Model # RC 4C8T2

Internet #202520864

Store SKU #342574

Greenes Fence 48 in. x 96 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
0052144920485

Greenes Fence

48 in. x 96 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed

  • Unfinished rough sawn cedar
  • Board Thickness 11/16 - 3/4 in.
  • Raised Garden Bed made of North American cedar
$9377 /each
store icon Loading Buying Options...
package icon Loading Buying Options...
Sorry, but we ran into issues loading these options. Please try refreshing.

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

  • Unfinished rough sawn cedar
  • Board Thickness 11/16 - 3/4 in.
  • Raised Garden Bed made of North American cedar
Greenes' 4 ft. x 8 ft. Dovetail Cedar Raised Garden Kit lets you create a gorgeous two-tier flower or vegetable garden with ease. The dovetail joint construction means you won't need tools to assemble the garden frame: Simply slide the boards into place, and you're done. There's never been a simpler or faster way to turn any level outdoor space into the most fabulous garden in the neighborhood.
  • Assembles quickly and easily
  • Boards slide into place with no tools required
  • Creates the ideal growing environment for your favorite plants
  • Made from naturally rot- and insect-resistant cedar
  • Expands into multiple configurations with any greenes cedar raised garden kit
  • Stacks with additional greenes dovetail cedar raised garden kits
  • 25 cu. ft. of soil needed to fill raised beds

Product Overview

Greenes' 4 ft. x 8 ft. Dovetail Cedar Raised Garden Kit lets you create a gorgeous two-tier flower or vegetable garden with ease. The dovetail joint construction means you won't need tools to assemble the garden frame: Simply slide the boards into place, and you're done. There's never been a simpler or faster way to turn any level outdoor space into the most fabulous garden in the neighborhood.

  • Assembles quickly and easily
  • Boards slide into place with no tools required
  • Creates the ideal growing environment for your favorite plants
  • Made from naturally rot- and insect-resistant cedar
  • Expands into multiple configurations with any greenes cedar raised garden kit
  • Stacks with additional greenes dovetail cedar raised garden kits
  • 25 cu. ft. of soil needed to fill raised beds

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Container Height (in.)
10.5
Container Length (in.)
96
Container Width (in.)
48

Details

Color Family
Wood
Color/Finish
Cedar
Material
Wood
Number of Tiers
2
Product Weight (lb.)
55.85lb
Raised Bed Features
Expandable,Multiple Tiers
Returnable
30-Day
Shape
Rectangle

Specifications

Dimensions

Container Height (in.)
10.5
Container Length (in.)
96
Container Width (in.)
48

Details

Color Family
Wood
Color/Finish
Cedar
Material
Wood
Number of Tiers
2
Product Weight (lb.)
55.85lb
Raised Bed Features
Expandable,Multiple Tiers
Returnable
30-Day
Shape
Rectangle

More Products With These Features

Search

Questions & Answers

Is this stackable?

Asked by: Laurey
yes to a degree can add how ever you desire
Answered by: janek
Date published: 2017-06-20

WHAT IS THE DEPTH? HOW WIDE ARE THE BOARDS?

WHAT IS THE DEPTH? HOW WIDE ARE THE BOARDS?
Asked by: FRITZY
The horizontal boards are about 4 inches in width. That gives you 8 and 12 inch depth, or 7 and 11 inches of soil depth in the box....it is okay to plant deeper rooting plants if you are planting over soil, as the roots can grow through the chicken wire (not in kit by the way!)
Answered by: BrownthumbBrown
Date published: 2017-05-28

Should I put something down first before I put these on a concrete slab?

Asked by: techimnot
I would definitely put down weed barrier just so the sol does not drain out when you water. Ideally I would put on ground not concrete.
Answered by: CJ
Date published: 2017-04-04

What is the depth of each tier?

I see that 10.5" is listed as the depth, but what about the other tier?
Asked by: Jooby
Each board is 3.5 inches.
Answered by: Yooper60
Date published: 2017-06-13
  • y_2017, m_9, d_18, h_21CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_12
  • loc_, sid_202520864, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 96ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

48 in. x 96 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 271.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Raised Garden Bed Very pleased with product, instructions and value. Also worked with manufacturer for additonal accessories and that was pleasant.
Date published: 2012-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding product! After reading all the reviews, I had reservations about this product, but I have to tell you that it is an excellent value. The boards are really straight and smooth, construction was a snap, and my instant garden was assembled in less than 30 minutes working in the hot texas sun. I checked lumber prices before ordering and the total price is less than the cost of the individual components. Ordering online was really easy as the item was in stock, and I received an email within 2 hours informing me that my order was ready for pickup.
Date published: 2016-08-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from terrible product Problem with this product is that some of the cedar pieces are warped and assembling them into a garden bed is very frustrating. You will need to buy 2 sets, pick the best non-warped pieces from each set to make one good set and then return the set that has all the reject pieces in it. Don't forget to open the box carefully so you can return it in the original box. I had to do this rather than un-assemble the set I originally purchase and buy a new one that will result in the same drama. That being said, it looks pretty good when assembled with the good pieces.
Date published: 2015-11-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for square foot gardening Purchased this in early spring to grow some vegetables this year. Assembly was a snap and the cedar should hold up for many seasons. I filled it with "Mels mix" and grew some outstanding veggies this year. I can't wait to start planting the fall garden.
Date published: 2013-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good product. Bought 3 and then 2 more Very easy to put together, attractive and easy to work with
Date published: 2014-03-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from raised garden hopes it was nice. Super easy to put together, good size, nice cedar. Hoping for a great garden to come from this.
Date published: 2012-01-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Satisfied My garden looks great and the garden bed was easy to put together. Not the best lumber but it is OK. It did take 20cuft of soil. I'm enjoying it! Becky
Date published: 2012-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from thumbs up - raised garden Plagued by the clay that composes much of the midwest, I've tries in vain to grow a vegetable garden in so many years past. By the time I grew a few black spotted tomatoes, nice ones were dirt cheap in the grocery stores, so I basically gave up. Grandkids inspired me to try one more time - there's nothing like a few strawberries fresh from the garden to make you the super-grammy, capable of just about anything. The land behind the back of our house slopes down slightly, so the two-tiered raised garden fit in perfectly. The cedar planks looked fantastic, it provided a receptacle for the ton of manure/mulch mixture I needed to remove from our front landscape (see my "medina" review for rubber mulch), and it gave me ten inches of actual soil in which to plant my seedlings. I ended up expanding the original two beds to five by purchasing two more 4x4 bed kits - the pieces allow a variety of configurations - and lined the front of each bed with various flowering and hanging plants so I'd have a flower garden in addition to a vegetable garden. I don't know if it really matters whether or not I get much edible produce out of my garden... I love watching my grandkids watching the carrots grow from seed, the tomatoes and peppers (apparently interchangeable at age 5) taking form, the snow pea sprouts clinging to anything standing still, and the zucchini plants which will provide more squash than anyone could ever want/need in a season. If you have a desire to fulfill your "inner farmer", this raised bed garden is wonderful!
Date published: 2012-06-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Functional product The product arrived quickly and in good condition. Assembly was fairly easy. Some of the pieces had to be hammered in because the cuts on the assembly joints are very rough. A couple of the boards split in the process but I was able to position them to decrease stress on the overall unit. The wood is very thin and flimsy and the quality was less than I expected. However I do believe the units are serviceable. I would have preferred all one height ie., all 10.5 inches versus the lower 7.5 inches. Once filled with soil and compost they seem to work as required. I am a retired beginning urban gardener so this is my first experience with raised beds. My goal was to have a serviceable garden that would also add beauty to the area. I used weed barrier under the beds, outlined with cinder blocks filled with soil for growing herbs and companion flowers and filled the flooring with mulch. The picture is the end result.
Date published: 2015-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made In The USA Great product. Great price and Made In The USA. Product is stylish.
Date published: 2011-12-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I wanted the 4'x8'x10.5" and got this instead. After leveling the ground I laid down some good weed barrier. Don't skip this part if you want to keep the good soil in the bed and not let it leach into the soil you didn't want to plant in! I built the sides and secured the corners then pulled the weed barrier inside and stapled it to the inside of the bed. This will keep your soil inside the bed and weeds outside. One problem I did find was that a few of the cedar boards were warped on the narrow side, not the wide side like you might expect, so when the sides were assembled there were gaps that let the soil fall through the wide 'cracks' in the sides. The top caps were also not pre-drilled like they said they'd be so a screwdriver alone will not be enough unless you want to split the wood. The good news! I emailed Greenes Fence and told them about the warped pieces and asked them about the drilled caps. I got an email the next day from FedEx telling me i have a package coming in a couple of days from Greenes. I also found an email from Greenes saying they were sending me a few boards to replace the warped ones. What great customer service! I asked in another email about the caps and also to thank them and they responded saying the caps are not pre-drilled, but the video, ads, and in print I saw somewhere all said they were and just a screwdriver was all you needed. Someone is wrong here and pictures don't lie. I'm happy they sent me replacements so fast so I'll drill the holes. I may not use the caps as they stick out and I don't want anyone catching a leg on the corner due to a narrow walkway on either side of the bed. I may just drill it as an offset just to lock the sides in swivel away, and remain flush on the outside corners, if I need to remove a board later.
Date published: 2014-05-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Hmmm... It's okay. It's as advertised, no question about that. I guess I thought it would be a little bigger and a little stronger, but it's kinda my own fault for not really thinking, "okay, how big is 4x8, really?" It's holding the garden just fine, but the boards are a little on the flimsy side - one or two are starting to crack and we've had it outside for less than a month. (I did stain and waterproof it the day it arrived.) So, yeah, it's as advertised, and it works just fine - I simply had slightly unrealistic expectations of what I'd get for the price.
Date published: 2012-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super! I am always skeptical when it says "no tools required" but this was genuinely easy to slide together! The fact that the joints just fit together like puzzle pieces also will make it easy to move, which is important to me. This is one big planting bed! We put down (4) 40 pounds bags of soil just on one side, and that filled it to a depth of about 2 -3 inches. So keep that in mind! The boards are not treated, so if you want to increase the longevity of them, you could probably coat them in beeswax without harming your soil or veggies.
Date published: 2013-05-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great, but NOT $39!! FYI, this is $79. When you purchase online, or in the store, it's $79. Still very easy to assemble (watch for splinters). I'm using it as a sandbox - stapled some weed-control fabric on it and sanded down the edges. Love it!
Date published: 2012-03-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Raised Bed Garden Easy to assemble and add to. Going to put it to gr8 used for the growing season.
Date published: 2017-03-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The garden bed was very easy to assemble The garden bed was very easy to assemble
Date published: 2017-03-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Satisfied, BUT with some qualifications.... Product was as described online...the Cedar Garden was easy to assemble although: 1) two of the side boards were not shaved, looked like the bark-side of a tree on one of the edges (1x4), and 2) two of the side board were, and are, warped and once they got wet, are not useable. Would I order this online again..? Maybe, but I would want to see if first. Would I reccomend this..? Yes, but I would tell they buyer to beware of the warped wood slats.
Date published: 2012-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great little garden! Easy to put together! I have 8 tomato plants, 1 zucchini plant,1 cucumber bush, 3 bell pepper plants, lettuce and cilantro all growing in this space. So far, I haven't ran out of room! I used 7 bags of miracle grow garden soil (the largest bags) and everything is growing well.
Date published: 2016-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product low price great product, low price - costs about as much to build your own and less hassle too!
Date published: 2015-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product Great product. The raised beds were easy to put together. They didn't require any tools to assemble and I bought 6 of them for my vegetable garden.
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great purchase and price It was very easy to put together so much so I bought another one
Date published: 2016-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 48 x 96 Cedar Raised Garden BEd My raised bed arrived in good shape. The cedar boards were all intact, no split or cracked boards. It was easy to assemble, and looks just great along side my other raised beds. The price was excellent and free shipping was a big plus for me. I am very pleased with this purchase.
Date published: 2012-03-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent for the price! Very excited about this garden bed. It was really easy to put together, is very attractive, and looks like it will get the job done! The boards are pretty thin so I hope it stands the test of time, but overall this is a great kit.
Date published: 2012-03-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good buy for the money Easy to assemble. Boards are rough and have a tendancy to disconnect if not carful. However a good purchase for the money and a great way for a beginner to learn how to garden. I would purchase again.
Date published: 2011-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful raised beds I was very impressed with these beds once put together. They look beautiful and make a nice addition to any garden area.
Date published: 2011-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy set up The garden was easy to set up and maintain. Just add dirt and your ready to go.
Date published: 2012-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Now a sterling quiet family addition. Very easy...and FUN...to assemble. Locked into place like lego. Perfect size and very well made. Makes going for veggies a nice trip!
Date published: 2015-04-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Kit was better than building it from lumber as long as the dimensions are OK with you. This garden bed was something I stumbled across as I was preparing to design my own raised bed. It happened to be that the dimensions were exactly what I wanted, so as long as the dimensions work for you, I would definitely recommend this over building one yourself. The wood is cedar. It's moderately thin cut planks, but they've been holding up well. The assembly was easy....much better than cutting my own lumber. The dimensions are pretty unchangeable, but there are other add-ons that you can buy to expand and rearrange. The look of it is somewhat unfinished. If you want this in your front yard, it would require painting or sanding/staining to look good.
Date published: 2014-05-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not bad on a budget I bought mine from the store, and it had obviously seen a lot of rain. The box was falling apart, but it was the cheapest raised bed kit I could find. Upon opening it, several roaches scrambled out and the wood was fairly wet. Not too much damage. The bottom most plank had a few holes in it. Put together pretty easily. Some of the ruts on the end pieces were pretty tight so it required some hammering. But overall was pretty easy to put together. So far it's doing pretty well. It took about 22 cubic feet of soil. One of the caps was missing (I had 5/6) and the instructions said to call the company who manufactured the kit and not Home Depot with problems. I did and they were exceptionally friendly. They mailed me a new cap for free. So the kit's manufacturer has terrific customer service.
Date published: 2012-06-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Budget Garden We ordered the Greenes 48 in. x 96 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed online to pick up in-store. Within 15 minutes I had received a confirmation email and text that it was ready! Love the packaging, as it's compact and easy to carry. No problem fitting it into a small car trunk or backseat. From the time we got it home, unpacked and laid out to built on our garden base took about 20 minutes. So simple. As others have mentioned, some of the boards are quite rough so gloves are a good idea. Also, a small rubber mallet was helpful in getting some of the boards all the way into place. No heavy duty pounding, just a few light taps. A level is helpful as well. Since the boards aren't all that thick I do wonder how this bed will hold up, but for the price it seems a good choice. Looks very nice set up.
Date published: 2012-06-06
  • y_2017, m_9, d_19, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_271
  • loc_, sid_202520864, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 253ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT