Model # HSS-A-SS

Internet #202026621

Store SKU #560394

Gardensun 41,000 BTU Stainless Steel Propane Patio Heater
0844091000125

Gardensun

41,000 BTU Stainless Steel Propane Patio Heater

  • Stylish, stainless steel housing construction provides durability
  • Control valve enables easy temperature adjustment
  • Heats patio area up to 115 sq. ft.
$139.00 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Enjoy your outdoor space even during colder months with this durable, powerful heater. The Gardensun Stainless Steel Propane Patio Heater can heat an area of up to 115 sq. ft. to help maintain a comfortable temperature for your patio. This heater offers durable, stainless steel construction and finish that will enhance any outdoor decor with sleek, modern style. It also features a piezoelectric ignition and control valve to allow for temperature adjustment.

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

unable to get unit to light, propane not getting to the pilot

Assembled per instructions and unable to light. Tube from the tank OK, gas coming out although not going the pilot apparatus to the top pilot light. followed the directions, holding the knob down 30 seconds (even longer) and attempted the ignition switch but not lighting. took the top off and continued to trouble shoot, no gas is getting from the propane connector through to the top. Attempted to light pilot using grill lighter to bypass ignition switch, still unable to light. Problem must be in the pre-assembled pilot apparatus.
Asked by: rte64
Eric was corrrect. Took the Back Panel off just behind the Ingiter Mechanism and unplugged the 2 flat connectors and touched them together to complete the circuit and by pass the Black safety. ignited and reconnected the safety and it re-lit. AMAZING!! THANKS!!!! JUST SAVED ME 3 HOURS OF HASSLE!!
Answered by: MIKESPVB2017
Date published: 2017-01-07

Pilot will light but heater will not stay on soon as I turn it to on flame goes out

Asked by: Bob
The thermocouple located right at the pilot light is bad. The thermocouple detects heat once the pilot light warm up the thermocouple tip and allows gas to continue flowing to the pilot light and the main heater after the round rotational switch is no longer pressed. That is why as soon as you release the pushbutton starting round knob, the pilot light goes out, but it will relight as long as the round knob is pushed in.
Answered by: rknash
Date published: 2017-03-15

would this heater be good for inside the garage?

looking for heater inside garage
Asked by: Gma
Yes. I have mine on our back patio with glass doors and no insulation and it works great. It should work great in your garage
Answered by: cudaking
Date published: 2016-12-08

What is runtime on a 20lb tank?

What is runtime on a 20lb tank?
Asked by: Marty
10-12 hours but clearly not accurate and I kept mine on mid range. Lasted about 6-7 hours and kept going out
Answered by: Kl
Date published: 2017-03-17
  • y_2017, m_3, d_21, h_6CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_71
  • loc_, sid_202026621, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 16ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

41,000 BTU Stainless Steel Propane Patio Heater is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 411.
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Problem with Pilot Light I bought this unit several months ago (great price) and had problems lighting it, even after several tries (absolutely followed the directions). I tried it again for a Super Bowl party and I couldn't get a flame. After several attempts, I got the pilot to start, but EVERY time I tried to shift the control knob to "min," the flame would extinguish. I followed the the troubleshooting guide (of minimal use). I had a refreshly filled gas tank and cleaned all areas. Nice looking unit at a great price, but a heater that won't heat is worthless.
Date published: 2011-02-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Almost perfect The only drawback to this unit is that the regulator assembly is straight off the tank and therefore causes chaffing of the gas hose when the body is lowered. It should have had a 90 degree elbow off the tank which would have prevented that. Assembly was about an hour and it fired right up. Great unit for the price.
Date published: 2013-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exceptionally easy to install - in fact my 9 year old son did the whole thing!!! Provides plenty of heat !!! Exceptionally easy to install - in fact my 9 year old son did the whole thing!!! Provides plenty of heat !!!
Date published: 2016-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tall Patio Heater We love using this product. Was very happy with product and easy to put together. We use this quite often and the heat area is wider than I thought so it's nice that you don't have to actually be sitting right under it! Very inexpensive compared to other heaters I had looked at. Might be buying another one for the other side of the patio :) We truly enjoy this on the patio for morning coffee and in the evening for watching TV on the back porch...
Date published: 2014-04-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Cheap parts, cheap materials, cheap price Bought one yesterday in a last minute emergency type situation. It operates as advertised, but I would caution that the quality is very poor. The materials are light weight and the hardware is cheap. I do not anticipate this will last more than one season. Be forewarned not to overly tighten the bolts. I have about medium experience working with tools/projects like this and I stripped a bolt with minimal pressure. It is the lowest cost option out there and just know what you're getting into. In a year, if you're lucky, you will probably need to spend $200+ to replace it with a decent quality heater.
Date published: 2012-12-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Incredibly quiet and efficient Purchased this patio heater for our barn and it works splendidly. It's very quiet and puts out just the right amount of heat. The only negative aspect is that sometimes it's difficult to start with the electronic sparker, but if you just turn off the gas for a minute and retry, it starts up every time.
Date published: 2013-11-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Pilot light trouble. REALLY hard to light the pilot. Have used it only 3 times in nearly two years because it has been nearly impossible to get the pilot to light. Very disappointed in the product. I certainly would not buy one ! We received this as a gift.
Date published: 2011-11-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Problems When you can light it, it works great. But as mentioned in an earlier review I simply cannot get mine to light, and I've only used it a dozen times and just three months... Very marginal on the quality in my opinion
Date published: 2011-04-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from heater MY uses 1 tank every 2 hours !!! Too much money to use it.
Date published: 2015-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cannot beat this heater for the price! Heater was easy to put together. All parts were there and heater worked first try. Gives out an adequate amount of heat and will extend the use of our patio in the cooler evenings. It even comes with a cover! The only minor criticism is that there are no wheels to move it around. For $99 it was such a good deal that I bought two!
Date published: 2013-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great price, great product The product was delivered to my front door. Easy to assemble, I had both of mine together in less than an hour. I have one for upstairs and one for down stairs patio. They throw off great heat. I found that if I run the ceiling fans on low it moves the heat around the patio better. We enjoy them on these cold nights, sitting outside to have a glass of wine. I told my neighbor about them and he ran out and got one.
Date published: 2015-12-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Only lasted 1 year (season) My neighbor and I each bought these last year, and used them in the spring/fall. They did the job, could be a little slow to light sometimes, but I was always to get mine fired up. The failure came over the winter when I came outside to see both of mine snapped in two where the pole meets the base. Upon closer inspection it is simply a poorly made product in this area. The weld was weak, and quickly rusted out. I've been trying to work with the phone numbers provided in the manual to get replacement parts, but so far no luck. The first replacement they sent me was the wrong size. I'm giving this two stars because it did a good enough job last season, it just wasn't built to last. I guess you get what you pay for in this case!
Date published: 2011-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Fantastic! Works fantastic, puts of an excellent amount of heat (ensure it's got good clearance on top and sides, as it gets extremely hot, which is good!), lights VERY easily.
Date published: 2016-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Heating it up on those chilly nights I purchased this heater and I feel in love with my backyard. Just what I needed.
Date published: 2016-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Great product.. works very well. very sturdy and at a great price
Date published: 2016-06-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Only works once or twice I purchased one of these units about a year ago. After about a month, it did not work. Took it back and HD replaced it. After using the new unit 2-3 times, gas does not flow to the burners. I took the unit apart, cleaned it, still nothing. Don't waste your money, I cant believe I happen to get 2 lemons.
Date published: 2016-03-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good value, read the directions (they're short!) Works very well. Many users complain that it wont start right away, and then after hitting the ignition 50 times, the ignition breaks. Well, you can avoid both problems by reading the instructions. After hooking up the propane tank and opening the valve, hold the knob down in "pilot" position for at LEAST 30 seconds. Try the ignition once. If it doesnt light, the gas isnt all the way up the hose yet, just wait ten more seconds and try it again. The ignition system is a two prong arc (a super-hot spark jumps from on one to the other) ignition. If you hit the button many times in a row, the prongs will begin to melt, and eventually fail. Thats true for a $500 system, or a cheaper one like this one. I have used mine about ten times, about two hours at a time on average. One tank lasts about 9 hours on a medium-high setting. If you can, store it in the garage, to avoid rust on the screws from moisture. Also, to avoid stressing the metal mesh, turn the heat to low for a minute or two before turning the unit off. If you dont want to take the time to learn the heater to avoid damaging it, dont buy it. Would definitely recommend it so far. My brother in law has one that came out when Home Depot starting selling these (a year and a half ago?) and its still working like new using the above techniques.
Date published: 2012-12-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Product, Good Value The heater is not difficult to put together. Except for the heat reflector, it is of high quality. The heat reflector could look more substantial, but is no worse than others I have looked and works fine. So far it has worked flawlessly and throws out good heat. There is easy access to the propane tank area by simply sliding up the tank cover and resting it on the supports. It could have wheels to make it easier to move when the propane tank is in it, but I would buy it again.
Date published: 2015-12-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from REFUSES TO LIGHT Just bought it for $99 on Black Friday. The assembly instructions are typical poor translation from another language. The quality is less than expected, even at 99 bucks. And finally, after using the photo on the box as a better assembly guide, the thing won't light. Not a problem with my tank - tested it on my barbecue, so thanks for coming out to play but sorry Home Depot, your product is gonna be returned tomorrow.
Date published: 2011-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Florida Heater Great product for those cool nights in Florida. Went together with no issues.
Date published: 2014-12-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good Price, but Poor Quality Have owned this unit for exactly 1 year, and it has a great price and gives out great heat - but quality is poor. As others have mentioned, the regulator sticks straight out from the tank (instead of a 90 degree bend) which makes it impossible to install an inline level gauge as well as kinks the hose majorly against the sliding tank cover. My hose has just begun to leak and availability of OEM regulator and hose assembly is zero. The pilot lighting mechanism works poorly, and requires 20+ (loud) pushes which wakes up the whole neighborhood. I've stopped using it and just keep a butane lighter for the purpose now. Not happy 1 year later.
Date published: 2015-05-31
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not great You get what you pay for. This has no wheels making it virtually impossible to move around and heat it just ok. If you stand up right next to it you will stay warm. Move a foot away and it might as well not be on.
Date published: 2016-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Very easy to assemble and light weight to move around would be easier if it had wheels but worked great in the winter to keep warm especially out at a ranch. You first have trouble getting it started but once you get it, its easy the next time.
Date published: 2016-03-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Pilot light will not light I just bought this on Friday, assembled it yesterday, and after repeated attempts, the pilot light will not light. Even tried a fireplace lighter. Nothing. The tank is good. Used it on the BBQ after giving up on the heater. Judging on the small amount of gas released from the tank when unscrewed, I think it's the regulator. Either way, it's going back. And I'll get one with wheels next time!
Date published: 2012-01-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works great for a reasonable price. For the price this is a great patio heater, yes the gas hose should have a 90 degree fitting, but over all easy to assemble with basic tools and skills, and it really puts out the heat.
Date published: 2016-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from patio heater Last year we bought this heater on black friday at home depot of Edgewood MD. We have used this heater at our open houses and in our 20 x 40 tent that we rent. We will add two more this year and for the money this is well worth the price. You do need to add the tank and it was very easy to put together and to fire up each time. I think we burn for 5-6 hours at a time no problem. We love ours.
Date published: 2009-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great heater! A really well-designed and good looking piece of lawn furniture. It makes our patio livable for three+ more months of the year.
Date published: 2016-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great heater this is our second heater. we liked the first so much we decided to purchase another
Date published: 2015-12-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Won't light Spent the time to assemble. Won't light. Need I say more?
Date published: 2015-11-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from WORKS WELL iT'S NICE TO HEAT AN AREA BUT IF YOU'RE SITTING DOWN, THE HEAT GETS TO YOU BUT IN A LIMITED WAY BECAUSE IT RISES. I WANTED IT FOR MY CIGAR SMOKING TIMES. THE CONSTRUCTION WAS EASIER THAN I THOUGHT. DIDN'T TAKE LONG AT ALL. HELPFUL HINT - hd HAS THIS STUPID PRICING THING WHERE THE PRICE ONLINE IS CHEAPER THAN AT THE STORE. THIS ITEM IS 129 ONLINE BUT 139 AT THE STORE. ORDER IT FOR PICKUP AND YOU'LL SAVE 10
Date published: 2015-12-29
  • y_2017, m_3, d_25, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_411
  • loc_, sid_202026621, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 55ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT