The product you chose is discontinued, but we found something similar you might like.
8-Channel 1TB DVR with (8) 600TVL SVAT Series Cameras
  • Defender
  • Model 21378
  • Internet #206451003
  • Store SO SKU #

8-Channel 1TB DVR with (8) 600TVL SVAT Series Cameras

Discontinued Model:

Model # 21025

Internet #203267390

Defender 8-Channel 500GB Hard Drive Surveillance System with (8) 600 TVL Cameras
0871363020574

Discontinued Defender

8-Channel 500GB Hard Drive Surveillance System with (8) 600 TVL Cameras

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Trust Defender to make thieves and vandals think twice about approaching your property. Defender systems function just like a computer, with a mouse for pointing and clicking and an intuitive icon-based menu for easy set up and use. View anytime, anywhere with remote viewing via internet, smartphone, and tablet and receive email alerts, with photo, when motion is detected on your property. Our 1 Step Remote Viewing software application auto-networks your DVR in less than 5 minutes, available as a free download for PC and Mac. Record over 2 years’ worth of footage on the included 500GB hard drive. Eight all-weather cameras deliver clear, ultra hi-res video with 600TVL for maximum surveillance indoors and outdoors. 36IR LEDs allow for 100 ft. of automatic night vision. Anti-vandal mount ensures cameras cannot be tampered with and 65 ft. of cable allows for greater flexibility in mounting around your home or business. Don’t give thieves a chance. Stop them with Defender.

  • 600TVL Ultra Hi-Res cameras provide crisp and detailed video
  • Each camera comes with 65 ft. of cable allowing for greater flexibility in mounting around your home or business
  • 36IR LEDs for up to 100 ft. automatic night vision
  • View your camera footage from anywhere in the world from a PC or Smartphone, Compatible with Internet Explorer, iPhone, BlackBerry, Android, Windows Mobile, Symbian, iPad and most major tablets
  • Ultra-Resolution 600TVL cameras give a clear and detailed picture
  • Record up to 2 years of footage onto the included 500GB hard drive
  • H.264 compression maximizes your recording time while keep high-quality imagery
  • Email alerts with photo will notify you of activity or video loss
  • Customize your recording schedule with motion activated recording
  • Easy installation (mounting and wiring included)
  • Heavy duty vandal resistant mount
  • Lifetime live customer support can be reached by phone, email or chat in English, Spanish and French
  • Automatic remote viewing setup, our 1 Step Remote Viewing software application auto-networks your DVR in less than 5 minutes. Simply input your DVR?s IP address (found in the menu) into the connection program on your computer, click ?Sync to Router?, and 1 Step will automatically do the rest, This software is available as a free download for PC and Mac. Defender offers you the convenience of mobile viewing without any complicated instructions or hassle

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

Can you use more cable than the 65 ft. they come with?

Are you limited to that length of cable? What size is the cable if we need to buy more for installarion purposes?
Asked by: Sully
Sure it just takes connector to join the cables. Easy to find
Answered by: rickinga
Date published: 2015-09-20

How hard is the system to connect it to the smart phone?

Asked by: 9741
It's not hard at all. I actually hooked it to within 10 minutes. You turn the system on. Connect it to your cable, WiFi, etc. Then you'll get an IP address in your settings screen for your system. Go to the App Store for iPhones or Android Store for Androids, download an App called ASee (there's a few other apps that can be used but it seems like this one is the most compatible), and type in your IP settings. You'll be viewing your cameras in seconds. Hopes this helps.
Answered by: MannyRookieDYIer
Date published: 2015-11-06

OK, so after 2-4 weeks recording time the disc is full. What do I need to do then?

Asked by: Buster
Nothing at all unless you want the old footage. The system automatically clears old footage and replaces it with new one. If you don't need any of the old footage, you do not need to do anything. If you do, you'll prob want to look at the instruction manual but I'm pretty sure you can connect a USB or Flash Drive and save it.
Answered by: MannyRookieDYIer
Date published: 2015-11-06

are cameras powered thru dvr cable or does each camera need power at point of mount?

Asked by: luvycoyote
power goes thru cable back to unit
Answered by: James
Date published: 2015-11-06
  • y_2017, m_3, d_24, h_19CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_27
  • loc_, sid_203267390, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 25ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

8-Channel 500GB Hard Drive Surveillance System with (8) 600 TVL Cameras is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 84.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does what I wanted it for and more I purchased this unit online on Black Friday. I received the unit about a week later and had it up and running days later. Very easy to hook up and use. Not being super computer literate it took some minor head scratching to get the images on my Android phone and computer at work but was really easy once I figured it out. The picture quality of the cameras are very good both day and night. People at work that have seen the Images are amazed at the picture quality. All in all I am very pleased with the unit and feel that it is an excellent value. I will be adding more cameras as time goes on.
Date published: 2014-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic system, top notch service and support! This system was the perfect upgrade to my older DVR system! The quality of the cameras is great and the system itself very easy to operate. The best thing about my purchase is the post sales support I received to set up my networking and scheduling. DVR tech Michel and the networking tech I spoke to (I did not get her name) each walked me through various aspects of setup, from start to finish. They were very pleasant and knowledgeable about the system and application, top notch! It was very fast getting a human on the phone as well. I highly recommend going Defender!
Date published: 2014-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not so easy setup, but !! This is my second defender and it was just a tad more difficult then my first one. So, after losing my hair with head scratching, I called a service tech using the number supplied and Michel (service tech) showed extreme patience and candor in getting me on the right path. He actually had to take over my computor to straighten out my router. Never could have done it myself. I still have a few bugs to work out, but I know I can always get their support if I need it. In the end, I am very satisfied with the unit as a whole. Am considering another one for my office.
Date published: 2014-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So simple to use and set up I purchased this unit for my store, I ordered it and received it and had it up and running in no time, and let me tell you when it comes to stuff like this I'm totally lost, I recommend this unit to all, its so simple and the customer service if great, if you have a problem with anything within the warranty term they will work with you and send you what you need, I cant say anything else except buy it and you will not be sorry for it. and the customer service is great.
Date published: 2014-10-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect System I have been looking for a security system for a year but couldn't make up my mind on one. I am so glad I purchased this one. I thought the 600 line cameras were the best thing about it until I got to operating the DVR. The software on the DVR is amazing. The settings let you control all aspects of the cameras, networking and recording. You will need to print the manual. While initial setup is easy and fast, to get the best results, you will need "manual in hand". I love this system. Watching your home cameras from your cell phone anywhere, anytime is fantastic.
Date published: 2014-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good kit for DIY'er Purchased two weeks ago.  Easy to set up physically for me; however, I've run cable using fish tape before.  Cameras were surprisingly well constructed (for price) and I'm extremely happy with performance.  Setting up the system took some time, but that was because there are many features to tinker with.....and of course I had to mess with all of them.  I have my setup using a static IP, with port forwarding, and DDNS setup on the router (not DVR).  Skip the Swann and Zmodo and go with Defender.  Although use the Swann HD app, there's no ads and it works.
Date published: 2014-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Satisfied First experience installing a security camera system, and we are very pleased. Whose dogs are messing in the church yard? Now we can end the disputes. No need to put an alarm on our air-conditioning unit. Let them try to take apart the cage - we got them on film! Michel in the networking department was patient and thorough and walked through step-by-step to help us when we weren't getting the footage to show on our phones. He went above and beyond. I wish the company where I work put that much care into customer service. Thanks.
Date published: 2014-06-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Our Second Defender System This is our second Defender system. First was less than a year ago and now this because of a home break-in. During the break in the hard drive was taken and some cameras damaged so going to try another. We are happy with the way it works and should have had the remote viewing set up so we would have had a photo of the thieves sent to our phone. So be sure you set up the remote viewing. We are trying to set that up now but Defender website has been down for a few days. Not sure what the problem is there. We will combine this system with a monitored security system for better protection. The cameras are great to be able to see what is going on around your home day and night. Just remember the hard drive can be taken so make sure you have your photos backed up. Overall we are happy with the system and have learned some hard lessons from the break-in of our home.
Date published: 2014-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect for home I bought the cameras because I like to be able to watch my pets when im not home and also its nice to be able to keep an eye on the whole house from my cell phone. it was very easy to install and work and also i needed some support and the people from defender were fast to fix the problem and no cost out of my pocket so will recommend to anyone looking
Date published: 2014-11-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great support I bought the defender 8 camera system from Home Depot, Good price, Installed 3 cameras so far and they are working good. I had difficulty with the network set-up, very confusing. The instructions from the website need some fixing. I contacted customer support and a gentleman named Michel called me back the next day and was very helpful and informative. He was able to adjust my network issues and gave me some instruction on the software. I will be installing the remaining cameras and will submit a final review.
Date published: 2013-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Video Survelliance System Great clarity. Easy installation. EVERYTHING you need is in the box. And the Smart Phone app is great! The cameras offer excellent clarity. Eight cameras allowed me to cover all exterior spots and I had cameras to put INSIDE the house too! These are quality cameras and the hard drive covers tons of recording. Love it!!
Date published: 2015-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful product and service I had bought this product and can say nothing but wonderful things about the quality of the product and the support. I had a small problem with one the camera and the staff at Defender were right on top of things trying to resolve the issue quickly and to my complete satisfaction. It is a good feeling knowing a company truly stands behind there product and tries to do anything they can to make sure the consumer is taking care of. Thank you.
Date published: 2014-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great System I bought this system about a month ago and I love it. I had another Defeder system with less tvl and it was great until I needed it and I realized I need better night vision after my neighbors car was broken into. I bought this system and the color and night vision is great. The only problem I have is one camera shuts down. I power it down and give it a tap and it comes back but the next day it shuts down again. Anyone have advice on what this could be.Otherwise it's great.  
Date published: 2013-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better Than Wireless It may take awhile to install but if you are changing from wireless, the images are great. No wifi interference is great. And terrific night vision. Very very clear.
Date published: 2015-01-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great features, easy to install, I've had this system for a while. This was a great purchase, the only fault that I've had a problem with is the cast aluminum mounting hardware is slightly fragile.
Date published: 2014-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great DIY setup So far, an excellent product. Cameras provide 1024x768 resolution. Daytime has excellent range - details good at 200+ feet. Night is good, I'm not sure of the distance for viewing facial details - I just haven't measured it yet. Setup was easy without networking. Networking is a bit of a challenge. I don't have that worked out completely. For a computer, it uses IE with ActiveX - a security liability. It supports MAC, but I don't have one to report. Support for an Android device seems OK. I've not had the chance to setup access outside my network so I can't comment on their process/documentation. Cables are proprietary (at least I think). Each cable has 2 connectors on each end - a BNC for video and a power cable. They are about 65 feet long and provide good length/coverage when running through the attic. Cameras must wall mount and that is an issue. There are times when it would be nice to ceiling mount. Mounting would be less challenging if an option was available to have software rotate or invert the picture existed. For me, 8 cameras is more than I need, but 4 was the bare minimum I needed. With 8, I have spares. The cost to replace one camera almost made up the difference between a 4 camera and 8 camera setup.
Date published: 2015-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extremely easy to install I purchased this system approximately 4 weeks ago. I had an issue with 1 camera that wasn't functioning properly. The customer service was top notch and the replacement camera arrived in 6 days. It was difficult downloading the app to my phone, but again customer service walked me right thru it. My friend recommended that I use the Defender system and he was absolutely right. Excellent product and fantastic customer support.
Date published: 2013-11-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent Value! I had been experiencing small thefts at my ministorage units and as soon as I installed my Defender system, I was able to identify the thief. I could identify the vehicle, and his tattoos and had him arrested! It was the first time of many that anything was resolved. So I ordered a second set and installed it at my home. Will get a third one as soon as I have the extra cash. I am very pleased with the value and results!
Date published: 2014-03-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Setup an working quickly. Hardest part was running cabling, but I had help there. Once that's done it's a plug-in operation. All cameras working OK but one (I had the 8-camera option). Tech support helpful in resolving that problem. One tricky point was the template for drilling the camera mounting holes was not accurate. check that before you drill. I haven't tried networking or many of the setup options yet... just using the defaults.
Date published: 2014-03-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from No Tech Skills Required For Installation Bought this system after a recommendation from a relative and several incidents in my neighborhood.  Easy and straight forward set up.  Everything worked out of the box.  Installation of cameras can be easy or hard depending on your camera locations and routing of wires to the DVR.  Hardware is sturdy.  Instructions and support are more than adequate.  Would recommend to any do-it-yourselfer.        
Date published: 2014-04-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good system I have only had the system for a couple of days, but it does exactly what it is supposed to do.  The cameras work in almost total darkness for a good distance.  The only negative is that it could come with longer cables.  I will have to buy extenders.
Date published: 2014-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quickness and ease of setup is the key! I purchased this system approximately three weeks ago and was able to set it up, with camera installation, in approximately three hours. Everything except the monitor, which my television does like a pro, is included in this kit.
Date published: 2014-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Camera System This defender home camera system is worth the money you pay for it. It helps you keep a piece of mind whenever you’re not home. It also helps my wife feel a lot more safe begin home along. I would recommend this system.
Date published: 2014-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great pictures they come out perfectly clear this is something you should probably keep a secret it is so perfect I've never had one that works as good as this one.support was actually great I gave up and Michle wouldn't let me give up he made me stay on until I got it to work perfect. I've owned other camera's and could never get it to work right. Support alone is worth, every Penny I spent.
Date published: 2014-02-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy Set Up! I bought this about 2 weeks ago to use for my company's shop. A mechanic will be storing his tools in this shop so we wanted to be as safe as possible. The cameras have a great picture and the set up was pretty easy!
Date published: 2014-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding Security Cameras Excellent! Cameras are clear and night vision is awesome. This system is affordable as well as reliable. Easy to use-virtually plug and play. Great job Defender.... Customer support is rated A+.  
Date published: 2014-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT SYSTEM! GREAT TECH SUPPORT! I am extremely pleased with my system. Great resolution, great even in nightvision mode (especially in areas of my house that are totally black). I had trouble viewing my feeds on my Mac laptop and smartphone, but, I spoke to an AMAZING tech named Michel who worked at my router settings, etc. until he got it all working. THANKS!!!!
Date published: 2013-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value! It sounded too good to be true, but it wasn't. Everything you need is in the package, and it works well, although mounting the cameras can be a challenge in some locations. One camera was defective but was replaced with no fuss. Customer Service is excellent.
Date published: 2014-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from DEFENDER 21032 BOUGHT 21031 SYSTEM TO REPLACE MY SENTINAL2 THAT IS GOING ON 6 1/2 YRS OKD NOW LOST TWO CAMREAS FIRST ON 1 YR AGO BY LIGHTING STRIKING NEAR BY TREE AND THE SECOND ONE 2 MONTHS AGO WHICH TOLD ME IT TIME TO UPDATE MY CAMREA SYSTEM. AM ONE SATISFED CUSTOMER
Date published: 2013-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice system I bought this system back in April of 2013 and it really works well. I have found the video to be quite clear and the night vision works well. It is fairly easy to hook up and can be done in a few hours. Really like the controls of the DVR and it can record in many different resolutions. Definitely worth the purchase!
Date published: 2013-08-30
  • y_2017, m_3, d_26, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_84
  • loc_, sid_203267390, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 106ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT