The product you chose is discontinued, but we found something similar you might like.
Spacemaker Washer and Electric Dryer in White
  • GE
  • Model GUD27ESSJWW
  • Internet #205908364
  • Store SO SKU #1001377971

Spacemaker Washer and Electric Dryer in White

Was  $1,399.00
Special Buy  $1,298.00
$1,168.20 /each

Save $230.80 (16%)

Discontinued Model:

Model # GTUP270EMWW

Internet #202799093

Store SO SKU #413794

GE Unitized Spacemaker 3.3 cu. ft. Washer and 5.9 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White
0084691226666

Discontinued GE

Unitized Spacemaker 3.3 cu. ft. Washer and 5.9 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

The GE Unitized Washer and Electric Dryer features a 5.9 cu. ft. capacity dryer and a 3.3 cu. ft. capacity washer that accommodate large loads, helping you spend less time doing laundry. The innovative washer unit features an auto-load sensing system with 5 water levels that automatically measure the load size and add just the right amount of water, making it easy to conserve energy. Rotary washer and dryer controls help make it easy to set the ideal settings for your load.

California residents: see   Proposition 65 information

  • 5.9 cu. ft. capacity dryer and 3.3 cu. ft. capacity washer accommodate large loads
  • Rotary electronic washer controls and rotary electromechanical dryer controls simplify cycle selection
  • 9 wash cycles, including delicates, heavy duty and permanent press, help you care properly for a range of fabrics
  • 3 wash/spin speed combinations help you match the spin speed to the fabric type
  • 5 wash/rinse temperatures give you a high° of control over fabric cleaning and care
  • Auto-load sensing system with 5 water levels automatically measures the load size and adds just the right amount of water
  • Bleach and fabric softener dispensers automatically mix solutions with wash water for bright, soft-to-the-touch results
  • 4 dryer cycles, including air fluff and cool down, address everyday drying needs
  • 4 drying temperatures help you pick the setting that's right for your clothes
  • Cycle status lights provide accurate cycle times
  • 3-way exhaust options (back and sides) for versatility
  • Click Here for details on the services included with Delivery & Basic Hook-up and Installation options for Major Appliances

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

If we can't repair it, we'll replace it!

  • No deductibles, no additional fees
  • Parts and labor costs included
  • In-home service by authorized technicians
  • 24/7 support

Plan pricing and term options will be shown during the checkout process

Click here for more information
* Limitations and exclusions apply. See terms and conditions for complete details. For eGift Card products $2,000 and up will receive a check reimbursement.

Compare Similar

Price
Was $1,399.00
Special Buy $1,298.00
$1,168.20 /each
Save $230.80 (16%)
Was $1,499.00
$1,349.10 /each
Save $149.90 (10%)
$1,399.00 /each
Was $1,599.00
$1,439.10 /each
Save $159.90 (10%)
Name Spacemaker Washer and Electric Dryer in White High-Efficiency 3.8 cu. ft. Top Load Washer and 5.5 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White Unitized Spacemaker 3.3 cu. ft. Washer and 5.9 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White High-Efficiency 3.8 cu. ft. Top Load Washer and 5.5 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in Classic Slate
Brand GE Frigidaire GE Frigidaire
Ratings (585) (109) (510) (99)
Dryer Fuel Type Electric Electric Electric Electric
Capacity - Washer (cu. ft.) 3.2 3.8 3.3 3.8
Product Width (in.) 26.8 27 26.8 27
Product Depth (in.) 30.85 31.5 30.85 31.5
Color/Finish Family White White White Slate
Product Height (in.) 75.5 76 75.5 76
Washer Features No Additional Features Add Garment (pause),End-Of-Cycle Signal,Front Control No Additional Features Add Garment (pause),End-Of-Cycle Signal,Front Control
Check Earliest Delivery Date
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code
-- -- -- --
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

Door hinged on left or right for the drier?

I've reviewed the answers here: one answer from GE says that the "door hinges are on the left and not reversible." The other answer from GE says that the door hinges are on the right" and not reversible. So, WHERE ARE the door hinges on this model? Thx.
Asked by: Anonymous
Dryer Door Style Right Swing
Answered by: EradicatingTheCrazy
Date published: 2015-09-20

Can the vent be taken out the side of the machine and not the back? I need to push it in closer to the wall.

I have a restricted space and need the machine to go back. Right now the vent is running form the dryer and holds the maching fromt he wall. I bought a GE a few years back and it had the option of running the dryer vent out the side of the machine.
Asked by: Anonymous
Bear in mind that code may not allow you to vent to the side. In Miami, for instance, dryers now have to vented to the back. Apparently it's slightly safer that way, but it's a MAJOR headache if you're dealing with restricted space, and let's face it, anyone considering this unit likely is. In the end, I couldn't find a stackable W/D that would fit into the 15yo closet and conform to the new code. Luckily, my contractor solved it. He built a 3"-deep frame around the closet and attached the louvered folding doors to the frame. Voila! Instant 3" more depth to the closet. Painted and finished, it looks like it has always been that way.
Answered by: Anonymous
Date published: 2015-11-07

Does the washer lid stay open on its own or do you have to hold it open?

Asked by: Anonymous
It stays open on its own
Answered by: EradicatingTheCrazy
Date published: 2015-09-17

Another question asked is where dryer door is hinged. Answer was left side. When I look at the picture it is on my right.

Are the hinges on the left or right when you are facing looking at the dryer?
Asked by: Anonymous
Dryer Door Style Right Swing
Answered by: EradicatingTheCrazy
Date published: 2015-09-17
  • y_2017, m_3, d_25, h_3CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_86
  • loc_, sid_202799093, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 80ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Unitized Spacemaker 3.3 cu. ft. Washer and 5.9 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 510.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Initial quality appears to be top notch When a manufacturer only makes one or two models of a certain product they usually attempt to get it right. It appears GE has done this with their stackable unit, and I am sure the same goes for their unititized version. Measure your space a number of times, before deciding on the unitized (smaller) version over the full size stackable. The full size is great, and it fit in our space just fine. The dryer is cavernous, and is large enough to dry comforters with no problem. Overall, this is a great product that will likely last many years without maintenance issues. Also, consider this is the unit that many apartment buildings use as they know they will survive a lot of abuse.
Date published: 2011-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Space Saver washer dryer Our apartment in Manhattan has a "closet" that a stackable washer dryer fits into. It needed to have exact specifications for width and depth, as well as being electric (as opposed to gas). This combo fit the criteria perfectly. Also I am short and I liked that the controls were in the middle (some of the other combos have the controls at the very top, hard for me to reach / see). It runs well and it does the job. Home Depot used Home Delivery America to deliver the washer. They gave me a 4 hour time frame the day before and came exactly when they said they would. They also kindly carted away the other washer/dryer. My maintenance man installed the machine. There is a cord that you have to purchase separately (~$20) and it comes in the option of "3 prong" or "4 prong". I called Home Depot to ask which I should buy and they said most places use 3 prong. (I really should have asked my maintenance man which one). When they got there and saw that it was 4 prong, they conveniently brought with them a 4 prong cord, which I purchased on the spot. They then took back the 3 prong cord and I received a credit. I am happy with Home Depot and their delivery service. I would use both again.
Date published: 2011-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A whole lot of laundry in a very small closet! I bought a 2BR condo and didn't notice that the 24"-wide existing stacking W/D, 15 years old and no longer produced, could barely wash two sheets at the same time. I needed more, and in any case the old one was likely to die on me at some time in the future, given its age. My contractor removed the existing wall between the W/D closet and the A/C closet and replaced it with something a lot slimmer. Even then, with the unit torn out and the new partition, I had a roughly 31" x 31" closet in which to fit a new W/D. (Bear in mind, you need space behind the machine for the vents and faucets). I looked at every stacking W/D available, and this was the only one that fit. How lucky am I? I love this W/D. Great programs from hard-core hot-water scrubbing to a really gentle delicate cycle, auto-sensing load size, very quiet except in spin mode (and even then, relatively quiet), and does the job quickly.
Date published: 2013-02-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Machine Installation problems I read all the reviews. No problems with the buttons getting stuck in the dryer, no problems with cloths wadding in the washer. Not sure it cleans as well as my old side by side. Mahor problems with installation. The installers had to do it by their companies specs, which left me with the machine sticking 3 inches out into my dining room. I had to hire a handyman to install it per the instruction manual and to level it it out.
Date published: 2012-12-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Bad GE Experience - Lost me as a future customer When I received my unit, it was broken. While the experience with Home Depot was ok, the experience with GE to get my appliance fixed was not. I had to take a total of 5 days off work to get the appliance fixed. On my first call to the GE CS center, they told me the “clicking noises” were normal and the unit was "heating up" - I didn’t buy it so I asked them to send a service technician out. The drum was broke. They shipped a new one. In short, the service technician didn’t show up on the scheduled day. The second time he showed but said per “GE standards” they needed two people there to install the drum. I scheduled another day off. The technician was to be there between the window of 1-5pm. They showed at 6:15pm on a Friday and left about 8:05. I’ve spent hours on the line with GE regarding a weeks’ vacation off work over a washer/dryer unit. They credited me $92. Sitting at home for a 5 days earned me $2.30/hour. Pitiful. Way to lose a customer GE.
Date published: 2012-05-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from BEWARE, dryer eats/destroys buttons, eats drawstrings on pants beware of the waffle plastic design on the dryer lint screen, it eats buttons on shirts by ripping out the core. It grabs hold of and twists drawstrings on clothing until it breaks. Something wrong with the design, don't buy until GE addresses problem.
Date published: 2011-08-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from In 5 days, 24 washes and counting Large drum holds more than you think it can. Dryer has many settings which actually work. Apparently the lint trap was redesigned because it all flows smoothly in the drum. It was also easy to install despite what I read in the reviews. Hook up your 3 or 4 wire cord, hook up you exhaust vent and the hoses and away you go. It stuck out about 3/4" further than the old one so I had to move the door which took a few moments for my set up. All in all, a heavy duty machine which swallows laundry and dries quickly. It does sound like a grinding noise in the laundry cycle early in the cycle and it makes some other strange noises when loading water but with the door closed you don't hear it. Overall, a solid machine
Date published: 2013-08-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Purchase I purchased my stackable in April, 2012. Have not had any major concerns. The knob on the dryer was replaced about a month ago. Other that that I wash towels and sheets on a regular basis and have not had to worry about the size of the loads. Easy to operate, must say great buy - would highly recommend for a small space.
Date published: 2012-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great unit... would buy it again! This has been a great purchase. There are not many models out there that will fit in my small laundry space. This unit fits and works great! And I really love the rerinse options. Worth every penny! I had an older version of this unit that just died after 15 years. This new version is larger and I am really happy with it. On a side note, it makes lots of strange noises. But I have gotten used to them now.
Date published: 2011-09-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from 60% of the investment made twice Purchased two years ago and the chip board shelled out. Do not invest in this product unless you're prepared to make 60% of your original investment again in repairs.
Date published: 2016-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product- full size Delivery was fast, courteous and on time. The washer and dryer are full size, efficient and work great. We own two of this same product and use them in our rental properties.
Date published: 2012-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Efficient & Quiet This compact machine does large loads as well as any other larger,bulkier machine. And it tucks neatly into a closet or corner. We love it!
Date published: 2011-05-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Great dissatisfaction Holes in the lint filter are big. Buttons and strings are constantly being caught and ripped from clothing. Very poor design. I didn't pay this kind of money to have clothing destroyed. Until this defect is fixed, I would not reccomend this product.
Date published: 2012-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for my small laundry room! This has all the features of a much larger unit and is energy efficient. My clothes are washed quickly and come out perfectly clean. The dryer is fast and my clothes come out fluffy and mostly wrinkle-free What a great value. By using these stacked appliances, I have lots of storage roomleft for shelves, vacuum, mops, and cleaning products
Date published: 2011-09-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Good Features but the dryer interior is poorly designed and rips off buttons and hooks There is a design flaw in the dryer. Buttons and hooks are ripped off in almost every load. If you enjoy constant mending and replacing clothes that are ruined, this would be the machine for you.
Date published: 2011-12-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from leaves marks LESS THAN 3 MONTHS OLD. CLOTHING, BEDDING GETTING BLACK MARKS FROM DRYER. SUSPECT FELT PAD BETWEEN DRUM AND FRAME IS PICKING UP SOME KIND OF DARK MATERlAL AND PASSING IT ONTO THE CLOTHES. SERVICEMAN CLEANED THE FELT AND WAS OK FOR SHORT TIME BUT BACK AGAIN. HATE HAVING TO REWASH OR SPOT-WASH CLOTHES FROM BRAND NEW MACHINE.
Date published: 2014-12-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bad The washer/dryer unit did not work when delivered!
Date published: 2012-01-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Was happy with it, until $1800 repair bill came.... I bought this for my Florida condo. I was very happy with it, expect for the repairs. After 2 years, I had to replace the computer board. Over $600. Then the washer became very loud, and I called GE service to look at it. He said the transmission was shot, and the repair would be $1800. Really??? It cost less than that. Now I have go buy a new one, will look at all my brand options first. You should not have to throw out a new GE unit after just 4 years..... I did not buy the cheapest, I thought I bought the best.
Date published: 2014-11-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Dryer control knob stopped working after one month of use. I have had three of these unitized washer dryers. The other two lasted for years without problems. I hope this will be the only time it needs repair and lasts years before being replaced.
Date published: 2012-01-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The worst machine -- and service -- ever I bought an earlier version of this machine, the WSM2700 Electric - 18 months ago. Terrible. First, it feeds cold water into the hot cycle on the assumption your local hot water is too hot. If your local water is set a bit lower, there is no way to adjust the cold input setting. As a result, the machine will not provide more than tepid water, even on the hot cycle. We have been filling hot loads from a hose to the bathtub from day one. When I immediately complained to GE, they simply said "buyers remorse" you are stuck with it. For the past year-plus, the machine has done a poor job of cleaning, Both the washer and dryer are hard on clothes and, as everyone points out, the lint trap is extremely poor. Finally, after only 18 months of ordinary use (this is a two person family) the drum split open, spilling gallons of water. The machine is now a piece of junk (it always was a piece of junk but now that is "official") and must be replaced at full cost. I won't even consider replacing this machine with anything made by GE. Worst machine of any kind I have ever purchased and the worst service as well.
Date published: 2011-11-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from GE stacked washer- junk The water level switch broke 6 months into the warranty. Ok- GE repaired it but not a good sign. A year and a half later, after the warranty expired, the water switch broke again but also the tub motor/ gears have gone out so washer will not spin. Called SEARS to come repair this and the service man would not/ could not do anything for the repair (poor marks for SEARS as well). 2 years new and I have decided to switch brands/ machines instead of sinking money into this losing cause. Have been warned by several service repair companies do not waste your money on GE machines.
Date published: 2015-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from awesome Love the size, performance & how quiet my new washer and dryer are..awesome!!
Date published: 2012-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No promise unkept! Delivery team was on time and courtious. Product met my expectations.
Date published: 2011-08-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for tight spaces I bought this unit for my garage apartment. It fits great in small spaces. It is much quieter than the previous stackable unit I owned. It's not energy efficient. I think because the top loading washers use more water. It's nice to have the controls at eye-level. I noticed some units have the controls at the top of the unit. It is nicely designed and works well.
Date published: 2012-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The appliance is quiet and does a great job. The washer is very efficient and the aggitation is gentle on clothes. This is the best washer I have had in years! The dryer is also gentle and efficient with minimal wrinkling. I wish I had bought these earlier instead of relying on the apt machines. Delivery and setup were handled quickly and professionally. I am very happy with this purchase.
Date published: 2012-03-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't risk it! I bought this washer dryer combo due to space issues. The dryer is leaving so many black 1-1/2 inch lines on my laundry. This seems to be happening with lighter items like sheets or light clothing. As others have stated you can not get the stains out. It is as if somebody drew on them with a sharpie marker. I have this at a vacation rental. At first the cleaning lady thought it was mascara stains. This dryer has ruined 9 sheet sets. Now the washer is making a loud noise and will not spin out properly. This unit is under a year old. I do have service coming out to repair. I have read others that have had the dryer repaired only to have the problem reappear. Truthfully I would rather just replace it with something else. All the years of doing laundry I never had any problems with a dryer staining my laundry. If they do attempt to fix it I have to replace all of the sheet sets and hope it doesn't happen again. The thing that really bothers me is that Home Depot and GE are aware of the issues and keep selling a poor product. I wish I had read more about the problems with this product before purchasing. Buyer Beware!
Date published: 2014-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Combo GE Unitized Spacemaker Washer and Electric Dryer is excellent!!! We love the space saving part!
Date published: 2011-05-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worst ever This machine came "free" with my new home purchase and I have regretted not taking the credit instead every day since. Not even six months old and I've already had the repair guy out twice. It has torn up clothes, ratted up brand new towels, and torn of strings...and that's when it decides to work. The washing machine is ridiculously small and makes horrific noises if I try to wash more than 4 towels at a time. It frequently goes off balance and the other day, it got stuck on the rinse cycle for over an hour and a half. Most of the time I feel like I need to sit next to it while it washes just to make sure nothing is going to happen. Even though the warranty is 1 year, I will be getting rid of this piece of junk as soon as possible.
Date published: 2012-06-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Fail This unit has been a disaster. It started making a lot of noise during the agitation and spin cycles after about a year of moderate use. A new motor had to be installed shortly after the one-year warranty expired. Luckily I had extended warranty coverage. Now it is making a terrible clanging noise after another 6 months. My warranty coverage is now likely expired and I'm looking at a costly repair. Terrible quality.
Date published: 2016-07-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Broke right away, have not been able to use it. The button on the dryer broke in the first week. Now we have to get it fixed before we can even use it again.
Date published: 2012-02-16
  • y_2017, m_3, d_24, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_510
  • loc_, sid_202799093, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 102ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT