0084691250319

Suggested Replacement

7.8 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White
  • GE
  • Model GTD81ESSJWS
  • Internet # 205908393

7.8 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White

Was  $899.00
$809.10 /each

Save $89.90 (10%)  through 09/14/2016

Price includes 10% off Appliances Offer discounts. While supplies last.
Promotion Details
Price Valid : 08/25/2016 - 09/14/2016
10% off Appliances Offer ends September 14. 10% off discount taken off of Special Buy retail. Limited time offer.

Compare to Discontinued Model View Product

Discontinued Model

Discontinued

GE

Model GTDP740EDWW

Internet #203669835

Store SO SKU #125676

7.8 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White

This item has been discontinued.
The Home Depot no longer carries this specific product.

  • HE Sensor Dry keeps your clothes looking and feeling their best
  • 5 heat selections provide the right temperatures for your clothes
  • eDry Option, save up to 10% on energy costs

Compare Similar

Price
Was $699.00
Special Buy $553.00
$497.70 /each
Save $201.30 (29%)
$799.00 /each
Was $899.00
$809.10 /each
Save $89.90 (10%)
Was $1,099.00
$989.10 /each
Save $109.90 (10%)
Name 7.4 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White 7.8 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White 7.8 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White 7.8 cu. ft. Electric Dryer with Steam in White
Brand GE GE GE GE
Ratings (184) (298) (14) (5)
Capacity - Dryer (cu. ft.) 7.4 7.8 7.8 7.8
Product Depth (in.) 30.5 31.9 31.9 31.9
Color/Finish Family White White White White
Product Width (in.) 27.0 28 28 28.0
Stackable No No No No
Matching Washer Type Top Load Top Load Top Load Top Load
Steam Function No No No Yes
Check Earliest Delivery Date
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code
-- -- -- --
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Designed to match our ENERGY STAR qualified High-Efficiency top load washers, these dryers offer simplicity and control. This GE 7.8 cu. ft. capacity electric dryer features HE Sensor Dry, keeping your clothes looking and feeling their best with dual thermistors that continually sense and monitors moisture and temperature to prevent over-drying. With 5 heat selections, it provides the right temperatures for your clothes drying needs.

California residents: see   Proposition 65 information

  • 7.8 cu. ft. capacity accommodates large loads
  • 12 automatic cycles, including Cotton, Permanent Press, Casual and Delicates, to properly care for a variety of fabric types
  • Painted steel drum resists chipping, rusting and abrasion to protect clothes from damage
  • Controls on the backsplash for easy access and operation. LED electronic controls with control lock & LED Cycle Countdown
  • 5 temperature settings provide the proper heat for different fabric types to ensure that clothes are not overdried
  • HE SensorDry keeps your clothes looking and feeling their best with dual thermistors that continually sense and monitor moisture and temperature to prevent over-drying
  • De-wrinkle option tumbles the dryer to help prevent wrinkles from setting into clean, dry fabrics
  • End-of-cycle signal provides an audible alert that the dryer cycle is finished
  • Clean lint filter reminder light alerts you when the lint filter needs to be cleaned for improved drying
  • eMonitor- Get the energy-saving insight you need to reduce your utility bills with an electronic readout that shows the efficiency level of each load
  • eDry Save up to 10% on energy costs without sacrificing drying performance, thanks to this option that reduces temperatures on select cycles
  • Delay Dry up to 9 hours for your convenience
  • Dryer Duct and electrical cords are required for installation and will be offered separately during appliance checkout
  • Click Here for details on the services included with Delivery & Basic Hook-up and Installation options for Major Appliances

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

If we can't repair it, we'll replace it!

  • No deductibles, no additional fees
  • Parts and labor costs included
  • In-home service by authorized technicians
  • 24/7 support

Plan pricing and term options will be shown during the checkout process

Click here for more information
* Limitations and exclusions apply. See terms and conditions for complete details. For eGift Card products $2,000 and up will receive a check reimbursement.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

3 Questions6 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

7.8 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White
7.8 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
 
3 answers

Does the GE dryer model #GTDP740EDWW have moisture sensor dry?

This question is from 7.8 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White
Asked by
Claire
April 26, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (3)

Asked by
Apopka, Florida
Read all my Q&A
December 1, 2014
Answer: 
Yes, when the dry actually works.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Dalton, GA, USA
Read all my Q&A
July 30, 2013
Answer: 
Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
April 26, 2013
Answer: 
Hello Clare,
Thank you for your inquiry on the GE Electric Dryer model # GTDP740EDWW.
Yes, this model features the HE Sensor Dry.
HE Sensor Dry: Keep your clothes looking and feeling their best with dual thermistors that continually sense and monitor moisture and temperature to prevent over-drying
5 heat selections will provide the right temperatures for your clothes-drying needs.
This is a great Read More
Hello Clare,
Thank you for your inquiry on the GE Electric Dryer model # GTDP740EDWW.
Yes, this model features the HE Sensor Dry.
HE Sensor Dry: Keep your clothes looking and feeling their best with dual thermistors that continually sense and monitor moisture and temperature to prevent over-drying
5 heat selections will provide the right temperatures for your clothes-drying needs.
This is a great dryer!
Donna with GE Read Less
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
 
2 answers

Can the dryness levels and temperatures be changed for the sensor cycles?

This question is from 7.8 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White
May 26, 2014
I'm thinking of buying this GE Model GTDP740EDWW dryer, and would like to know more about the sensor cycles. I have read the manual, and would like to clarify if I can manually change the dryness levels and temperatures (from the pre-set choices it gives) if I choose any of the sensor cycles (Casuals, Delicates, Normal, etc.). For example, if the pre-set settings for Delicate is Medium Heat / Dry level, can I change it to Extra Low Heat, Less Dry level? Our current (old) GE dryer allows this, but I know some other brands don't allow you to change the settings for pre-set sensor cycles.
Thanks!
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (2)

Asked by
Liberty Township Ohio
Read all my Q&A
January 6, 2015
Answer: 
Yes, you have the option to change the dryness level of your load.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 27, 2014
Answer: 
Hello - this is Nancy at GE and I am happy to help you.
Yes, you would be able to change the dryer selections. Once you select the drying cycle, if you want to change the pre-programmed suggested dryness level and temperature, then you can do so.
I hope this helps! Thanks for checking with us!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
 
1 answer

what does it mean if the dryer is working but not heating

This question is from 7.8 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
December 29, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer (1)

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
January 4, 2016
Answer: 
Hi gg-this is Sue from GE Appliances. If the electric dryer runs but does not heat, check the following: The dryer should be on a separate 208V/240V electrical outlet. An electric dryer may run with a partial voltage of 110 volts, but it will not heat unless it has 208/240V, 30 amps. The circuit breaker could have partially tripped, even if it does not look as though it has. Turn off the breaker to the Read More
Hi gg-this is Sue from GE Appliances. If the electric dryer runs but does not heat, check the following: The dryer should be on a separate 208V/240V electrical outlet. An electric dryer may run with a partial voltage of 110 volts, but it will not heat unless it has 208/240V, 30 amps. The circuit breaker could have partially tripped, even if it does not look as though it has. Turn off the breaker to the dryer and turn it back on to restore full power. Make sure you have the right timer selection, fabric setting, and temperature selection. The timer should be set to dry and not fluff (no heat) or cool down. Check the power cord. The power cord may have a burned, broken, or loose connection at the back of the dryer. To minimize the possibility of electric shock, unplug this appliance from the power supply before attempting any maintenance or cleaning. A metal plate covers this terminal block. Remove the screws holding the metal plate in place to access the terminal block connections. If wires and/or terminal connections are burned, broken, or frayed, then replacement of both will be necessary. If the above suggestions do not resolve the issue, service may be needed. If you would like to schedule a service appointment, please contact GE Consumer Service at 1-800-432-2737 or visit GEAppliances. com. Thanks for checking with us! Read Less
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 of 1
  • 2016-08-24 T14:10:15.391-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_203669835, prod, sort_default
1 of 1
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 38ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 298 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by first time buyer This is my first time owning a washer and dryer and I have to say that I am very satisfied with this product not only with the brand but the way the product works. I have bought products from this same brand and never had an issue with them March 29, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wow!!! The different drying options are awesome we bought the matching washer the same day, and like I said never thought we would have a computer doing our laundry. April 8, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by High Efficient Dryer Very impressed with the drying times.The different options with regard to fabrics makes this appliance very efficient. March 29, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Huge capacity, large door We bought this with the matching GE washing machine and they both do a great job! I like the large capacity and large door. A competitor's dryer had a large capacity but the door was so small it was difficult to reach the back of the dryer, but not so with GE. Only had it a week or so, but it seems to be a good machine in that it dries quickly and the auto-dry feature works well - our old one over-dried when using the auto-dry setting, but it was 22 years old. Hope this one lasts that long! November 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Dries alot faster than my old dryer I have had it for 4 months now and is working great. Lots of drying options. March 27, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by large tubbi i just bought this dryer so im going to need sometime before i can give you an honest review SORRY. March 22, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wow! I love my new dryer. I especially like that it senses when my clothes are dry and automatically shuts off. April 3, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I love everything about this dryer!!! I love this dryer from the moment I saw it I considered other appliances but came back to this one and the matching washer so glad I did I'm extremely satisfied thank you March 11, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Dryer I replaced an old stinker and this one is QUIET, great size, decent price, so far so good! April 2, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing I've had this dryer for about 4 months and I still can't get over how quickly it dries clothes. It is truly amazing and I would recommend it to everyone. March 25, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Dryer review The dryer does a great job. It is very spacious and holds a lot of clothes, more than my old dryer. I like all the cycle choices to get just what you want. It doesn't make any irritating noises. My old one made some squeaking noises. It even has an LED light bulb in the drum, so it should last the life of the dryer, and it lights it up the drum really well. Hopefully it does last the life of the dryer because the manual says that the light bulb must be replaced by a qualified technician. That part seems odd. Overall, it's a great dryer and I'm glad it was made in the USA. March 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My new quiet dryer So far I love this dryer. My old one made to much noise. This one is nice and quiet. I had to check to see if it was running. March 23, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love my dryer! Had to replace my old dryer after we smelled smoke... did a lot of online research before choosing this one. I am very happy with this dryer. Everything comes out nice and dry first time through. There are many "extra" features that are really nice to have and it is energy efficient. The end of cycle chimes are much more pleasant than the irritating buzzer my old dryer had. Almost makes laundry fun lol. (Or make you think someone is playing a video game in the laundry room.) November 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Dries lick-i-dy split I love this dryer! Dries large loads so fast! Def recommend! March 29, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great product We have truly enjoyed the product and would recommend it to friends March 25, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Features I bought this 4 months ago and I am very satisfied. March 25, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Love it!!!!! I got this a month ago and i so so so so LOVE IT!! March 6, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by It lights up when you open it! Just bought this dryer, seems nice. I like how it lights up when you open the door! February 20, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great features, great price, easy to use. Bought this a few days ago because my washer went out. Bought the washer and dryer. Love them! So quiet cant hear them when they are in use! February 25, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great performance great dryer works very well in good time ...and reallys drys clothes very quickly March 11, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Dryer Excellent product. Easy to use and dries the clothes quickly. The dryer came with several cycles which are really handy. January 13, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good size dryer I love this dryer because of the size of the drum its so big and I love the light that comes on when you open the door. I also like the digital feature and how you can change the time, heat, its just great. February 18, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Meets my expectations This GE clothes dryer meets and exceeds my expectations. A product made in the US by union American folks which is what I try to purchase. January 6, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Super Efficient!! Bought this to replace a front loader that constantly had issues. This dryer is efficient and has nice features for multiple drying styles February 23, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Product Very smooth functionality and dries very good and evenly February 19, 2015
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by This product is average This dryer is an average product. I think it's a middle of the line, safe bet. It seems to dry things about the same as my old dryer. It has a sensor, but I don't think it's always accurate. Sometimes, I have to turn the dyer on "timer" to complete drying some of my clothes. The sensor feels as though the clothes are dry, and they are not. It also plays music when starting or stopping, which is something to note. A positive of this dryer is the room inside. I have a large comforter that I had to take to the laudromat with my old dryer; which now fits easily into this dryer. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] May 24, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by No liquid detergent dispenser I am happy with everything except that there is no place to put liquid detergent. You have to put it directly into the tub which can leave greasy looking stains on clothes. You can't start the water to dilute the detergent because the clothes have to be in the tub for the washer to calibrate how much water to add. Guess I will have to start using pods. Frustrating. August 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Fit Had to replace the dryer that went out after 10 years. Only change I would make the dryer is put a drop down door. The Washer is easy to work with it digital controls. I am hoping the electronics don't go out on this. That would be my only concern. December 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Dryer I bought this about a week ago, and I am completely impressed! Great features, solid build, and the controls are very user friendly January 18, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Noise pollution: not What I most appreciate about this dryer is how quietly it tumbles and the appealing, melodic signals. While I love how well it works, how much it can contain, the wonderful setting options, by far--the best thing about it is that I can hear myself think when it's running and the lyrical sounds to signal it's end cycle are happy and uplifting instead of alarming and stressful. That may seem silly but with a constant, consuming chore like laundry --it's a big deal for me. It helps me resent laundry less and I do it more often because of this. Subsequently, I'm left with smaller, easier-to-deal loads that make the chore easier and my life more manageable. All because I'm not avoiding either the tumbling noise or an annoying alarm! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] May 22, 2013
  • 2016-08-26 T14:01:29.325-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_298, tr_298
  • loc_en_US, sid_203669835, prod, sort_default
<< 2 3 4 5 6  ... 11 >>
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 89ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT