Model # BR250

Internet #203822065

Extech Instruments Video Borescope and Wireless Inspection Camera
0793950632505

Extech Instruments

Video Borescope and Wireless Inspection Camera

store icon Loading Buying Options...
package icon Loading Buying Options...
Sorry, but we ran into issues loading these options. Please try refreshing.

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Video Bores cope Inspection Camera with 9 mm camera diameter and 3.5 in. color TFT LCD Monitor is ideal for Home Inspection (Inspect in walls for mold, insect infestation, electrical wire or water pipe location); HVAC ( Inspect inside ducts, behind motors and compressors); Automotive (View inside or around engines and transmissions); Industrial (Inspect weld integrity, process equipment, gears, molding machines); Aerospace (Aircraft inspections for contamination, debris, cracks or other damage) and Government (Safety and security inspections) Applications. Glare-free close-up field of view. Detachable wireless color display can be viewed from a remote location up to 32 ft. from measurement point. Complete with 4 x AA batteries, micro SD memory card with SD adapter, USB cable, extension tools (mirror, hook, magnet), video cable, AC Adapter (100-240-Volt, 50/60Hz), magnetic base stand and hard case.
  • 9 mm camera diameter and 3.5 in. color TFT LCD wireless monitor
  • Includes 2GB micro SD memory card for capturing images (JPEG) or video (AVI) for viewing on your PC
  • Detachable wireless color display can be viewed from a remote location up to 32 ft. (10 m) from measurement point
  • 39 in. (1 m) flexible gooseneck with waterproof camera (9 mm Dia and 4 built-in bright LED lights for illuminating dark areas
  • Captured videos and images can be viewed on the wireless monitor or transferred to your PC via the micro SD card or USB cable
  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Product Overview

Video Bores cope Inspection Camera with 9 mm camera diameter and 3.5 in. color TFT LCD Monitor is ideal for Home Inspection (Inspect in walls for mold, insect infestation, electrical wire or water pipe location); HVAC ( Inspect inside ducts, behind motors and compressors); Automotive (View inside or around engines and transmissions); Industrial (Inspect weld integrity, process equipment, gears, molding machines); Aerospace (Aircraft inspections for contamination, debris, cracks or other damage) and Government (Safety and security inspections) Applications. Glare-free close-up field of view. Detachable wireless color display can be viewed from a remote location up to 32 ft. from measurement point. Complete with 4 x AA batteries, micro SD memory card with SD adapter, USB cable, extension tools (mirror, hook, magnet), video cable, AC Adapter (100-240-Volt, 50/60Hz), magnetic base stand and hard case.

  • 9 mm camera diameter and 3.5 in. color TFT LCD wireless monitor
  • Includes 2GB micro SD memory card for capturing images (JPEG) or video (AVI) for viewing on your PC
  • Detachable wireless color display can be viewed from a remote location up to 32 ft. (10 m) from measurement point
  • 39 in. (1 m) flexible gooseneck with waterproof camera (9 mm Dia and 4 built-in bright LED lights for illuminating dark areas
  • Captured videos and images can be viewed on the wireless monitor or transferred to your PC via the micro SD card or USB cable
  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar

Price
$102.17 /each
Add to Cart to See Price Add to Cart to See Price
$277.07 /each
Name Video Borescope Inspection Camera Video Borescope and Wireless Inspection Camera Video Borescope and Wireless Inspection Camera Rugged Compact High-Performance VGA Recording Video Inspection System
Brand Extech Instruments Extech Instruments Extech Instruments General Tools
Ratings (1) (30) (1) (0)
Power Tool Features LCD Display,Waterproof Camera Head LCD Display,Waterproof Camera Head LCD Display,Waterproof Camera Head LCD Display,Waterproof Camera Head
Cable length (ft.) 3.125 3.3 3.3 3.28
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Cable length (ft.)
3.3
Camera head diameter (in.)
0.35
Display size (in.)
3.5
Product Depth (in.)
14.2
Product Height (in.)
7.1
Product Width (in.)
3.1

Details

Color Family
Green
LCD display
Yes
Power Tool Features
LCD Display,Waterproof Camera Head
Product Weight (lb.)
4.6lb
Returnable
90-Day
Tools Product Type
Test Meter
Waterproof camera head
Yes

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
1 year

Specifications

Dimensions

Cable length (ft.)
3.3
Camera head diameter (in.)
0.35
Display size (in.)
3.5
Product Depth (in.)
14.2
Product Height (in.)
7.1
Product Width (in.)
3.1

Details

Color Family
Green
LCD display
Yes
Power Tool Features
LCD Display,Waterproof Camera Head
Product Weight (lb.)
4.6lb
Returnable
90-Day
Tools Product Type
Test Meter
Waterproof camera head
Yes

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
1 year

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

Larger microSD memory card?

Anyone know if the Included 2GB microSD memory card can be swapped out for a larger 16GB microSD memory card? Will the unit recognize the higher capacity card?
Asked by: Steve
Hello Steve, Yes, you can upgrade the memory card ~ 16gb max size. Micro SD class 6 (or greater) TF Flash memory card.
Answered by: BK2
Date published: 2015-12-31

Is the hose suitable for running up a wall space, is it semi rigid? Can an 8' semi rigid hose be purchased for this unit?

Device is the extec 250 borescope and inspection camera
Asked by: Kevin
Hello Kevin, The standard 3' cable is suitable for running up a wall space and yes it is semi-rigid. You can purchase a 3' extension totaling 6' however it is not rigid enough to carry the weight. Gravity makes it difficult to use because you are fighting the cable the whole time.
Answered by: BK2
Date published: 2015-12-31

can you tell me measurements and capabilities of this camra

can you tell me measurements and capabilities of this camra
Asked by: Catherine
The dimensions of this product are as follows: 14.2 x 7.1 x 3.1 inches. The features are detailed on the product page.
Answered by: CommunityAnswer
Date published: 2017-02-19
  • y_2017, m_8, d_18, h_3CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_3
  • loc_, sid_203822065, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 96ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Video Borescope and Wireless Inspection Camera is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 30.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great kit with a lot of capabilities. This camera is very functional for a variety of trades. I am using it mostly to locate water leaks and to trace electric wires before making drywall cuts. Out of the box, it was ready to operate. All the buttons and slots on the LCD are intuitive. User manual is precise and had me going within 10 minutes. The feature I love the most is the wireless video stream. I can place the LCD on the tripod (included) and then twist/turn the camera tube much easily. It takes the LCD movement out of the equation and makes visuals easy to analyze. The video and picture quality is great. Also, I really appreciate that the LCD is playback capable. All my captured media is organized by date/time and I can review them immediately. Each still shot is taking about 90K space on the SD card that means the included 4GB SD card can store 45511 pictures approximately. With videos, it’s consuming about 10MB for a 30 seconds video at 30 frames per second. That means a 4GB card will give you a 3.5 hours of videos approximately. However, the LCD does give an option to lower the video frame rate (available options are 5, 10, 15, 20, 25 and 30), and that of course will give you a lot more recording time. The LCD allows a maximum of 16GB SD card. Now I am not sure what wireless technology it uses to stream from camera to LCD but during the range test I noticed some interesting results. If I am working in an area where there isn’t any other wireless device (wireless router, wireless surveillance camera) then I don’t see any signal obstruction and it does stream up to 32 feet clearly. But if I have a wireless device within a close range of the LCD then there is noticeable signal obstruction. The camera is capable of taking still shots in additional to making videos. I have to go into the settings to switch modes from Photo to Video, it would’ve been nice if I could capture Photo / Video using separate buttons without going into the settings to switch capturing mode. Captured media can be transferred to computer using USB cable (included) or by placing the SD card directly in the computer’s SD slot (SD adaptor included). I use the cable to transfer the media since it’s not easy to take the SD card out. The spring slot that locks the mini SD card in its place is a little deep than it should be. I always have to use a small flat head screw driver to gently push it inward to release or to lock it in place. Try locking it with fingertip and it never locks itself. The storage case has a fabricated template to store everything in its place. It comes with 4 plug adaptors for charging the LCD and that makes this kit usable in any continent. It also comes with a video cable that allows to stream out the video to a monitor or a TV, however an HDMI or component one would’ve been a better option. Overall, it’s a great kit and with a lot of capabilities.
Date published: 2014-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Scope for and DIYer Easy to setup and get going. Takes a little practice to get used to the way it functions and moves. The removable display is an awesome feature. Allows you to me more flexible in viewing. Has a removable SD card and a USB wire for viewing on a PC after you use. Takes video and still shots. It takes good shots from about 6 inches and out. Wouldn't recommend if you need to take a closeup of a certain product. The camera light could be a little stronger. It is a good size and weight. All in all a good product to have around the house or the shop.
Date published: 2014-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pro features for a home owner price OVERALL: Very good LCD display. Brightness of LED lights on extension works great. Easy to set up and use. Plastic handle looks a little cheap, but the quality is actually very good. DISPLAY: Very clear 3.5 inch LCD viewer. Easy to see in dark, a little harder in glare, but still works. Connection between body and display could be a weak point long term. CAMERA: Good quality 9mm. The 4 LED light around the camera really make the camera great. No issues with the fiber optic when bending or twisting. Well protected by metal casing. SETUP: Passes the don't even need the directions test. Parts fit together logically, really like the body to extension connector. CASE: Extremely well packed in a solid plastic case. All parts help immobile and separate with dense foam. Exactly the way you want your expensive electronics stored.
Date published: 2014-11-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Expected Much More... Needs better lighting I own several Extech products so when I went shopping for an inspection camera I kept coming back to it. The ratings were good, the specs were good, the price was on the higher side compared to others in the same category but it looked like it was the best choice. I also purchased the extension so I would be ready for anything. The reason I wanted an inspection camera was for construction, running low voltage communication, data, and electrical. It finally showed up a couple days ago, opened it up last night, read the manual, plugged in the charger for the unit, installed the batteries and set it aside until today. Everything is pretty straight forward, manual is thorough, case has a spot for everything including a spot for the extension if you have it. Even come with the batteries. The memory card does not secure easily but other than that it seemed fine. Until I tested it. The lighting is not near enough. Can't see much of anything inside the walls until the head is up close and personal with the side, top, or bottom. The bendable cable does not maneuver well and with the screen attached it's is all over the place. I took off the screen and had it approx. 2 feet from the handle-set and had lines running through the screen which made things confusing. I finally decided to drill an extra hole to add some lighting. It helped some but it's difficult to direct the lighting to work with the scope. What sealed the deal was adding the extension. The extension doesn't support the smaller bendable cable w/camera so you are constantly fighting gravity. Too much money for too much headache. Like I said I got this, then tested it for use in construction. Maybe other applications would be better suited however, in my opinion you're wasting your money if you want to use it for construction related issues.
Date published: 2015-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Versatile. Useful. A very cool, timesaving tool. This is a very handy tool, and a must have for contractors, plumbers, mechanics, home inspectors, homeowners and more. This borescope allows you to quickly and easily see inside of wall cavities, down drain pipes, in and around engines, into air conditioning and ventilation ducts, crawl spaces, attics, and into very tight, dark spaces. While there are innumerable professional and trade uses for a borescope, I’ve found it to be very useful in and around my home. For years, my wife and I discussed the removal of a wall to expand our dining room. By drilling a couple small holes in the drywall, which are easily repaired since we planned to repaint the room, I was able to inspect inside the wall and determine if it was load bearing and/or contained duct work, electrical wiring, etc. that would need to be relocated, before deciding whether or not to raze the wall. Using the scope, I determined that the wall was load bearing and, since removal would be a larger undertaking than either of us wanted to tackle, we decided not to remove it. To me, the headache and expense saved on that nightmarish project alone is worth the cost of this borescope. Out of the box, set up of the BR250 was easy and accomplished in only minutes. After inserting the 4 “AA” batteries (included) into the handle, sliding the 3.5-inch color LCD display into the connection point on the backside of the handle, attaching the 39-inch flexible gooseneck video cable and tightening down the retaining nut, the BR250 is ready for use. The handle is lightweight and plastic, but seems durable. In order to attach the LCD to the back of the handle, you align the shoe on the back of the LCD with the mount on the handle, similar to adding a flash attachment to a SLR/DSLR camera. 4- bright LED lights at the end of the video cable provide enough light to capture and transfer clear, color images to the 3.5-inch color LCD display, which can be installed and viewed in real-time from the backside of the handheld portion of the borescope or viewed from a remote location, up to 32-ft (10 meters) away. The video cable is metal, semi-rigid and flexible, and will hold whatever shape or angle its positioned, without dipping. Included in the kits is a magnetic pick up tool, hook and inspection mirror that attaches to the camera end for retrieving metal items from drain pipes and duct work, in between the seat cushions, etc. Still images and motion video can be captured on an included microSD memory card for later viewing, or downloaded to a PC using the included SD card adapter. Although only a 2 GB microSD memory card is included, the BR250 will accept up to a 16 GB microSD memory card. The color LCD display provides a clear view of the images, as well as date and time information, and remaining battery power. While the video cable is fairly flexible, to avoid placing a permanent kink in the cable, it’s not recommended for bends requiring more than a 45-degree viewing angle, or where less than a 6-inch or greater than a 10-inch focus distance is needed. Video or camera mode is achieved by pressing buttons on the side of the LCD screen to achieve the desired mode. While only 39-inches of video cable is included, video cable in longer length, as well as a thinner diameter, is available for the BR250. The included case with foam cut-outs ensures that the borescope, LCD display and included accessories stay neatly organized and well-protected against damage during transport to and from the job site. I especially like how simple and easy this tool is to use.
Date published: 2014-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to Use Borescope With Tiny Camera and Wireless Monitor I have always needed a video borescope and decided on the Extech Video Borescope and Wireless Inspection Camera (BR250). The 9 mm diameter waterproof camera is very desirable for inspecting small spaces such as inside engines and transmissions. The wireless monitor is also very handy. The borescope is easy to operate, and navigating through the menus and functions on the monitor is intuitive. I am quite impressed with the functions and image quality of the video. The camera body is powered by 4 x AA batteries and the monitor uses a rechargeable battery that is charged with an included A/C adapter. Images and video can be stored on an included 2 GB SD Micro Card. Data can be transmitted to a computer via an included USB 2.0 cable or SD Adapter. A video cable is also included for connecting directly to a larger monitor. My first project was finding a missing bolt that fell from the distributor in my car. I highly recommend the Extech Video Borescope for use in documenting home inspections, automotive, or any use where access and visibility is a problem.
Date published: 2014-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth Every Penny This camera allows you to go to the dark side, to those hidden crevices. It shows the true picture within its reach. Initially, it takes time to learn how to manipulate the controls but if you stay with it, you can get there.
Date published: 2014-04-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Tool for Fishing Through Walls I am sure there are dozens of applications for a tool like this, but as a tech-savvy homeowner who is constantly updating the infrastructure of our house, this makes wire fishing without destroying huge sections of drywall a piece of cake. I don't love the quality of the display, and the light is very difficult to use for getting enough light to see wires or cable without occasionally washing out the picture when you get it too close to any object. I get horrible interference when I detach the monitor, likely due to the number of wireless devices we have in our home, but it works well when connected to the handle. Also, whenever image orientation matters, I have a horrible time getting the image rotated properly on the display, since rotating the handle (and the display) is the only way to rotate the image to properly orient it. Actually, holding the handle and display perfectly upside down is most often the only way I can get the image to be right side up. But for the price, the oddly oriented low quality image and staticky wireless functionality is far better than blindly groping inside the wall or cutting large sections of drywall to fish wires and cable, and performs well enough to get the job done. If you need a tool like this for very frequent use, I would probably spend more to get more functionality and higher quality. But for a homeowner or occasional use, this model and its included accessories should be more than fine.
Date published: 2014-11-10
  • y_2017, m_8, d_18, h_10
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_30
  • loc_, sid_203822065, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 246ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT