The product you chose is discontinued, but we found something similar you might like.
7.8 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White
  • GE
  • Model GTD81ESSJWS
  • Internet #205908393
  • Store SO SKU #1001397079

7.8 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White

Was  $899.00
$809.10 /each

Save $89.90 (10%)  through 01/25/2017

Price includes 10% off Appliances Offer discounts. While supplies last.
Promotion Details
Price Valid : 12/22/2016 - 01/25/2017
10% off Appliances Offer ends January 25. 10% off discount taken off of Special Buy retail. Limited time offer.
Discontinued Model:

Model # GTDP740EDWW

Internet #203669835

Store SO SKU #125676

GE 7.8 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White
0084691250319

Discontinued GE

7.8 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White

  • HE Sensor Dry keeps your clothes looking and feeling their best
  • 5 heat selections provide the right temperatures for your clothes
  • eDry Option, save up to 10% on energy costs

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Designed to match our ENERGY STAR qualified High-Efficiency top load washers, these dryers offer simplicity and control. This GE 7.8 cu. ft. capacity electric dryer features HE Sensor Dry, keeping your clothes looking and feeling their best with dual thermistors that continually sense and monitors moisture and temperature to prevent over-drying. With 5 heat selections, it provides the right temperatures for your clothes drying needs.

California residents: see   Proposition 65 information

  • 7.8 cu. ft. capacity accommodates large loads
  • 12 automatic cycles, including Cotton, Permanent Press, Casual and Delicates, to properly care for a variety of fabric types
  • Painted steel drum resists chipping, rusting and abrasion to protect clothes from damage
  • Controls on the backsplash for easy access and operation. LED electronic controls with control lock & LED Cycle Countdown
  • 5 temperature settings provide the proper heat for different fabric types to ensure that clothes are not overdried
  • HE SensorDry keeps your clothes looking and feeling their best with dual thermistors that continually sense and monitor moisture and temperature to prevent over-drying
  • De-wrinkle option tumbles the dryer to help prevent wrinkles from setting into clean, dry fabrics
  • End-of-cycle signal provides an audible alert that the dryer cycle is finished
  • Clean lint filter reminder light alerts you when the lint filter needs to be cleaned for improved drying
  • eMonitor- Get the energy-saving insight you need to reduce your utility bills with an electronic readout that shows the efficiency level of each load
  • eDry Save up to 10% on energy costs without sacrificing drying performance, thanks to this option that reduces temperatures on select cycles
  • Delay Dry up to 9 hours for your convenience
  • Dryer Duct and electrical cords are required for installation and will be offered separately during appliance checkout
  • Click Here for details on the services included with Delivery & Basic Hook-up and Installation options for Major Appliances

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

If we can't repair it, we'll replace it!

  • No deductibles, no additional fees
  • Parts and labor costs included
  • In-home service by authorized technicians
  • 24/7 support

Plan pricing and term options will be shown during the checkout process

Click here for more information
* Limitations and exclusions apply. See terms and conditions for complete details. For eGift Card products $2,000 and up will receive a check reimbursement.

Compare Similar

Price
Was $699.00
Special Buy $553.00
$497.70 /each
Save $201.30 (29%)
$799.00 /each
Was $899.00
$809.10 /each
Save $89.90 (10%)
Was $999.00
$899.10 /each
Save $99.90 (10%)
Name 7.4 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White 7.8 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White 7.8 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White 7.8 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in Metallic Carbon
Brand GE GE GE GE
Ratings (302) (298) (18) (6)
Product Depth (in.) 30.5 31.9 31.9 31.9
Capacity - Dryer (cu. ft.) 7.4 7.8 7.8 7.8
Color/Finish Family White White White Metallic Carbon
Stackable No No No No
Product Width (in.) 27.0 28 28 28
Steam Function No No No No
Dryer Features Automatic Temperature Control,Cycle Time Remaining Display,Damp Dry,Door Window,End-Of-Cycle Signal,Four-Way Venting,Interior Light,Lint Filter,Moisture Sensor,Sensor Dry,Timed Dry Automatic Temperature Control,Cycle Time Remaining Display,Damp Dry,Delay Start,End-Of-Cycle Signal,Four-Way Venting,Interior Light,Lint Filter,Moisture Sensor,Sensor Dry,Timed Dry Automatic Temperature Control,Cycle Time Remaining Display,Damp Dry,Delay Start,Door Window,End-Of-Cycle Signal,Four-Way Venting,Interior Light,Lint Filter,Moisture Sensor,Sensor Dry,Timed Dry Automatic Temperature Control,Cycle Time Remaining Display,Damp Dry,Delay Start,Door Window,End-Of-Cycle Signal,Four-Way Venting,Interior Light,Lint Filter,Moisture Sensor,Sensor Dry,Timed Dry
Check Earliest Delivery Date
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code
-- -- -- --
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

3 Questions6 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

7.8 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White
7.8 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
 
3 answers

Does the GE dryer model #GTDP740EDWW have moisture sensor dry?

This question is from 7.8 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White
Asked by
Claire
April 26, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (3)

Asked by
Apopka, Florida
Read all my Q&A
December 1, 2014
Answer: 
Yes, when the dry actually works.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Dalton, GA, USA
Read all my Q&A
July 30, 2013
Answer: 
Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
April 26, 2013
Answer: 
Hello Clare,
Thank you for your inquiry on the GE Electric Dryer model # GTDP740EDWW.
Yes, this model features the HE Sensor Dry.
HE Sensor Dry: Keep your clothes looking and feeling their best with dual thermistors that continually sense and monitor moisture and temperature to prevent over-drying
5 heat selections will provide the right temperatures for your clothes-drying needs.
This is a great Read More
Hello Clare,
Thank you for your inquiry on the GE Electric Dryer model # GTDP740EDWW.
Yes, this model features the HE Sensor Dry.
HE Sensor Dry: Keep your clothes looking and feeling their best with dual thermistors that continually sense and monitor moisture and temperature to prevent over-drying
5 heat selections will provide the right temperatures for your clothes-drying needs.
This is a great dryer!
Donna with GE Read Less
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
 
2 answers

Can the dryness levels and temperatures be changed for the sensor cycles?

This question is from 7.8 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White
May 26, 2014
I'm thinking of buying this GE Model GTDP740EDWW dryer, and would like to know more about the sensor cycles. I have read the manual, and would like to clarify if I can manually change the dryness levels and temperatures (from the pre-set choices it gives) if I choose any of the sensor cycles (Casuals, Delicates, Normal, etc.). For example, if the pre-set settings for Delicate is Medium Heat / Dry level, can I change it to Extra Low Heat, Less Dry level? Our current (old) GE dryer allows this, but I know some other brands don't allow you to change the settings for pre-set sensor cycles.
Thanks!
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (2)

Asked by
Liberty Township Ohio
Read all my Q&A
January 6, 2015
Answer: 
Yes, you have the option to change the dryness level of your load.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 27, 2014
Answer: 
Hello - this is Nancy at GE and I am happy to help you.
Yes, you would be able to change the dryer selections. Once you select the drying cycle, if you want to change the pre-programmed suggested dryness level and temperature, then you can do so.
I hope this helps! Thanks for checking with us!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
 
1 answer

what does it mean if the dryer is working but not heating

This question is from 7.8 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
December 29, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer (1)

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
January 4, 2016
Answer: 
Hi gg-this is Sue from GE Appliances. If the electric dryer runs but does not heat, check the following: The dryer should be on a separate 208V/240V electrical outlet. An electric dryer may run with a partial voltage of 110 volts, but it will not heat unless it has 208/240V, 30 amps. The circuit breaker could have partially tripped, even if it does not look as though it has. Turn off the breaker to the Read More
Hi gg-this is Sue from GE Appliances. If the electric dryer runs but does not heat, check the following: The dryer should be on a separate 208V/240V electrical outlet. An electric dryer may run with a partial voltage of 110 volts, but it will not heat unless it has 208/240V, 30 amps. The circuit breaker could have partially tripped, even if it does not look as though it has. Turn off the breaker to the dryer and turn it back on to restore full power. Make sure you have the right timer selection, fabric setting, and temperature selection. The timer should be set to dry and not fluff (no heat) or cool down. Check the power cord. The power cord may have a burned, broken, or loose connection at the back of the dryer. To minimize the possibility of electric shock, unplug this appliance from the power supply before attempting any maintenance or cleaning. A metal plate covers this terminal block. Remove the screws holding the metal plate in place to access the terminal block connections. If wires and/or terminal connections are burned, broken, or frayed, then replacement of both will be necessary. If the above suggestions do not resolve the issue, service may be needed. If you would like to schedule a service appointment, please contact GE Consumer Service at 1-800-432-2737 or visit GEAppliances. com. Thanks for checking with us! Read Less
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 of 1
  • 2016-10-31 T00:07:22.474-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_203669835, prod, sort_default
1 of 1
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 196ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

7.8 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 298.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My new GE dyer is very efficient I absolutely love my new GE dryer. It is such a time saver. The "E Monitor"/ "E Dryer" function lets me and my family know that we are doing all we can to save on energy ...which is so important these days. I am also impressed with the way our clothes turn out - they are dry while still having that fresh smell ... positively no hint of "over-dried" or clothes that just plain smell "hot". Additionally, the extra large drum fits nicely into our needs. We have over-sized mattress pads for all of our beds - I don't even have to "flip" or "turn" the pad at the end of the cycle #like I did with our old dryer# in order to get them fully dry. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2013-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dries clothes perfectly! Towels dry fluffy & soft! After a serious issue with a dryer from another manufacturer, we did what we should have done in the first place...buy a GE washer and dryer that were made in America! So far so good! Love how the clothing and linens come out of the dryer soft and perfectly dried! Happy camper, here!
Date published: 2015-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Appliance shopping online Easy to shop, price & feature compare, and order. Effortless delivery, installation, and removal of old dryer. Love the new dryer. Purchased the 8.0 cu capacity. All of the features are amazing, and the dryer dries so much faster than my old one....which was 15 years old.
Date published: 2015-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dryer review The dryer does a great job. It is very spacious and holds a lot of clothes, more than my old dryer. I like all the cycle choices to get just what you want. It doesn't make any irritating noises. My old one made some squeaking noises. It even has an LED light bulb in the drum, so it should last the life of the dryer, and it lights it up the drum really well. Hopefully it does last the life of the dryer because the manual says that the light bulb must be replaced by a qualified technician. That part seems odd. Overall, it's a great dryer and I'm glad it was made in the USA.
Date published: 2014-03-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent dryer This is the most friendly dryer we've ever bought. The chimes and alerts are so pleasant to hear! The noise level during us is nonexistent, and the feature set is great. To top it off, this dryer is very attractive, and the price is reasonable for the return.
Date published: 2015-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from first time buyer This is my first time owning a washer and dryer and I have to say that I am very satisfied with this product not only with the brand but the way the product works. I have bought products from this same brand and never had an issue with them
Date published: 2015-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GE has such quality products I purchased this dryer about a month ago and am so happy with it. I have the matching washer also. Both are spacious and I'm able to wash and dry items such as comforters and winter items. I am very happy with my purchase.
Date published: 2015-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy to use We bought this dryer after our old one was damaged in a move. It is amazing. It fits everything and actually dries extra large comforters in the time it says! I have yet to restart the dryer due to damp clothes!!!!!
Date published: 2015-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Justified! Having a home on Nantucket produces a lot of towels! This dryer, although pricey, does the job efficiently & in about half as much time than my old one. I'm guessing the savings on electricity will level the field.
Date published: 2015-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gets the job done My old dryer was 20 years old so it was time. My washer was broken so I purchased a matching set. It does a great job, drys faster with the sensor. My only complaint is the buzzer isn't loud enough or long enough.
Date published: 2015-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good size dryer I love this dryer because of the size of the drum its so big and I love the light that comes on when you open the door. I also like the digital feature and how you can change the time, heat, its just great.
Date published: 2015-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent purchase We bought the washer and dryer. We could not be happier with both. They are very quiet during the cycles, and have very pleasant chimes to alert you. Nice, streamlined, and very intuitive controls.
Date published: 2015-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple with lots of features This dryer is so easy to use and dries the clothes quickly. Many different settings to choose from, yet simple to understand and easy to set to appropriate temperature and weight.
Date published: 2015-04-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great features only my second day using-so far so good-not sure yet about this product-only had it for short time-so far so good. I am however a log time GE product customer-great appliances
Date published: 2015-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love everything about this dryer!!! I love this dryer from the moment I saw it I considered other appliances but came back to this one and the matching washer so glad I did I'm extremely satisfied thank you
Date published: 2015-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow!!! The different drying options are awesome we bought the matching washer the same day, and like I said never thought we would have a computer doing our laundry.
Date published: 2015-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Large opening makes tossing laundry in a breeze. Initially the drying time was longer (ie 70 minutes). For a HE this is crazy, but now with sensors being run for a bit everything's dry in about 40 minutes.
Date published: 2015-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC!!! ordered online sight unseen. wanted a large capacity washer and dryer and I've had great experiences with LG. best purchase I've ever made. extremely happy
Date published: 2015-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing I've had this dryer for about 4 months and I still can't get over how quickly it dries clothes. It is truly amazing and I would recommend it to everyone.
Date published: 2015-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from QUIET and efficient Bought this last week... did a few loads. It's easy to operate, very quiet for a high efficiency washer... Good amount of clothes can fit in there also.
Date published: 2015-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features, great price, easy to use. Bought this a few days ago because my washer went out. Bought the washer and dryer. Love them! So quiet cant hear them when they are in use!
Date published: 2015-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great dryer and large tub. My wife is very happy with her new washer and dryer they are a great upgrade with those large tubs. Most of all save money on power usage!
Date published: 2015-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Efficient!! Bought this to replace a front loader that constantly had issues. This dryer is efficient and has nice features for multiple drying styles
Date published: 2015-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My new quiet dryer So far I love this dryer. My old one made to much noise. This one is nice and quiet. I had to check to see if it was running.
Date published: 2015-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great purchase Great dryer and well worth the purchase. Dries clothes much quicker and offers several drying options to fit our needs.
Date published: 2015-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from High Efficient Dryer Very impressed with the drying times.The different options with regard to fabrics makes this appliance very efficient.
Date published: 2015-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great features Boughtt new dryer 4 months ago. It works more efficiently than my old dryer. Clothes don't come out wrinkled.
Date published: 2015-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow! I love my new dryer. I especially like that it senses when my clothes are dry and automatically shuts off.
Date published: 2015-04-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from large tubbi i just bought this dryer so im going to need sometime before i can give you an honest review SORRY.
Date published: 2015-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing! When partnered with the washer, the dryer just completes the effectiveness of of both appliances.
Date published: 2015-04-01
  • y_2017, m_1, d_14, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_298
  • loc_, sid_203669835, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 79ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT