Model # RC 4C4

Internet #202520884

Store SKU #344518

Greenes Fence 48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
0052144904423

Greenes Fence

48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed

  • Unfinished rough sawn cedar
  • Board Thickness 11/16 - 3/4 in.
  • Raised Garden Bed made of North American cedar
$4597 /each
store icon Loading Buying Options...
package icon Loading Buying Options...
Sorry, but we ran into issues loading these options. Please try refreshing.

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Creating a bountiful garden has never been easier than with the Greenes 4 ft. x 4 ft. Dovetail Cedar Raised Garden Kit. The dovetail joints make frame assembly a breeze: Simply slide the boards by hand into the corner joints for a solid and secure garden frame. Set the frame on any level outdoor space, add soil and plants or seeds, and begin growing the garden you've always dreamed of.

  • Greenes cedar raised garden kits provide the 7 in. of depth required to grow thriving vegetables, for plants that need additional depth, increase your garden height to 14 or 21 in. by stacking two or more of these 4 x 4 kits, or see the other Greenes Fence dovetail cedar raised garden beds configurations on this site
  • No tools are required to assemble the frame, a Phillips screwdriver is required to attach the decorative top
  • Assembly is simple: Slide the first and second post over each end of the first board, and then slide the second board on top of the first one to build one 7-inch-tall side, connect the rest of the frame in minutes
  • Each corner post is routed on all 4 sides, for easy assembly and kit expansion, and each board slides easily into the grooves for a snug fit
  • Resulting frame is solid and strong enough to easily support the garden when filled with soil
  • Open-bottom garden frame may be placed on virtually any level surface, although a bottom isn't always needed, to create one where desired, simply line the garden bed with landscape fabric or a weed barrier of your choice (sold separately)
  • Kit is made from naturally insect- and rot-resistant cedar, the wood is untreated, and chemicals are not used in the manufacturing process
  • Garden kit will weather nicely over time, to keep the wood looking new, apply a stain or sealer of your choice (sold separately)
  • Get added depth by stacking multiple 4 x 4 greenes dovetail kits, assemble the first kit, leaving off the decorative tops, without the tops, you will have a quarter-inch gap between the top board and the top of the post, slide a board from the second kit to fill this space and then build the rest of the kit as you did the first, with the corner posts from the second kit sitting on top of those from the first, the kits will be stacked and solidly attached, after connecting your final kit, add the decorative tops to the top kit
  • 10 cu. ft. of soil needed to fill raised beds
  • Each 4 x 4 greenes dovetail kit holds approximately 8 to 10 cu. ft. of soil
  • Package contents: 8 boards, 4 corner posts, 4 decorative tops, 4 decorative screws, assembly instructions

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Container Height (in.)
7
Container Length (in.)
48
Container Width (in.)
48

Details

Color Family
Wood
Color/Finish
Cedar
Material
Wood
Number of Tiers
1
Product Weight (lb.)
30lb
Raised Bed Features
Expandable
Returnable
30-Day
Shape
Square

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

is 7 inches of soil deep enough to plant tomato plants?

Asked by: ziggy
Does this include a liner
Answered by: Dan
Date published: 2017-04-10

How long raised garden bed will last?

How long raised garden bed will last?
Asked by: Candee
We have had these for two years and applied a coating of linseed oil to extend the life. We have had no issues of warping. Recommend the linseed oil application though for longer use.
Answered by: OrganicGardening
Date published: 2017-08-06

Can I place on concrete floor?

Don't have grass/dirt to put it on.... I only have concrete I backyard
Asked by: angelm626
Can I put this on my deck sbrasfield
Answered by: Sb
Date published: 2017-06-19

How tall are these?

In the description it says 48'' wide by 48'' long but nothing on how tall they are.
Asked by: Caviler98
The bed is 7 inches deep.
Answered by: Kitty
Date published: 2017-05-16
  • y_2017, m_8, d_14, h_5CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_21
  • loc_, sid_202520884, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 16ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 510.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from EASY BREEZY If you are looking for something attractive and easy to put together--this is great! You can assemble this quickly. 2 of these stacked together make the garden bed deep enough for just about any vegetable or flower you want to plant in it; 1 bed is deep enough for more shallow rooted plants or veggies. The price is VERY good. I will likely buy more of them when I need to expand my garden again.
Date published: 2012-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am extremely please with this kit! I purchased this raised bed kit for my sister who was on me to help her plant a vegetable garden for a few years now. The kit was easy to assemble with its dovetail cuts. We had it together within 10 minutes. After my brother-in-law tilled the ground for us, we loaded in the soil and planting within 20 minutes. She is estatic with her new garden. Thank you for having this product because it made planting a vegetable garden simple.
Date published: 2013-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was a gift for my father who is in his 80s and still enjoys gardening. Last year I purchased... This was a gift for my father who is in his 80s and still enjoys gardening. Last year I purchased the 8 x 4 raised bed for him but he needed a separate area for the vine plants. He loves this raised bed system! Easy to assemble and much kinder to his back!
Date published: 2017-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very easy to put together I was able to transport the product in/out of my vehicle, assemble it, and set it up in my backyard without any assistance. That may sound simple, and it was simple for me considering I am a grandmother. I would recommend this for a backyard garden, or even a flower garden on a patio.
Date published: 2012-04-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Low-cost alternative to other raised bed kits I bought 6 kits, and due to the modular nature of the kits was able to play around with the layout instead of just having 4 x 4 squares. Assembly was a snap, a couple of the cedar boards in the kit required minor fitting but that was easily fixed by a very quick cut with a circular saw. I managed to get 7 4 x 4 squares out of the 6 kits by joining a few together to make bigger beds, and there were enough materials left over to manage an 8th, though I didn't quite have room. Time will tell the durability of the product, but the materials used seem to be of good quality thus far.
Date published: 2013-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Nice! I purchased this raised bed for our small townhome backyard. It is really perfect, great construction and very easy to put together. It takes 8 cubic feet of dirt to fill it up and you are ready to go. Looks very nice all put together and installed. If I had more room I would install another one.
Date published: 2013-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the money... After researching this product online, we ended up purchasing it in store because I was too impatient to wait for it to ship. We decided to buy multiple kits after pricing out regular cedar and connectors (garden bed connectors and regular L brackets) The kits were close in price for the quantity we wanted and we didn't have to deal with cutting lumber down and fighting with L brackets etc. I was still able to design the bed(s) I wanted. The instructions attached to this product here in "more information" and the actual kit instructions differ. The online instructions requre screws to keep the boards in place, but the actual kit is a "no fastener" required kit. HOW AWESOME. I combined kits and put together a 12' by 12' U shaped bed (7 4' by 4' areas in a U shape) with a 4' by 12' segment stacked with additional kits and it took me (by myself) only an HOUR from layout to the bed being assembled (less the caps). Two additional 4' by 8' beds took less than half an hour. All I used was a rubber mallet to help slide the boards in the intersection pieces. Now the shade and smoothness of the panels will vary from kit to kit, some pieces are rough cut so if you're expecting perfectly sanded beautiful pieces of cedar, this kit isn't for you. The quality is quite nice though, in the 12 kits I worked with there were only a few boards that had any bowing and it wasn't more than 1/4". It was only noticable because it was on top of a non-warped board. The machining of the grooves the boards slide into have some shavings still stuck, but they didn't hinder assembly. There was some cracking in pieces (again I had 12 kits), but nothing structural and I could hide anything I didn't like by putting it as the bottom board or facing the "ugly" part to the dirt side. I've attached some pictures of my sets in use. I ended up adding additional panels across the lengths to help with stability (you can see just a single panel partly installed in the photos).
Date published: 2012-01-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not as advertised The quality of the product is pretty shoddy. The dove tails are not cut well and often have left over shavings still attached to the wood. They don't fit well together and you have to trim some of them to make them fit. The top caps are not pre drilled and even the slightest amount of pressure caused them to crack in two. I even tried using a screw driver instead of a drill and they still cracked. But, it's cheap and it holds in dirt. So, I guess you get what you pay for. Doesn't look great but gets the job done.
Date published: 2016-05-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good product for the price I took a chance and ordered two of these raised beds from Home Depot online. I'm glad I did. This is a nice product. The product is a good width, (4'X4'), but a little low for a raised bed (7 "). However two can be stacked to produce a deeper bed if needed. (I purchased the 2nd bed to use elsewhere, so didn’t stack.) The components look to be decent white cedar, and went together quickly and easily. (Quickest with two people, but can certainly be done by one) At $35.00 each, you can't beat the price for what you are getting. Unlike other raised beds at this price point, it is not just slotted together, but screwed in. It comes with post tops which give it a nice finished look, and it feels quite sturdy. I've placed one end to end with a high end 10'x3'x12" copper capped cedar raised bed for which I paid a good deal more, and while the sides are lower the new bed does not look at all out of place. (I'm going to add copper caps to this one, but it's not necessary) The product was shipped quickly and delivered promptly. I am nothing but pleased with this raised bed, and with Home Depot.
Date published: 2011-05-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Check the product before you purchase I bought 2 raised beds. One was fine...easy to assemble. The only problem with the first was one of the boards was warped. I put something heavy on it for 2 days and that worked. The second raised bed was horrible.....discolored, warped and the wood was eaten up in many places. I brought it back and got another one. That one had 2 warped boards but I straightened it out with a heavy object again. Just make sure you check it out before you buy it.
Date published: 2012-04-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointed I found the newest one I purchased was priced $10 higher than the previous ones last year. (Understandable, I guess) However, this particular package contained 2 slightly WARPED boards and the boards were much rougher hewn. I DID like that they grooved slots at the posts for aligning the boards. Overall... I LOVE raised beds and will STILL purchase with the hope that I just got a DUD this time.
Date published: 2015-03-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not very durable I bought a number of these in spring 2015. They were easy to assemble and looked very nice. Unfortunately when nailing the tops on, most of them split. Annoying but not a big deal. It is now April 2016 and two of them have collapsed walls. The wood simply split into pieces. I live in upstate NY and had a mild winter with no snow. I can't imagine what they'd look like if we had a normal winter. I would recommend spending the extra money for better quality beds.
Date published: 2016-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love, love, love this product! I wanted to do this type of veggi. beds for years, this year I did it ,Taken 2 kits and stacked them, put a seat on them so I can set down and take care of the veggis.. I have the boxes compleated and plan on doing 4 more for next year, for a total of 6 4x4's. This is great for anyone that has trouble with balance or getting down to ground.
Date published: 2012-06-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great value for the price These are not the fanciest garden beds, but they are perfectly utilitarian and serve their needed purpose. I have a pair of beds now going on their third year in place and from their condition I expect to get at least a few more years out of them. And that's sitting outdoors through New England winters. I have been happy enough with the first two that I recently purchased one more. The milling on the pieces isn't perfect, but cedar is soft enough that you can make parts fit together with a mallet if need be. The big advantage to these beds, imo, is that they are a perfect option when you know you want garden beds but aren't exactly sure what you want your final layout to be--try out locations with these inexpensive options first, then ultimately replace them with something sturdier and/or fancier once you know for sure where the best locations are.
Date published: 2016-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for gardening on rock Unlike another reviewer, I found that you can stack them to make a garden over rock. I grow carrots, potatoes and any else I want to grow.
Date published: 2012-04-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from simple...functional Our raised bed went together simply. Each kit comes with 20 screws that attach the side boards to the corner posts (2 each) & the post caps to the corner posts (1 each). I put it together myself, although having a second pair of hands would have been helpful. The completed raised bed is freestanding, i.e., it is not designed to be anchored to the ground in any way. The corner posts are furnished with grooves for the sideboards on all 4 sides, which is a plus if you plan on expanding with additional kits, but it makes for a weaker piece & natural cracks meant that the posts will not take any twisting without breaking...be careful! The single screw attaching the post covers permit the caps to rotate...a second screw is needed to anchor them in place. All in all a simple & functional product.
Date published: 2011-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from HIGHLY RECOMMEND! Simply the best! I purchased three of these, stacked two and left the other as a single, super easy to assemble, looks adorable in the yard and the plants are thriving. I am a 5' tall 65 yo woman and found this easy even with bad shoulders. Highly recommend. Tip, place newspapers on the bottom, wet down then add your soil, it biodegrades and NO DIGGING.
Date published: 2012-05-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to Install Ordered two of these for in store pickup. Very easy to put together. Wood tends to be rough so if you are looking for a smooth finish, this is probably not for you. However, it was fine for my needs. Hardest part of install was getting it level but that had nothing to do with the product. I actually returned to the store in a week to purchase another! Great product for the person that doesn't have tools/materials/skills to buy lumber and build their own!
Date published: 2013-04-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Appropriately priced, good quality for the money They are what they are - the boards could be thicker, they're a little on the flimsy side and very rough, but I got what I expected for the price, I think it's quite fair and will do what I need them to do. Spending $250 and up on raised beds isn't in my budget, but these were so good, I just ordered two more. I wondered if they were actually made of pine, I don't know if they're treated with something because they sure don't smell like cedar that I know, but if they don't rot within three years, I will have gotten my money's worth. Good value for money, and very fast for standard free shipping..
Date published: 2011-05-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to put together and lasts a long time thru all kinds of weather This is easy to put together and because I already have one, I know it is resistant to bugs and weather. The one I already have is about 3 or 4 years old and has weathered nicely. I just add fresh soil and new plants each spring and it is easy to weed and water.
Date published: 2012-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for poor soil. Great for doing a raised bed in area with poor soil. Interchangeable so you can buy more of them and customize your area.
Date published: 2011-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't beat the price - great little raised bed for herb garden Untreated wood, which is what you want for any herbs or veggies; very simple and easy to assemble; and it looks so cute! Got exactly what I expected and it's pretty good for $35 delivered to your door. We constructed it to sit right outside our kitchen door, and I'm looking forward to fresh herbs until the next snow!
Date published: 2011-05-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Nothing Like Description/Photo The description and picture are nothing like the real thing--and not in a good way. The description states that it is "one tier" and the picture makes it look like each side of the bed is made of one solid plank. Really they are made of two 3.5 in boards that sit on top of each other. Maybe it was just his batch but the four kits we bought all had planks that were bowed and SUPER rough--kind of a big deal to me who would be leaning over these planks and posts to take care of my veggies. I returned them and am going to either make my own (for less if you have a router already) or spend more money and get some nicer ones. You really do get what you pay for.
Date published: 2012-02-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far so good for wheelchair accessability We stacked the raised beds to create an accessible gardening space for my daughter who uses a wheelchair. The only problem that we had was that one of the corner columns arrived broken. We called Home Depot and were told it would be fourteen days before the replacement piece would arrive. We wanted to get our seeds planted so we fixed it with screws. It seems to be working just fine.
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super product! Very easy to put together if you follow the directions. Great design, and so eco-friendly. As an organic gardener, the last thing I want to use for my veggies and fruits is plastic or treated wood. I've bought 3 so far this year, and plan to get several more next year.
Date published: 2011-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Starter Product for a Garden Bed! Wife wanted to plant some vegies, and we figured this would be a great place to start! It was so easy to put together, and put weed fabric under. We planted vegies in rows, and we have cute little labels we bought to tell us what each row is for. We've had a lot of success with the brussels sprouts, nothing yet with the others, but we can wait! The boards, a month later, do show some wear. I guess staining could have prevented this? Regardless, the garden bed is a really good product and we are looking forward to seeing things grow with it!
Date published: 2013-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value This kit was a great value and I had it together in minutes. My 24 month old son enjoys watering the plants.
Date published: 2012-06-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not bad, needs lots of sanding Easy to put together but wood was very rough and I had to sand it. Dull blades must have been used to make the dovetail joints by the manufacturer but I just scraped it out. Same goes for the wood planks, lots of sanding. Its up to you how you want it to look. I stained it with a polyurethane pecan stain. This was put together with 2 kits.
Date published: 2013-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great project for kids! My husband and 2 year old daughter put ours together and she had a blast! We had no trouble with bowing boards, maybe soome filled with heavier soil then we did? We rent so we are not planning on this box lasting twenty years, so light weight and simple assembly were perfect. Our daughter is so excited about growing veggies and proud that she built the garden "all by herself." And with the little finishing caps it looks so pretty!
Date published: 2014-02-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Roughing it with a raised bed For the money I expected better quality with this raised bed. The wood was very rough and had not been smoothed out at all. Lots of opportunities to get splinters. The place where the two boards join to form a corner is somewhat fragile and could potentially break during assembly. There are decorative endcaps but they are not predrilled. I split the wood on one before I realized that it would be better to nail a starter hole in the wood before attempting to place the screw. Once I finished assembly it looked ok and does what it is supposed to do. My next raised bed is going to be a fabric container that does not involve rough wood or assembly.
Date published: 2015-03-24
  • y_2017, m_8, d_14, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_510
  • loc_, sid_202520884, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 723ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT