0871363020574

Suggested Replacement

8-Channel 1TB DVR with (8) 600TVL SVAT Series Cameras
  • Defender
  • Model # 21378
  • Internet # 206451003

8-Channel 1TB DVR with (8) 600TVL SVAT Series Cameras

$229.99 /each

Compare to Discontinued Model View Product

Discontinued Model

Discontinued

Defender

Model # 21025

Internet # 203267390

8-Channel 500GB Hard Drive Surveillance System with (8) 600 TVL Cameras

This item has been discontinued.
The Home Depot no longer carries this specific product.

FREQUENTLY BOUGHT TOGETHER

PRODUCT OVERVIEW

Model # 21025

Internet # 203267390

Trust Defender to make thieves and vandals think twice about approaching your property. Defender systems function just like a computer, with a mouse for pointing and clicking and an intuitive icon-based menu for easy set up and use. View anytime, anywhere with remote viewing via internet, smartphone, and tablet and receive email alerts, with photo, when motion is detected on your property. Our 1 Step Remote Viewing software application auto-networks your DVR in less than 5 minutes, available as a free download for PC and Mac. Record over 2 years’ worth of footage on the included 500GB hard drive. Eight all-weather cameras deliver clear, ultra hi-res video with 600TVL for maximum surveillance indoors and outdoors. 36IR LEDs allow for 100 ft. of automatic night vision. Anti-vandal mount ensures cameras cannot be tampered with and 65 ft. of cable allows for greater flexibility in mounting around your home or business. Don’t give thieves a chance. Stop them with Defender.

  • 600TVL Ultra Hi-Res cameras provide crisp and detailed video
  • Each camera comes with 65 ft. of cable allowing for greater flexibility in mounting around your home or business
  • 36IR LEDs for up to 100 ft. automatic night vision
  • View your camera footage from anywhere in the world from a PC or Smartphone, Compatible with Internet Explorer, iPhone, BlackBerry, Android, Windows Mobile, Symbian, iPad and most major tablets
  • Ultra-Resolution 600TVL cameras give a clear and detailed picture
  • Record up to 2 years of footage onto the included 500GB hard drive
  • H.264 compression maximizes your recording time while keep high-quality imagery
  • Email alerts with photo will notify you of activity or video loss
  • Customize your recording schedule with motion activated recording
  • Easy installation (mounting and wiring included)
  • Heavy duty vandal resistant mount
  • Lifetime live customer support can be reached by phone, email or chat in English, Spanish and French
  • Automatic remote viewing setup, our 1 Step Remote Viewing software application auto-networks your DVR in less than 5 minutes. Simply input your DVR?s IP address (found in the menu) into the connection program on your computer, click ?Sync to Router?, and 1 Step will automatically do the rest, This software is available as a free download for PC and Mac. Defender offers you the convenience of mobile viewing without any complicated instructions or hassle

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

SPECIFICATIONS

Dimensions
Product Depth (in.) 
8.7 
Product Height (in.) 
1.97 
Product Width (in.) 
11.8 
Screen Size (In.) 
Details
3-Axis Adjustable Camera 
No 
Camera Connection 
Wired Cameras 
Camera Resolution (TVL) 
600 
Camera Technology 
Analog/ Direct 
Camera Type 
CMOS 
Camera Use 
Indoor/Outdoor Cameras 
Color or Black and White 
Color 
Commercial / Residential 
Commercial / Residential 
Connected Home Protocol 
Proprietary 
Covert 
No 
Electrical Product Type 
Video Surveillance Kit 
Hard Drive Size 
321GB to 500GB 
Maximum Record Time (hrs) 
17520 
Night Vision Distance (ft.) 
100 
Number of Cameras Included 
Number of Channels 
Optical Zoom 
No 
Recording Resolution 
2CIF/D1 - 720x240 
Returnable 
90-Day 
Storage Capacity 
500 GB and under 
Surveillance Features 
Remote Internet Viewing,Night Vision 
Surveillance Included 
Mouse,Cables,Hardware 
Wireless Cameras 
No 

MORE PRODUCTS WITH THESE FEATURES

Brand: Defender
Review Rating: 4 & Up
Connected Home Protocol: Proprietary
Search
27 Questions87 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

8-Channel 500GB Hard Drive Surveillance System with (8) 600 TVL Cameras
8-Channel 500GB Hard Drive Surveillance System with (8) 600 TVL Cameras

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
 
6 answers

Can you use more cable than the 65 ft. they come with?

This question is from 8-Channel 500GB Hard Drive Surveillance System with (8) 600 TVL Cameras
Asked by
Trona CA.
Read all my Q&A
May 29, 2014
Are you limited to that length of cable? What size is the cable if we need to buy more for installarion purposes?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (6)

Asked by
Columbus ,GA
Read all my Q&A
February 22, 2015
Answer: 
Sure it just takes connector to join the cables. Easy to find
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Oklahoma
Read all my Q&A
January 20, 2015
Answer: 
They offer to sell you additional cabling if you need it. I've not investigated.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Naugatuck, CT
Read all my Q&A
August 26, 2014
Answer: 
Yes, you can purchase extra wires for them if you need the extra wires. The picture does lose some quality but it's not something you'll really notice.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Home Improvement Profile: Professional
May 30, 2014
Answer: 
Hello
Thank you for your inquiry. You can purchase additional extension cables in 65 and 130 foot lengths. The model numbers are as followed 21007, 21008 and 21009. We guarantee camera signal up to 195 feet. Please note that the extension cables must be installed in the following order
DVR -> Extension Cable -> Camera Cable -> Camera.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Bellevue, WA
Read all my Q&A
May 30, 2014
Answer: 
You can buy longer cables from Defender and/or cable extensions. I ordered 65 foot cable extensions giving me a total of 130 feet of total cable run for the power and the video for 3 of my cameras.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Belleville wis
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 29, 2014
Answer: 
no you can add more cables in either 65 ft or 130 ft sections i think 65 ft are like 12 bucks they just connect together . cables are video and power together. they are available online just type in defender cables on home depot web site
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
 
5 answers

How hard is the system to connect it to the smart phone?

This question is from 8-Channel 500GB Hard Drive Surveillance System with (8) 600 TVL Cameras
Asked by
El paso
Read all my Q&A
April 23, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (5)

Asked by
Naugatuck, CT
Read all my Q&A
August 26, 2014
Answer: 
It's not hard at all. I actually hooked it to within 10 minutes. You turn the system on. Connect it to your cable, WiFi, etc. Then you'll get an IP address in your settings screen for your system. Go to the App Store for iPhones or Android Store for Androids, download an App called ASee (there's a few other apps that can be used but it seems like this one is the most compatible), and type in your IP Read More
It's not hard at all. I actually hooked it to within 10 minutes. You turn the system on. Connect it to your cable, WiFi, etc. Then you'll get an IP address in your settings screen for your system. Go to the App Store for iPhones or Android Store for Androids, download an App called ASee (there's a few other apps that can be used but it seems like this one is the most compatible), and type in your IP settings. You'll be viewing your cameras in seconds. Hopes this helps. Read Less
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Bellevue, WA
Read all my Q&A
May 30, 2014
Answer: 
It was pretty easy to get mobile software for both iPhone and Android that worked with the system. You just have to make sure you open the correct ports on your router in order for the remote connection to work.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1

Asked by
Belleville wis
Read all my Q&A
May 15, 2014
Answer: 
very easy instructions on that are very good just have to download an apt called Asee
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Naugatuck, CT
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 14, 2014
Answer: 
Depends if you're running Windows or Mac at home. You have to go through a process called "port forwarding" which from my understanding basically means your router at home's IP address will be forwarded to your smart phone or tablet. Having had this for a few days and seeing the instructions for smart phone and tablet viewing, the Windows instructions look much easier than a Mac's. Once you've done the Read More
Depends if you're running Windows or Mac at home. You have to go through a process called "port forwarding" which from my understanding basically means your router at home's IP address will be forwarded to your smart phone or tablet. Having had this for a few days and seeing the instructions for smart phone and tablet viewing, the Windows instructions look much easier than a Mac's. Once you've done the Port Forwarding, you can then download an App from iTunes and you'll be ready to rock. I'm actually talking to them tonight about setting mine up using a Mac and will let you know how it goes. There's always picking up the phone and talking to them directly which for me, eliminates hours of trying to figure it out myself lol. Read Less
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

April 24, 2014
Answer: 
The system can be connected to a Smart Phone using an application called Asee.
Defender Support
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
 
5 answers

OK, so after 2-4 weeks recording time the disc is full. What do I need to do then?

This question is from 8-Channel 500GB Hard Drive Surveillance System with (8) 600 TVL Cameras
Asked by
Windham, CT
Read all my Q&A
January 13, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (5)

Asked by
Naugatuck, CT
Read all my Q&A
August 26, 2014
Answer: 
Nothing at all unless you want the old footage. The system automatically clears old footage and replaces it with new one. If you don't need any of the old footage, you do not need to do anything. If you do, you'll prob want to look at the instruction manual but I'm pretty sure you can connect a USB or Flash Drive and save it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Belleville wis
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 15, 2014
Answer: 
you can run it thru a network computer and hook up external hard drive to computer or you can just loop it and it will record over oldest first. I have a 3 terabite hard drive on mine records for 2 months or more you can not hook hard drive to system it has to go thru network computer see my post on review for instructions customer service is no help in this matter
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

April 13, 2014
Answer: 
With the default set up the disk will auto overwrite after its full that is it will erare the recordings from the beginning and continue. See attached picture
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Spokane Wa.
Read all my Q&A
January 30, 2014
Answer: 
it will record over to of old recording
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

January 13, 2014
Answer: 
Hello,
Your DVR sends an alert when your memory space is full so that you can choose to overwrite old video or stop the unit from recording. The built-in USB port gives you the option of backing up and transferring your video footage with a USB flash drive or external USB hard drive.
Best Regards,
Defender Support
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
 
5 answers

are cameras powered thru dvr cable or does each camera need power at point of mount?

This question is from 8-Channel 500GB Hard Drive Surveillance System with (8) 600 TVL Cameras
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
December 6, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (5)

Asked by
Belleville wis
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 15, 2014
Answer: 
power goes thru cable back to unit
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

April 13, 2014
Answer: 
Unless you have a separate prewired home already, the included cable will work for the power source where the split pig tails at the end of the wire connect to a power source.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

December 27, 2013
Answer: 
These cameras get power through the supplied cables (cable carries both video and power). There is a small power supply that is normally located where the DVR is located.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
December 17, 2013
Answer: 
Through the cable
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

December 6, 2013
Answer: 
Hello,
Thank you for the inquiry. The cameras receive power from the cable connected to the DVR.
Best Regards,
Defender Support
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
2 3 »
  • 2016-06-28 T15:16:20.482-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_203267390, prod, sort_default
2 3 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 536ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

CUSTOMER REVIEWS

  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 287ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
  • bvseo-msg: The resource to the URL or file is currently unavailable.;