Model # 6T60184872C

Internet #100655787

Store SKU #525441

HDX 48 in. W x 72 in. H x 18 in. D Decorative Wire Chrome Finish Commercial Shelving Unit
0034886002674

HDX

48 in. W x 72 in. H x 18 in. D Decorative Wire Chrome Finish Commercial Shelving Unit

  • Easy, no-tools assembly
  • Durable chrome finish with adjustable shelves and legs
  • Highly rated for functionality and design (see reviews)
$99.97 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

This easy-to-assemble Decorative Wire Chrome Finish Commercial Shelving Unit from HDX provides sturdy storage space for any room and purpose including commercial, industrial and residential use. The 6-tier shelving unit is made of tubular steel and wires coated with a durable chrome finish. All shelf heights are easily adjustable, and the unit can be assembled without any tools. Each shelf holds up to 600 lbs. when evenly distributed and features a total unit weight capacity of 3600 lbs. for optimal use in kitchens, pantries, utility rooms, warehouses and garages.

  • Each shelf supports 600 lbs. when evenly distributed; total unit weight capacity is 3600 lbs.
  • No tools required for easy assembly
  • Tubular steel construction with durable chrome finish offers solid support for a variety of heavy-duty items
  • Perfect storage solution for commercial or residential use in any room, office or job site
  • 6 fully adjustable shelves and legs help stabilize unit on uneven flooring
  • NSF certified for food storage
  • Note: product may vary by store

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

does this unit comes with wheels?

Asked by: connie
This is regarding the capacity reduction when the unit is used with casters, addressed by other comments. Whether any capacity rating reduction is due to the caster rating itself, shelving unit stability, or some other reason; exceeding it is not a good idea. People could get seriously hurt if one of these bad boys fell over on them, even with relatively light shelf loading. It should also be noted that industrial casters like these are intended to be used on specific surfaces, such as hard floors or softer flooring or carpeting, and inappropriate use could cause tipovers to be more likely. If the capacity is an issue and you are in doubt, check with the vender (home depot in this case) or manufacturer. Also, it should be noted that numerous other casters are doubtless available online from caster manufacturers themselves if needed.
Answered by: setha2z
Date published: 2017-03-16

how much does the box and unit weigh? can I lift it to put it in my suv?

Asked by: jace
My sister and I bought 4 units. We are both in our 60's. We could carry one unit a short distance if we each took an end. The unit and the box are about 65 lbs but the box is ~ 4 foot by 18 inches and rather awkward to carry by yourself. Once we had it at home, wae tore open the box and carried it unassembled to out area of set up. Without wheels the unit can hold ~ 600 lbs per shelf we are told. However, if you add the wheels the whole unit can only carry 600 lbs. Hope this helps. We love our units and did put it on wheels.
Answered by: so
Date published: 2017-04-19

Anchored or Stand-Alone

Does this unit stand alone without any other support, or does it require anchors? I'm looking for shelving capable of standing alone. I've purchased other industrial shelving, 72 X 24, steel and wood interlocking, yet they required cobbling together and cross-braces. Really don't want to waste a wall on these if at all possible. Free standing would be great.
Asked by: PasturePauline
PasturePauline, Yes, these will definitely stand alone. Ours are not anchored. We have even put casters on them. Just don't climb on them, :o) Patricia Hynson
Answered by: misspea
Date published: 2017-02-21

I don't need 6 shelves, can I just assemble 3 shelves? Thanks.

Asked by: peggy
yes you can assemble less shelves. I actually did that when I bought the unit, only used a couple of the shelves. You can only put three shelves if you want to . One in the middle, and one at each end.
Answered by: carnini
Date published: 2016-09-21
  • y_2017, m_4, d_21, h_23CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_206
  • loc_, sid_100655787, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 14ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

48 in. W x 72 in. H x 18 in. D Decorative Wire Chrome Finish Commercial Shelving Unit is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 1121.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product Purchased 40 of the 6 shelf carts and added the caster wheels. Using them for parts caddies in a body shop. They are sturdy and can hold all the weight needed. Easy to put together. We put together 40 in about 4 hours including the wheels. Adding the wheels makes it easy to move them from shop to shop on asphalt and concrete. We added some attachments we needed and they work great. Other carts from body shop equipment suppliers range from $375 to $750. This cost aprox $125 with wheels and all the attachments. We also found that if we take 3 carts to make 2 double wide carts and we are able to store hoods and larger parts. See the attached photos.
Date published: 2016-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The shelf hold some serious weight! I needed a shelf, and fast! My canned produce was taking up all my counterspace. My requirements: installs quickly and easily, carries a lot of weight and holds a lot of jars. I had this assembled in less than 20 minutes and spent an additional 10 minutes securing all the shelves to studs. Assembly was so easy! I'm elated to have my counters back and there's still room for more canning. And check out my picture...this shelf is STRONG! I love the clean lines and professional industrial look.
Date published: 2016-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well worth the money! I bought this shelf midsummer to hold all my canning items. I needed something that would hold a significant amount of weight as full jars of food are heavy. Each shelf holds 600 pounds for a total of 3600 pounds! I don't have that much on there but it is good to know that it has such a high capacity. I ended up canning so much that I needed a second shelf. I went and bought a second one a couple of weeks ago and am very satisfied with my purchases.
Date published: 2016-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These are sturdy wire shelving units that are easy to put together - although I don't know why th... These are sturdy wire shelving units that are easy to put together - although I don't know why they're called "Decorative". I also picked up the casters for this rack, again another nice product. Hopefully the wheels don't flatten out. The hardest part was locating a box at my local store that wasn't all torn apart - this was the only one. I wish the stock folks would take better care of their products. This isn't the first time this happened.
Date published: 2016-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product is easy to assemble and is very solid. We bought two units to use in our garage abou... This product is easy to assemble and is very solid. We bought two units to use in our garage about three years ago. When we needed additional storage, we decided to buy another unit. The old ones looks just as good as the new one. They are quite durable in different temperatures in our garage.
Date published: 2017-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very similar to ContainerStore Metro shelving - except less than... Very similar to ContainerStore Metro shelving - except less than half the price! Assembly is easy. I have several units in my garage and they are entirely worth it. I also have a Metro or two in house: they are a little bit nicer in close examination, but who is looking in the garage!
Date published: 2017-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very strong, commercial-grade wore shelving! I'm very impressed with this storage shelf. My closet looks much more organized and neat. The unit was pretty easy to assemble. I did it all by myself and I am petite 5'3" 105 lbs and not a DIYer AT ALL!! I highly recommend this shelving unit!
Date published: 2016-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Product! Transformed my old dining room into a pantry and these shelves are fantabulous! Very easy to put together and move around and very sturdy. I also have some in my laundry room and they are awesome as well. Will transform my shop pretty soon and these shelves will be wall to wall!
Date published: 2016-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these shelves have them in my kitchen already and storage room the 3 shelves we just recentl... Love these shelves have them in my kitchen already and storage room the 3 shelves we just recently purchased are going in the garage. Easy to assemble and with the 600lbs capacity these are very durable with no sagging.
Date published: 2017-02-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from While these shelves are sturdy, you will probably end up with an extra shelf if you are using the... While these shelves are sturdy, you will probably end up with an extra shelf if you are using them in a typical garage or basement height. I see many questions from people who are asking where they can purchase extra poles because they have extra shelves. Many questions, not very good answers, if any. If you have four sets of shelves, that is four extra shelves and no solution for their use so they will either take up space or go in the trash. Shame on Home Depot for not offering additional poles for purchase to make use of extra shelves. So while these shelves are good on quality and value, they definitely are wasteful.
Date published: 2017-01-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Happy with the shelving, holding up well. We are using to organize bulk household purchases ( Pa... Happy with the shelving, holding up well. We are using to organize bulk household purchases ( Paper Products, can goods, ) and seldom used kitchen items (Large Crock Pot, Canning Equip, etc). Went to together easily. My only complaint is the shelving support is a hard plastic coupler on which the shelf sits on, the weight of the shelf compress the fitting, creating a snug fit. There are groves in the legs for the coupler to attache, not always easy to get them lined up and the shelf on correctly, four hands make the project much simpler. Good unit all in all.
Date published: 2017-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best shelves in my garage! These shelving units are so worth their price! I have 3 of them in my garage and bought one for my son for his house. I am an older woman on my own and I love them because they are sturdy, hold a lot and are easy to move around. My housemate and I assembled them ourselves, although it does take two people to keep the poles and shelves balanced while assembling. I prefer creating only five shelves in order to fit larger boxes in the spaces. However, I use the sixth shelf on the floor of the garage to keep things like suitcases off the cement. I am in love with these shelves!
Date published: 2016-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have two of these. The first I assembled myself a year ago ... I'm 5' 3", 110 lbs, and over 70,... I have two of these. The first I assembled myself a year ago ... I'm 5' 3", 110 lbs, and over 70, but a bit of a handywoman, so it's possible, but not recommended. With another pair of hands, it was easy and assembly took little more than an hour ... Sliding the shelves over the assembled posts was simple with a pair of hands on each end of a shelf. Directions are clear, but pay close attention to the up arrows on the shelf supports, and shelf spacing ... know heights of boxes or items you want to store. I did not need to use the leveling feature. The assembled shelves look nice and are very sturdy. Great to be able to see stored items, and have easy access to them, rather than awkward piles on the floor. Very pleased, may get a third unit!
Date published: 2016-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent units, very sturdy and stable. I just put five of these units in my garage. They're st... Excellent units, very sturdy and stable. I just put five of these units in my garage. They're sturdy and stable -- the legs have a screw adjustment at the bottom to get things level -- and they're easy to put together. Assembly is possible by one person but easier with two. Ignore the instructions to assemble the vertical supports first -- it's easier to add the first one or two shelves using only the bottom halves of the vertical supports before attaching the top halves. The only tool we needed was a good rubber mallet to bang the shelves down to seat them properly. You should carefully plan out how far apart you want the shelves before you start assembly. It's possible to make changes in shelf height after assembly but that's a hassle you probably don't need.
Date published: 2017-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I don't have much of a pantry, and needed some shelving space! This unit did the trick. It is v... I don't have much of a pantry, and needed some shelving space! This unit did the trick. It is very easy to assemble. So much so, my 13 year old twins did it all by themselves! The construction is very sturdy....and the shelves are very strong. I am very happy with my purchase. I did have to take part of it back to the store...because the poles screw together, and one of ours was stripped. I was able to return just the damaged part without lugging the entire unit back to the store. I was very happy about that!
Date published: 2017-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect size for my project, parts were easy to identify and put together. The stability of the s... Perfect size for my project, parts were easy to identify and put together. The stability of the shelving unit is really good, much better than I expected. I'm planning to purchase a second unit for another project here at my house. I've already told quite a few friends about the unit, and how easy it was to get it out of the box, put together, and standing against the wall. I would strongly suggest attaching it to a wall to prevent any harm if a child were to try to climb on it, or in the event of an earthquake.
Date published: 2017-04-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from All of this wire shelving, whether from the name-brand like InterMetro or this generic brand, is ... All of this wire shelving, whether from the name-brand like InterMetro or this generic brand, is about the same. I don't love the two-piece plastic sleeve shelf brackets. It always seems that I can't get the shelf fully seated on it, or that it gets jammed down on there so firmly that it will never come off. But, they haven't failed me yet, so I can't really complain. There's not a whole lot I can say about this product - I put it in a closet to hold my musical gear. I'll probably never approach the huge weight limit it claims to have. I expect it will last a very, very long time. Obviously you can't store small parts on a shelf like this because it has large gaps between the wires. I wish they offered this shelving in a few different sizes, for example 48" width x 18" depth.
Date published: 2017-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Shelving units I have used a lot of the plastic shelving that is rated at high load weights but they all have eventually failed me and broken under loads. This shelving is more stable the heavier the load. Its rated load is actually not an exaggeration and wont disappoint. Lastly, the spacing between shelves can be any amount of space you want in order to customize the storage need of your stuff. Yes, they are 40.00 more than the high load rated plastic stuff is, but this shelving unit will literally never fail you.
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have purchased 7 of these HDX 48x72xx18" units to place in an extra room in my house to be used... I have purchased 7 of these HDX 48x72xx18" units to place in an extra room in my house to be used for storage. Everyone that visits me checks out the room and gets so excited about my pantry. They all want one like it. I am so excited. I live in a small home, but I now have room for all my extra dishes, my large pots, my catering supplies, and my canned and can goods. I love this room, and these shelves are so sturdy that there is no fear at all that they will buckle or fall over.
Date published: 2017-01-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I was being extremely careful putting this together but there was a slight tilt to the shelf's no... I was being extremely careful putting this together but there was a slight tilt to the shelf's no matter what I did. I took it completely apart after it was assembled to try & correct it. I put all 4 polls next to each other 2 were exactly the same. The other 2 had slight variations in the lines where the brackets sat on. So I couldn't resolve the the titl. Very disappointed, I could've purchased 2 plastic shelves sets for the price & assembled them I halve the time.
Date published: 2016-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wire Chrome Finish Commercial Shelping Unit Love this shelving system. Fits in our laundry room and allowed me to empty cabinets in the kitchen of large dishes and small appliances that I only use occasionally. Wish I had room for one more but then I would have to toss the ironing board..hmmm now there is an idea. Price was a bit high but it is good quality and made to hold heavy loads. Probably on sale at some point but not when I needed it. Highly recommend it and easy to assemble.
Date published: 2016-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These shelving units are not only a great looking unit but are stronging then they look, Easy to ... These shelving units are not only a great looking unit but are stronging then they look, Easy to put together but I really think they should have come with wheels, I bought some fdrom your store and I have to say they made all the difference, Now they are the perfect unit, easy to move around and my goush they really hold alot of things, I can't say enough about them. best shelving units I have ever bought, TOM F. MILWAUKEE, WISCONSIN
Date published: 2017-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from There are many versions of these shelving units out there. This was the HD version and was on sal... There are many versions of these shelving units out there. This was the HD version and was on sale. Assembly is easy and the finish was good. The rollers are mandatory in order to move the shelves around. My entire basement is moving to these units to make it easy to clean and paint. I had to shorten the height so it would clear pipes and joists, but that took only a few minutes with a hack saw.
Date published: 2016-10-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from This is good for home storage but not heavy enough for commercial purposes. The low score is for... This is good for home storage but not heavy enough for commercial purposes. The low score is for poor construction. The wire is welded on the all sides of each shelf and the welding has left tiny burs. These are very small and can break off under the skin.(which is what happened). Each shelf had one to three of these burs and they can't be seen. You have to feel very slowly. BECARFUL.
Date published: 2016-10-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is actually a very strong shelf and it can hold considerable weight. The shipping container ... This is actually a very strong shelf and it can hold considerable weight. The shipping container quite heavy so we opted for home delivery. The only reason it does not get the 5th star is that the box contains a number of washer-like objects that the instructions fail to mention and although we put the shelf together and are using it, we still have no idea where or how they might be used.
Date published: 2016-11-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I'm mostly happy with these shelves. They are solid, and were easy to assemble. My only issue i... I'm mostly happy with these shelves. They are solid, and were easy to assemble. My only issue is out of 4 units purchased, 2 were damaged. (but usable) They were for work purposes, so I didn't pursue replacements; plus it probably would have required me to contact the manufacturer. I miss the days when you could get help from the store you purchased the item from.
Date published: 2017-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have purchased several of these shelving units and they work very well. The first time I put on... I have purchased several of these shelving units and they work very well. The first time I put one together took some sorting out (I didn't realize the bushings separating the racks while in the package are meant to be discarded) but then they went together easily. This is a very clever design, holds a lot of material, and is easy to adjust. Well done!
Date published: 2017-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great shelf system. This was my third purchase. I always add the caster kit for versatility. Perf... Great shelf system. This was my third purchase. I always add the caster kit for versatility. Perfect for garage storage or commercial applications. Standard shelf dividers snap right on. I wish there were clip on label holders to fit these shelves. Those designed for Metro style are too tall to clip on. I would recommend this product.
Date published: 2017-02-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Shelves I am a 58 yr.old grandma. I assembled this shelf myself. It took me a while but I got it done. Near completion, I noticed one of the poles had some rust, not much, but I was not about to dismantle and take it back, across town. So now I will have to buy some rust remover before the rust get worse. Other than that I really like it.
Date published: 2016-10-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Glad I bought it This shelf is very easy to put together. Everything fits well. The quality of the shelving is excellent. It is very sturdy and holds a lot. I am using it in my basement to store kitchen items that don't fit in my small kitchen. The larger size is just what I needed. It looks great. Worth the money.
Date published: 2017-01-31
  • y_2017, m_4, d_22, h_5
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_1121
  • loc_, sid_100655787, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 100ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT