Message to Our Customers
Discontinued

Dimplex

Model # DCH4831L

Internet # 203568956

4800-Watt Forced Air Electric Portable Construction Heater

This item has been discontinued.
The Home Depot no longer carries this specific product.

$89.00 /each

  • High quality, durable stainless steel tubular element
  • High heat cut-out protection for safety
  • Compact and portable design
Loading...

PRODUCT OVERVIEW

Model # DCH4831L

Internet # 203568956

The Dimplex heavy duty portable construction heater provides maximum durability for work site conditions where temporary heat is required. 160 CFM offers quiet running operation. This 4800-Watt electric heater also offers thermal overheat protection for complete safety. The 6 ft. cord and plug stores around the handle for easy storage and transportation to and from workshops, construction sites and maintenance jobs.

  • Running lights indicate when the unit is operating if thermal cut-out is engaged
  • 6 ft. cord stores around the handle
  • Controls - double pole thermostat is built-in temperature range of 7-25 Celsius (45-77 Fahrenheit)
  • Portable heat for workshops, garages, construction sites and home construction spaces
  • Home Depot Protection Plan:

    Home Depot Protection Plan

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

SPECIFICATIONS

Dimensions
Cord Length (in.) 
72 
Product Depth (in.) 
7.5 
Product Height (in.) 
11.75 
Product Width (in.) 
Details
Amperage (amps) 
20 
Area Heated (Sq. Ft.) 
400 
Color 
Almond 
Color Family 
Browns / Tans 
Heater Type 
Fan Heaters 
Heating Product Type 
Electric Portable Heater 
Heating Technology Type 
Convection 
Indoor/Outdoor 
Indoor 
Material 
Metal 
Portable Heater Features 
Automatic Shutoff,Thermostat 
Power/Fuel Type 
Electric 
Product Weight (lb.) 
9.7 lb 
Returnable 
90-Day 
Voltage (volts) 
240 
Wattage (watts) 
4800 
Warranty / Certifications
Certifications and Listings 
1-UL Listed,CSA Listed 
Manufacturer Warranty 
1 Year limited warranty 

CUSTOMER REVIEWS

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 29 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great little heater for construction projects -- with a 220v outlet We are working on a major remodel for a home in Wareham, MA. The project schedule slipped (as always!) and the old furnace in the basement was inoperable. Frozen pipes and damage to building products became an issue, not to mention trying to make our team work inside a refrigerator! With months of work remaining through the winter, a temporary propane / fuel fired heater did not make sense. An electric option with a thermostat was best. I reviewed a number of products and picked the Dimplex 4800 watt unit from Home Depot. It arrived on schedule, just before the first big freeze. I was surprised by the small size of the heater -- but when I plugged it in, wow! We put it in the basement and it kept the basement warm (and the upper floor above freezing). Our contractor slept in the basement one night and said it was "toasty" and comfortable. The heater does require a 220v outlet -- which is essential to provide significant heat. If the home does not have one, it should be quick and cheap to install; ours cost $50. This gives me an opportunity to recommend another Home Depot product: foam board insulation. This house had old fiberglass bats in some walls, and no insulation in others. We filled all of the stud bays with foam board and sealed the edges with cans of spray foam -- all from Home Depot. This created a tight air barrier, plus 4" of insulation. We also 'wrapped' the house with 2" of XPS on the outside. The result: that little heater now keeps the entire house warm when it is 20 degrees outside! 4800 watts = 16K BTUs, so this is a great real-world example of the effectiveness of good insulation! The homeowner will be very happy with the heating and AC bills. December 10, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by To Giametti - (4) 1500w heaters are NOT the same as one 6000w On paper, it may seem like (4) 1,500w heaters are equal to a 6,000w heater, but not so at the panel, or on the utility bill. Firstly, 1,500w units run on 115V and pull 12 amps, which will warm the wires with steady use, translating to wasted energy. Also, you will need (4) circuits to power them, and since these 4 circuits may not be evenly distributed on your panel, the load won't be balanced on the two legs. The 6,000w unit runs at 230v, and when voltage is doubled, current is halved, so wires run cooler, meaning less wasted energy. The 230v version also presents itself as a balanced load on your service panel, so it runs better, and so does everything else. Just an FYI. January 24, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by performs better than expected We purchased this to heat our 2 stall garage primarily to prevent the pipes above from freezing and bursting again. Pipes were wrapped with heating cables and insulation but it still wasn't enough when it hits 22 below. However with this temperature controlled heater, we know that will never happen again...thank you for the piece of mind this gives us March 10, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by This little thing has some power! I was expecting the unit to be bigger, but was very impressed when I turned it on. I have the average un-insulated two car garage and it went from about 55 degrees to around 70 degrees in about two hours. The only reason I didn't give this product 5 stars was because the 220 plug is very inconvenient. I had to go to Home Depot and buy a female 220 outlet + 10' of 10ga wire + a box and plate for the 220 outlet + a male 4 prong 250 plug = about $50. I had to run an extension cord from the laundry room dry outlet to the garage. February 3, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Value The unit rattles when first starting up cold otherwise I would have given it 5 stars. Could also use a fan delay for cool down. Overall a very good heater. February 25, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by the best electric heater great product to use every day all day long must have February 25, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Puts out a lot of heat for such a small unit Puts out a lot of heat but is somewhat noisy. I would have liked if the connector plug type were identified so I could buy it before I got it. February 17, 2015
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not very good, even for the money I got this unit a year ago to replace a unit with a broken blower fan. From the first, the temperature cut-out circuit only kept the heater working half the time. Finally, just after warranty lapsed the heating element failed. No sense trying to repair this one, as it would cost nearly as much as a new heater. I replaced it with a Dr. Heater 5600W unit, which so far, is much better. It doesn't shut down intermittently from the cut-off, and throws heat further with its fan. Every electric heater converts electricity into heat, and gets the same BTUs from each KW. When comparing electric heaters, 4 1500W space heaters will do the same job as 1 6000W commercial unit, regardless of cost. So when comparing electric space heaters, It's just durability and other features that you need to compare. January 17, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good heater for us I brought this heater for the purpose of providing safe temporary heat in our garage when I have projects. We are still in the 60s at this time of year when I tested it and it raised the temp in the garage to about 70 in fifteen min so I know it works. The garage where it will be used is attached to the house on two sides with an insulated door and I don't think that this heater will have any issues with maintaining the temperature. I also understand the limitations of 4800btus so if necessary I have a 30,000btu bullet heater to take the chill off quickly and then switch to electric. October 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great little heater This heater does a great job of heating up my workshop quickly and keeps it warm all day. The only downside is you have to get the 240 volt plug installed if you don't have one. January 27, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Heater Works great, Arrived ahead of time. Very satisfied, January 29, 2015
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Product work well Works well, noise level slightly high. When this unit shuts down the top gets very hot. It needs to have a fan delay. January 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good heater for the money Economic little heater. Puts out quite a bit of heat for such a small unit. I'm an electrical contractor and bought 2 for using on remodel jobs. Upon opening the box, I found that the heater had a 230V 30A plug. Not a big deal being a 30, it is just a configuration that no one uses around here (two horizontal prongs and a ground.) So to the Home Depot I went and purchased a 287-T. This enabled me to plug into a clothes dryer outlet. Plugged in, turned thermostat up, fan came on, started heating and a minute later bam, high limit opened. Got the other one out, cut the plug off and changed and worked beautifully. Called Dimplex and told them I had a bad high limit and they UPS'd me a new high limit. Very happy about my purchase, just thought that problem should have been caught before it was boxed up at the factory. Will probably buy a few more of these next winter. March 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by SIMPLE HEAT This is a lot of heat from a little unit. I had to change the plug to fit my needs and also made an adjustment to the heating coil so it would vibrate. (IT WAS VERY NOISE PRIOR TO THIS) But that was an easy fix and I raised my 800 sq ft shop temp by 10 degrees in 1 1/2 hrs. It would be nice if the fan ran after it reached temperature as it remains very hot, but other than that it works well. January 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very good I use it in a 12x24 shop, no fumes and a good temp. gain January 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by nice little heater nice quality heater for its small size. Heating coil rattles here and there but no big deal. Going to buy another so I can get big garage toasty when it is 10 degrees outside in Maine woods. December 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Works great at my construction site! This heater does the job very well. I was surprised at how small they are but don't let that fool you, they put out great heat. I bought 2 of them for my job site where temps are near zero. Put 1 in the basement other on main floor. They warmed the floors up to 50 making the work environment very workable. Highly recommended! March 4, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Ok, but a little loud. Purchase process left a little to be desired. I am adapting this portable construction heater to heat the top floor of my barn, which has an area of about 400 square feet. So far, the heater works adequately and seems to be of reasonably good quality. The price was fair and I appreciated the free shipping to the store. The main issue with the heater is that the fan is kind of loud and it may not work out in the long run, as we play music in this section of my barn and I am concerned that the fan noise will be obnoxious when we are between songs. The method of purchase left no opportunity to test the unit beforehand, so I had to take a chance and buy it to see if it was adequate. In reality, had this unit been displayed as operational at Home Depot, I would not have purchased it due to the fan noise. The only way for me to find out if it was going to work was to purchase it, bring it home, wire it up (at a cost of around $60 in supplies and 2 hours labor), and then test it. Even if I return it now, I am still stuck with the cost and effort of wiring it. Not an ideal situation. March 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by This item is exactly as described. This item is exactly as described. The transaction was easy & fast. March 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by This product so far has been as promised. It has a vibration or rattle that I can't pinpoint. Otherwise, it heats satisfactorily. February 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great little heaters, so far I am very pleased with them!!! Quiet, functional, great value, seems to be just what the doctor ordered for our clubhouse. December 31, 2013
  • 2015-06-27T14:47:41.356-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_29, tr_29
  • loc_en_US, sid_203568956, prod, sort_default
<<2

SHIPPING AND DELIVERY OPTIONS

Standard Shipping includes delivery by small parcel service. Processing time varies by product.


If product is eligible for shipping to AK, HI and US Territories additional transit time and remote surcharges may apply.