Model # RC 4C4

Internet #202520884

Store SKU #344518

Greenes Fence 48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
0052144904423

Greenes Fence

48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed

  • Unfinished rough sawn cedar
  • Board Thickness 11/16 - 3/4 in.
  • Raised Garden Bed made of North American cedar
$45.97 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Creating a bountiful garden has never been easier than with the Greenes 4 ft. x 4 ft. Dovetail Cedar Raised Garden Kit. The dovetail joints make frame assembly a breeze: Simply slide the boards by hand into the corner joints for a solid and secure garden frame. Set the frame on any level outdoor space, add soil and plants or seeds, and begin growing the garden you've always dreamed of.

  • Greenes cedar raised garden kits provide the 7 in. of depth required to grow thriving vegetables, for plants that need additional depth, increase your garden height to 14 or 21 in. by stacking two or more of these 4 x 4 kits, or see the other Greenes Fence dovetail cedar raised garden beds configurations on this site
  • No tools are required to assemble the frame, a Phillips screwdriver is required to attach the decorative top
  • Assembly is simple: Slide the first and second post over each end of the first board, and then slide the second board on top of the first one to build one 7-inch-tall side, connect the rest of the frame in minutes
  • Each corner post is routed on all 4 sides, for easy assembly and kit expansion, and each board slides easily into the grooves for a snug fit
  • Resulting frame is solid and strong enough to easily support the garden when filled with soil
  • Open-bottom garden frame may be placed on virtually any level surface, although a bottom isn't always needed, to create one where desired, simply line the garden bed with landscape fabric or a weed barrier of your choice (sold separately)
  • Kit is made from naturally insect- and rot-resistant cedar, the wood is untreated, and chemicals are not used in the manufacturing process
  • Garden kit will weather nicely over time, to keep the wood looking new, apply a stain or sealer of your choice (sold separately)
  • Get added depth by stacking multiple 4 x 4 greenes dovetail kits, assemble the first kit, leaving off the decorative tops, without the tops, you will have a quarter-inch gap between the top board and the top of the post, slide a board from the second kit to fill this space and then build the rest of the kit as you did the first, with the corner posts from the second kit sitting on top of those from the first, the kits will be stacked and solidly attached, after connecting your final kit, add the decorative tops to the top kit
  • 10 cu. ft. of soil needed to fill raised beds
  • Each 4 x 4 greenes dovetail kit holds approximately 8 to 10 cu. ft. of soil
  • Package contents: 8 boards, 4 corner posts, 4 decorative tops, 4 decorative screws, assembly instructions

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

is 7 inches of soil deep enough to plant tomato plants?

Asked by: ziggy
yes also bell peppers eggplants need at lease 8in
Answered by: JOE
Date published: 2016-11-14

How many bags of soil should I use for this?

Asked by: Casey
It took about 7 big ones. I combined some leftover potting soil and garden soil.
Answered by: hpwex
Date published: 2017-02-15

How tall are these?

In the description it says 48'' wide by 48'' long but nothing on how tall they are.
Asked by: Caviler98
The sides are 7" high
Answered by: michelle
Date published: 2017-02-15

Can I place on concrete floor?

Don't have grass/dirt to put it on.... I only have concrete I backyard
Asked by: angelm626
These do not have a bottom. The kits only consists of 4 sides and 4 corner posts.
Answered by: michelle
Date published: 2017-02-15
  • y_2017, m_2, d_25, h_6CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_16
  • loc_, sid_202520884, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 55ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 429.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An extension to my original purchase. When I ordered my original 4'X12' set I also ordered 2 of these 4'X4' additions to raise the overall height of part of my garden. Price and quality were excellent and installation took less than 10 minutes. I couldn't be happier and I will install a few more this fall.
Date published: 2016-08-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This Product is great for small gardens I like this product due to its ease of assembly. It took all of 5 mins to put together and now I have veggies..
Date published: 2012-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent! Good quality material, easy to setup, all components included and works as I had hoped it would.
Date published: 2012-06-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to assemble, good in the heat Great planter bed frames. They actually hold more dirt than I thought. I have had mine for an entire hot AZ summer w/o problems. I might stain or weather stain the outsides just to help against our heat. Love these beds. I have 3 in different sizes.
Date published: 2016-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No tools except a screwdriver required! Purchased for gift for my daughter's townhouse. Put together in 10 minutes and ready to fill with soil and plant. Cedar looks great and my daughter was thrilled that she didn't need to "dig" a garden. Planted same day and she loves it!
Date published: 2016-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from assembly easy for even a 72 year old female. good instructions, perfect size, sturdy and attractive.
Date published: 2012-06-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good fit for what we needed Easy to assemble, just the right size for planting a couple of vegetables. We could probably have bought the materials for less, but having everything we needed in the kit with no need for cutting and measuring was worth it.
Date published: 2016-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best garden for a quick project for a 2 yr old novice ! My husband and son and grandson put this together today and added the soil and plants in a matter of less than an hour ! What fun and the pay off is more than the vegetables. It was so easy and grandson who is 2 could get the satisfaction of a garden in an easy way..important when one is only 2 yrs old ! Thank you for selling a product that is exactly as advertised. We look forward to a great harvest :) c
Date published: 2014-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for the small garden enthusiest Put together very easily and quickly. Took about 10 minutes to put together. It took longer to add in the 10 cubic feet of dirt and plant the basil. Highly recommend.
Date published: 2016-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Raised Bed Garden Kit So quick and easy it was done and growing in an hour after bring this home. Get more than one if you have the room. This will save you money in fresh food costs.
Date published: 2016-06-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Poor quality but does the job The quality of this product has drastically dropped. I bought one a few years ago and they have decreased the size of the wood slabs and it's full of splinters. Additionally, not all the wood pieces are straight. Not only has the price increased 50% but the quality has dropped drastically. Will need to look for something else in the future. If they decrease the price, I may purchase it again, but not at $50.
Date published: 2015-05-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fits the bill This was extremely easy to set up and is a lot better than having 10 different pots sitting out with my vegetables.
Date published: 2016-06-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good beds These are good reliable beds. Easy to put together and so far solid and lasting and doing its job!
Date published: 2016-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Raised Bed Nicely made and perfect for my spot in my sunny garden.
Date published: 2016-08-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome product We bought two of these and made a 4'x12' garden bed. So easy to put together and looks great! Great price for a cedar garden bed, I can't wait to plant it full of veggies!
Date published: 2012-04-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Really bad quality materials and workmanship Perhaps, I happened to get 2 really bad kits? Perhaps used to be a good in the past,but now cost cutting,has lowered quality. + Pros - Great idea for a complete novice,that has almost no handy man skills,or is not good at these type of products. - Cons- That same novice would be extremely frustrated at the bad workmanship,and low quality materials. - I admit, full disclosure,I didn't buy them for raised garden beds.I bought 2 kits to modify them for flowerbeds to go next to my front porch. - I ordered online and picked them up at the store next the morning. - I opened the box,which have been sitting inside my garage for 3 weeks (due to weather not being ideal) - One of the kits had couple of pieces of the wood had bird droppings.The toppers,and 3 of the 4 corner blocks were extremely badly routed,and I had to clean up with a chisel,and sandpaper to get them to work.The dove tails in the corner blocks were extremely rough.1 of the toppers was completely un-usable due to knot holes on the edges,and partially split. - 2nd kit was better,the corner blocks just needed to be cleaned out,the toppers were usable,but really rough. - not $35 a kit a piece quality at all,feel like they are made with fence scrap quality materials. My making the best out of them.... Realizing how bad they were,even getting them on sale,they weren't worth the time or effort to use for my purposes,I gave them to an 88 year old lady down the street..She loved them thinking they were made by my girlfriends 7th grade son.Then she found out I actually paid money for them,and thought I was out of my mind...
Date published: 2015-04-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Time-saving, beautiful, great value We've recently moved and at our last house, we built 4x4 raised cedar beds. This is easier, the cost is fairly comparable to buying the materials and building yourself, and the product looks great in the yard. We started with 2 kits and went back for more. Quality is not perfect - the wood had some mold and wasn't all perfectly finished. But it's not furniture, it's a garden box. Once they were installed, you'd never really know.
Date published: 2012-05-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Gardening made easy. This set goes together in no time. I would like to see thicker boards but the item is easier to pack and ship as is. It holds the dirt well enough so it's doing what it's suppose to do. I like the units a lot. I would purchase again.
Date published: 2014-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to build and nice-looking. Simple to assemble and attractive, these are a nice addition to a backyard garden. I lost my butterfly bushes over this last horrid winter and wanted to put in a little butterfly garden. This was a perfect size for my project. They look like a nice, finished product with very little work - it's amazing what a difference the post caps make. They are a little pricy for the materials but I know I wouldn't have wanted to take the time to cut dovetails, so there you go. I'm jealous of the reviewer who got them for ten dollars since I'd want to get another one!
Date published: 2014-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 48 in X 48 in. cedar raised garden bed The bed fit perfectly where we wanted it. Happy with the wood and assembly went very well. We did see the need to place a nail in the top of each corner to assure that it will hold together.
Date published: 2015-10-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Item I have a bad back and am very weak. Therefore, digging my yard to prepare it for a garden is beyond me. The kit was so easy to complete, an 9 year old kid in the neighborhood did it. So far, so good. Well worth the price and great for a beginner. It I don't like this new hobby, it can be dismantled and my yard returned to it's previous condition.
Date published: 2012-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it! I considered using 4x4's to make a raised garden and am so glad we found this instead. No tools required except phillips screw driver to attach decorative top, but overall was super easy to assemble and looks awesome. Perfect height for raised bed, and with multiple sets can make various configurations. Little pricey but worth it.
Date published: 2012-04-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from OK so far, I dont expect it to last >1 yr The set I bought was sitting in a pile of several. I believe mine was the only one that wasn't significantly covered in gray mold on the surface since they had been sitting out in the elements. This concerned me since obviously this set would REALLY be out in the elements all year, but since it was on sale, I figured it would be a good 1-season solution. As I put it together I discovered many of the boards were mildly warped due to moisture exposure, and the dovetails were roughly cut. This made assembly difficult, but not impossible. The corner of 1 post broke, but of course turning it 180 degrees solved that problem. The bowing of some boards has caused some openings in the sides, but no significant soil loss yet. I expect molding & further bowing due to the condition I found the set in at the beginning, but this will make for easy composting in the fall. This has been a quick, cheap solution for a first-time veggie garden. However, I would have rather spent a little more for something that would last.
Date published: 2013-04-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Does the job Overall, it is a quality product when it is complete. However, half the holes are not predrilled, which makes setup somewhat of a challenge. If you do not predrill the holes, the boards will crack slightly when you sink the screws.
Date published: 2011-05-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great little raised bed We're very happy with this raised bed. It is very easy to put together, just slide the boards into the corner pieces and then screw them together. Pretty robust and nice looking.
Date published: 2011-07-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This product is so easy to set up! For the cost this product is great easy to set up and move around to the right location! This is the first year of them so I will see how they hold up!
Date published: 2012-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very pleased I wish I would've purchased these sooner. Love them. Easy to install. Probably took 10 min. to put both together. Very easy and they look so nice.
Date published: 2012-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good quality; easy to put together; looks great Perfect for the vegetable garden; looks great, neat, easy to garden; hope you like the picture of my new garden--my son's gift to me for Mother's Day!
Date published: 2011-05-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Perfect for my sized garden I just assembled it in 5 minutes and added soil. My tomatoes are jumping out of the ground!
Date published: 2012-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for first timers I picked up two of these last spring to help expand our garden as we're debating how much lawn to "trade up" into vegetable garden. My two daughters were SUPER excited about these. Only issue was everything grew too well. I stand about 5' 8" and I could hide standing up behind the tomatoes; fun adventure building support for tomatoe cages. The only regret was I should have opted for the deeper ones. Just make sure you find a level spot. Use something inside to keep the weeds down; a few rocks to weigh down the black mesh is perfect. I'll add more raised beds this year.
Date published: 2015-03-11
  • y_2017, m_2, d_24, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_429
  • loc_, sid_202520884, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 121ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT