuck operation
  • 17 clutch settings for maximum versatility and control
  • Lightweight drill/driver design at only 5.2 lbs. to lessen fatigue
  • Compact size that is easy to maneuver and fit into the tightest spaces
  • Cordless design for necessary mobility
  • NiCd battery that charges in just one hour
  • CSA listed
  • Works with batteries DC9096 and DC9180 and chargers DCB103, DW9117, DC9310, DC9319, DC9320 and DC012 (sold separately)
  • 3-year limited manufacturer warranty
  • 1-year free service contract with DEWALT
  • 90-day money-back guarantee
  • Includes (2) 18-Volt compact batteries (DC9098)
  • Note: product may vary by store
  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

Does this drill have a light?

Asked by: Anonymous
No light on this drill.
Answered by: Zman14
Date published: 2016-10-05

Would the battery charger work on 220 V AC?

Asked by: PJH60
No, only 120 volt.
Answered by: Rayguy
Date published: 2015-09-20

Does Home Depot give military or builders discounts?

Asked by: Salvador
Yes they give 10% discount to Military, Active and retired. Its great. The program covers a lot of items, but not wood. Thats ok with me because the work I do people pay for the wood. I buy new drills, and other tools to have what I need to do the job. I use my discount every time I can and it adds up. Contractors, When I purchased a large quantity of wood for building a deck I was told that my wood cost was put into a basket and I was given a better price on my wood because I bought so much. Stop at the Pro Desk and talk to a Pro Manager and they will explain the program to you. They are great people to work with. Hope this helps answer your question, When in Doubt Go to Home Depot on Line. Be Safe
Answered by: Sandy
Date published: 2015-11-14

is this battery interchagable with other DeWalt cordless tools

Asked by: rmbx5
Except for the new slide on battery tools yes 18v Dewalt will interchange with other 18v Dewalt tools
Answered by: Cobra
Date published: 2015-11-06
  • y_2017, m_3, d_28, h_17CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_36
  • loc_, sid_202019943, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 36ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

18-Volt Ni-Cad 1/2 in. Compact Drill/Driver Kit is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 708.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GOOD PRODUCT FOR GOOD PRICE GOOD PRODUCT FOR GOOD PRICE
Date published: 2017-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works wonderfully!... Works wonderfully!
Date published: 2017-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from works great works great
Date published: 2017-02-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from As expected... As expected
Date published: 2017-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Drill I've owned this drill and 2 batteries for 3 years. The drill has taken a few drops, some paint splashes, dirt, wood putty and looks less yellow every year due to abuse. I recently installed 400 ft of stockade fence with this drill switching between predrilling holes and driving screws, it never skipped a beat. With the two batteries and quick charger, by the time one battery dies, the other is charged. Granted, these batteries don't hold a charge as long as the XRP, they are still great. I would highly recommend this product. It's a bummer it no longer comes with a hard case, but that shouldn't stop you.
Date published: 2014-11-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I bought a Dewalt drill to replace the one that I had because both of the batteries that came with it died. I bought a new DeWalt drill because both of the batteries that came with my old one died simultaneously and the cost of replacement batteries is prohibitive. I did not know whether it was the batteries or the charger or the drill and the cost of all three was less than the cost of replacement batteries. I feel that due to the limited amount of time the drill was used, the batteries should have lasted much longer. The old drill still works.
Date published: 2016-08-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is my go to drill. best tool in the bag Lightweight and runs like a champ. 14 years of using the same drill and the batteries finally died. Picked up a new battery and the drill operates like it was new. I've used this to install a fence, drill thousands of holes and core main cable lines with specialty attachments. I love this drill!
Date published: 2012-11-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sweet LiL Drill This is a sweet compact drill.for a single but handy woman. It's powerfull for mostly all needed household fixings and cute:)
Date published: 2016-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this product has great features vert light and compact , durable,0-450rpm which helped me move along pretty fast This product is great bought to finish framin my basement.the 17different cluth pisitions is great to help from stripping screws.very compact and lightweight which is great and easy to move around with drill being on its holster.im a do it yourself kind of guy and its my first dewalt drill best investment made.my previous drill was an old fashion one with a cord I tell you once you go dewalt you never go back great product
Date published: 2013-12-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very disappointed with the quality of the chuck Purchased this drill based on the $99 price... this is a case where you get what you pay for. Chuck is extremely cheap and keeps getting loose during use. Drill oak... forget it. Even with a sharp bit, the chuck started to spin on the shaft of the bit. Drill more than one hole... forget it. The drill bits kept falling out after the second or third hole, regardless of size. Even when hex screwdriver bits were used, the chuck loosened up and it fell out. Have owned Porter Cable, Bosch and Milwaukee in the past and have never had this type of problem. Drill was compact, but felt too heavy for an 18V battery. Plan to return it the next time I am near the local store.
Date published: 2013-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cordless Driver is a bit heavy, but a great value with plenty of power. Purchased item for all around basic use. It's a bit heavy, but holds a charge very well, and has plenty of power for turning even the toughest screws. Bag is a bit small, but holds all items, including charger. Overall, this was a great value.
Date published: 2014-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tried and True! My last DeWalt 18V drill died a few years ago after serious abuse - I drilled concrete, pounded fence posts with it, dropped it numerous times, you name it. I broke down and bought a Kobalt 18V Li-ion (Lowe's brand) at the time - all my really big jobs were over and I just needed a cordless drill. Well, that drill failed (the chuck broke on it) with with light use, so I ordered my trusty DeWalt from HomeDepot. These drills are hard to find in the store but can be ordered and quickly delivered, and they have a reputation that cannot be beat. It came with 2 batteries (I already had 4), a charger, and a bag - what a steal! DeWalt tools have never let me down. I have several 18V DeWalt tools that are also rock solid like the circular saw, jigsaw, and impact drill. I recently added the sawzall and I absolutely love it.
Date published: 2016-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! Got this drill as a birthday gift for my husband - he loved it! Says its the best gift I've ever gotten him! The drill and driver charge quickly and are strong, despite being compact. Great product!
Date published: 2013-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent tools At first I was hesitant to buy the Dewalt 18 V Ni Cad because I'm used to the wired type but now that I have finished half of the work at home. I feel really happy about it because it is money that is well invested. It is not heavy, easy to control, strong and small. I have done every single thing I needed a drill for at my new house. I 100% recommend this to anyone who like to do things at home by him/ herself.
Date published: 2016-09-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good drill, good experience Worked great for the one project that I've used it for so far which included drilling pilot holes and drilling screws into treated lumber. Great ergonomic feel. Was pleasantly surprised that it came with 2 batteries when the description only says 'battery'. Seems like it would be a good selling point to mention.
Date published: 2012-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This drill is great. Affordable and durable. Had the 12V for more than 10 years...this one is a great replacement
Date published: 2013-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product for a great price! I currently have an 18V full size cordless Dewalt drill and love it. I have bought replacement batteries for this drill for $90, so when I saw this compact drill for $99, I bought one right away. I actually felt like I should grab the whole pile and give them away as gifts! This compact version comes with two batteries, a charger, and the case...a steal for the price! I now use this compact drill as my daily user!
Date published: 2011-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value on a classic drill The drill, charger and two Ni-CAD batteries came in a cloth bag. Drill worked well, charger worked well. This is a proven bullet proof setup.
Date published: 2016-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solid Drill Hasn't had much use yet but seems like a very solid drill. It's really nice that it comes with an extra battery. I used it for drilling very small pilot holes into the back of a picture frame and it worked great, but it has a sturdy feel that makes me think it will also perform well in tougher jobs too. My one an only complaint is that I wish there was space in the case to store the bits.
Date published: 2012-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I was waiting for a GREAT deal! Great drill/driver. This unit had no problem driving over two hundred 2" & 3" deck screws and drilling a few 1/2" holes through 4x4's all on a single battery charge and the battery is still going. Two speed ranges, variable and reversible provide good control. Quick change 1/2" chuck is smooth and secure. The adjustable clutch is a bonus. The drill/driver is comfortable, solid, compact and the weight is just right. The description says one battery but my kit had two. At $99 for the drill, batteries, the charger, the carry case and the power and quality, I am very pleased with the purchase.
Date published: 2012-01-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Can't be repaired I have been a loyal Dewalt fan for years but had to give up on them when the brushes wore out on my 2 year old drill (normally a common and inexpensive repair), and the repair shop had to charge me $25 to take it apart and discovered the brushes were molded into the case by design, and couldn't be replaced. Saved DeWalt a dollar, and cost me a 2 year old drill.
Date published: 2012-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great tool Everything i've heard is true, great tool and the battery stays up quite a while unlike some other tools I have.
Date published: 2012-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from DeWalt Compact Drill with NiCd batteries I chose NiCd instead of Li-ion because of battery safety. I read many drill reviews and some users of Li-ion said batteries got real hot after prolonged use, one or two said they experienced battery failure and one had a battery catch fire. Perhaps heavier but the unit is thus nicely balanced and the extra mass tends to keep the bit or driver steady on target. I purchased for a bathroom remodel project. One battery charge lasted the entire screw-down of backer board - about 400 screws put down within +/- an hour. Over the years, I've owned 2 other DeWalt NiCd battery-powered drills. Each has lasted over 10 years and each got steady use and abuse. Perhaps due to an intelligent charger, or because I tend to drain the batteries well between recharge cycles, the NiCd batteries never seemed to have "memory" problems.
Date published: 2015-09-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from you get what you pay for Excellent drill, case and charger. 2 batteries are nice only they are the weakest form of 18volt DeWalt battery I have ever used. I would only recommend this to the average homeowner and definitely not the seasond contractor.
Date published: 2011-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best drill money could buy The drill is as powerful as a corded drill for the price is a good deal because it includes two batteries and dewalts are the best money can buy
Date published: 2013-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unbreakable! Had this drill since 2008 and never failed me. I've dropped it numerous times off an 8' ladder and it's still running strong. Also the battery life is unbelievable! Still only takes about a 1/2 hour to fully charge and it will run all day with moderate use!! No signs of getting weak at all!!! Will definitely buy another one when this starts to slow down, if ever. You will get your moneys worth on this drill. And I bought mine when it was $160. What a deal at $99!!!!!!
Date published: 2013-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bag for the Buck! Great cordless drill for the price I paid. Have purchased 2 of them and they both work exceptionally for light to medium jobs. Small, compact and light weight and the 2 batteries and fast rate charger make it always ready to use. The 2 batteries and charger are well worth the cost paid by themselves.
Date published: 2011-12-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from better to buy up DeWalt makes excellent power tools and this drill is a good buy if you only need it for occasional DIY projects. But it is not going to be good for heavy duty daily use where the Li-ion XRP models with their 3-speed gearboxes are fantastic. Once you add in the cost of a replacement battery (and NiCad batteries have a much shorter life than lithium-ion batteries) to this drill it no longer is a bargain. The drill is heavier with its NiCad battery than a more powerful Li-ion powered drill and with half the charge life in terms of holes drilled or screws sunk. A modern lithium-ion powered 18v drill with a half size Li-ion battery like the Milwaukee 2601 is a better choice for the DIY homeowner. It is lighter and provides more useful power - torque figures don not provide an accurate indication of the work that a drill can do in actual real world use.
Date published: 2009-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I needed Perfect drill for my small projects around the house.
Date published: 2015-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Purchase As a contractor, I use nothing but DeWalt and never been disappointed. I purchased two of these kits as gifts for friends who do not purchase DeWalt drills and are always complaining about their choice but claim that DeWalt is too rich for their blood. They both are very happy and believers now in that you get what you pay for. When I told them what I paid they couldn't believe it. Thanks Home Depot for the excellent price and thanks DeWalt for the excellent quality.
Date published: 2016-09-14
  • y_2017, m_3, d_29, h_5
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_706
  • loc_, sid_202019943, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 90ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT