Free Shipping and BOPIS


Model # DC970K-2-4

Internet # 202019943

Store SKU # 249809

18-Volt Ni-Cad 1/2 in. Compact Drill/Driver Kit

This item has been discontinued.
The Home Depot no longer carries this specific product.

$89.00 /each
  • Compact design fits into tight areas
  • Transmission offers dual speed range
  • Highly rated high-powered motor (see reviews)




Model # DC970K-2-4

Internet # 202019943

Store SKU # 249809

Get jobs completed quickly with the DEWALT NiCd Cordless 1/2 in. Compact Drill/Driver. With its small, easy-to-hold design, you can tackle almost any job around the house or job site with precision. It delivers a dual-speed range of 0-450 and 0-1500 RPM for powerful, reliable performance.

  • Includes the drill/driver, two batteries, a charger and a soft storage bag
  • 18-volt, 380-watt motor
  • 1/2 in. single-sleeve ratcheting chuck that offers a tighter bit grip and 1-handed chuck operation
  • 17 clutch settings for maximum versatility and control
  • Lightweight drill/driver design at only 5.2 lbs. to lessen fatigue
  • Compact size that is easy to maneuver and fit into the tightest spaces
  • Cordless design for necessary mobility
  • NiCd battery that charges in just one hour
  • CSA listed
  • Works with batteries DC9096 and DC9180, and chargers DCB103, DW9117, DC9310, DC9319, DC9320 and DC012 (sold separately)
  • 3-year limited manufacturer warranty
  • 1-year free service contract with DEWALT
  • 90-day money-back guarantee
  • Includes (2) 18v Compact Batteries (DC9098)
  • Note: Product may vary by store
  • Home Depot Protection Plan:

    Home Depot Protection Plan

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.


Product Depth (in.) 
15 in 
Product Height (in.) 
4.5 in 
Product Width (in.) 
12 in 
Batteries Included 
Battery Power Type 
Battery Size 
Charger Included 
Chuck Size 
1/2 In. 
Chuck Type 
Color Family 
Cordless Tool Type 
Maximum Speed (rpm) 
Power Tool Product Type 
Product Weight (lb.) 
10 lb 
Tools Product Type 
Power Tool 
Variable Speed 
Voltage (volts) 
Warranty / Certifications
Certifications and Listings 
CSA Listed 
Manufacturer Warranty 
90 Day Money Back Guarantee 1 Year Free Service Contract 3 Year Limited Warranty 


Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 582 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by very good drill for the money. It has more then enough power for projects around the house. The battery stays at full strength until its dead which is a plus. It comes with 2 batteries and they charge in less then an hour so you should never be waiting for them to charge. December 3, 2009
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great drill i have used the drill for lots of different project and it works and preforms as advertised only once had to use all the torque available and almost dropped it as it tried to twist free (left handed) most of my family members have used this drill for years thanks November 28, 2009
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great drill, great price I've had a Dewalt 12V drill/driver for over 20 years and the batteries just finally gave out. That was a great product. I just replaced it with the 18V model and it's even better. The power is very impressive and the $89 price is fantastic. Highly recommended! November 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lots of Power! I have used a Black & Decker drill for years, but I knew I was ready for an upgrade. I picked this up on Black Friday. I had avoided the Dewalt drill due to the price, but I finally decided to take advantage of this deal and try the drill that's top of the line. I love the fact that you get 2 batteries and a quick charger. I used the drill a few days after I got it, and I was impressed with the power. It feels solid in your hand and gives you plenty of torque to get your jobs done quickly! If you are an active "do it yourselfer" then you will be thrilled with this drill! December 11, 2010
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Compact Drill Kit When I bought this drill on line I didn't realize that is was COMPACT (but it said so) and was disappointed when i first opened the box. But after using it a few times it has performed very well. It is lighter than the standard model and for me it easier to handle. It is the DeWalt quality and tough and strong. I am completely happy. If you are working a project and need to constantly use the drill, the quick recharge batteries will always have a fresh battery ready to use. Very happy with the drill. March 24, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Can't beat the price. I wa looking on line for a replacement battery pack for my 18 volt cordless drill. They were asking $75.00 for one battery pack. I purchased a new drill, two battery packs and a charger for $99.00. This was my second purchase of this product. The battery has a good run time and the quick change drill chuck makes for quick removal and insertion of multiple bits . Can"t beat the price! April 8, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Product I purchased my first 18v dewalt drill & circular saw combo when they first came out nearly fifteen years ago. Ten years later I purchased this unit, not because mine were no longer working but because the drill with two batteries was about the same proce as batteries alone. Some will tell you that the XR+ and XRP batteries are better and thus claim this is not a great unit. I have both XR and non XR batteries and see no difference. Infact, my non-XR batteries are older and still going strong. This is a great drill and a great price November 29, 2009
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good drill at a good price Excellent power and battery life. Grab one before they are replaced by a newer more expensive model. April 14, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great product would be cool if it had a flash light on it as well! super customer service also :) July 5, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by It's a DEWALT I had a craftman 12V, the DEWALT 18V was a significant upgrade. Long lasting power on the highest settings, and quick charging. Also, it came with two batteries. November 15, 2011
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Purchase DeWalt 18-Volt Ni-Cad 1/2 in. Compact Drill/Driver Kit Bought this drill 18-Volt Ni-Cad 1/2 in. Dewalt Compact Drill/Driver Kit for the NiCad 18v batteries, already have two other DeWalt drills NiCad 18v, after 3 plus years, batteries beginning to loose charge within a couple of days. Two Batteries were $ 89. Drill and batteries $89. Rebuilt one of the existing NiCad 18v batteries $40. Batteries Plus, which make it a XRP level battery. The DeWalt Products are great, but the battery replacement is the greater expense. March 10, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Dewalt cordless drills and circular saws are great I really love both the cordless drill and circular saw from Dewalt. I completed a few bookshelves with them before having to charge the battery for the first time, and charging was super quick - I used one battery while the other charged, and it was back up and running in 5 minutes. After comparing the Ryobi and Dewalt cordless products (and borrowing a friend's Ryobi) I am glad I went with the Dewalt. I am also glad I went with the Nickle Cadmium battery, as information is beginning to come out that the Lithium batteries give off a gas which is highly toxic. Buyer beware - do your research before you buy! December 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome Very useful. First time buying this brand. No regrets. Thank you. April 7, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good value; great product Arrived on time and worked as expected. This is a great combo pack. I have several DeWalt drills and they all just work. I bought this one for the office for some minor sheet metal work. The battery charger seems to maintain the batteries better than some of the other vendors. I just wish they would sell it in the brick and mortar stores so I did not have to wait for delivery. March 10, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 18-Volt Compact Drill/ Driver Kit The first one I got had two batteries and was on sales for about the same price. I just love the product. Someone removed it from my truck so I was looking at getting another one. I recommend this drill kit to anyone that wants to make sure to get a reliable and great operating drill kit. October 13, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent cordless drill I bought this drill online and on sale. A friend had recommended it to me and I had seen it used to install a storm door. It arrived partally charged and included an extra battery pack. It charged very quickly, unlike the rechargables of a decade ago. Because it is small and powerful, it can be used in tight spaces. I am delighted with the performance and the price! November 7, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent This drill packet meets a variety of small household needs. Easy to use. The battery is long lasting and east to recharge. The size makes it easy to reach harder to reach places. March 10, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great drill Great drill...perfect for all the chores around the house. Has really good power. Small enough too to get into some tighter spaces. Highly recommended!!! March 10, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Works Great; Having second battery is nice This is my first cordless drill in many years, and I love the freedom of not having to drag around an extension cord. Many years ago, I got a 9V cordless drill, and it just didn't cut it, so I was worried about getting enough power. The amount of power from this drill doesn't disappoint. Note: The drill with the battery is a bit heavy; if you are a smaller person without much forearm strength your arm may get tired. The battery lasts 1-2 hours of frequent drilling, so the second battery is really good to have. Value is good too. Replacement batteries of this type cost half as much as I paid for the drill, charger, and two batteries. Battery charges in about an hour, so with two batteries, you can go all day. Since these are NiCad batteries with a limited number of charge cycles (unlike Lithium Ion), you want to get as much as you can from each charge, then charge them fully to minimize the number of charge cycles you go through, and your batteries will last longer January 17, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Works Great!! Fantastic Price! Works Great and was perfect for the construction job I am on. March 11, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love the cordless drill!! I got this for my husband for his birthday and he loved it!! Definitely recommend this product! March 10, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I recomend DeWalt tools to anyone who wants the best. I bought this drill/driver as a donation to the Library. I currently own about 8 18V DeWalt tools, one of them being this exact tool. They are great tools. I use them professionally. One thing I do like is they can be repaired easily, unlike many tools today. I use these tools almost every day for the last 4 years. December 20, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Cordless Drill Available This drill is as powerful as anyone would need, tough enough for any construction site, and the battery life allows you to get a lot done without having to switch batteries. The batteries charge pretty quickly. The tool feels comfortable in your hand for long periods of time. It needs very little maintenance. The drill is a little heavy but that's because it's built very well. This one will last me my whole life. February 10, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Drill Not concerned with the lifespace of this DeWalt. Very powerful. March 10, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Drill Great. I went to get another one though and you raised the price! March 10, 2015
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Old Technology - Fair Price With the weight of 2 bricks, this drill/driver is out of date and the only redeeming qulaity IS THE QUALITY! Works well, but I was taken in by the clearance price. November 13, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love DeWalt I absolute love DeWalt's tools and that's the only thing I would use. This is a great value. I compared prices between Home Depot and other companies and found that you get more for your money here at Home Depot with this DeWalt set then anywhere else. I love my drill and use it almost every day. December 12, 2010
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Value Drill, But... I purchased this drill at Home Depot for $99. Great value for a drill, 2 batteries and a charger. The sales person said that this was a good all around drill. I needed a drill as I was rebuilding my deck. It did take some time getting used to the; 1/2 in. single-sleeve ratcheting chuck- which took a while to insert and/or change the bits, Dual speed range - which didn't do much for me , or the 17 clutch settings - which I thought was just "too many un-nessasery steps". I found my self "fussing" with it too much. I needed a drill that was as good or better, but simpler to work with. I ended up gifting this drill to my girlfriend and getting my self the Milwaukee 2650-20 M18 18-Volt Impact Driver. The Milwaukee is so much simpler, easier and quicker to operate. The 1/4-inch hex quick-change chuck which allows for easy bit changes - is like a breath of fresh air, compared to the Dewalt. The variable-speed trigger which provides increased user control is truly a great feature that works wonderfully for me! I can totally regulate the speed and go from very slow to maximum speed. The Milwaukee 48-11-1828 M18 XC RED LITHIUM 18-Volt Lithium-ion Cordless Tool Battery is awesome! The power is fully deployed till the end, until suddenly the battery is out. Unlike the Dewalt, you don't feel a gradual decrease in power as you work while the battery is depleting. I find that the pace of my work has significantly picked up since I switched from Dewalt to the Milwaukee. Way fewer buttons, and performs better then the Dewalt. You'll need a charger and then a battery for the Milwaukee, which adds to the cost, and I'm sure that will play into people's decision. But I'll say that it is a great investment, and I'm sure you'll be happy with your purchase. Again, the Dewalt is a good tool for the price. July 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best price for great tools Buying this was cheaper than buying batteries for my old drill. No brainer what to do. March 3, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love it!! I bought this drill for little jobs around the house and it has exceeded my expectations. I have also used it to remove old cabinets and it worked wonderfully on a fully charged battery. I am glad I purchased it. October 6, 2011
  • 2015-11-26 T10:46:06.265-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_582, tr_582
  • loc_en_US, sid_202019943, prod, sort_default
<< 2 3 4 5 6  ... 21 >>