The product you chose is discontinued, but we found something similar you might like.
8-Channel 1TB DVR with (8) 600TVL SVAT Series Cameras
  • Defender
  • Model 21378
  • Internet #206451003
  • Store SO SKU #

8-Channel 1TB DVR with (8) 600TVL SVAT Series Cameras

Discontinued Model:

Model # 21025

Internet #203267390

Defender 8-Channel 500GB Hard Drive Surveillance System with (8) 600 TVL Cameras
0871363020574

Discontinued Defender

8-Channel 500GB Hard Drive Surveillance System with (8) 600 TVL Cameras

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Trust Defender to make thieves and vandals think twice about approaching your property. Defender systems function just like a computer, with a mouse for pointing and clicking and an intuitive icon-based menu for easy set up and use. View anytime, anywhere with remote viewing via internet, smartphone, and tablet and receive email alerts, with photo, when motion is detected on your property. Our 1 Step Remote Viewing software application auto-networks your DVR in less than 5 minutes, available as a free download for PC and Mac. Record over 2 years’ worth of footage on the included 500GB hard drive. Eight all-weather cameras deliver clear, ultra hi-res video with 600TVL for maximum surveillance indoors and outdoors. 36IR LEDs allow for 100 ft. of automatic night vision. Anti-vandal mount ensures cameras cannot be tampered with and 65 ft. of cable allows for greater flexibility in mounting around your home or business. Don’t give thieves a chance. Stop them with Defender.

  • 600TVL Ultra Hi-Res cameras provide crisp and detailed video
  • Each camera comes with 65 ft. of cable allowing for greater flexibility in mounting around your home or business
  • 36IR LEDs for up to 100 ft. automatic night vision
  • View your camera footage from anywhere in the world from a PC or Smartphone, Compatible with Internet Explorer, iPhone, BlackBerry, Android, Windows Mobile, Symbian, iPad and most major tablets
  • Ultra-Resolution 600TVL cameras give a clear and detailed picture
  • Record up to 2 years of footage onto the included 500GB hard drive
  • H.264 compression maximizes your recording time while keep high-quality imagery
  • Email alerts with photo will notify you of activity or video loss
  • Customize your recording schedule with motion activated recording
  • Easy installation (mounting and wiring included)
  • Heavy duty vandal resistant mount
  • Lifetime live customer support can be reached by phone, email or chat in English, Spanish and French
  • Automatic remote viewing setup, our 1 Step Remote Viewing software application auto-networks your DVR in less than 5 minutes. Simply input your DVR?s IP address (found in the menu) into the connection program on your computer, click ?Sync to Router?, and 1 Step will automatically do the rest, This software is available as a free download for PC and Mac. Defender offers you the convenience of mobile viewing without any complicated instructions or hassle

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

27 Questions87 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

8-Channel 500GB Hard Drive Surveillance System with (8) 600 TVL Cameras
8-Channel 500GB Hard Drive Surveillance System with (8) 600 TVL Cameras

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
 
6 answers

Can you use more cable than the 65 ft. they come with?

This question is from 8-Channel 500GB Hard Drive Surveillance System with (8) 600 TVL Cameras
Asked by
Trona CA.
Read all my Q&A
May 29, 2014
Are you limited to that length of cable? What size is the cable if we need to buy more for installarion purposes?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (6)

Asked by
Columbus ,GA
Read all my Q&A
February 22, 2015
Answer: 
Sure it just takes connector to join the cables. Easy to find
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Oklahoma
Read all my Q&A
January 20, 2015
Answer: 
They offer to sell you additional cabling if you need it. I've not investigated.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Naugatuck, CT
Read all my Q&A
August 26, 2014
Answer: 
Yes, you can purchase extra wires for them if you need the extra wires. The picture does lose some quality but it's not something you'll really notice.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Home Improvement Profile: Professional
May 30, 2014
Answer: 
Hello
Thank you for your inquiry. You can purchase additional extension cables in 65 and 130 foot lengths. The model numbers are as followed 21007, 21008 and 21009. We guarantee camera signal up to 195 feet. Please note that the extension cables must be installed in the following order
DVR -> Extension Cable -> Camera Cable -> Camera.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Bellevue, WA
Read all my Q&A
May 30, 2014
Answer: 
You can buy longer cables from Defender and/or cable extensions. I ordered 65 foot cable extensions giving me a total of 130 feet of total cable run for the power and the video for 3 of my cameras.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Belleville wis
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 29, 2014
Answer: 
no you can add more cables in either 65 ft or 130 ft sections i think 65 ft are like 12 bucks they just connect together . cables are video and power together. they are available online just type in defender cables on home depot web site
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
 
5 answers

How hard is the system to connect it to the smart phone?

This question is from 8-Channel 500GB Hard Drive Surveillance System with (8) 600 TVL Cameras
Asked by
El paso
Read all my Q&A
April 23, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (5)

Asked by
Naugatuck, CT
Read all my Q&A
August 26, 2014
Answer: 
It's not hard at all. I actually hooked it to within 10 minutes. You turn the system on. Connect it to your cable, WiFi, etc. Then you'll get an IP address in your settings screen for your system. Go to the App Store for iPhones or Android Store for Androids, download an App called ASee (there's a few other apps that can be used but it seems like this one is the most compatible), and type in your IP Read More
It's not hard at all. I actually hooked it to within 10 minutes. You turn the system on. Connect it to your cable, WiFi, etc. Then you'll get an IP address in your settings screen for your system. Go to the App Store for iPhones or Android Store for Androids, download an App called ASee (there's a few other apps that can be used but it seems like this one is the most compatible), and type in your IP settings. You'll be viewing your cameras in seconds. Hopes this helps. Read Less
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Bellevue, WA
Read all my Q&A
May 30, 2014
Answer: 
It was pretty easy to get mobile software for both iPhone and Android that worked with the system. You just have to make sure you open the correct ports on your router in order for the remote connection to work.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1

Asked by
Belleville wis
Read all my Q&A
May 15, 2014
Answer: 
very easy instructions on that are very good just have to download an apt called Asee
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Naugatuck, CT
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 14, 2014
Answer: 
Depends if you're running Windows or Mac at home. You have to go through a process called "port forwarding" which from my understanding basically means your router at home's IP address will be forwarded to your smart phone or tablet. Having had this for a few days and seeing the instructions for smart phone and tablet viewing, the Windows instructions look much easier than a Mac's. Once you've done the Read More
Depends if you're running Windows or Mac at home. You have to go through a process called "port forwarding" which from my understanding basically means your router at home's IP address will be forwarded to your smart phone or tablet. Having had this for a few days and seeing the instructions for smart phone and tablet viewing, the Windows instructions look much easier than a Mac's. Once you've done the Port Forwarding, you can then download an App from iTunes and you'll be ready to rock. I'm actually talking to them tonight about setting mine up using a Mac and will let you know how it goes. There's always picking up the phone and talking to them directly which for me, eliminates hours of trying to figure it out myself lol. Read Less
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

April 24, 2014
Answer: 
The system can be connected to a Smart Phone using an application called Asee.
Defender Support
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
 
5 answers

OK, so after 2-4 weeks recording time the disc is full. What do I need to do then?

This question is from 8-Channel 500GB Hard Drive Surveillance System with (8) 600 TVL Cameras
Asked by
Windham, CT
Read all my Q&A
January 13, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (5)

Asked by
Naugatuck, CT
Read all my Q&A
August 26, 2014
Answer: 
Nothing at all unless you want the old footage. The system automatically clears old footage and replaces it with new one. If you don't need any of the old footage, you do not need to do anything. If you do, you'll prob want to look at the instruction manual but I'm pretty sure you can connect a USB or Flash Drive and save it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Belleville wis
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 15, 2014
Answer: 
you can run it thru a network computer and hook up external hard drive to computer or you can just loop it and it will record over oldest first. I have a 3 terabite hard drive on mine records for 2 months or more you can not hook hard drive to system it has to go thru network computer see my post on review for instructions customer service is no help in this matter
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

April 13, 2014
Answer: 
With the default set up the disk will auto overwrite after its full that is it will erare the recordings from the beginning and continue. See attached picture
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Spokane Wa.
Read all my Q&A
January 30, 2014
Answer: 
it will record over to of old recording
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

January 13, 2014
Answer: 
Hello,
Your DVR sends an alert when your memory space is full so that you can choose to overwrite old video or stop the unit from recording. The built-in USB port gives you the option of backing up and transferring your video footage with a USB flash drive or external USB hard drive.
Best Regards,
Defender Support
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
 
5 answers

are cameras powered thru dvr cable or does each camera need power at point of mount?

This question is from 8-Channel 500GB Hard Drive Surveillance System with (8) 600 TVL Cameras
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
December 6, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (5)

Asked by
Belleville wis
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 15, 2014
Answer: 
power goes thru cable back to unit
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

April 13, 2014
Answer: 
Unless you have a separate prewired home already, the included cable will work for the power source where the split pig tails at the end of the wire connect to a power source.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

December 27, 2013
Answer: 
These cameras get power through the supplied cables (cable carries both video and power). There is a small power supply that is normally located where the DVR is located.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
December 17, 2013
Answer: 
Through the cable
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

December 6, 2013
Answer: 
Hello,
Thank you for the inquiry. The cameras receive power from the cable connected to the DVR.
Best Regards,
Defender Support
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
2 3 »
  • 2016-10-30 T22:43:43.117-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_203267390, prod, sort_default
2 3 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 158ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

8-Channel 500GB Hard Drive Surveillance System with (8) 600 TVL Cameras is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 84.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very easy installation. Setup could be made easier. Had to figure that out on my own. Overall, I am impressed by this product. It does what its advertized to do. 600 TVL cameras are excellent. Would love to have even higher resolution cameras. A printed manual would be nice.
Date published: 2012-10-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not as Straightforward as it Seems MOUNTING -- can't mount these cameras in any orientation other than on a vertical wall. Want to mount them upside from your ceiling or from the eave of your roof outside? Sorry--can't do it unless you want to monitor the ground/floor below. Want to mount them upright on a horizontal surface? Too bad--can't do it unless you want to monitor the sky. The range of motion allowed by the adjustable joints of these cameras is restricted such that the ONLY feasible way to mount them is on a vertical wall. FIELD OF VISION--Want to monitor your front porch or back yard? Too bad. These cameras have a very narrow field of vision. They would be perfect for monitoring someone else's yard across the street. They would be perfect for monitoring a herd of cows in a far-off pasture. They would be perfect for monitoring ONE INDIVIDUAL TREE or ONE INDIVIDUAL DOOR or one individual gate. If you want to monitor **just** your mailbox, and nothing around it, these cameras are perfect. But if you'd like to include a more comprehensive area around the mailbox, then you will need to buy a different kind of camera. NETWORKING--Want to view these cameras from outside your own home network? Well if you're an IT-pro, then you'll probably be just fine. If, on the other hand, you're like me, and don't have a working knowledge of DNS servers, DHCP vs PPPOE protocols, Dynamic-DNS accounts, and router-configuration protocols, then you're going to need a lot of time to learn these things, and a lot of help to apply them. All that being said, the quality of the picture is good and the night-vision is good--certainly good enough to identify faces/animals at night.
Date published: 2013-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product AAAAAA This product is no cake walk to install in a house like mine. I chose to hide most of the wire in attic crawl space.It works well close up viewing is great distance gets a bit distorted. It takes a while to get cameras adjusted lots of ladder time.Its a great system for home use. I installed mine on 30 inch TV nice big picture. I wish there were nine cameras to fill the TV evenly. Internet is great watch home from anywhere in the world.Search is easy to use pip is great. I have limited computer skills. As a 70 year old senior it easy to figure out. Print the manual before you start it is a 85 page manual.
Date published: 2014-01-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from great when it works I ordered this system around dec 2012 and installed in march 2013. I was impressed with the video quality of the system. Setup for internet and router was a snap thanks to programs and info found on the defender website.One camera was broken, but it was extra for me so it wasn't worth a return. Within a few weeks my hard drive disappeared form the system. I sent an rma request and issued no problems. Unit was returned in about 2-3 weeks with no repairs made. They said they couldn't duplicate it, so they checked the connections and sent back with promise of a replacement advanced to me in the event of another failure. Two weeks after reinstall the problem showed back up, I contacted customer service and they quickly provided an rma and a free shipping label, but conveniently forgot about the advance replacement. When I asked after a week and a half I was told I have to give them my credit card up front, I asked why as they were the ones who failed to repair it the first time. So now the system is down again for 2-3 weeks. In summary, I have had about 30 days run time in a system that has been installed for 3 months.
Date published: 2013-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from i AM GLAD i BOUGHT THIS SYSTEM,ITS A STEP UP FROM WHATB I HAVE Setting up this survelence system was easier than I thought.The cameras picture on our screens isclear andbright,the eight camera's cover all my property and I can see who is here and who is not supposed to be here.What a surprise they get when I ask what are you doing.I am telling my neighbors about it too.The ease of the entire set-up was amazing
Date published: 2013-07-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I would buy again! This is a great system.The quality of the pictures are excellent,considering the cost.it is a shame they do not include a hard copy of the instructions!! WHY? The disc that comes with it was not compatable with my system,so I took it to one of the printing houses and had them run me a copy.the system is easily installed and with the instructions it is easily used.
Date published: 2012-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from VERY good unit for the cost! Got this on a very good sale, it is worth that for the cameras alone. This is a good set if you are starting out. I have 2 other DVRs and this one is very comparable. The cameras work great in night vision.. Like some have said there are some limitations in how you can mount the cameras (they have to be mounted on a wall) but for the price this set is a great deal.
Date published: 2013-12-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I Wouldn't Recommend Purchasing Defender!!! We have had problems with this company from the beginning. We ordered the Defender with 8 cameras and we were shipped only 4. I contacted Home Depot who was AWESOME and acted as my "go between" to help get me the rest of my cams. The company made us go back and forth several times and even made me take pictures of the boxes my items came in and the items I did receive. Come on now! Finally I was shipped the rest of my cameras. This was in Feb 2015. In the spring we were finally able to install them outside and finished installing them probably by summer. This is when the rest of the fun started... The DVR freezes up often when you try to play back footage. It eventually reboots itself and boom, one of your cams comes back grainy and pinkish purple making it almost impossible to see anything. We let it go for a while thinking it would clear itself up. Nope. Never. After we lost another, we contacted the company. If you want to return it for them to check it out & want a substitute sent in the meantime, you have to give your credit card # & it costs no less than $60 each! So you can either have a hold on your credit card of $60 per cam that you are returning or go without your security for weeks while you send the cam(s) back and wait for the new ones to come in. We opted to send them back in batches, because so far, 7 of our 8 have gone bad. Out first replacement looks different than our original cams. We set it up and sent two more back. Those two replacements look different than our original AND the first replacements. Now we have 3 different kinds of cams. AND one of the two newest ones already broke! The area where the wires are seemed more loose than the other one that came with it and sure enough, it just came apart. And now, the first new one we received has a yellowish tint after a reboot instead of the pinkish/purple. We are sooooooo more than fed up and now they are pushing us aside and telling us to contact Home Depot if we want a refund OR I can take pics of the monitor to show the colors AND go around taking pics of where my cameras are installed. Seriously? What a horrible company. I am SO very sorry I ever purchased this brand and never ever will again.Oh, and as some other reviews have said - they don't have a dedicated app for your phone or kindle... it really IS a pain to set up AND after a recent reboot, we've lost the ability to view the cams from outside the our own wifi. We're so over this system. Stay Away. Trust me. It's not worth it.
Date published: 2016-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good quality recording system I love this new system. The cameras seem to pick up everything. There's night vision, motion detection, and 8 cameras. It's a little struggle setting up the networking if you want to use it on your phone or laptop. There are plenty of guides to help you.
Date published: 2012-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We are satisfied with the product. We are happy with the quality of the product. The pictures are awesome and the quality on the night vision is impressive. The cables are very long, which allowed me to install all the cameras where we wanted them. We were able to setup computer and cell phone internet viewing. The instructions was not easy to follow, but I was able to figured it out with some internet searching.
Date published: 2013-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect This system is perfect. I would like to counter the review of this system that states that it is hard to view outside your network and that it has to be mounted vertically. Both not true. The directions walk you through the setup and I watch it on my phone. In fact it saved my dogs life as she broke open the stitches after we had her spayed. My wife watched in horror in real time as the dog began bleeding out on the couch. Obviously we rushed home to save her. Also, with this system we capture anyone who comes to our front door or dives down our street. It's all nicely emailed to us if they enter a zone we set. So even if they manage to break in and steal the DVR we have them on tape. Also, every camera is mounted horizontally on our house. There are bolts you screw to adjust this. They even provide the tool. Pair this with the Fortress security system on Amazon and bam, your alarm calls you when it goes off, then you simply look on your phone at the video. By then though you already have a nice picture of him and his car. I guess if you can't figure that out then the networking stuff would be hard as well. Just sayin'.
Date published: 2013-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EXCELLENT PRODUCT FOR A GOOD PRICE When I purchased this cameras there was a problem with one of them. I contacted the cws defender and they sent me another new camera right away. Now I can watch my cameras online and on the phone. Excellent product for a reasonable price.
Date published: 2013-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from hands down best deal ever first of all cameras arrived extremely fast. overall great deal. it was such an easy set up. instructions were very easy to understand. feel extremely safe now. night vision mode is wonderful. resolution is beautiful. i couldn't ask for a better deal.
Date published: 2013-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Has very good night vision. Set up was easy and in one day I had everything working! I did have one camera not working & customer service was very helpful to resolve the problem.
Date published: 2013-01-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good home security system that is fairly easy to setup I have had a couple of the cameras get stuck in infrared mode, but the company (Defender-USA) has provided return authorization for those cameras to have them replaced under warranty. Otherwise, you can view the output real time via TV, computer, and mobile phone (even when not at home). Also, being able to look back in time to see what happened at a specific time is very useful. The unit doesn't take up much room and is very easy to install.
Date published: 2014-03-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Selling old DVR system with system. I would give zero stars if I could. The DVR listed shows it has HDMI but the system I received does not have HDMI. Called customer service and they informed me that it is an older system. No it is not an older system it is a DIFFERENT system. Would not recommend this product to anyone. The only good thing is that Home Depot will return it.
Date published: 2016-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use After having some things stolen I decided to give these a try. I am very happy so far. The cameras are very easy to install. The system is very easy to use. I have had the system for a while now. If you are thinking about buying these I would recommend doing it now. Don't be like me and buy them after you have things stolen. I wish I would have bought them sooner. Anyway, I hope this helps.
Date published: 2014-03-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good complete system for the price This system was easy to set up. I did have some issues with the ports but customer support called and were able to identify my error and get me set up to remote viewing. The cameras are good quality for an analog system. Home Depot on line had the best price for this system. Pros: Great price for 8 cameras and DVR with hard drive Cons: The motion sensing for cameras does not appear to function. Need to record 24x7
Date published: 2013-09-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not so great Plugging everything in and powering it on was easy. Beyond that there are no included instructions for configuring the dvr. This model isn't even shown on defenders website. And to top it off within a week 2 of the cameras were stuck in night vision mode no matter what I did. Picture quality is sub par and no way to adjust sharpness. You get what you paid for.
Date published: 2013-12-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great System, A Little Patience Goes A Long Way! I've had this system for a few days. I already installed 4 out of the 8 cameras working on it day by day after work. So far so great! The pictures are really clear, the actual DVR and Camera Set Up is pretty easy and quick even for a 1st timer like me. The DVR screen is pretty easy to navigate and setting up alerts/emails/etc was a breeze. I did have to run some extra wiring around the house and will be putting some PVC piping to protect the wires from the elements outside. The only reason I didn't give this product a full "5 stars" is because the remote access, externally viewing your DVR, and iPhone/iPad viewing is a pretty tedious and long process if you're using a Mac computer. Not sure about if you're running Windows on your PC but on my Mac it's not working when I tried. I'm hoping on the phone with Defender USA tonight after speaking with a rep on their "live chat" and will re-post depending on my experience. Overall, if you need a surveillance system with crisp images and easy set up, this is for you. If you want a system that you can view externally and are using a Mac at home, you might want to hop on the phone with them first and do it right the 1st time.
Date published: 2014-05-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Still cannot the network features to work Customer support has been nonexistent for a few days. I cannot get the internal and external network capabilities of the product to work. The manual refers the user to a non-existent web site. When customer service calls, I'll look into returning the product.
Date published: 2013-08-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from A sub-par product I was happy to purchase this as it has enough cameras. When I received the product, one camera was DOA and a connection cable was missing. Video quality for the cameras is mediocre at least, in full daylight. Night video mode is unusable more than a feet or two.
Date published: 2014-01-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ok for the price Pros - * Easy Set Up hardware wise * Good Enough resolution during day or night. * Build looks pretty sturdy hope it lasts a while too. Cons - * Limited software support - Does not support admin interface or remote viewing without IE or Safari both of which requires lowering security level and adding unsigned activex which would be kind of a security hole to review security camera details remotely especially on work machines with limited admin privileges. - Admin or any password is only limited to six characters so if external remote viewing enabled I would not feel that safe from web hackers unless its a longer password. - Biggest disappointment of all, it does not have its own brand of mobile app for viewing remotely. The software recommended on their manuals is a joke and honestly they should not advertise about Mobile viewing if we have to rely on third party software for it. Just read the description of the recommended software "Asee" in iOS App store, it has so many spelling mistakes and the software itself is ad supported. I ended up reading one of the reviews in app store and using the swan software instead. (See attached image) - Another big disappointment so far is that I can not change the DVR recording resolution from CIF to D1 or HD1 in the software interface as it says the FPS supported by the DVR is exceeded.
Date published: 2014-04-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This system has great features. The system has worked great up to this moment, the length of cabling was perfect and the picture quality could improve but non the less is still good, the night vision is also a big plus. Over all, two thumbs up.
Date published: 2013-08-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great value for the price Just got my Defender Security system up and running.Installing and running the wires for the cameras was a bit time consuming.It was straight forward and easy to connect everything where it was suppose to go.Just wish they had more space between the connecters at the back of the DVR for connecting the cameras as I have big hands and it wasn't easy to get my big fingers in to connect the cables easy.The instructions for viewing on a PC or remotely could be better as the internet support said one thing and the manual another.For the price I believe this was money well spend and look forward to using my Defender Security system to help protect my home.
Date published: 2014-03-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Value The 8 Camera system form Defender is a great value.Installation is easy,but a helper will make it easier. The cameras are the 600 tvl,anything lower in resolution will result in poor quality picture.If you want to be able too read a license plate from 50 ft this system isn't for you.This system is for general surveillance.With good facial recognition out to about 20 ft..Viewing your cameras online is easy to setup.Download the App.and video from defender.The video will walk you through the setup.Customer service and shipping were great.I placed the order and received the cameras sooner than expected.Thanks for a good deal Home Depot.
Date published: 2014-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Works exactly as specified - easy to install - camera's have an excellent picture
Date published: 2013-06-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from System already caught 3 separate criminal activity Purchased this system on Black Friday 2013. Delayed installing the system until someone stole some landscape bricks in my front yard. That motivated me to at least install one camera in the front. A couple nights later, the camera caught two punks stealing my neighbors car. A month later, after installing the other 3 cameras, it caught two more punks breaking into a foreclosed house across the street which I caught on my phone as it was happening and called the police. They were arrested! Just a few weeks ago, it also caught two persons of interest in a burglary down the street. This recording helped the police arrest this punks.
Date published: 2014-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Pleased I bought this a month and a half ago. I set up four of the cameras in about 4 hours, and I was taking my time.  I am pretty pleased with the brightness and clarity of the cameras in the daytime.  It looks very good at night too.   I'm pretty happy with the options with the DVR and all of the settings you can change. I have been so busy lately, I haven't had time to connect it to my network and install the android app. (I should, after the holidays and hunting season). The only thing you really need is a monitor to go with this system; it comes with everything else - which surprised me (mouse and remote).  Also, for my setup, the 65 foot cabling was perfect; I didn't need to add any extra.
Date published: 2013-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Video Survelliance System Great clarity. Easy installation. EVERYTHING you need is in the box. And the Smart Phone app is great! The cameras offer excellent clarity. Eight cameras allowed me to cover all exterior spots and I had cameras to put INSIDE the house too! These are quality cameras and the hard drive covers tons of recording. Love it!!
Date published: 2015-02-23
  • y_2017, m_1, d_20, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_84
  • loc_, sid_203267390, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 93ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT