Model # RC 4C4

Internet #202520884

Store SKU #344518

Greenes Fence 48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
0052144904423

Greenes Fence

48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed

  • Unfinished rough sawn cedar
  • Board Thickness 11/16 - 3/4 in.
  • Raised Garden Bed made of North American cedar
$45.97 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Creating a bountiful garden has never been easier than with the Greenes 4 ft. x 4 ft. Dovetail Cedar Raised Garden Kit. The dovetail joints make frame assembly a breeze: Simply slide the boards by hand into the corner joints for a solid and secure garden frame. Set the frame on any level outdoor space, add soil and plants or seeds, and begin growing the garden you've always dreamed of.

  • Greenes cedar raised garden kits provide the 7 in. of depth required to grow thriving vegetables, for plants that need additional depth, increase your garden height to 14 or 21 in. by stacking two or more of these 4 x 4 kits, or see the other Greenes Fence dovetail cedar raised garden beds configurations on this site
  • No tools are required to assemble the frame, a Phillips screwdriver is required to attach the decorative top
  • Assembly is simple: Slide the first and second post over each end of the first board, and then slide the second board on top of the first one to build one 7-inch-tall side, connect the rest of the frame in minutes
  • Each corner post is routed on all 4 sides, for easy assembly and kit expansion, and each board slides easily into the grooves for a snug fit
  • Resulting frame is solid and strong enough to easily support the garden when filled with soil
  • Open-bottom garden frame may be placed on virtually any level surface, although a bottom isn't always needed, to create one where desired, simply line the garden bed with landscape fabric or a weed barrier of your choice (sold separately)
  • Kit is made from naturally insect- and rot-resistant cedar, the wood is untreated, and chemicals are not used in the manufacturing process
  • Garden kit will weather nicely over time, to keep the wood looking new, apply a stain or sealer of your choice (sold separately)
  • Get added depth by stacking multiple 4 x 4 greenes dovetail kits, assemble the first kit, leaving off the decorative tops, without the tops, you will have a quarter-inch gap between the top board and the top of the post, slide a board from the second kit to fill this space and then build the rest of the kit as you did the first, with the corner posts from the second kit sitting on top of those from the first, the kits will be stacked and solidly attached, after connecting your final kit, add the decorative tops to the top kit
  • 10 cu. ft. of soil needed to fill raised beds
  • Each 4 x 4 greenes dovetail kit holds approximately 8 to 10 cu. ft. of soil
  • Package contents: 8 boards, 4 corner posts, 4 decorative tops, 4 decorative screws, assembly instructions

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

is 7 inches of soil deep enough to plant tomato plants?

Asked by: ziggy
Does this include a liner
Answered by: Dan
Date published: 2017-04-10

How many bags of soil should I use for this?

Asked by: Casey
It took about 7 big ones. I combined some leftover potting soil and garden soil.
Answered by: hpwex
Date published: 2017-04-04

How tall are these?

In the description it says 48'' wide by 48'' long but nothing on how tall they are.
Asked by: Caviler98
The sides are 7" high
Answered by: michelle
Date published: 2017-04-14

Can I place on concrete floor?

Don't have grass/dirt to put it on.... I only have concrete I backyard
Asked by: angelm626
These do not have a bottom. The kits only consists of 4 sides and 4 corner posts.
Answered by: michelle
Date published: 2017-03-28
  • y_2017, m_4, d_24, h_1CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_20
  • loc_, sid_202520884, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 19ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 439.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for your veggie garden! I bought four of these and this is my third growing season with them. I love them! I wish I had gotten double and raised them higher (oh, my back!) but the exercise does me good! I rotate my crops in them...herb garden, lettuces, cukes/radishes, Swiss chard, baby carrots and squash. Will be getting more of thes boxes. I dig the grass up from my yard for the box, lay in chicken wire (keeps certain creatures from tunnelling up into the boxes), then lay in landscaping fabric, then a good mix of soils and nutrients. You can plant prolific amounts of food in these boxes because the soil is so nutrient rich. Very pleased with these boxes.
Date published: 2013-05-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not as advertised The quality of the product is pretty shoddy. The dove tails are not cut well and often have left over shavings still attached to the wood. They don't fit well together and you have to trim some of them to make them fit. The top caps are not pre drilled and even the slightest amount of pressure caused them to crack in two. I even tried using a screw driver instead of a drill and they still cracked. But, it's cheap and it holds in dirt. So, I guess you get what you pay for. Doesn't look great but gets the job done.
Date published: 2016-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Think Outside the BOX - Make rectangular beds! I purchased 7 of these kits to create two 4' X 20' raised beds in my local community garden. See the attached photo for details. I used one "cross board" at four-foot intervals within the bed to maintain stability. I prefabbed some sections on the floor of my garage and assembled the prefabbed parts at the community garden. "Leftovers" from the seven kits included several corner posts and caps. I plan to buy appropriate-size lumber at The Home Depot and build a small raised bed at home. Needless to say, I am quite pleased with the way the community garden raised beds turned out.
Date published: 2011-09-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I did it all by myself!! I am a 5 foot tall, 105 pound, 63 year old widow with a garage full of tools I don't know how to use. I bought 4 of these and built a 4x8 foot double high bed with three sets ( I'll use scrap lumber to reinforce the center). It took me 1 1/2 hours by myself with a mallet. I am so happy. I don't need one that will last 20 years, just five or so, and I think this will do just fine. It seems quite sturdy. I can add to it whenever I want, which is a plus. The pieces could be better finished, but there was very little warping; and I may just stain the outside if I can figure out how.
Date published: 2012-05-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fit together easily The only criticism I have is that the 4 posts do not go into the ground but rather sit on top of it. This is different from the 4 X8 raised bed I bought last year. I'm hoping the dirt inside will stabilize it adeqently.
Date published: 2016-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bang for the buck! My daughter and I put two of these together this weekend. It was a breeze. Yes, a few pieces were rough and jagged but we just put those pieces facing down, out of sight. Purchasing two of these is a better value due to the fact that all boards are 4' long and you can take the 2 inner boards and use them on the sides to extend the length of the planter to 4' x 12'. The hardest part of this project is breaking the ground. The planter is a snap and I highly recommend this purchase! I will be purchasing more of these in the near future. Also someone complained that the box did not say how much dirt would be needed, but it does. On the outside of the box it says 8 cu ft needed for one 4' x 4' box.
Date published: 2012-04-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quite nice, better on sale I picked these up when they were $10, and IMO that's the price they ought to be. These are quite nice - the milling of the joints is perfect, and fit is snug, but not impossible to assemble. The caps are a nice touch. Be sure to pick up a couple bags of soil for the fill! Total time with turning the ground underneath, assembly, and filling with dirt was about an hour at most. My plants are loving it. I only rate these 4 stats because of the price - just my opinion of course, but at "suggested retail" they are a tad pricey. I got them on sale and they were a good deal. So good I bought a "spare" - looking for another corner of my yard to place it.....
Date published: 2013-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just the thing if you want a small garden plot. It's easy to assemble and it gives me the right ... Just the thing if you want a small garden plot. It's easy to assemble and it gives me the right size of small garden area that I wanted.
Date published: 2017-04-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Raised garden. Did not quite match our previous one for stacking. We managed to stack by alternating the corner pieces.
Date published: 2017-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Went together like said in ten minutes I was Putingin... Went together like said in ten minutes I was Putingin the dirt and flowers
Date published: 2017-04-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easily assembled. Will see how well it holds up over time. Easily assembled. Will see how well it holds up over time.
Date published: 2017-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from the product was easy to assemble and we love our product the product was easy to assemble and we love our product
Date published: 2017-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy and quick to assemble. ... Easy and quick to assemble.
Date published: 2017-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love the boxes... love the boxes
Date published: 2017-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Let your creativity grow wild! I initially bought two raised bed kits last summer. They were very easy to assemble. They just slide together. I bought them as an experiment. I wanted to try food-scaping, and grow herbs and vegetables close to the house, but in an attractive way. It's a relatively small space, and my family and friends were amazed by the amount of produce I was able to grow! The real selling point to me was their ability to withstand 4 feet of snow last winter (unprotected) and still look great for another growing season. They are very durable. I was so happy with them, that I just purchased another! I'm also pleased that they are natural wood. They are perfect for Swiss chard, lettuce, beets, beans, peppers, etc... I highly recommend this product!
Date published: 2015-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product has great design versatilties I bought 6 of these to make a 21" x 4' x 12' raised garden. The kit is well designed for easy assembly and layout. The cedar boards were straight and solid and the dovetail joints make the frame very strong. Since I was going 21" high I did reinforce the middle of each 4' section with a 2x2x3' stake that I mounted inside the frame so as not to distract the outer appearance. This is a great product! The hardest part was adding all the soil ( more than 2 tons)!
Date published: 2012-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing garden beds I researched many of these raised beds and these were the best value and variety. .I have a big yard and wanted to use raised beds for most of my planting. These beds are amazing. Very easy to set up and move. A terrific bargain for the price and quality. They are sturdy and look great. I stained them to match my fence. I get a lot of compliments on them. They fit in anywhere. Great product!
Date published: 2012-10-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far so good for wheelchair accessability We stacked the raised beds to create an accessible gardening space for my daughter who uses a wheelchair. The only problem that we had was that one of the corner columns arrived broken. We called Home Depot and were told it would be fourteen days before the replacement piece would arrive. We wanted to get our seeds planted so we fixed it with screws. It seems to be working just fine.
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to set up! We just purchased more of these to set up our raised garden. They work great! Easy to set up and adjust. 1 kit will make a 4'x4' bed (which is pretty small), but 2 kits will make you a 4'x12' bed, because each kit will have extra pieces - we found this out the hard way, because we bought 1 kit for every 4'x4' space we wanted to cover, and we ended up not using 2 kits. Home Depot has a good return-to-store policy (within 30 days, not 90), so it still worked out well. Good luck!
Date published: 2011-11-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Starter Garden Bed. Easy, Lightweight Purchased this product for it's ease in set up and similar cost in making one from scratch with cedar boards (2- 1x6x8, 1- 2x2x8). When I first opened the packaged. I thought about returning it. The boards looked a little flimsy. It was really easy to put together (under 5 min), even in the rain. If you're looking to stack it with similar products ( 4x4 or 4x8 version), it's very easy and highly recommended. Aesthetically, its looks pretty nice when it's all put together. So far so good. will see how long it lasts and will update on its performance. Definitely a great starter garden bed.
Date published: 2012-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Raised Bed Frames I bought one of these in early 2011 and have now planted in it for a full year. Yesterday, I bought three more. The first has held up to heat, cold, and golf ball-sized hail and has given me zero troubles. It's not quite as bright and fresh-looking as the day it was assembled, but it's still just as sturdy. For the price, I don't think this kit can be beat. And, for anyone wondering how much soil is recommended, the box says 8 cubic feet. I think I put 9 cubic feet in my first one, and that was also sufficient.
Date published: 2012-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! I bought this in the store and it is awesome. I am so pleased with the easy dovetail assembly. My eight-year-old put it together! The wood is beautiful and this is a versatile kit. I am very, very happy with my purchase. This is a bargain. I this and two 4x8 kits.
Date published: 2012-04-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Inexpensive, simple and great beds... I had plans for a grand (expensive) bed but this is my first year trying a full veggie garden and I didn't want to go overboard without knowing what I am getting into. The beds are only 7" high and I would have preferred 12" (they are stackable and extendable in multiples). Agree with other reviewer - rough wood but you get what you pay for and it works for me. The beds were easy and quick to assemble with a drill. I've filled them up, seeded and planted and it looks great. These are a great buy, good for newbies like me and an inexpensive garden beautifier. My neighbors have complimented the beds and asked where I bought them so they can buy some, too.
Date published: 2011-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Highly recommend these garden beds! I bought 4 sets of these beds and made two 4X4X14 beds by stacking them. They are easy to put together and look great. I nailed trellis' to the back on them so that I can grow some cucumbers on vines at the back of the beds. It really added a lot of character to the beds.
Date published: 2012-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Success so we are buying more! Very easy to put together. My husband and I bought two, laid some weed block plastic stuff on the bottom and filled the beds with dirt. I think about 6-8 bags each bed. I put a bed together myself. I wanted them fairly full cause of the potatoes and carrots I was planting. We had HUGE success with both! Planting marigolds was a brilliant idea cause it gave me a good idea of when it needed to be watered.
Date published: 2012-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am extremely please with this kit! I purchased this raised bed kit for my sister who was on me to help her plant a vegetable garden for a few years now. The kit was easy to assemble with its dovetail cuts. We had it together within 10 minutes. After my brother-in-law tilled the ground for us, we loaded in the soil and planting within 20 minutes. She is estatic with her new garden. Thank you for having this product because it made planting a vegetable garden simple.
Date published: 2013-04-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from EASY BREEZY If you are looking for something attractive and easy to put together--this is great! You can assemble this quickly. 2 of these stacked together make the garden bed deep enough for just about any vegetable or flower you want to plant in it; 1 bed is deep enough for more shallow rooted plants or veggies. The price is VERY good. I will likely buy more of them when I need to expand my garden again.
Date published: 2012-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Raised Beds pirchas These beds were on sale thru an email I was sent thru the Garden Club. I couldn't find the beds and there wasn't anything about ithe sale. The garden area person spent considerable time and finally workes woth a woman at a cash register to get the discount sent in the Garden Club email. I love the garden beds for landscaping and useful decoration!
Date published: 2016-05-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Was exactly what I wanted. Wanted a raised bed to grow some tomatoes, this was just fine. Almost assembled with ease, one corner was a little oversized and ended up splitting the corner post slot. But glue and clamp and all was well.
Date published: 2016-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it as edgers We decided to use it as edgers, the wood is good quality. We look forward to seeing our tomato plant grow, and the edgers really make our small garden looks neat, not to mention how easy it was to apply it.
Date published: 2016-05-24
  • y_2017, m_4, d_24, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_439
  • loc_, sid_202520884, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 72ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT