Model # AGBS45DEFBS

Internet #204388740

Store SO SKU #1000020182

GE Artistry 4.8 cu. ft. Gas Range in Black
0084691258315

GE Artistry

4.8 cu. ft. Gas Range in Black

  • AGBS45DEFBS
Was  $599.00
$539.10 /each

Save $59.90 (10%)  through 01/25/2017

Price includes 10% off Appliances Offer discounts. While supplies last.
Promotion Details
Price Valid : 12/22/2016 - 01/25/2017
10% off Appliances Offer ends January 25. 10% off discount taken off of Special Buy retail. Limited time offer.
Color/Finish: Black
  • Black

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Your GE Artistry 30 in. Gas Range in Black with Broiler Drawer has a right front burner of 12,500 BTU's, which quickly provides high heat. A Precise Simmer burner allows you to cook delicate foods that don't burn with low, even heat. The porcelain upswept cooktop with raised edges contains spills, while the surface is easy to wipe clean. The standard clean oven with smooth surfaces and rounded corners make clean-up quick and easy. GE appliances provide up-to-date technology and exceptional quality to simplify the way you live. With a timeless appearance, this family of appliances is ideal for your family. And, coming from one of the most trusted names in America, you know that this entire selection of appliances is as advanced as it is practical.

California residents: see   Proposition 65 information

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

If we can't repair it, we'll replace it!

  • No deductibles, no additional fees
  • Parts and labor costs included
  • In-home service by authorized technicians
  • 24/7 support

Plan pricing and term options will be shown during the checkout process

Click here for more information
* Limitations and exclusions apply. See terms and conditions for complete details. For eGift Card products $2,000 and up will receive a check reimbursement.

Compare Similar

Price
Was $599.00
Special Buy $498.00
$448.20 /each
Save $150.80 (25%)
Was $549.00
$494.10 /each
Save $54.90 (10%)
Was $599.00
$539.10 /each
Save $59.90 (10%)
Was $599.00
$539.10 /each
Save $59.90 (10%)
Name 30 in. 4.2 cu. ft. Gas Range in Black 5.1 cu. ft. Gas Range in Black 4.8 cu. ft. Gas Range in Black 5.1 cu. ft. Gas Range in Black
Brand Frigidaire Whirlpool GE Artistry Whirlpool
Ratings (23) (918) (96) (701)
Color/Finish Family Black Black Black Black
Range Size 30 in. 30 in. 30 in. 30 in.
Range Type Freestanding Freestanding Freestanding Freestanding
Cleaning Type Manual Clean Manual Clean Manual Clean Manual Clean
Number of Burners 5 4 4 5
Oven Features Built-In Clock,Control Lockout,Digital Display,Gliding/Roll Out Racks,Interior Light,Oven Window Built-In Clock,Control Lockout,Digital Display,Interior Light,LP Convertible,Oven Window Built-In Clock,Control Lockout,Interior Light,LP Convertible,LP Convertible,Oven Window Built-In Clock,Control Lockout,Digital Display,Interior Light,LP Convertible,Oven Window
Convection No No No No
Check Earliest Delivery Date
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code
-- -- -- --
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

34 Questions54 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

4.8 cu. ft. Gas Range in Black
4.8 cu. ft. Gas Range in Black

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
This question is from 4.8 cu. ft. Gas Range in White
 
2 answers

Exactly the same parts as non-big-box outlets?

This question is from 4.8 cu. ft. Gas Range in White
Asked by
Utah
Read all my Q&A
August 4, 2016
Is the Artistry range sold by Home Depot exactly the same, same parts and everything, as the Artistry ranges sold at other outlets like Sears? I've been told there is special manufacturing for big-box stores.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (2)

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
August 8, 2016
Answer: 
Hi CT- This is Sue at GE Appliances. We are excited to hear of your interest in our Artistry Series! We do not have special manufacturing based on the GE dealer. Rest assured, the range will be exactly the same regardless of where it is purchased. Thanks for reaching out to us. Enjoy!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
New York
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Other
August 6, 2016
Answer: 
I don't know the answer to that, but here is the GE number for questions about their products: 1-800-626-2005 (Option 3). I hope this helps.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
This question is from 4.8 cu. ft. Gas Range in White
 
3 answers

Does electricity control the gas flow?

This question is from 4.8 cu. ft. Gas Range in White
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
July 20, 2016
If the burner is turned on, and there is no electricity will the gas still flow to the turned on burner?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (3)

Asked by
Canton,Ma
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 26, 2016
Answer: 
Yes and it can be lit with a match. So if there is a power failure you can still cook!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
New York
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Other
July 25, 2016
Answer: 
Yes, to the first question but I don't know the answer to question 2.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
July 25, 2016
Answer: 
Hi Pete- This is Sue at GE Appliances. Thanks for viewing our Artistry Series! Yes, in case of a power failure, you can light the surface burners with a match. Hold a lit match to the burner ports, then slowly turn the control knob to the LITE position. Use extreme caution when lighting burners this way. Thanks for checking with us!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
This question is from 4.8 cu. ft. Gas Range in White
 
3 answers

Can you light it with a match?

This question is from 4.8 cu. ft. Gas Range in White
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
July 20, 2016
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (3)

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
July 24, 2016
Answer: 
Hello Pete,
I am happy to help. The top burners can be lit with a match in the case of a power outage. The oven cannot be lit in the case of a power outage. I hope this helps. Thank you for checking with us.
Lisa from GE Appliances
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
New York
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Other
July 22, 2016
Answer: 
When you turn the knob the burners (and oven) light automatically. I don't know how you would light the oven with a match but you could turn the burner knobs very slightly and light with a match. I did have a problem with one of the burners and was able to use a match to operate it until it was fixed. I hope this helps.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Canton,Ma
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 22, 2016
Answer: 
yes but why bother
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
This question is from 4.8 cu. ft. Gas Range in Black
 
1 answer

Can the unit (top back with clock) be left off if I desire a more sleek look to blend in with my back splash? Basically eliminating the 3" back piece

This question is from 4.8 cu. ft. Gas Range in Black
Asked by
Winnsboro Texas
Read all my Q&A
June 5, 2016
I prefer to not have the back 3 to 4" piece of the back. I want the item to look like a range top but love the look of this particular stove.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer (1)

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
June 15, 2016
Answer: 
Hi Connie,
Thank you for your interest in GE's Artistry Range. The backsplash cannot be removed. We appreciate you checking with us.
Lisa from GE Appliances.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 3 »
  • 2016-10-30 T23:55:27.264-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_204388740, prod, sort_default
2 3 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 37ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

4.8 cu. ft. Gas Range in Black is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 96.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A REAL BEAUTY! WOW! What a pretty appliance! Retro with class! I love the analog clock and large, easy to read knobs! Simple, classy and a steal at the price!
Date published: 2016-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple is better! I bough this stove a month a go, and I love it. Is simple, turns on quick and the color contrast the white with the steal make it a whole.
Date published: 2016-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent stove! It works great - looks fantastic too! We are so happy with the purchase.
Date published: 2016-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from KILLER RANGE-LOVE IT!! ABSOLUTELY LOVE,LOVE, LOVE THIS GAS RANGE-WAS ACTUALLY GOING TO PURCHASE A REAL PRICEY "BIG CHILL' RANGE FOR FAR MORE MONEY WHEN I SPOTTED THIS GEM.THIS IS A REALLY COOL LOOKING "RETRO"-1950's STYLE RANGE LIKE THE BIG CHILL MODEL, ONLY IT'S MUCH CHEAPER...GREAT RANGE AND REAL BANG FOR THE BUCK. IT'S A REAL BASIC RANGE WITHOUT ALL THE NEEDLESS BELLS AND WHISTLES.THE BLACK IS A GREAT POP OF COLOR AGAINST ALL THE STAINLESS IN MY KITCHEN...
Date published: 2013-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from cool retro vibe at a reasonable price Bought this for its retro vibe as my old stove had died and didn't feel comfortable paying $6000 for a big chill or northstar range that I couldn't even view in person as there are no showrooms in northern Ca. I like the lack of unnecessary bells and whistles; wish there was a timer but other than that, it is well worth the price. I bought the 3 yr warranty for $60 from home depot just for an extra measure of safety...
Date published: 2013-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very cool looking range This range looks great in our modern kitchen and goes well with the other stainless appliances. Everyone comments on how cool it looks so if you want something different than your typical stainless kitchen I would check out this line of appliances. It does not have a ton of fancy features but the oven bakes perfectly and the stovetop cooks to perfection so what else do you really need? One thing to note: after the oven was delivered we noticed the clock was not working, I called home depot and they sent a technician out the same day and installed a working clock.
Date published: 2014-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Retro Design It's been 2 weeks now since we had this product. I ordered this online not seeing how it really looked like in actual. I love that the stove part are recessed so when overflow happens when cooking, it does not flood the whole stove top. I bought it for there is no electronic panel on top, since the reason for buying this product is to replace the existing one that we had with electronic panel that went berserk and caused our oven to be inoperable. The knobs are classy and stainless steel look. The oven is huge and efficient. Perfect for my 1950s house. The only downside is no timer included.
Date published: 2014-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from product is jest right for me really like our new stove. I was a little worried about ordering on line I have always seen things before buying. I really liked the looks of this stove and am very happy with everything about it
Date published: 2014-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love my GE Artistry Series appliances! I have had the Artistry Series gas range and matching refrigerator (both in white) for nearly 3 years now and I am still in love with them. My husband and I restored a 120 year old house and have a large eat in kitchen. These appliances fit perfectly into our circa 1950's theme for the kitchen. The only problem is that the analog clock on the range runs a little slow from time to time. I was attracted to this line of appliances because of the super clean lines. They are both easy to keep clean and live up to my expectations and needs. Since we live in a very rural area, I'm in the kitchen a lot! Both of these appliances keep up with the cooking of 3 meals a day nearly every day of the year! I read on another site where these appliances were geared more towards the younger crowd with an experienced eye towards the buying of appliances. I disagree! This is my second GE gas range, and my third GE refrigerator. As mentioned above, they both have met and exceeded my expectations and needs. I would highly recommend these appliances to those who don't want all the bells and whistles. The simplicity of these appliances are a huge part of their charm and greatly contribute to their excellent functionality.
Date published: 2016-03-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the look We just purchased our gas range and so far we love it. I didn't expect the handles to be as good as quality as they are, that was a bonus. We mainly bought it for the style. We have an older house and it was just the look we wanted. The oven light button isn't the best style but thats my only complaint on looks. Now I did my homework before buying this product so I was not surprised when the clock didn't work. Yes our stove is brand new, 2 weeks old. The clock works but slows down over time. I don't mind this, but you do have to turn the dial to make it the right time, close to every 3 days. The clock does make a faint hum noise as well.
Date published: 2016-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A step back in time. I received my GE Artistry oven several weeks ago. I love the simplicity and retro look. Only think missing was a timer, but I purchased a retro, magnetic timer that attaches perfectly,
Date published: 2015-02-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Clock not working Love the look of the artistry line,I purchased the frig and the dishwasher which are fabulous but the oven range is another story. The issue is the analog clock on the gas range and the problem started immediately with the first use of the oven. When it heats up the clock would stop working, when it cooled down it would start up again. Now after a year clock just stops working and when I set the correct time again, it won't keep accurate time as other reviewers have also stated. I don't mind that the clock is a bit loud but please just work. The sad part is everyone loves our new kitchen and especially our appliances but I tell them the truth about this range and I wouldn't recommend the artistry line.
Date published: 2015-09-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from looks great nice and simple stove burners grates are to high have to keep flame up on high to cook seams to lose heat .the oven will not get up to temp at times 100 degrees off I have adjusted what needed to be still off at times.
Date published: 2014-04-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Old School Cool The features on this stove are retro, clean and welcome in my kitchen. It was relatively easy to switch it out from natural gas to LP and I was able to immediately start using all the features, burners, broiler and oven. Reviews I read before purchasing complained about the "noise" of the clock. It's minimal and not a problem. Why not 5 stars? I've only had it under a week!
Date published: 2016-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Adorable range If you're looking for a retro vibe you'll love this range. It's a great size, not as bulky as my last range. Works great, love the simplicity of the old school clock and knobs. There's no timer and the oven settings are on the dials-they aren't digital. I find it charming and just got used to setting the timer on my microwave to bake something.
Date published: 2016-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Above and Beyond The styling of this range is fantastic. The control knobs are easy to handle, and the numbering on them is easy to read. I was very happy that the outside of the oven including the glass is safe to touch during use. The oven handle is very comfortable to hold onto and the door hinges easily up and down with little effort.
Date published: 2016-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Feeling good about the GE Artistry Just installed our the new GE Artistry Series Gas Oven (black) in our kitchen and we are pleasantly satisfied. The delivery was fast and friendly. As for the actual gas range its sleek, nice, and has that " retro" old school feeling that we all like.
Date published: 2016-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Retro Stove I wanted a simple gas stove-no electronic push buttons to control the oven. I wanted the good old fashioned knobs. This stove perfectly fits my wants and needs, plus the slightly retro style looks good! It has an old fashioned analog clock and a light letting you know that the oven is heating. I really like the burnished silver knobs and oven handle. This stove has 1 simmer burner, 1 extra hot burner and 2 regular burners. The burner grates are nice and sturdy. The oven is good size and can easily fit a "famly size" turkey. I also needed a stove that was 30" wide or less, and this stove met that criteria. It was easy to install and setup for cooing/baking. If you're looking for a QUALITY gas stove without all the electronic bells and whistles then this is the perfect gas stove. I'm very happy with this purchase!!!
Date published: 2013-11-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Black with stainless knobs Looks like a more expensive stove. Has simmer burner and boil burner for better heat control. No timer, nor self cleaning, but is a good stove at a great price.
Date published: 2014-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Enjoying the range Had this range for about 2 weeks. So far great temperature regulation. Love the design.
Date published: 2016-02-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful Simple stove with a great look! Sleek, clean lines, and not overly complicated.
Date published: 2016-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Product Searched all over to get a manual oven with sealed burners
Date published: 2016-05-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from love this oven We've had this oven for 3 months, and so far I love it! It's very simple, which is exactly what I was looking for and while I love the analog clock, it has stopped working many times already--the reason for the 4 stars. Otherwise, this oven is exactly what I was looking for--bakes beautifully, easy to clean, and the high BTU burner is awesome.
Date published: 2015-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks Great Just received my new range. Can't speak to how it will work, but it looks good, no annoying bells and whistles to go wrong (I hope)_
Date published: 2015-10-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poorly Made I bought this range becuase it was simple. Have owned for 4 months, if I coud return it I would. Grates are to high and wobble the flame is uneven and hard to control either to high or to low, the oven is just as bad does not cook evenly. An the plastic clock quit working the first week I owned it no biggie here it was replaced. All I can say about it that is good it looks nice.
Date published: 2015-02-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from wish I could give this a 5 star rating looked at several range makes and models, wife chose the one she liked, then we saw this one in the set build and wanted just the range for now. love the styling. only thing keeping this review from being 5 stars is minor, the light switch for the oven is engineered upside down (switch down to turn on, and up to turn off?) and with the styling we assumed the clock would light up, it does not. The no electronic, flashing, beeping wanna-be spaceship styling and attitude. We love this Simple, stylish, dependable, and functional range.
Date published: 2014-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great oven! We chose this oven for its simplistic , and elegant design. No computer boards to have to worry about breaking down in the future, and since we do not need all the bells, and whistles of timers, and digital readouts. This oven was perfect, It has a really big oven space with a large oven window, the range,oven knobs, and oven door have a stainless steel look, and feel, the clock is analog,and can be set with a simple twist of the outer bezel, the oven really cooks great. and the cool, yet retro design makes it unique, and could fit in any kitchen.
Date published: 2015-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Clean and simple design We are so happy with this purchase. We went from an old, electric GE range to this gas one and couldn't be happier! I much prefer to cook with gas and wanted a simple design. The lack of an electric dashboard makes this a clean, simple design that fits into any kitchen.
Date published: 2014-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Handsome, simple and totally functional Wonderful simple vintage look. Love the clock and the large oven window with light inside. The oven door opens and closes solidly. I purchased the white and it is easy to clean. The burnished stainless knobs look sharp and adjust from high down to the lowest low. The oven heats up quickly. I was worried about the clock being noisy as other reviewers had mentioned, but mine is quiet. The oven temp is true and it seems to cook evenly. The installers did not level the stove, but that was easy to fix. I am very pleased with this purchase.
Date published: 2015-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome stove Never used a gas stove until now! So glad that I made the switch. Easy to use ignition switches and easy to clean! I love the timeless look of the stove and look forward to using it for many years to come! Look forward to being able to com and boil water if the power ever goes out!
Date published: 2014-06-03
  • y_2017, m_1, d_14, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_96
  • loc_, sid_204388740, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 70ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT