0052144920485

Greenes Fence

Model # RC 4C8T2

Internet # 202520864

Store SKU # 342574

48 in. x 96 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed

$91.47 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Greenes' 4 ft. x 8 ft. Dovetail Cedar Raised Garden Kit lets you create a gorgeous two-tier flower or vegetable garden with ease. The dovetail joint construction means you won't need tools to assemble the garden frame: Simply slide the boards into place, and you're done. There's never been a simpler or faster way to turn any level outdoor space into the most fabulous garden in the neighborhood.

  • Assembles quickly and easily
  • Boards slide into place with no tools required
  • Creates the ideal growing environment for your favorite plants
  • Made from naturally rot- and insect-resistant cedar
  • Expands into multiple configurations with any greenes cedar raised garden kit
  • Stacks with additional greenes dovetail cedar raised garden kits
  • 25 cu. ft. of soil needed to fill raised beds

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Container Height (in.) 
10.5 
Container Length (in.) 
96 
Container Width (in.) 
48 

Details

Color Family 
Wood 
Color/Finish 
Cedar 
Material 
Wood 
Number of Tiers 
Product Weight (lb.) 
55.85 lb 
Raised Bed Features 
Expandable,Multiple Tiers 
Returnable 
30-Day 
Shape 
Rectangle 

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

8 Questions7 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

48 in. x 96 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
48 in. x 96 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
 
1 answer

What is the depth of each tier?

This question is from 48 in. x 96 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 19, 2016
I see that 10.5" is listed as the depth, but what about the other tier?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer (1)

Asked by
Mason, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 20, 2016
Answer: 
The deeper bed is 10.5" deep, the shallower side is 7" deep.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
 
1 answer

What is the depth of the bed?

This question is from 48 in. x 96 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
April 30, 2016
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer (1)

May 1, 2016
Answer: 
The bed is 10.5 inches high, 48 inches wide and 96 inches long.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
 
1 answer

Should I put something down first before I put these on a concrete slab?

This question is from 48 in. x 96 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
Asked by
Mid-South
Read all my Q&A
April 20, 2016
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer (1)

Asked by
Atlanta, GA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
April 26, 2016
Answer: 
Hi techimnot,
Yes, you need to line the bed with a breathable fabric.
Landscape Fabric is porous and will allow the water to pass through while holding the soil in place.
Garden beds need to drain, and when they drain, soil will wash away. If you line the raised bed with rubber or plastic sheeting, drainage will suffer, and so will your plants.
There should be holes in the walls of the raised bed for Read More
Hi techimnot,
Yes, you need to line the bed with a breathable fabric.
Landscape Fabric is porous and will allow the water to pass through while holding the soil in place.
Garden beds need to drain, and when they drain, soil will wash away. If you line the raised bed with rubber or plastic sheeting, drainage will suffer, and so will your plants.
There should be holes in the walls of the raised bed for drainage to ensure a healthy garden.
Thank you for asking,
-Travis Read Less
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
 
1 answer

How much soil do i need to use?

This question is from 48 in. x 96 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
April 1, 2016
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer (1)

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
April 9, 2016
Answer: 
25 cu. Feet according to the descriptions
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
2 »
  • 2016-07-25 T21:28:34.037-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_202520864, prod, sort_default
2 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 88ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 216 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Easy, convenient I bought2 4x4 kits, linked nicely to this 4x8. A little pricey but all connections fit well, easy convenient. May 6, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Absolutely love this product! My 9-year old son and I put these together by ourselves! Easy to build and add onto! May 8, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Xmas Gift!! I used a rubber mallet for the assembly. The parts went together easily and quickly. Yay! April 17, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great purchase and price It was very easy to put together so much so I bought another one April 13, 2016
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Kit was better than building it from lumber as long as the dimensions are OK with you. This garden bed was something I stumbled across as I was preparing to design my own raised bed. It happened to be that the dimensions were exactly what I wanted, so as long as the dimensions work for you, I would definitely recommend this over building one yourself. The wood is cedar. It's moderately thin cut planks, but they've been holding up well. The assembly was easy....much better than cutting my own lumber. The dimensions are pretty unchangeable, but there are other add-ons that you can buy to expand and rearrange. The look of it is somewhat unfinished. If you want this in your front yard, it would require painting or sanding/staining to look good. May 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Now a sterling quiet family addition. Very easy...and FUN...to assemble. Locked into place like lego. Perfect size and very well made. Makes going for veggies a nice trip! April 28, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great product low price great product, low price - costs about as much to build your own and less hassle too! March 31, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome! Very easy to assemble. It is attractive(as you can see) and being of cedar, it discourages insects and lasts longer. I thought I needed two gardens, but realized one was enough. HomeDepot had it returned from my front door, and refunded my charges 4 days later. March 24, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Functional product The product arrived quickly and in good condition. Assembly was fairly easy. Some of the pieces had to be hammered in because the cuts on the assembly joints are very rough. A couple of the boards split in the process but I was able to position them to decrease stress on the overall unit. The wood is very thin and flimsy and the quality was less than I expected. However I do believe the units are serviceable. I would have preferred all one height ie., all 10.5 inches versus the lower 7.5 inches. Once filled with soil and compost they seem to work as required. I am a retired beginning urban gardener so this is my first experience with raised beds. My goal was to have a serviceable garden that would also add beauty to the area. I used weed barrier under the beds, outlined with cinder blocks filled with soil for growing herbs and companion flowers and filled the flooring with mulch. The picture is the end result. January 30, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Sweet Planting Bed This is the two tier 4’ x 8’ kit. The assembled bed is attractive. It comes as a single box containing 4-foot planks. The wood is rough cut and the tongue and groove appear to have been milled with a 300 HP cheese grater, but all the tongues had enough definition to perform their intended function namely to interlock with the six posts. Assembly of the slats into the support post slots was quick and easy. The price was very affordable and probably cheaper than buying lumber having it delivered and then having me butcher a hand made frame. The package arrived intact and in the amount of time one would expect for complimentary shipping. I will buy several more of these planting beds. For planning purposes, ten bags of planting soil filled the two tiers. May 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome for the price! If you've looked at raised garden beds, you know they are ridiculously priced. It's just wood, right? The materials probably cost $20 so why do they usually cost 200-300 dollars for a kit? It's like those cat trees. They're made of wood and carpet scraps and they cost $300. What is THAT about?! This kit is as advertised and costs $79. Does the job and a breeze to put together. It's great. Don't forget to pick up some weed block fabric to put underneath it and the price of dirt and drip sprinklers if you're feeling adventurous. I love it. June 11, 2011
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by terrible product Problem with this product is that some of the cedar pieces are warped and assembling them into a garden bed is very frustrating. You will need to buy 2 sets, pick the best non-warped pieces from each set to make one good set and then return the set that has all the reject pieces in it. Don't forget to open the box carefully so you can return it in the original box. I had to do this rather than un-assemble the set I originally purchase and buy a new one that will result in the same drama. That being said, it looks pretty good when assembled with the good pieces. November 25, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Raised Garden This raised garden was quick and easy to assemble. I like that the back portion is higher than the front, it keeps my plants in front from blocking light for the tomatoes. The quality is average for the price, but what I expected. I'm very happy with it. July 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great product, easy to assemble , strong, sturdy,beautiful! I Love this kit. I'm 51 and disabled and I was able to put it together in about 15 min. The dove tail joints fit together easily, tight and strong. I went the next day and bought another one to add to it. The only thing I didn't realize was that 2-tier meant that one 4' section is 10" and the other is 7-1/2" high. but that was my misunderstanding. Actually, I ended up liking the 2-tier and it looks great with 2 kits together. I plan on buying more in the furure for the back yard. May 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Easy to use, decent price These kits really are designed to be easily assembled. However, the grooves were so jaggedly cut that you might want to have a screwdriver on hand to carve out excess material, so that the boards can slide in to the posts. And these are certainly cheaper than ANY alternative I've seen (other than building it myself). The guidelines on the box about the amount of dirt to use were very accurate. We added on another 4 X 4 kit to this one. May 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Raised Beds Some tight joints but otherwise really, very nice raised beds. Easy to assemble. I will definitely be buying more next year. :) June 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Gardening Solution - Easy To Set Up I was looking into building my own raised cedar boxes this spring and came across this kit. For only a little more than the cost of materials to build my own, I saved all kinds of time setting this up and got my veggies planted all in one afternoon. I bought a couple kits and connected them to make a corner bed. **Installation tip, it's very handy to have a rubber mallet to help the slats into position as some are cut thicker than others. April 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clever dovetail design The cedar dovetailed posts are a clever design idea. They are well engineered. In reality though, your box needs to be on perfectly level ground or some of the boards will be difficult to slide in due to things getting out of square. Some of the cedar posts split easily. I love the design and versatility of these units. The value/sq ft is exceptional. I priced many boxes and got 12-4'x4' boxes for the price of 4-8 anywhere else. I think these would be much improved if the posts were actually plastic or composite. I turned the boxes over once assembled and used the post cap as a foot. This gave the boards a stop so they could not slide out of the bottom and kept things more even. If you have perfectly level site this may not be necessary but I think it could enhance the overall design stability so that when you lift these to move them for any reason, the boards don't drop out of the bottom. January 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding Product! Versatile garden that's easy to assemble and move anywhere. December 22, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very good product. Bought 3 and then 2 more Very easy to put together, attractive and easy to work with March 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Easy and fast to put together in back yard. Couldn't believe haw fast it was to put together. I have planted the vegitables I wanted to and they are growing very well and the garden bed is holding up well and not falling apart. April 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by I wanted the 4'x8'x10.5" and got this instead. After leveling the ground I laid down some good weed barrier. Don't skip this part if you want to keep the good soil in the bed and not let it leach into the soil you didn't want to plant in! I built the sides and secured the corners then pulled the weed barrier inside and stapled it to the inside of the bed. This will keep your soil inside the bed and weeds outside. One problem I did find was that a few of the cedar boards were warped on the narrow side, not the wide side like you might expect, so when the sides were assembled there were gaps that let the soil fall through the wide 'cracks' in the sides. The top caps were also not pre-drilled like they said they'd be so a screwdriver alone will not be enough unless you want to split the wood. The good news! I emailed Greenes Fence and told them about the warped pieces and asked them about the drilled caps. I got an email the next day from FedEx telling me i have a package coming in a couple of days from Greenes. I also found an email from Greenes saying they were sending me a few boards to replace the warped ones. What great customer service! I asked in another email about the caps and also to thank them and they responded saying the caps are not pre-drilled, but the video, ads, and in print I saw somewhere all said they were and just a screwdriver was all you needed. Someone is wrong here and pictures don't lie. I'm happy they sent me replacements so fast so I'll drill the holes. I may not use the caps as they stick out and I don't want anyone catching a leg on the corner due to a narrow walkway on either side of the bed. I may just drill it as an offset just to lock the sides in swivel away, and remain flush on the outside corners, if I need to remove a board later. May 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Highly recommend! These garden boxes are easy to put together, look great, and provide the perfect function they were meant for. We used two kits all put together to give us 5 4x4foot raised beds, which provides room to grow a feast! October 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Attractive and very easy to assemble My sister and I put together 2 of these with just an electric drill and a hammer. They were very easy to assemble. The only issue was that the edges were quite rough--someone who wanted a perfect product would have to do a lot of sanding. October 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great for square foot gardening Purchased this in early spring to grow some vegetables this year. Assembly was a snap and the cedar should hold up for many seasons. I filled it with "Mels mix" and grew some outstanding veggies this year. I can't wait to start planting the fall garden. July 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good product easy to asemble The raised garden beds are what they are routed posts with side boards that fit into them. I like the versatility of being able to use different set ups with multiple sets. Probably would have been cheaper to build my own, but I have limited carpentry skills and this filled the need. May 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Product, great quality These were easy to put together and look great. Amazing quality for the cost of these. November 6, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Product Product was easy to assemble and is rather sturdy. I am looking forward to purchasing extension kits. May 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great product Went together super easy. The only change we made was to put small pavers under the six posts to make sure it doesn't sink into the ground and preserve it somewhat. June 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good looking, good price, easy to put together The summary pretty much says it all. It seems good quality cedar, the way it fits together made sense and was easy enough (even for someone like me who doesn't use drills or power tools often) and I thought it was a good price. Time will tell how well it lasts but I'm happy so far. May 28, 2011
  • 2016-07-27 T01:31:33.280-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_216, tr_216
  • loc_en_US, sid_202520864, prod, sort_default
<<2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 82ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT