Model # RC 4C8T2

Internet #202520864

Store SKU #342574

Greenes Fence 48 in. x 96 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
0052144920485

Greenes Fence

48 in. x 96 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed

  • Unfinished rough sawn cedar
  • Board Thickness 11/16 - 3/4 in.
  • Raised Garden Bed made of North American cedar
$9377 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Greenes' 4 ft. x 8 ft. Dovetail Cedar Raised Garden Kit lets you create a gorgeous two-tier flower or vegetable garden with ease. The dovetail joint construction means you won't need tools to assemble the garden frame: Simply slide the boards into place, and you're done. There's never been a simpler or faster way to turn any level outdoor space into the most fabulous garden in the neighborhood.

  • Assembles quickly and easily
  • Boards slide into place with no tools required
  • Creates the ideal growing environment for your favorite plants
  • Made from naturally rot- and insect-resistant cedar
  • Expands into multiple configurations with any greenes cedar raised garden kit
  • Stacks with additional greenes dovetail cedar raised garden kits
  • 25 cu. ft. of soil needed to fill raised beds

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

WHAT IS THE DEPTH? HOW WIDE ARE THE BOARDS?

WHAT IS THE DEPTH? HOW WIDE ARE THE BOARDS?
Asked by: FRITZY
The horizontal boards are about 4 inches in width. That gives you 8 and 12 inch depth, or 7 and 11 inches of soil depth in the box....it is okay to plant deeper rooting plants if you are planting over soil, as the roots can grow through the chicken wire (not in kit by the way!)
Answered by: BrownthumbBrown
Date published: 2017-04-18

Should I put something down first before I put these on a concrete slab?

Asked by: techimnot
I would definitely put down weed barrier just so the sol does not drain out when you water. Ideally I would put on ground not concrete.
Answered by: CJ
Date published: 2017-04-04

Is this stackable?

Asked by: Laurey
Would take some engineering at your end to make it stackable. The corner supports could be attached to one another with additional hardware. But container only comes with 6 points and three of the sides for the smaller box...so you may be better off building one of your own.
Answered by: BrownthumbBrown
Date published: 2017-04-18

How much soil do i need to use?

Asked by: Ellen
It says to use 25 cubic feet between the 2 parts.
Answered by: Mommy66
Date published: 2017-05-07
  • y_2017, m_5, d_19, h_1CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_11
  • loc_, sid_202520864, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 82ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

48 in. x 96 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 255.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great, but NOT $39!! FYI, this is $79. When you purchase online, or in the store, it's $79. Still very easy to assemble (watch for splinters). I'm using it as a sandbox - stapled some weed-control fabric on it and sanded down the edges. Love it!
Date published: 2012-03-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to assemble , but some of the pieces of wood not good quality chipped and bowed. Best part is ease of assembly. The product was somewhat flawed but ease of assembly great. I would definitely use this again the price is exceptional for the use.
Date published: 2016-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product low price great product, low price - costs about as much to build your own and less hassle too!
Date published: 2015-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cedar Raised Garden Bed The raised bed was easy to assemble and I was able to complete it in a minimal about of time.
Date published: 2016-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy set up I added to my other 4x4 bedfrom last year. Easy, fits well A bit pricey but instant success!
Date published: 2016-05-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Satisfied, BUT with some qualifications.... Product was as described online...the Cedar Garden was easy to assemble although: 1) two of the side boards were not shaved, looked like the bark-side of a tree on one of the edges (1x4), and 2) two of the side board were, and are, warped and once they got wet, are not useable. Would I order this online again..? Maybe, but I would want to see if first. Would I reccomend this..? Yes, but I would tell they buyer to beware of the warped wood slats.
Date published: 2012-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great little garden! Easy to put together! I have 8 tomato plants, 1 zucchini plant,1 cucumber bush, 3 bell pepper plants, lettuce and cilantro all growing in this space. So far, I haven't ran out of room! I used 7 bags of miracle grow garden soil (the largest bags) and everything is growing well.
Date published: 2016-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product Great product. The raised beds were easy to put together. They didn't require any tools to assemble and I bought 6 of them for my vegetable garden.
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great purchase and price It was very easy to put together so much so I bought another one
Date published: 2016-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding Product! Versatile garden that's easy to assemble and move anywhere.
Date published: 2015-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 48 x 96 Cedar Raised Garden BEd My raised bed arrived in good shape. The cedar boards were all intact, no split or cracked boards. It was easy to assemble, and looks just great along side my other raised beds. The price was excellent and free shipping was a big plus for me. I am very pleased with this purchase.
Date published: 2012-03-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent for the price! Very excited about this garden bed. It was really easy to put together, is very attractive, and looks like it will get the job done! The boards are pretty thin so I hope it stands the test of time, but overall this is a great kit.
Date published: 2012-03-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good buy for the money Easy to assemble. Boards are rough and have a tendancy to disconnect if not carful. However a good purchase for the money and a great way for a beginner to learn how to garden. I would purchase again.
Date published: 2011-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful raised beds I was very impressed with these beds once put together. They look beautiful and make a nice addition to any garden area.
Date published: 2011-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy set up The garden was easy to set up and maintain. Just add dirt and your ready to go.
Date published: 2012-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Now a sterling quiet family addition. Very easy...and FUN...to assemble. Locked into place like lego. Perfect size and very well made. Makes going for veggies a nice trip!
Date published: 2015-04-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Kit was better than building it from lumber as long as the dimensions are OK with you. This garden bed was something I stumbled across as I was preparing to design my own raised bed. It happened to be that the dimensions were exactly what I wanted, so as long as the dimensions work for you, I would definitely recommend this over building one yourself. The wood is cedar. It's moderately thin cut planks, but they've been holding up well. The assembly was easy....much better than cutting my own lumber. The dimensions are pretty unchangeable, but there are other add-ons that you can buy to expand and rearrange. The look of it is somewhat unfinished. If you want this in your front yard, it would require painting or sanding/staining to look good.
Date published: 2014-05-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not bad on a budget I bought mine from the store, and it had obviously seen a lot of rain. The box was falling apart, but it was the cheapest raised bed kit I could find. Upon opening it, several roaches scrambled out and the wood was fairly wet. Not too much damage. The bottom most plank had a few holes in it. Put together pretty easily. Some of the ruts on the end pieces were pretty tight so it required some hammering. But overall was pretty easy to put together. So far it's doing pretty well. It took about 22 cubic feet of soil. One of the caps was missing (I had 5/6) and the instructions said to call the company who manufactured the kit and not Home Depot with problems. I did and they were exceptionally friendly. They mailed me a new cap for free. So the kit's manufacturer has terrific customer service.
Date published: 2012-06-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Budget Garden We ordered the Greenes 48 in. x 96 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed online to pick up in-store. Within 15 minutes I had received a confirmation email and text that it was ready! Love the packaging, as it's compact and easy to carry. No problem fitting it into a small car trunk or backseat. From the time we got it home, unpacked and laid out to built on our garden base took about 20 minutes. So simple. As others have mentioned, some of the boards are quite rough so gloves are a good idea. Also, a small rubber mallet was helpful in getting some of the boards all the way into place. No heavy duty pounding, just a few light taps. A level is helpful as well. Since the boards aren't all that thick I do wonder how this bed will hold up, but for the price it seems a good choice. Looks very nice set up.
Date published: 2012-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy and wonderful cedar raised garden beds! they are so easy and fast to put together and you can decide how you want to design the shape of your bed. We used two kits and put them side by side. I did first put a layer of transparent stain on them...hoping that will make them last longer. They look beautiful with our vegetables and flowers! Absolutely would recommend!
Date published: 2012-07-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not as good as the original version from several years ago I purchased this raised garden bed to add-on to an existing one I have used for about 3 years. This kit does not have the screws and drill bit as the original. It has the "dove tail" connection. Plus some of the other issues are a big minus in my opinion, the boards are about 1" shorter than the original. Also the wood looks and feels a lot "rougher" with lots of "splinters" sticking up. I wish Greene's would go back to the original design. I just hope it holds up as good as my well used older bed. As to my No recommendation, I would only recommend it to somebody with the necessary woodworking tools.
Date published: 2014-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great raised bed kit for first time gardners Easy to assemble. Put it together in less than 10 mins. Definitely rough finish like everyone says and boards are pretty thin. It will probably last 1-3 years at the most. Ideal for vegetable gardening for first timers but maybe not for ornamental plantings.
Date published: 2012-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from loving it It was the least expensive cedar raised bed I found so I ordered it. It arrived quickly, was easy to assemble (what a great design!) and looks great. I am very pleased with this purchase, and recommend it without reservation.
Date published: 2012-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This a great [roduct for the avid home gardener. It is quick and easy. My 11 year old assembled the whole thing in minutes! The pieces are light and sturdy and well crafted. Just one piece was a little warped. The Cedar smells sooo good every time I water the garden!
Date published: 2012-04-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quick and easy to assemble. Looks good too. The product was very easy to assemble. It takes about 22 cubic ft. of garden soil to fill. I would consider it a good value if looking for a quick way to "build" a raised garden.
Date published: 2012-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very easy and fast to put together. Sure, I could've built a raised bed myself. But this product went together in less than 15 minutes and then I spent my time filing with soil and gardening!
Date published: 2012-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Home Depot - Surprises me I never expected to have this in 2-3 business days, after it got to me, easy to put together and now 3 weeks later I have a vegetable garden ready for the summer.
Date published: 2012-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to assemble Purchased Garden Bed for mothers day gift. Easy to assemble. All parts went together within 15 mins of openning box
Date published: 2012-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent product excellent product. I installed one at the beginning of the season and ordered 2 more for installation before next season.
Date published: 2011-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this garden! When I was thinking about planting a raised vegetable garden in my back yard, I was concerned because I sprayed my lawn 3 times for weeds with Spectracide. I decided to put down some heavy black plastic from Home Depot to use as a barrier under the vegetable garden. I was then concerned about drainage, so I took the advice of someone on this website and I turned the raised bed upside down. The feet raise the bed up high enough for drainage purposes. I then put a little fence around my garden to keep my dog out. My soil is a mixture of Miracle Grow Moisture Max Potting Mix (not Potting Soil), Lime and Miracle Grow Fertilizer. Next year, I’m going to add perlite and more Potting Mix. I’m growing Georgia Collards, Bok Choy, Romaine, Cantaloupe, Cucumber, Bell Pepper, Eggplant and Corn! I'm surprised that my corn is doing so well in the large bin because I thought that corn would require deeper soil. I have already started harvesting my greens and I learned that I must sow new seeds every 2 weeks so that I can replace the items that I harvest. I’m starting to dream about buying a greenhouse with a heater so that I can grow my own food year round. I would need to win the $1000 prize for writing this review in order to buy it!
Date published: 2013-05-02
  • y_2017, m_5, d_23, h_8
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_255
  • loc_, sid_202520864, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 167ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT