Model # AGBS45DEFBS

Internet #204388740

Store SO SKU #1000020182

GE Artistry 4.8 cu. ft. Gas Range in Black
0084691258315

GE Artistry

4.8 cu. ft. Gas Range in Black

  • AGBS45DEFBS
$599.00 /each
Color/Finish: Black
  • Black
  • White

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Your GE Artistry 30 in. Gas Range in Black with Broiler Drawer has a right front burner of 12,500 BTU's, which quickly provides high heat. A Precise Simmer burner allows you to cook delicate foods that don't burn with low, even heat. The porcelain upswept cooktop with raised edges contains spills, while the surface is easy to wipe clean. The standard clean oven with smooth surfaces and rounded corners make clean-up quick and easy. GE appliances provide up-to-date technology and exceptional quality to simplify the way you live. With a timeless appearance, this family of appliances is ideal for your family. And, coming from one of the most trusted names in America, you know that this entire selection of appliances is as advanced as it is practical.

California residents: see   Proposition 65 information

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

If we can't repair it, we'll replace it!

  • No deductibles, no additional fees
  • Parts and labor costs included
  • In-home service by authorized technicians
  • 24/7 support

Plan pricing and term options will be shown during the checkout process

Click here for more information
* Limitations and exclusions apply. See terms and conditions for complete details. For eGift Card products $2,000 and up will receive a check reimbursement.

Compare Similar

Price
$549.00 /each
$599.00 /each
$599.00 /each
$599.00 /each
Name 5.1 cu. ft. Gas Range in Black 4.8 cu. ft. Gas Range in Black 5.1 cu. ft. Gas Range in Black 30 in. 4.2 cu. ft. Gas Range in Black
Brand Whirlpool GE Artistry Whirlpool Frigidaire
Ratings (834) (119) (624) (21)
Color/Finish Family Black Black Black Black
Range Size 30 in. 30 in. 30 in. 30 in.
Range Type Freestanding Freestanding Freestanding Freestanding
Cleaning Type Manual Clean Manual Clean Manual Clean Manual Clean
Number of Burners 4 4 5 5
Oven Features Built-In Clock,Control Lockout,Digital Display,Interior Light,LP Convertible,Oven Window Built-In Clock,Control Lockout,Interior Light,LP Convertible,LP Convertible,Oven Window Built-In Clock,Control Lockout,Digital Display,Interior Light,LP Convertible,Oven Window Built-In Clock,Control Lockout,Digital Display,Gliding/Roll Out Racks,Interior Light,Oven Window
Convection No No No No
Check Earliest Delivery Date
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code
-- -- -- --
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

34 Questions54 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

4.8 cu. ft. Gas Range in Black
4.8 cu. ft. Gas Range in Black

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
This question is from 4.8 cu. ft. Gas Range in White
 
2 answers

Exactly the same parts as non-big-box outlets?

This question is from 4.8 cu. ft. Gas Range in White
Asked by
Utah
Read all my Q&A
August 4, 2016
Is the Artistry range sold by Home Depot exactly the same, same parts and everything, as the Artistry ranges sold at other outlets like Sears? I've been told there is special manufacturing for big-box stores.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (2)

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
August 8, 2016
Answer: 
Hi CT- This is Sue at GE Appliances. We are excited to hear of your interest in our Artistry Series! We do not have special manufacturing based on the GE dealer. Rest assured, the range will be exactly the same regardless of where it is purchased. Thanks for reaching out to us. Enjoy!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
New York
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Other
August 6, 2016
Answer: 
I don't know the answer to that, but here is the GE number for questions about their products: 1-800-626-2005 (Option 3). I hope this helps.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
This question is from 4.8 cu. ft. Gas Range in White
 
3 answers

Does electricity control the gas flow?

This question is from 4.8 cu. ft. Gas Range in White
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
July 20, 2016
If the burner is turned on, and there is no electricity will the gas still flow to the turned on burner?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (3)

Asked by
Canton,Ma
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 26, 2016
Answer: 
Yes and it can be lit with a match. So if there is a power failure you can still cook!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
New York
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Other
July 25, 2016
Answer: 
Yes, to the first question but I don't know the answer to question 2.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
July 25, 2016
Answer: 
Hi Pete- This is Sue at GE Appliances. Thanks for viewing our Artistry Series! Yes, in case of a power failure, you can light the surface burners with a match. Hold a lit match to the burner ports, then slowly turn the control knob to the LITE position. Use extreme caution when lighting burners this way. Thanks for checking with us!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
This question is from 4.8 cu. ft. Gas Range in White
 
3 answers

Can you light it with a match?

This question is from 4.8 cu. ft. Gas Range in White
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
July 20, 2016
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (3)

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
July 24, 2016
Answer: 
Hello Pete,
I am happy to help. The top burners can be lit with a match in the case of a power outage. The oven cannot be lit in the case of a power outage. I hope this helps. Thank you for checking with us.
Lisa from GE Appliances
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
New York
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Other
July 22, 2016
Answer: 
When you turn the knob the burners (and oven) light automatically. I don't know how you would light the oven with a match but you could turn the burner knobs very slightly and light with a match. I did have a problem with one of the burners and was able to use a match to operate it until it was fixed. I hope this helps.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Canton,Ma
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 22, 2016
Answer: 
yes but why bother
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
This question is from 4.8 cu. ft. Gas Range in Black
 
1 answer

Can the unit (top back with clock) be left off if I desire a more sleek look to blend in with my back splash? Basically eliminating the 3" back piece

This question is from 4.8 cu. ft. Gas Range in Black
Asked by
Winnsboro Texas
Read all my Q&A
June 5, 2016
I prefer to not have the back 3 to 4" piece of the back. I want the item to look like a range top but love the look of this particular stove.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer (1)

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
June 15, 2016
Answer: 
Hi Connie,
Thank you for your interest in GE's Artistry Range. The backsplash cannot be removed. We appreciate you checking with us.
Lisa from GE Appliances.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 3 »
  • 2016-10-30 T23:55:27.264-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_204388740, prod, sort_default
2 3 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 137ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 116 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Retro Design It's been 2 weeks now since we had this product. I ordered this online not seeing how it really looked like in actual. I love that the stove part are recessed so when overflow happens when cooking, it does not flood the whole stove top. I bought it for there is no electronic panel on top, since the reason for buying this product is to replace the existing one that we had with electronic panel that went berserk and caused our oven to be inoperable. The knobs are classy and stainless steel look. The oven is huge and efficient. Perfect for my 1950s house. The only downside is no timer included. September 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Product good, delivery system poor Since this is a retro look, features weren't expected to be 2016. Clock set is hard to turn. September 17, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very cool looking range This range looks great in our modern kitchen and goes well with the other stainless appliances. Everyone comments on how cool it looks so if you want something different than your typical stainless kitchen I would check out this line of appliances. It does not have a ton of fancy features but the oven bakes perfectly and the stovetop cooks to perfection so what else do you really need? One thing to note: after the oven was delivered we noticed the clock was not working, I called home depot and they sent a technician out the same day and installed a working clock. March 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Simple, reliable, and looks great in a vintage kitchen. We bought the stove, fridge, and microwave in the Artistry series of appliances. Originally we looked into the Big Chill products but they were simply too pricey so we were very happy to find that GE makes a retro design. We are renovating an older house and these have the perfect look. All pieces have worked well so far and wthout all the extra gadgets that we didn't use on our last set of appliances. Even though the microwave is a later piece of technology for the period look we are going for, it still blends in nicely. Overall we are pleased and would recommend. December 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A step back in time. I received my GE Artistry oven several weeks ago. I love the simplicity and retro look. Only think missing was a timer, but I purchased a retro, magnetic timer that attaches perfectly, February 11, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Love the simple classic design! Very simple, clean lines. This stove is perfect in my retro house and simple kitchen. I love the analog clock, and having nothing digital on the face of the stove. The knobs are handsome and solid and the heat adjusts down to the lowest low. The burners are large, with enough space for large pots and the grates are easily removed for cleaning. I love the large oven and window with the light inside. The oven heats quickly and the heat seems to be even on all sides. The only feature this stove is missing is a simple timer for the clock. Other reviewers mentioned a noisy clock, but mine is totally silent. I would have preferred a storage drawer to the broiler, but that wasn't a deal breaker. The only thing to watch for with this stove is the hot oven air coming out in the front when the oven is in use as it will melt anything left up close to the back of the stove. I appreciate that GE has produced a good solid product at a reasonable price. February 9, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Complete purchase process was seamless GE's artistry line is a very retro style at a nice retro price. Gas stove is excellent - we'll never go back to electric! The simple top is very easy to clean and we love the styling of the retro analog clock. It's also shown to be much more easier to clean. Dials add a stylish touch! September 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love it! Had a 14 year old GE gas range that was working great but needed updating since we are remodeling our kitchen. We purchased this gas range, the matching microwave and dishwasher. Didn't want to do all stainless steel because we have (another brand) stainless steel french door fridge that we love, but it's a total pain in the bum to keep clean. This suite of appliances not only works very well for our needs, but has that vintage look we are going for. My husband said I've got to be the only woman he knows who wanted new appliances that look old. LOL Very happy with all of our GE Artistry series! Installation was wonderful as well. We had just had our kitchen cabinets refinished and the installers were VERY careful around them. They also have me a few minutes to sweep/vacuum out where the old dishwasher and gas range were before installing the new ones. :-) April 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by It looks good Generally, we like our new range. We were a little disappointed that it doesn't make a ring when it is pre-heated. It just has a light that goes on/off so you have to watch it. Also, it doesn't have a cover for the oven light. I don't think that's where they're going to save any real money. It's the details like that would be more impressive........ It seems very efficient - both stove top & oven, however. Knobs work nicely. Oven door doesn't stay open well for putting somethinng in. Just the right amount of stainless steel on black - looks great! September 2, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice, Affordable Gas Range Great range. Simple, vintage look. Stove lights easily, oven cooks evenly. Oven door seals well. I like the "oven heating" light. The only things I wish it had were a timer and an oven door lock...but I knew that it didn't before purchasing. November 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by looks great! This range is just what I was looking for. It has a large oven window, burner tops that come off for easy cleaning and a real honest to goodness clock! I know I will enjoy it many years. September 30, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful, efficient, wonderful Hands down the best stove I've ever cooked on! I own the range, refrigerator and dishwasher and I am VERY pleased with the quality and efficiency of each product. As a designer, I really appreciate the minimalism and wise design. I consider myself an experienced cook, and I feel my food even comes out better with this range—great, even heating. An awesome product within an awesome series :) September 1, 2016
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great range, horrible clock I want to give this 5 starts but I'm frustrated with the analog clock. The day it was delivered the clock stopped working when I used the oven. I called for service but cancelled because the clock started working again. When I used the oven again, the clock stopped working. As of today I've had this range 5 days. When I use the oven, the clock stops working. Every single time. Let me point out that I purchased this model because it has a knob for the oven. I don't like digital settings. There were two models in this size to choose from and I bought the best of the two (I love that it has 3 different burner BTU's and an oven knob). I didn't buy a clock; I bought a range. So far, I give the range 5 stars. But since something as ridiculous as an analog clock doesn't work when I use the oven, I give it 3 stars. I wish they'd either make this model without the clock or make it with a clock that works when the oven is used. I see I am not the only consumer with this same complaint. Why does the clock stop working when I use the oven? I have a service call scheduled. If this doesn't get fixed, sadly, I'd to give it 1 star. Although I bought a range, not a clock, it has a clock on it and it should work properly. The clock was not optional. I had a Hotpoint that worked flawlessly for 16 years. It worked so well that I forgot how old it was. Now I have a GE that required a service call the day it was delivered...because of an analog clock. As far as the cooktop and oven - love it! Even heating, wonderfully designed, large knobs, just wonderful. I bought a digital timer on Amazon so I don't miss my old timer (again, I wanted an oven knob and those models don't come with a digital timer). GE needs to figure out the clock/oven deal. March 8, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by cool retro vibe at a reasonable price Bought this for its retro vibe as my old stove had died and didn't feel comfortable paying $6000 for a big chill or northstar range that I couldn't even view in person as there are no showrooms in northern Ca. I like the lack of unnecessary bells and whistles; wish there was a timer but other than that, it is well worth the price. I bought the 3 yr warranty for $60 from home depot just for an extra measure of safety... November 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Old Fashioned Look We recently bought this new range and so far I really like it. I like the older look. It reminds me when I was a kid. However, there is one thing that I would change. The bigger burner is on the right front (looking at the range) and I would much prefer it in the back. It would be more practical for me. Overall, it works well and so far so good! August 19, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Simple, clean look. Works great! Purchased and have been using the range for a couple of weeks and am very pleased with my purchase. I love the simple, retro look. It works great so far. I purchased the Artistry refrigerator about 2 years ago and am absolutely crazy about it and would definitely recommend it. Will be purchasing the GE Artistry dishwasher to match the other pieces. September 5, 2016
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Black with stainless knobs Looks like a more expensive stove. Has simmer burner and boil burner for better heat control. No timer, nor self cleaning, but is a good stove at a great price. October 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent stove! It works great - looks fantastic too! We are so happy with the purchase. August 20, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by KILLER RANGE-LOVE IT!! ABSOLUTELY LOVE,LOVE, LOVE THIS GAS RANGE-WAS ACTUALLY GOING TO PURCHASE A REAL PRICEY "BIG CHILL' RANGE FOR FAR MORE MONEY WHEN I SPOTTED THIS GEM.THIS IS A REALLY COOL LOOKING "RETRO"-1950's STYLE RANGE LIKE THE BIG CHILL MODEL, ONLY IT'S MUCH CHEAPER...GREAT RANGE AND REAL BANG FOR THE BUCK. IT'S A REAL BASIC RANGE WITHOUT ALL THE NEEDLESS BELLS AND WHISTLES.THE BLACK IS A GREAT POP OF COLOR AGAINST ALL THE STAINLESS IN MY KITCHEN... November 2, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Concern GE decided for what ever reason decided to manufacture and sell the stove without a self clean option.... Is the reason I decided not to purchase during my remodel phase of our kitchen..... January 25, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A REAL BEAUTY! WOW! What a pretty appliance! Retro with class! I love the analog clock and large, easy to read knobs! Simple, classy and a steal at the price! August 2, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Simple is better! I bough this stove a month a go, and I love it. Is simple, turns on quick and the color contrast the white with the steal make it a whole. August 13, 2016
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Analog clock not working Love the look of the artistry line, I purchased the fridge, dishwasher and gas range. The issue is the analog clock on the gas range and it started immediately once I used it. When the oven heats up the clock stops working, when it cools down it starts again. Now after a year it isn't keeping accurate time at all. I could live with the the noise it makes but please just work. I called GE and they said there have been no reported issues and I would have to pay service and parts charge to have it repaired. Thanks for nothing GE, I see you stand behind your products, there is an obvious problem with this clock just read all of the reviews.The sad part about it is people love the look of my appliances but I won't recommend it to them especially with how GE is dealing with my problem. September 28, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by product is jest right for me really like our new stove. I was a little worried about ordering on line I have always seen things before buying. I really liked the looks of this stove and am very happy with everything about it March 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Adorable range If you're looking for a retro vibe you'll love this range. It's a great size, not as bulky as my last range. Works great, love the simplicity of the old school clock and knobs. There's no timer and the oven settings are on the dials-they aren't digital. I find it charming and just got used to setting the timer on my microwave to bake something. June 8, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Product Searched all over to get a manual oven with sealed burners May 5, 2016
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Love the look We just purchased our gas range and so far we love it. I didn't expect the handles to be as good as quality as they are, that was a bonus. We mainly bought it for the style. We have an older house and it was just the look we wanted. The oven light button isn't the best style but thats my only complaint on looks. Now I did my homework before buying this product so I was not surprised when the clock didn't work. Yes our stove is brand new, 2 weeks old. The clock works but slows down over time. I don't mind this, but you do have to turn the dial to make it the right time, close to every 3 days. The clock does make a faint hum noise as well. February 20, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Above and Beyond The styling of this range is fantastic. The control knobs are easy to handle, and the numbering on them is easy to read. I was very happy that the outside of the oven including the glass is safe to touch during use. The oven handle is very comfortable to hold onto and the door hinges easily up and down with little effort. April 15, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Feeling good about the GE Artistry Just installed our the new GE Artistry Series Gas Oven (black) in our kitchen and we are pleasantly satisfied. The delivery was fast and friendly. As for the actual gas range its sleek, nice, and has that " retro" old school feeling that we all like. April 23, 2016
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by you can do MUCH better the retro-looking clock is a great idea, except I've now had 3 clocks quit working in the first year, with GE refusing to declare the stove "un-repairable". If that wasn't bad enough, there is a mega-cheap rubber gasket for the stove and broiler doors which is more suitable for a shower door (oh, and only goes around 3 sides of the door to save GE a few more pennies per unit). The rest of the stove is very unsubstantial-feeling, with chintzy burner grates and tinny-sounding stovetop - they clearly tried to build this unit as cheaply as possible. Lesson learned - I'll definitely look closer the next time I buy, avoiding GE at all costs (BTW, Home Depot has already removed these from some of their stores, which is probably not a coincidence). April 29, 2015
  • 2016-10-30 T15:11:39.360-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_116, tr_116
  • loc_en_US, sid_204388740, prod, sort_default
<<2 3 4 5 >>
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 223ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT