ECHO 18 in. 40.2 cc Gas Chainsaw-CS-400-18 - The Home Depot
Message to Our Customers
Discontinued

ECHO

Model # CS-400-18

Internet # 100675470

Store SKU # 834306

18 in. 40.2 cc Gas Chainsaw

ECHO 18 in. 40.2 cc Gas Chainsaw
 

This item has been discontinued.
The Home Depot no longer carries this specific product.

$299.00 / each
Loading...

PRODUCT OVERVIEW

Model # CS-400-18

Internet # 100675470

Store SKU # 834306

The ECHO 18 in. Gas 40.2 cc Chainsaw features a 40.2 cc 2-stroke power boost vortex engine that provides ample power for tough jobs and a side-a ccess chain tensioner for quick and easy adjustments. The gas Chainsaw features a heavy-duty air filter that helps add longevity to the engine. The Chainsaw also features an automatic oiler that helps keep the chain lubricated.

  • 18 in. bar and chain help make cutting easier
  • 40.2 cc 2-stroke Power boost vortex engine provides ample power for tough jobs
  • Heavy-duty air filter adds longevity to engine
  • Side-a ccess chain tensioner for quick and easy adjustments
  • I-30 starter helps reduce user fatigue
  • Automatic oiler keeps the chain lubricated
  • Home Depot Protection Plan:

    Home Depot Protection Plan

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

SPECIFICATIONS

Dimensions
Assembled Depth (in.) 
29 in 
Assembled Height (in.) 
11.5 in 
Assembled Width (in.) 
10.5 in 
Bar Length (in.) 
18 
Chain size 
18 in. 
Maximum cut diameter (in.) 
36 
Product Height (in.) 
11.5 
Product Length (in.) 
29 in 
Product Width (in.) 
10.5 
Details
Antivibration handle 
Yes 
CA (CARB) Compliant 
Not CARB Compliant 
Case Included 
No 
Chain brake 
Yes 
Chain tension adjustment 
Yes 
Chainsaw Type 
Hand Chainsaw 
Commercial 
Yes 
Engine Displacement (cc) 
40.2 
Engine Type 
2-cycle 
Fuel tank capacity (oz.) 
13.9 
Product Weight (lb.) 
10.1 lb 
Recommended oil 
ECHO Power Blend 2 stroke engine oil 
Reconditioned 
No 
Returnable 
30-Day 
Translucent fuel tank 
No 
Warranty / Certifications
Certifications and Listings 
EPA Approved 
Manufacturer Warranty 
5 year consumer warranty / 1 year commercial warranty 

CUSTOMER REVIEWS

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 262 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Mediocre at best This chainsaw was my attempt at not buying a Stihl and saving 50 or so bucks. The saw performed fairly well once it started. It's not the smoothest saw I've used, but not bad. The worst part of the experience was the fact that the chain loosened a ton within 5 minutes of work. I stopped to adjust the chain and the cheap adjustment screw stripped out quickly. Luckily HD returned it with no questions asked so I could go and by that Stihl. Lesson learned. April 7, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by This saw works great! Purchased the Echo CS400, took it home, read the instruction manual, added the gas/oil mix and three pulls later the saw fired-up. Cut great (new blade I suppose) shut off and restarted several times that first day-no problems. Yes the chain had to be adjusted a couple of times in the early goings. After that smooth sailing with never an indication of the chain coming off as stated in other reviews. Pulled the saw out a week later...3 tugs on the rope and it was off and running. This Echo CS 400 works great. April 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Powerful small saw I bought this saw after the May 2013 Oklahoma tornadoes so I could do some volunteer tree work. I already had a Mac 3200 14" that has been quite reliable, but was just undersized for major tree work. The Echo brand drew me in based on excellent experience with an Echo trimmer I bought 4 years ago that still performs like a champ. The saw is a delight to use. Starts easily and seems to have ample power for cutting up damaged and felled trees. Vibration is minimal and saw is comfortable to use due to that. It is a bit loud, but I wear hearing protection. If I were a tree pro, I might've gone for a larger saw, but for the casual user like I am, this is a "pro grade" saw in my book. June 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My First and it Rocks This is my first chainsaw ever and I purchased it after reading reviews of several brands and models. Having never owned or used a saw like this, this thing was easy to use and setup right out of the box. I added the fuel and chain oil and it started right up after three initial pulls of the cord. After that it started on the very first pull thereafter. I cut small trees and thick palm frawns for about 2 hours and it only used about half the fuel. I did have to stop and adjust the chain quite a few times, but that was fast and easy with the included tool. I would recommend this saw to everyone! February 22, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by So far, really great. This saw is very light compared to my old saw. Don't let that fool you, it is a hungry little beast. I was cutting through an oak that was from 10 - 20 inches thick. It didn't bog down once, just kept pulling. The Home Depot also had a 2 pack of Oregon chains for this saw for like 30 bucks. You can't beat that, my old Sti#! saw the chains were 35 a piece. I also ordered the Echo saw case from home depots website, very happy with that as well. I recommend it as the best option for storing and transporting. It would have been really nice had Echo included that with the saw. You spend that much on a saw, the least they could do is throw in a case. Also, the saw uses 50:1 fuel mixture. It doesn't state that anywhere on the saw, on the box or in the store. I had to read through the directions to find it. Now you don't :) Anyway, very happy with the saw, i recommend for any homeowner with trees or anyone that needs a light duty saw. March 24, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A very good chainsaw Compared brands in this price range, all are very good, this was on the shelf the day I bought. January 21, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Saw! Maybe I have just had bad luck with chainsaws but this one is a good luck charm!! I have had a HomeLite and another brand and both were unreliable as far as starting and continuous idle. I was drawn to some of their other "easier" features, such as tightening the chain without a tool and the free case. Whoopee, those "extras" were nice but only when the saw ran properly! This saw is well worth the price for home use and campfire wood production! Lesson learned- nicer functions on an "inexpensive" product, usually yields what you pay for. Buy this saw instead and save yourself the headache! April 4, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Give credit where credit is deserved... I bought this saw as a Home Depot in-store refurb. It came in like-new condition. I have cut many types of trees with it and it performed flawlessly everytime. A buddy of mine has an 18" Ryobi and it doesn't even compare to this. This starts up easily everytime, no slippage and the right amount of power. We recently had a storm here that downed a few trees. I sliced up a 60 foot tree in about an hour. My neighbor could not believe this saw was that capable, especially for the size. As a pretty active homeowner, this is the perfect saw. March 2, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by FORWARD HANDLE 100% PLASTIC Born and raised on a farm. Used many saws over the years Wards brand, Sears brand, McColloch, Poulin, Stihl. My Father and I cut and split 7 chords of wood (split by hand) per year to heat our home, I know the chainsaw world very well. I chose this 18" saw because I am not as young (and strong) as I used to be so a lighter saw fit my needs. The chain is not quite as agressive as I am used to however it does cut suprisingly well even thru locust and oak. Engine power is matched to the weight and bar size perfectly. Very easy to handle, maneuver and formost easy to start. I am quite dissapointed the forward handle is made of 100% plastic, not rubber coated aluminium like the photos I looked at on the ECHO web site prior to buying. Would have rated 5 stars otherwise. November 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Solid saw Excellent saw for the money Newer CS400s don't have aluminum handle which may play a role if you drop the saw from high up. I also like the big sharp teeth up front and 2 nuts for bar a must (some husqy's without either). This baby started right up after a few pulls and has idled and ripped through anything I could find. I have 5 acres to clear and so far I'm impressed. I haven't adjusted low/high jets as the saw is running Sooo good. The CS400 has a good weight to power ratio. My arms would fall off with next model up timberwolf @14lb I recommend chain oil, 2 stroke oil, 1-2 extra chains, and any sharpening tools, with purchase. Echo offers 2 case accessories: 1 is just for bar, other is full hard case. I'm pretty sure the chain included is an Oregon and I wouldn't buy anything less or cheaper. Recommend the 91VXL chain which is a bit more aggressive but any 3/8" pitch .050 gauge chain with 62 links will do. I bought the 91vxl on Amazon. I might try out some custom made non- anti kick stihl chains and will update post later if allowed. I've heard of engine issues after time that echo won't warranty, I just purchased the Home Depot 5yr extra plan which I'm told starts AFTER echos warranty so I'm covered for issues at less cost then a stihl. Some folks recommend 16" bar which I would agree with however im fine with 18" Use non ethanol fuel if possible. True for all small engines. If not just don't use old fuel and don't let fuel sit in saw over a month or the ethanol can gel up and clog jets.-controversial I know. January 18, 2015
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Tension Adjuster Stripped Out Tension Adjuster Stripped Out during first ten hours of use. Poorly designed chain tension adjuster wares out after a few hundred cuts. I loosen the two nuts on the chainplate, as normal. The tension screw just strips, it turns, but it don't move the adjustment pin. I must remove the entire plate and make the tension adjustment, then force the plate back on. And now I must find a replacement. Every one of these Echos sold will develop this problem given enough usage. March 8, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Echo CS-400 Great Chain saw for aggressive homeowner. I have owned and used many other saws. most of the home-owner models are just garbage. I bought this saw and used it to cut 4 cords of hardwood. I had no problems what so ever! I have seen both good and bad reviews on this saw and was a little hesitant. To break in saw I let it Idle for 15-20 minutes day before using the saw the first time. I used premium gas, echo 2 stroke oil, keep the blade sharp and lubed. simple routine and the saw operated perfect! I really like the automotive style filter, very simple and affective. the saw is lighter than husky and stihl. the on/off switch is metal and easy to use with gloves on. the couple of Items I wish were changed is the size of the fuel tank. shorter run time than others...but is a great way to make sure the chain oil reservoir is kept full every time you have to fill gas! I suppose that also keeps the weight down. The 40CC engine is great for most applications but a slightly larger engine would be nice option. October 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Works well I good reviews and took a chance on Echo, a brand that I wasn't familiar with. It is much better than the Poulan Pro that seized after only one year of use. I like the 5 year warranty. The only issue so far is the chain and bar noise. I've never had another saw with this kind of noise. Sounds like it's not getting enough oil. But it works great and I can see the oil in the cuts. I guess it's just the way it is. We'll see how it holds up. November 20, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Chain Keeps Coming Off If you have bought this saw, and not had chain problems, consider yourself very lucky. Within the first 10 minutes of bringing this saw home, the chain slipped off the sprocket and out of the bar groove, damaging the drive teeth on the chain, and requiring much manual filing to be able to get it back on the bar. I know what all the armchair quarterbacks are saying, "you let the chain get too loose you moron,"...au contraire my friends, the chain was adjusted just fine. I've used many chainsaws in my lifetime, and I'm telling you, this saw has a design problem with the sprocket and bar assembly. Now you can check reviews about this saw all over the internet, and the chain coming off seems to be a perennial problem. After going through your entire repertoire of cuss words, while trying to use this saw, you will find yourself inventing new ones to use. That's how frustrating this saw can be. March 12, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by First Echo ChainSaw - Had Stihl and Husqvarna Recently purchased the Echo CS 400 chain saw with 18in chain. Bought the new Echo Red Armor oil and use in all my other 2 strokes with excellent results. Very easy to start cold at only 2 total. Warm start has always been a single pull. This saw has i30 start easy pull system and large engine power through any size tree with ease. This is surprisingly light for engine size and use all day reliably. I owned Stihl and Husqvarna chain saws for over 20 years and the Echo is by far the best owner experience high quality and 5 year no hassle warranty. October 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by After my old saw took a turn for the worst I decided it was time to replace it. First I went to the local pawn shop to buy specifically Stihl or Echo only. The prices for the used saws there were almost the same price as a new one. A friend then conveinced me to buy a Craftsman. I settled on a 50cc Craftsman with 20 inch bar. I ended up taking it back the same day and then off to the home depot. I bought the biggest Echo they had on the shelf (CS -400-18) for the new season of cutting firewood. I could not be happier. This saw runs circles around the Craftsman. Starts everytime within the first 2-3 pulls. Just make sure you read the manual, and run 91+ octane. Running anything under 91 will void the 5 year warranty. I have cut probably close to 30 cords with this saw and it still runs like its brand new. It is very easy to take apart and clean so you can keep it looking and running like new. The automotive style air filter is another great addition to this already impressive saw. This is a very good product by Echo. I am looking at buying a CS-600 for the bigger trees that the 18 inch bar can't get to. March 17, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome saw I bought this saw after getting extremely frustrated when trying to help a friend cut down a tree. I had 2 Poulan Pro saws and could not get either one to start and run. I threw them both to the side and ran to Theisens and bought an Echo saw. I have used it many times in the last couple months and it has started and ran perfectly. I would recommend this saw to ANYONE. Well worth the cost difference. November 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by a saw that wont let you down My cs 400 is just over 5yrs old....it never takes me more than 2 pulls from a cold start,..And you are cutting wood....Echo is confident in their product,, there to onlymanufacturer to offer a 5yr consumer warranty.........you have people who swear by a stil!!.... Well they have never cut with an echo........stil saws make great boat anchors...... November 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 5 years now, still love it! Not a minutes problem with the saw, and have used it quite regularly. With a little bit of care and maintenance, this saw should last a long time. November 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Echo is the brand to buy! I bought this Echo 18" 400cc chain saw 5 years ago. It replaces a Sears, McCullon, and Homelite saws that were not very good. The Homelite was the worst. My Echo has cut over 15 cords of oak firewood in the Julian Ca. area. It always works well and I just bought my second chain. I sharpen the chain frequently. This saw always starts well. After each days use I empty the gas and run it dry. To start it cold I just pump the gas bulb and pull the choke for one pull of the rope. When it pops, I turn off the choke and pull again and it starts. When warm I just pull one time and it starts first time every time after 5 years of use! I love this saw and wish I had bought this brand the first time. This is the only good brand that Home Depo sells. Spend the extra $100 bucks and buy a saw that will not upset you with lots of problems. My only problem with this saw is that I am 67 years old and the 10.1 pound saw gets heavy for me when cutting lots of branches off the fallen tree. When cutting a 30" tree it has lots of power and since the blade is only 18" you have to cut from both sides to cut through it but it works all day with no complains. I am glad I bought the Echo brand. March 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice chainsaw All & all a solid chainsaw.Just kinda a pain if you need to replace bar or chain. March 11, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I love this chainsaw I bought this saw three days ago and have used it the last two to drop a dozen trees and cut up another half dozen that the power company took down last fall. I have never had to pull it more than three times to start it, and after the initial start one pull does the job. It cuts great, nice and smooth. I used to have a small homeowner Stihl and this saw cuts every bit as good if not better. I would not hesitate to buy this saw again. Vibration is well controlled and the lightweight of the saw makes it a joy to use. I don't feel wore out at the end of the day. I really like that it has traditional caps for the oil and gas, makes it easy to wipe them clean before opening to keep dirt out. January 13, 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Started out VERY impressed! Out the gate I was very impressed. Powerful, light and made for quick work. On the second use the oil adjustment screw dropped out. Don't even know how this could happen! Took it back to HD and exchanged it for the same thing. Opened up the second one and immediately notice some differences. This one had a metal/rubber handle and the brake was different. Don't know if that was the older version or the new version but that didn't matter much either way. Fresh fuel and oil and went to start it up. Took twice as long to get running as the first. Once it was running, went to adjust the oil feed and could barely get it to fling of the nose of the bar. Looked down and it was puking oil out the bottom. So, back to HD! Going to order the CS-590 and hope that my previous encounters do not repeat themselves. The CS-400's that I had deserve 1 star tops! I think the CS-400 as a whole probably should get 4 or 5 stars. They were the 1st Echo products I had ever purchased and even with the back and forth returns I have faith in the brand. CS-590, don't prove me wrong! November 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Saw Made Today I have seen some people put bad reveiws for this saw up, they must not know how to use the saw, thats it. best saw I have ever owned, better than the Stihl I have. I heat my house with a wood heater, and so does my dad, we cut probably 25-30 cords of wood a year. So I do know how to run a saw, and I can say buy this saw read the manual, and you will not be let down... September 22, 2010
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great product very happy with the product really like the way it made haven't had very long but so far it very good . November 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent saw After having enough of "pullin" on my old saw that is still fairly new in terms of saws, I have been researching saws for a few days. Decided on the CS400 for my needs. After cutting 4 chords of firewood non stop I'm truly amazed at how well this saw has performed. I was just going to get it for limbing and add another larger saw for the bigger stuff but with the 18" bar this thing just powered right through everything. Granted some of the thicker Oak and Maple it slowed it down some but it really didn't skip a beat. It is extremely light at 10# compared to some of the other saws I have used before. It's about THE perfect saw for limbing on the ground and doing firewood. It also hung right in there doing more work faster than a slightly bigger Stihl being used. The only bad things I have to say is, right out of the box the tuning is way off. It bogs down under full throttle and right off idle when semi cold. I also had a chain come wizzing off and bent a drive link making it useless. It won't sit back in the bar guides without scraping and binding up. This was literally after 15 minutes of running right out of the box cutting a 3" branch up off the ground. I have no clue how it happened or why. Chain was tight, set screws were tight and oiler was working so ??? Other than the minor issues I'm extremely pleased with how well the saw works overall. November 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Echo CS-400 I brought over a month ago to take care of some land clearing out. It had been a long, long time since I've used a chain saw, but loved it. Easy to operated, great safety features, dependable and tough - well build. A little more expensive than most other lines. probably top of the line. But well worth it. November 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect balance I bought this chain saw and am amazed by it's light weight and power. Easy starting and fast cutting November 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great overall chainsaw This is a great chainsaw always starts love it only problem I had is my oringanal one I bought the chain kept falling off tensioner was messed up it was a fluck haven't had a problem with this one November 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best chain saw I have ever owned Purchased a CS400-18 in for use around 5 acre residence. Cold start sometimes requires a few extra pulls but once warm starts with one pull each time. Handles all my cutting with ease. I have many Echo products and they all are excellent. Would recommend to anyone. December 10, 2014
  • 2015-05-02T11:19:47.010-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_262, tr_262
  • loc_en_US, sid_100675470, prod, sort_default
<< 2 3 4 5  ... 10 >>

SHIPPING AND DELIVERY OPTIONS

Standard Shipping includes delivery by small parcel service. Processing time varies by product.


If product is eligible for shipping to AK, HI and US Territories additional transit time and remote surcharges may apply.