Model # RC 4C8T2

Internet #202520864

Store SKU #342574

Greenes Fence 48 in. x 96 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
0052144920485

Greenes Fence

48 in. x 96 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed

  • Unfinished rough sawn cedar
  • Board Thickness 11/16 - 3/4 in.
  • Raised Garden Bed made of North American cedar
$93.77 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Greenes' 4 ft. x 8 ft. Dovetail Cedar Raised Garden Kit lets you create a gorgeous two-tier flower or vegetable garden with ease. The dovetail joint construction means you won't need tools to assemble the garden frame: Simply slide the boards into place, and you're done. There's never been a simpler or faster way to turn any level outdoor space into the most fabulous garden in the neighborhood.

  • Assembles quickly and easily
  • Boards slide into place with no tools required
  • Creates the ideal growing environment for your favorite plants
  • Made from naturally rot- and insect-resistant cedar
  • Expands into multiple configurations with any greenes cedar raised garden kit
  • Stacks with additional greenes dovetail cedar raised garden kits
  • 25 cu. ft. of soil needed to fill raised beds

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

Should I put something down first before I put these on a concrete slab?

Asked by: techimnot
I would definitely put down weed barrier just so the sol does not drain out when you water. Ideally I would put on ground not concrete.
Answered by: CJ
Date published: 2017-03-12

Are there chemical free?

Asked by: melissa
Seems to be au natural. No signs of chemical treatment
Answered by: Bunny
Date published: 2016-08-14

How thick are the boards used for the walls?

Asked by: Fred
The boards are rough hewn cedar and measure 5/8ths of inch thick.
Answered by: CJ
Date published: 2017-03-10

WHAT IS THE DEPTH? HOW WIDE ARE THE BOARDS?

WHAT IS THE DEPTH? HOW WIDE ARE THE BOARDS?
Asked by: FRITZY
The depth is 10.5 inches.
Answered by: CommunityAnswer
Date published: 2017-03-25
  • y_2017, m_3, d_29, h_24CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_11
  • loc_, sid_202520864, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 33ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

48 in. x 96 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 224.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I wanted the 4'x8'x10.5" and got this instead. After leveling the ground I laid down some good weed barrier. Don't skip this part if you want to keep the good soil in the bed and not let it leach into the soil you didn't want to plant in! I built the sides and secured the corners then pulled the weed barrier inside and stapled it to the inside of the bed. This will keep your soil inside the bed and weeds outside. One problem I did find was that a few of the cedar boards were warped on the narrow side, not the wide side like you might expect, so when the sides were assembled there were gaps that let the soil fall through the wide 'cracks' in the sides. The top caps were also not pre-drilled like they said they'd be so a screwdriver alone will not be enough unless you want to split the wood. The good news! I emailed Greenes Fence and told them about the warped pieces and asked them about the drilled caps. I got an email the next day from FedEx telling me i have a package coming in a couple of days from Greenes. I also found an email from Greenes saying they were sending me a few boards to replace the warped ones. What great customer service! I asked in another email about the caps and also to thank them and they responded saying the caps are not pre-drilled, but the video, ads, and in print I saw somewhere all said they were and just a screwdriver was all you needed. Someone is wrong here and pictures don't lie. I'm happy they sent me replacements so fast so I'll drill the holes. I may not use the caps as they stick out and I don't want anyone catching a leg on the corner due to a narrow walkway on either side of the bed. I may just drill it as an offset just to lock the sides in swivel away, and remain flush on the outside corners, if I need to remove a board later.
Date published: 2014-05-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Hmmm... It's okay. It's as advertised, no question about that. I guess I thought it would be a little bigger and a little stronger, but it's kinda my own fault for not really thinking, "okay, how big is 4x8, really?" It's holding the garden just fine, but the boards are a little on the flimsy side - one or two are starting to crack and we've had it outside for less than a month. (I did stain and waterproof it the day it arrived.) So, yeah, it's as advertised, and it works just fine - I simply had slightly unrealistic expectations of what I'd get for the price.
Date published: 2012-05-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great, but NOT $39!! FYI, this is $79. When you purchase online, or in the store, it's $79. Still very easy to assemble (watch for splinters). I'm using it as a sandbox - stapled some weed-control fabric on it and sanded down the edges. Love it!
Date published: 2012-03-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to assemble , but some of the pieces of wood not good quality chipped and bowed. Best part is ease of assembly. The product was somewhat flawed but ease of assembly great. I would definitely use this again the price is exceptional for the use.
Date published: 2016-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy, convenient I bought2 4x4 kits, linked nicely to this 4x8. A little pricey but all connections fit well, easy convenient.
Date published: 2016-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Greenes Fence48 in. x 96 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed Very easy to assemble and looks very nice! Its durable and stylish. It compliments the theme in my garden.
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product low price great product, low price - costs about as much to build your own and less hassle too!
Date published: 2015-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cedar Raised Garden Bed The raised bed was easy to assemble and I was able to complete it in a minimal about of time.
Date published: 2016-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy set up I added to my other 4x4 bedfrom last year. Easy, fits well A bit pricey but instant success!
Date published: 2016-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Xmas Gift!! I used a rubber mallet for the assembly. The parts went together easily and quickly. Yay!
Date published: 2016-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely love this product! My 9-year old son and I put these together by ourselves! Easy to build and add onto!
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Satisfied, BUT with some qualifications.... Product was as described online...the Cedar Garden was easy to assemble although: 1) two of the side boards were not shaved, looked like the bark-side of a tree on one of the edges (1x4), and 2) two of the side board were, and are, warped and once they got wet, are not useable. Would I order this online again..? Maybe, but I would want to see if first. Would I reccomend this..? Yes, but I would tell they buyer to beware of the warped wood slats.
Date published: 2012-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Now a sterling quiet family addition. Very easy...and FUN...to assemble. Locked into place like lego. Perfect size and very well made. Makes going for veggies a nice trip!
Date published: 2015-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding Product! Versatile garden that's easy to assemble and move anywhere.
Date published: 2015-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 48 x 96 Cedar Raised Garden BEd My raised bed arrived in good shape. The cedar boards were all intact, no split or cracked boards. It was easy to assemble, and looks just great along side my other raised beds. The price was excellent and free shipping was a big plus for me. I am very pleased with this purchase.
Date published: 2012-03-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent for the price! Very excited about this garden bed. It was really easy to put together, is very attractive, and looks like it will get the job done! The boards are pretty thin so I hope it stands the test of time, but overall this is a great kit.
Date published: 2012-03-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good buy for the money Easy to assemble. Boards are rough and have a tendancy to disconnect if not carful. However a good purchase for the money and a great way for a beginner to learn how to garden. I would purchase again.
Date published: 2011-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful raised beds I was very impressed with these beds once put together. They look beautiful and make a nice addition to any garden area.
Date published: 2011-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy set up The garden was easy to set up and maintain. Just add dirt and your ready to go.
Date published: 2012-06-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Kit was better than building it from lumber as long as the dimensions are OK with you. This garden bed was something I stumbled across as I was preparing to design my own raised bed. It happened to be that the dimensions were exactly what I wanted, so as long as the dimensions work for you, I would definitely recommend this over building one yourself. The wood is cedar. It's moderately thin cut planks, but they've been holding up well. The assembly was easy....much better than cutting my own lumber. The dimensions are pretty unchangeable, but there are other add-ons that you can buy to expand and rearrange. The look of it is somewhat unfinished. If you want this in your front yard, it would require painting or sanding/staining to look good.
Date published: 2014-05-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not bad on a budget I bought mine from the store, and it had obviously seen a lot of rain. The box was falling apart, but it was the cheapest raised bed kit I could find. Upon opening it, several roaches scrambled out and the wood was fairly wet. Not too much damage. The bottom most plank had a few holes in it. Put together pretty easily. Some of the ruts on the end pieces were pretty tight so it required some hammering. But overall was pretty easy to put together. So far it's doing pretty well. It took about 22 cubic feet of soil. One of the caps was missing (I had 5/6) and the instructions said to call the company who manufactured the kit and not Home Depot with problems. I did and they were exceptionally friendly. They mailed me a new cap for free. So the kit's manufacturer has terrific customer service.
Date published: 2012-06-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Budget Garden We ordered the Greenes 48 in. x 96 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed online to pick up in-store. Within 15 minutes I had received a confirmation email and text that it was ready! Love the packaging, as it's compact and easy to carry. No problem fitting it into a small car trunk or backseat. From the time we got it home, unpacked and laid out to built on our garden base took about 20 minutes. So simple. As others have mentioned, some of the boards are quite rough so gloves are a good idea. Also, a small rubber mallet was helpful in getting some of the boards all the way into place. No heavy duty pounding, just a few light taps. A level is helpful as well. Since the boards aren't all that thick I do wonder how this bed will hold up, but for the price it seems a good choice. Looks very nice set up.
Date published: 2012-06-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not as good as the original version from several years ago I purchased this raised garden bed to add-on to an existing one I have used for about 3 years. This kit does not have the screws and drill bit as the original. It has the "dove tail" connection. Plus some of the other issues are a big minus in my opinion, the boards are about 1" shorter than the original. Also the wood looks and feels a lot "rougher" with lots of "splinters" sticking up. I wish Greene's would go back to the original design. I just hope it holds up as good as my well used older bed. As to my No recommendation, I would only recommend it to somebody with the necessary woodworking tools.
Date published: 2014-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy and wonderful cedar raised garden beds! they are so easy and fast to put together and you can decide how you want to design the shape of your bed. We used two kits and put them side by side. I did first put a layer of transparent stain on them...hoping that will make them last longer. They look beautiful with our vegetables and flowers! Absolutely would recommend!
Date published: 2012-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great raised bed kit for first time gardners Easy to assemble. Put it together in less than 10 mins. Definitely rough finish like everyone says and boards are pretty thin. It will probably last 1-3 years at the most. Ideal for vegetable gardening for first timers but maybe not for ornamental plantings.
Date published: 2012-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from loving it It was the least expensive cedar raised bed I found so I ordered it. It arrived quickly, was easy to assemble (what a great design!) and looks great. I am very pleased with this purchase, and recommend it without reservation.
Date published: 2012-04-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice raised beds! These beds require no tools for the basic set up, but you'll need a drill and screwdriver bit to put the decorative caps on. You can move the empty frames around easily if you don't like your initial set up. I hope to be able to get several years use out of them. They are solid wood and look nice. I'm very pleased with my purchase.
Date published: 2015-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This a great [roduct for the avid home gardener. It is quick and easy. My 11 year old assembled the whole thing in minutes! The pieces are light and sturdy and well crafted. Just one piece was a little warped. The Cedar smells sooo good every time I water the garden!
Date published: 2012-04-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quick and easy to assemble. Looks good too. The product was very easy to assemble. It takes about 22 cubic ft. of garden soil to fill. I would consider it a good value if looking for a quick way to "build" a raised garden.
Date published: 2012-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very easy and fast to put together. Sure, I could've built a raised bed myself. But this product went together in less than 15 minutes and then I spent my time filing with soil and gardening!
Date published: 2012-06-19
  • y_2017, m_3, d_28, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_224
  • loc_, sid_202520864, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 60ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT