Model # RC 4C4

Internet #202520884

Store SKU #344518

Greenes Fence 48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
0052144904423

Greenes Fence

48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed

  • Unfinished rough sawn cedar
  • Board Thickness 11/16 - 3/4 in.
  • Raised Garden Bed made of North American cedar
$4597 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Creating a bountiful garden has never been easier than with the Greenes 4 ft. x 4 ft. Dovetail Cedar Raised Garden Kit. The dovetail joints make frame assembly a breeze: Simply slide the boards by hand into the corner joints for a solid and secure garden frame. Set the frame on any level outdoor space, add soil and plants or seeds, and begin growing the garden you've always dreamed of.

  • Greenes cedar raised garden kits provide the 7 in. of depth required to grow thriving vegetables, for plants that need additional depth, increase your garden height to 14 or 21 in. by stacking two or more of these 4 x 4 kits, or see the other Greenes Fence dovetail cedar raised garden beds configurations on this site
  • No tools are required to assemble the frame, a Phillips screwdriver is required to attach the decorative top
  • Assembly is simple: Slide the first and second post over each end of the first board, and then slide the second board on top of the first one to build one 7-inch-tall side, connect the rest of the frame in minutes
  • Each corner post is routed on all 4 sides, for easy assembly and kit expansion, and each board slides easily into the grooves for a snug fit
  • Resulting frame is solid and strong enough to easily support the garden when filled with soil
  • Open-bottom garden frame may be placed on virtually any level surface, although a bottom isn't always needed, to create one where desired, simply line the garden bed with landscape fabric or a weed barrier of your choice (sold separately)
  • Kit is made from naturally insect- and rot-resistant cedar, the wood is untreated, and chemicals are not used in the manufacturing process
  • Garden kit will weather nicely over time, to keep the wood looking new, apply a stain or sealer of your choice (sold separately)
  • Get added depth by stacking multiple 4 x 4 greenes dovetail kits, assemble the first kit, leaving off the decorative tops, without the tops, you will have a quarter-inch gap between the top board and the top of the post, slide a board from the second kit to fill this space and then build the rest of the kit as you did the first, with the corner posts from the second kit sitting on top of those from the first, the kits will be stacked and solidly attached, after connecting your final kit, add the decorative tops to the top kit
  • 10 cu. ft. of soil needed to fill raised beds
  • Each 4 x 4 greenes dovetail kit holds approximately 8 to 10 cu. ft. of soil
  • Package contents: 8 boards, 4 corner posts, 4 decorative tops, 4 decorative screws, assembly instructions

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

is 7 inches of soil deep enough to plant tomato plants?

Asked by: ziggy
Does this include a liner
Answered by: Dan
Date published: 2017-04-10

Can I place on concrete floor?

Don't have grass/dirt to put it on.... I only have concrete I backyard
Asked by: angelm626
Can I put this on my deck sbrasfield
Answered by: Sb
Date published: 2017-06-19

How long raised garden bed will last?

How long raised garden bed will last?
Asked by: Candee
I've been using one for years. They do last a long time.
Answered by: Kitty
Date published: 2017-06-20

How tall are these?

In the description it says 48'' wide by 48'' long but nothing on how tall they are.
Asked by: Caviler98
The bed is 7 inches deep.
Answered by: Kitty
Date published: 2017-05-16
  • y_2017, m_6, d_23, h_4CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_21
  • loc_, sid_202520884, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 99ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 497.
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not very durable I bought a number of these in spring 2015. They were easy to assemble and looked very nice. Unfortunately when nailing the tops on, most of them split. Annoying but not a big deal. It is now April 2016 and two of them have collapsed walls. The wood simply split into pieces. I live in upstate NY and had a mild winter with no snow. I can't imagine what they'd look like if we had a normal winter. I would recommend spending the extra money for better quality beds.
Date published: 2016-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love, love, love this product! I wanted to do this type of veggi. beds for years, this year I did it ,Taken 2 kits and stacked them, put a seat on them so I can set down and take care of the veggis.. I have the boxes compleated and plan on doing 4 more for next year, for a total of 6 4x4's. This is great for anyone that has trouble with balance or getting down to ground.
Date published: 2012-06-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great value for the price These are not the fanciest garden beds, but they are perfectly utilitarian and serve their needed purpose. I have a pair of beds now going on their third year in place and from their condition I expect to get at least a few more years out of them. And that's sitting outdoors through New England winters. I have been happy enough with the first two that I recently purchased one more. The milling on the pieces isn't perfect, but cedar is soft enough that you can make parts fit together with a mallet if need be. The big advantage to these beds, imo, is that they are a perfect option when you know you want garden beds but aren't exactly sure what you want your final layout to be--try out locations with these inexpensive options first, then ultimately replace them with something sturdier and/or fancier once you know for sure where the best locations are.
Date published: 2016-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for gardening on rock Unlike another reviewer, I found that you can stack them to make a garden over rock. I grow carrots, potatoes and any else I want to grow.
Date published: 2012-04-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from simple...functional Our raised bed went together simply. Each kit comes with 20 screws that attach the side boards to the corner posts (2 each) & the post caps to the corner posts (1 each). I put it together myself, although having a second pair of hands would have been helpful. The completed raised bed is freestanding, i.e., it is not designed to be anchored to the ground in any way. The corner posts are furnished with grooves for the sideboards on all 4 sides, which is a plus if you plan on expanding with additional kits, but it makes for a weaker piece & natural cracks meant that the posts will not take any twisting without breaking...be careful! The single screw attaching the post covers permit the caps to rotate...a second screw is needed to anchor them in place. All in all a simple & functional product.
Date published: 2011-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from HIGHLY RECOMMEND! Simply the best! I purchased three of these, stacked two and left the other as a single, super easy to assemble, looks adorable in the yard and the plants are thriving. I am a 5' tall 65 yo woman and found this easy even with bad shoulders. Highly recommend. Tip, place newspapers on the bottom, wet down then add your soil, it biodegrades and NO DIGGING.
Date published: 2012-05-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to Install Ordered two of these for in store pickup. Very easy to put together. Wood tends to be rough so if you are looking for a smooth finish, this is probably not for you. However, it was fine for my needs. Hardest part of install was getting it level but that had nothing to do with the product. I actually returned to the store in a week to purchase another! Great product for the person that doesn't have tools/materials/skills to buy lumber and build their own!
Date published: 2013-04-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Appropriately priced, good quality for the money They are what they are - the boards could be thicker, they're a little on the flimsy side and very rough, but I got what I expected for the price, I think it's quite fair and will do what I need them to do. Spending $250 and up on raised beds isn't in my budget, but these were so good, I just ordered two more. I wondered if they were actually made of pine, I don't know if they're treated with something because they sure don't smell like cedar that I know, but if they don't rot within three years, I will have gotten my money's worth. Good value for money, and very fast for standard free shipping..
Date published: 2011-05-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to put together and lasts a long time thru all kinds of weather This is easy to put together and because I already have one, I know it is resistant to bugs and weather. The one I already have is about 3 or 4 years old and has weathered nicely. I just add fresh soil and new plants each spring and it is easy to weed and water.
Date published: 2012-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for poor soil. Great for doing a raised bed in area with poor soil. Interchangeable so you can buy more of them and customize your area.
Date published: 2011-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't beat the price - great little raised bed for herb garden Untreated wood, which is what you want for any herbs or veggies; very simple and easy to assemble; and it looks so cute! Got exactly what I expected and it's pretty good for $35 delivered to your door. We constructed it to sit right outside our kitchen door, and I'm looking forward to fresh herbs until the next snow!
Date published: 2011-05-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Nothing Like Description/Photo The description and picture are nothing like the real thing--and not in a good way. The description states that it is "one tier" and the picture makes it look like each side of the bed is made of one solid plank. Really they are made of two 3.5 in boards that sit on top of each other. Maybe it was just his batch but the four kits we bought all had planks that were bowed and SUPER rough--kind of a big deal to me who would be leaning over these planks and posts to take care of my veggies. I returned them and am going to either make my own (for less if you have a router already) or spend more money and get some nicer ones. You really do get what you pay for.
Date published: 2012-02-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far so good for wheelchair accessability We stacked the raised beds to create an accessible gardening space for my daughter who uses a wheelchair. The only problem that we had was that one of the corner columns arrived broken. We called Home Depot and were told it would be fourteen days before the replacement piece would arrive. We wanted to get our seeds planted so we fixed it with screws. It seems to be working just fine.
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super product! Very easy to put together if you follow the directions. Great design, and so eco-friendly. As an organic gardener, the last thing I want to use for my veggies and fruits is plastic or treated wood. I've bought 3 so far this year, and plan to get several more next year.
Date published: 2011-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gift for son This was a gift for my son. He already had two of the beds and liked them so much so I got him two more.
Date published: 2016-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Starter Product for a Garden Bed! Wife wanted to plant some vegies, and we figured this would be a great place to start! It was so easy to put together, and put weed fabric under. We planted vegies in rows, and we have cute little labels we bought to tell us what each row is for. We've had a lot of success with the brussels sprouts, nothing yet with the others, but we can wait! The boards, a month later, do show some wear. I guess staining could have prevented this? Regardless, the garden bed is a really good product and we are looking forward to seeing things grow with it!
Date published: 2013-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value This kit was a great value and I had it together in minutes. My 24 month old son enjoys watering the plants.
Date published: 2012-06-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not bad, needs lots of sanding Easy to put together but wood was very rough and I had to sand it. Dull blades must have been used to make the dovetail joints by the manufacturer but I just scraped it out. Same goes for the wood planks, lots of sanding. Its up to you how you want it to look. I stained it with a polyurethane pecan stain. This was put together with 2 kits.
Date published: 2013-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great project for kids! My husband and 2 year old daughter put ours together and she had a blast! We had no trouble with bowing boards, maybe soome filled with heavier soil then we did? We rent so we are not planning on this box lasting twenty years, so light weight and simple assembly were perfect. Our daughter is so excited about growing veggies and proud that she built the garden "all by herself." And with the little finishing caps it looks so pretty!
Date published: 2014-02-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Roughing it with a raised bed For the money I expected better quality with this raised bed. The wood was very rough and had not been smoothed out at all. Lots of opportunities to get splinters. The place where the two boards join to form a corner is somewhat fragile and could potentially break during assembly. There are decorative endcaps but they are not predrilled. I split the wood on one before I realized that it would be better to nail a starter hole in the wood before attempting to place the screw. Once I finished assembly it looked ok and does what it is supposed to do. My next raised bed is going to be a fabric container that does not involve rough wood or assembly.
Date published: 2015-03-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Won't last in the open. Fell apart after a year of weather in Colorado. If I was forced to buy another, I'd likely be inclined to reinforce it and give it about five coats of poly. Just too flimsy to last for a decent period of time.
Date published: 2013-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Compliments a small yard This raised garden bed is very easy to put together. I stained mine and it looks so pretty in my small back yard.
Date published: 2013-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice for the money I recently purchased this raised bed and think it is great (especially for small spaces). It would make a great beginners garden project for someone just starting to learn how to grow vegetables.
Date published: 2012-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The rasied bed was perfect.. The raised garden bed we ordered was on my doorstep the next day and it was perfect for our garden. I would recommend it for any gardener . My plants love it....
Date published: 2011-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love My New Cedar Garden Beds Just transformed my whole backyard area from an unused section, (that I only visited when I went in to mow) to a garden filled with vegetables, fruits and berries. I used various sizes of the cedar kits from The Home Depot. Priced many other options and styles, and thought these were decent beds for the price. I had most of them shipped to my house, and they arrived quicker than expected. Assembly was super easy, and although like others have said, they didn't come with instructions, I really didn't need them. Only tool I used was a rubber mallet and a screwdriver. Yes, the wood could be a touch warped here and there, and isn't thick, heavy wood, but it is fine. I added peat, perlite and vermiculite to my soil mix to lighten it up, so am not worried about the soil pushing out the boards. I didn't want to spend long weeks doing all the carpentry to build garden beds, so for me, this was a perfect option. I am hoping to get 10 years or so of use from these, even with our rough Ohio winters. The photos I've added show not only the 4'x4' bed, but some of the other styles offered as well. One more side note, only one piece in all my kits was missing, a side corner. I called the manufacturer, and they had it out to me right away. They were incredibly nice on the phone and really helpful. I would definitely buy more of these as needed as I am truly satisfied with my purchase.
Date published: 2014-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great value, a real find! This item was a great deal! I built cinder block beds (hard work) and bought one from a builder (expensive) and wanted a small one too. This was so reasonable for what it is! Cedar, which is the best to use. Easy to assemble. Attractive. And under $40! What isn't to love? I will be back for more! Most raised beds are so much more expensive, much, much more! I hope they don't find out and raise the price!
Date published: 2012-04-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Garden With two kits I was able to build a perimeter around a 64 square foot garden. Some of the boards were slightly warped but overall worked well.
Date published: 2012-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect size This product is the perfect size for a small yard or for someone who only wants a small garden. I put cardboard underneath to keep the weeds out and filled them with garden soil. All plants can be easily reached from all sides. I plan to buy a couple more next year.
Date published: 2012-06-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Last years model is different from this years I purchased 2 of these last year. That model required a philips screw to hold the sideboards in. They did great for me as a beginning gardener. I liked them so much that I bought 1 more this year in order to take advantage of combining feature. This years model does not require a screw to hold in place and instead just slides in and locks. The Side boards are also shaped differently, so older model side panels will not fit into the corner pieces.
Date published: 2012-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth every penny! This product does not disappoint. I ordered 3 and was able to make 4 beds in a 16X4 configuration. Super easy to assemble with only a screwdriver. I'll be ordering at least 3 more next year.
Date published: 2012-06-12
  • y_2017, m_6, d_23, h_11
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_497
  • loc_, sid_202520884, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 281ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT