0084691250319

Suggested Replacement

7.8 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White
  • GE
  • Model GTD81ESSJWS
  • Internet # 205908393

7.8 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White

Was  $899.00
$809.10 /each

Save $89.90 (10%)  through 09/14/2016

Price includes 10% off Appliances Offer discounts. While supplies last.
Promotion Details
Price Valid : 08/25/2016 - 09/14/2016
10% off Appliances Offer ends September 14. 10% off discount taken off of Special Buy retail. Limited time offer.

Compare to Discontinued Model View Product

Discontinued Model

Discontinued

GE

Model GTDP740EDWW

Internet #203669835

Store SO SKU #125676

7.8 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White

This item has been discontinued.
The Home Depot no longer carries this specific product.

  • HE Sensor Dry keeps your clothes looking and feeling their best
  • 5 heat selections provide the right temperatures for your clothes
  • eDry Option, save up to 10% on energy costs

Compare Similar

Price
Was $699.00
Special Buy $553.00
$497.70 /each
Save $201.30 (29%)
$799.00 /each
Was $899.00
$809.10 /each
Save $89.90 (10%)
Was $1,099.00
$989.10 /each
Save $109.90 (10%)
Name 7.4 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White 7.8 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White 7.8 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White 7.8 cu. ft. Electric Dryer with Steam in White
Brand GE GE GE GE
Ratings (184) (298) (14) (5)
Capacity - Dryer (cu. ft.) 7.4 7.8 7.8 7.8
Product Depth (in.) 30.5 31.9 31.9 31.9
Color/Finish Family White White White White
Product Width (in.) 27.0 28 28 28.0
Stackable No No No No
Matching Washer Type Top Load Top Load Top Load Top Load
Steam Function No No No Yes
Check Earliest Delivery Date
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code
-- -- -- --
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Designed to match our ENERGY STAR qualified High-Efficiency top load washers, these dryers offer simplicity and control. This GE 7.8 cu. ft. capacity electric dryer features HE Sensor Dry, keeping your clothes looking and feeling their best with dual thermistors that continually sense and monitors moisture and temperature to prevent over-drying. With 5 heat selections, it provides the right temperatures for your clothes drying needs.

California residents: see   Proposition 65 information

  • 7.8 cu. ft. capacity accommodates large loads
  • 12 automatic cycles, including Cotton, Permanent Press, Casual and Delicates, to properly care for a variety of fabric types
  • Painted steel drum resists chipping, rusting and abrasion to protect clothes from damage
  • Controls on the backsplash for easy access and operation. LED electronic controls with control lock & LED Cycle Countdown
  • 5 temperature settings provide the proper heat for different fabric types to ensure that clothes are not overdried
  • HE SensorDry keeps your clothes looking and feeling their best with dual thermistors that continually sense and monitor moisture and temperature to prevent over-drying
  • De-wrinkle option tumbles the dryer to help prevent wrinkles from setting into clean, dry fabrics
  • End-of-cycle signal provides an audible alert that the dryer cycle is finished
  • Clean lint filter reminder light alerts you when the lint filter needs to be cleaned for improved drying
  • eMonitor- Get the energy-saving insight you need to reduce your utility bills with an electronic readout that shows the efficiency level of each load
  • eDry Save up to 10% on energy costs without sacrificing drying performance, thanks to this option that reduces temperatures on select cycles
  • Delay Dry up to 9 hours for your convenience
  • Dryer Duct and electrical cords are required for installation and will be offered separately during appliance checkout
  • Click Here for details on the services included with Delivery & Basic Hook-up and Installation options for Major Appliances

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

If we can't repair it, we'll replace it!

  • No deductibles, no additional fees
  • Parts and labor costs included
  • In-home service by authorized technicians
  • 24/7 support

Plan pricing and term options will be shown during the checkout process

Click here for more information
* Limitations and exclusions apply. See terms and conditions for complete details. For eGift Card products $2,000 and up will receive a check reimbursement.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

3 Questions6 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

7.8 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White
7.8 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
 
3 answers

Does the GE dryer model #GTDP740EDWW have moisture sensor dry?

This question is from 7.8 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White
Asked by
Claire
April 26, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (3)

Asked by
Apopka, Florida
Read all my Q&A
December 1, 2014
Answer: 
Yes, when the dry actually works.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Dalton, GA, USA
Read all my Q&A
July 30, 2013
Answer: 
Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
April 26, 2013
Answer: 
Hello Clare,
Thank you for your inquiry on the GE Electric Dryer model # GTDP740EDWW.
Yes, this model features the HE Sensor Dry.
HE Sensor Dry: Keep your clothes looking and feeling their best with dual thermistors that continually sense and monitor moisture and temperature to prevent over-drying
5 heat selections will provide the right temperatures for your clothes-drying needs.
This is a great Read More
Hello Clare,
Thank you for your inquiry on the GE Electric Dryer model # GTDP740EDWW.
Yes, this model features the HE Sensor Dry.
HE Sensor Dry: Keep your clothes looking and feeling their best with dual thermistors that continually sense and monitor moisture and temperature to prevent over-drying
5 heat selections will provide the right temperatures for your clothes-drying needs.
This is a great dryer!
Donna with GE Read Less
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
 
2 answers

Can the dryness levels and temperatures be changed for the sensor cycles?

This question is from 7.8 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White
May 26, 2014
I'm thinking of buying this GE Model GTDP740EDWW dryer, and would like to know more about the sensor cycles. I have read the manual, and would like to clarify if I can manually change the dryness levels and temperatures (from the pre-set choices it gives) if I choose any of the sensor cycles (Casuals, Delicates, Normal, etc.). For example, if the pre-set settings for Delicate is Medium Heat / Dry level, can I change it to Extra Low Heat, Less Dry level? Our current (old) GE dryer allows this, but I know some other brands don't allow you to change the settings for pre-set sensor cycles.
Thanks!
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (2)

Asked by
Liberty Township Ohio
Read all my Q&A
January 6, 2015
Answer: 
Yes, you have the option to change the dryness level of your load.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 27, 2014
Answer: 
Hello - this is Nancy at GE and I am happy to help you.
Yes, you would be able to change the dryer selections. Once you select the drying cycle, if you want to change the pre-programmed suggested dryness level and temperature, then you can do so.
I hope this helps! Thanks for checking with us!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
 
1 answer

what does it mean if the dryer is working but not heating

This question is from 7.8 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
December 29, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer (1)

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
January 4, 2016
Answer: 
Hi gg-this is Sue from GE Appliances. If the electric dryer runs but does not heat, check the following: The dryer should be on a separate 208V/240V electrical outlet. An electric dryer may run with a partial voltage of 110 volts, but it will not heat unless it has 208/240V, 30 amps. The circuit breaker could have partially tripped, even if it does not look as though it has. Turn off the breaker to the Read More
Hi gg-this is Sue from GE Appliances. If the electric dryer runs but does not heat, check the following: The dryer should be on a separate 208V/240V electrical outlet. An electric dryer may run with a partial voltage of 110 volts, but it will not heat unless it has 208/240V, 30 amps. The circuit breaker could have partially tripped, even if it does not look as though it has. Turn off the breaker to the dryer and turn it back on to restore full power. Make sure you have the right timer selection, fabric setting, and temperature selection. The timer should be set to dry and not fluff (no heat) or cool down. Check the power cord. The power cord may have a burned, broken, or loose connection at the back of the dryer. To minimize the possibility of electric shock, unplug this appliance from the power supply before attempting any maintenance or cleaning. A metal plate covers this terminal block. Remove the screws holding the metal plate in place to access the terminal block connections. If wires and/or terminal connections are burned, broken, or frayed, then replacement of both will be necessary. If the above suggestions do not resolve the issue, service may be needed. If you would like to schedule a service appointment, please contact GE Consumer Service at 1-800-432-2737 or visit GEAppliances. com. Thanks for checking with us! Read Less
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 of 1
  • 2016-08-27 T16:05:04.045-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_203669835, prod, sort_default
1 of 1
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 37ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 298 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very easy to use. So efficient. We are a family of six, and purchased the dryer in January when we moved to a brand new home. We love the design, it is pretty, but very functional. It does a great job drying. It is so efficient. It has many special features like "Quick dry "and "Air Fluff" or "Dewrinkle". We are very happy with our purchase, and know that our GE dryer will be with us for many years! June 4, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by All around great! I have had thi for a few months now and it works great! July 14, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My new GE dyer is very efficient I absolutely love my new GE dryer. It is such a time saver. The "E Monitor"/ "E Dryer" function lets me and my family know that we are doing all we can to save on energy ...which is so important these days. I am also impressed with the way our clothes turn out - they are dry while still having that fresh smell ... positively no hint of "over-dried" or clothes that just plain smell "hot". Additionally, the extra large drum fits nicely into our needs. We have over-sized mattress pads for all of our beds - I don't even have to "flip" or "turn" the pad at the end of the cycle #like I did with our old dryer# in order to get them fully dry. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] April 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Gets the job done My old dryer was 20 years old so it was time. My washer was broken so I purchased a matching set. It does a great job, drys faster with the sensor. My only complaint is the buzzer isn't loud enough or long enough. June 3, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great features and love the size of it. I've had my dryer for 5 months and love it. Works great for my family of 6:) July 7, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by settings choices are great! Settings choices are spot on! My clothes always are dry when I remove them. July 5, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Justified! Having a home on Nantucket produces a lot of towels! This dryer, although pricey, does the job efficiently & in about half as much time than my old one. I'm guessing the savings on electricity will level the field. May 26, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great features Boughtt new dryer 4 months ago. It works more efficiently than my old dryer. Clothes don't come out wrinkled. June 24, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by nice Works perfectly. Looks great. Has many options and features. Love it! June 23, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT DRYER EASY TO USE AND ENERGY EFFICIENT AND BIG ENOUGH FOR ANY SIZE LOAD. April 17, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love all the new features Still fairly new but is quiet and does a great job cleaning clothes June 15, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GE has such quality products I purchased this dryer about a month ago and am so happy with it. I have the matching washer also. Both are spacious and I'm able to wash and dry items such as comforters and winter items. I am very happy with my purchase. May 7, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Love all the options! Going from a cheap stacked washer-dryer unit provided by an apartment complex to this stand alone dryer is like night and day. Instead of guesstimating on how much time is needed to dry specific loads of laundry the options are all there. You just pick what type of load you have such as cottons, bulky items, jeans, dewrinkle, etc., and press start. If I had to pick a "flaw" for this machine it would be that I don't think some of the drying times are long enough so I end up also using the dewrinkle option. I also bought the washer that goes with this dryer and I really love them both. They have made me enjoy doing laundry and I don't dread my dirty laundry anymore. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] July 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Dries clothes perfectly! Towels dry fluffy & soft! After a serious issue with a dryer from another manufacturer, we did what we should have done in the first place...buy a GE washer and dryer that were made in America! So far so good! Love how the clothing and linens come out of the dryer soft and perfectly dried! Happy camper, here! May 15, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by We LOVE our Giant GE Washer & Dryer Set We recently replaced our washer with a GE 5.0 cu. ft. Top Load Washer, which we LOVE. Just make sure that you load your clothes around the edge (in a donut shape). You have to be able to see the big silver dot at the bottom of the tub. We always use the extra rinse, as we did with our prior washer, which also used HE detergent. We also replaced our very old dryer, to get one that could hold the same volume as the new washer. We selected the matching GE 7.8 cu. ft. Electric Dryer. We LOVE this washer and dryer set. They are huge, offers intelligent options for washing and drying cycles, they dryer has a nice interior light, and they play pleasant songs when they start and stop. We highly recommend this giant GE washer and dryer set. November 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Extreme amount of room! I just got this dryer and couldn't be more excited about it! I got the washer 6 months ago and loved its ability to wash two loads at one time. Now I have the matching dryer that can dry the same amount, so it's truly a time-saver! With 6 boys at home who play sports, I have tons of laundry, so I'm a much happier momma! May 1, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Love the big drum Love the fact that I can dry my comforts and bed spreads June 5, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Dependable dryer This was given to us as a wedding present about 2 years ago we've not had any problems with it. May 28, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent dryer This is the most friendly dryer we've ever bought. The chimes and alerts are so pleasant to hear! The noise level during us is nonexistent, and the feature set is great. To top it off, this dryer is very attractive, and the price is reasonable for the return. May 6, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great features only my second day using-so far so good-not sure yet about this product-only had it for short time-so far so good. I am however a log time GE product customer-great appliances April 28, 2015
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by DONT BUY THIS DRYER THIS DRYER WORKS GREAT IF YOU DONT MIND THE NOISE YOU CANT TALK TO YOUR WIFE IN THE ROOM FARTHEST FROM THE DRYER WITH THE DOOR CLOSED IT IS ONLY 9 MONTHS OLD AND VIBRATES THE CUPBOARD DOORS AND PROGRESSIVLY GETS LOUDER BY THE DAY I HAVE BOUGHT GE APLIANCES FOR 25 YEARS BUT NOT AFTER THIS THEY HAVEN'T RESPONDED TO MY EMAILS OR PHONE CALLS GUESS IM OUT $700 January 3, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Simple with lots of features This dryer is so easy to use and dries the clothes quickly. Many different settings to choose from, yet simple to understand and easy to set to appropriate temperature and weight. April 30, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great purchase Great dryer and well worth the purchase. Dries clothes much quicker and offers several drying options to fit our needs. March 24, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by GE Dryer This dryer works great , the only problem is the end of the drying cycle buzzer is not loud enough to be heard in another part of the house. Also the hose attachment in the back of the dryer does not allow the dryer sit as close to the wall as my previous dryer, so it sicks out about 5 inches further than my washer. March 18, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by QUIET and efficient Bought this last week... did a few loads. It's easy to operate, very quiet for a high efficiency washer... Good amount of clothes can fit in there also. April 13, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet Love the dryer. It's quiet and is easy to operate. May 5, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Works great! Love my dryer - simple to use, dries clothes quickly. May 5, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great i enjoy the quality of the machine the directions are easy to read May 1, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wow I started not to purchase this dryer. So glad I did. I bought the matching washer and the two are amazing. The clothes dry fast. I don't have to run another cycle to ensure drying. Once dry,the clothes are not hot to touch. I love it. January 13, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing! When partnered with the washer, the dryer just completes the effectiveness of of both appliances. April 1, 2015
  • 2016-08-28 T14:36:10.179-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_298, tr_298
  • loc_en_US, sid_203669835, prod, sort_default
<< 2 3 4 5  ... 11 >>
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 84ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT