Free Shipping and BOPIS
Discontinued

Greenes Fence

Model # RC 4C8T2

Internet # 202520864

Store SKU # 342574

48 in. x 96 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed

This item has been discontinued.
The Home Depot no longer carries this specific product.

Was  $91.47
$73.00 /each

Save $18.47 (20%)

Loading...

PRODUCT OVERVIEW

Model # RC 4C8T2

Internet # 202520864

Store SKU # 342574

Greenes’ 4-foot-by-8-foot Dovetail Cedar Raised Garden Kit lets you create a gorgeous two-tier flower or vegetable garden with ease. The dovetail joint construction means you won’t need tools to assemble the garden frame: Simply slide the boards into place, and you’re done. There’s never been a simpler or faster way to turn any level outdoor space into the most fabulous garden in the neighborhood.

  • Assembles quickly and easily
  • Boards slide into place with no tools required
  • Creates the ideal growing environment for your favorite plants
  • Made in the USA from naturally rot- and insect-resistant cedar
  • Expands into multiple configurations with any Greenes cedar raised garden kit
  • Stacks with additional Greenes dovetail cedar raised garden kits
  • 25 Cubic Feet of soil needed to fill raised beds

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

SPECIFICATIONS

Dimensions
Container Height (in.) 
10.5 
Container Length (in.) 
96 
Container Width (in.) 
48 
Details
Color Family 
Wood 
Material 
Wood 
Number of Tiers 
Product Weight (lb.) 
55.85 lb 
Raised Bed Features 
Expandable,Multiple Tiers 
Returnable 
30-Day 
Shape 
Rectangle 

CUSTOMER REVIEWS

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 200 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Product, great quality These were easy to put together and look great. Amazing quality for the cost of these. November 6, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very good product. Bought 3 and then 2 more Very easy to put together, attractive and easy to work with March 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great product, easy to assemble , strong, sturdy,beautiful! I Love this kit. I'm 51 and disabled and I was able to put it together in about 15 min. The dove tail joints fit together easily, tight and strong. I went the next day and bought another one to add to it. The only thing I didn't realize was that 2-tier meant that one 4' section is 10" and the other is 7-1/2" high. but that was my misunderstanding. Actually, I ended up liking the 2-tier and it looks great with 2 kits together. I plan on buying more in the furure for the back yard. May 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Good looking, good price, easy to put together The summary pretty much says it all. It seems good quality cedar, the way it fits together made sense and was easy enough (even for someone like me who doesn't use drills or power tools often) and I thought it was a good price. Time will tell how well it lasts but I'm happy so far. May 28, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Easy and fast to put together in back yard. Couldn't believe haw fast it was to put together. I have planted the vegitables I wanted to and they are growing very well and the garden bed is holding up well and not falling apart. April 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great for square foot gardening Purchased this in early spring to grow some vegetables this year. Assembly was a snap and the cedar should hold up for many seasons. I filled it with "Mels mix" and grew some outstanding veggies this year. I can't wait to start planting the fall garden. July 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome product! Just received mine yesterday. I set it up in no time, while dinner was cooking on the stove. The pieces fit together almost like Lego blocks. There is no need to use a hammer. If they have some resistance sliding into place, just make sure your corners line up. the only time you need a screwdriver is to attach the corner tops. Set up could not be easier and faster. the fragrance of fresh cut cedar is lovely. Now, time will tell of its durability exposed to the elements in zone 6, but I bought this product trusting the quality of cedar wood and was left motivated to buy more sets to enlarge my growing area! BTW, a 50 yr old woman set it up alone and yelled "I am woman, hear me roar!" when it was ready in 15 minutes! April 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by EXCELLENT PRODUCT!!! I am very much a beginner gardener and not much of a handywoman. This garden is SUPER easy to put together. It took only about 15 min. to assemble. Some of the boards were a little warped, but they still do the job! Much easier for me than trying to build one from scratch. More than one may be purchased to link them together if you want a larger garden. FYI, I filled this garden to the top with dirt & it took 21 cubic feet. May 19, 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Easy to Assemble - Average Quality Ordered 2 of these online and a week later they were on my doorstep. This products is easy to put together. I assembled myself, took about 30 minutes per box. Overall, the quaility is average. The boards are on the thin side.. about 1/2 inch and some of them are a bit warped. Also, the wood itself is on the rough side, don't expect a nicely sanded smooth finish. To spite all that, they look good in the yard, but I don't expect them to last more than a few years. Considering the cost of other raised bed kits, this was a very good deal. It took 8 cu ft of soil to fill the shallower half and 12 for the deeper side. Also, I lined the bottom with heavy guage wire mesh and used a staple gun to attach -- keeps the critters from tunneling in and also helps stablize the shape of the bed (they were a bit flimsy and didn't stay square when moving them into place after assembly). Corner brackets on the inside of each corner would be a good retrofit. September 6, 2011
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by I wanted the 4'x8'x10.5" and got this instead. After leveling the ground I laid down some good weed barrier. Don't skip this part if you want to keep the good soil in the bed and not let it leach into the soil you didn't want to plant in! I built the sides and secured the corners then pulled the weed barrier inside and stapled it to the inside of the bed. This will keep your soil inside the bed and weeds outside. One problem I did find was that a few of the cedar boards were warped on the narrow side, not the wide side like you might expect, so when the sides were assembled there were gaps that let the soil fall through the wide 'cracks' in the sides. The top caps were also not pre-drilled like they said they'd be so a screwdriver alone will not be enough unless you want to split the wood. The good news! I emailed Greenes Fence and told them about the warped pieces and asked them about the drilled caps. I got an email the next day from FedEx telling me i have a package coming in a couple of days from Greenes. I also found an email from Greenes saying they were sending me a few boards to replace the warped ones. What great customer service! I asked in another email about the caps and also to thank them and they responded saying the caps are not pre-drilled, but the video, ads, and in print I saw somewhere all said they were and just a screwdriver was all you needed. Someone is wrong here and pictures don't lie. I'm happy they sent me replacements so fast so I'll drill the holes. I may not use the caps as they stick out and I don't want anyone catching a leg on the corner due to a narrow walkway on either side of the bed. I may just drill it as an offset just to lock the sides in swivel away, and remain flush on the outside corners, if I need to remove a board later. May 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by very good value, nice design I think this is a great product for anyone wanting to try out gardening. Labor saving over the traditional sod-busting method, Cost and time saving over a build-it-youself method (which I did price out). If it holds up over time. I can add aditional units and develop a lovely & productive garden spot. I would have liked to see a thicker lumber, but the cedar is nice that's why the 4 stars. one useful tip I picked up while investigating other designs, is to line the bottom with hardware cloth to prevent moles etc from tunneling up into the goodies. Happy growing! June 25, 2011
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice raised beds! These beds require no tools for the basic set up, but you'll need a drill and screwdriver bit to put the decorative caps on. You can move the empty frames around easily if you don't like your initial set up. I hope to be able to get several years use out of them. They are solid wood and look nice. I'm very pleased with my purchase. April 28, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best garden purchase I ever made... Best purchase I ever made for a garden. So easy to put together and with plastic under the garden bed, it blocks weeds... it makes growing vegetables so easy. Wish I had done this years ago. April 21, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent for the price! Very excited about this garden bed. It was really easy to put together, is very attractive, and looks like it will get the job done! The boards are pretty thin so I hope it stands the test of time, but overall this is a great kit. March 27, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Top Quality Product I just purchased my fourth one of these Cedar Garden Enclosures. They are easy to assemble and they are very attractive. And the company that makes them provides excellant customer service. June 30, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A little expensive for what you get, but very easy to install We were looking to put in a raised garden bed and I kept procrastinating on building my own. Mothers day rolled around, the tomatoes were still in little pots on the deck and the wife wanted them in the ground. Found this unit at Home Depot and decided to give it a try. It is a great little product which really works well, but in my opinion it is over priced. Eighteen ceder plants, six corner units and some caps should not cost almost ninety dollars, but I guess you are paying for the ease of install. Once I cleared the sod away and created a 4 x 8 level area, the actual installation of the bed only took about 10 minutes. Many bags of top soil, garden soil and organic compounds later and we were ready to plant. It is now a month later and the tomatoes, beans, cucumbers, basil and other items are doing great. Now that we have started with this system, I will probably add another 4 x 4 unit next year. June 9, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Kit was better than building it from lumber as long as the dimensions are OK with you. This garden bed was something I stumbled across as I was preparing to design my own raised bed. It happened to be that the dimensions were exactly what I wanted, so as long as the dimensions work for you, I would definitely recommend this over building one yourself. The wood is cedar. It's moderately thin cut planks, but they've been holding up well. The assembly was easy....much better than cutting my own lumber. The dimensions are pretty unchangeable, but there are other add-ons that you can buy to expand and rearrange. The look of it is somewhat unfinished. If you want this in your front yard, it would require painting or sanding/staining to look good. May 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great product This is a good product. It's durable, easy to assemble, and the price was excellent. June 16, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Easy to put together and very aesthetically pleasing. We put it in our front yard and it looks very nice. Easy assembly (I put 2 together in about 20 minutes). Great price, great product!! June 9, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Cedar Raised Garden beds The plans are thinner than I had thought they would be, but they seem sturdy enough. Assembly was very simple and, given the configuration I made, I was able to have one more bed than I had planned - two less deep instead of one deep. Ask me again in two years after it's had a chance to weather the elements. May 31, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good looking, Easy to assemble, Expandable These beds were super easy to assemble. The posts and boards are dovetailed to slide together and stay in place. I bought 3 of these kits plus two of the 4'x4' kits thinking I would make 5 beds total. But, after opening the kits, I discovered they connect to each other! So, I had enough extra pieces to make 4 large and 3 small beds. While I didn't stack them, you easily could to make the beds as high as you like. Note that the box says "no tools needed", which is true to put the posts and boards together. But, you will need a screwdriver (I recommend a screw bit on a drill) to attach the end caps. The caps are pre-drilled and come with weather resistant deck screws, they go on quickly and easily. If you are one of the few people in the world without a screwdriver, the beds will still be functional without the caps. April 25, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Easy and beautiful raised bed garden kit This raised bed garden kit is exactly what I was looking for! They are very pretty and so easy to put together. My 12 year old son and I did it in minutes without any tools. We bought two kits so we have an area of 4 ft x 16 ft for our vegetable garden. Both kids enjoy helping to water the garden and watch it grow. If all goes well this summer, already planning to purchase more to expand our garden next year! May 20, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Easy to Assemble Product is light and had good tolerances. Assembly was easy. Wish it could be more customized. June 2, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by nice and sturdy went together easily, is sturdy and should last for years June 1, 2015
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by An okay option for a small budget. These are really easy to put together-- the boards just slide into slots and you screw them together. They're priced affordable and shipped quickly. Many of the boards were warped most of the wood in the packages seemed damp-- so once assembled mine looks a little wonky. I was putting multiple kits together so I tried to put the boards that were warped on the bottom level and on the inside. If exchanging such a large item hadn't been such a pain I would have. Overall review-- its okay. Probably won't last more than a few years. June 25, 2011
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Easy to use, decent price These kits really are designed to be easily assembled. However, the grooves were so jaggedly cut that you might want to have a screwdriver on hand to carve out excess material, so that the boards can slide in to the posts. And these are certainly cheaper than ANY alternative I've seen (other than building it myself). The guidelines on the box about the amount of dirt to use were very accurate. We added on another 4 X 4 kit to this one. May 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Highly recommend! These garden boxes are easy to put together, look great, and provide the perfect function they were meant for. We used two kits all put together to give us 5 4x4foot raised beds, which provides room to grow a feast! October 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Raised Garden Bed Very pleased with product, instructions and value. Also worked with manufacturer for additonal accessories and that was pleasant. January 24, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by above ground planters box This is my second purchase of this product. I really enjoy the ease of the assembly, also just the overall quality of the product. Not to mention how good it looks in our yard. I would strongly recommend this product to anyone who is interested in purchasing a above ground garden box or boxes. May 19, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very practical product Easy to assemble, one has to be careful not to apply too much force while assembling it. It took about 20 minutes to put it together. Easy to expand in the future. May 19, 2015
  • 2015-09-01T11:09:48.205-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_200, tr_200
  • loc_en_US, sid_202520864, prod, sort_default
<<2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>