The product you chose is discontinued, but we found something similar you might like.
28.5 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Slate
  • GE
  • Model GNE29GMHES
  • Internet #205502677
  • Store SO SKU #1001100618

28.5 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Slate

Discontinued Model:

Model # GNE26GMDES

Internet #203533361

Store SO SKU #700052

GE 26.3 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Slate
0084691249436

Discontinued GE

26.3 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Slate

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

The GNE26GMDES 26.3 cu. ft. French-Door Refrigerator offers an array of features for your convenience including an in-door water filter, and FrostGuard defrost technology. It also features Showcase LED lighting, positioned throughout the interior and under fresh food doors to spotlight foods inside both the refrigerator and freezer. And with GE's exclusive Pure and Clean Filtration system, you have the peace of mind that your water is fresh and clean.

  • Factory-installed icemaker eliminates the need to fill ice trays and ensures you have a steady supply of ice on hand
  • GE’s exclusive advanced filtration system removes trace pharmaceuticals from water and ice
  • Internal controls with actual-temperature display eliminate the guesswork of temperature setting with actual degrees displayed digitally
  • TwinChill evaporators with separate climates in the fresh food and freezer sections help maintain temperature and humidity levels, keeping foods fresh
  • 5 Glass shelves total with 3 spill proof that contain spills and simplify cleanup, preventing liquids from leaking onto shelves below
  • QuickSpace shelf functions as a normal full-sized shelf when needed and easily slides down for instant storage flexibility
  • Full-width adjustable temperature-controlled drawer has 5 accurate settings deliver the optimal temperature for your favorite foods
  • 17.8 cu. ft. Fresh food capacity provides additional interior space, while 8.5 cu. ft. freezer capacity allows for additional storage space
  • 3 Freezer baskets provide organized storage for frozen foods
  • Express your unique style and harmonize your kitchen space with GE's new Slate finish, a sophisticated, rich and amazingly versatile matte metallic finish
  • Showcase LED lighting positioned throughout the interior and under fresh food doors to spotlight foods inside the refrigerator and incandescent in the freezer
  • 3 Fresh food cabinet drawers, including 1 full-width, adjustable temperature and 2 adjustable humidity
  • Three Door French Door Refrigerator has two fresh food doors, and one bottom mount freezer drawer
  • Click Here for details on the services included with Delivery & Basic Hook-up and Installation options for Major Appliances
  • Advanced water filtration uses RPWFE replacement filter - Reduces trace pharmaceuticals from water and ice* (* Removes 98% of ibuprofen, atenolol, fluoxetine, progesterone and trimethoprim. These pharmaceuticals are not necessarily in all users’ water)
  • Click here to learn more about GE Slate Appliances

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

If we can't repair it, we'll replace it!

  • No deductibles, no additional fees
  • Parts and labor costs included
  • In-home service by authorized technicians
  • 24/7 support

Plan pricing and term options will be shown during the checkout process

Click here for more information
* Limitations and exclusions apply. See terms and conditions for complete details. For eGift Card products $2,000 and up will receive a check reimbursement.

Compare Similar

Price
Was $1,999.00
$1,799.10 /each
Save $199.90 (10%)
$1,999.00 /each
Was $2,999.00
Special Buy $2,553.00
$2,297.70 /each
Save $701.30 (23%)
Was $3,199.00
Special Buy $2,775.00
$2,497.50 /each
Save $701.50 (22%)
Name 28.5 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Slate 26.3 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Slate 35.75 in. W 27.8 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator with Hands Free Autofill in Slate, ENERGY STAR 35.75 in. W 27.8 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator with Keurig K-Cup in Slate, ENERGY STAR
Brand GE GE GE Profile GE Profile
Ratings (382) (320) (63) (14)
Color/Finish Family Slate Slate Slate Slate
Refrigerator Width (In.) 35.75 35.75 35.75 35.75
Counter Depth (Yes/No) No No No No
Depth (Excluding Handles) 33.75 33.25 in 35.25 35.25
Capacity (cu. ft.) - Refrigerators 28.5 26.3 27.8 27.8
Height to Top of Door Hinge 69.875 69 in 69.875 69.875
Check Earliest Delivery Date
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code
-- -- -- --
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

22 Questions35 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

26.3 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Slate
26.3 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Slate

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
 
1 answer

The refrigerator has become extremely noisy. Sounds like a fan is going bad. How do I determine this is the cause of the noise?

This question is from 26.3 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Slate
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
December 17, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer (1)

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
December 23, 2015
Answer: 
Hi Rog-this is Sue from GE Appliances. We apologize for any inconvenience. A qualified service technician is required for an accurate diagnosis. We suggest to contact GE Consumer Service at 1-800-432-2737 for assistance or visit GEAppliances. com. Thanks for reaching out to us!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
 
1 answer

How much side clearance is required to open the doors to 90 degrees. Manual says only 1/8" but that may be only for the cabinet itself

This question is from 26.3 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Slate
Asked by
Ithaca NY
Read all my Q&A
March 14, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer (1)

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
March 15, 2015
Answer: 
Hello - this is Nancy at GE and I am happy to help you. In a 90 degree door opening situation (with extended wall), there is no extra space needed, since the door opens within the width of the refrigerator cabinet. If the door needs to be opened more than 90 degrees to remove the full-size pan without disassembly, then a 17" clearance is needed. I hope this helps! Thanks for checking with us!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
 
1 answer

Which range has handles that match this refridgerator?

This question is from 26.3 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel
Asked by
bozeman, montana
Read all my Q&A
November 24, 2014
I'm contemplating 2 different ranges to match this fridge. Do either of these ranges have the same handles as this fridge? JGB760SEFSS or JGB697SEHSS? Thanks!
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer (1)

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
November 29, 2014
Answer: 
Hello - this is Nancy at GE and I am happy to help you. Either of these two ranges would match this refrigerator. This refrigerator has designer style stainless steel handles, and the two ranges have designer-style stainless steel handles as well. I hope this helps! Thanks for checking with us!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
 
1 answer

Is there a way to bypass using a water filter for the icemaker since I am hooked up to an r/o system in the french door model GNE26GMDES

This question is from 26.3 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Slate
Asked by
Henderson
Read all my Q&A
August 19, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer (1)

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
August 19, 2014
Answer: 
Hello - this is Nancy at GE and I am happy to help you with regard to your refrigerator.
Yes, if the water supply to the refrigerator is from a Reverse Osmosis Filtration System, then we recommend using the refrigerator's filter bypass plug. This bypass plug comes with the refrigerator. Using the refrigerator's water filtration cartridge in conjunction with the RO water filter can result in hollow ice Read More
Hello - this is Nancy at GE and I am happy to help you with regard to your refrigerator.
Yes, if the water supply to the refrigerator is from a Reverse Osmosis Filtration System, then we recommend using the refrigerator's filter bypass plug. This bypass plug comes with the refrigerator. Using the refrigerator's water filtration cartridge in conjunction with the RO water filter can result in hollow ice cubes.
I hope this helps! Thanks for checking with us! Read Less
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
2 »
  • 2016-10-31 T02:15:19.136-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_203533361, prod, sort_default
2 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 89ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

26.3 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Slate is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 320.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to clean surface Easy to clean, smudge free surface and still blends well with other stainless steel appliances.
Date published: 2013-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I would buy this 'fridge again! I LOVE my new refrigerator. Initially I looked at it only because it had the freezer on the bottom, but I quickly liked the size and layoutt. The adjustable shelving is generous and easy to move. It looks great and works efficiently. It's nice and quiet as well.
Date published: 2013-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic! I did a lot of research on refrigerators and read many, many reviews before settling on this make and model. My house is a summer house and seasonal rental so I opted not to get the front water/ice dispenser to cut down on things that can go wrong. The refrigerator is large sized, and a nice internal layout. I chose the split doors, bottom freezer as that is what I have at my other house and wonder why people continue to chose top freezer models. This thing looks and works perfectly. I also got a great deal from Home Depot. The only negative with the stainless steel model is the handles always looks smudged. They do clean up nice with one of those stainless steel wipe clothes but be prepared to have smudged handles on it. This is especially true for me with small kids.
Date published: 2013-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from over all love it only thing that is driving me crazy in the plastic that they use on the doors, still trying to peel it off 1 month later anyone have any ideas how to get it off. What they do in put it on before it is put together so in is stuck inside the seals. Other then that it is a great refrigerator!
Date published: 2013-08-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Decent fridge with cheap parts and poor customer service the fridge overall is decent. lots of storage and great use of compartments. BUT, with less than 6 months of owning the fridge something broke not allowing for the left door to open or close. Called GE customer service and they immediately scheduled an appointment. The day before the appointment received a call from the technician who refused to come out to see what was broken. He insisted he knew what was wrong and ordered the part. The part arrived one week later and another technician came in and discovered that there were two parts actually defective...now we have to wait yet another week to get the fridge fixed. Again, all of this could have been avoided if the first technician just did his job...
Date published: 2013-01-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from issue with plastic wrap on Refridgerator The product features are nice and I would recommend. The plastic that we have been unable to remove is what is ruining the "look" of the new fridge.
Date published: 2013-10-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great space and look poor manufacturing I would agree with everyone that has posted a positive comment about the look and space that this refridgerator offers, however, the manufacturing of the product could use some review and tweaking. We are currently expecting the delivery of fridge #6 tomorrow morning because the previous 5 have all had manufacturing defects. The "waves" on the sides because of the lack of insulation or poor production has varied each time and there has been paint missing on the sides of the fridge because it hasn't had the proper amount of time to dry before being moved or boxed. The biggest concern has been with the right hand door hinge. The door at the very top right corner has too much insulation in it causing it to push again the hinge which is screwed in at an angle because the screw holes that were drilled aren't drilled straight down. After purchasing a new home and needing all 6 appliances #fridge, dishwasher, range, microwave, washer, and dryer# we went with all GE. The dishwasher is amazing and the range is great, even the washer and dryer can't be beat but I really think GE needs to look at their production of this new fridge that they recently released. Even the stores floor model where we purchased the fridge has the same defects that we are experiencing with each delivery at our home! I said no for the recommendation as of current until these issues can be fixed, if they were this would make an amazing fridge with great space and a great look! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2013-06-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from GNE26GMDES Overall this product is great so far with one exception which I will get to. The color, slate, works well with almost any decor while the stainless handles tie in with other appliances in the room. It has plenty of room up top and the freezer is OK. Now to the one problem. This thing is NOISEY! It is much louder than the dishwasher by the same manufacturer. We have an open floor plan with vaulted ceilings and we can hear the motor in all the common rooms. Would I recommend? Yes [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2013-08-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Louder than I expected No problems with the refrigerator but it is a lot louder than I expected. It is louder than the 15 year old refrigerator that was replaced.
Date published: 2013-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loads of food cargo space and plenty of light! We just purchased this GE product and we love it!  This refrigerator conveniently holds a lot more food than our old side by side model.  No more trying to fit everything in on small single shelves.  The pull out bottom freezer is the perfect size.  The lighting is very bright, so it is easy to find things and having the temperature settings on the door is a helpful reminder.  We like the option of the door alarm.  Excellent quality for the money.  Hands down the best refrigerator we've had to date.
Date published: 2013-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellant desiign We were looking for months to find a GE Refrigerator/Freezer with this design and finally found one that had been on floor display. The French Door is ideal for us and is proving it was worth the wait and effort to find it. There is plenty of space above and below which stores enough food and perishables for the four adults in our family. The unit is energy efficient and runs very quiet. There is adequate lighting in the two compartments; has digital numbers in the lead edge of the upper door to show temperatures separate for refrigerator and freezer; and an appropriate alarm that sounds if a compartment has been left open longer than a predetermined time. We are enjoying it!
Date published: 2015-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy Fridge is quiet and everything I expected it to be. Very pleased
Date published: 2015-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product has great features I love the alarm on it, it already has been used at least 3 times ! and I also like the temp. on the inside of the door, the feature of the shelf that goes in half is a life saver for tall items that don't fit on the door . [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2013-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best purchase ever This refrigerator was the best purchase of all the item we bought during our kitchen remodeling project. It has also reduce out electric bill by $40.00 a month.
Date published: 2015-08-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Nice! I bought this on October 20th, 2013.  I bought the frig, dishwasher, gas range and over range microwave all in slate.  I really love the color of these appliances.  I read all the reviews about noise and hard to peel off protective plastic.   The frig was somewhat noisy at first ( about the first 6 hours ) but then it quieted down to what I consider a reasonable sound.  I too, like some other reviewers have an open floor plan and used to could not run my dishwasher while watching TV.  The frig is just a slight bit louder than my old one ( 14 years old ) but nothing distracting.  I think some of the other reviews didn't give it enough time initially to cool down completely.  I love this frig. As for the protective coating...I suggest you DO NOT let your delivery man remove it.  First one delivered they dented door and went ahead and removed film and did a lousy job because they were in a hurry.  Second one we took off plastic and took our time and it came off just fine.  The only recommendation I would have is that the inner large frig drawer at bottom of top section was split in two so you wouldn't have to open both doors to access stuff in this larger drawer.  I don't know that I would ever have anything that would take up the entire width of the frig.   So to sum up...Love the frig after just a week and would definitely recommend to others!  Color is awesome and really makes our kitchen appear more upscale!!
Date published: 2013-10-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Stopped working after 7 WEEKS Loved the fridge, until it started dying for no reason. GE came twice to replace the mother board...Didn't work. Now I'm waiting for them to come a 3rd time. Meanwhile my family of 5 are living out of 2 coolers for the past week. Their tech's are a joke, they have no idea what's wrong, but wont replace it. Never will I buy GE again.
Date published: 2014-10-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Nice when it works.............. I bought this refrigerator at the end of September 2014. I love it, when it works. Since then, I have had to have the circulation fan motor in the refrigerator part replaced 4 times. When it quits, the refrigerator stops working but the freezer still works. Now that I am coming off my 1 year warranty, GE wants me to buy an "extended" warranty, FAT CHANCE. I am sick and tired of this same motor/fan failing EVERY 3 months or so. A very poorly designed piece of equipment. If it happens again, I will demand replacement of this unit under the "lemon law". GE, get your stuff together and get this, continual, problem resolved.
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This refrigerator has alot of room works great for our family. Beautiful refrigerator- so many of the reviews talk about hard to keep the outside clean-it is stainless steel that is one of the cons of any stainless appliance. Yes, you will have to clean it more often but I have been wiping it down with a cloth with water on it and then wipe it dry and it works great. We don't have the water connected so as far as anything regarding that I wouldn't don 't have an opinion. I am not happy with the little bit of paperwork you receive on this appliance. That's why I don't understand the drop down dairy compartment tray. I have it as the picture shows but I don't understand the purpose of it. I have never had the bottom freezer- I like that feature alot. Overall very happy with this purchase. I do agree the plastic covering it is a pain to get off. I pulled out the rubber gasket around all of it and cut the plastic off with a razor blade- this worked good.
Date published: 2014-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product for our family! We were looking for a fridge/freezer that gave us more storage options and space. We definately found it in this product. We are nothing but pleased with our purchase. Got a great deal from HD website and used the instore super screen, which was cheeper than in store product price. GE creates a quality product
Date published: 2014-03-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Take care! Plastic protective coating is almost impossible to remove! This is a huge refrigerator. It has nice styling and storage, but even though it is "energy efficient" there is a lot of room to keep cool. I returned mine because after spending hours trying to remove the protective coating it was still stuck under the handles and all around the rubber gaskets. GE was less than helpfull, offering advice to use tweezers and dish soap, and to remove the handles ourselves to get the plastic out from under them. I don't think so!
Date published: 2013-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Over all great product. Considered similar major brands but choose this based on reviews and style and we are glad we did. Interior is sturdy and user friendly. Lighting is excellent. Quite ice machine that makes lots of ice. We would highly recommend this product.
Date published: 2013-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it. Fridge works great, my only complaint is I cannot get one that isn't damaged..I have had 3 delivered from Depot and they all have had some sort of scratch or ding on them. Am now dealing directly with GE to replace the damaged door.
Date published: 2013-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great appliance! So far our new refrigerator is working nicely. It has so much storage space which is set up efficiently. The freezer has nice storage too, with 2 pull-out drawers so you don't have to stack things on top of one another too much. Love the digital display inside the door to let me know the exact temp of both freezer and fridge. The door alarm is great too, when the kids forget to shut the door completely. Everyone that has seen it loves the new slate finish. The only fingerprints are on the stainless steel handles which are pretty easy to clean up. So glad we didn't go with stainless appliances. The slate is wonderful and very upscale looking. The only issue I have with this appliance is the whole thing tends to roll forward when you try to open the freezer door. I'll have to look into how to lock the wheels or put a little something in front of them to keep fridge in place. When you do need to move unit, it slides so easily - another great feature. We did not get the ice maker/water filter version so we have more space inside the fridge which I love. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2013-05-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Very noisy, poor quality We loved the new slate color and bought 4 appliance including this fridge. Unfortunately we have had many issues with the quality of it including insulation pouring out of the door seams, detached and ripped gasket and mainly French documentation included with no helpful English material. On top of it all it is a VERY loud running fridge. It has become a complete nuisance listening to all the time. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2013-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Secret Space! I've only had this appliance a few days but am impressed with the interior design and ease of access. Most surprising, was to find the freezer's hidden space! Until I leaned right over the freezer drawer when restocking the fridge I'd no idea about the compartment at the back of the freezer drawer that just folds out. It is roomy enough to put small bottles, emergency ice packs, and frozen juice cans and makes reaching these small items much easier. Great Idea.
Date published: 2015-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Initial fit,finish and function is right on target! After the pain of removing the protective door film from the corners of the exterior doors[I think you guys put the film on first to protect finish during assembly] rest was easy. I miss the manuel,the quick start instructionsdidn't tell you how to turn the icemaker on. Yes!, I found the complete manuel online,so I guess I can't missplace it. One thing I would like is faster ice production,but it is to spec. in the Troubleshooting guide on line. I have yet to be dissapionted in any GE product purchased. Thanks, Rick
Date published: 2013-08-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Looks great, works well, but noisy. Tons of space with features that are actually useful, not just gimmicks. However, when the condenser kicks on (which is often) it makes an incredibly annoying high pitched buzz for several minutes and when it turns off, there's a series of clunks. Everything appears to run well, but it is not an enjoyable machine to run running nearby if you spend a lot of time in your kitchen or have an open concept living area.
Date published: 2014-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The color matches everything, it's beautiful. The color matches the white appliances I have and I didn't have to buy what I don't need. I love it, it's easy to use. Everything is accessible. YEA!!
Date published: 2014-10-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from LOOKS GREAT BUT DESIGN FUNCTIONALITY IS HORRIBLE WE PURCHASED ALL NEW SLATE GE APPLIANCES FOR OUR NEW HOME BECAUSE I DIDNT WANT THE HIGH MAINTENANCE STAINLESS STEEL AND I AM SORRY I DIDN'T DO MY HOMEWORK. THESE ARE THE NOISIEST DOORS TO OPEN AND CLOSE AND THE MUST BE CLOSED FIRMLY OR THEY DONT CLOSE AT ALL. WE ARE CONSTANTLY HEARING THE ALARM THAT A DOOR IS OPEN. (WHY THAT FEATURE IS NECESSARY!) THE BINS ON THE FRENCH DOORS ARE SO SHALLOW THEY WONT HOLD ANY OF THE PRODUCTS ONE NORMALLY PUTS ON DOORS, LIKE BEER BOTTLES AND KETCHUP! THEY FALL OVER OR FALL OUT OF THE BIN WHEN THE DOORS SWING SHUT. ONE SHELF HAS A BAR UNDERNEATH THAT LIMITS THE HEIGHT OF WHAT ONE CAN PUT UNDERNEATH IT. THE TOP SHELF OF THE FREEZER PULLS OUT ONLY HALFWAY SO IT'S DIFFICULT TO GET SMALLER ITEMS FROM THE BACK, OR CLEAN OUT THE BACK OF THE ICE TRAY. I WANT AN APPLIANCE THAT IS FUNCTIONAL AND EASY TO CLEAN. I WOULD SUGGEST GE USE "REAL" HOMEMAKERS" TO HELP DESIGN THEIR APPLIANCES.
Date published: 2014-07-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very nice product Lots of storage. Lots of light. Built very well.
Date published: 2014-12-23
  • y_2017, m_1, d_21, h_3
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_320
  • loc_, sid_203533361, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 84ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT