Model # RC 4C4

Internet #202520884

Store SKU #344518

Greenes Fence 48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
0052144904423

Greenes Fence

48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed

  • Unfinished rough sawn cedar
  • Board Thickness 11/16 - 3/4 in.
  • Raised Garden Bed made of North American cedar
$4597 /each
store icon Loading Buying Options...
package icon Loading Buying Options...
Sorry, but we ran into issues loading these options. Please try refreshing.

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Creating a bountiful garden has never been easier than with the Greenes 4 ft. x 4 ft. Dovetail Cedar Raised Garden Kit. The dovetail joints make frame assembly a breeze: Simply slide the boards by hand into the corner joints for a solid and secure garden frame. Set the frame on any level outdoor space, add soil and plants or seeds, and begin growing the garden you've always dreamed of.

  • Greenes cedar raised garden kits provide the 7 in. of depth required to grow thriving vegetables, for plants that need additional depth, increase your garden height to 14 or 21 in. by stacking two or more of these 4 x 4 kits, or see the other Greenes Fence dovetail cedar raised garden beds configurations on this site
  • No tools are required to assemble the frame, a Phillips screwdriver is required to attach the decorative top
  • Assembly is simple: Slide the first and second post over each end of the first board, and then slide the second board on top of the first one to build one 7-inch-tall side, connect the rest of the frame in minutes
  • Each corner post is routed on all 4 sides, for easy assembly and kit expansion, and each board slides easily into the grooves for a snug fit
  • Resulting frame is solid and strong enough to easily support the garden when filled with soil
  • Open-bottom garden frame may be placed on virtually any level surface, although a bottom isn't always needed, to create one where desired, simply line the garden bed with landscape fabric or a weed barrier of your choice (sold separately)
  • Kit is made from naturally insect- and rot-resistant cedar, the wood is untreated, and chemicals are not used in the manufacturing process
  • Garden kit will weather nicely over time, to keep the wood looking new, apply a stain or sealer of your choice (sold separately)
  • Get added depth by stacking multiple 4 x 4 greenes dovetail kits, assemble the first kit, leaving off the decorative tops, without the tops, you will have a quarter-inch gap between the top board and the top of the post, slide a board from the second kit to fill this space and then build the rest of the kit as you did the first, with the corner posts from the second kit sitting on top of those from the first, the kits will be stacked and solidly attached, after connecting your final kit, add the decorative tops to the top kit
  • 10 cu. ft. of soil needed to fill raised beds
  • Each 4 x 4 greenes dovetail kit holds approximately 8 to 10 cu. ft. of soil
  • Package contents: 8 boards, 4 corner posts, 4 decorative tops, 4 decorative screws, assembly instructions

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Container Height (in.)
7
Container Length (in.)
48
Container Width (in.)
48

Details

Color Family
Wood
Color/Finish
Cedar
Material
Wood
Number of Tiers
1
Product Weight (lb.)
30lb
Raised Bed Features
Expandable
Returnable
30-Day
Shape
Square

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

is 7 inches of soil deep enough to plant tomato plants?

Asked by: ziggy
Does this include a liner
Answered by: Dan
Date published: 2017-04-10

How long raised garden bed will last?

How long raised garden bed will last?
Asked by: Candee
We have had these for two years and applied a coating of linseed oil to extend the life. We have had no issues of warping. Recommend the linseed oil application though for longer use.
Answered by: OrganicGardening
Date published: 2017-08-06

Can I place on concrete floor?

Don't have grass/dirt to put it on.... I only have concrete I backyard
Asked by: angelm626
Can I put this on my deck sbrasfield
Answered by: Sb
Date published: 2017-06-19

How tall are these?

In the description it says 48'' wide by 48'' long but nothing on how tall they are.
Asked by: Caviler98
The bed is 7 inches deep.
Answered by: Kitty
Date published: 2017-05-16
  • y_2017, m_8, d_18, h_4CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_21
  • loc_, sid_202520884, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 98ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 511.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for your veggie garden! I bought four of these and this is my third growing season with them. I love them! I wish I had gotten double and raised them higher (oh, my back!) but the exercise does me good! I rotate my crops in them...herb garden, lettuces, cukes/radishes, Swiss chard, baby carrots and squash. Will be getting more of thes boxes. I dig the grass up from my yard for the box, lay in chicken wire (keeps certain creatures from tunnelling up into the boxes), then lay in landscaping fabric, then a good mix of soils and nutrients. You can plant prolific amounts of food in these boxes because the soil is so nutrient rich. Very pleased with these boxes.
Date published: 2013-05-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I had received a 48" x 48" cedar raised garden... I had received a 48" x 48" cedar raised garden planter as a gift and two months later decided to purchase a second one. I was informed that the unit I had received as a gift was purchased through Home Depot.The cedar wood on that unit was sanded smooth. The second unit I purchased was on line through Home Depot as the store did not carry them in house. The second unit was constructed the same as the first unit except that all the wood was rough sawn. There may have been two different manufactures. The first unit with smooth sanded wood is much nicer.
Date published: 2017-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Think Outside the BOX - Make rectangular beds! I purchased 7 of these kits to create two 4' X 20' raised beds in my local community garden. See the attached photo for details. I used one "cross board" at four-foot intervals within the bed to maintain stability. I prefabbed some sections on the floor of my garage and assembled the prefabbed parts at the community garden. "Leftovers" from the seven kits included several corner posts and caps. I plan to buy appropriate-size lumber at The Home Depot and build a small raised bed at home. Needless to say, I am quite pleased with the way the community garden raised beds turned out.
Date published: 2011-09-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from 3 YEARS LATER......ROTTED & WARPED; TOTALLY FELL APART ! I was so excited to purchased 2 of thes... 3 YEARS LATER......ROTTED & WARPED; TOTALLY FELL APART ! I was so excited to purchased 2 of these larger sets 3 summers ago. As reviews state very easy to put together, fabulous looking ! We did the whole thing of placing a weed barrier, had quality garden soil delivered, graveled a walk area around the garden and put up a low fence to keep critters out. This would have been our 4th summer but: the wood warped badly; came out of the joints causing soil to spill out; and there was a lot of rotting of the wood. There was NO WAY of fixing this. My son, the same year, purchased 10x8 & 4x8 2in boards, joined them together with corner decking brackets and his still looks like new ! We have removed this mess and did the same as him at half the cost. I guess this is good if you plan on a total redo of your garden every 3 years.
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from For the money this product will do the job. One of the issues I had was the caps for the connect... For the money this product will do the job. One of the issues I had was the caps for the connectors were not all the same. Some had a nice finish others looked like they had just been cut and we're very rough. The second issue I had was board warping. Several of the panels warped when it rained.
Date published: 2017-06-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I did it all by myself!! I am a 5 foot tall, 105 pound, 63 year old widow with a garage full of tools I don't know how to use. I bought 4 of these and built a 4x8 foot double high bed with three sets ( I'll use scrap lumber to reinforce the center). It took me 1 1/2 hours by myself with a mallet. I am so happy. I don't need one that will last 20 years, just five or so, and I think this will do just fine. It seems quite sturdy. I can add to it whenever I want, which is a plus. The pieces could be better finished, but there was very little warping; and I may just stain the outside if I can figure out how.
Date published: 2012-05-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The Green Fence material was made of very cheap material,... The Green Fence material was made of very cheap material, which fell apart or separated when wet. I expanded my garden using fencing material that was cheaper and stronger. Not worth the amount of money charged. Nice idea, but poor material over all. Do not recommend to anyone.
Date published: 2017-06-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This cedar raised garden bed is very nice. Slide the boards in the slots, screw the top piece on... This cedar raised garden bed is very nice. Slide the boards in the slots, screw the top piece on each corner, fill with dirt , add your plants and water. You can start a garden in one afternoon. It is a great box for growing a tomato plant with a few other plants.
Date published: 2017-05-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I've bought several of these over the last few years. The quality has declined significantly. I... I've bought several of these over the last few years. The quality has declined significantly. I installed one last year and the wood has already warped and rotted; one from two years ago is so rotted and warped that it's worthless. I will never buy these again.
Date published: 2017-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to put together and looks great! I bought two of those and stacked them to be able to allow deeper roots. It looks great and it is quite solid. I lined the bottom with landscaper cloth to deter weeds. I am very happy with this purchase! I was alone and the whole thing took me less than an hour.
Date published: 2017-06-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Yes, it was easy to assemble ! However I needeyes... Yes, it was easy to assemble ! However I needeyes it was easy to assemble but to do some adjustments because I needed a rectangle shaped and I was short of two corniers to hold the structure. It was sugested a stone corner which worked! Lupe
Date published: 2017-05-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I am happy with this purchase. Very easy to put... I am happy with this purchase. Very easy to put together and you can ways add more to it if you need. The wood itself is a ok quality, but it does meet the needs. If you need something practical and inexpensive, this may be a good choice.
Date published: 2017-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what my back yard needed. I'm not a... Just what my back yard needed. I'm not a good grass farmer, but OK with vegetables. This raised garden bed makes everything look nicer--the healthy green veggie plants divert the eye from the patchy, weedy "lawn". Good stuff.
Date published: 2017-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Raised bed was very easy to assemble. The only caution is to not force it too much when sliding t... Raised bed was very easy to assemble. The only caution is to not force it too much when sliding the boards into the posts because they can break. Otherwise, everything worked out fine - growing tomatoes, potatoes, and lettuce.
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The picture of this product looks beautiful, but the product itself is not good quality. The caps... The picture of this product looks beautiful, but the product itself is not good quality. The caps broke when being installed the wood is not finished the way it is shown in the beauty shots used for the product description.
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Miss Match and poor machining Product video shows 12 boards and EZ assembly when there are only 8 boards and they don't assemble EZ. Also video shows 2 short corner posts and they are Not included. False Advertising Misleading information.
Date published: 2017-06-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worked like a dream. Just what I wanted for improving... Worked like a dream. Just what I wanted for improving my outdoor garden. Cant beat the price although some of the wood work is cracked, but still went together easily and looks great in the center of my garden.
Date published: 2017-06-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quite nice, better on sale I picked these up when they were $10, and IMO that's the price they ought to be. These are quite nice - the milling of the joints is perfect, and fit is snug, but not impossible to assemble. The caps are a nice touch. Be sure to pick up a couple bags of soil for the fill! Total time with turning the ground underneath, assembly, and filling with dirt was about an hour at most. My plants are loving it. I only rate these 4 stats because of the price - just my opinion of course, but at "suggested retail" they are a tad pricey. I got them on sale and they were a good deal. So good I bought a "spare" - looking for another corner of my yard to place it.....
Date published: 2013-05-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to assemble, seems sturdy. Not 2x6 construction, but much cheaper and no cutting. I am hopin... Easy to assemble, seems sturdy. Not 2x6 construction, but much cheaper and no cutting. I am hoping it lasts several season. Will add another one to it next spring it weathers the North Texas Summer well.
Date published: 2017-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bang for the buck! My daughter and I put two of these together this weekend. It was a breeze. Yes, a few pieces were rough and jagged but we just put those pieces facing down, out of sight. Purchasing two of these is a better value due to the fact that all boards are 4' long and you can take the 2 inner boards and use them on the sides to extend the length of the planter to 4' x 12'. The hardest part of this project is breaking the ground. The planter is a snap and I highly recommend this purchase! I will be purchasing more of these in the near future. Also someone complained that the box did not say how much dirt would be needed, but it does. On the outside of the box it says 8 cu ft needed for one 4' x 4' box.
Date published: 2012-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I don'tknow yet as I sent this to my daughter... I don'tknow yet as I sent this to my daughter and she hasn't put it together yet. Am going down there soon, so will let you know! She has wanted one of these. Me too, but have a small yard!
Date published: 2017-05-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It was easy to assemble. I added 8 long stakes to insure that it stayed where I put it. 4 of the ... It was easy to assemble. I added 8 long stakes to insure that it stayed where I put it. 4 of the stakes, centered on the outside of each side also prevents the sides from bowing.
Date published: 2017-05-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Bought 2 of these to stack in my little ... Bought 2 of these to stack in my little backyard . The went together easily . Some of the boards are slightly warped So it's not completely square , but it's fine
Date published: 2017-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It was very easy to put together I put strawberries... It was very easy to put together I put strawberries in mine but you can put any vegetable in it. I may get another one to put herbs in so they are contained in one place
Date published: 2017-05-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It definitely serves the purpose and is quite east to assemble, but it is not worth the money cha... It definitely serves the purpose and is quite east to assemble, but it is not worth the money charged. Poor quality, no finished edges, it is a splinter farm.
Date published: 2017-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love my new garden. It was so much easier... I love my new garden. It was so much easier to set up than tilling the soil and all that hard work. I will probably add another section next year.
Date published: 2017-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what I wanted- Raised bed to confine my gardening area.- Moveable. Can be stored away on ... Exactly what I wanted- Raised bed to confine my gardening area.- Moveable. Can be stored away on off season. Easy to assemble and dis-assemble.
Date published: 2017-05-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Product was not routered right the wood split. There were huge Knots thought out the wood which f... Product was not routered right the wood split. There were huge Knots thought out the wood which feel out leaving holes. i was very unhappy
Date published: 2017-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just the thing if you want a small garden plot. It's easy to assemble and it gives me the right ... Just the thing if you want a small garden plot. It's easy to assemble and it gives me the right size of small garden area that I wanted.
Date published: 2017-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from the product was very good and worked very well....... customer service... the product was very good and worked very well....... customer service though at the Belton Mo store was so poor...
Date published: 2017-06-13
  • y_2017, m_8, d_18, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_511
  • loc_, sid_202520884, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 213ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT