The product you chose is discontinued, but we found something similar you might like.
8-Channel 1TB DVR with (8) 600TVL SVAT Series Cameras
  • Defender
  • Model 21378
  • Internet #206451003
  • Store SO SKU #

8-Channel 1TB DVR with (8) 600TVL SVAT Series Cameras

Discontinued Model:

Model # 21025

Internet #203267390

Defender 8-Channel 500GB Hard Drive Surveillance System with (8) 600 TVL Cameras
0871363020574

Discontinued Defender

8-Channel 500GB Hard Drive Surveillance System with (8) 600 TVL Cameras

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Trust Defender to make thieves and vandals think twice about approaching your property. Defender systems function just like a computer, with a mouse for pointing and clicking and an intuitive icon-based menu for easy set up and use. View anytime, anywhere with remote viewing via internet, smartphone, and tablet and receive email alerts, with photo, when motion is detected on your property. Our 1 Step Remote Viewing software application auto-networks your DVR in less than 5 minutes, available as a free download for PC and Mac. Record over 2 years’ worth of footage on the included 500GB hard drive. Eight all-weather cameras deliver clear, ultra hi-res video with 600TVL for maximum surveillance indoors and outdoors. 36IR LEDs allow for 100 ft. of automatic night vision. Anti-vandal mount ensures cameras cannot be tampered with and 65 ft. of cable allows for greater flexibility in mounting around your home or business. Don’t give thieves a chance. Stop them with Defender.

  • 600TVL Ultra Hi-Res cameras provide crisp and detailed video
  • Each camera comes with 65 ft. of cable allowing for greater flexibility in mounting around your home or business
  • 36IR LEDs for up to 100 ft. automatic night vision
  • View your camera footage from anywhere in the world from a PC or Smartphone, Compatible with Internet Explorer, iPhone, BlackBerry, Android, Windows Mobile, Symbian, iPad and most major tablets
  • Ultra-Resolution 600TVL cameras give a clear and detailed picture
  • Record up to 2 years of footage onto the included 500GB hard drive
  • H.264 compression maximizes your recording time while keep high-quality imagery
  • Email alerts with photo will notify you of activity or video loss
  • Customize your recording schedule with motion activated recording
  • Easy installation (mounting and wiring included)
  • Heavy duty vandal resistant mount
  • Lifetime live customer support can be reached by phone, email or chat in English, Spanish and French
  • Automatic remote viewing setup, our 1 Step Remote Viewing software application auto-networks your DVR in less than 5 minutes. Simply input your DVR?s IP address (found in the menu) into the connection program on your computer, click ?Sync to Router?, and 1 Step will automatically do the rest, This software is available as a free download for PC and Mac. Defender offers you the convenience of mobile viewing without any complicated instructions or hassle

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

27 Questions87 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

8-Channel 500GB Hard Drive Surveillance System with (8) 600 TVL Cameras
8-Channel 500GB Hard Drive Surveillance System with (8) 600 TVL Cameras

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
 
6 answers

Can you use more cable than the 65 ft. they come with?

This question is from 8-Channel 500GB Hard Drive Surveillance System with (8) 600 TVL Cameras
Asked by
Trona CA.
Read all my Q&A
May 29, 2014
Are you limited to that length of cable? What size is the cable if we need to buy more for installarion purposes?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (6)

Asked by
Columbus ,GA
Read all my Q&A
February 22, 2015
Answer: 
Sure it just takes connector to join the cables. Easy to find
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Oklahoma
Read all my Q&A
January 20, 2015
Answer: 
They offer to sell you additional cabling if you need it. I've not investigated.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Naugatuck, CT
Read all my Q&A
August 26, 2014
Answer: 
Yes, you can purchase extra wires for them if you need the extra wires. The picture does lose some quality but it's not something you'll really notice.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Home Improvement Profile: Professional
May 30, 2014
Answer: 
Hello
Thank you for your inquiry. You can purchase additional extension cables in 65 and 130 foot lengths. The model numbers are as followed 21007, 21008 and 21009. We guarantee camera signal up to 195 feet. Please note that the extension cables must be installed in the following order
DVR -> Extension Cable -> Camera Cable -> Camera.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Bellevue, WA
Read all my Q&A
May 30, 2014
Answer: 
You can buy longer cables from Defender and/or cable extensions. I ordered 65 foot cable extensions giving me a total of 130 feet of total cable run for the power and the video for 3 of my cameras.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Belleville wis
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 29, 2014
Answer: 
no you can add more cables in either 65 ft or 130 ft sections i think 65 ft are like 12 bucks they just connect together . cables are video and power together. they are available online just type in defender cables on home depot web site
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
 
5 answers

How hard is the system to connect it to the smart phone?

This question is from 8-Channel 500GB Hard Drive Surveillance System with (8) 600 TVL Cameras
Asked by
El paso
Read all my Q&A
April 23, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (5)

Asked by
Naugatuck, CT
Read all my Q&A
August 26, 2014
Answer: 
It's not hard at all. I actually hooked it to within 10 minutes. You turn the system on. Connect it to your cable, WiFi, etc. Then you'll get an IP address in your settings screen for your system. Go to the App Store for iPhones or Android Store for Androids, download an App called ASee (there's a few other apps that can be used but it seems like this one is the most compatible), and type in your IP Read More
It's not hard at all. I actually hooked it to within 10 minutes. You turn the system on. Connect it to your cable, WiFi, etc. Then you'll get an IP address in your settings screen for your system. Go to the App Store for iPhones or Android Store for Androids, download an App called ASee (there's a few other apps that can be used but it seems like this one is the most compatible), and type in your IP settings. You'll be viewing your cameras in seconds. Hopes this helps. Read Less
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Bellevue, WA
Read all my Q&A
May 30, 2014
Answer: 
It was pretty easy to get mobile software for both iPhone and Android that worked with the system. You just have to make sure you open the correct ports on your router in order for the remote connection to work.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1

Asked by
Belleville wis
Read all my Q&A
May 15, 2014
Answer: 
very easy instructions on that are very good just have to download an apt called Asee
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Naugatuck, CT
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 14, 2014
Answer: 
Depends if you're running Windows or Mac at home. You have to go through a process called "port forwarding" which from my understanding basically means your router at home's IP address will be forwarded to your smart phone or tablet. Having had this for a few days and seeing the instructions for smart phone and tablet viewing, the Windows instructions look much easier than a Mac's. Once you've done the Read More
Depends if you're running Windows or Mac at home. You have to go through a process called "port forwarding" which from my understanding basically means your router at home's IP address will be forwarded to your smart phone or tablet. Having had this for a few days and seeing the instructions for smart phone and tablet viewing, the Windows instructions look much easier than a Mac's. Once you've done the Port Forwarding, you can then download an App from iTunes and you'll be ready to rock. I'm actually talking to them tonight about setting mine up using a Mac and will let you know how it goes. There's always picking up the phone and talking to them directly which for me, eliminates hours of trying to figure it out myself lol. Read Less
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

April 24, 2014
Answer: 
The system can be connected to a Smart Phone using an application called Asee.
Defender Support
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
 
5 answers

OK, so after 2-4 weeks recording time the disc is full. What do I need to do then?

This question is from 8-Channel 500GB Hard Drive Surveillance System with (8) 600 TVL Cameras
Asked by
Windham, CT
Read all my Q&A
January 13, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (5)

Asked by
Naugatuck, CT
Read all my Q&A
August 26, 2014
Answer: 
Nothing at all unless you want the old footage. The system automatically clears old footage and replaces it with new one. If you don't need any of the old footage, you do not need to do anything. If you do, you'll prob want to look at the instruction manual but I'm pretty sure you can connect a USB or Flash Drive and save it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Belleville wis
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 15, 2014
Answer: 
you can run it thru a network computer and hook up external hard drive to computer or you can just loop it and it will record over oldest first. I have a 3 terabite hard drive on mine records for 2 months or more you can not hook hard drive to system it has to go thru network computer see my post on review for instructions customer service is no help in this matter
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

April 13, 2014
Answer: 
With the default set up the disk will auto overwrite after its full that is it will erare the recordings from the beginning and continue. See attached picture
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Spokane Wa.
Read all my Q&A
January 30, 2014
Answer: 
it will record over to of old recording
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

January 13, 2014
Answer: 
Hello,
Your DVR sends an alert when your memory space is full so that you can choose to overwrite old video or stop the unit from recording. The built-in USB port gives you the option of backing up and transferring your video footage with a USB flash drive or external USB hard drive.
Best Regards,
Defender Support
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
 
5 answers

are cameras powered thru dvr cable or does each camera need power at point of mount?

This question is from 8-Channel 500GB Hard Drive Surveillance System with (8) 600 TVL Cameras
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
December 6, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (5)

Asked by
Belleville wis
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 15, 2014
Answer: 
power goes thru cable back to unit
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

April 13, 2014
Answer: 
Unless you have a separate prewired home already, the included cable will work for the power source where the split pig tails at the end of the wire connect to a power source.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

December 27, 2013
Answer: 
These cameras get power through the supplied cables (cable carries both video and power). There is a small power supply that is normally located where the DVR is located.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
December 17, 2013
Answer: 
Through the cable
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

December 6, 2013
Answer: 
Hello,
Thank you for the inquiry. The cameras receive power from the cable connected to the DVR.
Best Regards,
Defender Support
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
2 3 »
  • 2016-10-30 T22:43:43.117-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_203267390, prod, sort_default
2 3 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 64ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 65 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by The Defender has already paid for itself! Easy to use with the mouse. The cameras have night vision that shows clear as day! January 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very good quality recording system I love this new system. The cameras seem to pick up everything. There's night vision, motion detection, and 8 cameras. It's a little struggle setting up the networking if you want to use it on your phone or laptop. There are plenty of guides to help you. August 3, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Night Vision & Great Product I purchased this camera system to protect and record anyone that would try to break in or do any property damage the piece of mind that this system gives me is priceless. Easy install and hookup. I would recommend plus a great value. October 31, 2012
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by great when it works I ordered this system around dec 2012 and installed in march 2013. I was impressed with the video quality of the system. Setup for internet and router was a snap thanks to programs and info found on the defender website.One camera was broken, but it was extra for me so it wasn't worth a return. Within a few weeks my hard drive disappeared form the system. I sent an rma request and issued no problems. Unit was returned in about 2-3 weeks with no repairs made. They said they couldn't duplicate it, so they checked the connections and sent back with promise of a replacement advanced to me in the event of another failure. Two weeks after reinstall the problem showed back up, I contacted customer service and they quickly provided an rma and a free shipping label, but conveniently forgot about the advance replacement. When I asked after a week and a half I was told I have to give them my credit card up front, I asked why as they were the ones who failed to repair it the first time. So now the system is down again for 2-3 weeks. In summary, I have had about 30 days run time in a system that has been installed for 3 months. June 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very easy installation. Setup could be made easier. Had to figure that out on my own. Overall, I am impressed by this product. It does what its advertized to do. 600 TVL cameras are excellent. Would love to have even higher resolution cameras. A printed manual would be nice. October 9, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Has very good night vision. Set up was easy and in one day I had everything working! I did have one camera not working & customer service was very helpful to resolve the problem. January 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Works exactly as specified - easy to install - camera's have an excellent picture June 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Pleased I bought this a month and a half ago. I set up four of the cameras in about 4 hours, and I was taking my time.  I am pretty pleased with the brightness and clarity of the cameras in the daytime.  It looks very good at night too.   I'm pretty happy with the options with the DVR and all of the settings you can change. I have been so busy lately, I haven't had time to connect it to my network and install the android app. (I should, after the holidays and hunting season). The only thing you really need is a monitor to go with this system; it comes with everything else - which surprised me (mouse and remote).  Also, for my setup, the 65 foot cabling was perfect; I didn't need to add any extra. December 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by AWESOME This is an awesome product.  I was looking for a DIY home security system.  The installation was a breeze and the price was perfect..  What really impressed me was the color resolution during the day and splendid "night vision" at night.  When I first performed a "test" of the night vision to see what it would look like, I placed one camera in a pitch dark room.  I looked at the feed and felt there had to be a light on or something...NADA!! no light but AWESOME video feed in pitch black darkness....I was SOLD and would highly recommend!!!  Also, customer service is excellent.  Had a small issue setting up default features on DVR.  Customer support responded same day and resolved the issue in a few hours.... June 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by perfect for home I bought the cameras because I like to be able to watch my pets when im not home and also its nice to be able to keep an eye on the whole house from my cell phone. it was very easy to install and work and also i needed some support and the people from defender were fast to fix the problem and no cost out of my pocket so will recommend to anyone looking November 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great support I bought the defender 8 camera system from Home Depot, Good price, Installed 3 cameras so far and they are working good. I had difficulty with the network set-up, very confusing. The instructions from the website need some fixing. I contacted customer support and a gentleman named Michel called me back the next day and was very helpful and informative. He was able to adjust my network issues and gave me some instruction on the software. I will be installing the remaining cameras and will submit a final review. December 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great System I bought this system about a month ago and I love it. I had another Defeder system with less tvl and it was great until I needed it and I realized I need better night vision after my neighbors car was broken into. I bought this system and the color and night vision is great. The only problem I have is one camera shuts down. I power it down and give it a tap and it comes back but the next day it shuts down again. Anyone have advice on what this could be.Otherwise it's great.   October 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Extremely easy to install I purchased this system approximately 4 weeks ago. I had an issue with 1 camera that wasn't functioning properly. The customer service was top notch and the replacement camera arrived in 6 days. It was difficult downloading the app to my phone, but again customer service walked me right thru it. My friend recommended that I use the Defender system and he was absolutely right. Excellent product and fantastic customer support. November 19, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Value! I had been experiencing small thefts at my ministorage units and as soon as I installed my Defender system, I was able to identify the thief. I could identify the vehicle, and his tattoos and had him arrested! It was the first time of many that anything was resolved. So I ordered a second set and installed it at my home. Will get a third one as soon as I have the extra cash. I am very pleased with the value and results! March 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by No Tech Skills Required For Installation Bought this system after a recommendation from a relative and several incidents in my neighborhood.  Easy and straight forward set up.  Everything worked out of the box.  Installation of cameras can be easy or hard depending on your camera locations and routing of wires to the DVR.  Hardware is sturdy.  Instructions and support are more than adequate.  Would recommend to any do-it-yourselfer.         April 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Camera System This defender home camera system is worth the money you pay for it. It helps you keep a piece of mind whenever you’re not home. It also helps my wife feel a lot more safe begin home along. I would recommend this system. April 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT SYSTEM! GREAT TECH SUPPORT! I am extremely pleased with my system. Great resolution, great even in nightvision mode (especially in areas of my house that are totally black). I had trouble viewing my feeds on my Mac laptop and smartphone, but, I spoke to an AMAZING tech named Michel who worked at my router settings, etc. until he got it all working. THANKS!!!! December 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Security I bought my 21031 camera system a month ago. It was very easy to install and setup, just took 4 hours. The overall picture quality is very good,both in daytime and night time. It is a great security feature. April 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Value! It sounded too good to be true, but it wasn't. Everything you need is in the package, and it works well, although mounting the cameras can be a challenge in some locations. One camera was defective but was replaced with no fuss. Customer Service is excellent. February 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Connect to phone I really recommend this product. I absolutely Love it! Also I am very happy with the costumer service ! Micheal was on the phone with me for hours helping me connect the cameras to my phone! thank you. March 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice system I bought this system back in April of 2013 and it really works well. I have found the video to be quite clear and the night vision works well. It is fairly easy to hook up and can be done in a few hours. Really like the controls of the DVR and it can record in many different resolutions. Definitely worth the purchase! August 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by I am able to see my camera on my phone I bought my dvr a month ago after i had my tv stolen from me.I got a defender sytem at sam club and set it up with michal which was very helpfull and knowledgeable w working out the bugs..its nice to be able to see ur house while ur gone.. December 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by DEFENDER 21032 BOUGHT 21031 SYSTEM TO REPLACE MY SENTINAL2 THAT IS GOING ON 6 1/2 YRS OKD NOW LOST TWO CAMREAS FIRST ON 1 YR AGO BY LIGHTING STRIKING NEAR BY TREE AND THE SECOND ONE 2 MONTHS AGO WHICH TOLD ME IT TIME TO UPDATE MY CAMREA SYSTEM. AM ONE SATISFED CUSTOMER December 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I bought this surveillance system about 1 month. I am very satisfied because I get high quality vision day and night, and I can see clearly everything up to 100 ft as advertised August 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice features and easy to set up Bought this from Sam's Club and like that it comes with 8 cameras.  System worked perfectly out of the box and I have all 8 cameras installed working.  (for me the difficulty was running the wires in my drop ceiling, but I had no problems with the set up on the system.)  I strongly suggest using the one step programming offered to set up your router - makes the networking much faster and you don't have to be a geek to make it work.   I really love that I can check the system from anywhere and find that the smartphone connection is as clear as on the monitor connected directly to the unit.   My only "problem" is that because I have the system installed inside looking through my windows, I have to set quite a sharp angle on the cameras to avoid reflection of the LED's at night.  Perhaps I can install the cameras outside in the spring to overcome this issue.  Also the cameras are so sensitive at night they seem to focus on rain drops.  Again maybe installing outside and with a better angle will solve this problem.  During the day the image is amazingly sharp.  Over all I am super happy with the system and for the price this is a fantastic system. December 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Easy to operate. Easy to install Probably the best system on the market for the money. Easy to install, easy to setup and even easier to operate. Picture quality is clear day and night. Quality of the cameras and system is a 10. August 9, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by first rain half the cameras died Bought them had professional install.  Everything worked fine until the first rain.. then half the cameras quit working. August 22, 2013
  • 2016-10-30 T13:11:26.623-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_65, tr_65
  • loc_en_US, sid_203267390, prod, sort_default
<< 2 3
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 107ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT