0052144920485

Greenes Fence

Model RC 4C8T2

Internet #202520864

Store SKU #342574

48 in. x 96 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed

$91.47 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Greenes' 4 ft. x 8 ft. Dovetail Cedar Raised Garden Kit lets you create a gorgeous two-tier flower or vegetable garden with ease. The dovetail joint construction means you won't need tools to assemble the garden frame: Simply slide the boards into place, and you're done. There's never been a simpler or faster way to turn any level outdoor space into the most fabulous garden in the neighborhood.

  • Assembles quickly and easily
  • Boards slide into place with no tools required
  • Creates the ideal growing environment for your favorite plants
  • Made from naturally rot- and insect-resistant cedar
  • Expands into multiple configurations with any greenes cedar raised garden kit
  • Stacks with additional greenes dovetail cedar raised garden kits
  • 25 cu. ft. of soil needed to fill raised beds

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

8 Questions9 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

48 in. x 96 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
48 in. x 96 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
This question is from 48 in. x 96 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
 
2 answers

Should I put something down first before I put these on a concrete slab?

This question is from 48 in. x 96 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
Asked by
Mid-South
Read all my Q&A
April 20, 2016
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (2)

Asked by
Berkshires, mass
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 13, 2016
Answer: 
As long as edges flush with concrete surface should be okay
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Atlanta, GA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
April 26, 2016
Answer: 
Hi techimnot,
Yes, you need to line the bed with a breathable fabric.
Landscape Fabric is porous and will allow the water to pass through while holding the soil in place.
Garden beds need to drain, and when they drain, soil will wash away. If you line the raised bed with rubber or plastic sheeting, drainage will suffer, and so will your plants.
There should be holes in the walls of the raised bed for Read More
Hi techimnot,
Yes, you need to line the bed with a breathable fabric.
Landscape Fabric is porous and will allow the water to pass through while holding the soil in place.
Garden beds need to drain, and when they drain, soil will wash away. If you line the raised bed with rubber or plastic sheeting, drainage will suffer, and so will your plants.
There should be holes in the walls of the raised bed for drainage to ensure a healthy garden.
Thank you for asking,
-Travis Read Less
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
This question is from 48 in. x 96 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
 
2 answers

Are there chemical free?

This question is from 48 in. x 96 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
March 28, 2016
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (2)

Asked by
Berkshire,mass
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 13, 2016
Answer: 
Seems to be au natural. No signs of chemical treatment
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Ohio
Read all my Q&A
April 2, 2016
Answer: 
Yes, they are not treated with any chemicals as far as I know
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
This question is from 48 in. x 96 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
 
1 answer

What is the depth of each tier?

This question is from 48 in. x 96 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 19, 2016
I see that 10.5" is listed as the depth, but what about the other tier?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer (1)

Asked by
Mason, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 20, 2016
Answer: 
The deeper bed is 10.5" deep, the shallower side is 7" deep.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
This question is from 48 in. x 96 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
 
1 answer

What is the depth of the bed?

This question is from 48 in. x 96 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
April 30, 2016
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer (1)

May 1, 2016
Answer: 
The bed is 10.5 inches high, 48 inches wide and 96 inches long.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
2 »
  • 2016-09-08 T12:31:18.578-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_202520864, prod, sort_default
2 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 61ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 219 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Dove tail joints great , wood was quality I looked at a lot of raised garden beds and this was the best one . I bought 2 4x8 foot kits and a small 16"x16" kit. Used the small kit and made one 16"x8'. They assembled very easily. From reading other reviews I agree they are quality and the best part they are made in the U.S.A. One more advantage is that you can go on the company's web site and order parts to extend to existing beds. They look good in our yard and my wife loves them. As always H.D. employees were very friendly and help full in making your purchases. May 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good size for small garden The Cedar wood is great, but make sure you pick the spot you want it to set it up. It is very flimsy to move and I damaged mine a bit trying to move it by myself 4 feet. Easy to assemble. I recommend a mallet to help the boards slide together. I'll buy more of these in the future. I'd say it's a bit expensive for the amount of wood you get though. Also the height of the box isn't really high enough to keep some basic pests out, or dirt in if it rains really hard. I had to dig into the grounds pretty far to plant things. May 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by very good value, nice design I think this is a great product for anyone wanting to try out gardening. Labor saving over the traditional sod-busting method, Cost and time saving over a build-it-youself method (which I did price out). If it holds up over time. I can add aditional units and develop a lovely & productive garden spot. I would have liked to see a thicker lumber, but the cedar is nice that's why the 4 stars. one useful tip I picked up while investigating other designs, is to line the bottom with hardware cloth to prevent moles etc from tunneling up into the goodies. Happy growing! June 25, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Attractive raised gardens in just a few easy minutes... As I was getting my gardens started late this year, I needed to work fast. I had purchased the 4x4 garden last year and it worked really well for me, so this year I moved my old one to a different part of the yard and connected it to this set. Everything is growing beautifully! I imagine building my own beds might cost less (though some reviewers state otherwise) but this was a great option for me as I do not own the tools (yet) to do that. July 22, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Does not hold up well We bought these garden beds three years ago and up to this year I was very happy with them. But, now, at the start of our 3rd year, they are falling apart. The joints are coming apart and one corner just completely fell off. The toppers to the corners have come off over the years too. We are putting in stakes to keep them together for this growing season, but we will have to get new ones for next year. I don't expect things to last forever, but longer than 2 years! May 22, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Easy to assemble but fragile My son and I were able to quickly assemble the raised bed in about 15 minutes. While moving the assembled bed back and forth to the final location while trying to level the bed, one of the posts split. A second post split a few minutes later after noticing one of the boards slipped out of place and I was trying to tap the board back into position. I secured the boards with some sections of rebar. The bed looks nice, but you do need to be very careful while assembling and positioning the bed, since the construction is rather fragile. July 1, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Hmmm... It's okay. It's as advertised, no question about that. I guess I thought it would be a little bigger and a little stronger, but it's kinda my own fault for not really thinking, "okay, how big is 4x8, really?" It's holding the garden just fine, but the boards are a little on the flimsy side - one or two are starting to crack and we've had it outside for less than a month. (I did stain and waterproof it the day it arrived.) So, yeah, it's as advertised, and it works just fine - I simply had slightly unrealistic expectations of what I'd get for the price. May 8, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Makes gardening easy After my father announced he wanted a garden for the grandkids and came over to my house with a Garden Weasel type contraption, I decided there had to be an easier way. No way was I going to till the hard clay soil in my yard. I found this raised bed, picked it up, and within twenty non- curse filled minutes, we had fully assembled the unit. Went to our local compost yard and filled bags with black gold, and now my tomato plants are over three feet tall. Cheaper to garden on your own? Hardly. But at least this time it was fun. June 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Super! I am always skeptical when it says "no tools required" but this was genuinely easy to slide together! The fact that the joints just fit together like puzzle pieces also will make it easy to move, which is important to me. This is one big planting bed! We put down (4) 40 pounds bags of soil just on one side, and that filled it to a depth of about 2 -3 inches. So keep that in mind! The boards are not treated, so if you want to increase the longevity of them, you could probably coat them in beeswax without harming your soil or veggies. May 1, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Product Great for small gardens. Fairly easy to put together. Some of the slats for the boards were a little small. Took some work to get them in. December 10, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by An okay option for a small budget. These are really easy to put together-- the boards just slide into slots and you screw them together. They're priced affordable and shipped quickly. Many of the boards were warped most of the wood in the packages seemed damp-- so once assembled mine looks a little wonky. I was putting multiple kits together so I tried to put the boards that were warped on the bottom level and on the inside. If exchanging such a large item hadn't been such a pain I would have. Overall review-- its okay. Probably won't last more than a few years. June 25, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very easy set up. When I opened the box I thought to myself "wow that's a lot of pieces" but it was very very easy to set up, I think that when my son was nine years old he could've easily set it up.. And it looks so pretty in my community garden and I've noticed that more and more people are stopping to admire it. September 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great product! This item is better priced then others, easy to put together, work with and place. I started with two and a week later got another one then two weeks after that I got one more for a total of four! Our corn, tomatoes, chili plants, lettuce, carrots and cantaloupe are growing great. The fourth one will be for round two of cantaloupe, corn and pumpkins. I just wish my yard was bigger! It could be used as a sandbox for kids if you use a plastic liner such as a plastic drop cloth that painters use. June 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love These Raised Beds! This raised garden bed is awesome! It went together effortlessly. It looks great and the smell of the cedar is an added benefit. I bought three beds and plan to expand next year. I compared the prices and this was the best quality raised bed for the least money. I hope the price is the same next spring. Would definitely recommend this bed to anyone wanting to have a garden. June 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Garden for Limited Space Very easy to assemble. Great size for a small yard. Provides two different depths for a variety of crops. October 21, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Description is inaccurate This item description is totally inaccurate. The product I purchased online required screwing each and every board to hold them in place in the u-channel. The instructions noted that it SHOULD NOT BE RETURNED TO THE STORE. I also purchased a second bed from the local store and it was milled with the dove-tail joint construction. Due to this, I was unable to connect my two beds as neither boards were compatible with the other posts. Also a screw driver is required to secure the dove-tail boards via a post top piece. The dove-tail joint posts were smaller and the boards were thinner than the online purchase. The fair rating is due to the misleading description and the inconsistency in the product's produced by this manufacturer. I would recommend this as an inexpensive raised bed. March 20, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect little garden bed Easy to put together. Exactly how it was described. Only downside was the 25 cu ft of dirt required to fill it (very heavy!). It was exactly what I wanted for my yard! Highly recommended! September 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Bargain Garden Look like bigger lumber pieces in the pictures and the pieces aren't really as clean as the appear to be in the pics but for what it cost and the ease of assembly it made my wife very happy. Happy wife happy life. It serves its purose at a great price. Certainly has some flaws but if you need a quick 4 by 8 raised garden go for it. June 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Not bad on a budget I bought mine from the store, and it had obviously seen a lot of rain. The box was falling apart, but it was the cheapest raised bed kit I could find. Upon opening it, several roaches scrambled out and the wood was fairly wet. Not too much damage. The bottom most plank had a few holes in it. Put together pretty easily. Some of the ruts on the end pieces were pretty tight so it required some hammering. But overall was pretty easy to put together. So far it's doing pretty well. It took about 22 cubic feet of soil. One of the caps was missing (I had 5/6) and the instructions said to call the company who manufactured the kit and not Home Depot with problems. I did and they were exceptionally friendly. They mailed me a new cap for free. So the kit's manufacturer has terrific customer service. June 9, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Budget Garden We ordered the Greenes 48 in. x 96 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed online to pick up in-store. Within 15 minutes I had received a confirmation email and text that it was ready! Love the packaging, as it's compact and easy to carry. No problem fitting it into a small car trunk or backseat. From the time we got it home, unpacked and laid out to built on our garden base took about 20 minutes. So simple. As others have mentioned, some of the boards are quite rough so gloves are a good idea. Also, a small rubber mallet was helpful in getting some of the boards all the way into place. No heavy duty pounding, just a few light taps. A level is helpful as well. Since the boards aren't all that thick I do wonder how this bed will hold up, but for the price it seems a good choice. Looks very nice set up. June 6, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 48 in. x 96 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed The cedar raised bed garden kit was really easy to assemble and expandable. As this is the first year for planting in this garden I can say that it has exceeded my expectations. The true test will come in the next two years when I can test the durability of the raised bed garden. July 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Ease of assembly. I was very pleased at ease of assembly. The joints fit together easily for me with no need for the mallet I had brought. Great feature: the day after I put it together and filled it with soil, the City arrived without warning to dig up my yard. They were able to dismantle it and resettle it and replant my seedlings in practically no time. I like that I can easily remove a board or two to let more winter sun enter the bed, morning or evening. November 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Product Overall a nice cedar bed. Great for a starter gardener. Assembly hint: this goes together much easier on a perfectly level surface (like a garage floor.) I initially tried to put in together in my slightly bumpy backyard and the pieces wouldn't slide together right. Attempt 2 on a cement floor went much better. June 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by One of my best purchases. Very easy to assemble. Bought two and now want more. September 18, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Product was easy to assemble Easy to put together, but disappointed with the thickness (or lack of thickness) of the boards. I expected much stronger boards than what I received; several were cracked in some areas. We will try them for now, but can't see them lasting for very many years, as we anticipated. May 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good looking, Easy to assemble, Expandable These beds were super easy to assemble. The posts and boards are dovetailed to slide together and stay in place. I bought 3 of these kits plus two of the 4'x4' kits thinking I would make 5 beds total. But, after opening the kits, I discovered they connect to each other! So, I had enough extra pieces to make 4 large and 3 small beds. While I didn't stack them, you easily could to make the beds as high as you like. Note that the box says "no tools needed", which is true to put the posts and boards together. But, you will need a screwdriver (I recommend a screw bit on a drill) to attach the end caps. The caps are pre-drilled and come with weather resistant deck screws, they go on quickly and easily. If you are one of the few people in the world without a screwdriver, the beds will still be functional without the caps. April 25, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Got the job done with less work. We wanted to try our hands at gardening. Purchased 3 of these, one for my wife and each of our kids. Very easy to put together and allowed us to build/plant/fence the garden in one day. They look nice and appear well made. We will see how long they last but, for the price, should last awhile. Not that much more than building it from scratch when taking into account the cost of cedar planks. Can't wait for those juicy red tomatoes. July 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great quality- easy installation I bought one of these last year and it held up very well, even after a horribly cold and snowy Minnesota winter. I was so pleased I ordered another one this spring to expand my garden. Very impressed with and would highly recommend. Great quality and price too. May 20, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Cheaply made but serves purpose If I was more handy I would have built my own raised bed but for the sake of time and my lack of DIY I bought this. Wood is thin and flimsy seems to be holding up and plants are growing ok. Wish it was deeper on both sides. Takes about 26 cubic feet to fill. May 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by garden boxes I have 3 of these. It really made it easy to set up a garden and they look nice. July 24, 2014
  • 2016-09-08 T12:12:53.195-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_219, tr_219
  • loc_en_US, sid_202520864, prod, sort_default
<< 2 3 4 5 6  ... 9 >>
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 107ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT