Model # DCH4831L

Internet #203568956

Dimplex 4800-Watt Forced Air Electric Portable Construction Heater
0781052053427

Dimplex

4800-Watt Forced Air Electric Portable Construction Heater

  • High quality, durable stainless steel tubular element
  • High heat cut-out protection for safety
  • Compact and portable design
$100.90 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

The Dimplex heavy duty portable construction heater provides maximum durability for work site conditions where temporary heat is required. 160 CFM offers quiet running operation. This 4800-Watt electric heater also offers thermal overheat protection for complete safety. The 6 ft. cord and plug stores around the handle for easy storage and transportation to and from workshops, construction sites and maintenance jobs.

  • Running lights indicate when the unit is operating if thermal cut-out is engaged
  • 6 ft. cord stores around the handle
  • Controls - double pole thermostat is built-in temperature range of 7-25°C (45-77°F)
  • Portable heat for workshops, garages, construction sites and home construction spaces

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

21 Questions77 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

4800-Watt Forced Air Electric Portable Construction Heater
4800-Watt Forced Air Electric Portable Construction Heater

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
 
11 answers

is this heater equipped with a 110 or 220 cord?

This question is from 4800-Watt Forced Air Electric Portable Construction Heater
Asked by
brooklyn,ny
Read all my Q&A
December 26, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (11)

Asked by
Paramus, NJ
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
February 27, 2015
Answer: 
The heater is 220 volt single phase. It come with a 220 plug that has 2 horizontal flat prongs over a round neutral prong. You can either have yourself or an electrician install an outlet for it can be wired directly into circuit box.
+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1

Asked by
eastern ct
Read all my Q&A
January 1, 2015
Answer: 
heater has a 220v 30amp plug, 20 amp 220v circuit will work. draws 11amps
-1point
2out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful3

Asked by
Cave Creek Arizona
Read all my Q&A
December 13, 2014
Answer: 
220
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
New Market, IN
Read all my Q&A
March 11, 2014
Answer: 
230 Volt 30 Amp circuit
+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1

Asked by
New Jersey, USA
Read all my Q&A
March 4, 2014
Answer: 
220V connector commonly used on the larger 220v window ac units.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Asked by
Lake of the Ozarks, Missouri, USA
Read all my Q&A
January 29, 2014
Answer: 
30amp 220 volt cord about 6 feet long.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Massachusetts
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 23, 2014
Answer: 
Hello! I purchased this heater for a home we are working on in Massachusetts -- to keep the pipes from freezing while we replaced the furnace. It worked great and kept the lower level relatively warm for weeks without a problem.
A heater with this output requires a 220v cord and receptacle, which is easy to add to a standard residential electrical panel. Our electrician installed one in 20 minutes. 120v Read More
Hello! I purchased this heater for a home we are working on in Massachusetts -- to keep the pipes from freezing while we replaced the furnace. It worked great and kept the lower level relatively warm for weeks without a problem.
A heater with this output requires a 220v cord and receptacle, which is easy to add to a standard residential electrical panel. Our electrician installed one in 20 minutes. 120v will not handle the amps required for 4,800 watts.
I hope this is helpful,
Mark Read Less
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Richmond, VA, USA
Read all my Q&A
December 31, 2013
Answer: 
a 240 cord
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Georgia
Read all my Q&A
December 31, 2013
Answer: 
220 plug at rated at 30 amps, plug and cable is 6-10 foot long.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Georgia
Read all my Q&A
December 31, 2013
Answer: 
These units have a 30 amp 220 plug on the cable and the cable is probably 6-10 foot long.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
DimplexCustomerService
Read all my Q&A
December 31, 2013
Answer: 
it has a 220 3 prong polarized plug 30 amp
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
 
8 answers

DOES THIS HEATER BLOW OUT HOT AIR.

This question is from 4800-Watt Forced Air Electric Portable Construction Heater
Asked by
ABQ NM
Read all my Q&A
December 27, 2013
I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW IF THIS HEATER ACTUALLY BLOWS OUT HOT AIR... OR DOES IT JUST HEAT UP. I WOULD LIKE ONE THAT HEATS UP AND BLOWS OUT HOT AIR
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (8)

Asked by
Paramus, NJ
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
February 27, 2015
Answer: 
This thing blows out hot air... I put a piece of masonite 18 inches in front of it for about 10 minutes and measured its temperature at 135 degrees. using my infrared thermometer, I also pointed it directly at the heater and got measurements off the coil between 400 and 650 degrees. Im thinking thats pretty hot,,,,,,
+7points
7out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful0

Asked by
Cave Creek Arizona
Read all my Q&A
December 13, 2014
Answer: 
yes
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
New Market, IN
Read all my Q&A
March 11, 2014
Answer: 
Blows out hot air with the fan included in the unit. Puts out quite a bit of heat.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Asked by
New Jersey, USA
Read all my Q&A
March 4, 2014
Answer: 
Yes it is a forced air heater. The fan can be felt out to about 5 feet. unit is surprisingly small and compact but does put out a lot of heat.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Greenwell Springs, Central, LA 70739, USA
Read all my Q&A
February 11, 2014
Answer: 
This heater has a small fan and blows out hot air. You need a 30 amp 220 volt circuit to operate it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Lake of the Ozarks, Missouri, USA
Read all my Q&A
January 29, 2014
Answer: 
Yes. Has a built in propeller type fan. Does a nice job moving air.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Massachusetts
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 23, 2014
Answer: 
Dear Jericho: We purchased this heater for a home we are working on in Massachusetts, to keep the lower level warm while we replaced the furnace. It worked great, without any problems.
The heater has a built-in fan that worked well in a ~600 square foot space. It does require a 220v outlet, which is easy to add to a standard residential electrical panel. Our electrician added one in 20 minutes.
You do Read More
Dear Jericho: We purchased this heater for a home we are working on in Massachusetts, to keep the lower level warm while we replaced the furnace. It worked great, without any problems.
The heater has a built-in fan that worked well in a ~600 square foot space. It does require a 220v outlet, which is easy to add to a standard residential electrical panel. Our electrician added one in 20 minutes.
You do need to be careful about placement. The 4,800 watt output is significant and no combustibles should be placed near it.
I hope this is helpful,
Mark Read Less
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Georgia
Read all my Q&A
December 31, 2013
Answer: 
Yes, this heater blows out hot air almost immediately after you turn it on, Very good unit, I purchaced 2 of them for a fairly large room, roughly 20' x 40', it takes about an hour or two for the room to get toasty warm but it is a large room and that is from outdoor temp to toasty, of course when room has 6 or 8 people in it, it heats up much faster.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
 
8 answers

What voltage is required ?

This question is from 4800-Watt Forced Air Electric Portable Construction Heater
Asked by
byron georgia
Read all my Q&A
November 12, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (8)

Asked by
Cave Creek Arizona
Read all my Q&A
December 13, 2014
Answer: 
220
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
New Market, IN
Read all my Q&A
March 11, 2014
Answer: 
230 Volt 30 amp circuit
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
New Jersey, USA
Read all my Q&A
March 4, 2014
Answer: 
Unit works on 220v AC. It has a connector commonly found on large window AC units.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Lake of the Ozarks, Missouri, USA
Read all my Q&A
January 29, 2014
Answer: 
220 volts 30 amp receptacle.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Georgia
Read all my Q&A
December 31, 2013
Answer: 
220 volts at 30 amps
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
December 26, 2013
Answer: 
240 volts single phase and has special 30amp plug receptical for heaters like this available at home depot
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Massachusetts
Read all my Q&A
December 10, 2013
Answer: 
Dear Roy: If you haven't purchased an electric heater yet, this Dimplex requires a standard 220v outlet. I had a 220v outlet installed in the basement of the house we are working on for $50. No special 'supply' wiring changes are needed from the pole, but this is a job for an experienced electrician.
The Dimplex has been working great, by the way. Small package with great output.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
DimplexCustomerService
Read all my Q&A
November 13, 2013
Answer: 
240 volt is required
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
 
8 answers

is this a good heater to use in a one car garage?

This question is from 4800-Watt Forced Air Electric Portable Construction Heater
Asked by
atlantic city
Read all my Q&A
November 3, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (8)

Asked by
Kingman, AZ
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 19, 2016
Answer: 
OMG yes. You'll be able to melt the polish on your shoes;
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Paramus, NJ
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
February 21, 2015
Answer: 
This is the heater I am now using in my poorly insulated one car garage. It works incredibly well and doesn't take long to reach a comfortable temperature
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Cave Creek Arizona
Read all my Q&A
December 13, 2014
Answer: 
It should work fine. My shop is 24 x 32 and it works great.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
New Jersey, USA
Read all my Q&A
March 4, 2014
Answer: 
I had no trouble using this to heat a room 20 x 30 from 5 to 50. The room is insulated and has a standard door versus a garage door. It should work very well for you.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Georgia
Read all my Q&A
December 31, 2013
Answer: 
If your garage is 500 sq. feet or smaller, this would be a pretty good choice, for the price they are hard to beat.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
December 26, 2013
Answer: 
perfect for 1 car garage
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Massachusetts
Read all my Q&A
December 10, 2013
Answer: 
Dear Tina:
The answer depends on the size of your garage, the insulation in your garage and the minimum temp you want to maintain.
I installed this heater in the ~600 SF walk-out basement of a house we are working on, for example, and it kept the basement above 40 degrees on a 25 degree night. 4,800 watts = 16K BTUs, which will give you a benchmark compared to the average furnace.
One key Read More
Dear Tina:
The answer depends on the size of your garage, the insulation in your garage and the minimum temp you want to maintain.
I installed this heater in the ~600 SF walk-out basement of a house we are working on, for example, and it kept the basement above 40 degrees on a 25 degree night. 4,800 watts = 16K BTUs, which will give you a benchmark compared to the average furnace.
One key recommendation: insulation. This is always cheaper and more effective in the short and long run, compared to heaters and AC. Home Depot sells XPS and Polyiso foam board, for example, that would be excellent for most garages. A fire barrier is required, but new intumescent paint is available that is easy to apply.
I hope this is helpful.
Mark Read Less
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1

November 4, 2013
Answer: 
Goodafternoon,
Thank you for contacting Dimplex North America. That is a construction heater and we do not recommend using it in a garage. Our DGWH Series however, is made to be used in garage.
Thank you
Customer Support
+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1
2 »
  • 2016-10-31 T00:38:27.771-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_203568956, prod, sort_default
2 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 921ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 45 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent heater at an unbeatable price! A high quality heater, puts out plenty of heat. I was hoping for Plug-and-Play, however the plug is an oddball item and rather than change the plug, I chose to provide a new outlet with the appropriate receptacle thus adding about $40.00 to the cost. I'm glad I did that as now I don't have to unplug my welder or lift to use the heater. Temps in northern AZ can drop to the 20's but I can easily take the chill off my uninsulated RV garage to work on pressing projects when I would have previously waited for the weather to improve. Highly recommended! January 19, 2016
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Just what I need. I cannot write a full review on performance. I do not yet have 230 volt access in the shop. I am having my shop wired and will install it then. (I plugged in to another area of my home and it worked fine, threw a lot of heat and was relatively quiet. Quieter than I expected it to be.) My woodshop is only 166 sq ft, purpose built. I fully expect that the heater will be ample to heat the shop on the coldest days. February 12, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome heater A serious heater this heater has an element like a stove eye that gets red hot measured at 250° it has warning labels on it to be extremely careful because the unit gets so hot I can't touch the outside when it's running I have searched for years to find a heater like this and for the price I don't think a better heater can be found I use it as a primary heat source in a 16×80 mobile home temperatures have been down to 15° heater keeps it a nice 72° this is the best heater period!!! January 24, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent heater!! Smaller heaters were not cutting it; this heater for the price is excellent.!! Thanks. February 29, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good little unit. Heater was not to hard to hook up, probably lost the warranty because I cut the plug end off and put a different 240V plug end on to suit my needs to make it portable with my Generator. But the little heater unit easily heated up my 400 sqft work shop. February 10, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Happy The product serves the area that I wanted it to serve quite well January 26, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by does the job- I am heating a 20x12 well insulated hobby room in my shop. So far I am pleased with the purchase. January 12, 2016
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not very hot I have an uninsulated 500 sf shop. Outside temp is 30 degrees, inside is 41 with heater cranked up. Keeps liquids from freezing, but not warm enough to work in. January 12, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent little heater! Great solid construction! This heater replaces a heater twice its size. It performes very well In my shop. January 5, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 4800 watts Great heater says 500 sf but it's keeping a 1700 sf house warm. Does need 220 I'm using my dryer plug December 29, 2015
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by To Giametti - (4) 1500w heaters are NOT the same as one 6000w On paper, it may seem like (4) 1,500w heaters are equal to a 6,000w heater, but not so at the panel, or on the utility bill. Firstly, 1,500w units run on 115V and pull 12 amps, which will warm the wires with steady use, translating to wasted energy. Also, you will need (4) circuits to power them, and since these 4 circuits may not be evenly distributed on your panel, the load won't be balanced on the two legs. The 6,000w unit runs at 230v, and when voltage is doubled, current is halved, so wires run cooler, meaning less wasted energy. The 230v version also presents itself as a balanced load on your service panel, so it runs better, and so does everything else. Just an FYI. January 24, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good heater for us I brought this heater for the purpose of providing safe temporary heat in our garage when I have projects. We are still in the 60s at this time of year when I tested it and it raised the temp in the garage to about 70 in fifteen min so I know it works. The garage where it will be used is attached to the house on two sides with an insulated door and I don't think that this heater will have any issues with maintaining the temperature. I also understand the limitations of 4800btus so if necessary I have a 30,000btu bullet heater to take the chill off quickly and then switch to electric. October 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good bang for your buck The Heater is quiet and heats my insulated 2 car garage in no time even on a cold winter night (Montreal QC) and I have 12 ' cielings. I find it great value for money so far. I'm not sure how it will last long term as I only just got it but it seems well made. That being said I intend to find my own thermostat that I can leave inline with the heater as a backup. (I had a friend with a similar heater who came home to find his heater thermostat failed and it was running constantly. The plug was melting and he had to turn it off at the braker) January 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by This little thing has some power! I was expecting the unit to be bigger, but was very impressed when I turned it on. I have the average un-insulated two car garage and it went from about 55 degrees to around 70 degrees in about two hours. The only reason I didn't give this product 5 stars was because the 220 plug is very inconvenient. I had to go to Home Depot and buy a female 220 outlet + 10' of 10ga wire + a box and plate for the 220 outlet + a male 4 prong 250 plug = about $50. I had to run an extension cord from the laundry room dry outlet to the garage. February 3, 2015
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not very good, even for the money I got this unit a year ago to replace a unit with a broken blower fan. From the first, the temperature cut-out circuit only kept the heater working half the time. Finally, just after warranty lapsed the heating element failed. No sense trying to repair this one, as it would cost nearly as much as a new heater. I replaced it with a Dr. Heater 5600W unit, which so far, is much better. It doesn't shut down intermittently from the cut-off, and throws heat further with its fan. Every electric heater converts electricity into heat, and gets the same BTUs from each KW. When comparing electric heaters, 4 1500W space heaters will do the same job as 1 6000W commercial unit, regardless of cost. So when comparing electric space heaters, It's just durability and other features that you need to compare. January 17, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by WORKS FOR ME I live in Arizona so it's not like there is snow on the ground but our winters can be cold. My shop is 800 sq ft with a 12 ft ceiling. It has fiberglass insulation in 2 x 4 walls and in 2 x 6 rafters. If it's 50 degrees when I get there, this heater takes it to 70 in about 1 1/2 hours. I use a box fan to circulate more air in the shop which seems to help distribute the heat all around. I set the heater on the concrete floor. you will most likely have to change the plug end it comes with. I did. My heater rattled a bit when I first tried it out. After it cooled I opened it up and bent the coils a little to eliminate that problem. That's the only issue I've had. It's fan does not run after it reaches temp, so give it time to cool before you handle it. I have only had it for two years but so far so good. December 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by performs better than expected We purchased this to heat our 2 stall garage primarily to prevent the pipes above from freezing and bursting again. Pipes were wrapped with heating cables and insulation but it still wasn't enough when it hits 22 below. However with this temperature controlled heater, we know that will never happen again...thank you for the piece of mind this gives us March 10, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Value The unit rattles when first starting up cold otherwise I would have given it 5 stars. Could also use a fan delay for cool down. Overall a very good heater. February 25, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Puts out a lot of heat for such a small unit Puts out a lot of heat but is somewhat noisy. I would have liked if the connector plug type were identified so I could buy it before I got it. February 17, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by very pleased with performance This unit takes a few minutes to get up to a nice heat output with my garage temp at 40 degrees. I will start the heater 5 min before I work in the area. The plug is a 30amp 220v but I only had a 20amp 220v circuit, connected it and took a amperage reading of 11amps and is working fine. January 1, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by the best electric heater great product to use every day all day long must have February 25, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great little heater This heater does a great job of heating up my workshop quickly and keeps it warm all day. The only downside is you have to get the 240 volt plug installed if you don't have one. January 27, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Heater Works great, Arrived ahead of time. Very satisfied, January 29, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good heater for the money Economic little heater. Puts out quite a bit of heat for such a small unit. I'm an electrical contractor and bought 2 for using on remodel jobs. Upon opening the box, I found that the heater had a 230V 30A plug. Not a big deal being a 30, it is just a configuration that no one uses around here (two horizontal prongs and a ground.) So to the Home Depot I went and purchased a 287-T. This enabled me to plug into a clothes dryer outlet. Plugged in, turned thermostat up, fan came on, started heating and a minute later bam, high limit opened. Got the other one out, cut the plug off and changed and worked beautifully. Called Dimplex and told them I had a bad high limit and they UPS'd me a new high limit. Very happy about my purchase, just thought that problem should have been caught before it was boxed up at the factory. Will probably buy a few more of these next winter. March 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent value Used this to heat my 12' x 20' workshop. Good heat output and fan is quiet yet powerful. May 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Compact efficient heater This heater works well, not too heavy, well constructed, reasonably priced. The only problem I had was the plug, which I have never seen in western Canada. I had to replace it ($15.00, Home Depot) with one that would fit my welder extension cord. November 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by SIMPLE HEAT This is a lot of heat from a little unit. I had to change the plug to fit my needs and also made an adjustment to the heating coil so it would vibrate. (IT WAS VERY NOISE PRIOR TO THIS) But that was an easy fix and I raised my 800 sq ft shop temp by 10 degrees in 1 1/2 hrs. It would be nice if the fan ran after it reached temperature as it remains very hot, but other than that it works well. January 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Heater This is the third heater I have tried, all were 4800W units and the first two were from other stores not Home Depot and not Dimplex brands, the first two did not heat up as quickly and were extremely noisy, one vibrated so badly it almost fell off the shelf I made for the heater and fan sounded like it was shredding leaves. This Dimplex is the quietest I have tested, can hardly hear it when it's on in my shop, and provides great and quick heat. Last night it was below freezing and I was a comfortable at 65 degrees F inside my 14x28 fully insulated with 8' ceiling garage (R12 walls and R20 Ceilings). Only complaint is when the unit shuts down, element is extremely hot, fan should have a delay and run until element cools as a safety feature and to take advantage of the residual heat in element, just keep unit at least 1 foot from anything that may be effected by this residual heat and it's fine. Other than that it is the best I have tried so far, would recommend this unit. November 29, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Works great at my construction site! This heater does the job very well. I was surprised at how small they are but don't let that fool you, they put out great heat. I bought 2 of them for my job site where temps are near zero. Put 1 in the basement other on main floor. They warmed the floors up to 50 making the work environment very workable. Highly recommended! March 4, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Ok, but a little loud. Purchase process left a little to be desired. I am adapting this portable construction heater to heat the top floor of my barn, which has an area of about 400 square feet. So far, the heater works adequately and seems to be of reasonably good quality. The price was fair and I appreciated the free shipping to the store. The main issue with the heater is that the fan is kind of loud and it may not work out in the long run, as we play music in this section of my barn and I am concerned that the fan noise will be obnoxious when we are between songs. The method of purchase left no opportunity to test the unit beforehand, so I had to take a chance and buy it to see if it was adequate. In reality, had this unit been displayed as operational at Home Depot, I would not have purchased it due to the fan noise. The only way for me to find out if it was going to work was to purchase it, bring it home, wire it up (at a cost of around $60 in supplies and 2 hours labor), and then test it. Even if I return it now, I am still stuck with the cost and effort of wiring it. Not an ideal situation. March 4, 2014
  • 2016-10-30 T16:12:40.131-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_45, tr_45
  • loc_en_US, sid_203568956, prod, sort_default
<<2 3 >>
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 182ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT