The product you chose is discontinued, but we found something similar you might like.
Spacemaker Washer and Electric Dryer in White
  • GE
  • Model GUD27ESSJWW
  • Internet #205908364
  • Store SO SKU #1001377971

Spacemaker Washer and Electric Dryer in White

Was  $1,399.00
Special Buy  $1,298.00
$116820 /each

Save $230.80 (16%)

Discontinued Model:

Model # GTUP270EMWW

Internet #202799093

Store SO SKU #413794

GE Unitized Spacemaker 3.3 cu. ft. Washer and 5.9 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White
0084691226666

Discontinued GE

Unitized Spacemaker 3.3 cu. ft. Washer and 5.9 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White

store icon Loading Buying Options...
package icon Loading Buying Options...
Sorry, but we ran into issues loading these options. Please try refreshing.

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

The GE Unitized Washer and Electric Dryer features a 5.9 cu. ft. capacity dryer and a 3.3 cu. ft. capacity washer that accommodate large loads, helping you spend less time doing laundry. The innovative washer unit features an auto-load sensing system with 5 water levels that automatically measure the load size and add just the right amount of water, making it easy to conserve energy. Rotary washer and dryer controls help make it easy to set the ideal settings for your load.

California residents: see   Proposition 65 information

  • 5.9 cu. ft. capacity dryer and 3.3 cu. ft. capacity washer accommodate large loads
  • Rotary electronic washer controls and rotary electromechanical dryer controls simplify cycle selection
  • 9 wash cycles, including delicates, heavy duty and permanent press, help you care properly for a range of fabrics
  • 3 wash/spin speed combinations help you match the spin speed to the fabric type
  • 5 wash/rinse temperatures give you a high° of control over fabric cleaning and care
  • Auto-load sensing system with 5 water levels automatically measures the load size and adds just the right amount of water
  • Bleach and fabric softener dispensers automatically mix solutions with wash water for bright, soft-to-the-touch results
  • 4 dryer cycles, including air fluff and cool down, address everyday drying needs
  • 4 drying temperatures help you pick the setting that's right for your clothes
  • Cycle status lights provide accurate cycle times
  • 3-way exhaust options (back and sides) for versatility
  • Click Here for details on the services included with Delivery & Basic Hook-up and Installation options for Major Appliances

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

If we can't repair it, we'll replace it!

  • No deductibles, no additional fees
  • Parts and labor costs included
  • In-home service by authorized technicians
  • 24/7 support

Plan pricing and term options will be shown during the checkout process

Click here for more information
* Limitations and exclusions apply. See terms and conditions for complete details. For eGift Card products $2,000 and up will receive a check reimbursement.

Compare Similar

Price
Was $1,399.00
Special Buy $1,298.00
$1,168.20 /each
Save $230.80 (16%)
Was $1,499.00
$1,349.10 /each
Save $149.90 (10%)
$1,399.00 /each
Was $1,599.00
$1,439.10 /each
Save $159.90 (10%)
Name Spacemaker Washer and Electric Dryer in White High-Efficiency 3.8 cu. ft. Top Load Washer and 5.5 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White Unitized Spacemaker 3.3 cu. ft. Washer and 5.9 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White High-Efficiency 3.8 cu. ft. Top Load Washer and 5.5 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in Classic Slate
Brand GE Frigidaire GE Frigidaire
Ratings (640) (229) (513) (229)
Door Opening Width (In.) 16.125 28.4 21.9 28.4
Capacity - Washer (cu. ft.) 3.2 3.8 3.3 3.8
Washer Features No Additional Features Add Garment (pause),End-Of-Cycle Signal,Front Control No Additional Features Add Garment (pause),End-Of-Cycle Signal,Front Control
Product Width (in.) 26.8 27 26.8 27
Dryer Features Automatic Temperature Control,Lint Filter,Timed Dry Automatic Temperature Control,End-Of-Cycle Signal,Four-Way Venting,Front Control,Moisture Sensor,Sensor Dry,Timed Dry Automatic Temperature Control,Four-Way Venting,Lint Filter Automatic Temperature Control,End-Of-Cycle Signal,Four-Way Venting,Lint Filter,Moisture Sensor,Sensor Dry,Timed Dry
Dryer Fuel Type Electric Electric Electric Electric
Check Earliest Delivery Date
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code
-- -- -- --
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

Door hinged on left or right for the drier?

I've reviewed the answers here: one answer from GE says that the "door hinges are on the left and not reversible." The other answer from GE says that the door hinges are on the right" and not reversible. So, WHERE ARE the door hinges on this model? Thx.
Asked by: Anonymous
Dryer Door Style Right Swing
Answered by: EradicatingTheCrazy
Date published: 2015-09-20

Can the vent be taken out the side of the machine and not the back? I need to push it in closer to the wall.

I have a restricted space and need the machine to go back. Right now the vent is running form the dryer and holds the maching fromt he wall. I bought a GE a few years back and it had the option of running the dryer vent out the side of the machine.
Asked by: Anonymous
Bear in mind that code may not allow you to vent to the side. In Miami, for instance, dryers now have to vented to the back. Apparently it's slightly safer that way, but it's a MAJOR headache if you're dealing with restricted space, and let's face it, anyone considering this unit likely is. In the end, I couldn't find a stackable W/D that would fit into the 15yo closet and conform to the new code. Luckily, my contractor solved it. He built a 3"-deep frame around the closet and attached the louvered folding doors to the frame. Voila! Instant 3" more depth to the closet. Painted and finished, it looks like it has always been that way.
Answered by: Anonymous
Date published: 2015-11-07

Does the washer lid stay open on its own or do you have to hold it open?

Asked by: Anonymous
It stays open on its own
Answered by: EradicatingTheCrazy
Date published: 2015-09-17

Another question asked is where dryer door is hinged. Answer was left side. When I look at the picture it is on my right.

Are the hinges on the left or right when you are facing looking at the dryer?
Asked by: Anonymous
Dryer Door Style Right Swing
Answered by: EradicatingTheCrazy
Date published: 2015-09-17
  • y_2017, m_7, d_19, h_8CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_86
  • loc_, sid_202799093, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 15ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Unitized Spacemaker 3.3 cu. ft. Washer and 5.9 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 513.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a large capacity stackable This unit has a larger capacity than is typical for stackable units. In fact, it approaches the capacity of a stand alone top loader with an agitator. It looks nicer than a typical stackable too (although in the end it's a laundry appliance—a work of art is not to be expected). In my experience, it cleans and dries clothes well, and is fairly quiet. I like that it has a setting to auto detect load size and adjust the water level appropriately. I have not had the problem of clothes being damaged by the dryer that some others report. Still, it's not quiet enough to run at night, and the noise it makes—a combination of the mechanical movement of the agitator and the electric motor—is intermittent and so doesn't exactly become white noise. I would have liked a 2nd rinse option, too. One thing to note is that this unit cannot be vented to the side and will require 4" behind it for the dryer vent unless the dryer vent happens to be exactly behind the unit at about 32"-41" high. For me this meant the unit actually sticks out of the closet where it sits by about 2" and I had to remove the closet door. There is a smaller unit (GTUP240EMWW) that is a few inches less deep, *and* that one can be vented to the side, but you sacrifice a third of the washer's capacity and a little more than a quarter of the dryer's capacity. There is also a new EnergyStar compliant version of this unit (GTUN275EMWW), which has the same exterior dimensions, but has 0.1 cubic foot more washer capacity and a stainless steel washer drum instead of plastic.
Date published: 2012-04-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't risk it! I bought this washer dryer combo due to space issues. The dryer is leaving so many black 1-1/2 inch lines on my laundry. This seems to be happening with lighter items like sheets or light clothing. As others have stated you can not get the stains out. It is as if somebody drew on them with a sharpie marker. I have this at a vacation rental. At first the cleaning lady thought it was mascara stains. This dryer has ruined 9 sheet sets. Now the washer is making a loud noise and will not spin out properly. This unit is under a year old. I do have service coming out to repair. I have read others that have had the dryer repaired only to have the problem reappear. Truthfully I would rather just replace it with something else. All the years of doing laundry I never had any problems with a dryer staining my laundry. If they do attempt to fix it I have to replace all of the sheet sets and hope it doesn't happen again. The thing that really bothers me is that Home Depot and GE are aware of the issues and keep selling a poor product. I wish I had read more about the problems with this product before purchasing. Buyer Beware!
Date published: 2014-10-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Broke right away, have not been able to use it. The button on the dryer broke in the first week. Now we have to get it fixed before we can even use it again.
Date published: 2012-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Performs well. No Problems. Fits Small space but large capacity I've only had the machine for a week but have used it multiple times. I have not experienced any of the problems other reviewers have mentioned. We replaced our decrepit unit with this model and it fit in the same space but the load capacity was surprisingly large. Also, I have no problem with noise (obviously it makes some noise, but not bad at all) and find that it washes and drys fairly quickly. One reviewer said that it wrinkles clothes but I have found quite the opposite. I have bought more expensive full sized stackables and I have to admit that this unit compares quite nicely. I would recommend it. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2013-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No Issues No issues thus far. Read a good deal of negative reviews regarding the dryer and was nervous. Problem was all combo units seemed to receive negative reviews. I can say that everything has gone well so far.
Date published: 2012-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for Apartment I really like it. It is compact and still has great capacity
Date published: 2012-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Washes and dries very well. The large size is also good. Quiet and does a good job cleaning clothes. I recommend this unit!!
Date published: 2012-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Space Saver, and quiet performance This unit, is a space saver, and it is all electric, vety quiet and works woth the 1/4 of water than the older models..
Date published: 2016-09-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed; 3 months old and needs service already Washer worked fine for about 3 months, then had to call for service because it would not rinse or spin. The service person had to order three parts. Needless to say, I'm very disappointed in this product.
Date published: 2012-03-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great machine, install issues though I love this machine it fits nicely in my space and has all the features I wanted but the installers said it would not fit with the vent duct coming out the back. I asked them to install the duct from the side and they said they could not do that. So if you need to install the duct from the side you will have to do it yourself also you will need to buy an extra piece of duct to make the connection. But all in all a very good machine.
Date published: 2013-08-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Compact Perfect size for our house, and big tub, good capacity dryer
Date published: 2011-05-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Inferior Product When the unit was delivered the dryer did not work. The delivery men stated that it was the third unit delivered that day with an inoperable dryer. I waited for a new unit on back order. Now, three months later the dryer stopped working. Obviously there is a Quality Control issue in the GE factory. I will not buy another GE product and I would not recommend this product.
Date published: 2012-10-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from BIG MISTAKE I used this washer once, and it had something wrong with it, it was banging like a drum, and left a rim of fabric softener after the wash. Not only was the washer a big mistake, but, what was even worse was the HORRIBLE experience I had with HomeDepot.com They lost me as a customer all around. I am very upset at how I was treated. Good Bye Home Depot. Im switching to Lowes.
Date published: 2015-03-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from JUNK If i could give this negative stars i would. Washer runs to long, doesn't clean, pulls and rips clothes. Sometimes it will run for an hour. Sometimes a day. Worst purchase i have made in a long long time.
Date published: 2016-03-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Brand new Washer doesn't work!! Dryer is fine! Too bad you can't get a brand new washer that works! Had a choice of either refusing shipment after it was installed and realized it has a problem, or call a few local repair people to come and take a look at the problem and hopefully fix under warranty....not impressed.
Date published: 2011-09-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Pain always have trouble lights flash on front panel after 3 loads have to reset machine by holding start and fabric button gets old
Date published: 2016-07-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from black marks on clothes having a lot of problems with the washer or the dryer leaving black marks on our clothes and sheets
Date published: 2016-03-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! have had this washer/dryer combo for a while now and its great! it runs perfectly and it does loads really quickly! great if you are limited on size availability!
Date published: 2011-04-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This product is very efficient This product is very efficient because it does washes and dries the clothes very fast and the clothes get very clean. You don't need to use a lot of time and energy in order to wash and clean the clothes. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2012-08-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Washer dryer combo Great features for washer and dryer. Washer has delicate, permanent press and cotton selection.. Also has auto sensor for washing machine. Dryer works great very warm.
Date published: 2013-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Product performs as advertised Bought this unit for cottage. Works very well, absolutly no problems. Washer holds as much as a normal top load. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2012-10-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Ruins Your Clothes If you would like a washer that sounds like a factory production line and a dryer that leaves black marks and holes in your clothes then you will love this laundry center. The washer noise is considered a normal part of its operation. A tech came out while the unit was still under warranty and worked on the dryer which helped a little for a little while but now, 3 months later, it's as bad as before, if not worse, and no longer under warranty. Easily the worst appliance I have ever had the misfortune to own.
Date published: 2014-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent apartment washer dryer. The tub capacity is wonderful. My son is enjoying being able to do his laundry in his apartment.
Date published: 2012-03-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This stackable washer and dryer has a Good value i like the fact that it doesn't make too much noise.
Date published: 2012-02-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bummmer Let me mention. Once again they are right and I am wrong( GE) that is...My "fast" agitator ran slooooooooow; strings on my pants got very twisted; and a "full" size washer doesn't mean doing a "full" load(according to GE, I have to do a number of small loads instead). In other words, I will invest my money elsewhere.
Date published: 2011-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! We purchased this to replace an older stackable machine. This machine is much larger and so quiet. We love the capacity and it drys the clothes quickly and you hardly hear the machine running (unless you have a noisy zipper or something in the dryer). In short, we could not be happier and have had zero problems.
Date published: 2011-11-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Would not recommend this purchase I have owned this GE washer dryer unit for 6 months and am already on my second repair to the washer. I do not have tons of laundry, it is only used 1 time a week for two people!! very disappointed with this product! No problems with the dryer at this time.
Date published: 2014-11-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Buttons come off from shirts, cloths get damaged in dryer I have this model in my apartment. Everytime I use the dryer couple of buttons come out from shirts and sometimes cloths get torn. I don't know what the issue is. But it looks like many people are having the issue. The washer also has some issue while filling water. It tries to find out how much cloths are there and fill water. The funny thing is at some point the water is drained and filled again. So you just loose your soap water with this. Interesting thing is GE is still unaware of this issue regardless of many reviews on the product web page and several other places. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2013-07-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The reviews with Poor ratings are real. The washer broke after 1.5 year. GE technician conclude that the circuit board and motor are bad and repair cost is more than half of a new unit's MRSP. The dryer rips the button off my comforter cover one by one. What's worse is that any clothing with drawstrings (hoodie, sweatpants, shorts) will be ruined. The drawstrings get twisted and tighten very badly and become difficult to untangled.
Date published: 2013-10-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Better than expected I like a lot about this w/d combo. For starters, it fits well in a limited space. Second, the capacity is definitely larger than expected; it really is a lot like a conventional family washer and dryer. It gets the job done. It has multiple settings which I like. So far I only have 2 negatives. I wish it had a signal when the dryer is about to be done; it has none. Second, the dryer keeps making a slash-type grease mark on my clothes, randomly. I have wiped out the interior of the dryer repeatedly, wiped all the nooks and crannies, and I cannot figure out what is making this grease mark. And once it's on the clothes, it doesn't come even with another washing nor chlorine bleach.
Date published: 2014-09-24
  • y_2017, m_7, d_19, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_513
  • loc_, sid_202799093, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 113ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT