Model # GTDP740EDWW

Internet #203669835

Store SO SKU #125676

GE 7.8 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White
0084691250319

Discontinued GE

7.8 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White

  • HE Sensor Dry keeps your clothes looking and feeling their best
  • 5 heat selections provide the right temperatures for your clothes
  • eDry Option, save up to 10% on energy costs

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Designed to match our ENERGY STAR qualified High-Efficiency top load washers, these dryers offer simplicity and control. This GE 7.8 cu. ft. capacity electric dryer features HE Sensor Dry, keeping your clothes looking and feeling their best with dual thermistors that continually sense and monitors moisture and temperature to prevent over-drying. With 5 heat selections, it provides the right temperatures for your clothes drying needs.

California residents: see   Proposition 65 information

  • 7.8 cu. ft. capacity accommodates large loads
  • 12 automatic cycles, including Cotton, Permanent Press, Casual and Delicates, to properly care for a variety of fabric types
  • Painted steel drum resists chipping, rusting and abrasion to protect clothes from damage
  • Controls on the backsplash for easy access and operation. LED electronic controls with control lock & LED Cycle Countdown
  • 5 temperature settings provide the proper heat for different fabric types to ensure that clothes are not overdried
  • HE SensorDry keeps your clothes looking and feeling their best with dual thermistors that continually sense and monitor moisture and temperature to prevent over-drying
  • De-wrinkle option tumbles the dryer to help prevent wrinkles from setting into clean, dry fabrics
  • End-of-cycle signal provides an audible alert that the dryer cycle is finished
  • Clean lint filter reminder light alerts you when the lint filter needs to be cleaned for improved drying
  • eMonitor- Get the energy-saving insight you need to reduce your utility bills with an electronic readout that shows the efficiency level of each load
  • eDry Save up to 10% on energy costs without sacrificing drying performance, thanks to this option that reduces temperatures on select cycles
  • Delay Dry up to 9 hours for your convenience
  • Dryer Duct and electrical cords are required for installation and will be offered separately during appliance checkout
  • Click Here for details on the services included with Delivery & Basic Hook-up and Installation options for Major Appliances

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

If we can't repair it, we'll replace it!

  • No deductibles, no additional fees
  • Parts and labor costs included
  • In-home service by authorized technicians
  • 24/7 support

Plan pricing and term options will be shown during the checkout process

Click here for more information
* Limitations and exclusions apply. See terms and conditions for complete details. For eGift Card products $2,000 and up will receive a check reimbursement.

Compare Similar

Price
Was $699.00
$629.10 /each
Save $69.90 (10%)
$799.00 /each
Was $999.00
$899.10 /each
Save $99.90 (10%)
Was $999.00
$899.10 /each
Save $99.90 (10%)
Name 7.4 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White 7.8 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White 7.4 cu. ft. Electric Dryer with Steam in White 7.4 cu. ft. Electric Dryer with Steam in White, ENERGY STAR
Brand GE GE Samsung Whirlpool
Ratings (544) (298) (533) (14)
Product Depth (in.) 30.5 31.9 30.25 31
Capacity - Dryer (cu. ft.) 7.4 7.8 7.4 7.4
Color/Finish Family White White White White
Stackable No No No No
Product Width (in.) 27.0 28 27 27
Steam Function No No Yes Yes
Dryer Features Automatic Temperature Control,Cycle Time Remaining Display,Damp Dry,Door Window,End-Of-Cycle Signal,Four-Way Venting,Interior Light,Lint Filter,Moisture Sensor,Sensor Dry,Timed Dry Automatic Temperature Control,Cycle Time Remaining Display,Damp Dry,Delay Start,End-Of-Cycle Signal,Four-Way Venting,Interior Light,Lint Filter,Moisture Sensor,Sensor Dry,Timed Dry Cycle Time Remaining Display,Delay Start,Door Window,End-Of-Cycle Signal,Four-Way Venting,Interior Light,Lint Filter,Moisture Sensor,Sensor Dry,Steam Function,Timed Dry Automatic Temperature Control,Cycle Time Remaining Display,Damp Dry,Door Window,End-Of-Cycle Signal,Four-Way Venting,Front Control,Interior Light,Lint Filter,Moisture Sensor,Sensor Dry,Steam Function,Timed Dry
Check Earliest Delivery Date
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code
-- -- -- --
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

Does the GE dryer model #GTDP740EDWW have moisture sensor dry?

Asked by: Anonymous
Yes, when the dry actually works.
Answered by: vanman628
Date published: 2015-11-07

Can the dryness levels and temperatures be changed for the sensor cycles?

I'm thinking of buying this GE Model GTDP740EDWW dryer, and would like to know more about the sensor cycles. I have read the manual, and would like to clarify if I can manually change the dryness levels and temperatures (from the pre-set choices it gives) if I choose any of the sensor cycles (Casuals, Delicates, Normal, etc.). For example, if the pre-set settings for Delicate is Medium Heat / Dry level, can I change it to Extra Low Heat, Less Dry level? Our current (old) GE dryer allows this, but I know some other brands don't allow you to change the settings for pre-set sensor cycles. Thanks!
Asked by: dryerquestion
Yes, you have the option to change the dryness level of your load.
Answered by: Siggy
Date published: 2015-09-20

what does it mean if the dryer is working but not heating

Asked by: gg
Hi gg-this is Sue from GE Appliances. If the electric dryer runs but does not heat, check the following: The dryer should be on a separate 208V/240V electrical outlet. An electric dryer may run with a partial voltage of 110 volts, but it will not heat unless it has 208/240V, 30 amps. The circuit breaker could have partially tripped, even if it does not look as though it has. Turn off the breaker to the dryer and turn it back on to restore full power. Make sure you have the right timer selection, fabric setting, and temperature selection. The timer should be set to dry and not fluff (no heat) or cool down. Check the power cord. The power cord may have a burned, broken, or loose connection at the back of the dryer. To minimize the possibility of electric shock, unplug this appliance from the power supply before attempting any maintenance or cleaning. A metal plate covers this terminal block. Remove the screws holding the metal plate in place to access the terminal block connections. If wires and/or terminal connections are burned, broken, or frayed, then replacement of both will be necessary. If the above suggestions do not resolve the issue, service may be needed. If you would like to schedule a service appointment, please contact GE Consumer Service at 1-800-432-2737 or visit GEAppliances. com. Thanks for checking with us!
Answered by: GE Answers
Date published: 2016-01-05
  • y_2017, m_4, d_24, h_2CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_3
  • loc_, sid_203669835, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 82ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

7.8 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 298.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent purchase We bought the washer and dryer. We could not be happier with both. They are very quiet during the cycles, and have very pleasant chimes to alert you. Nice, streamlined, and very intuitive controls.
Date published: 2015-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great dryer! I have been using the dryer for 3 months and am very happy with this product. The inside light is a great feature. It drys cloths in no time. Very large capacity.
Date published: 2015-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Large opening makes tossing laundry in a breeze. Initially the drying time was longer (ie 70 minutes). For a HE this is crazy, but now with sensors being run for a bit everything's dry in about 40 minutes.
Date published: 2015-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC!!! ordered online sight unseen. wanted a large capacity washer and dryer and I've had great experiences with LG. best purchase I've ever made. extremely happy
Date published: 2015-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great dryer and large tub. My wife is very happy with her new washer and dryer they are a great upgrade with those large tubs. Most of all save money on power usage!
Date published: 2015-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Options! This dryer is great! I love the large capacity and all the different setting. I really love the dewrinkle cycle! Great buy for the money.
Date published: 2015-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great features Boughtt new dryer 4 months ago. It works more efficiently than my old dryer. Clothes don't come out wrinkled.
Date published: 2015-06-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Dependable dryer This was given to us as a wedding present about 2 years ago we've not had any problems with it.
Date published: 2015-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for large loads! Love this dryer! Great for large families! Hasn't let us down and will dry very large loads.
Date published: 2015-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from New dryer after 10 years We are please with our purchase of this dryer. The sales people also recommended it.
Date published: 2015-07-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from happy impressed with the load it can dry and the amount of clothes you can put in it.
Date published: 2015-07-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great features and love the size of it. I've had my dryer for 5 months and love it. Works great for my family of 6:)
Date published: 2015-07-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from settings choices are great! Settings choices are spot on! My clothes always are dry when I remove them.
Date published: 2015-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LARGE SIZE I bought this dryer 6 months ago I love the size it dries very quickly.
Date published: 2015-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love the capacity of the dryer I bought this dryer a few months ago. I love how fast the clothes dry.
Date published: 2015-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice Works perfectly. Looks great. Has many options and features. Love it!
Date published: 2015-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love all the new features Still fairly new but is quiet and does a great job cleaning clothes
Date published: 2015-06-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love it Very easy to use. Dries fast very good product. Would recommend.
Date published: 2015-07-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Abcd Great dryer but the moves the whole dryer trying to open it.
Date published: 2015-08-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the big drum Love the fact that I can dry my comforts and bed spreads
Date published: 2015-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dryer review The dryer does a great job. It is very spacious and holds a lot of clothes, more than my old dryer. I like all the cycle choices to get just what you want. It doesn't make any irritating noises. My old one made some squeaking noises. It even has an LED light bulb in the drum, so it should last the life of the dryer, and it lights it up the drum really well. Hopefully it does last the life of the dryer because the manual says that the light bulb must be replaced by a qualified technician. That part seems odd. Overall, it's a great dryer and I'm glad it was made in the USA.
Date published: 2014-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from All around great! I have had thi for a few months now and it works great!
Date published: 2015-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great! Love my dryer - simple to use, dries clothes quickly.
Date published: 2015-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quiet Love the dryer. It's quiet and is easy to operate.
Date published: 2015-05-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Easy to use Dryer needs to have sensors in both front and back
Date published: 2015-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Huge capacity, large door We bought this with the matching GE washing machine and they both do a great job! I like the large capacity and large door. A competitor's dryer had a large capacity but the door was so small it was difficult to reach the back of the dryer, but not so with GE. Only had it a week or so, but it seems to be a good machine in that it dries quickly and the auto-dry feature works well - our old one over-dried when using the auto-dry setting, but it was 22 years old. Hope this one lasts that long!
Date published: 2014-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love my dryer! Had to replace my old dryer after we smelled smoke... did a lot of online research before choosing this one. I am very happy with this dryer. Everything comes out nice and dry first time through. There are many "extra" features that are really nice to have and it is energy efficient. The end of cycle chimes are much more pleasant than the irritating buzzer my old dryer had. Almost makes laundry fun lol. (Or make you think someone is playing a video game in the laundry room.)
Date published: 2014-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Superb Choice! It has only been three weeks since my purchase and already I simply cannot imagine owning any other dryer. As always, I follow Consumer Reports Guidance ... and as always, they were right. The dryer came highly recommended. My three favorite features are: Capacity, Quietness, and Simple Elegant Style of the control panel. I did not check the depth of the dryer in the stats and had to make some minor adjustments. It was WELL worth it and I would absolutely do it again.
Date published: 2014-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extreme amount of room! I just got this dryer and couldn't be more excited about it! I got the washer 6 months ago and loved its ability to wash two loads at one time. Now I have the matching dryer that can dry the same amount, so it's truly a time-saver! With 6 boys at home who play sports, I have tons of laundry, so I'm a much happier momma!
Date published: 2015-05-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from GE Dryer This dryer works great , the only problem is the end of the drying cycle buzzer is not loud enough to be heard in another part of the house. Also the hose attachment in the back of the dryer does not allow the dryer sit as close to the wall as my previous dryer, so it sicks out about 5 inches further than my washer.
Date published: 2015-03-18
  • y_2017, m_4, d_24, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_298
  • loc_, sid_203669835, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 158ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT