0084691250319

Suggested Replacement

7.8 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White
  • GE
  • Model # GTD81ESSJWS
  • Internet # 205908393

7.8 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White

Was  $899.00
$809.10 /each

Save $89.90 (10%)  through 08/10/2016

Price includes 10% off Appliances Offer discounts. While supplies last.
Promotion Details
Price Valid : 07/21/2016 - 08/10/2016
10% off Appliances Offer ends 8/10/2016 Promotion end date shown is earlier of Special Buy or 10% off end date. 10% off discount taken off of Special Buy retail. Limited time offer.

Compare to Discontinued Model View Product

Discontinued Model

Discontinued

GE

Model # GTDP740EDWW

Internet # 203669835

Store SO SKU # 125676

7.8 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White

This item has been discontinued.
The Home Depot no longer carries this specific product.

  • HE Sensor Dry keeps your clothes looking and feeling their best
  • 5 heat selections provide the right temperatures for your clothes
  • eDry Option, save up to 10% on energy costs

Compare Similar

Price
Was $699.00
Special Buy $553.00
$497.70 /each
Save $201.30 (29%)
$799.00 /each
Was $899.00
$809.10 /each
Save $89.90 (10%)
Was $1,099.00
$989.10 /each
Save $109.90 (10%)
Name 7.4 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White 7.8 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White 7.8 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White 7.8 cu. ft. Electric Dryer with Steam in White
Brand GE GE GE GE
Ratings (178) (299) (13) (4)
Capacity - Dryer (cu. ft.) 7.4 7.8 7.8 7.8
Product Depth (in.) 30.5 31.9 31.9 31.9
Color/Finish Family White White White White
Product Width (in.) 27.0 28 28 28.0
Stackable No No No No
Matching Washer Type Top Load Top Load Top Load Top Load
Steam Function No No No Yes
Check Earliest Delivery Date
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code
-- -- -- --
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Designed to match our ENERGY STAR qualified High-Efficiency top load washers, these dryers offer simplicity and control. This GE 7.8 cu. ft. capacity electric dryer features HE Sensor Dry, keeping your clothes looking and feeling their best with dual thermistors that continually sense and monitors moisture and temperature to prevent over-drying. With 5 heat selections, it provides the right temperatures for your clothes drying needs.

California residents: see  Proposition 65 information

  • 7.8 cu. ft. capacity accommodates large loads
  • 12 automatic cycles, including Cotton, Permanent Press, Casual and Delicates, to properly care for a variety of fabric types
  • Painted steel drum resists chipping, rusting and abrasion to protect clothes from damage
  • Controls on the backsplash for easy access and operation. LED electronic controls with control lock & LED Cycle Countdown
  • 5 temperature settings provide the proper heat for different fabric types to ensure that clothes are not overdried
  • HE SensorDry keeps your clothes looking and feeling their best with dual thermistors that continually sense and monitor moisture and temperature to prevent over-drying
  • De-wrinkle option tumbles the dryer to help prevent wrinkles from setting into clean, dry fabrics
  • End-of-cycle signal provides an audible alert that the dryer cycle is finished
  • Clean lint filter reminder light alerts you when the lint filter needs to be cleaned for improved drying
  • eMonitor- Get the energy-saving insight you need to reduce your utility bills with an electronic readout that shows the efficiency level of each load
  • eDry Save up to 10% on energy costs without sacrificing drying performance, thanks to this option that reduces temperatures on select cycles
  • Delay Dry up to 9 hours for your convenience
  • Dryer Duct and electrical cords are required for installation and will be offered separately during appliance checkout
  • Click Here for details on the services included with Delivery & Basic Hook-up and Installation options for Major Appliances

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

If we can't repair it, we'll replace it!

  • No deductibles, no additional fees
  • Parts and labor costs included
  • In-home service by authorized technicians
  • 24/7 support

Plan pricing and term options will be shown during the checkout process

Click here for more information
* Limitations and exclusions apply. See terms and conditions for complete details. For eGift Card products $2,000 and up will receive a check reimbursement.

Specifications

Dimensions

Assembled Depth (in.) 
31.9 in 
Assembled Height (in.) 
44.5 in 
Assembled Width (in.) 
28 in 
Depth With Door Open 90 Degrees (In) 
55.05 
Door Opening Height (In.) 
20 
Door Opening Width (In.) 
24.53 
Product Depth (in.) 
31.9 
Product Height (in.) 
44.5 
Product Width (in.) 
28 
Width 
28 

Details

Amperage (amps) 
25 
Appliance Type 
Electric Dryer 
Capacity - Dryer (cu. ft.) 
7.8 
Color/Finish 
White 
Color/Finish Family 
White 
Control Type 
Electronic 
Door Style 
Reversible 
Dry Cycles 
Auto Dry,Cool Down,Cotton,Delicates,Extended Tumble,Extra Dry,Permanent Press,Speed Dry,Wrinkle Free 
Dryer Drum Material 
Painted Steel 
Dryer Features 
Automatic Temperature Control,Cycle Time Remaining Display,Damp Dry,Delay Start,End-Of-Cycle Signal,Four-Way Venting,Interior Light,Lint Filter,Moisture Sensor,Sensor Dry,Timed Dry 
Dryer Fuel Type 
Electric 
Exhaust Vent Location 
Bottom,Left Side,Rear,Right Side 
High Efficiency Washer 
No 
Included Items 
No Additional Items Included 
Lint Filter Location 
Front 
Matching Washer Type 
Top Load 
Number of Drying Cycles 
12 
Number of Drying Temperatures 
Pedestal Model# 
N/A 
Product Weight (lb.) 
126 lb 
Returnable 
Non-Returnable 
Stackable 
No 
Stacking Kit Model# 
N/A 
Steam Function 
No 
Voltage (volts) 
240 
Washer Tub/Drum Material 
Painted Steel 

Warranty / Certifications

Certifications and Listings 
1-UL Listed,CSA Listed 
ENERGY STAR Certified 
No 
Manufacturer Warranty 
Labor Warranty Limited 1-year entire appliance Parts Warranty Limited 1-year entire appliance Warranty Notes See written warranty for full details 

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

3 Questions6 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

7.8 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White
7.8 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
 
3 answers

Does the GE dryer model #GTDP740EDWW have moisture sensor dry?

This question is from 7.8 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White
Asked by
Claire
April 26, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (3)

Asked by
Apopka, Florida
Read all my Q&A
December 1, 2014
Answer: 
Yes, when the dry actually works.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Dalton, GA, USA
Read all my Q&A
July 30, 2013
Answer: 
Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
April 26, 2013
Answer: 
Hello Clare,
Thank you for your inquiry on the GE Electric Dryer model # GTDP740EDWW.
Yes, this model features the HE Sensor Dry.
HE Sensor Dry: Keep your clothes looking and feeling their best with dual thermistors that continually sense and monitor moisture and temperature to prevent over-drying
5 heat selections will provide the right temperatures for your clothes-drying needs.
This is a great Read More
Hello Clare,
Thank you for your inquiry on the GE Electric Dryer model # GTDP740EDWW.
Yes, this model features the HE Sensor Dry.
HE Sensor Dry: Keep your clothes looking and feeling their best with dual thermistors that continually sense and monitor moisture and temperature to prevent over-drying
5 heat selections will provide the right temperatures for your clothes-drying needs.
This is a great dryer!
Donna with GE Read Less
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
 
2 answers

Can the dryness levels and temperatures be changed for the sensor cycles?

This question is from 7.8 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White
May 26, 2014
I'm thinking of buying this GE Model GTDP740EDWW dryer, and would like to know more about the sensor cycles. I have read the manual, and would like to clarify if I can manually change the dryness levels and temperatures (from the pre-set choices it gives) if I choose any of the sensor cycles (Casuals, Delicates, Normal, etc.). For example, if the pre-set settings for Delicate is Medium Heat / Dry level, can I change it to Extra Low Heat, Less Dry level? Our current (old) GE dryer allows this, but I know some other brands don't allow you to change the settings for pre-set sensor cycles.
Thanks!
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (2)

Asked by
Liberty Township Ohio
Read all my Q&A
January 6, 2015
Answer: 
Yes, you have the option to change the dryness level of your load.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 27, 2014
Answer: 
Hello - this is Nancy at GE and I am happy to help you.
Yes, you would be able to change the dryer selections. Once you select the drying cycle, if you want to change the pre-programmed suggested dryness level and temperature, then you can do so.
I hope this helps! Thanks for checking with us!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
 
1 answer

what does it mean if the dryer is working but not heating

This question is from 7.8 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
December 29, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer (1)

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
January 4, 2016
Answer: 
Hi gg-this is Sue from GE Appliances. If the electric dryer runs but does not heat, check the following: The dryer should be on a separate 208V/240V electrical outlet. An electric dryer may run with a partial voltage of 110 volts, but it will not heat unless it has 208/240V, 30 amps. The circuit breaker could have partially tripped, even if it does not look as though it has. Turn off the breaker to the Read More
Hi gg-this is Sue from GE Appliances. If the electric dryer runs but does not heat, check the following: The dryer should be on a separate 208V/240V electrical outlet. An electric dryer may run with a partial voltage of 110 volts, but it will not heat unless it has 208/240V, 30 amps. The circuit breaker could have partially tripped, even if it does not look as though it has. Turn off the breaker to the dryer and turn it back on to restore full power. Make sure you have the right timer selection, fabric setting, and temperature selection. The timer should be set to dry and not fluff (no heat) or cool down. Check the power cord. The power cord may have a burned, broken, or loose connection at the back of the dryer. To minimize the possibility of electric shock, unplug this appliance from the power supply before attempting any maintenance or cleaning. A metal plate covers this terminal block. Remove the screws holding the metal plate in place to access the terminal block connections. If wires and/or terminal connections are burned, broken, or frayed, then replacement of both will be necessary. If the above suggestions do not resolve the issue, service may be needed. If you would like to schedule a service appointment, please contact GE Consumer Service at 1-800-432-2737 or visit GEAppliances. com. Thanks for checking with us! Read Less
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 of 1
  • 2016-07-25 T21:01:11.509-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_203669835, prod, sort_default
1 of 1
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 185ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 298 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Huge Tub!!! I have been using my dryer for a few weeks now and absolutely love it. It has a huge tub and can dry my king size comforter and still have room left for it to tumble around. It dries quickly and efficiently!! Love It !!!!!! January 1, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Sensor Capabilities I love this dryer! It has adapted to my usage and is already beginning to save on energy costs for me. Great product. I recommend it! January 6, 2016
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Sensors make drying easy I really appreciate all the advanced feature of this dryer. It has a sensor to detect the dryness of the clothes and can automatically extend drying time as necessary. November 17, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great dryer. We bought this two months ago and so far it is great. It is super roomy, easy to use, and dries quickly. December 7, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice dryer. I always try and buy USA made goods. This GE dryer replaced another GE that was still going, but we wanted something slightly bigger for our king size comforters. We've had it for several weeks now and it has done everything as advertised. The lint screen is especially large so it keeps the air moving. The settings are very cool because you can choose a setting like JEANS or BULKY ITEMS and then adjust them using the controls to make the time longer, shorter or just different. It is reasonably quiet. The HD guys who delivered it were outstanding. Bought the matching washer too! March 27, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great product I bought this, was so happy with it, I talked my sister into buying it. December 8, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by It is very quiet, like that. You don't even hear it running, it is so quiet. It's a like. December 1, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I love the e dry It's amazing, my clothes are always dry, I use e dry, and the sensor works amazingly! The drum light is so bright.....I just love everything about my new dryer :-) December 2, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Happy Customer Does a great job, clothes are always dried perfect! November 23, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Super quiet Very quiet and energy efficient. Price is good too! November 11, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome dryer This dryer is very large inside and works great!! Will buy this brand again in the future. November 20, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great for large loads! Love this dryer! Great for large families! Hasn't let us down and will dry very large loads. September 27, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC!!! ordered online sight unseen. wanted a large capacity washer and dryer and I've had great experiences with LG. best purchase I've ever made. extremely happy June 9, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent purchase We bought the washer and dryer. We could not be happier with both. They are very quiet during the cycles, and have very pleasant chimes to alert you. Nice, streamlined, and very intuitive controls. June 2, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Options! This dryer is great! I love the large capacity and all the different setting. I really love the dewrinkle cycle! Great buy for the money. August 21, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Appliance shopping online Easy to shop, price & feature compare, and order. Effortless delivery, installation, and removal of old dryer. Love the new dryer. Purchased the 8.0 cu capacity. All of the features are amazing, and the dryer dries so much faster than my old one....which was 15 years old. May 12, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great dryer! I have been using the dryer for 3 months and am very happy with this product. The inside light is a great feature. It drys cloths in no time. Very large capacity. August 4, 2015
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Abcd Great dryer but the moves the whole dryer trying to open it. August 4, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Love it Very easy to use. Dries fast very good product. Would recommend. July 30, 2015
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Easy to use Dryer needs to have sensors in both front and back August 7, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great dryer and large tub. My wife is very happy with her new washer and dryer they are a great upgrade with those large tubs. Most of all save money on power usage! July 21, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by New dryer after 10 years We are please with our purchase of this dryer. The sales people also recommended it. July 23, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Dryer Dryer generally works as expected. I prefer to use a cool temperature, so I wish it would remember when I make changes from the preset options (e.g., whites in the past were dried on cool temp, not hot). Occasionally heavier items have to be run twice, which may just be my heat setting. Overall a good dryer - I like the finish "song" rather than a buzzer! July 1, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by happy impressed with the load it can dry and the amount of clothes you can put in it. July 22, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Large opening makes tossing laundry in a breeze. Initially the drying time was longer (ie 70 minutes). For a HE this is crazy, but now with sensors being run for a bit everything's dry in about 40 minutes. July 21, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by easy to use We bought this dryer after our old one was damaged in a move. It is amazing. It fits everything and actually dries extra large comforters in the time it says! I have yet to restart the dryer due to damp clothes!!!!! July 14, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by We LOVE our Giant GE Washer & Dryer Set We recently replaced our washer with a GE 5.0 cu. ft. Top Load Washer, which we LOVE. Just make sure that you load your clothes around the edge (in a donut shape). You have to be able to see the big silver dot at the bottom of the tub. We always use the extra rinse, as we did with our prior washer, which also used HE detergent. We also replaced our very old dryer, to get one that could hold the same volume as the new washer. We selected the matching GE 7.8 cu. ft. Electric Dryer. We LOVE this washer and dryer set. They are huge, offers intelligent options for washing and drying cycles, they dryer has a nice interior light, and they play pleasant songs when they start and stop. We highly recommend this giant GE washer and dryer set. November 28, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by It lasted all of 8 days................ After much online research, and after purchasing a GE top load washer last month, to replace our front-loader, we purchased this dryer last week. It lasted through 4 laundry loads and 8 days. On the 9th day, it stopped running. GE says they might be able to get a tech out in 4 days to take a look at it!! This is NOT an inexpensive dryer, and we are NOT happy campers right now, GE!! If I sold a $700 product to someone, and it went belly-up after only 8 days, I would make dad-gum sure to have someone onsite with 48 hours! December 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I love the capacity of the dryer I bought this dryer a few months ago. I love how fast the clothes dry. July 8, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by All around great! I have had thi for a few months now and it works great! July 14, 2015
  • 2016-07-28 T16:28:37.763-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_298, tr_298
  • loc_en_US, sid_203669835, prod, sort_default
<<2 3 4 5  ... 11 >>
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 90ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT