0035441140015

Edsal

Model # UR-185WGB

Internet # 202067995

Store SKU # 372552

36 in. W x 72 in. H x 18 in. D Steel Commercial Shelving Unit

$74.97 /each
  • Assemble vertically or horizontally
  • Adjustable multi-purpose shelves to fit your storage needs
  • Product may vary by store

FREQUENTLY BOUGHT TOGETHER

PRODUCT OVERVIEW

Model # UR-185WGB

Internet # 202067995

Store SKU # 372552

You can assemble this Edsal heavy duty steel shelving unit vertically as shelves or horizontally as a workbench for your office or home. Its neutral color goes with everything in your home. You can adjust this multi-purpose unit's shelves in 1.5 in. increments to fit any storage need. It features a rivet lock system that provides strength and rigidity.

  • Total weight capacity of 4000 lbs. (when evenly distributed), enabling you to store a large number of household and personal items
  • Steel beams and shelves with wood grain particle boards and a durable black enamel finish
  • 5 shelves that provide ample storage for bins, boxes, tools, food containers and more
  • Easy installation with just a hammer (sold separately) and no nuts or bolts
  • 1-year manufacturer warranty
  • Assembles with a hammer (not included) and no nuts or bolts are required for easy installation
  • Post coupler for easier assembly
  • All online orders for this item ship via parcel ground and may arrive in multiple boxes
  • Check your local store for prices that do not include shipping
  • Note: product may vary by store

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

SPECIFICATIONS

Dimensions
Assembled Depth (in.) 
18 in 
Assembled Height (in.) 
72 in 
Assembled Width (in.) 
36 in 
Shelf Weight Capacity (lb) 
800 
Details
Color Family 
Black 
Color/Finish 
Black 
Durability 
Heavy duty 
Features 
Adjustable Shelves,Assembly Required 
Material 
Steel 
Number of Shelves 
Returnable 
90-Day 
Shelf Material 
Wood 
Storage Product Type 
Free Standing Racks and Shelves 
Total Weight Capacity (lb.) 
4000 
Warranty / Certifications
Manufacturer Warranty 
1 Year 

MORE PRODUCTS WITH THESE FEATURES

Color Family: Black
Shelf Material: Wood
Brand: Edsal
Assembled Depth (in.): 18 in
Assembled Width (in.): 36 in
Assembled Height (in.): 72 in
Price: $50 - $100
Search
13 Questions51 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

36 in. W x 72 in. H x 18 in. D Steel Commercial Shelving Unit
36 in. W x 72 in. H x 18 in. D Steel Commercial Shelving Unit

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
 
11 answers

are the shelves steel or wood composite

This question is from 36 in. W x 72 in. H x 18 in. D Steel Commercial Shelving Unit
Asked by
Madison Wi
Read all my Q&A
August 11, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (11)

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
February 24, 2015
Answer: 
The shelf boards are 3/8" particle board. The four supporting posts are 0.046" stamped steel.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Nashville
Read all my Q&A
February 11, 2015
Answer: 
Press board and not the same density, mean some will fail quickly with same weight on them.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Asked by
Warwick, RI
Read all my Q&A
February 10, 2015
Answer: 
Wood composite
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Hanover, NH
Read all my Q&A
January 6, 2015
Answer: 
Wood composite (thin board - think about 1/4 inch)
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Texas
Read all my Q&A
December 28, 2014
Answer: 
The shelves are a light weight 3/8" particle wood. Having dealt with material like them before they will sag over time. The material for the shelves is the same material the junky Wal-Mart style book shelves are made from. They will not hold anywhere near what the manufacturer says they will. I bought this and the shelf wouldn't even hold my weight (308 lbs).
+4points
5out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful1

Asked by
Lewisville, TX
Read all my Q&A
November 23, 2014
Answer: 
MDF
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
pa
Read all my Q&A
November 4, 2014
Answer: 
the framing is steel, the shelves are wood composite
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Highlands Ranch
Read all my Q&A
October 28, 2014
Answer: 
Wood composite with a fax brown wood grain on top. At a quarter inch the shelves appear to be light weight but I they function well as I have put a lot of weight on the shelves with no deflection.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Tennessee
Read all my Q&A
September 22, 2014
Answer: 
Steel edging and a wood composite board sits on that across all four shelving bars.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Weston, Nebraska
Read all my Q&A
August 20, 2014
Answer: 
The inlays for the shelving unit are wood composite so if you have moisture issues like we do, I would suggest spraying them with some sort of coating to resist moisture. The shelves sit up off the floor so they would not come into direct contact unless there were flooding. The rest of the unit is metal.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

August 18, 2014
Answer: 
Thank you for your question.
The shelf is made of a steel Z-beam Frame with a Particle Board shelf. The shelves are rated at 800 lbs. per shelf evenly distributed.
I hope this helps you with your decision. Thanks again for your inquiry.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
 
6 answers

What is the height each shelf?

This question is from 36 in. W x 72 in. H x 18 in. D Steel Commercial Shelving Unit
Asked by
Jacksonville, FL
Read all my Q&A
April 24, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (6)

Asked by
Seattle, WA
Read all my Q&A
September 28, 2015
Answer: 
The metal horizontal supports are each just over 2" tall. (2 1/16" tall to be exact.) The vertical keyhole slots are each 1.5" apart. Each shelf uses 2 vertically adjacent keyholes for support. You can adjust pretty much anywhere within those constraints.
(Note, even though this is admittedly unusual, you shouldn't do assemblies that are inherently unstable. For example, don't put all the shelves near Read More
The metal horizontal supports are each just over 2" tall. (2 1/16" tall to be exact.) The vertical keyhole slots are each 1.5" apart. Each shelf uses 2 vertically adjacent keyholes for support. You can adjust pretty much anywhere within those constraints.
(Note, even though this is admittedly unusual, you shouldn't do assemblies that are inherently unstable. For example, don't put all the shelves near the top leaving long, gangly "legs" for support. The shelf works best when there is a (close to) top shelf, a (close to) bottom shelf, and several (close to) evenly spaced shelves in the middle.) Read Less
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Columbus, OH
Read all my Q&A
September 22, 2015
Answer: 
Height of shelf is adjustable to almost any distance.....approx. 1-1/2 distance.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Albany
Read all my Q&A
August 11, 2015
Answer: 
It can be as high/low as you want - you can choose custom heights and it doesn't compromise the product!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Kitsap County, WA
Read all my Q&A
June 19, 2015
Answer: 
The shelf height is adjustable to your needs. I put one shelf at the bottom, one at the very top, and evenly spaced the three middle ones.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Manchester, TN
Read all my Q&A
May 15, 2015
Answer: 
Height is variable. Your choice.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

April 24, 2015
Answer: 
These shelves are adjustable in 1.5 inch increments to fit any storage need.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
 
6 answers

Can these really hold 4000lbs?

This question is from 36 in. W x 72 in. H x 18 in. D Steel Commercial Shelving Unit
Asked by
CT
Read all my Q&A
October 29, 2014
I am considering storing metal objects that weight a lot on these, think they will hold up? (The metal framing and the wooden shelving)?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (6)

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
February 24, 2015
Answer: 
The 4 corner posts are lighter than 18 gauge, are about 0.046". Seem to be very mild grade steel.
4000 pounds? Hey, my SUV weighs 4600 pounds. I just installed this unit in my garage today (Feb 2015) I would not trust this shelf with more than 100 pounds on bottom shelf, and less on the uppers. The shelf boards are 3/8" particle board. After a little aging under stress, particle board starts to sag.
If
Read More
The 4 corner posts are lighter than 18 gauge, are about 0.046". Seem to be very mild grade steel.
4000 pounds? Hey, my SUV weighs 4600 pounds. I just installed this unit in my garage today (Feb 2015) I would not trust this shelf with more than 100 pounds on bottom shelf, and less on the uppers. The shelf boards are 3/8" particle board. After a little aging under stress, particle board starts to sag.
If you need a heavy duty shelf unit, look at the more expensive heavy duty units.
Read Less
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Nashville
Read all my Q&A
February 11, 2015
Answer: 
Doubtful especially on the pressboard shelves, may if laid across supports. Best to buy another brand
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Hanover, NH
Read all my Q&A
January 6, 2015
Answer: 
I do not think so. They are very flimsy units.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Texas
Read all my Q&A
December 28, 2014
Answer: 
The wooden shelves themselves no way, 3/8" light weight particle board with no cross braces. I weight 308 lbs and I couldn't even get my full weight onto a shelf before it started cracking. The metal braces and posts? Maybe, problem is anything you put in for a shelf that would hold 800 lbs would be stronger than the posts and braces themselves.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1

Asked by
pa
Read all my Q&A
November 4, 2014
Answer: 
I think you might be pushing the limits.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Highlands Ranch
Read all my Q&A
October 30, 2014
Answer: 
Who really knows? The box says that but if I really have two tons I would probably use something else. I am using about five of these units for general storage. Some of the weight on the shelves is significant in the range of two/three hundred pounds - papers, books, tools. There is no deflection of the shelves to-date. The other issue is that I would be hard to find eight hundred pounds of items to put Read More
Who really knows? The box says that but if I really have two tons I would probably use something else. I am using about five of these units for general storage. Some of the weight on the shelves is significant in the range of two/three hundred pounds - papers, books, tools. There is no deflection of the shelves to-date. The other issue is that I would be hard to find eight hundred pounds of items to put on the relative small shelve area unless I was storing lead. Read Less
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
 
6 answers

If I buy two of these, is it possible to build them horizontal (bench style) and have them stacked?

This question is from 36 in. W x 72 in. H x 18 in. D Steel Commercial Shelving Unit
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
August 22, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (6)

Asked by
Seattle, WA
Read all my Q&A
September 28, 2015
Answer: 
These are designed with the vertical supports being 2 x 36" = 72" tall. So you could make a "double-wide" installation. However, they are not supplied with hardware to bolt them together in this orientation. It would be easy to use other bolts, flat washers, lock washers, and nuts to secure them together. The narrow portion of the keyholes is 1/4", so 1/4-20 hardware should be fine.
This being said, if Read More
These are designed with the vertical supports being 2 x 36" = 72" tall. So you could make a "double-wide" installation. However, they are not supplied with hardware to bolt them together in this orientation. It would be easy to use other bolts, flat washers, lock washers, and nuts to secure them together. The narrow portion of the keyholes is 1/4", so 1/4-20 hardware should be fine.
This being said, if you are considering using these as a bench, then I would say that there are other shelving solutions, including at Home Depot, that would make a much better and functional "bench style" type of installation. Read Less
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Manchester, TN
Read all my Q&A
May 15, 2015
Answer: 
Yes, it is possible to have the bench style. The two bench sections would not be connected, however, I think you can connect them with additional hardware.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Nashville
Read all my Q&A
February 11, 2015
Answer: 
Not sure why but can if you bolt together
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Highlands Ranch
Read all my Q&A
October 28, 2014
Answer: 
You can arrange any way you want. Easy to do two stacked side by side. I have actually done three stacked, side by side. Have secured the top units to the wall and bolted each unit together. If you do that you will need to use a small spacer between the units.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Tennessee
Read all my Q&A
September 22, 2014
Answer: 
Each unit is 36" high pieces and so, in the package you have 8 uprights at 36" tall. To get the full 72" height you have to attach one 36" to the top of another 36" upright with a special bracket they have included. Keep in mind, I had to pound it pretty significantly with a hammer to get the uprights into that bracket. Their instructions are a bit lacking on clarity.
Now for me, I actually put together Read More
Each unit is 36" high pieces and so, in the package you have 8 uprights at 36" tall. To get the full 72" height you have to attach one 36" to the top of another 36" upright with a special bracket they have included. Keep in mind, I had to pound it pretty significantly with a hammer to get the uprights into that bracket. Their instructions are a bit lacking on clarity.
Now for me, I actually put together a full 72" high rack and then on top of that, I added a 36" section to go higher. And to make sure it was secure, I screwed it to the wall. This worked out great, especially if the items your putting on them are not too heavy. If your going to fill the rack to its 800 pound per shelf capacity, then I would not advise doing the setup like I did.
One more thing to know about these units, the boards (in my opinion) are very susceptible to being damaged easy and I feel rather brittle. They should have put 3/4" particle boards on each shelf. I would gladly have paid more to have that done. If these break, I will be replacing them with 3/4" particle boards. Or, even better, use Plywood.
The picture is actually a 48w x 24d x 72h storage rack. I then bought a second package and used half of it to add to the top of this to utilize high up the wall in the garage. Now I just need a 36w shelf to go next to it. Read Less
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Weston, Nebraska
Read all my Q&A
August 23, 2014
Answer: 
These shelves go up "tinker toy" style by fixing rivets into slots on the rails. If you want a desk with shelves on the sides, I would suggest figuring out how many kits you would need to complete your scheme. The instructions do show the shelving in a configuration of a three shelf unit with a table. I don't see how it would be that hard to add another unit to the other side. For five shelves and a Read More
These shelves go up "tinker toy" style by fixing rivets into slots on the rails. If you want a desk with shelves on the sides, I would suggest figuring out how many kits you would need to complete your scheme. The instructions do show the shelving in a configuration of a three shelf unit with a table. I don't see how it would be that hard to add another unit to the other side. For five shelves and a table in the center would probably be three kits. The three shelf units attach to one another by a metal piece that goes into the top of one unit and the rails attach to the bottom of the next unit. You may want to check the manufacturers safely suggestions for stability. Read Less
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 »
  • 2016-06-23 T15:37:15.659-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_202067995, prod, sort_default
2 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 116ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

CUSTOMER REVIEWS

  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 65ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
  • bvseo-msg: The resource to the URL or file is currently unavailable.;