Model # 31436PS-YOW

Internet #100656306

Store SKU #564184

HDX 4-Shelf 36 in. W x 14 in. L x 54 in. H Storage Unit
0672763103252

HDX

4-Shelf 36 in. W x 14 in. L x 54 in. H Storage Unit

  • NSF certificated. Easy to assemble, no tools required.
  • Each shelf holds up to 350 lbs. of evenly distributed weight.
  • Adjustable height shelves and feet.
$4997 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Image of strength and storage capacity for Easy Home Shelves

Each shelf can accommodate up to 200 pounds when weight is evenly distributed.

4 Shelves, 800-lb capacity, shelves in black
Choose your own color for Durable Style. Meet your storage needs while expressing
your personality.
Image of Easy Home shelving as a bookshelf in blue

Versatile Storage Solution

Sturdy, adjustable shelves are great for food, laundry supplies, tools and more.

Close-up of shelf construction in Chrome color

Heavy-Duty Construction

Steal construction boasts strength and durability.

Close-up image of 8 available colors

Available in Eight Colors

Includes red, yellow, ivory, green, blue, white, matte black and chrome.

Quick and Easy No-Tool Assembly. Labeled parts and clear instructions provide
hassle-free assembly.
Step 1 in contruction, image showing how to screw posts together

Assemble Posts

Screw bottom pole into top pole for all four poles.

Step 2 in construction, shows how to attach tapered sleeves to the post

Attach Tapered Sleeves

Place tapered sleeves on all poles at the desired position of bottom shelf.

Step 3 in construction, shows how to slide pole with tapered locks through bottom shelf

Assemble Bottom Shelf

Slide each pole with tapered locks through the shelf.

Step 4 in construction, image showing shelf with down arrows to
indicate repeating step 3 and sliding the shelves down the pole to the
tapered sleeve

Add Shelves

Turn the unit upright and press down on each corner of the shelf. Repeat for each shelf.

Step 5 in construction, image showing levelers attached to pole

Adjust the Levelers

Rotate counterclockwise to raise poles and clockwise to lower.

How-To Video

See just how quickly HDX wire shelving is assembled.

This HDX 4-Shelf Storage Unit offers sturdy, reliable shelving and is ideal for creating storage space in any room, whether for commercial, industrial or residential use. The heavy-duty shelving unit can support 1400 lbs. (up to 350 lbs. per shelf) for optimal use in kitchens, pantries, utility rooms, warehouses and garages, featuring tubular steel construction with a durable chrome finish. All 4 shelves can be easily adjusted to ensure items fit perfectly, and the unit can be conveniently assembled without any tools.

  • Each shelf supports 350 lbs. when evenly distributed; total unit weight capacity is 1400 lbs.
  • No tools required for easy assembly
  • Tubular steel construction with durable chrome finish offers solid support for a variety of heavy-duty items
  • Perfect storage solution for commercial or residential use in any room, office or jobsite
  • 4 adjustable shelves are ideal for changing storage needs
  • NSF-certified for food storage
  • Note: Product may vary by store

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

I want to use these shelves in a basement. Is this unit resistant to rust and water damage?

Asked by: Basementguru
The shelving will rust over time so they should be used in a dry environment. If water soaked they can be dried and you can use something like WD40 or equivalent to keep the moisture away.
Answered by: TerTer46
Date published: 2016-12-06

Can I get casters (wheels) for these shelves?

Are there wheels available for these? If not, do you know the inside diameter of the vertical posts?
Asked by: freezerbuyer
Yes, I purchased these separately
Answered by: Jo
Date published: 2017-04-11

expandable?

Since the construction is modular, can you combine multiple units to create a taller shelving unit? I need a 6-shelf unit but the one sold it is too wide and deep for my space.
Asked by: Kim
Hi Kim - no, it's not expandable. Good luck Kim and I hope this helps you.
Answered by: BrooklynDiva55
Date published: 2016-10-15

For the Model # 31436PS-YOW, shelf unit , can I skip the bottom shelf so the remaining shelves ca...

For the Model # 31436PS-YOW, shelf unit , can I skip the bottom shelf so the remaining shelves can start higher? If so, can the first shelf start at 36" above the floor so the unit goes over an existing cabinet??
Asked by: jim
Yes, but it will be a little less stable.
Answered by: DocRoscoe
Date published: 2017-03-27
  • y_2017, m_6, d_23, h_11CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_80
  • loc_, sid_100656306, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 98ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

4-Shelf 36 in. W x 14 in. L x 54 in. H Storage Unit is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 526.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy Tool-Free Assembly This HDX shelving unit was quick to assemble and has since worked without issue. The shelves are held in place by plastic rings which are placed on the shelf legs at the desired height, so no tools are needed for assembly. My only complaint about the shelf comes from these fittings. Once I positioned them on the legs and slipped the shelf down on top of them, some of the fittings slid further down the leg leaving the shelf unlevel. I had to pull the fitting back up into place and hold it there while locking the shelf into place on top of it; however, the shelf has remained in place since then.
Date published: 2016-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Unit I’ve got several of these. These shelves are strong and allow for customizing the shelf heights. They are easy to put together & one person can do it alone with a little caution. I recommend getting the wheels to go with them. They’re heavy duty and allow you to pull the unit away from the wall to clean behind it. In my shed I maximized storage space by placing a couple perpendicular to the back wall and I pull them out to get stuff off. I wish I could purchase some type of rail, so I could keep things from falling off the back and sides. In my shed I made make-shift sides, but I have one in my kitchen that I want to look nicer. Unlike other reviewers, I have changed the height of the shelves. I just turn the unit on its side and hit the shelf with my rubber mallet. It pops off the spacers.
Date published: 2012-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from it’s very practical and functions well for my needs ASSEMBLY The shelf arrived scratch free, very well packaged and required a 10 minutes tool free assembly. Even if you have never assembled a shelf before, you will have absolutely no problem putting it together. Just connect the poles, attach the sleeves and slide the shelves in and finally adjust the legs if need be, super simple. My basement floor was a bit uneven and I was easily able to balance it by adjusting the levelers. DIMENSIONS It comes with 4 shelves, all same size. Fully assembled dimensions are: Height of storage unit: 54 ¾ inches Shelf width: 35 ½ inches Shelf depth: 13 ¾ inches If you set all four shelves at an equal distance then the gap between each shelf will be 15 inches. GENERAL OBSERVATIONS It’s not heavy at all and can be easily moved around. Construction is solid steel with white paint. Overall finish is nice. I really like how easily I can adjust the height of shelves by removing the shelves and adjusting the sleeves to desired height. Now if you want to place objects that are taller than 15 inches then you can remove one shelf completely and use only three shelves. In that scenario, I would recommend one shelf at the bottom, 2nd shelf 15 inches below the top shelf and then the top shelf. This way you will have 30 inches of height between the bottom shelf and the second last from top. USAGE I have been using it in my basement to store some boxes on it that were sitting around on the floor. I was able to place small to large sized boxes in it without hassle. Floor looks clutter free and my boxes are easily reachable if need be. Not only its functional for basement and garage storage, you can in fact bring it in your décor and place books, toys, picture frames etc. on it. All in all, it’s very practical and functions well for my needs. I highly recommend it.
Date published: 2015-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great price for a food grade storage unit. Works great! I needed storage for my beer making supplies--buckets, glass carboys, etc. This unit fit the bill perfectly. I also got the rollers so that I could easily move the unit when needed (I recommend getting the wheels if you know you're going to have to move the shelf...they're easy to install). Bottom line--I would highly recommend this shelving unit to anyone looking for an efficient, light-weight, easy to assemble, storage solution that holds over 300 lbs. I'm seriously considering purchasing more units for other storage needs in my basement.
Date published: 2011-06-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Appearance is nice, offers ample storage and requires no maintenance This shelf came nicely packaged and required an easy 10 minutes tool-less assembly. All four legs have level adjusters that allows each leg to be independent leveled on uneven floor. The material is solid steel and then painted over in white color which makes it rust resistant. With white finish, not only you can use it in garage or basement but can also use in the living area to place décor. The plastic tabs that lock each end of the shelf in place are a bit flimsy and slide out of place easily during assembly. I think it’s due to very thin grooves on the poles where these tabs are supposed to lock themselves in. So when you slide the shelves into the poles, hold the plastic tabs from the bottom until the shelf is in place. That’s what worked for me. Once shelf corners are locked in place, then they sit nice and tight. Fully assembled shelf is not too heavy and can easily be moved around by a single person. You will be lifting it though since it does not have any casters. It comes with 4 shelves and the height between the shelves can be easily adjusted without any tools. You don’t have to mount all four shelves. Three shelves would do fine too but then place them at equal distance so that the poles are evenly secured. Overall, the appearance is nice, offers ample storage and requires no maintenance at all.
Date published: 2015-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have had my shelving for at least 4 months now. It sure was a good purchase. I love all of th... I have had my shelving for at least 4 months now. It sure was a good purchase. I love all of the room it gives you and I even have the top row empty. It holds a lot and I love that it can hold a lot of weight on each shelf. It is more than I expected it to be. Also easy to put together.
Date published: 2016-12-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from versitile Wasn't too hard to assemble, although some of the black supports for the shelves did not want to stay in place. Luckily had some from other shelved on hand. Do wish Home Depot sold individual shelves as with the way I spaced I could use another shelf.
Date published: 2016-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Seems very solid I have no complaints about this shelving unit. Put it together by myself fairly easily. I'm confident in its ability to hold a decent amount of heavy items. Just has a really solid feel to it and looks really well built for the price.
Date published: 2016-08-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for $40 Product was easy to assemble and seems well constructed. Not flimsy at all. it would be really nice if they sold the shelf components by themselves so you could add to this product and make it a 5+ shelf unit.
Date published: 2016-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Open Pantry Great product! It's easy to assemble and has adjustable shelving height. This shelving unit fulfilled all my needs for extra kitchen storage. It is functional and stylish!!!
Date published: 2015-03-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Unit! I used this in my laundry room to fit all of my kids games. It is very sturdy and fits alot of items! Very easy to put together as well!
Date published: 2013-03-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I ordered three shelves of a special color. They arrived timely. The instructions are simple an... I ordered three shelves of a special color. They arrived timely. The instructions are simple and the product is a great design for simplicity of assembly. However, the three shelves I received are like night and day. On one shelves the welds were so poor that the shelf was coming apart before I put any thing on it. Another shelf the cross bars were warped or bent. The third shelf was just fine. But I suppose for the 60 dollar price they will be adequate. I put my stereo on the them with thin plywood supporting strips so that the weight would be totally born by the heavier outside frames. The load bearing smaller diameter pieces of metal are welded on the bottom side of the outer heavier support frames making them susceptible to weld breaks when weight is applied. One shelf had poor quality welds so there were weld breaks before it even came out of the box. So a fix with a small piece of wood wedged in and it is working fine. The problem with replacement parts is it takes so long to arrive. But had the manufacturing defects been avoided at the point of manufacture it would have been rated 5 star. I ordered the ivory white which matches the wall color and they do look nice.
Date published: 2016-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Storage unit Great product! This is my second one. Easy to assemble.
Date published: 2016-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I needed for storage This shelf storage unit is fast and easy to put together, looks great and provides an excellent way of organizing boxes and bins in my art studio. I got two of them, set up side by side and they look attractive while creating a less cluttered look in my space.
Date published: 2014-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a very stable shelf. I am using this shelf for my Tv,cable box, dvd player and recorder plus other items. I was quite pleased with the size and durable type casters which allows the shelf to move very easily, even for a disable person.
Date published: 2011-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love ,love ,love these shelves for organizing the house ... Looks nice around the ho... Love ,love ,love these shelves for organizing the house ... Looks nice around the house . NOW IN COLORS too... Mine have all been chrome because they didn't have colors. Heavy duty ... YES !! You can add wheels for easy moving for cleaning . Yes ...... Well worth the $$. And they have come down in price from when I started buying them... I have 4 of the large ones and buying at least 2 more . PLus I have bought the cart as well. Easy assemble .. 2 people does help make it easier. Just pay attention to the directions and you should not have any issues putting them together :) Very , very happy with this product !!
Date published: 2016-11-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A Few Problems This is indeed a high quality, handsome shelving unit. HOWEVER, the unit I received arrived with a large dent in one pole unit, which made it impossible to assemble. I made a trip to a local Home Depot with the piece, and was able to talk them into replacing it with a pole from a unit they had in stock. If I had not been near a store, I would of needed to find a way to return the 36lb unit. When I returned home, and continued assembling, I found one of the shelves was also bent, but on the edge, so it was mostly cosmetic. I decided to ignore that. Lastly, the unit is slightly larger that 36" wide, so if you are planning to put it in a space, oh say 36 1/4" wide, you may find yourself cursing out loud.
Date published: 2012-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick and they match our white cabinets The HDX “4-Tier Wire Shelf In White” was the perfect solution to our storage and organization need. It is attractive, strong and matches our white cabinets. I have purchased similar shelves from this company before and they were all chrome. The white finish on these shelves is very durable and blends right in. The assembly doesn’t require tools and it is quick. We needed to shorten the shelves by a few inches to custom fit in our cabinet, that was easy to do using a hack saw. Each leg has easily adjustable screw fitting to level your shelves. It comes in a flat box with easy to follow instructions and a Limited 1 Year Warranty.
Date published: 2015-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great shelf unit for in the home office The shelf unit was a breeze to assemble. It comes with four 35" & four 19" tubular steel leg pieces that are joined with threaded adapters to make the entire assembled unit 54" high. However I only needed the unit to be 36" high max so this was a perfect fit for under the end of my drawing machine table. The unique design of its shelf support system allows the end user to customize space between shelves in 1 inch increments. This very flexible design for spacing between shelves can easily be readjusted in the future without the use of tools. The chrome finished product looks smart & modern in appearance. It easily holds many heavy books, binders & heavy boxed printing supplies. After shopping around at warehouse and office supply stores I found this unit on sale at HD & consider it an excellent value for the price paid.
Date published: 2015-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Home Shelving is Great! I just moved to a very small efficiency apartment. The Perfect Home shelving solves several problems for me - it helps me diivide the room into kitchen and bedroom spaces and provides much-needed extra storage. It is also beautiful, so it adds a lot to a very plain, boring space. Great product!
Date published: 2010-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality This shelf has a nice industrial feel to it. Not only is it strong and sturdy, the finish itself feels similar to a spray-on pickup truck bedliner. If you don't know what that is - it's a durable, coarse finish. Assembly was easy - the supports are only 2 pieces each. You just screw them together, then put shelves on like you would most other shelves - there are plastic sleeves you put on the poles then slide each shelf on. Once upright, adjust the feet if necessary so it sits flat and doesn't wobble. The finished product feels very strong. It is great for our basement storage needs.
Date published: 2016-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sturdy and Customizable Height These are great shelves for the price. Easy to assemble, and easy to cut down to custom size with a pipe cutter. Used 2 of these for a deep space under the basement stairs - one on legs against the wall, and one on wheels in front of it so it can be moved to access the back stationary one. Had to take a few inches off the height of the front one to accommodate the wheel height. Just removed the top caps on each leg, cut down with a pipe cutter, and replaced the caps for a custom height with no signs of the alteration.
Date published: 2016-11-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The off whilte shelves are very attractive They are very nice. I love the off white color. They don't seem quite as sturdy or heavy duty as our older chrome shelves of the same brand. But that could be because the shelves aren't as deep. I would be cautious about putting them in a nursery or young child's room. They have the possibility of tipping forward if pulled on or climbed. The wheel package that we purchased to go with the shelves work great. The entire assembly including the wheels is relatively easy. They have the packing and parts down to a science and the directions are easy to follow. One nice note. With the additional big wheels installed the shelves will roll right into a moving truck. As long as they keep producing them in the off white, I will certainly add more of the same product when and if I have a need for more shelving.
Date published: 2016-07-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Drill and screw needed for a 5 star. Marketing is one thing but to have in hand is the real thing. The finish that the factory sprayed on looks tough, rough and it is thick so the great idea for wedge shape sleeves to hold the shelves should do it but the grooves in the corner pole uprights are not as prominent as before the finished paint job which hinders the wedges from gripping or settling in the groove to hold tight. I did have a hard time putting together and I needed a ruler because wedges moved, weren’t level and passed the groove until wedged tight. Shelving is super heavy duty but the corner poles resemble 3/4“cheap curtain rod thickness. Each pole has a screw leveling adjuster on floor end. Real junky looking to have on hard wood floors with expensive showoff pieces on it, there is stamping on the corners of the shelves “HDX”, the finish is a rough fiberized matte black finish. It could use a self-tapping screw in each corner of the sleeves for a fixed setting (on the inside). I then would trust this to hold a lot of weight. 2 stars, I’ll have to drill and screw to make a 5 star. Not suitable for damp locations. Pick up at the store, this was not packed well for shipment, scratched and bent thread insert end, see pictures for all visuals.
Date published: 2016-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super, Versatile Chrome Shelving Very good, durable quality. Easy to assemble. I purchased the set of locking wheels to provide mobility, and am finding it very useful. I highly recommend. The shelves were on sale when I purchased them, so the pricing was fairly decent. However, the set of 4 wheel casters weren't on sale - they are $20.00/set of 4 ... adds up. But are of very good quality. Again, pleased with overall purchases.
Date published: 2016-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from strong, easily assembled, great price, adjustable using this to organize fabric bins and other sewing supplies...very strong, easily assembled, great price, easily adjustable in 1" increments...hint: assemble first shelf by placing shelf on its side and inserting legs.
Date published: 2013-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from a solid product A study product that has helped me organize my garage.
Date published: 2014-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very easy to assemble I've put together other products very similar to this one and man were they a pain.. this one is different only in that the plastic pieces have little grooves that show where the metal lines correlate. That makes assembling so much easier in my opinion... easy to assemble and not that heavy to move but stores all my garage stuff needs
Date published: 2015-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Aesthetically pleasing This shelf compliments my computer room. The Ivory color accents its smooth lines. This shelf does not portray a heavy gauge appearance whatsoever. It is sturdy. I have shelving in my garage, not the same color but made to the same tolerances. This Ivory accent would get beat up right away with my heavy weekend chores. This color is not be for high traffic tools placements, unless you really don't mind. The tapered sleeves may slip to the next groove. This is because some sleeves do not clip entirely over the groove section by hand. But having a helper assist in the assembly, the sleeves can be kept in place by hand as the shelf is slid down the poles. This is no biggy, once the sleeve and shelf mate, the sleeve is squeeze with a little force, no need to pound with brute force.
Date published: 2016-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect product I went and got this unit after reading other reviews and comparing several products on several different web sites. I needed a shelving unit to put in a closet to hold magazines, books and my husbands fishing equipment. It is quick and easy to asemble-basically fool proof. Manufacturer recommmends that it be set on a soft surface such as a rug. It is sturdy, shelf heights are adjustable and there are no tools involved. It holds up to 1500lbs which I am no where near but is handy depending on your needs. Only issue was it has wire shelves and items could slip through, I simply used an old card board box to line shelves. I would highly recommend this product.
Date published: 2010-03-27
  • y_2017, m_6, d_23, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_525
  • loc_, sid_100656306, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 253ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT