Model # GTDP740EDWW

Internet #203669835

Store SO SKU #125676

GE 7.8 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White
0084691250319

Discontinued GE

7.8 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White

  • HE Sensor Dry keeps your clothes looking and feeling their best
  • 5 heat selections provide the right temperatures for your clothes
  • eDry Option, save up to 10% on energy costs

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Designed to match our ENERGY STAR qualified High-Efficiency top load washers, these dryers offer simplicity and control. This GE 7.8 cu. ft. capacity electric dryer features HE Sensor Dry, keeping your clothes looking and feeling their best with dual thermistors that continually sense and monitors moisture and temperature to prevent over-drying. With 5 heat selections, it provides the right temperatures for your clothes drying needs.

California residents: see   Proposition 65 information

  • 7.8 cu. ft. capacity accommodates large loads
  • 12 automatic cycles, including Cotton, Permanent Press, Casual and Delicates, to properly care for a variety of fabric types
  • Painted steel drum resists chipping, rusting and abrasion to protect clothes from damage
  • Controls on the backsplash for easy access and operation. LED electronic controls with control lock & LED Cycle Countdown
  • 5 temperature settings provide the proper heat for different fabric types to ensure that clothes are not overdried
  • HE SensorDry keeps your clothes looking and feeling their best with dual thermistors that continually sense and monitor moisture and temperature to prevent over-drying
  • De-wrinkle option tumbles the dryer to help prevent wrinkles from setting into clean, dry fabrics
  • End-of-cycle signal provides an audible alert that the dryer cycle is finished
  • Clean lint filter reminder light alerts you when the lint filter needs to be cleaned for improved drying
  • eMonitor- Get the energy-saving insight you need to reduce your utility bills with an electronic readout that shows the efficiency level of each load
  • eDry Save up to 10% on energy costs without sacrificing drying performance, thanks to this option that reduces temperatures on select cycles
  • Delay Dry up to 9 hours for your convenience
  • Dryer Duct and electrical cords are required for installation and will be offered separately during appliance checkout
  • Click Here for details on the services included with Delivery & Basic Hook-up and Installation options for Major Appliances

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

If we can't repair it, we'll replace it!

  • No deductibles, no additional fees
  • Parts and labor costs included
  • In-home service by authorized technicians
  • 24/7 support

Plan pricing and term options will be shown during the checkout process

Click here for more information
* Limitations and exclusions apply. See terms and conditions for complete details. For eGift Card products $2,000 and up will receive a check reimbursement.

Compare Similar

Price
Was $699.00
$499.00 /each
Save $200.00 (29%)
$799.00 /each Add to Cart to See Price
$799.00 /each
$999.00 /each Add to Cart to See Price
Name 7.4 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White 7.4 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White 7.8 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White 7.4 cu. ft. Electric Dryer with Steam in White, ENERGY STAR
Brand GE Maytag GE Whirlpool
Ratings (656) (630) (298) (17)
Color/Finish Family White White White White
Product Width (in.) 27.0 27 28 27
Stackable No Yes No No
Capacity - Dryer (cu. ft.) 7.4 7.4 7.8 7.4
Dryer Features Automatic Temperature Control,Cycle Time Remaining Display,Damp Dry,Door Window,End-Of-Cycle Signal,Four-Way Venting,Interior Light,Lint Filter,Moisture Sensor,Sensor Dry,Timed Dry Automatic Temperature Control,Delay Start,Door Window,End-Of-Cycle Signal,Four-Way Venting,Front Control,Interior Light,Lint Filter,Moisture Sensor,Rack,Timed Dry Automatic Temperature Control,Cycle Time Remaining Display,Damp Dry,Delay Start,End-Of-Cycle Signal,Four-Way Venting,Interior Light,Lint Filter,Moisture Sensor,Sensor Dry,Timed Dry Automatic Temperature Control,Cycle Time Remaining Display,Damp Dry,Door Window,End-Of-Cycle Signal,Four-Way Venting,Front Control,Interior Light,Lint Filter,Moisture Sensor,Sensor Dry,Steam Function,Timed Dry
Steam Function No No No Yes
Product Depth (in.) 30.5 31 31.9 31
Check Earliest Delivery Date
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code
-- -- -- --
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

Does the GE dryer model #GTDP740EDWW have moisture sensor dry?

Asked by: Anonymous
Yes, when the dry actually works.
Answered by: vanman628
Date published: 2015-11-07

Can the dryness levels and temperatures be changed for the sensor cycles?

I'm thinking of buying this GE Model GTDP740EDWW dryer, and would like to know more about the sensor cycles. I have read the manual, and would like to clarify if I can manually change the dryness levels and temperatures (from the pre-set choices it gives) if I choose any of the sensor cycles (Casuals, Delicates, Normal, etc.). For example, if the pre-set settings for Delicate is Medium Heat / Dry level, can I change it to Extra Low Heat, Less Dry level? Our current (old) GE dryer allows this, but I know some other brands don't allow you to change the settings for pre-set sensor cycles. Thanks!
Asked by: dryerquestion
Yes, you have the option to change the dryness level of your load.
Answered by: Siggy
Date published: 2015-09-20

what does it mean if the dryer is working but not heating

Asked by: gg
Hi gg-this is Sue from GE Appliances. If the electric dryer runs but does not heat, check the following: The dryer should be on a separate 208V/240V electrical outlet. An electric dryer may run with a partial voltage of 110 volts, but it will not heat unless it has 208/240V, 30 amps. The circuit breaker could have partially tripped, even if it does not look as though it has. Turn off the breaker to the dryer and turn it back on to restore full power. Make sure you have the right timer selection, fabric setting, and temperature selection. The timer should be set to dry and not fluff (no heat) or cool down. Check the power cord. The power cord may have a burned, broken, or loose connection at the back of the dryer. To minimize the possibility of electric shock, unplug this appliance from the power supply before attempting any maintenance or cleaning. A metal plate covers this terminal block. Remove the screws holding the metal plate in place to access the terminal block connections. If wires and/or terminal connections are burned, broken, or frayed, then replacement of both will be necessary. If the above suggestions do not resolve the issue, service may be needed. If you would like to schedule a service appointment, please contact GE Consumer Service at 1-800-432-2737 or visit GEAppliances. com. Thanks for checking with us!
Answered by: GE Answers
Date published: 2016-01-05
  • y_2017, m_6, d_25, h_7CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_3
  • loc_, sid_203669835, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 95ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

7.8 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 298.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Abcd Great dryer but the moves the whole dryer trying to open it.
Date published: 2015-08-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It is very quiet, like that. You don't even hear it running, it is so quiet. It's a like.
Date published: 2015-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dryer review The dryer does a great job. It is very spacious and holds a lot of clothes, more than my old dryer. I like all the cycle choices to get just what you want. It doesn't make any irritating noises. My old one made some squeaking noises. It even has an LED light bulb in the drum, so it should last the life of the dryer, and it lights it up the drum really well. Hopefully it does last the life of the dryer because the manual says that the light bulb must be replaced by a qualified technician. That part seems odd. Overall, it's a great dryer and I'm glad it was made in the USA.
Date published: 2014-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from All around great! I have had thi for a few months now and it works great!
Date published: 2015-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy Customer Does a great job, clothes are always dried perfect!
Date published: 2015-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super quiet Very quiet and energy efficient. Price is good too!
Date published: 2015-11-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Easy to use Dryer needs to have sensors in both front and back
Date published: 2015-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Huge capacity, large door We bought this with the matching GE washing machine and they both do a great job! I like the large capacity and large door. A competitor's dryer had a large capacity but the door was so small it was difficult to reach the back of the dryer, but not so with GE. Only had it a week or so, but it seems to be a good machine in that it dries quickly and the auto-dry feature works well - our old one over-dried when using the auto-dry setting, but it was 22 years old. Hope this one lasts that long!
Date published: 2014-11-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very easy to use. So efficient. We are a family of six, and purchased the dryer in January when we moved to a brand new home. We love the design, it is pretty, but very functional. It does a great job drying. It is so efficient. It has many special features like "Quick dry "and "Air Fluff" or "Dewrinkle". We are very happy with our purchase, and know that our GE dryer will be with us for many years!
Date published: 2015-06-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Dryer Dryer generally works as expected. I prefer to use a cool temperature, so I wish it would remember when I make changes from the preset options (e.g., whites in the past were dried on cool temp, not hot). Occasionally heavier items have to be run twice, which may just be my heat setting. Overall a good dryer - I like the finish "song" rather than a buzzer!
Date published: 2015-07-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love my dryer! Had to replace my old dryer after we smelled smoke... did a lot of online research before choosing this one. I am very happy with this dryer. Everything comes out nice and dry first time through. There are many "extra" features that are really nice to have and it is energy efficient. The end of cycle chimes are much more pleasant than the irritating buzzer my old dryer had. Almost makes laundry fun lol. (Or make you think someone is playing a video game in the laundry room.)
Date published: 2014-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extreme amount of room! I just got this dryer and couldn't be more excited about it! I got the washer 6 months ago and loved its ability to wash two loads at one time. Now I have the matching dryer that can dry the same amount, so it's truly a time-saver! With 6 boys at home who play sports, I have tons of laundry, so I'm a much happier momma!
Date published: 2015-05-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from GE Dryer This dryer works great , the only problem is the end of the drying cycle buzzer is not loud enough to be heard in another part of the house. Also the hose attachment in the back of the dryer does not allow the dryer sit as close to the wall as my previous dryer, so it sicks out about 5 inches further than my washer.
Date published: 2015-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dries clothes perfectly! Towels dry fluffy & soft! After a serious issue with a dryer from another manufacturer, we did what we should have done in the first place...buy a GE washer and dryer that were made in America! So far so good! Love how the clothing and linens come out of the dryer soft and perfectly dried! Happy camper, here!
Date published: 2015-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Appliance shopping online Easy to shop, price & feature compare, and order. Effortless delivery, installation, and removal of old dryer. Love the new dryer. Purchased the 8.0 cu capacity. All of the features are amazing, and the dryer dries so much faster than my old one....which was 15 years old.
Date published: 2015-05-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent dryer This is the most friendly dryer we've ever bought. The chimes and alerts are so pleasant to hear! The noise level during us is nonexistent, and the feature set is great. To top it off, this dryer is very attractive, and the price is reasonable for the return.
Date published: 2015-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from first time buyer This is my first time owning a washer and dryer and I have to say that I am very satisfied with this product not only with the brand but the way the product works. I have bought products from this same brand and never had an issue with them
Date published: 2015-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow I started not to purchase this dryer. So glad I did. I bought the matching washer and the two are amazing. The clothes dry fast. I don't have to run another cycle to ensure drying. Once dry,the clothes are not hot to touch. I love it.
Date published: 2015-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GE has such quality products I purchased this dryer about a month ago and am so happy with it. I have the matching washer also. Both are spacious and I'm able to wash and dry items such as comforters and winter items. I am very happy with my purchase.
Date published: 2015-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Justified! Having a home on Nantucket produces a lot of towels! This dryer, although pricey, does the job efficiently & in about half as much time than my old one. I'm guessing the savings on electricity will level the field.
Date published: 2015-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gets the job done My old dryer was 20 years old so it was time. My washer was broken so I purchased a matching set. It does a great job, drys faster with the sensor. My only complaint is the buzzer isn't loud enough or long enough.
Date published: 2015-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This GE Product Exceeded Our Expectations! We did extensive research before deciding to buy a GE washer and dryer. I trusted the brand and it has exceeded my expectations. Reviews on internet about many of the washers and dryers available from other brands with problems with noise level, wrinkling/tangling us clothes, and energy efficient models made us even more confident we had made the right decision. Extremely quiet. Clothes come out clean and wrinkle-free. Married professional couple: Alpharetta (Atlanta) GA area.
Date published: 2014-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Noise pollution: not What I most appreciate about this dryer is how quietly it tumbles and the appealing, melodic signals. While I love how well it works, how much it can contain, the wonderful setting options, by far--the best thing about it is that I can hear myself think when it's running and the lyrical sounds to signal it's end cycle are happy and uplifting instead of alarming and stressful. That may seem silly but with a constant, consuming chore like laundry --it's a big deal for me. It helps me resent laundry less and I do it more often because of this. Subsequently, I'm left with smaller, easier-to-deal loads that make the chore easier and my life more manageable. All because I'm not avoiding either the tumbling noise or an annoying alarm! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2013-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good size dryer I love this dryer because of the size of the drum its so big and I love the light that comes on when you open the door. I also like the digital feature and how you can change the time, heat, its just great.
Date published: 2015-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent purchase We bought the washer and dryer. We could not be happier with both. They are very quiet during the cycles, and have very pleasant chimes to alert you. Nice, streamlined, and very intuitive controls.
Date published: 2015-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple with lots of features This dryer is so easy to use and dries the clothes quickly. Many different settings to choose from, yet simple to understand and easy to set to appropriate temperature and weight.
Date published: 2015-04-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great features only my second day using-so far so good-not sure yet about this product-only had it for short time-so far so good. I am however a log time GE product customer-great appliances
Date published: 2015-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love everything about this dryer!!! I love this dryer from the moment I saw it I considered other appliances but came back to this one and the matching washer so glad I did I'm extremely satisfied thank you
Date published: 2015-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Superb Choice! It has only been three weeks since my purchase and already I simply cannot imagine owning any other dryer. As always, I follow Consumer Reports Guidance ... and as always, they were right. The dryer came highly recommended. My three favorite features are: Capacity, Quietness, and Simple Elegant Style of the control panel. I did not check the depth of the dryer in the stats and had to make some minor adjustments. It was WELL worth it and I would absolutely do it again.
Date published: 2014-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow!!! The different drying options are awesome we bought the matching washer the same day, and like I said never thought we would have a computer doing our laundry.
Date published: 2015-04-09
  • y_2017, m_6, d_25, h_14
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_298
  • loc_, sid_203669835, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 213ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT