The product you chose is discontinued, but we found something similar you might like.
Front Control Dishwasher in White with Steam Cleaning
  • GE
  • Model GDF520PGJWW
  • Internet #206355370
  • Store SO SKU #1001548164

Front Control Dishwasher in White with Steam Cleaning

Was  $399.00
$359.10 /each

Save $39.90 (10%)

Discontinued Model:

Model # GDF520PGDWW

Internet #203488900

Store SO SKU #287588

GE 24 in. Front Control Dishwasher in White with Steam PreWash
0084691245629

Discontinued GE

24 in. Front Control Dishwasher in White with Steam PreWash

  • Easy to Reach Front Controls maintain a clean exterior appearance
  • Quiet operation 54 dBA, made possible by sound absorbing material
  • Features GE sensor that monitors the water and makes adjustments

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Your GE 24 in. Front Control Dishwasher combines 65% more wash power in comparison to previous GE models. The Steam Prewash loosens those tough soils before any cycle. The Hard Food Disposer with removable filter pulverizes food particles and prevents large particles from clogging the three full-coverage wash arms. ENERGY STAR-qualified means money savings to you each time you use your GE dishwasher. GE appliances provide up-to-date technology and exceptional quality to simplify the way you live. With a timeless appearance, this family of appliances is ideal for your family.

  • Easy to Reach Front Controls on your GE dishwasher maintain a clean exterior appearance
  • Quiet operation ((54 dBA)A) is made possible by sound absorbing material and smooth running motors in this two pump system
  • Generously sized interior provides for 16 place settings and accommodates loading flexibility
  • The CleanSensor in this GE unit constantly monitors the amount of soil in the water and makes adjustments for an exceptional clean
  • Steam Prewash loosens those tough soils before any cycle, virtually eliminating the need for soaking or pre-rinsing dishes
  • ENERGY STAR-qualified unit gives you year-round energy and money savings
  • American Gray PermaTuf interior, made of Heavy-duty material, is designed for years of dependability and has an attractive finish
  • The removable upper rack lets you easily wash large items in your dishwasher
  • The Lower Rack with Silverware basket allows you the flexibility of using the door for the basket
  • Cabinet Depth Installation - Achieving an attractive, flush appearance that complements and blends in with cabinetry is possible with a unique design that doesn't reduce rack capacity
  • CleanDesign Inner Door - The clean, attractive appearance features no visible hardware, so it’s also easy to maintain
  • Shorter design with more capacity is adjustable to fit 33-1/2 in.– 34-3/4 in. tall openings. Great solution for customers who have built-up floors
  • Quick Connect Power Cord Option - Completing an outlet installation is incredibly quick with an easy-to-connect cord (sold separately)
  • Top or Side Mount Installation Brackets - Enjoy flexible installation options with brackets that can be used to mount the dishwasher under the countertop or to the cabinets on the side
  • Two-Pump System - One efficient pump for washing/rinsing and one powerful low-energy pump to remove soils provide excellent wash performance with reduced sound
  • Audible end-of-cycle signal - The dishwasher makes a sound to tell you when the load is complete and dishes are ready to unload
  • Chrome accents on control panel - Enjoy a touch of modern style with this chrome accent on the control panel
  • Click Here for details on the services included with Delivery & Basic Hook-up and Installation options for Major Appliances
  • Audible end-of-cycle signal - The dishwasher makes a sound to tell you when the load is complete and dishes are ready to unload
  • ENERGY STAR-qualified/CEE qualified - Meets or exceeds federal guidelines for energy efficiency for year-round energy and money savings

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

If we can't repair it, we'll replace it!

  • No deductibles, no additional fees
  • Parts and labor costs included
  • In-home service by authorized technicians
  • 24/7 support

Plan pricing and term options will be shown during the checkout process

Click here for more information
* Limitations and exclusions apply. See terms and conditions for complete details. For eGift Card products $2,000 and up will receive a check reimbursement.

Compare Similar

Price
Was $399.00
$359.10 /each
Save $39.90 (10%)
$449.00 /each
Was $499.00
$449.10 /each
Save $49.90 (10%)
Was $499.00
$449.10 /each
Save $49.90 (10%)
Name Front Control Dishwasher in White with Steam Cleaning 24 in. Front Control Dishwasher in White with Steam PreWash Front Control Dishwasher in White with Steam Cleaning Front Control Dishwasher in White with Hybrid Stainless Steel Interior and Steam Cleaning
Brand GE GE GE GE
Ratings (703) (1844) (247) (464)
Color/Finish Family White White White White
Door Style Front Control Front Control Front Control Front Control
Tub Material Plastic Plastic Plastic Plastic
Dishwasher Features Built-In Hose,Cycle Status Lights,Delay Start Option,Hard Food Disposer,Hard Food Filter,Heated Dry,Sensor Wash Automatic Temperature Control,Cycle Status Lights,Delay Start Option,Filtered Water,Hard Food Disposer,Hard Food Filter,Heated Dry,High Temperature Wash Option,Sensor Wash,Sound Reduction System Automatic Temperature Control,Built-In Hose,Cycle Status Lights,Delay Start Option,Hard Food Disposer,Hard Food Filter,Heated Dry,Sensor Wash Automatic Temperature Control,Built-In Hose,Cycle Status Lights,Delay Start Option,Hard Food Disposer,Hard Food Filter,Heated Dry,High Temperature Wash Option,Sensor Wash,Sound Reduction System
Dishwasher Size 24 In. 24 In. 24 In. 24 In.
Height - Maximum (in) 34.625 34.625 34.625 34.625
Hard Food Disposer or Filtration Hard Food Disposer & Filtration Hard Food Disposer & Filtration Hard Food Disposer & Filtration Hard Food Disposer & Filtration
Check Earliest Delivery Date
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code
-- -- -- --
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

Does this have touch controls or knobs?

I want a dishwasher that has knobs and not a touch control pad. Which does this have? I can't tell from the photos posted.
Asked by: tp95037
Touch. I know this sounds crazy but we actually read the manual b/c there are some nuances with the control that are not very intuitive (pressing the Start button and holding for three seconds to stop it from beeping, things like that).
Answered by: GoHorns
Date published: 2015-09-20

is this a portable?

Asked by: xyz1234567890
No
Answered by: RichardF
Date published: 2015-11-08

Does this model have a sprayer arm on the top or only on the bottom?

Asked by: LYesGoCards
It has sprayers top, middle and bottom.
Answered by: Teewoman
Date published: 2015-12-20

Is the white version textured or smooth white on the front?

Need to know if there is a texture on the front surface or not.
Asked by: Katherine
It's smooth over the entire front, even the button panel
Answered by: Justin
Date published: 2015-09-20
  • y_2017, m_3, d_28, h_16CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_71
  • loc_, sid_203488900, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 17ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

24 in. Front Control Dishwasher in White with Steam PreWash is rated 3.9 out of 5 by 1844.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dishwasher This is a nice dishwasher. It works well and is very quiet.
Date published: 2017-03-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great features I love my dishwasher. Easy cleaning. Door a little flimsy.
Date published: 2016-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product definitly recommend to anyone on a low budget I just installed it and used it last night it was awesome cleaned everything without leaving residue. What dishwasher at this price can you fit pots and pans on the top rack NONE this one can its great and very roomy, also used the steam to clean my babies bottles worked great no more having to hand wash them makes life easier for a mommy that's for sure, takes awhile though. Don't have to only use it at night cause its very quiet..I would recommend this dishwasher to anyone on a low budget its worth the money for sure! Only one thing have home depot install if you have an older home cause my old dishwasher was rigged in there bad so it was difficult to install on our own.
Date published: 2014-04-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Was hesitant to purchase after reading reviews, but so far so good. I've had this dishwasher for 3 weeks now, and have nothing bad to say so far. Does a great job of getting the dishes squeaky clean, and dries thoroughly. I was extremely hesitant to purchase given the reviews on the site, but decided to take the leap for myself. At this point I am very happy with the dishwasher, and have not had any of the problems mentioned to date. I am extremely finicky consumer, and will keep my review updated should the situation change. Extremely quiet by the way. I guess I didn't realize how loud my old dishwasher was until I got this one!
Date published: 2013-06-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product that cleans well. We had this dishwasher installed about a week and a half ago, and so far I am very pleased. It cleans really well (my silverware is sparkling like never before) and is quiet. Before buying this dishwasher, I read several reviews that complained about the dishes not getting dry, but so far that has not been a problem. I have used the heated drying setting and have also run it without this setting, and the dishes were dry to my satisfaction both ways. I love the fact that this dishwasher holds a lot of dishes, and the top rack can hold very tall cups. I like the way it looks inside and out. I also like the silverware baskets and the fact that you can place them in several locations. Overall, I am very pleased with this dishwasher and think it was a good value.
Date published: 2013-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have NO clue what Dishwasher some of the others were reviewing! Before I purchase a product I ALWAYS read the reviews, usually when I read them I start with the lowest rating (to try to save some time) and then work my way through. It was a good thing I took a chance and ignored the low reviews on this product, because 6 weeks after install I still Love this machine! I don't know what Machine some of these people were reviewing but it wasn't this one. I use my Washer 4to 5 times a week and have experienced one minor malfunction which was only due to OPERATOR error (sorry Honey I didn't mention your name ) other than that it has performed flawlessly! Regarding "wet" dishes... I DO NOT use the heating element and unload the washer about 3 hrs after the cycle has ended and for the most part the dishes are dry. The unit is extremely quiet and I have NEVER had to rewash anything. The load capacity is awesome almost to a fault, many times I run this only because I am out of dishes (AND I HAVE A SERVING FOR 8+). In addition the washer blade does an awesome job of mulching up any food particles that may make their way into the machine... I have not had to clean the screens and trap as of yet. So when considering a Product review... remind yourself.... sometimes it may be the operator and not the Machine... Good Day!!
Date published: 2013-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT GREAT DW! When I first got this DW, I did not like it! It took about 2.5 hours to run the cycle and it left all my silverware and glasses with white spots all over it. After three days of using it I was ready to have them take it back. Then my husband did some research and discovered some things you should know about all DW being made now. Turns out, first and foremost, you MUST use the liquid rinse agent like Jet Dry. The other issue I had with the DW was that it took soooo long to run. This has to do with the fact that the DW only uses about 5 gallons of water for the Whole cycle. It runs back through a filter for each stage. After adding the rinse agent and understanding the process of the machine, I LOVE LOVE this dishwasher! You can put dishes in without pre rinsing and scrubbing! Of course you want to scrape big stuff off. If you have dried hard stuff be sure to use the "Heavy" cycle. This DW is so great because it doesn't take as long to do the dishes since you don't have to "prewash" everything. You will love this DW! And as a side note, we purchased this lower end model over the same brand high end because I don't believe that the higher end one really isn't going to do any better just because it has some added "features". We have had this DW for about a year now and am still very happy with it.
Date published: 2013-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great dishwasher! Purchased this dishwasher online. We live in a manufactured home with 23 year old plumbing. Needed a 24" unit to fit in the space. Home Depot was only place we found correct size unit. We installed the unit which took a little time but was easy. The dishwasher meets all expectations. Looks great, runs quiet, has three wash wands, three wash cycles plus automatic sensing cycle and steam prewash. The utensil trays fit on outside dish basket but can be used inside the basket if one chooses. Most importantly....dishes come out clean on all cycles. Price was a little more than we planned to spend, but WELL worth the cost. We couldn't be happier with the dishwasher. We highly recommend the it.
Date published: 2014-08-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Over All a Great Dishwasher The only thing that has been an issue (twice) has been the gasket that goes around from side over the top and down the other side inside the dishwasher. It has come off twice. It is easily put back into it's place but you never know when it will pop off again. GE has been quick to take care of this issue. The dishwasher is not only sleek inside, but it cleans very well and is quiet. Love the lock feature! (grandbabies)
Date published: 2014-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good, solid dishwasher. This is our first dishwasher. We figured it was about time to bring our kitchen into the twentieth century lol. It's quiet, roomy, and has washed our dishes well so far, even after they sit in there for a couple of days. We are diligent about using the recommended detergent and rinse agent, and have had no issues with dishes being wet after washing. Three weeks in, we think we made the right decision to buy this machine. Recommended.
Date published: 2014-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Glad we ordered I was really nervous about ordering this because the reviews said dishes came out wet. But decided to ordered anyway because everything else sounded great. My husband hooked it up when I was out of town and said he did a load and the dishes came out soaking wet. Not sure what he had it set to but I thought for sure the review were right and we were going to have to take back. When I came home, I read the directions and tired setting it on every thing it said to do when dishes were not drying. It took forever and it seem like a waste of money to have it run that long because we rinse our dishes before putting them in. I decided to try one more setting (light load and heat dry) The dishes came out clean and DRY and didn't take so long. Now that we found the setting that works for us. We LOVE this dishwasher. It is so quiet and works great. So glad I decided to take a chance and order anyways. :)
Date published: 2013-09-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Dishes are sparkling! I needed a bisque dishwasher and had a GE before. The inside is more spacious, taller, with the silverware bin on the outside of the dish racks. Dishes load and fit nicely. Putting the spoons, forks in each section is a hassle, so I choose to open the blue top and place them loosely. I only need to run the unit every 2-3 days since there's only two of us. The dishes come out sparkling. The cycles run a lot longer: a normal setting without the heat to dry takes almost 2 hours. The light cycle is shorter, about 1:15. This machine is very quiet, you hardly know it is running. I haven't tried the steam prewash, it is for heavily soiled stuck-on food.
Date published: 2014-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good after a few weeks This dishwasher purchased to replace our 9 year old dishwasher that came with our new home. It's definitely a great improvement over our old dishwasher which had basically rotted out and we could no longer run. We purchased the white color to match the rest of our appliances, but it was difficult to purchase the white model. Had to have some help from Home Depot chat online. The model # for the white version is gdf520pgd1ww. We also purchased while it was on sale which was a bonus and gave us this model for the price of the model right beneath it. The reviews in general were good for this model compared to the reviews for even more expensive models of dishwashers. Many of the poor reviews for this model appear to be because it didn't dry well or because of what was or appeared to be improper installation. Also misunderstanding or not reading the instructions thoroughly befor using. I'm saying some of this in hindsight but after reading a hundred reviews or more on various dishwashers, it was apparent prior to purchasing this model. Giving a dishwasher a One Star because it didn't quite dry your dishes is a bit draconian. After carefully researching about 20 dishwashers in the $300 to $600 price range, this one is now installed in our home. We've had it for approximately 3 weeks now and have had some time to use it. Have run approximately 10 loads of dishes in it from pots/pans to dishes and combinations of both. Fairly new home and a basic understanding of plumbing, electrical and some help from Home Depot employees, I installed myself. The results are positive. This dishwasher takes a couple of hours to wash a load of dishes but it cleans the dishes. Only place we found that it would not clean a cup or glass was in the upper rack at the front corners. The wash arm does not quite reach those corners and we learned not to put glasses there, bowls wash fine there, we just point the opening toward the back of the machine. Otherwise, this dishwasher is excellent for cleaning even tough baked on food. The long wash times actually produce steam throughout and turns food into mush. The water jets then wash it off. Before our old washer died we found that we were basically washing dishes before putting them in. Now we're just rinsing out large food into disposal and letting this dishwasher do the rest. Plenty of room inside the dishwasher, much more than our previous washer. Love the attachable silverware baskets. Has an additional attachable basket for small items or other silverware. Used for grandbabies bottle accessories, nipples, rings, etc.,. Also washed a few wine glasses using the wine bottle adapters. If you drink alot of wine and frequently wash wine glasses, these are handy for suspending delicate wine glasses. When I removed my old dishwasher, the PEX cable which carries the water to dishwasher was attached by a clamp that was basically stuck to the old dishwasher. I had no choice but to cut the PEX at the entry point to the old dishwasher. Fortunately a couple of employees at Home Depot showed me an adapter to adapt the PEX to the flex connector (see install kit). Long story short, that was my biggest problem during the installation was explaining to a Home Depot employee what my situation was and understanding it myself. Didn't need a shut off valve because this house has a panel to control water to the entire house. If you need a shut off valve to dishwasher, good time to install one. I finally snipped a tiny piece of PEX off the end of the hose, about 1/8 inch and took it to Home Depot store. The HD employee helped me find an adapter piece, demonstrated how to use it with PEX and guided me into purchasing the right pieces for the job. An additional $7 in adapter pieces and no leaks in the inbound water connector. If you purchase the install kit, you will still need a power cord. Just like an old dryer, you basically connect positive, negative and ground. The delivery guy advised me to pull the old power cord because the installation kit DOES NOT have a power cord. Again fairly new home, has under counter power plug behind dishwasher specifically for this purpose. Easily able to wire the dishwasher to the power cord using proper connectors, plenty of electrical tape and plug into the wall. Additionally, per the instruction manual, the very first wash cycle leaked at the front corners of the unit. We mopped up about a cup of water after running for a few minutes. However, this was a necessary step on first use to moisturize the rubber seals at the door edges. Read instruction manual. After the first few minutes, we turned off, reset, and ran again. No more leaks from that time to today. This was another reason for poor reviews from some users who probably didn't read the manual and knew this was to be expected. At end of wash cycle, we crack the door open, pull the top tray out enough to prop the door open. Let sit for about 30 minutes, then put dry dishes away. Have friends who spent $200 more for brand named dishwashers who do the same thing. If you have container bottoms that have a lip around them that is not slotted to allow water drainage, you will have some water retention if that lip is facing straight up. Haven't had a dishwasher in the last 15 years that will dry that water up. This model will not either.
Date published: 2013-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product overall Bought this item to replace a ten year old Kitchenaide. Installed it myself with no problem. DW holds quite a few dishes and gets them CLEAN, Only negative would be on the utensil baskets. Should say first that there are two baskets that hold a lot of items. Some of our silverware has an unusual shape and won't fit in the slots provided in the utensil baskets. Also, large kitchen knives placed in the side basket will interfere with the upper spray arm. Putting them in the front basket easily solves this problem. Steam preclean seems to work as promised and overall DW performs in an excellent manner. Works much better than our old one (even when that was new). Heartily recommends this model.
Date published: 2013-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love this dishwasher We have had this dishwasher for about a month now, and I love it. We chose this one primarily because we didn't want to spend more than $500 on the machine + install. This machine is very very quiet, honestly you can hardly even tell it's running sometimes. It gets the dishes perfectly clean, I actually didn't realize how poorly my old (dying) dishwasher was working until we ran a load through this new one and everything was sparkling clean! Also this dishwasher seems HUGE on the inside vs. my old one - I can fit a large dinner plate AND a small dessert plate side-by-side, which I've never been able to do in any other dishwasher. Like other reviewers, I took out all of the blue covers on the utensil holders, they seemed unecessary. But even the silverware on the bottom front come out perfectly clean, though I understand there is a dedicated spray arm for the silverware basket so I guess that's to be expected. I have been using Normal Wash-Sanitize-Heated Dry cycle. I read some reviews that the dishes were not drying even with the Heated Dry cycle, but I have not had that problem at all. I usually start the dishwasher before I go to bed, and when I wake up in the morning my dishes are all clean and dry. I love this dishwasher, it's perfect for us.
Date published: 2013-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I like this products features. I truly do not have to pre-rinse the dishes before loading. Even dried egg and baked on grime comes clean. Since I do not have a disposal, I just rake off the solid food residue beforehand. It is very quiet! The racks are easy to load and accommodate many size articles. It even has one for wine glasses. The steam feature was new to me, as well as the sani cycle which will be useful during flu season. I am very pleased with my purchase. I even installed it myself!
Date published: 2014-06-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Sounded like an ice deal, but full of problems This sounded like a wonderful dishwasher with lots of great features at a great price point. It worked just fine for 3 weeks then started retaining water after washing and the sound the pump made changed. GE sent a technician to check it out and he plugged in his computer and checked the error codes. He said the pump works fine, so nothing wrong that he could tell. The only thing he could suggest was possible the drain hose was too long. He also explained that this is an entirely new type of dishwasher that functions on only 0.8 gallons of water and senses the dirt in the water. The hose was shorter then our old dishwasher, but we went ahead and shortened it as much as physically possible. It didn't help at all and the dishwasher continued to retain water after a wash. Then we had another problem, the tub filled and leaked out the seals all over my kitchen floor. I can tell you, without a doubt, this dishwasher uses more then 0.8 gallons. It dumped at least a gallon on my kitchen floor and retained another 3 gallons inside that I had to manually remove. I expect when buying a brand new dishwasher to have no problems, and now with 2 problems, I was done with it. If it has thins many issues when it's less than 3 months old I can't imagine after a few years. Home Depot initially would not take the dishwasher back without approval from GE. GE wanted to send another technician, and then offered an exchange. I was very reluctant to exchange it with the same model, it seems clear it's too new of a model that the bugs have not been worked out yet. Home Depot did then deal with GE and finally offer to a return on it. I appreciate the work of Home Depot, but I am unimpressed with GE.
Date published: 2012-12-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Happy with it! While researching GE dishwashers, (wanted a GE to match my other appliances) I found this to have the cleanest control panel for the price. When the delivery guys unpacked it, I found it to look exactly as pictured on the site. I'm glad I kept the power cord from my the old dishwasher as the GE came ready only to be hardwired. Once installed, I started a cycle so I could check for leaks. The dishwasher is very quiet! Once I ran it fully loaded, I found the it did a fantastic job cleaning. My two issues are that I find the individual utensil slots, to be oddly sized and I think for the price the interior should be stainless steel. Overall, I highly recommend it.
Date published: 2014-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love it, love it we replaced our old dishwasher with this one and love it. we didn't know how bad our old dishwasher was until now. This thing is so quiet and cleans like you would not believe. I have plates that are 11 1/2 inches across and they fit in here standing up. this dishwasher is in one word AWESOME.
Date published: 2012-11-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice dishwasher for the price Replaced our 15 year old GE Profile dishwasher with this lower end model as we are thinking of a complete kitchen makeover later and may change out appliance colors. It seems to clean thoroughly, but the entire cycle takes a long time compared to our old model. It is extremely quiet, and is easy to program. I use it without all the extras, such as temp boost and auto drying. We had it installed by Home Depot, and the young men did an excellent job. So far, I'm pleased with the looks and performance. Also, it came in the bisque color we needed to match our other appliances.
Date published: 2014-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great purchase Great dish washer for the price and would make the purchase all over again. Runs and cleans about the same as the GE we replaced which had most of the same features. This one is a little more energy efficient and runs so quite you have to check to see if it is running. Takes about two hours to run the normal cycle plus the drying time of about 45 minutes.
Date published: 2013-11-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Quiet and efficient but has problems holding dishes We bought this dishwasher off the Home Depot Website without looking at one in advance. We should have looked at the inside first. The dishwasher is very quiet and efficient. But, the top rack is divided in a way that glasses are not held in place. So, you have to open and close the rack very carefully or the glasses all fall over. Nothing has broken yet, but it is really not a good way to set up the glassware section. Also, the bottom doesn't have a good place for cereal and salad bowls. The tines, if that is the right word, are not far enough apart to hold bowls, only plates. So, we are having to run the dishwasher more often than we would like. This is because we are having to put the bowls in cross-wise, so they take up a lot more space than if they fit into slotted spaces.
Date published: 2013-06-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Cleans only on SANI cycle, takes a LONG time to clean I rarely post ratings on items that I've purchased and owned less than six months, longer if possible. We've had this dishwasher for about a month and already I'm seeing how it compares to the previous model that we owned. Firstly, it is one of the first "energy efficient" models that will be coming out. Pulsing (starting and stopping) all throughout the cycles is normal. We called a technician because we thought that there was something wrong with the machine. It kept stopping while it was washing and also while it was draining. The technician told us that it is a normal function of these new "energy effcient" models. We have found that it does not clean well at all unless you leave it on the Sani(tizer) option. If you just use the Autosense without it, you will still have dishwasher residue on the door and silverware at the end of the cycle. It also takes a LOT longer to complete a cycle than the standard (non-engergy efficient) dishwashers. It will run for well over an hour during a wash cycle and over two hours on the Steam cycle. These issues should be taken into consideration when choosing a new dishwasher.
Date published: 2013-01-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great dishwasher. No complaints. Do not let others negative reviews deter you. They likely installed it wrong or did not read directions. I uninstalled old dishwasher and installed new one in about an hour. I replaced all the hoses, etc with new ones that came with the dishwasher. The dishwasher makes a low "whirrrrrrr" noise during first part of cycle, but it is not really noticeable. It has a lot of features, is relatively quiet, and I purposely put in pots, pans and plates with hard stuck on food just to test it out. It cleaned everything just fine. If you "need" dry dishes, turn on heated dry and they will be dry. The complaints that it runs "long" is just a sign of the times. It uses less water than older models, but runs longer doing so. All newer washers do this. Get over it.
Date published: 2015-01-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Do Not Buy - Not a Good Model! It has been 5 months after buying this dishwasher & I've had problems since day 1. Does not wash dishes properly; keeps water in unit after washing dishes; and the rubber around the door keeps popping out. I've had a technician come out once before to service the appliance and I probably will need to have another visit. First visit resolution turned out the the tray piece on the door has utensils height limit; long utensils will block the soap dispenser. Okay. Moved the tray from the door but still does not wash dishes properly. GE is a good brand but this model is my worse GE appliance I have ever owned.
Date published: 2014-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Dishwasher Ever! When I purchased this DW I read the reviews. While there were a lot of 5 star reviews, I always look at the 1 and 2 star reviews as well to see what people don't like about a product before I purchase. I have to say I don't know why anyone would be disappointed with this DW. It is so quiet I have to listen to see if it's running. It cleans wonderfully well, is well built, and has the features I was looking for. It is one of the best buys I have ever made. I love it!
Date published: 2014-08-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Unhappy with GE washer Washer does not do a good job. Half to 3/4 of the time after wash cycle is purportedly complete most of the dishwasher soap is still running down the door and we have to run a second complete wash cycle. Occasionally some items, particularly eating utensils, even those rinsed off before placing in washer, are not clean and have to be rewashed by hand. Dishes, particularly eating utensils and glasses, are not dry at end of cleaning cycle with "heated dry" turned on; have to hand dry dishes emptying washer. This is the most unsatisfactory washer we have had.
Date published: 2013-12-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Extremely frustrated and disappointed Item was installed by the Home Depot contractor (GE Technician) on 11/6/13. After 22 days of use, I discovered the unit was leaking a considerable amount of water in my formal dinning room and along the baseboards. I was informed the unit contained a design flaw that caused clamps to become loosened during normal operations, affecting and damaging a coupling which in turn created a significant water leak due to vibration. The unit had to be retrofitted with "boots/hoses" and I am keeping my fingers crossed this retrofit will work.
Date published: 2014-01-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very nice product Product seems to be well built and name brand. But it doesn't come with the hoses and the plug. But they are recommended items for any new appliance installation. If they are needed then they should come with the product. I just want to get the item and have everything I need without finding out something is missing once we get back home from the store.
Date published: 2015-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great dishwasher!! This dishwasher has all the great features of the "expensive ones". It does have plastic walls but that doesn't seem to deminish the performance in any way. it is very quiet just like it is listed in the product details.Love the look, easy to clean any spills or finger prints. Very pleased!
Date published: 2014-07-30
  • y_2017, m_3, d_29, h_4
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_1844
  • loc_, sid_203488900, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 92ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT