The product you chose is discontinued, but we found something similar you might like.
7.8 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White
  • GE
  • Model GTD81ESSJWS
  • Internet #205908393
  • Store SO SKU #1001397079

7.8 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White

Was  $899.00
$809.10 /each

Save $89.90 (10%)  through 01/25/2017

Price includes 10% off Appliances Offer discounts. While supplies last.
Promotion Details
Price Valid : 12/22/2016 - 01/25/2017
10% off Appliances Offer ends January 25. 10% off discount taken off of Special Buy retail. Limited time offer.
Discontinued Model:

Model # GTDP740EDWW

Internet #203669835

Store SO SKU #125676

GE 7.8 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White
0084691250319

Discontinued GE

7.8 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White

  • HE Sensor Dry keeps your clothes looking and feeling their best
  • 5 heat selections provide the right temperatures for your clothes
  • eDry Option, save up to 10% on energy costs

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Designed to match our ENERGY STAR qualified High-Efficiency top load washers, these dryers offer simplicity and control. This GE 7.8 cu. ft. capacity electric dryer features HE Sensor Dry, keeping your clothes looking and feeling their best with dual thermistors that continually sense and monitors moisture and temperature to prevent over-drying. With 5 heat selections, it provides the right temperatures for your clothes drying needs.

California residents: see   Proposition 65 information

  • 7.8 cu. ft. capacity accommodates large loads
  • 12 automatic cycles, including Cotton, Permanent Press, Casual and Delicates, to properly care for a variety of fabric types
  • Painted steel drum resists chipping, rusting and abrasion to protect clothes from damage
  • Controls on the backsplash for easy access and operation. LED electronic controls with control lock & LED Cycle Countdown
  • 5 temperature settings provide the proper heat for different fabric types to ensure that clothes are not overdried
  • HE SensorDry keeps your clothes looking and feeling their best with dual thermistors that continually sense and monitor moisture and temperature to prevent over-drying
  • De-wrinkle option tumbles the dryer to help prevent wrinkles from setting into clean, dry fabrics
  • End-of-cycle signal provides an audible alert that the dryer cycle is finished
  • Clean lint filter reminder light alerts you when the lint filter needs to be cleaned for improved drying
  • eMonitor- Get the energy-saving insight you need to reduce your utility bills with an electronic readout that shows the efficiency level of each load
  • eDry Save up to 10% on energy costs without sacrificing drying performance, thanks to this option that reduces temperatures on select cycles
  • Delay Dry up to 9 hours for your convenience
  • Dryer Duct and electrical cords are required for installation and will be offered separately during appliance checkout
  • Click Here for details on the services included with Delivery & Basic Hook-up and Installation options for Major Appliances

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

If we can't repair it, we'll replace it!

  • No deductibles, no additional fees
  • Parts and labor costs included
  • In-home service by authorized technicians
  • 24/7 support

Plan pricing and term options will be shown during the checkout process

Click here for more information
* Limitations and exclusions apply. See terms and conditions for complete details. For eGift Card products $2,000 and up will receive a check reimbursement.

Compare Similar

Price
Was $699.00
Special Buy $553.00
$497.70 /each
Save $201.30 (29%)
$799.00 /each
Was $899.00
$809.10 /each
Save $89.90 (10%)
Was $999.00
$899.10 /each
Save $99.90 (10%)
Name 7.4 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White 7.8 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White 7.8 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White 7.8 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in Metallic Carbon
Brand GE GE GE GE
Ratings (336) (298) (18) (6)
Product Depth (in.) 30.5 31.9 31.9 31.9
Capacity - Dryer (cu. ft.) 7.4 7.8 7.8 7.8
Color/Finish Family White White White Metallic Carbon
Stackable No No No No
Product Width (in.) 27.0 28 28 28
Steam Function No No No No
Dryer Features Automatic Temperature Control,Cycle Time Remaining Display,Damp Dry,Door Window,End-Of-Cycle Signal,Four-Way Venting,Interior Light,Lint Filter,Moisture Sensor,Sensor Dry,Timed Dry Automatic Temperature Control,Cycle Time Remaining Display,Damp Dry,Delay Start,End-Of-Cycle Signal,Four-Way Venting,Interior Light,Lint Filter,Moisture Sensor,Sensor Dry,Timed Dry Automatic Temperature Control,Cycle Time Remaining Display,Damp Dry,Delay Start,Door Window,End-Of-Cycle Signal,Four-Way Venting,Interior Light,Lint Filter,Moisture Sensor,Sensor Dry,Timed Dry Automatic Temperature Control,Cycle Time Remaining Display,Damp Dry,Delay Start,Door Window,End-Of-Cycle Signal,Four-Way Venting,Interior Light,Lint Filter,Moisture Sensor,Sensor Dry,Timed Dry
Check Earliest Delivery Date
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code
-- -- -- --
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

3 Questions6 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

7.8 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White
7.8 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
 
3 answers

Does the GE dryer model #GTDP740EDWW have moisture sensor dry?

This question is from 7.8 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White
Asked by
Claire
April 26, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (3)

Asked by
Apopka, Florida
Read all my Q&A
December 1, 2014
Answer: 
Yes, when the dry actually works.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Dalton, GA, USA
Read all my Q&A
July 30, 2013
Answer: 
Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
April 26, 2013
Answer: 
Hello Clare,
Thank you for your inquiry on the GE Electric Dryer model # GTDP740EDWW.
Yes, this model features the HE Sensor Dry.
HE Sensor Dry: Keep your clothes looking and feeling their best with dual thermistors that continually sense and monitor moisture and temperature to prevent over-drying
5 heat selections will provide the right temperatures for your clothes-drying needs.
This is a great Read More
Hello Clare,
Thank you for your inquiry on the GE Electric Dryer model # GTDP740EDWW.
Yes, this model features the HE Sensor Dry.
HE Sensor Dry: Keep your clothes looking and feeling their best with dual thermistors that continually sense and monitor moisture and temperature to prevent over-drying
5 heat selections will provide the right temperatures for your clothes-drying needs.
This is a great dryer!
Donna with GE Read Less
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
 
2 answers

Can the dryness levels and temperatures be changed for the sensor cycles?

This question is from 7.8 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White
May 26, 2014
I'm thinking of buying this GE Model GTDP740EDWW dryer, and would like to know more about the sensor cycles. I have read the manual, and would like to clarify if I can manually change the dryness levels and temperatures (from the pre-set choices it gives) if I choose any of the sensor cycles (Casuals, Delicates, Normal, etc.). For example, if the pre-set settings for Delicate is Medium Heat / Dry level, can I change it to Extra Low Heat, Less Dry level? Our current (old) GE dryer allows this, but I know some other brands don't allow you to change the settings for pre-set sensor cycles.
Thanks!
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (2)

Asked by
Liberty Township Ohio
Read all my Q&A
January 6, 2015
Answer: 
Yes, you have the option to change the dryness level of your load.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 27, 2014
Answer: 
Hello - this is Nancy at GE and I am happy to help you.
Yes, you would be able to change the dryer selections. Once you select the drying cycle, if you want to change the pre-programmed suggested dryness level and temperature, then you can do so.
I hope this helps! Thanks for checking with us!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
 
1 answer

what does it mean if the dryer is working but not heating

This question is from 7.8 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
December 29, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer (1)

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
January 4, 2016
Answer: 
Hi gg-this is Sue from GE Appliances. If the electric dryer runs but does not heat, check the following: The dryer should be on a separate 208V/240V electrical outlet. An electric dryer may run with a partial voltage of 110 volts, but it will not heat unless it has 208/240V, 30 amps. The circuit breaker could have partially tripped, even if it does not look as though it has. Turn off the breaker to the Read More
Hi gg-this is Sue from GE Appliances. If the electric dryer runs but does not heat, check the following: The dryer should be on a separate 208V/240V electrical outlet. An electric dryer may run with a partial voltage of 110 volts, but it will not heat unless it has 208/240V, 30 amps. The circuit breaker could have partially tripped, even if it does not look as though it has. Turn off the breaker to the dryer and turn it back on to restore full power. Make sure you have the right timer selection, fabric setting, and temperature selection. The timer should be set to dry and not fluff (no heat) or cool down. Check the power cord. The power cord may have a burned, broken, or loose connection at the back of the dryer. To minimize the possibility of electric shock, unplug this appliance from the power supply before attempting any maintenance or cleaning. A metal plate covers this terminal block. Remove the screws holding the metal plate in place to access the terminal block connections. If wires and/or terminal connections are burned, broken, or frayed, then replacement of both will be necessary. If the above suggestions do not resolve the issue, service may be needed. If you would like to schedule a service appointment, please contact GE Consumer Service at 1-800-432-2737 or visit GEAppliances. com. Thanks for checking with us! Read Less
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 of 1
  • 2016-10-31 T00:07:22.474-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_203669835, prod, sort_default
1 of 1
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 48ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

7.8 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 298.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love all the options! Going from a cheap stacked washer-dryer unit provided by an apartment complex to this stand alone dryer is like night and day. Instead of guesstimating on how much time is needed to dry specific loads of laundry the options are all there. You just pick what type of load you have such as cottons, bulky items, jeans, dewrinkle, etc., and press start. If I had to pick a "flaw" for this machine it would be that I don't think some of the drying times are long enough so I end up also using the dewrinkle option. I also bought the washer that goes with this dryer and I really love them both. They have made me enjoy doing laundry and I don't dread my dirty laundry anymore. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2013-07-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from DONT BUY THIS DRYER THIS DRYER WORKS GREAT IF YOU DONT MIND THE NOISE YOU CANT TALK TO YOUR WIFE IN THE ROOM FARTHEST FROM THE DRYER WITH THE DOOR CLOSED IT IS ONLY 9 MONTHS OLD AND VIBRATES THE CUPBOARD DOORS AND PROGRESSIVLY GETS LOUDER BY THE DAY I HAVE BOUGHT GE APLIANCES FOR 25 YEARS BUT NOT AFTER THIS THEY HAVEN'T RESPONDED TO MY EMAILS OR PHONE CALLS GUESS IM OUT $700
Date published: 2015-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Dryer is great but the associated washer has some issues The dryer is great!! However, the corresponding Washer has some issues. I would like to be able to soak the clothes by running the water in with the lid open & not have it go thru a timed cycle at that point. The washer cleans excellently but has a tendency to easily go out of balance . Most times it corrects it's self but sometimes it does not. Love the feature where the dryer knows its setting depending on the washer cycle selection [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2013-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Huge Tub!!! I have been using my dryer for a few weeks now and absolutely love it. It has a huge tub and can dry my king size comforter and still have room left for it to tumble around. It dries quickly and efficiently!! Love It !!!!!!
Date published: 2016-01-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sensors make drying easy I really appreciate all the advanced feature of this dryer. It has a sensor to detect the dryness of the clothes and can automatically extend drying time as necessary.
Date published: 2015-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love the e dry It's amazing, my clothes are always dry, I use e dry, and the sensor works amazingly! The drum light is so bright.....I just love everything about my new dryer :-)
Date published: 2015-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great dryer! I have been using the dryer for 3 months and am very happy with this product. The inside light is a great feature. It drys cloths in no time. Very large capacity.
Date published: 2015-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Options! This dryer is great! I love the large capacity and all the different setting. I really love the dewrinkle cycle! Great buy for the money.
Date published: 2015-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Sensor Capabilities I love this dryer! It has adapted to my usage and is already beginning to save on energy costs for me. Great product. I recommend it!
Date published: 2016-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great dryer. We bought this two months ago and so far it is great. It is super roomy, easy to use, and dries quickly.
Date published: 2015-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for large loads! Love this dryer! Great for large families! Hasn't let us down and will dry very large loads.
Date published: 2015-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome dryer This dryer is very large inside and works great!! Will buy this brand again in the future.
Date published: 2015-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I bought this, was so happy with it, I talked my sister into buying it.
Date published: 2015-12-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love it Very easy to use. Dries fast very good product. Would recommend.
Date published: 2015-07-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Abcd Great dryer but the moves the whole dryer trying to open it.
Date published: 2015-08-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It is very quiet, like that. You don't even hear it running, it is so quiet. It's a like.
Date published: 2015-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy Customer Does a great job, clothes are always dried perfect!
Date published: 2015-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super quiet Very quiet and energy efficient. Price is good too!
Date published: 2015-11-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Easy to use Dryer needs to have sensors in both front and back
Date published: 2015-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice dryer. I always try and buy USA made goods. This GE dryer replaced another GE that was still going, but we wanted something slightly bigger for our king size comforters. We've had it for several weeks now and it has done everything as advertised. The lint screen is especially large so it keeps the air moving. The settings are very cool because you can choose a setting like JEANS or BULKY ITEMS and then adjust them using the controls to make the time longer, shorter or just different. It is reasonably quiet. The HD guys who delivered it were outstanding. Bought the matching washer too!
Date published: 2015-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product is convenient for my family I love my new washer and dryer. I can tell you that I have gone from 6 loads to 3 loads of laundry a week. I love the e-smart of this product because it does not use no more energy that it needs. Very convenient for my large family. I love GE appliances; my last washer and dryer lasted 18 years.
Date published: 2013-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value great quality! Very easy to use . Great price and quality of product. Dryer is quiet. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2013-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good features This dryer works very efficiently and is very quiet. Has so many options, very large tub to dry a large load! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2013-06-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This product is average This dryer is an average product. I think it's a middle of the line, safe bet. It seems to dry things about the same as my old dryer. It has a sensor, but I don't think it's always accurate. Sometimes, I have to turn the dyer on "timer" to complete drying some of my clothes. The sensor feels as though the clothes are dry, and they are not. It also plays music when starting or stopping, which is something to note. A positive of this dryer is the room inside. I have a large comforter that I had to take to the laudromat with my old dryer; which now fits easily into this dryer. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2013-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We LOVE our Giant GE Washer & Dryer Set We recently replaced our washer with a GE 5.0 cu. ft. Top Load Washer, which we LOVE. Just make sure that you load your clothes around the edge (in a donut shape). You have to be able to see the big silver dot at the bottom of the tub. We always use the extra rinse, as we did with our prior washer, which also used HE detergent. We also replaced our very old dryer, to get one that could hold the same volume as the new washer. We selected the matching GE 7.8 cu. ft. Electric Dryer. We LOVE this washer and dryer set. They are huge, offers intelligent options for washing and drying cycles, they dryer has a nice interior light, and they play pleasant songs when they start and stop. We highly recommend this giant GE washer and dryer set.
Date published: 2014-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We LOVE our Giant GE Washer & Dryer Set We recently replaced our washer with a GE 5.0 cu. ft. Top Load Washer, which we LOVE. Just make sure that you load your clothes around the edge (in a donut shape). You have to be able to see the big silver dot at the bottom of the tub. We always use the extra rinse, as we did with our prior washer, which also used HE detergent. We also replaced our very old dryer, to get one that could hold the same volume as the new washer. We selected the matching GE 7.8 cu. ft. Electric Dryer. We LOVE this washer and dryer set. They are huge, offers intelligent options for washing and drying cycles, they dryer has a nice interior light, and they play pleasant songs when they start and stop. We highly recommend this giant GE washer and dryer set.
Date published: 2014-11-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very easy to use. So efficient. We are a family of six, and purchased the dryer in January when we moved to a brand new home. We love the design, it is pretty, but very functional. It does a great job drying. It is so efficient. It has many special features like "Quick dry "and "Air Fluff" or "Dewrinkle". We are very happy with our purchase, and know that our GE dryer will be with us for many years!
Date published: 2015-06-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Dryer Dryer generally works as expected. I prefer to use a cool temperature, so I wish it would remember when I make changes from the preset options (e.g., whites in the past were dried on cool temp, not hot). Occasionally heavier items have to be run twice, which may just be my heat setting. Overall a good dryer - I like the finish "song" rather than a buzzer!
Date published: 2015-07-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extreme amount of room! I just got this dryer and couldn't be more excited about it! I got the washer 6 months ago and loved its ability to wash two loads at one time. Now I have the matching dryer that can dry the same amount, so it's truly a time-saver! With 6 boys at home who play sports, I have tons of laundry, so I'm a much happier momma!
Date published: 2015-05-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from GE Dryer This dryer works great , the only problem is the end of the drying cycle buzzer is not loud enough to be heard in another part of the house. Also the hose attachment in the back of the dryer does not allow the dryer sit as close to the wall as my previous dryer, so it sicks out about 5 inches further than my washer.
Date published: 2015-03-18
  • y_2017, m_1, d_20, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_298
  • loc_, sid_203669835, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 118ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT