Model # 6T60184872C

Internet #100655787

Store SKU #525441

HDX 48 in. W x 72 in. H x 18 in. D Decorative Wire Chrome Finish Commercial Shelving Unit
0034886002674

HDX

48 in. W x 72 in. H x 18 in. D Decorative Wire Chrome Finish Commercial Shelving Unit

  • Easy, no-tools assembly
  • Durable chrome finish with adjustable shelves and legs
  • Highly rated for functionality and design (see reviews)
$89.97 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

This easy-to-assemble Decorative Wire Chrome Finish Commercial Shelving Unit from HDX provides sturdy storage space for any room and purpose including commercial, industrial and residential use. The 6-tier shelving unit is made of tubular steel and wires coated with a durable chrome finish. All shelf heights are easily adjustable, and the unit can be assembled without any tools. Each shelf holds up to 600 lbs. when evenly distributed and features a total unit weight capacity of 3600 lbs. for optimal use in kitchens, pantries, utility rooms, warehouses and garages.

  • Each shelf supports 600 lbs. when evenly distributed; total unit weight capacity is 3600 lbs.
  • No tools required for easy assembly
  • Tubular steel construction with durable chrome finish offers solid support for a variety of heavy-duty items
  • Perfect storage solution for commercial or residential use in any room, office or job site
  • 6 fully adjustable shelves and legs help stabilize unit on uneven flooring
  • NSF certified for food storage
  • Note: product may vary by store

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

does this unit comes with wheels?

Asked by: connie
This is regarding the capacity reduction when the unit is used with casters, addressed by other comments. Whether any capacity rating reduction is due to the caster rating itself, shelving unit stability, or some other reason; exceeding it is not a good idea. People could get seriously hurt if one of these bad boys fell over on them, even with relatively light shelf loading. It should also be noted that industrial casters like these are intended to be used on specific surfaces, such as hard floors or softer flooring or carpeting, and inappropriate use could cause tipovers to be more likely. If the capacity is an issue and you are in doubt, check with the vender (home depot in this case) or manufacturer. Also, it should be noted that numerous other casters are doubtless available online from caster manufacturers themselves if needed.
Answered by: setha2z
Date published: 2017-01-23

how much does the box and unit weigh? can I lift it to put it in my suv?

Asked by: jace
My sister and I bought 4 units. We are both in our 60's. We could carry one unit a short distance if we each took an end. The unit and the box are about 65 lbs but the box is ~ 4 foot by 18 inches and rather awkward to carry by yourself. Once we had it at home, wae tore open the box and carried it unassembled to out area of set up. Without wheels the unit can hold ~ 600 lbs per shelf we are told. However, if you add the wheels the whole unit can only carry 600 lbs. Hope this helps. We love our units and did put it on wheels.
Answered by: so
Date published: 2016-12-29

Anchored or Stand-Alone

Does this unit stand alone without any other support, or does it require anchors? I'm looking for shelving capable of standing alone. I've purchased other industrial shelving, 72 X 24, steel and wood interlocking, yet they required cobbling together and cross-braces. Really don't want to waste a wall on these if at all possible. Free standing would be great.
Asked by: PasturePauline
PasturePauline, Yes, these will definitely stand alone. Ours are not anchored. We have even put casters on them. Just don't climb on them, :o) Patricia Hynson
Answered by: misspea
Date published: 2017-02-21

I don't need 6 shelves, can I just assemble 3 shelves? Thanks.

Asked by: peggy
yes you can assemble less shelves. I actually did that when I bought the unit, only used a couple of the shelves. You can only put three shelves if you want to . One in the middle, and one at each end.
Answered by: carnini
Date published: 2016-09-21
  • y_2017, m_2, d_27, h_24CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_197
  • loc_, sid_100655787, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 61ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

48 in. W x 72 in. H x 18 in. D Decorative Wire Chrome Finish Commercial Shelving Unit is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 1026.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The shelf hold some serious weight! I needed a shelf, and fast! My canned produce was taking up all my counterspace. My requirements: installs quickly and easily, carries a lot of weight and holds a lot of jars. I had this assembled in less than 20 minutes and spent an additional 10 minutes securing all the shelves to studs. Assembly was so easy! I'm elated to have my counters back and there's still room for more canning. And check out my picture...this shelf is STRONG! I love the clean lines and professional industrial look.
Date published: 2016-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Solution Sturdy, good quality, great looking set of shelves! For temporary living quarters, I condensed my essential things into one large room that has no closets. Also added a great expandable clothes rack from Home Depot. Together, my closet deficits were solved. The shelves are big enough to handle everything from linens, small appliances, toiletry storage to water and coffee carafes - and so much more. My behind-the-door-type shoe organizer neatly attached to one end of the shelves. Things looks neat and well organized.
Date published: 2016-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 30 Amazing Years! I bought my first set of these back in 1991 because I was tired of the particle wood shelving units collapsing over time, or just sagging. I came home one night to find my particle wood unit had collapsed and my stereo and tv broken. I bought my first unit in 1991 and still use it to this day! I have bought 5 more because in the military, you had to move many times per year. Easy to assemble and transport. Now, there are add-on hooks, drawers, sectionals, wheels and garment hangers available. Extremely versatile.
Date published: 2016-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These are sturdy wire shelving units that are easy to put together - although I don't know why th... These are sturdy wire shelving units that are easy to put together - although I don't know why they're called "Decorative". I also picked up the casters for this rack, again another nice product. Hopefully the wheels don't flatten out. The hardest part was locating a box at my local store that wasn't all torn apart - this was the only one. I wish the stock folks would take better care of their products. This isn't the first time this happened.
Date published: 2016-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from replacement shelving I bought this unit to replace my existing rack used to hang laundry to dry that I don't put in the dryer. Just put the hangers in the slats on the top shelf. I left off the next 2 shelves so the clothes have room to hang. The next shelf has beach towels, next shelf has extra laundry detergent, cleaners, etc. Very bottom shelf is used for shoes. Best decision buying this product. Very sturdy and at the time, it was a great price!
Date published: 2016-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very strong, commercial-grade wore shelving! I'm very impressed with this storage shelf. My closet looks much more organized and neat. The unit was pretty easy to assemble. I did it all by myself and I am petite 5'3" 105 lbs and not a DIYer AT ALL!! I highly recommend this shelving unit!
Date published: 2016-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Product! Transformed my old dining room into a pantry and these shelves are fantabulous! Very easy to put together and move around and very sturdy. I also have some in my laundry room and they are awesome as well. Will transform my shop pretty soon and these shelves will be wall to wall!
Date published: 2016-05-31
Rated 2 out of 5 by from While these shelves are sturdy, you will probably end up with an extra shelf if you are using the... While these shelves are sturdy, you will probably end up with an extra shelf if you are using them in a typical garage or basement height. I see many questions from people who are asking where they can purchase extra poles because they have extra shelves. Many questions, not very good answers, if any. If you have four sets of shelves, that is four extra shelves and no solution for their use so they will either take up space or go in the trash. Shame on Home Depot for not offering additional poles for purchase to make use of extra shelves. So while these shelves are good on quality and value, they definitely are wasteful.
Date published: 2017-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing, must buy Great shelving for the price. I am a very petite women so the box was too heavy for me to bring in the house but so simple to put together. It's very sturdy once assembled. Holds a lot of weight. I loved it so much I went back for two more and plan on getting a bunch more for the garage and basement. Definitely recommend this product. I purchased decorative fabric storage bins and wood crates and used the three units in my remodeled bedroom. I was very impressed with the look. The cloths I fit on the three units would never fit in any dresser and it was so much more cost efficient then buying a hutch or dresser. For the price grab the unit, you'll love how organized you'll be.
Date published: 2016-09-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Happy with the shelving, holding up well. We are using to organize bulk household purchases ( Pa... Happy with the shelving, holding up well. We are using to organize bulk household purchases ( Paper Products, can goods, ) and seldom used kitchen items (Large Crock Pot, Canning Equip, etc). Went to together easily. My only complaint is the shelving support is a hard plastic coupler on which the shelf sits on, the weight of the shelf compress the fitting, creating a snug fit. There are groves in the legs for the coupler to attache, not always easy to get them lined up and the shelf on correctly, four hands make the project much simpler. Good unit all in all.
Date published: 2017-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A little pricey but well worth it These cost more than most steel storage shelves but their strength and adjustability make them well worth it. Each shelf can hold 600 pounds which means no more sagging shelves when you load them up with canned goods, tools or whatever. You can adjust not only the shelf spacing, but the feet to level them on uneven floors. Assembly is quick and easy without wrenches and screwdrivers, although a hammer or mallet does help to seat the shelves. Great for garage, basement or laundry room. I'll probably buy another one or two if/when I get this one loaded.
Date published: 2016-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best shelves in my garage! These shelving units are so worth their price! I have 3 of them in my garage and bought one for my son for his house. I am an older woman on my own and I love them because they are sturdy, hold a lot and are easy to move around. My housemate and I assembled them ourselves, although it does take two people to keep the poles and shelves balanced while assembling. I prefer creating only five shelves in order to fit larger boxes in the spaces. However, I use the sixth shelf on the floor of the garage to keep things like suitcases off the cement. I am in love with these shelves!
Date published: 2016-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have two of these. The first I assembled myself a year ago ... I'm 5' 3", 110 lbs, and over 70,... I have two of these. The first I assembled myself a year ago ... I'm 5' 3", 110 lbs, and over 70, but a bit of a handywoman, so it's possible, but not recommended. With another pair of hands, it was easy and assembly took little more than an hour ... Sliding the shelves over the assembled posts was simple with a pair of hands on each end of a shelf. Directions are clear, but pay close attention to the up arrows on the shelf supports, and shelf spacing ... know heights of boxes or items you want to store. I did not need to use the leveling feature. The assembled shelves look nice and are very sturdy. Great to be able to see stored items, and have easy access to them, rather than awkward piles on the floor. Very pleased, may get a third unit!
Date published: 2016-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 48 inch x 72 inch decorative wire chrome finish commercial shelving unit - built to last! Very easy to assemble. It is a two person job. No tools necessary. We love the shelves....very sturdy and great with the wheel assembly (extra item to order). The shelving unit rolls smoothly and we use it to hold heavy electronic equipment -- we wanted a sturdy unit, as so much $$ is dependent on the shelving unit to hold that expensive equipment. When you have spent thousands of dollars on equipment -- necessary to have a good unit to move that equipment around from room to room. We like it so much that we are going to buy two more units.
Date published: 2016-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent units, very sturdy and stable. I just put five of these units in my garage. They're st... Excellent units, very sturdy and stable. I just put five of these units in my garage. They're sturdy and stable -- the legs have a screw adjustment at the bottom to get things level -- and they're easy to put together. Assembly is possible by one person but easier with two. Ignore the instructions to assemble the vertical supports first -- it's easier to add the first one or two shelves using only the bottom halves of the vertical supports before attaching the top halves. The only tool we needed was a good rubber mallet to bang the shelves down to seat them properly. You should carefully plan out how far apart you want the shelves before you start assembly. It's possible to make changes in shelf height after assembly but that's a hassle you probably don't need.
Date published: 2017-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Everything I wanted it to be Super strong and sturdy. Feet have levelers for stability. Used to replace useless, shallow, wood shelves in my pantry. Couldn't be happier!
Date published: 2016-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Shelving units I have used a lot of the plastic shelving that is rated at high load weights but they all have eventually failed me and broken under loads. This shelving is more stable the heavier the load. Its rated load is actually not an exaggeration and wont disappoint. Lastly, the spacing between shelves can be any amount of space you want in order to customize the storage need of your stuff. Yes, they are 40.00 more than the high load rated plastic stuff is, but this shelving unit will literally never fail you.
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have purchased 7 of these HDX 48x72xx18" units to place in an extra room in my house to be used... I have purchased 7 of these HDX 48x72xx18" units to place in an extra room in my house to be used for storage. Everyone that visits me checks out the room and gets so excited about my pantry. They all want one like it. I am so excited. I live in a small home, but I now have room for all my extra dishes, my large pots, my catering supplies, and my canned and can goods. I love this room, and these shelves are so sturdy that there is no fear at all that they will buckle or fall over.
Date published: 2017-01-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I was being extremely careful putting this together but there was a slight tilt to the shelf's no... I was being extremely careful putting this together but there was a slight tilt to the shelf's no matter what I did. I took it completely apart after it was assembled to try & correct it. I put all 4 polls next to each other 2 were exactly the same. The other 2 had slight variations in the lines where the brackets sat on. So I couldn't resolve the the titl. Very disappointed, I could've purchased 2 plastic shelves sets for the price & assembled them I halve the time.
Date published: 2016-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wire Chrome Finish Commercial Shelping Unit Love this shelving system. Fits in our laundry room and allowed me to empty cabinets in the kitchen of large dishes and small appliances that I only use occasionally. Wish I had room for one more but then I would have to toss the ironing board..hmmm now there is an idea. Price was a bit high but it is good quality and made to hold heavy loads. Probably on sale at some point but not when I needed it. Highly recommend it and easy to assemble.
Date published: 2016-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from There are many versions of these shelving units out there. This was the HD version and was on sal... There are many versions of these shelving units out there. This was the HD version and was on sale. Assembly is easy and the finish was good. The rollers are mandatory in order to move the shelves around. My entire basement is moving to these units to make it easy to clean and paint. I had to shorten the height so it would clear pipes and joists, but that took only a few minutes with a hack saw.
Date published: 2016-10-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from This is good for home storage but not heavy enough for commercial purposes. The low score is for... This is good for home storage but not heavy enough for commercial purposes. The low score is for poor construction. The wire is welded on the all sides of each shelf and the welding has left tiny burs. These are very small and can break off under the skin.(which is what happened). Each shelf had one to three of these burs and they can't be seen. You have to feel very slowly. BECARFUL.
Date published: 2016-10-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is actually a very strong shelf and it can hold considerable weight. The shipping container ... This is actually a very strong shelf and it can hold considerable weight. The shipping container quite heavy so we opted for home delivery. The only reason it does not get the 5th star is that the box contains a number of washer-like objects that the instructions fail to mention and although we put the shelf together and are using it, we still have no idea where or how they might be used.
Date published: 2016-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have purchased several of these shelving units and they work very well. The first time I put on... I have purchased several of these shelving units and they work very well. The first time I put one together took some sorting out (I didn't realize the bushings separating the racks while in the package are meant to be discarded) but then they went together easily. This is a very clever design, holds a lot of material, and is easy to adjust. Well done!
Date published: 2017-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great shelf system. This was my third purchase. I always add the caster kit for versatility. Perf... Great shelf system. This was my third purchase. I always add the caster kit for versatility. Perfect for garage storage or commercial applications. Standard shelf dividers snap right on. I wish there were clip on label holders to fit these shelves. Those designed for Metro style are too tall to clip on. I would recommend this product.
Date published: 2017-02-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Shelves I am a 58 yr.old grandma. I assembled this shelf myself. It took me a while but I got it done. Near completion, I noticed one of the poles had some rust, not much, but I was not about to dismantle and take it back, across town. So now I will have to buy some rust remover before the rust get worse. Other than that I really like it.
Date published: 2016-10-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Glad I bought it This shelf is very easy to put together. Everything fits well. The quality of the shelving is excellent. It is very sturdy and holds a lot. I am using it in my basement to store kitchen items that don't fit in my small kitchen. The larger size is just what I needed. It looks great. Worth the money.
Date published: 2017-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product is easy to assemble and is very solid. We bought two units to use in our garage abou... This product is easy to assemble and is very solid. We bought two units to use in our garage about three years ago. When we needed additional storage, we decided to buy another unit. The old ones looks just as good as the new one. They are quite durable in different temperatures in our garage.
Date published: 2017-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from everything I wanted in shelving Exactly as advertised and as others had described: very sturdy, very easy to assemble (especially important for someone as un-handy as I am), very strong, and looks very good too! Amazingly, I saw one only slightly larger yesterday at a different housewares store selling for five times as much -- ! When I asked about that huge difference, they said "there are undoubtedly different features." Well, since I had just assembled this one, I knew this simply wasn't true. So, on top of everything else, this is a great value. In fact, I'm about to buy another one. PS. This rave review is real: I am not on the pay of anyone involved in the making or selling of this product, just an apartment dweller who needs more storage space.
Date published: 2013-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! It's just what I needed!!!! I put it together by myself (but I strongly suggest a second... Love it! It's just what I needed!!!! I put it together by myself (but I strongly suggest a second person since it was doable by myself, but hard to hold the poles by myself.) And have had no problems with heavy items on it! I love that the shelves are adjustable to any height you want!
Date published: 2017-02-01
  • y_2017, m_2, d_26, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_1026
  • loc_, sid_100655787, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 159ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT