Model # DCH4831L

Internet #203568956

Dimplex 4800-Watt Forced Air Electric Portable Construction Heater
0781052053427

Dimplex

4800-Watt Forced Air Electric Portable Construction Heater

  • High quality, durable stainless steel tubular element
  • High heat cut-out protection for safety
  • Compact and portable design
$10082 /each
store icon Loading Buying Options...
package icon Loading Buying Options...
Sorry, but we ran into issues loading these options. Please try refreshing.

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

  • High quality, durable stainless steel tubular element
  • High heat cut-out protection for safety
  • Compact and portable design
The Dimplex heavy duty portable construction heater provides maximum durability for work site conditions where temporary heat is required. 160 CFM offers quiet running operation. This 4800-Watt electric heater also offers thermal overheat protection for complete safety. The 6 ft. cord and plug stores around the handle for easy storage and transportation to and from workshops, construction sites and maintenance jobs.
  • Running lights indicate when the unit is operating if thermal cut-out is engaged
  • 6 ft. cord stores around the handle
  • Controls - double pole thermostat is built-in temperature range of 7-25°C (45-77°F)
  • Portable heat for workshops, garages, construction sites and home construction spaces

Product Overview

The Dimplex heavy duty portable construction heater provides maximum durability for work site conditions where temporary heat is required. 160 CFM offers quiet running operation. This 4800-Watt electric heater also offers thermal overheat protection for complete safety. The 6 ft. cord and plug stores around the handle for easy storage and transportation to and from workshops, construction sites and maintenance jobs.

  • Running lights indicate when the unit is operating if thermal cut-out is engaged
  • 6 ft. cord stores around the handle
  • Controls - double pole thermostat is built-in temperature range of 7-25°C (45-77°F)
  • Portable heat for workshops, garages, construction sites and home construction spaces

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Cord Length (in.)
72
Product Depth (in.)
7.5
Product Height (in.)
11.75
Product Width (in.)
9

Details

Amperage (amps)
30
Area Heated (Sq. Ft.)
400
Color
Almond
Color Family
Browns / Tans
Heater Controls
Thermostat
Heater Type
Fan Heaters
Heating Product Type
Electric Portable Heater
Heating Technology Type
Convection
Indoor/Outdoor
Indoor
Material
Metal
Number of Heat Settings
Variable
Portable Heater Features
Automatic Shutoff,Thermostat
Power/Fuel Type
Electric
Product Weight (lb.)
9.7lb
Returnable
90-Day
Voltage (volts)
240
Wattage (watts)
4800

Warranty / Certifications

Certifications and Listings
1-UL Listed,CSA Listed
Manufacturer Warranty
1 Year limited warranty

Specifications

Dimensions

Cord Length (in.)
72
Product Depth (in.)
7.5
Product Height (in.)
11.75
Product Width (in.)
9

Details

Amperage (amps)
30
Area Heated (Sq. Ft.)
400
Color
Almond
Color Family
Browns / Tans
Heater Controls
Thermostat
Heater Type
Fan Heaters
Heating Product Type
Electric Portable Heater
Heating Technology Type
Convection
Indoor/Outdoor
Indoor
Material
Metal
Number of Heat Settings
Variable
Portable Heater Features
Automatic Shutoff,Thermostat
Power/Fuel Type
Electric
Product Weight (lb.)
9.7lb
Returnable
90-Day
Voltage (volts)
240
Wattage (watts)
4800

Warranty / Certifications

Certifications and Listings
1-UL Listed,CSA Listed
Manufacturer Warranty
1 Year limited warranty

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

is this heater equipped with a 110 or 220 cord?

Asked by: johnny
The heater is 220 volt single phase. It come with a 220 plug that has 2 horizontal flat prongs over a round neutral prong. You can either have yourself or an electrician install an outlet for it can be wired directly into circuit box.
Answered by: ThisOldGarageNJ
Date published: 2017-03-12

is this a good heater to use in a one car garage?

Asked by: tina
is this heater good for 3 car garage and plug into garage out let
Answered by: jim
Date published: 2017-02-12

DOES THIS HEATER BLOW OUT HOT AIR.

I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW IF THIS HEATER ACTUALLY BLOWS OUT HOT AIR... OR DOES IT JUST HEAT UP. I WOULD LIKE ONE THAT HEATS UP AND BLOWS OUT HOT AIR
Asked by: JERICHO
Yes, after the coils get hot.
Answered by: Mandie
Date published: 2017-01-17

What voltage is required ?

Asked by: royS
220
Answered by: woodworker
Date published: 2015-09-20
  • y_2017, m_8, d_22, h_2CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_31
  • loc_, sid_203568956, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 101ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

4800-Watt Forced Air Electric Portable Construction Heater is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 64.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Product work well Works well, noise level slightly high. When this unit shuts down the top gets very hot. It needs to have a fan delay.
Date published: 2014-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from does the job- I am heating a 20x12 well insulated hobby room in my shop. So far I am pleased with the purchase.
Date published: 2016-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 4800 watts Great heater says 500 sf but it's keeping a 1700 sf house warm. Does need 220 I'm using my dryer plug
Date published: 2015-12-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good heater for the money Economic little heater. Puts out quite a bit of heat for such a small unit. I'm an electrical contractor and bought 2 for using on remodel jobs. Upon opening the box, I found that the heater had a 230V 30A plug. Not a big deal being a 30, it is just a configuration that no one uses around here (two horizontal prongs and a ground.) So to the Home Depot I went and purchased a 287-T. This enabled me to plug into a clothes dryer outlet. Plugged in, turned thermostat up, fan came on, started heating and a minute later bam, high limit opened. Got the other one out, cut the plug off and changed and worked beautifully. Called Dimplex and told them I had a bad high limit and they UPS'd me a new high limit. Very happy about my purchase, just thought that problem should have been caught before it was boxed up at the factory. Will probably buy a few more of these next winter.
Date published: 2014-03-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from very pleased with performance This unit takes a few minutes to get up to a nice heat output with my garage temp at 40 degrees. I will start the heater 5 min before I work in the area. The plug is a 30amp 220v but I only had a 20amp 220v circuit, connected it and took a amperage reading of 11amps and is working fine.
Date published: 2015-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent heater!! Smaller heaters were not cutting it; this heater for the price is excellent.!! Thanks.
Date published: 2016-02-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Compact efficient heater This heater works well, not too heavy, well constructed, reasonably priced. The only problem I had was the plug, which I have never seen in western Canada. I had to replace it ($15.00, Home Depot) with one that would fit my welder extension cord.
Date published: 2013-11-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice little heater nice quality heater for its small size. Heating coil rattles here and there but no big deal. Going to buy another so I can get big garage toasty when it is 10 degrees outside in Maine woods.
Date published: 2013-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good I use it in a 12x24 shop, no fumes and a good temp. gain
Date published: 2014-01-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not very good, even for the money I got this unit a year ago to replace a unit with a broken blower fan. From the first, the temperature cut-out circuit only kept the heater working half the time. Finally, just after warranty lapsed the heating element failed. No sense trying to repair this one, as it would cost nearly as much as a new heater. I replaced it with a Dr. Heater 5600W unit, which so far, is much better. It doesn't shut down intermittently from the cut-off, and throws heat further with its fan. Every electric heater converts electricity into heat, and gets the same BTUs from each KW. When comparing electric heaters, 4 1500W space heaters will do the same job as 1 6000W commercial unit, regardless of cost. So when comparing electric space heaters, It's just durability and other features that you need to compare.
Date published: 2015-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good little unit. Heater was not to hard to hook up, probably lost the warranty because I cut the plug end off and put a different 240V plug end on to suit my needs to make it portable with my Generator. But the little heater unit easily heated up my 400 sqft work shop.
Date published: 2016-02-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not very hot I have an uninsulated 500 sf shop. Outside temp is 30 degrees, inside is 41 with heater cranked up. Keeps liquids from freezing, but not warm enough to work in.
Date published: 2016-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Happy The product serves the area that I wanted it to serve quite well
Date published: 2016-01-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good bang for your buck The Heater is quiet and heats my insulated 2 car garage in no time even on a cold winter night (Montreal QC) and I have 12 ' cielings. I find it great value for money so far. I'm not sure how it will last long term as I only just got it but it seems well made. That being said I intend to find my own thermostat that I can leave inline with the heater as a backup. (I had a friend with a similar heater who came home to find his heater thermostat failed and it was running constantly. The plug was melting and he had to turn it off at the braker)
Date published: 2014-01-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from performs better than expected We purchased this to heat our 2 stall garage primarily to prevent the pipes above from freezing and bursting again. Pipes were wrapped with heating cables and insulation but it still wasn't enough when it hits 22 below. However with this temperature controlled heater, we know that will never happen again...thank you for the piece of mind this gives us
Date published: 2015-03-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ok, but a little loud. Purchase process left a little to be desired. I am adapting this portable construction heater to heat the top floor of my barn, which has an area of about 400 square feet. So far, the heater works adequately and seems to be of reasonably good quality. The price was fair and I appreciated the free shipping to the store. The main issue with the heater is that the fan is kind of loud and it may not work out in the long run, as we play music in this section of my barn and I am concerned that the fan noise will be obnoxious when we are between songs. The method of purchase left no opportunity to test the unit beforehand, so I had to take a chance and buy it to see if it was adequate. In reality, had this unit been displayed as operational at Home Depot, I would not have purchased it due to the fan noise. The only way for me to find out if it was going to work was to purchase it, bring it home, wire it up (at a cost of around $60 in supplies and 2 hours labor), and then test it. Even if I return it now, I am still stuck with the cost and effort of wiring it. Not an ideal situation.
Date published: 2014-03-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great little heater This heater does a great job of heating up my workshop quickly and keeps it warm all day. The only downside is you have to get the 240 volt plug installed if you don't have one.
Date published: 2015-01-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Value The unit rattles when first starting up cold otherwise I would have given it 5 stars. Could also use a fan delay for cool down. Overall a very good heater.
Date published: 2015-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Puts out a lot of heat for such a small unit Puts out a lot of heat but is somewhat noisy. I would have liked if the connector plug type were identified so I could buy it before I got it.
Date published: 2015-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from the best electric heater great product to use every day all day long must have
Date published: 2015-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Heater Works great, Arrived ahead of time. Very satisfied,
Date published: 2015-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great at my construction site! This heater does the job very well. I was surprised at how small they are but don't let that fool you, they put out great heat. I bought 2 of them for my job site where temps are near zero. Put 1 in the basement other on main floor. They warmed the floors up to 50 making the work environment very workable. Highly recommended!
Date published: 2014-03-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent value Used this to heat my 12' x 20' workshop. Good heat output and fan is quiet yet powerful.
Date published: 2014-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This item is exactly as described. This item is exactly as described. The transaction was easy & fast.
Date published: 2014-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great little heaters, so far I am very pleased with them!!! Quiet, functional, great value, seems to be just what the doctor ordered for our clubhouse.
Date published: 2013-12-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This product so far has been as promised. It has a vibration or rattle that I can't pinpoint. Otherwise, it heats satisfactorily.
Date published: 2014-02-11
  • y_2017, m_8, d_22, h_8
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_64
  • loc_, sid_203568956, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 204ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT