Model # RC 4C8T2

Internet #202520864

Store SKU #342574

Greenes Fence 48 in. x 96 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
0052144920485

Greenes Fence

48 in. x 96 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed

  • Unfinished rough sawn cedar
  • Board Thickness 11/16 - 3/4 in.
  • Raised Garden Bed made of North American cedar
$93.77 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Greenes' 4 ft. x 8 ft. Dovetail Cedar Raised Garden Kit lets you create a gorgeous two-tier flower or vegetable garden with ease. The dovetail joint construction means you won't need tools to assemble the garden frame: Simply slide the boards into place, and you're done. There's never been a simpler or faster way to turn any level outdoor space into the most fabulous garden in the neighborhood.

  • Assembles quickly and easily
  • Boards slide into place with no tools required
  • Creates the ideal growing environment for your favorite plants
  • Made from naturally rot- and insect-resistant cedar
  • Expands into multiple configurations with any greenes cedar raised garden kit
  • Stacks with additional greenes dovetail cedar raised garden kits
  • 25 cu. ft. of soil needed to fill raised beds

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

8 Questions9 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

48 in. x 96 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
48 in. x 96 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
 
2 answers

Should I put something down first before I put these on a concrete slab?

This question is from 48 in. x 96 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
Asked by
Mid-South
Read all my Q&A
April 20, 2016
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (2)

Asked by
Berkshires, mass
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 13, 2016
Answer: 
As long as edges flush with concrete surface should be okay
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Atlanta, GA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
April 26, 2016
Answer: 
Hi techimnot,
Yes, you need to line the bed with a breathable fabric.
Landscape Fabric is porous and will allow the water to pass through while holding the soil in place.
Garden beds need to drain, and when they drain, soil will wash away. If you line the raised bed with rubber or plastic sheeting, drainage will suffer, and so will your plants.
There should be holes in the walls of the raised bed for Read More
Hi techimnot,
Yes, you need to line the bed with a breathable fabric.
Landscape Fabric is porous and will allow the water to pass through while holding the soil in place.
Garden beds need to drain, and when they drain, soil will wash away. If you line the raised bed with rubber or plastic sheeting, drainage will suffer, and so will your plants.
There should be holes in the walls of the raised bed for drainage to ensure a healthy garden.
Thank you for asking,
-Travis Read Less
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
 
2 answers

Are there chemical free?

This question is from 48 in. x 96 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
March 28, 2016
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (2)

Asked by
Berkshire,mass
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 13, 2016
Answer: 
Seems to be au natural. No signs of chemical treatment
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Ohio
Read all my Q&A
April 2, 2016
Answer: 
Yes, they are not treated with any chemicals as far as I know
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
 
1 answer

What is the depth of each tier?

This question is from 48 in. x 96 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 19, 2016
I see that 10.5" is listed as the depth, but what about the other tier?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer (1)

Asked by
Mason, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 20, 2016
Answer: 
The deeper bed is 10.5" deep, the shallower side is 7" deep.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
 
1 answer

What is the depth of the bed?

This question is from 48 in. x 96 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
April 30, 2016
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer (1)

May 1, 2016
Answer: 
The bed is 10.5 inches high, 48 inches wide and 96 inches long.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
2 »
  • 2016-10-31 T00:34:36.159-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_202520864, prod, sort_default
2 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 39ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

48 in. x 96 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 220.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EXCELLENT PRODUCT!!! I am very much a beginner gardener and not much of a handywoman. This garden is SUPER easy to put together. It took only about 15 min. to assemble. Some of the boards were a little warped, but they still do the job! Much easier for me than trying to build one from scratch. More than one may be purchased to link them together if you want a larger garden. FYI, I filled this garden to the top with dirt & it took 21 cubic feet.
Date published: 2012-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome for the price! If you've looked at raised garden beds, you know they are ridiculously priced. It's just wood, right? The materials probably cost $20 so why do they usually cost 200-300 dollars for a kit? It's like those cat trees. They're made of wood and carpet scraps and they cost $300. What is THAT about?! This kit is as advertised and costs $79. Does the job and a breeze to put together. It's great. Don't forget to pick up some weed block fabric to put underneath it and the price of dirt and drip sprinklers if you're feeling adventurous. I love it.
Date published: 2011-06-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Easy to Assemble - Average Quality Ordered 2 of these online and a week later they were on my doorstep. This products is easy to put together. I assembled myself, took about 30 minutes per box. Overall, the quaility is average. The boards are on the thin side.. about 1/2 inch and some of them are a bit warped. Also, the wood itself is on the rough side, don't expect a nicely sanded smooth finish. To spite all that, they look good in the yard, but I don't expect them to last more than a few years. Considering the cost of other raised bed kits, this was a very good deal. It took 8 cu ft of soil to fill the shallower half and 12 for the deeper side. Also, I lined the bottom with heavy guage wire mesh and used a staple gun to attach -- keeps the critters from tunneling in and also helps stablize the shape of the bed (they were a bit flimsy and didn't stay square when moving them into place after assembly). Corner brackets on the inside of each corner would be a good retrofit.
Date published: 2011-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sweet Planting Bed This is the two tier 4’ x 8’ kit. The assembled bed is attractive. It comes as a single box containing 4-foot planks. The wood is rough cut and the tongue and groove appear to have been milled with a 300 HP cheese grater, but all the tongues had enough definition to perform their intended function namely to interlock with the six posts. Assembly of the slats into the support post slots was quick and easy. The price was very affordable and probably cheaper than buying lumber having it delivered and then having me butcher a hand made frame. The package arrived intact and in the amount of time one would expect for complimentary shipping. I will buy several more of these planting beds. For planning purposes, ten bags of planting soil filled the two tiers.
Date published: 2014-05-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from very good value, nice design I think this is a great product for anyone wanting to try out gardening. Labor saving over the traditional sod-busting method, Cost and time saving over a build-it-youself method (which I did price out). If it holds up over time. I can add aditional units and develop a lovely & productive garden spot. I would have liked to see a thicker lumber, but the cedar is nice that's why the 4 stars. one useful tip I picked up while investigating other designs, is to line the bottom with hardware cloth to prevent moles etc from tunneling up into the goodies. Happy growing!
Date published: 2011-06-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I really like the look but... I paired this with some of the other Greenes fences kits. I have had this product for six months so far and the wood is starting to dry and become warped. It could be because of the dry, hot climate I live in. I do like the look and want to buy another. I will just seal the next one I buy.
Date published: 2015-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product, great quality These were easy to put together and look great. Amazing quality for the cost of these.
Date published: 2012-11-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from terrible product Problem with this product is that some of the cedar pieces are warped and assembling them into a garden bed is very frustrating. You will need to buy 2 sets, pick the best non-warped pieces from each set to make one good set and then return the set that has all the reject pieces in it. Don't forget to open the box carefully so you can return it in the original box. I had to do this rather than un-assemble the set I originally purchase and buy a new one that will result in the same drama. That being said, it looks pretty good when assembled with the good pieces.
Date published: 2015-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! Very easy to assemble. It is attractive(as you can see) and being of cedar, it discourages insects and lasts longer. I thought I needed two gardens, but realized one was enough. HomeDepot had it returned from my front door, and refunded my charges 4 days later.
Date published: 2015-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good looking, good price, easy to put together The summary pretty much says it all. It seems good quality cedar, the way it fits together made sense and was easy enough (even for someone like me who doesn't use drills or power tools often) and I thought it was a good price. Time will tell how well it lasts but I'm happy so far.
Date published: 2011-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product, easy to assemble , strong, sturdy,beautiful! I Love this kit. I'm 51 and disabled and I was able to put it together in about 15 min. The dove tail joints fit together easily, tight and strong. I went the next day and bought another one to add to it. The only thing I didn't realize was that 2-tier meant that one 4' section is 10" and the other is 7-1/2" high. but that was my misunderstanding. Actually, I ended up liking the 2-tier and it looks great with 2 kits together. I plan on buying more in the furure for the back yard.
Date published: 2013-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great little garden! Easy to put together! I have 8 tomato plants, 1 zucchini plant,1 cucumber bush, 3 bell pepper plants, lettuce and cilantro all growing in this space. So far, I haven't ran out of room! I used 7 bags of miracle grow garden soil (the largest bags) and everything is growing well.
Date published: 2016-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy and fast to put together in back yard. Couldn't believe haw fast it was to put together. I have planted the vegitables I wanted to and they are growing very well and the garden bed is holding up well and not falling apart.
Date published: 2013-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product Great product. The raised beds were easy to put together. They didn't require any tools to assemble and I bought 6 of them for my vegetable garden.
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great purchase and price It was very easy to put together so much so I bought another one
Date published: 2016-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good looking, Easy to assemble, Expandable These beds were super easy to assemble. The posts and boards are dovetailed to slide together and stay in place. I bought 3 of these kits plus two of the 4'x4' kits thinking I would make 5 beds total. But, after opening the kits, I discovered they connect to each other! So, I had enough extra pieces to make 4 large and 3 small beds. While I didn't stack them, you easily could to make the beds as high as you like. Note that the box says "no tools needed", which is true to put the posts and boards together. But, you will need a screwdriver (I recommend a screw bit on a drill) to attach the end caps. The caps are pre-drilled and come with weather resistant deck screws, they go on quickly and easily. If you are one of the few people in the world without a screwdriver, the beds will still be functional without the caps.
Date published: 2012-04-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from An okay option for a small budget. These are really easy to put together-- the boards just slide into slots and you screw them together. They're priced affordable and shipped quickly. Many of the boards were warped most of the wood in the packages seemed damp-- so once assembled mine looks a little wonky. I was putting multiple kits together so I tried to put the boards that were warped on the bottom level and on the inside. If exchanging such a large item hadn't been such a pain I would have. Overall review-- its okay. Probably won't last more than a few years.
Date published: 2011-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Raised Garden Bed Very pleased with product, instructions and value. Also worked with manufacturer for additonal accessories and that was pleasant.
Date published: 2012-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good product. Bought 3 and then 2 more Very easy to put together, attractive and easy to work with
Date published: 2014-03-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from raised garden hopes it was nice. Super easy to put together, good size, nice cedar. Hoping for a great garden to come from this.
Date published: 2012-01-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for square foot gardening Purchased this in early spring to grow some vegetables this year. Assembly was a snap and the cedar should hold up for many seasons. I filled it with "Mels mix" and grew some outstanding veggies this year. I can't wait to start planting the fall garden.
Date published: 2013-07-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Satisfied My garden looks great and the garden bed was easy to put together. Not the best lumber but it is OK. It did take 20cuft of soil. I'm enjoying it! Becky
Date published: 2012-03-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Functional product The product arrived quickly and in good condition. Assembly was fairly easy. Some of the pieces had to be hammered in because the cuts on the assembly joints are very rough. A couple of the boards split in the process but I was able to position them to decrease stress on the overall unit. The wood is very thin and flimsy and the quality was less than I expected. However I do believe the units are serviceable. I would have preferred all one height ie., all 10.5 inches versus the lower 7.5 inches. Once filled with soil and compost they seem to work as required. I am a retired beginning urban gardener so this is my first experience with raised beds. My goal was to have a serviceable garden that would also add beauty to the area. I used weed barrier under the beds, outlined with cinder blocks filled with soil for growing herbs and companion flowers and filled the flooring with mulch. The picture is the end result.
Date published: 2015-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from thumbs up - raised garden Plagued by the clay that composes much of the midwest, I've tries in vain to grow a vegetable garden in so many years past. By the time I grew a few black spotted tomatoes, nice ones were dirt cheap in the grocery stores, so I basically gave up. Grandkids inspired me to try one more time - there's nothing like a few strawberries fresh from the garden to make you the super-grammy, capable of just about anything. The land behind the back of our house slopes down slightly, so the two-tiered raised garden fit in perfectly. The cedar planks looked fantastic, it provided a receptacle for the ton of manure/mulch mixture I needed to remove from our front landscape (see my "medina" review for rubber mulch), and it gave me ten inches of actual soil in which to plant my seedlings. I ended up expanding the original two beds to five by purchasing two more 4x4 bed kits - the pieces allow a variety of configurations - and lined the front of each bed with various flowering and hanging plants so I'd have a flower garden in addition to a vegetable garden. I don't know if it really matters whether or not I get much edible produce out of my garden... I love watching my grandkids watching the carrots grow from seed, the tomatoes and peppers (apparently interchangeable at age 5) taking form, the snow pea sprouts clinging to anything standing still, and the zucchini plants which will provide more squash than anyone could ever want/need in a season. If you have a desire to fulfill your "inner farmer", this raised bed garden is wonderful!
Date published: 2012-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made In The USA Great product. Great price and Made In The USA. Product is stylish.
Date published: 2011-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product low price great product, low price - costs about as much to build your own and less hassle too!
Date published: 2015-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super! I am always skeptical when it says "no tools required" but this was genuinely easy to slide together! The fact that the joints just fit together like puzzle pieces also will make it easy to move, which is important to me. This is one big planting bed! We put down (4) 40 pounds bags of soil just on one side, and that filled it to a depth of about 2 -3 inches. So keep that in mind! The boards are not treated, so if you want to increase the longevity of them, you could probably coat them in beeswax without harming your soil or veggies.
Date published: 2013-05-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Hmmm... It's okay. It's as advertised, no question about that. I guess I thought it would be a little bigger and a little stronger, but it's kinda my own fault for not really thinking, "okay, how big is 4x8, really?" It's holding the garden just fine, but the boards are a little on the flimsy side - one or two are starting to crack and we've had it outside for less than a month. (I did stain and waterproof it the day it arrived.) So, yeah, it's as advertised, and it works just fine - I simply had slightly unrealistic expectations of what I'd get for the price.
Date published: 2012-05-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great, but NOT $39!! FYI, this is $79. When you purchase online, or in the store, it's $79. Still very easy to assemble (watch for splinters). I'm using it as a sandbox - stapled some weed-control fabric on it and sanded down the edges. Love it!
Date published: 2012-03-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice raised bed garden kit! This is a great raised bed garden kit - easy to get in my car, easy to assemble, and versatile for many configurations. I would really like some anchoring stakes that would maybe go in the center of the 4-way connectors, so that the sides don't bow out under the pressure of the dirt and watering.
Date published: 2016-06-14
  • y_2017, m_1, d_22, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_220
  • loc_, sid_202520864, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 74ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT