The product you chose is discontinued, but we found something similar you might like.
28.5 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Slate
  • GE
  • Model GNE29GMHES
  • Internet #205502677
  • Store SO SKU #1001100618

28.5 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Slate

Discontinued Model:

Model # GNE26GMDES

Internet #203533361

Store SO SKU #700052

GE 26.3 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Slate
0084691249436

Discontinued GE

26.3 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Slate

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

The GNE26GMDES 26.3 cu. ft. French-Door Refrigerator offers an array of features for your convenience including an in-door water filter, and FrostGuard defrost technology. It also features Showcase LED lighting, positioned throughout the interior and under fresh food doors to spotlight foods inside both the refrigerator and freezer. And with GE's exclusive Pure and Clean Filtration system, you have the peace of mind that your water is fresh and clean.

  • Factory-installed icemaker eliminates the need to fill ice trays and ensures you have a steady supply of ice on hand
  • GE’s exclusive advanced filtration system removes trace pharmaceuticals from water and ice
  • Internal controls with actual-temperature display eliminate the guesswork of temperature setting with actual degrees displayed digitally
  • TwinChill evaporators with separate climates in the fresh food and freezer sections help maintain temperature and humidity levels, keeping foods fresh
  • 5 Glass shelves total with 3 spill proof that contain spills and simplify cleanup, preventing liquids from leaking onto shelves below
  • QuickSpace shelf functions as a normal full-sized shelf when needed and easily slides down for instant storage flexibility
  • Full-width adjustable temperature-controlled drawer has 5 accurate settings deliver the optimal temperature for your favorite foods
  • 17.8 cu. ft. Fresh food capacity provides additional interior space, while 8.5 cu. ft. freezer capacity allows for additional storage space
  • 3 Freezer baskets provide organized storage for frozen foods
  • Express your unique style and harmonize your kitchen space with GE's new Slate finish, a sophisticated, rich and amazingly versatile matte metallic finish
  • Showcase LED lighting positioned throughout the interior and under fresh food doors to spotlight foods inside the refrigerator and incandescent in the freezer
  • 3 Fresh food cabinet drawers, including 1 full-width, adjustable temperature and 2 adjustable humidity
  • Three Door French Door Refrigerator has two fresh food doors, and one bottom mount freezer drawer
  • Click Here for details on the services included with Delivery & Basic Hook-up and Installation options for Major Appliances
  • Advanced water filtration uses RPWFE replacement filter - Reduces trace pharmaceuticals from water and ice* (* Removes 98% of ibuprofen, atenolol, fluoxetine, progesterone and trimethoprim. These pharmaceuticals are not necessarily in all users’ water)
  • Click here to learn more about GE Slate Appliances

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

If we can't repair it, we'll replace it!

  • No deductibles, no additional fees
  • Parts and labor costs included
  • In-home service by authorized technicians
  • 24/7 support

Plan pricing and term options will be shown during the checkout process

Click here for more information
* Limitations and exclusions apply. See terms and conditions for complete details. For eGift Card products $2,000 and up will receive a check reimbursement.

Compare Similar

Price $1,999.00 /each Add to Cart to See Price
$1,999.00 /each
Was $2,999.00
$2,198.00 /each
Save $801.00 (27%)
Was $3,199.00
$2,398.00 /each
Save $801.00 (25%)
Name 28.5 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Slate 26.3 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Slate 35.75 in. W 27.8 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator with Hands Free Autofill in Slate, ENERGY STAR 35.75 in. 27.8 cu. ft. Smart French Door Refrigerator with Keurig K-Cup and WiFi in Slate, ENERGY STAR
Brand GE GE GE Profile GE Profile
Ratings (458) (318) (270) (26)
Capacity (cu. ft.) - Refrigerators 28.5 26.3 27.8 27.8
Color/Finish Family Slate Slate Slate Slate
Savings Center Special Buys Special Buys
Refrigerator Width (In.) 35.75 35.75 35.75 35.75
Depth (Excluding Handles) 33.75 33.25 in 35.25 35.25
Height to Top of Door Hinge 69.875 69 in 69.875 69.875
Counter Depth (Yes/No) No No No No
Check Earliest Delivery Date
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code
-- -- -- --
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

will mild dishwasing soap take off ther stickiness left after the protective film was removed?? What is considered"mild" dish soap?

Asked by: ess
I have the slate finish. Goo gone removed the sticky finish, then mufti surface cleaner. It took a couple times but sticky is all gone.
Answered by: Dj1966
Date published: 2015-09-20

what color is the sides of this refrigerator? are there any pictures? what about pictures of the freezer?

Asked by: kgbkenny
The sides of the refrigerator are black.
Answered by: robbieh
Date published: 2015-09-20

does the slate model come with indoor water and ice dispensors?

Asked by: Anonymous
Yes it does...I have one. I love it!
Answered by: LadyInLadyLake3815
Date published: 2015-09-20

what is the best way to clean the slate finish?

Asked by: Anonymous
I use a damp cloth with light soapy suds and wipe dry.... it works on the handles as well.
Answered by: LadyInLadyLake3815
Date published: 2015-09-20
  • y_2017, m_6, d_22, h_21CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_21
  • loc_, sid_203533361, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 102ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

26.3 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Slate is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 318.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME FRIG Very sharp looking, spacious insides, great features.
Date published: 2016-01-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Finally smudge-free look, but not the handles? The refrigerator comes in this awesome smudge-free new color that looks great, but the handles are stainless and get smudges and fingerprints every time you open the doors! Love the space inside, and it keeps the temperature perfectly. I just don't understand why GE didn't use the same material on the handles, since that's the part of the appliance that is constantly being touched?
Date published: 2013-10-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love that everything is at eye level in the fridge Some reviews said it was loud.  I find it very quiet.  Love the storage in the doors and that everything is up at eye level.  Only draw back is the ice maker in the freezer doesn't make a lot of ice daily.  It was a great trade off for me to have a bit less ice and have all the space in the fridge door.  Space that otherwise would have been taken up by the in-door ice maker.
Date published: 2013-10-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Company turn around Have had this refrigerator four days now. It got cold faster than we were told; made ice faster than we were told. The cubic footage is nearly the same as our last refrigerator however we seem to be able to fit more stuff. Yes had to remove door handles to remove the shipping plastic, but it seems a small pain to get an unscratched frig. My wife is very happy to date.
Date published: 2013-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The color matches everything, it's beautiful. The color matches the white appliances I have and I didn't have to buy what I don't need. I love it, it's easy to use. Everything is accessible. YEA!!
Date published: 2014-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unbelievable Special I bought this refrigerator, recently, and got it for a steal. It's beautiful, streamlined, and very modern. Beyond that, it's HUGE, easy to organize, and energy efficient! This fridge (and the entire suite of Slate products) are highly rated, and getting them for a steal just made the whole process enjoyable!
Date published: 2014-05-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from lots of room Ample storage fridge works great. Icemaker on the slow side making only 20 to 30 cubes a day not the 100 in the manual. Also the plastic film they wrap it in is difficult to remove. Overall we are pleased and at this point would reccomend it. The slate look is very nice but remember it is still stainless so it smudges easy [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2013-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from we have only had this frig for a shot time but we do like it We have only had this a short time but really like it
Date published: 2014-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very nice product Lots of storage. Lots of light. Built very well.
Date published: 2014-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it already! Love it already! The refrigerator section allows me to easily see everything in it- no more pulling things out just to see what is in the back. Moveable shelves allow me to customize the interior to suit my needs. The bottom freezer section is large and customizable too! I consider this to be one of my best purchases ever!
Date published: 2013-12-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from refrigerator Service was excellent. Very disappointed in product. Shopping for this refer there were NO pics of the inside. Big red flag. The cost was $2k and no butter dish, no egg tray, and the worst yet it does NOT HAVE A WATER DISPENSER, does have Ice Maker and water filter and i paid for a "water line" all of which Made me think that it had a water dipenser. Now the refer itself is huge. Tony Soprano woulid have loved it. It works wonderful but DOES NOT DISPENSE WATER. MABE would recommend it to some one that doesn't need the things I mentioned.
Date published: 2014-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it, love it, love it! Only draw back is the plastic smell in the fridge despite washing all the bins etc thoroughly in hot water. I'm sure it will go away soon and I'm using lots of baking soda to absorb the odor which seems to be working.
Date published: 2014-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Space! I bought all new slate GE appliances about 6 months ago and love them. The slate finish hides finger prints unlike stainless steel. I love the shelves and all the space. The ability to slide in a shelf to put a huge pot or container is a bug bonus. I Love my GE appliances!
Date published: 2013-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Energy Efficient & Gorgeous! What Capacity!! We had a power surge and lost our Kitchenaid built in fridge. While shopping for a new refrigerator we saw this slate color GE French door model and fell in love with the capacity and appearance. Functions beautifully and LOOK at the storage on the doors!
Date published: 2013-09-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Problems with performance AND appearance We've had problems with this unit since it arrived. We are now 6 months in and I deeply regret buying this fridge. Overlooking the common complaint about how impossible it is to remove the protective plastic wrap, we've had consistent problems with food freezing in the refrigerator- regardless of the 41 degree setting and food position within the fridge. Futher, I'm so saddened to see how easily the surface scratches. Our run-of-the-mill fridge magnets have destroyed the appearance of the front of the fridge with very visible, shallow scratches anywhere we have used magnets on the doors. Too soft a coating for the appliance or there must have been problems with the coating run. Stay away from this unit.
Date published: 2014-05-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Basically it is a good refrig I am not sure I am excited about the French Doors. I thought you would be able to open one door to get things out of it but you basically always have to open both doors. That seems a wasted feature [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2013-08-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Looks great...but....... In July 2014, it will be one year that I have had this refrigerator. A few months ago, it started making the loudest noises - so loud, in fact, I could hear them over my tv!! I googled the product and found a list of the "standard" noises that are common to the fridge and this is insane!! Honestly, it is the most annoying "clicking" and "gurgling" noises I have ever heard!! However, it is maintaining the temps in both the fridge and freezer...BUT, I am feeling forced to purchase the extended warranty because I quite honestly don't know how much longer this thing is going to keep going! It's a darn shame because this fridge was quite expensive.
Date published: 2014-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Roomy, neat and convenient This is a huge refrigerator. Plenty of refrigeration and freezer space. Drawers are conveniently located. It takes a little bit of effort to pull the freezer compartment in the bottom. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2013-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEST VALUE .. Previous Complaints Unfounded Having read all the comments prior to ordering, I was concern about several issues that were previously reported. Issue 1 - Comments that it was too noisy. The refrigerator is EXTREMELY QUITE! Our kitchen is part of an open living area. After 2 months, the ONLY sound we hear is the occasional ice dropping into its bin! Issue 2 - Some complained that the unit does not make enough ice. Our unit makes 100 - 110 cubes per day which is per the specifications, which we find to be more than adequate. Living in the south we do drink a lot of ICED tea ( If you have a large family, just buy some ice trays.) Issue 3 - Plastic (used to protect during shipping) is caught under the trim and is difficult to remove. Yes, it is and it may take some time and effort to remove (use wood or plastic so as not to scratch the finish) We LOVE the unit it's layout (bottom freezer) and volume are a major step up from our old refrigerator! The temperature and feature controls on the door are well located and simple to use! The only negative issue I did encounter was the vertical misalignment of the doors. This was easily adjusted with an allen wrench (located under the doors at the hinge).
Date published: 2014-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from the best gift I gave a wife love this refrigerator the gentleman who delivered my fridgerator very very knowledgeable and kind and very good
Date published: 2014-03-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great size and features we just had it installed today  i will never buy a refrigerator with out a bottom freezer again the only problem was getting the glue off the doors after the protective plastic was taken off,love the size of the inside
Date published: 2013-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the size Personally I Wish part of or all of the shelves were adjustable by a crank instead of the locked system they are on but I love the 1/2 flip shelf that is Handy! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2013-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It We have had the frig for 3 months and we love it.... wish we would have bought it sooner. No more bending down to see what's on the bottom shelves.. food is all at eye level. Storage in the doors is great.
Date published: 2013-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the size I've had the appliance about a week. Love the size, the quality is much better than other brands I looked at. Good freezer space and plenty of room for platters in fridge. So far, beautiful purchase!
Date published: 2013-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good looking,very quite This frig is awesome,you do not even know that it is running . Can fit enough food in it for a family of 6 with no problem. Great buy [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2013-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Features Just bought this refrigerator and so far I am very happy. Love the easy slide drawers. Love the half shelf that slides back so i have room for tall bottles or jugs. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2013-04-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quiet, cold & room to spare We can't believe how much room we have in this unit. The options for item placement are fantastic. All of our items are easily accessed and as cold as they should be.
Date published: 2013-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent I absolutely love this refridgerator. It is sleek, quiet, roomy, and beautiful. I am very happy with my purchase.
Date published: 2013-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fridge Very spacious, bright lighting, and I love the color. My only issue was peeling off the protective plastic.
Date published: 2013-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SLEEK DESIGN PURCHASED JULY 2013, HAD FOR ALMOST 2 MONTHS, LOVE THE DESIGN BUT A LITTLE LOUD AND NOT ENOUGH ICE
Date published: 2013-09-01
  • y_2017, m_6, d_23, h_5
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_318
  • loc_, sid_203533361, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 199ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT