The product you chose is discontinued, but we found something similar you might like.
Spacemaker Washer and Electric Dryer in White
  • GE
  • Model GUD27ESSJWW
  • Internet #205908364
  • Store SO SKU #1001377971

Spacemaker Washer and Electric Dryer in White

Was  $1,399.00
$1,259.00 /each

Save $140.00 (10%)  through 12/21/2016

Save up to $800 on appliances $396 or more. Prices reflect discount.
Promotion Details
Price Valid : 12/08/2016 - 12/21/2016
Save up to $800 on appliances $396 or more. Prices reflect discount.
Discontinued Model:

Model # GTUP270EMWW

Internet #202799093

Store SO SKU #413794

GE Unitized Spacemaker 3.3 cu. ft. Washer and 5.9 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White
0084691226666

Discontinued GE

Unitized Spacemaker 3.3 cu. ft. Washer and 5.9 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

The GE Unitized Washer and Electric Dryer features a 5.9 cu. ft. capacity dryer and a 3.3 cu. ft. capacity washer that accommodate large loads, helping you spend less time doing laundry. The innovative washer unit features an auto-load sensing system with 5 water levels that automatically measure the load size and add just the right amount of water, making it easy to conserve energy. Rotary washer and dryer controls help make it easy to set the ideal settings for your load.

California residents: see   Proposition 65 information

  • 5.9 cu. ft. capacity dryer and 3.3 cu. ft. capacity washer accommodate large loads
  • Rotary electronic washer controls and rotary electromechanical dryer controls simplify cycle selection
  • 9 wash cycles, including delicates, heavy duty and permanent press, help you care properly for a range of fabrics
  • 3 wash/spin speed combinations help you match the spin speed to the fabric type
  • 5 wash/rinse temperatures give you a high° of control over fabric cleaning and care
  • Auto-load sensing system with 5 water levels automatically measures the load size and adds just the right amount of water
  • Bleach and fabric softener dispensers automatically mix solutions with wash water for bright, soft-to-the-touch results
  • 4 dryer cycles, including air fluff and cool down, address everyday drying needs
  • 4 drying temperatures help you pick the setting that's right for your clothes
  • Cycle status lights provide accurate cycle times
  • 3-way exhaust options (back and sides) for versatility
  • Click Here for details on the services included with Delivery & Basic Hook-up and Installation options for Major Appliances

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

If we can't repair it, we'll replace it!

  • No deductibles, no additional fees
  • Parts and labor costs included
  • In-home service by authorized technicians
  • 24/7 support

Plan pricing and term options will be shown during the checkout process

Click here for more information
* Limitations and exclusions apply. See terms and conditions for complete details. For eGift Card products $2,000 and up will receive a check reimbursement.

Compare Similar

Price
Was $1,299.00
$1,179.00 /each
Save $120.00 (9%)
Was $1,399.00
$1,259.00 /each
Save $140.00 (10%)
$1,399.00 /each
Name Washer and Electric Dryer in White Spacemaker Washer and Electric Dryer in White Unitized Spacemaker 3.3 cu. ft. Washer and 5.9 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White
Brand Whirlpool GE GE
Ratings (124) (500) (509)
Dryer Fuel Type Electric Electric Electric
Capacity - Washer (cu. ft.) 2.5 3.2 3.3
Product Width (in.) 27.25 26.8 26.8
Product Depth (in.) 32 30.85 30.85
Color/Finish Family White White White
Product Height (in.) 71.75 75.5 75.5
Washer Features No Additional Features No Additional Features No Additional Features
Check Earliest Delivery Date
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code
-- -- --
View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

85 Questions138 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

Unitized Spacemaker 3.3 cu. ft. Washer and 5.9 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White
Unitized Spacemaker 3.3 cu. ft. Washer and 5.9 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
 
3 answers

Door hinged on left or right for the drier?

This question is from Unitized Spacemaker 3.3 cu. ft. Washer and 5.9 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White
Asked by
Tania
Manchester NH
November 2, 2012
I've reviewed the answers here: one answer from GE says that the "door hinges are on the left and not reversible." The other answer from GE says that the door hinges are on the right" and not reversible. So, WHERE ARE the door hinges on this model? Thx.
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1

Answers (3)

Asked by
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Read all my Q&A
June 27, 2013
Answer: 
Dryer Door Style Right Swing
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
EdnaB123
Miami, FL, USA
February 17, 2013
Answer: 
On the right, in my model.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
November 2, 2012
Answer: 
Hello Tania,
Thank you for your inquiry on the GE Unitized Spacemaker Washer and Electric Dryer
model # GTUP270EMWW.
I apolozie for the confusion on the dryer door hinges and will be happy to clarify this for you.
Facing the front of the unit, the dryer door is hinged on the right. The door is not revesible.
Should you have any additional questions, please let us know.
Donna with GE
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
 
3 answers

Can the vent be taken out the side of the machine and not the back? I need to push it in closer to the wall.

This question is from Unitized Spacemaker 3.3 cu. ft. Washer and 5.9 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White
Asked by
Nancy
Sterling
October 25, 2012
I have a restricted space and need the machine to go back. Right now the vent is running form the dryer and holds the maching fromt he wall. I bought a GE a few years back and it had the option of running the dryer vent out the side of the machine.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (3)

Asked by
MiamiCondoOwner2013
Miami
May 3, 2013
Answer: 
Bear in mind that code may not allow you to vent to the side. In Miami, for instance, dryers now have to vented to the back. Apparently it's slightly safer that way, but it's a MAJOR headache if you're dealing with restricted space, and let's face it, anyone considering this unit likely is.
In the end, I couldn't find a stackable W/D that would fit into the 15yo closet and conform to the new code. Read More
Bear in mind that code may not allow you to vent to the side. In Miami, for instance, dryers now have to vented to the back. Apparently it's slightly safer that way, but it's a MAJOR headache if you're dealing with restricted space, and let's face it, anyone considering this unit likely is.
In the end, I couldn't find a stackable W/D that would fit into the 15yo closet and conform to the new code. Luckily, my contractor solved it. He built a 3"-deep frame around the closet and attached the louvered folding doors to the frame. Voila! Instant 3" more depth to the closet. Painted and finished, it looks like it has always been that way. Read Less
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Litchfield County, CT
Read all my Q&A
October 26, 2012
Answer: 
I have had my unit for a little over a month and my unit does not have a knock out available to vent out either the left of right side like my old unit had. It was installed vented from the back and my unit is about 4 1/2" from the back wall. That's about the best you are going to get as far as clearance. Hope this helps answer your question.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
October 26, 2012
Answer: 
Hello Nancy,
Thank you for your inquiry on the GE Unitized Spacemaker Washer and Electric Dryer model # GTUP270EMWW.
This model offers 3-way exhaust options. (Rear; Left; Right) This is facing the front of the appliance.
The installation instructions are available on the Home Depot website under "More Info".
I hope this helps!
Donna with GE
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
 
3 answers

Does the washer lid stay open on its own or do you have to hold it open?

This question is from Unitized Spacemaker 3.3 cu. ft. Washer and 5.9 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White
Asked by
Anne
Richmond, Va
April 18, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (3)

Asked by
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Read all my Q&A
June 27, 2013
Answer: 
It stays open on its own
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
New Orleans
Read all my Q&A
April 25, 2012
Answer: 
The washer lid stays open, the dryer lid does not.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
April 19, 2012
Answer: 
Hello Anne,
Thank you for your interest in the GE Unitized Spacemaker Washer and Electric Dryer in White
Model # GTUP270EMWW.
Yes, the Lid will stay up on its own.
I hope this helps.
Donna with GE
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
 
3 answers

Another question asked is where dryer door is hinged. Answer was left side. When I look at the picture it is on my right.

This question is from Unitized Spacemaker 3.3 cu. ft. Washer and 5.9 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White
Asked by
erinnis
Florida
November 28, 2011
Are the hinges on the left or right when you are facing looking at the dryer?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (3)

Asked by
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Read all my Q&A
June 27, 2013
Answer: 
Dryer Door Style Right Swing
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Boston, MA, USA
Read all my Q&A
December 6, 2011
Answer: 
The hinges on the unit I have are on the right side of the dryer door.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
November 29, 2011
Answer: 
Hello,
This is Donna with GE and I will be happy to help you with your question on the GE Unitized Spacemaker Washer and Electric Dryer model # GTUP270EMWW.
I apologize for the confusion and the incorrect post on the dryer door swing and hinges. The picture on the Home Depot website is correct. The hinges are located on the right side of the dryer and the door is not reversible .
I hope this helps.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
2 3 4 5 6 »
  • 2016-10-31 T00:52:33.260-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_202799093, prod, sort_default
2 3 4 5 6 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 41ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 508 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Was happy with it, until $1800 repair bill came.... I bought this for my Florida condo. I was very happy with it, expect for the repairs. After 2 years, I had to replace the computer board. Over $600. Then the washer became very loud, and I called GE service to look at it. He said the transmission was shot, and the repair would be $1800. Really??? It cost less than that. Now I have go buy a new one, will look at all my brand options first. You should not have to throw out a new GE unit after just 4 years..... I did not buy the cheapest, I thought I bought the best. November 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Washer/dryer combo Stackable Full size washer/dryer for a small space May 28, 2015
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great features. Horrible noises. This washer dryer looks great, has awesome features, and was the perfect size for my closet. The dryer is great - very quiets with lots of drying options. The washer also has lots of cycle options but the noises that is produces through out the cycle make it sound like some gears are seriously grinding, or it's about to take off into space. The manual claims these are normal and provides explanations to why each noise happens. Pretty disappointing coming from GE. Maybe I should have stuck with the frigidaire that I had before for about $400 less. July 29, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Buttons come off from shirts, cloths get damaged in dryer I have this model in my apartment. Everytime I use the dryer couple of buttons come out from shirts and sometimes cloths get torn. I don't know what the issue is. But it looks like many people are having the issue. The washer also has some issue while filling water. It tries to find out how much cloths are there and fill water. The funny thing is at some point the water is drained and filled again. So you just loose your soap water with this. Interesting thing is GE is still unaware of this issue regardless of many reviews on the product web page and several other places. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] July 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great space saver Quiet operation and plenty of size for both wash and dry May 16, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Overall, good machine. Controls provide good range of choices and are easy to understand. Washer does well although the relays/switches are a bit loud. The dryer has a very good range of controls and does quite well. My one complaint about it is that there is no signal at the completion of the drying cycle; i.e., no buzzer or bell to let you know it finished so that you can remove items on a timely basis. Finally, the location of the water hose connections makes no sense to me. Instead of being on the rear surface of the machine for a clean horizontal connection, they are on the top rear of the washer which requires the hoses to make a sharp 180 degree turn downward which puts a strain on the hoses. This location also interfered with my drier vent connection. May 30, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Ruins Your Clothes If you would like a washer that sounds like a factory production line and a dryer that leaves black marks and holes in your clothes then you will love this laundry center. The washer noise is considered a normal part of its operation. A tech came out while the unit was still under warranty and worked on the dryer which helped a little for a little while but now, 3 months later, it's as bad as before, if not worse, and no longer under warranty. Easily the worst appliance I have ever had the misfortune to own. August 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Its great! It's not broken like the other reviews would have you believe. It's quiet too! April 29, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great product! This was a great purchase, it saves space and has a huge washer and dryer. April 22, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by In 5 days, 24 washes and counting Large drum holds more than you think it can. Dryer has many settings which actually work. Apparently the lint trap was redesigned because it all flows smoothly in the drum. It was also easy to install despite what I read in the reviews. Hook up your 3 or 4 wire cord, hook up you exhaust vent and the hoses and away you go. It stuck out about 3/4" further than the old one so I had to move the door which took a few moments for my set up. All in all, a heavy duty machine which swallows laundry and dries quickly. It does sound like a grinding noise in the laundry cycle early in the cycle and it makes some other strange noises when loading water but with the door closed you don't hear it. Overall, a solid machine August 16, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by broken after 15 months! I bought this combo unit in March 2013 and had a few issues - one was no buzzer when dryer was done, two was the dryer left black crease streaks on my white sheets and three and most important is it was making a lot of noise on the washer spin cycle. Service came out today to say the bearings are shot and new inner and outer tubs need to be replaced. It's spraying oil under the dryer and will eventually break all together. Most likely leaking water thru my condo and below. Fortunately I have an extended service contract. July 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by So far, so good This is my first time owning a space saver washer and dryer. Still getting used to it, but it does the job. April 27, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by You can wash and dry at the same time Had the unit for only a day and have done three load of laundry with excellent results. Great machine. I like that I can use the washer while another load is drying. I'm sure I will be very happy for a long time. March 25, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Appliance This unit is great for small space and quite while in use. April 12, 2015
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by GE Washer/Dryer This unit is horrible. It broke after one month and the store says it's no longer under warranty because it has been used in a school lunchroom. We only wash one load of wash clothes a day and it is already broken. This unit is horrible. DO NOT BUY!!! March 25, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by dryer has several option i purchase this unit for space saver. the washer could have a better wash cycle.as far as the agitator which is very slow not allowing the clothes to wash properly. the clothes do not get as clean as a regular washer as you can really see in the white clothes. dryer is very good and dries clothes as you selected. the washer/dryer does what i wanted and good for single person or couple. large loads not for this type of appliance. over all it goes a good job December 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by nice unit for a small area! got this unit about 7 months ago from Lowes and just love it have had no prombles at all with it. fit great in my bathroom, had a older style stackable and wow what a difference in the size had more room and looks great! thank you G.E. March 23, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Long Lasting! Even though I just bought my GE washer/dryer, it was a replacement of a similar one that lasted over 20 years. This new model is super quiet and the dryer takes no time at all to dry large loads. March 19, 2015
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice size for a stacked unit I purchased this unit after my previous unit of 32 years finally died (not a GE). The machines' capacities are much larger than my last. Both units do a good job; however, they are extremely loud- the washer often sounds like parts are loose, banging together and it will soon fall apart, and the dryer has an ear-piercing hum. I must keep the doors to my laundry room closed when either is running! I considered returning the unit but since I am satisfied with both machines' performances I'll deal - maybe get some earplugs! July 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Compact This has been such a luxury to me as I have such a small space. Plus, it gives great results, and is quiet March 25, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by nice combo. Had this for a month and it works well. I am short, 5'1" and I can reach a sock in the back of the dryer. Good buy for me. April 7, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by We love it. Our 19-year-old stack unit finally died and after doing much research, we chose this GE model. My only concern was that the rinse temps were all cold and where we live, cold water is ice water. The washer senses this and injects hot water so that the rinse is just the right temp for the clothes and for my hands. It is very quite, both washer and dryer, and I think, washes and dries much faster than any other units I have owned. I am a disabled senior living in a tiny condo. This washer-dryer makes it possible for me to stay in my home and age in place. January 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great size for condo or apartment It's only the second day using it but we love so far. Easy to use. We like that's it doesn't have all those fancy computer systems to operate it. We just wanted the basic controls that gets the job done. Gave it 5 stars because it is a little noisy. The size is bigger than other unitized units we've used in rental condos. February 12, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice fit for a small place Needed a small unit for our beach home. Fits the bill. April 13, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by PERFECT SOLUTION! Age & mobility made the basement laundry run all but impossible, but the probability of a "smaller" unit working just as well kept us trying. The kids over-rode our concerns and had this delivered, and we're so glad to say we were wrong. Works just as well as the big boys, has many more features and put to rest the fear it would take 2 loads to make up for "the size" ~ a fear unfounded & untrue. Don't hesitate for any reason to "step up" to this great unit. October 27, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by noisy I bought this unit 5 months ago. It cleans clothes..... but it's too noisy. I was in a hurry because my other unit similiar to this died! March 25, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Extremely Quiet and Effecient I was amazed at how quiet the washer and dryer are even when both are in use at the same time. Amazing! I have been used to the noisy washer and dryers and this unit was just astonishing. I reside in a condo, top unit, and for the first time I can use the washer and dryer past the curfew without feeling threatened that I will get a complaint notice:) Really happy with the product. Friend complimented on its quietness too December 1, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Problems started two weeks after I purchased it. problems started two weeks after purchase in July 2014. Hoping to get it fixed for good. March 29, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Space saver/back saver-recently had back surgery I bought one of these units in the 1980's. It just gave out and that is why I bought another one. They are very dependable. March 23, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Features I love my new unit. I especially love the fact that I can put my liquid fabric softener in at the beginning of the wash cycle. March 20, 2015
  • 2016-10-30 T23:58:48.281-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_508, tr_508
  • loc_en_US, sid_202799093, prod, sort_default
<< 3 4 5 6 7  ... 18 >>
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 135ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT