Model # RC 4C8T2

Internet #202520864

Store SKU #342574

Greenes Fence 48 in. x 96 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
0052144920485

Greenes Fence

48 in. x 96 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed

  • Unfinished rough sawn cedar
  • Board Thickness 11/16 - 3/4 in.
  • Raised Garden Bed made of North American cedar
$9377 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Greenes' 4 ft. x 8 ft. Dovetail Cedar Raised Garden Kit lets you create a gorgeous two-tier flower or vegetable garden with ease. The dovetail joint construction means you won't need tools to assemble the garden frame: Simply slide the boards into place, and you're done. There's never been a simpler or faster way to turn any level outdoor space into the most fabulous garden in the neighborhood.

  • Assembles quickly and easily
  • Boards slide into place with no tools required
  • Creates the ideal growing environment for your favorite plants
  • Made from naturally rot- and insect-resistant cedar
  • Expands into multiple configurations with any greenes cedar raised garden kit
  • Stacks with additional greenes dovetail cedar raised garden kits
  • 25 cu. ft. of soil needed to fill raised beds

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

WHAT IS THE DEPTH? HOW WIDE ARE THE BOARDS?

WHAT IS THE DEPTH? HOW WIDE ARE THE BOARDS?
Asked by: FRITZY
The horizontal boards are about 4 inches in width. That gives you 8 and 12 inch depth, or 7 and 11 inches of soil depth in the box....it is okay to plant deeper rooting plants if you are planting over soil, as the roots can grow through the chicken wire (not in kit by the way!)
Answered by: BrownthumbBrown
Date published: 2017-04-18

Should I put something down first before I put these on a concrete slab?

Asked by: techimnot
I would definitely put down weed barrier just so the sol does not drain out when you water. Ideally I would put on ground not concrete.
Answered by: CJ
Date published: 2017-04-04

Is this stackable?

Asked by: Laurey
Would take some engineering at your end to make it stackable. The corner supports could be attached to one another with additional hardware. But container only comes with 6 points and three of the sides for the smaller box...so you may be better off building one of your own.
Answered by: BrownthumbBrown
Date published: 2017-04-18

How much soil do i need to use?

Asked by: Ellen
It says to use 25 cubic feet between the 2 parts.
Answered by: Mommy66
Date published: 2017-05-07
  • y_2017, m_5, d_25, h_1CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_11
  • loc_, sid_202520864, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 84ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

48 in. x 96 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 259.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ease it assembly & looks great!... Ease it assembly & looks great!
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to assemble, looks great!... Easy to assemble, looks great!
Date published: 2017-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love IT!!!! Love IT!!!!
Date published: 2017-04-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It Doesn't Get Any Easier Than This The quality of the wood and workmanship is so-so. There were a few knot holes (which I intend to take up with the manufacturer). The milled ends were apparently pushed faster than the blades wanted to cut, as they seemed shredded almost as much as cut. Thus, sliding the ends of the boards into the corresponding slots in the posts met with some resistance at times, but nothing a few good raps with something solid couldn't overcome. That said, this is the THIRD identical set I've bought and I wouldn't hesitate to buy another. Despite the imperfections, it is still far easier to put this together than to build something similar from scratch. So, while the wood quality isn't perfect, it's good enough for raised beds. BONUS: because this is a nail-less and screw-less design, there are no worries about those fasteners corroding or pulling out over time. (There are wooden caps that are to be screwed to the tops of the posts, but installing those is optional; they are strictly for aesthetics) I'm a hobbyist woodworker, too -- I could make something better for less money, but for the time involved, I chose to buy this, instead. Once it's together and in use, the minor defects disappear and there's the satisfaction of having put together a decent-looking raised bed with very little time and effort. (Which is good, because the work really begins when you start to fill it!) One more thing: if you are new to raised beds, as I was when I bought my first one, be prepared to have to buy MORE filler than you're told you'll need. When you fill it with the calculated or recommended amount of soil mix, it will look just fine. After it's been thoroughly watered a few times, though, it will settle. You might consider picking up an extra 25% right off the bat, if the full depth is important for what you're planting.
Date published: 2016-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Gardening Solution - Easy To Set Up I was looking into building my own raised cedar boxes this spring and came across this kit. For only a little more than the cost of materials to build my own, I saved all kinds of time setting this up and got my veggies planted all in one afternoon. I bought a couple kits and connected them to make a corner bed. **Installation tip, it's very handy to have a rubber mallet to help the slats into position as some are cut thicker than others.
Date published: 2013-04-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Clever dovetail design The cedar dovetailed posts are a clever design idea. They are well engineered. In reality though, your box needs to be on perfectly level ground or some of the boards will be difficult to slide in due to things getting out of square. Some of the cedar posts split easily. I love the design and versatility of these units. The value/sq ft is exceptional. I priced many boxes and got 12-4'x4' boxes for the price of 4-8 anywhere else. I think these would be much improved if the posts were actually plastic or composite. I turned the boxes over once assembled and used the post cap as a foot. This gave the boards a stop so they could not slide out of the bottom and kept things more even. If you have perfectly level site this may not be necessary but I think it could enhance the overall design stability so that when you lift these to move them for any reason, the boards don't drop out of the bottom.
Date published: 2013-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EXCELLENT PRODUCT!!! I am very much a beginner gardener and not much of a handywoman. This garden is SUPER easy to put together. It took only about 15 min. to assemble. Some of the boards were a little warped, but they still do the job! Much easier for me than trying to build one from scratch. More than one may be purchased to link them together if you want a larger garden. FYI, I filled this garden to the top with dirt & it took 21 cubic feet.
Date published: 2012-05-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice raised bed garden kit! This is a great raised bed garden kit - easy to get in my car, easy to assemble, and versatile for many configurations. I would really like some anchoring stakes that would maybe go in the center of the 4-way connectors, so that the sides don't bow out under the pressure of the dirt and watering.
Date published: 2016-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome for the price! If you've looked at raised garden beds, you know they are ridiculously priced. It's just wood, right? The materials probably cost $20 so why do they usually cost 200-300 dollars for a kit? It's like those cat trees. They're made of wood and carpet scraps and they cost $300. What is THAT about?! This kit is as advertised and costs $79. Does the job and a breeze to put together. It's great. Don't forget to pick up some weed block fabric to put underneath it and the price of dirt and drip sprinklers if you're feeling adventurous. I love it.
Date published: 2011-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding product! After reading all the reviews, I had reservations about this product, but I have to tell you that it is an excellent value. The boards are really straight and smooth, construction was a snap, and my instant garden was assembled in less than 30 minutes working in the hot texas sun. I checked lumber prices before ordering and the total price is less than the cost of the individual components. Ordering online was really easy as the item was in stock, and I received an email within 2 hours informing me that my order was ready for pickup.
Date published: 2016-08-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Easy to Assemble - Average Quality Ordered 2 of these online and a week later they were on my doorstep. This products is easy to put together. I assembled myself, took about 30 minutes per box. Overall, the quaility is average. The boards are on the thin side.. about 1/2 inch and some of them are a bit warped. Also, the wood itself is on the rough side, don't expect a nicely sanded smooth finish. To spite all that, they look good in the yard, but I don't expect them to last more than a few years. Considering the cost of other raised bed kits, this was a very good deal. It took 8 cu ft of soil to fill the shallower half and 12 for the deeper side. Also, I lined the bottom with heavy guage wire mesh and used a staple gun to attach -- keeps the critters from tunneling in and also helps stablize the shape of the bed (they were a bit flimsy and didn't stay square when moving them into place after assembly). Corner brackets on the inside of each corner would be a good retrofit.
Date published: 2011-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sweet Planting Bed This is the two tier 4’ x 8’ kit. The assembled bed is attractive. It comes as a single box containing 4-foot planks. The wood is rough cut and the tongue and groove appear to have been milled with a 300 HP cheese grater, but all the tongues had enough definition to perform their intended function namely to interlock with the six posts. Assembly of the slats into the support post slots was quick and easy. The price was very affordable and probably cheaper than buying lumber having it delivered and then having me butcher a hand made frame. The package arrived intact and in the amount of time one would expect for complimentary shipping. I will buy several more of these planting beds. For planning purposes, ten bags of planting soil filled the two tiers.
Date published: 2014-05-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from very good value, nice design I think this is a great product for anyone wanting to try out gardening. Labor saving over the traditional sod-busting method, Cost and time saving over a build-it-youself method (which I did price out). If it holds up over time. I can add aditional units and develop a lovely & productive garden spot. I would have liked to see a thicker lumber, but the cedar is nice that's why the 4 stars. one useful tip I picked up while investigating other designs, is to line the bottom with hardware cloth to prevent moles etc from tunneling up into the goodies. Happy growing!
Date published: 2011-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product, great quality These were easy to put together and look great. Amazing quality for the cost of these.
Date published: 2012-11-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I really like the look but... I paired this with some of the other Greenes fences kits. I have had this product for six months so far and the wood is starting to dry and become warped. It could be because of the dry, hot climate I live in. I do like the look and want to buy another. I will just seal the next one I buy.
Date published: 2015-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good looking, good price, easy to put together The summary pretty much says it all. It seems good quality cedar, the way it fits together made sense and was easy enough (even for someone like me who doesn't use drills or power tools often) and I thought it was a good price. Time will tell how well it lasts but I'm happy so far.
Date published: 2011-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product, easy to assemble , strong, sturdy,beautiful! I Love this kit. I'm 51 and disabled and I was able to put it together in about 15 min. The dove tail joints fit together easily, tight and strong. I went the next day and bought another one to add to it. The only thing I didn't realize was that 2-tier meant that one 4' section is 10" and the other is 7-1/2" high. but that was my misunderstanding. Actually, I ended up liking the 2-tier and it looks great with 2 kits together. I plan on buying more in the furure for the back yard.
Date published: 2013-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! Very easy to assemble. It is attractive(as you can see) and being of cedar, it discourages insects and lasts longer. I thought I needed two gardens, but realized one was enough. HomeDepot had it returned from my front door, and refunded my charges 4 days later.
Date published: 2015-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy and fast to put together in back yard. Couldn't believe haw fast it was to put together. I have planted the vegitables I wanted to and they are growing very well and the garden bed is holding up well and not falling apart.
Date published: 2013-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good looking, Easy to assemble, Expandable These beds were super easy to assemble. The posts and boards are dovetailed to slide together and stay in place. I bought 3 of these kits plus two of the 4'x4' kits thinking I would make 5 beds total. But, after opening the kits, I discovered they connect to each other! So, I had enough extra pieces to make 4 large and 3 small beds. While I didn't stack them, you easily could to make the beds as high as you like. Note that the box says "no tools needed", which is true to put the posts and boards together. But, you will need a screwdriver (I recommend a screw bit on a drill) to attach the end caps. The caps are pre-drilled and come with weather resistant deck screws, they go on quickly and easily. If you are one of the few people in the world without a screwdriver, the beds will still be functional without the caps.
Date published: 2012-04-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from An okay option for a small budget. These are really easy to put together-- the boards just slide into slots and you screw them together. They're priced affordable and shipped quickly. Many of the boards were warped most of the wood in the packages seemed damp-- so once assembled mine looks a little wonky. I was putting multiple kits together so I tried to put the boards that were warped on the bottom level and on the inside. If exchanging such a large item hadn't been such a pain I would have. Overall review-- its okay. Probably won't last more than a few years.
Date published: 2011-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Raised Garden Bed Very pleased with product, instructions and value. Also worked with manufacturer for additonal accessories and that was pleasant.
Date published: 2012-01-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for square foot gardening Purchased this in early spring to grow some vegetables this year. Assembly was a snap and the cedar should hold up for many seasons. I filled it with "Mels mix" and grew some outstanding veggies this year. I can't wait to start planting the fall garden.
Date published: 2013-07-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from terrible product Problem with this product is that some of the cedar pieces are warped and assembling them into a garden bed is very frustrating. You will need to buy 2 sets, pick the best non-warped pieces from each set to make one good set and then return the set that has all the reject pieces in it. Don't forget to open the box carefully so you can return it in the original box. I had to do this rather than un-assemble the set I originally purchase and buy a new one that will result in the same drama. That being said, it looks pretty good when assembled with the good pieces.
Date published: 2015-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good product. Bought 3 and then 2 more Very easy to put together, attractive and easy to work with
Date published: 2014-03-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from raised garden hopes it was nice. Super easy to put together, good size, nice cedar. Hoping for a great garden to come from this.
Date published: 2012-01-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Satisfied My garden looks great and the garden bed was easy to put together. Not the best lumber but it is OK. It did take 20cuft of soil. I'm enjoying it! Becky
Date published: 2012-03-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Functional product The product arrived quickly and in good condition. Assembly was fairly easy. Some of the pieces had to be hammered in because the cuts on the assembly joints are very rough. A couple of the boards split in the process but I was able to position them to decrease stress on the overall unit. The wood is very thin and flimsy and the quality was less than I expected. However I do believe the units are serviceable. I would have preferred all one height ie., all 10.5 inches versus the lower 7.5 inches. Once filled with soil and compost they seem to work as required. I am a retired beginning urban gardener so this is my first experience with raised beds. My goal was to have a serviceable garden that would also add beauty to the area. I used weed barrier under the beds, outlined with cinder blocks filled with soil for growing herbs and companion flowers and filled the flooring with mulch. The picture is the end result.
Date published: 2015-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from thumbs up - raised garden Plagued by the clay that composes much of the midwest, I've tries in vain to grow a vegetable garden in so many years past. By the time I grew a few black spotted tomatoes, nice ones were dirt cheap in the grocery stores, so I basically gave up. Grandkids inspired me to try one more time - there's nothing like a few strawberries fresh from the garden to make you the super-grammy, capable of just about anything. The land behind the back of our house slopes down slightly, so the two-tiered raised garden fit in perfectly. The cedar planks looked fantastic, it provided a receptacle for the ton of manure/mulch mixture I needed to remove from our front landscape (see my "medina" review for rubber mulch), and it gave me ten inches of actual soil in which to plant my seedlings. I ended up expanding the original two beds to five by purchasing two more 4x4 bed kits - the pieces allow a variety of configurations - and lined the front of each bed with various flowering and hanging plants so I'd have a flower garden in addition to a vegetable garden. I don't know if it really matters whether or not I get much edible produce out of my garden... I love watching my grandkids watching the carrots grow from seed, the tomatoes and peppers (apparently interchangeable at age 5) taking form, the snow pea sprouts clinging to anything standing still, and the zucchini plants which will provide more squash than anyone could ever want/need in a season. If you have a desire to fulfill your "inner farmer", this raised bed garden is wonderful!
Date published: 2012-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made In The USA Great product. Great price and Made In The USA. Product is stylish.
Date published: 2011-12-14
  • y_2017, m_5, d_25, h_8
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_259
  • loc_, sid_202520864, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 228ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT