Model # RC 4C4

Internet #202520884

Store SKU #344518

Greenes Fence 48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
0052144904423

Greenes Fence

48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed

  • Quick and easy setup with tool free frame assembly
  • Naturally rot resistant North American cedar
  • Stacks and expands with additional beds
$46.00 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Creating a bountiful garden has never been easier than with the Greenes 4 ft. x 4 ft. Dovetail Cedar Raised Garden Kit. The dovetail joints make frame assembly a breeze: Simply slide the boards by hand into the corner joints for a solid and secure garden frame. Set the frame on any level outdoor space, add soil and plants or seeds, and begin growing the garden you've always dreamed of.

  • Greenes cedar raised garden kits provide the 7 in. of depth required to grow thriving vegetables, for plants that need additional depth, increase your garden height to 14 or 21 in. by stacking two or more of these 4 x 4 kits, or see the other Greenes Fence dovetail cedar raised garden beds configurations on this site
  • No tools are required to assemble the frame, a Phillips screwdriver is required to attach the decorative top
  • Assembly is simple: Slide the first and second post over each end of the first board, and then slide the second board on top of the first one to build one 7-inch-tall side, connect the rest of the frame in minutes
  • Each corner post is routed on all 4 sides, for easy assembly and kit expansion, and each board slides easily into the grooves for a snug fit
  • Resulting frame is solid and strong enough to easily support the garden when filled with soil
  • Open-bottom garden frame may be placed on virtually any level surface, although a bottom isn't always needed, to create one where desired, simply line the garden bed with landscape fabric or a weed barrier of your choice (sold separately)
  • Kit is made from naturally insect- and rot-resistant cedar, the wood is untreated, and chemicals are not used in the manufacturing process
  • Garden kit will weather nicely over time, to keep the wood looking new, apply a stain or sealer of your choice (sold separately)
  • Get added depth by stacking multiple 4 x 4 greenes dovetail kits, assemble the first kit, leaving off the decorative tops, without the tops, you will have a quarter-inch gap between the top board and the top of the post, slide a board from the second kit to fill this space and then build the rest of the kit as you did the first, with the corner posts from the second kit sitting on top of those from the first, the kits will be stacked and solidly attached, after connecting your final kit, add the decorative tops to the top kit
  • 10 cu. ft. of soil needed to fill raised beds
  • Each 4 x 4 greenes dovetail kit holds approximately 8 to 10 cu. ft. of soil
  • Package contents: 8 boards, 4 corner posts, 4 decorative tops, 4 decorative screws, assembly instructions

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

15 Questions28 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
 
9 answers

is 7 inches of soil deep enough to plant tomato plants?

This question is from 48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
Asked by
westford mass
Read all my Q&A
May 12, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (9)

October 25, 2016
Answer: 
Yes, tomatoes worked fine, but if you prefer more depth, it's desined to where you can add another one to it and double the depth of soil, which I recommend, which I plan on doing next year.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 13, 2016
Answer: 
Using the raised bed, you could consider digging down below the bed to put more soil in.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0

Asked by
Concord, Nh
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 27, 2016
Answer: 
Yes! I had my best crop ever last year using a raised bed!
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
northern NH
Read all my Q&A
July 14, 2015
Answer: 
Probably not. I only planted peas and cucumbers in mine.
0points
2out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful2

Asked by
Fife, WA
Read all my Q&A
July 3, 2015
Answer: 
Nope. If you want good hearty tomato plants, with lots of produce, then you'll need them deeper. Tomato plants like to have a deep root base, so 7 inches just isn't enough. I've been doing this for 30 years; they need more than 7 inches.
+7points
11out of 15found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful11unhelpful4

Asked by
Moore, OK
Read all my Q&A
May 19, 2015
Answer: 
Yes, I planted 3 plus 3 pepper and 1 egg plant in 2 boxes, my 3 tier boxes(2) i planted 12 strawberry plants and 2 rows of green beans.
+8points
9out of 10found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful1

Asked by
Richboro, PA
Read all my Q&A
May 19, 2015
Answer: 
Plenty. The first year our plants were over 6 feet tall.
+6points
7out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful1

May 17, 2015
Answer: 
No. It depends on what you are looking for. If you are trying to keep it all natural/organic, then the roots will extend far deeper than 7 inches. I'd recommend a bed closer to 2 feet tall. You want fabric so no weeds or crab grass grow through the bottom (which will happen much faster than you think). I'd recommend a taller bed for some of your deeper rooting crops like tomatoes, peppers, eggplant. Read More
No. It depends on what you are looking for. If you are trying to keep it all natural/organic, then the roots will extend far deeper than 7 inches. I'd recommend a bed closer to 2 feet tall. You want fabric so no weeds or crab grass grow through the bottom (which will happen much faster than you think). I'd recommend a taller bed for some of your deeper rooting crops like tomatoes, peppers, eggplant. Then, I would do a shorter one for the cabbages, lettuces, herbs. Unfortunately the kits don't offer the most difficult parts, the endless amount of soil sometimes needed not to mention what type is best, and also the advice and knowledge on what size to use for certain things. Read Less
+7points
12out of 17found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful12unhelpful5

Asked by
Harrisburg, Pa
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 13, 2015
Answer: 
Yes. A good book to accompany raised beds is "Square Foot Gardening" by Mel Bartholemew
+13points
13out of 13found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful13unhelpful0
 
3 answers

How many bags of soil should I use for this?

This question is from 48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
Asked by
Oconee
Read all my Q&A
March 18, 2016
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (3)

Asked by
Harleysville, PA
Read all my Q&A
June 14, 2016
Answer: 
It took about 7 big ones. I combined some leftover potting soil and garden soil.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Bossier City
Read all my Q&A
May 17, 2016
Answer: 
I think it says 10 cubic feet. I followed that guide and it was adiquate.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
MA
Read all my Q&A
March 29, 2016
Answer: 
I used five 2 cu. ft. bags of soil for mine.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
 
3 answers

How tall are these?

This question is from 48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
Asked by
Fortwayne, Indiana
Read all my Q&A
May 10, 2015
In the description it says 48'' wide by 48'' long but nothing on how tall they are.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (3)

Asked by
novi mi
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 2, 2015
Answer: 
The sides are 7" high
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0

Asked by
Harrisburg, Pa
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 13, 2015
Answer: 
7 inches
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0

May 11, 2015
Answer: 
The container height is 7 inches. Added height would depend upon how tall your plants grow.
+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
 
3 answers

Can I place on concrete floor?

This question is from 48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 9, 2015
Don't have grass/dirt to put it on.... I only have concrete I backyard
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (3)

Asked by
novi mi
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 2, 2015
Answer: 
These do not have a bottom. The kits only consists of 4 sides and 4 corner posts.
0points
4out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful4

Asked by
Harrisburg, Pa
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 13, 2015
Answer: 
Yes, these are great for patios
+4points
5out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful1

May 9, 2015
Answer: 
The item can be placed on any surface that is level.
+7points
7out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful0
2 »
  • 2016-10-31 T00:27:07.020-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_202520884, prod, sort_default
2 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 73ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 424 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Happy! This was super easy to put together and I was happy to see that I can expand it as well. I would suggest putting down either a weed stop blanket or some rocks after you set it up. We put in top quality veggie soil and everything is sprouting properly. This would make an excellent gift throughout the year for anyone that loves to plant fruit and veggies. May 11, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Cedar Raised Garden Bed I have planted vegetables in my garden bed and I'm very excited to know that I will see them growing very soon. June 16, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The Answer to My Gardening Needs! I am not a gardener but I love the outdoors. With groceries growing to expensive prices, I decided to give it a try. It was sooo easy to put together (My girls did it). We saw growth in three weeks. I am ready to expand. Good Luck on your garden! June 2, 2015
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by great price Easily assembled, the only complaint is that of the 16 we bought some of the corner posts were slightly smaller than others. When we stacked them we had to rearrange some to make them look right. Each box had the same size posts. June 9, 2015
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Waste of money I purchased this product when it was on sale recently. While the design of the raised garden is great the materials and workmanship were not. The wood was rough and poorly cut. The pieces were all different colors and some had cracks in the wood. I had to sand every piece to be able to handle it without getting splinters and painted the wood so that the garden would have a uniform appearance. It was difficult sliding the long pieces into the corners because of the poor cutting job. The notches must be cut at the same angle and size to fit properly. Since they were barely cut and had rough edges up to an inch too long, I spent a lot of time time cleaning them up to make them fit. Normally I would have returned this item to the store but I already had some plants in the ground and had a limited amount of time to get my garden together. Basically, you get cheap wood that isn't cut properly and doesn't fit. Way overpriced! May 12, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by MY ONLINE PURCHASE EXPERIENCE THE PLANTER BOX WAS SO EASY TO ASSEMBLE, I HAD NO PROBLEMS AT ALL. ONE SUGGESTION HOWEVER: PLEASE MAKE A NOTATION UNDER PRODUCT INFORMATION, WHEN THE PLANTER BOXES COME WITH OR WITHOUT A BOTTOM. IT IS VERY CONFUSING BECAUSE IT DOESN'T SHOW THAT INFORMATION NOW. THANK YOU May 26, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great gardening tool Also purchased 48 x 96inch raised garden bed and connected them together. One of the best buys I ever made. Makes gardening so much easier. Well constructed and very easy to assemble. June 9, 2015
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by wanted to try raised bed easy to assemble,sturdy,good quality,would buy again June 15, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Easiest gardening ever! The package was easy to open and the bed was very easy to assemble. The boards were straight and everything slid into place easily. Pop it on the lawn, filled it with 5 bags of soil, and it was ready for planting. The easiest vegetable garden! May 20, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent another one may be ordered if my garden goes well I was lazy one day and didn't want to go to the Home Depot store to look at the raised garden material. I looked at the website instead. After researching other websites and comparing quality and prices I ordered one garden bed. It came quickly and there was no shipping cost. I was impressed with the cedar material. After laying it out I decided to order a second one. I can't wait to start planting in the spring and maybe adding a third. I would and have recommended this product to anyone who will listen. One person wanted to see the the bed to confirm it was really cedar at the price I was telling him. October 29, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great and timely purchase. I had been looking for an inexpensive garden bed to try a vegetable garden versus my usual garden spot. I am happy to report it's holding together well and has the edge for beautiful plants so far. May 26, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Gardening purchase I have not yet had it assembled - I don't know how durable it is going to be. June 9, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Purchase It was very very easy to assemble. It looks great out in my yard with the other two sets I purchased. It also helped to make my garden planting easier having it raised up. June 2, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Functional and Affordable Very easy to assemble and very affordable. Combined with some Miracle grow gardening soil and the Vegetables are Flourishing. A simple no nonsense product. June 9, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by So simple and cool! These were super easy to put together and they look beautiful! June 16, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Just what we were looking for. Easy to assemble and was just what we were looking for. June 16, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great and easy to put together product The ideas was great and was easy to put together and very affordable. The only reason i am giving it 4 stars is because the dovetails on the posts had burrs and i had to hammer a couple of the planks in. If quality control had caught it i wouldn't have had to deal with it. May 12, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 48 X 48 Cedar Raised Garden Bed I bought mine when they were on sale. I am handicapped so I really need a raised bed. My husband built a raised bed with two rows of cement block and then I connected two raised beds on top of each other and placed them on top of the cement blocks. I have both flowers and vegetables planted and all are growing well. It is nice to have it a height I can work with. April 29, 2015
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not as expected or portrayed The wood turned out to be very thin and flimsy. Disappointed. I expect to get one season out of them no more. Considering the price not worth it. May 27, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Starting a Garden Easy to assemble. Looks nice in yard, not junky. Bought dirt, too. Everything works. Thank you. June 2, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Serves the purpose. This is good for the purpose that it was advertised for. Only main thing I am not happy about is the corner coverings. They are fragile and one of them broke while I was fixing it. Other than that it is a good product and its good. May 19, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Raised Bed Garden materials A new product for me, easy enough that I could put it together, the wood was a little rough but overall i am happy with the purchase. Would I buy again, maybe! June 9, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice and easy to put together Easy to put together and looks nice, it took no time to install. I ended up buying 2 + 2 3 tier boxes. Some of the boards were warped, not a big deal if you put them in the back. May 19, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good for a small garden easy to put together for a small garden got it done in a few min. June 7, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great for grandchildren's first garden. I bought this for my grandson, who wanted a vegetable garden. It was very easy to assemble, and work in. Put it under his bedroom window, where it gets plenty sun, so that he can watch the plants grow. He is very proud of his first garden. May 5, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Just fine The product is what I expected and a good value for the money. Easy to assemble and looks just fine. Nothing fancy but just fine. May 26, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by So easy to assemble This is a great addition to our yard. Easily adds on to other Greene's garden beds that we already had. The end caps give it a nice finished touch. May 19, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great to have extra room for more plants in the garden. This was easy to put together. The quality is good but it is a bit expensive. This would be very easy to make if you have the time. Works well for extra space in my garden. you can put it anywhere in the yard. I'd buy another. May 5, 2015
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Adequate purchase This will do the job but it is light duty. Don't expect a substantial product. If you fill it with dirt to the top, the sides bulge out. May 19, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great purchase Easy to put together and install. Good.value. Working well in my garden June 2, 2015
  • 2016-10-30 T22:32:36.691-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_424, tr_424
  • loc_en_US, sid_202520884, prod, sort_default
<< 3 4 5 6 7  ... 15 >>
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 209ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT