0052144904423

Greenes Fence

Model RC 4C4

Internet #202520884

Store SKU #344518

48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed

$45.98 /each
  • Quick and easy setup with tool free frame assembly
  • Naturally rot resistant North American cedar
  • Stacks and expands with additional beds

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Creating a bountiful garden has never been easier than with the Greenes 4 ft. x 4 ft. Dovetail Cedar Raised Garden Kit. The dovetail joints make frame assembly a breeze: Simply slide the boards by hand into the corner joints for a solid and secure garden frame. Set the frame on any level outdoor space, add soil and plants or seeds, and begin growing the garden you've always dreamed of.

  • Greenes cedar raised garden kits provide the 7 in. of depth required to grow thriving vegetables, for plants that need additional depth, increase your garden height to 14 or 21 in. by stacking two or more of these 4 x 4 kits, or see the other Greenes Fence dovetail cedar raised garden beds configurations on this site
  • No tools are required to assemble the frame, a Phillips screwdriver is required to attach the decorative top
  • Assembly is simple: Slide the first and second post over each end of the first board, and then slide the second board on top of the first one to build one 7-inch-tall side, connect the rest of the frame in minutes
  • Each corner post is routed on all 4 sides, for easy assembly and kit expansion, and each board slides easily into the grooves for a snug fit
  • Resulting frame is solid and strong enough to easily support the garden when filled with soil
  • Open-bottom garden frame may be placed on virtually any level surface, although a bottom isn't always needed, to create one where desired, simply line the garden bed with landscape fabric or a weed barrier of your choice (sold separately)
  • Kit is made from naturally insect- and rot-resistant cedar, the wood is untreated, and chemicals are not used in the manufacturing process
  • Garden kit will weather nicely over time, to keep the wood looking new, apply a stain or sealer of your choice (sold separately)
  • Get added depth by stacking multiple 4 x 4 greenes dovetail kits, assemble the first kit, leaving off the decorative tops, without the tops, you will have a quarter-inch gap between the top board and the top of the post, slide a board from the second kit to fill this space and then build the rest of the kit as you did the first, with the corner posts from the second kit sitting on top of those from the first, the kits will be stacked and solidly attached, after connecting your final kit, add the decorative tops to the top kit
  • 10 cu. ft. of soil needed to fill raised beds
  • Each 4 x 4 greenes dovetail kit holds approximately 8 to 10 cu. ft. of soil
  • Package contents: 8 boards, 4 corner posts, 4 decorative tops, 4 decorative screws, assembly instructions

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

15 Questions27 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
This question is from 48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
 
8 answers

is 7 inches of soil deep enough to plant tomato plants?

This question is from 48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
Asked by
westford mass
Read all my Q&A
May 12, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (8)

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 13, 2016
Answer: 
Using the raised bed, you could consider digging down below the bed to put more soil in.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Asked by
Concord, Nh
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 27, 2016
Answer: 
Yes! I had my best crop ever last year using a raised bed!
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
northern NH
Read all my Q&A
July 14, 2015
Answer: 
Probably not. I only planted peas and cucumbers in mine.
0points
2out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful2

Asked by
Fife, WA
Read all my Q&A
July 3, 2015
Answer: 
Nope. If you want good hearty tomato plants, with lots of produce, then you'll need them deeper. Tomato plants like to have a deep root base, so 7 inches just isn't enough. I've been doing this for 30 years; they need more than 7 inches.
+7points
11out of 15found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful11unhelpful4

Asked by
Moore, OK
Read all my Q&A
May 19, 2015
Answer: 
Yes, I planted 3 plus 3 pepper and 1 egg plant in 2 boxes, my 3 tier boxes(2) i planted 12 strawberry plants and 2 rows of green beans.
+8points
9out of 10found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful1

Asked by
Richboro, PA
Read all my Q&A
May 19, 2015
Answer: 
Plenty. The first year our plants were over 6 feet tall.
+6points
7out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful1

May 17, 2015
Answer: 
No. It depends on what you are looking for. If you are trying to keep it all natural/organic, then the roots will extend far deeper than 7 inches. I'd recommend a bed closer to 2 feet tall. You want fabric so no weeds or crab grass grow through the bottom (which will happen much faster than you think). I'd recommend a taller bed for some of your deeper rooting crops like tomatoes, peppers, eggplant. Read More
No. It depends on what you are looking for. If you are trying to keep it all natural/organic, then the roots will extend far deeper than 7 inches. I'd recommend a bed closer to 2 feet tall. You want fabric so no weeds or crab grass grow through the bottom (which will happen much faster than you think). I'd recommend a taller bed for some of your deeper rooting crops like tomatoes, peppers, eggplant. Then, I would do a shorter one for the cabbages, lettuces, herbs. Unfortunately the kits don't offer the most difficult parts, the endless amount of soil sometimes needed not to mention what type is best, and also the advice and knowledge on what size to use for certain things. Read Less
+7points
12out of 17found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful12unhelpful5

Asked by
Harrisburg, Pa
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 13, 2015
Answer: 
Yes. A good book to accompany raised beds is "Square Foot Gardening" by Mel Bartholemew
+12points
12out of 12found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful12unhelpful0
This question is from 48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
 
3 answers

How many bags of soil should I use for this?

This question is from 48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
Asked by
Oconee
Read all my Q&A
March 18, 2016
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (3)

Asked by
Harleysville, PA
Read all my Q&A
June 14, 2016
Answer: 
It took about 7 big ones. I combined some leftover potting soil and garden soil.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Bossier City
Read all my Q&A
May 17, 2016
Answer: 
I think it says 10 cubic feet. I followed that guide and it was adiquate.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
MA
Read all my Q&A
March 29, 2016
Answer: 
I used five 2 cu. ft. bags of soil for mine.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
This question is from 48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
 
3 answers

How tall are these?

This question is from 48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
Asked by
Fortwayne, Indiana
Read all my Q&A
May 10, 2015
In the description it says 48'' wide by 48'' long but nothing on how tall they are.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (3)

Asked by
novi mi
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 2, 2015
Answer: 
The sides are 7" high
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0

Asked by
Harrisburg, Pa
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 13, 2015
Answer: 
7 inches
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0

May 11, 2015
Answer: 
The container height is 7 inches. Added height would depend upon how tall your plants grow.
+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
This question is from 48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
 
3 answers

Can I place on concrete floor?

This question is from 48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 9, 2015
Don't have grass/dirt to put it on.... I only have concrete I backyard
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (3)

Asked by
novi mi
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 2, 2015
Answer: 
These do not have a bottom. The kits only consists of 4 sides and 4 corner posts.
0points
4out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful4

Asked by
Harrisburg, Pa
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 13, 2015
Answer: 
Yes, these are great for patios
+4points
5out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful1

May 9, 2015
Answer: 
The item can be placed on any surface that is level.
+7points
7out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful0
2 »
  • 2016-09-08 T13:41:56.015-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_202520884, prod, sort_default
2 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 40ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 421 reviewers.
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not worth the money This product is poorly constructed. Lots of wood fibers hang off of the pieces that need to be put together, which means you have to sand them off or use a lot of force to put it together. Some of the wood had mold growing on it, half of the cap pieces were cracked in such a way that as soon as you put a screw through them they broke. I've built boxes out of 2x6's before and they were much more sturdy and cheaper. The only thing this product has going for it is it is more visually appealing than one built with 2x6's but I don't think that quality will last long. June 9, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wifey's garden thingie This little raised bed is perfect for my wife's gardening ambitions, it is an addition to an existing three-tired garden that we've had for two years. September 15, 2015
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Cheap! I bought these last year and they were decent. They had few knots and the boards were relatively straight. I bought new one this year with the intentions of stacking the new beds on top of my old ones. BAD IDEA!! First of all, they are not the same size as last year- about 1 1/2" shorter. The connector pieces are made out of much lower quality wood and did not match up with the old ones. Each board was full of knots & was warped. The company totally cheaped out on their product this year. I am returning all 6 that I bought. I am very disappointed. May 2, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Time saver I ordered these for pickup at my local store. They did a great job having them ready for me, however two of the three I got were obviously very old stock. The first one I assembled had one board that was too long, so I ended up having to cut it down and repair the corner with screws. The other two went together like they were supposed to. Nonetheless, If I wanted to spend a couple of hours with tools, I could have built them myself for less. But I am happy with them and I'm an instant gratification kind of person, so I got that (mostly). May 5, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great for first timers I picked up two of these last spring to help expand our garden as we're debating how much lawn to "trade up" into vegetable garden. My two daughters were SUPER excited about these. Only issue was everything grew too well. I stand about 5' 8" and I could hide standing up behind the tomatoes; fun adventure building support for tomatoe cages. The only regret was I should have opted for the deeper ones. Just make sure you find a level spot. Use something inside to keep the weeds down; a few rocks to weigh down the black mesh is perfect. I'll add more raised beds this year. March 11, 2015
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed! We had thought this product would be great; putting it together was easy, however, try and pick it up and the boards fall out of the bottom. Also, the entire fame was very wobbly swaying side to side. We could not pick it up without great care. Returned it to the store for a refund. Really disappointed, expected a sturdy frame when assembled. We made one last year from cedar lumber ourselves, using four 7" tall boards and screwed in at ends - this one we can pick up and move at will to another spot, etc. April 28, 2015
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great for the price, delivery was a breeze, did come damaged It was really easy to order these in the store via their website (no delivery fee if you do!). The raised beds arrived no problem and were easy to assemble. One of the beds had two boards where the section that slotted them in to the post was broken off (or inadvertently cut?). Luckily we were combining beds and didn't need the two damaged boards. If I had been using all the beds as a square it would have been a pain to try and figure out how to either fix the boards or do without since the soil was delivered the same day as the beds. Overall, good for the money, but if you are looking for something sleeker you might go a bit more high end. May 15, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 1st Family Garden A team member recommended this for ease of putting together. He was 100% right. The kits are affordable, look good and can be added on to. Our family garden looks awesome & we will add on more space next year. July 16, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great product. This product was really simple to assemble and it looks great! July 28, 2015
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice, but We stacked two of these to add to our other homemade, cedar raised beds we built a couple years ago. Pros of this raised garden bed: cedar, good value for low cost, attractive. Cons: wood planks are very thin and we wonder how long this will last, especially since we stacked two and there's a lot of amended garden soil contained within; had to exchange one set because some of the boards were so warped they wouldn't slide into the corner posts; description states if two units are stacked you get 14" height -- not exactly accurate -- corner posts are 14" high but boards stack about two inches shorter than the corner posts. So, if you really need good depth you should stack 3 units. All-in-all, this was a good value when purchased on sale. I would have rated it higher if we didn't have to exchange one set and if I really did get 14" height when two units are stacked. June 2, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Beginner set-up I purchased this product to put in my first "urban garden" in the city of Buffalo. The directions were straight-forward and it was easy to assemble. As of the first week of September I have have harvested tomatoes, cherry tomatoes, green peppers and spinach from the 4x4 foot plot. I have since connected a second one to the first, in early august, to start a fall vegetable crop and have peas, lettuce and carrots growing. Since this original purchase I have also picked up a starter power tool kit so in the future I will try to build these myself; but for the beginner who is looking for something straight out of the box this is the way to go! September 8, 2011
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great little set-up it was easy to assemble and holding together. The only thing I would like to see improved is a way to keep uppr level wood slat from sliding all the way through when putting it up. Otherwse I am very happy with my garden box. July 8, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Inexpensive Raised Bed Very easy to assemble. Dimensions seem accurate. I'll let you know if they were a worthwhile purchase if they last longer than one growing season. July 14, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by This was my third raised garden bed. It works well for my wife's garden. The bed was easy to assemble. and works well . It also is a nice looking garden bed. July 19, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Easy Garden Use this as an easy way to establish a vegetable garden without having to till the soil and break your back. This is my second one and the grandchildren look forward to this every year. Had the first one for 3 seasons and decided to add a second this year to expand the choices. As soon as I saw it on sale I grabbed one. Just planted all of the veggies with the grandkids and waiting for it to grow. May 19, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Easy to assemble! This was easy to assemble and easy to extend for height extensions. I don't recommend it if you are looking for shorter sides/length, as it doesn't assemble if you attempt to shorten the lengths. It's a little rough finish on the wood, but the product works well for a great start-up garden box. June 18, 2015
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor quality but does the job The quality of this product has drastically dropped. I bought one a few years ago and they have decreased the size of the wood slabs and it's full of splinters. Additionally, not all the wood pieces are straight. Not only has the price increased 50% but the quality has dropped drastically. Will need to look for something else in the future. If they decrease the price, I may purchase it again, but not at $50. May 12, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by so durable and easy to put together...definately will purchase again. The garden is very simple to put together. Perfect size for tomatoes, bush beans, squash and zucchini. July 10, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wish I had bought this years ago. I have had a garden in my yard every year. I have made raised beds using decorative concrete blocks which are fine but cost a lot and take time to haul and arrange. They seem to get heavier, the more I move them. And spiders seem to like them a lot too (even black widows). This 4'x4' raised bed is light as a feather, took about 10 minutes to assemble, looks nice, and the plants are thriving! I planted herbs in this one and may purchase several more for other plants! April 15, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by my instagarden Value-- The price was somewhat reasonable. I could have built something myself less expensive with sturdier material but I wanted something quick and easy so this worked out perfect. Quality-- The material is okay on this product but a a bit rough. I decided to run a sander on some parts to eliminate slivers especially if you have children around your garden. Make sure the boards are straight and not warped, otherwise when you put the planks into the slots to assemble there will be a gap. I am guessing this wood is wet when it was cut so after it dries the planks tend to distort. Functionality-- For a quick and easy flowerbed this worked great and solved my problem. The boards if cut straight and are not warped made this easy to assemble. I like the fact that you can add on and join multiple beds together. If you need the bed smaller you can always shorten the planks. May 19, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by . The beds were easy to put together and a much easier way to get contained areas started quickly. The down side was that one set was missing a corner cap and the screws to attach them, and the other was full of mouse doo. I know they are stored outside, but ew. June 25, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great for back yard garden i ended up buying 4 of these, and my Mother bought 3 we love them..... June 30, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love this Garden Bed!! We are very happy with our purchase! I was able to set this up with the help of my 6 year old son. It was fast and easy, and we were working on our new garden in no time. We have had this for about 5 weeks now and it still looks great and doesn't appear to have any problems. Would definitely recommend, especially because it is so affordable in comparison to other options out there. We hope to add on to it in the future. May 6, 2015
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Regretting this decision I am actually shocked at the positive reviews of this product. Perhaps it was because these were stored out in the raid by HD before I got them (boxes were soaked and fell apart when I moved them), but the wood actually split on one board as I was assembling it. The boards are paper thin and I wonder whether they will last more than a season. I could have built better myself by just buying a couple of 2x8x8 pressure treated boards. May 5, 2015
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Thin Weak Board These assemble quickly and are nicely designed. However, the boards are but 1/2 inch thick. Upon installation and filled with base rock and dirt, the bottom board bowed outward by over an inch. I had to empty the box and reinforce the system to make it appear and function properly. June 2, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Cedar Raised Garden Bed I have planted vegetables in my garden bed and I'm very excited to know that I will see them growing very soon. June 16, 2015
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by great price Easily assembled, the only complaint is that of the 16 we bought some of the corner posts were slightly smaller than others. When we stacked them we had to rearrange some to make them look right. Each box had the same size posts. June 9, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great gardening tool Also purchased 48 x 96inch raised garden bed and connected them together. One of the best buys I ever made. Makes gardening so much easier. Well constructed and very easy to assemble. June 9, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by MY ONLINE PURCHASE EXPERIENCE THE PLANTER BOX WAS SO EASY TO ASSEMBLE, I HAD NO PROBLEMS AT ALL. ONE SUGGESTION HOWEVER: PLEASE MAKE A NOTATION UNDER PRODUCT INFORMATION, WHEN THE PLANTER BOXES COME WITH OR WITHOUT A BOTTOM. IT IS VERY CONFUSING BECAUSE IT DOESN'T SHOW THAT INFORMATION NOW. THANK YOU May 26, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The Answer to My Gardening Needs! I am not a gardener but I love the outdoors. With groceries growing to expensive prices, I decided to give it a try. It was sooo easy to put together (My girls did it). We saw growth in three weeks. I am ready to expand. Good Luck on your garden! June 2, 2015
  • 2016-09-08 T13:17:15.024-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_421, tr_421
  • loc_en_US, sid_202520884, prod, sort_default
<< 2 3 4 5 6  ... 15 >>
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 156ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT