Model # 6T60184872C

Internet #100655787

Store SKU #525441

HDX 48 in. W x 72 in. H x 18 in. D Decorative Wire Chrome Finish Commercial Shelving Unit
0034886002674

HDX

48 in. W x 72 in. H x 18 in. D Decorative Wire Chrome Finish Commercial Shelving Unit

  • Easy, no-tools assembly
  • Durable chrome finish with adjustable shelves and legs
  • Highly rated for functionality and design (see reviews)
$99.97 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

This easy-to-assemble Decorative Wire Chrome Finish Commercial Shelving Unit from HDX provides sturdy storage space for any room and purpose including commercial, industrial and residential use. The 6-tier shelving unit is made of tubular steel and wires coated with a durable chrome finish. All shelf heights are easily adjustable, and the unit can be assembled without any tools. Each shelf holds up to 600 lbs. when evenly distributed and features a total unit weight capacity of 3600 lbs. for optimal use in kitchens, pantries, utility rooms, warehouses and garages.

  • Each shelf supports 600 lbs. when evenly distributed; total unit weight capacity is 3600 lbs.
  • No tools required for easy assembly
  • Tubular steel construction with durable chrome finish offers solid support for a variety of heavy-duty items
  • Perfect storage solution for commercial or residential use in any room, office or job site
  • 6 fully adjustable shelves and legs help stabilize unit on uneven flooring
  • NSF certified for food storage
  • Note: product may vary by store

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

does this unit comes with wheels?

Asked by: connie
This is regarding the capacity reduction when the unit is used with casters, addressed by other comments. Whether any capacity rating reduction is due to the caster rating itself, shelving unit stability, or some other reason; exceeding it is not a good idea. People could get seriously hurt if one of these bad boys fell over on them, even with relatively light shelf loading. It should also be noted that industrial casters like these are intended to be used on specific surfaces, such as hard floors or softer flooring or carpeting, and inappropriate use could cause tipovers to be more likely. If the capacity is an issue and you are in doubt, check with the vender (home depot in this case) or manufacturer. Also, it should be noted that numerous other casters are doubtless available online from caster manufacturers themselves if needed.
Answered by: setha2z
Date published: 2017-03-16

how much does the box and unit weigh? can I lift it to put it in my suv?

Asked by: jace
My sister and I bought 4 units. We are both in our 60's. We could carry one unit a short distance if we each took an end. The unit and the box are about 65 lbs but the box is ~ 4 foot by 18 inches and rather awkward to carry by yourself. Once we had it at home, wae tore open the box and carried it unassembled to out area of set up. Without wheels the unit can hold ~ 600 lbs per shelf we are told. However, if you add the wheels the whole unit can only carry 600 lbs. Hope this helps. We love our units and did put it on wheels.
Answered by: so
Date published: 2017-04-19

Anchored or Stand-Alone

Does this unit stand alone without any other support, or does it require anchors? I'm looking for shelving capable of standing alone. I've purchased other industrial shelving, 72 X 24, steel and wood interlocking, yet they required cobbling together and cross-braces. Really don't want to waste a wall on these if at all possible. Free standing would be great.
Asked by: PasturePauline
PasturePauline, Yes, these will definitely stand alone. Ours are not anchored. We have even put casters on them. Just don't climb on them, :o) Patricia Hynson
Answered by: misspea
Date published: 2017-02-21

I don't need 6 shelves, can I just assemble 3 shelves? Thanks.

Asked by: peggy
yes you can assemble less shelves. I actually did that when I bought the unit, only used a couple of the shelves. You can only put three shelves if you want to . One in the middle, and one at each end.
Answered by: carnini
Date published: 2016-09-21
  • y_2017, m_4, d_21, h_23CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_206
  • loc_, sid_100655787, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 20ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

48 in. W x 72 in. H x 18 in. D Decorative Wire Chrome Finish Commercial Shelving Unit is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 1138.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The hardware was missing from the box. I called... The hardware was missing from the box. I called the customer service line and the representative was not helpful and very rude. I ended up buying the hardware on Amazon. It was easier than dealing with Home Depot. I should have checked there first anyways. Much better price for shelving.
Date published: 2017-03-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from This shelf unit was extremely easy to assemblble. The quality... This shelf unit was extremely easy to assemblble. The quality was absolutely the best I've seen for this type product. The manufacturer should be very proud. I purchased the casters separately and they too were simple to install and reasonably priced. Nothing cheap but the price. well done!
Date published: 2017-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The shelves were very quick and easy to assemble and are more than sturdy enough for their intend... The shelves were very quick and easy to assemble and are more than sturdy enough for their intended use. The only assistance I needed from my husband was with the top shelf because I am only 5'2''! We put them in an area where they will be visible and they look much nicer than we expected.
Date published: 2017-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from everything I wanted in shelving Exactly as advertised and as others had described: very sturdy, very easy to assemble (especially important for someone as un-handy as I am), very strong, and looks very good too! Amazingly, I saw one only slightly larger yesterday at a different housewares store selling for five times as much -- ! When I asked about that huge difference, they said "there are undoubtedly different features." Well, since I had just assembled this one, I knew this simply wasn't true. So, on top of everything else, this is a great value. In fact, I'm about to buy another one. PS. This rave review is real: I am not on the pay of anyone involved in the making or selling of this product, just an apartment dweller who needs more storage space.
Date published: 2013-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from If you need heavy duty shelves, buy this to save yourself time, money, hassle, and regret. Holds ... If you need heavy duty shelves, buy this to save yourself time, money, hassle, and regret. Holds plenty of weight, has six shelves (five seems more common), 4' width is very hand, less than $100. Best bang for your buck and I can't think of any downsides. Will last for years and years.
Date published: 2016-11-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Worked but found one better and cheaper Couple days after buyin this shelf I went to Costco. As I was walking around I saw what looked like the same shelf I had bought from hd. I went to check the price and saw that it was five dollars cheaper and had four inch wheels on The bottom. The rest of the shelf looked identical.
Date published: 2017-01-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from HDX wire chrome rack 48x72x18 These are my favorite racks and are a perfect fit for the the 18 gal grey and black storage bins. The racks assemble easily and are plenty strong for all normal in- house and garage storage. The only reason they are not 5-star is they do rust after 3-4 years in a garage environment.
Date published: 2016-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to assemble This shelf was simple to assemble, so simple I didn't need the directions! I also purchased the wheels. It is not heavy duty but ample strength for my purposes. The materials are of quality and excellent workmanship. I will be using it to start seeds then repurpose it in garage.
Date published: 2017-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was the perfect solution to my laundry room. I was able to put the shelves together by myse... This was the perfect solution to my laundry room. I was able to put the shelves together by myself. Word of warning - know what distance you want between the shelves BEFORE you start. It wasn't very easy changing the first two that I did, but again, I was able to do it alone.
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is a high quality consumer shelving unti. The... This is a high quality consumer shelving unti. The assembly is relatively straight forward and requires only a rubber or plastic mallet. Assembly is easier with two people but one can do it. I have purchased several is this type of shelf unit over the years and I like them.
Date published: 2017-01-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sturdy but some shelves warped after unpacking The shelving is not hard to assemble and feels sturdy once the shelves are tapped into place with a rubber mallet. However, 2 of the shelves were warped and had to be hammered with a rubber mallet to straighten. The box did not appear to be damaged so this was surprising.
Date published: 2016-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product met my expectations and needs. I had a number of boxes and job bags around the garag... This product met my expectations and needs. I had a number of boxes and job bags around the garage. I purchased this shelf unit and a set of wheels that now give me better organization and mobility. In addition my wife has more floor space in the garage for her stuff.
Date published: 2016-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from At 72 years old, I was able to assemble this unit by myself. The only help I needed was to put t... At 72 years old, I was able to assemble this unit by myself. The only help I needed was to put the box in my car and for someone to take it out. The most difficult part for me was opening the box. Loved the unit so much I have bought another one. Price was right too.
Date published: 2017-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good, sturdy shelving unit is easy to put together; Says... Good, sturdy shelving unit is easy to put together; Says two people recommended but Idid it myself! No tools required. Bought several of these in different sizes and will buy more for the work room. office and basement. Using these in thegarage and they're great!
Date published: 2017-03-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good quality shelving at a good price. Went together easily.... Good quality shelving at a good price. Went together easily. Box was slightly damaged and couple shelves slightly bent, easy fix with hammer and block. Went in storage room so not concerned about bend but if you put out where people see it check the box over.
Date published: 2017-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy set-up, looks fantastic. Bought several of these to put in our basement. For not much more... Easy set-up, looks fantastic. Bought several of these to put in our basement. For not much more than the standard old steel rack with wood shelves units these look much more amazing. We also like the mesh shelves. keeps things cleaner with no dust build-up.
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Goes together easily, though once together, shelf adjustments can be awkward. We knew where we w... Goes together easily, though once together, shelf adjustments can be awkward. We knew where we wanted them, so that doesn't much matter. We have at least a couple more of these, and they've held up to fair loads for several years now. No complaints.
Date published: 2017-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from would buy it again from Home Depot Easy to assemble, just a hammer to keep the rack in position. For my purpose. As you can see, i've put my racking to good use.
Date published: 2016-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the seventh of this specific shelving unit we have purchased for storage. Very easy to a... This is the seventh of this specific shelving unit we have purchased for storage. Very easy to assemble, versatile shelf arrangements, sturdy and looks good. Holds a lot of things of different sizes. I highly recommend it and it is a good value.
Date published: 2017-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The shelving unit is sturdy. I purchased the wheels to make it easy to move around. The shelves... The shelving unit is sturdy. I purchased the wheels to make it easy to move around. The shelves are plenty deep and wide to hold items and everything is easily visible. I love the commercial chrome finish. Looks fantastic in my laundry room.
Date published: 2017-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Chrome commercial shelving This was the second time I've ordered this shelving. They are so strong and nice looking. They are just as good as others which are much more expensive. Easy to put together with 2 people. I'm more than satisfied. My basement looks so organized!
Date published: 2016-11-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice shelves Easy to assemble. Professional looking. I bought 2 shelf units for our spare room and they seem strong enough to carry pool supplies and storage boxes. 3 shelves were bent from shipping but they function fine and you can't see the dents.
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We bought 3 of these units for our pantry. Assembles very easy and very, very sturdy. The wire me... We bought 3 of these units for our pantry. Assembles very easy and very, very sturdy. The wire mesh shelving allows easy visibility thru shelving and also allows allot of light to see what is there. We should have done this years ago.
Date published: 2017-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to put together. Shelves are totally adjustable so... Easy to put together. Shelves are totally adjustable so it can fit any need. Looks good. Easy to take apart if you need to store it flat. Not too heavy to move around when empty. I use them in my basement and they work very well.
Date published: 2017-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I bought 3 of these to set up my storage room at home. I wanted something that wasn't a permanent... I bought 3 of these to set up my storage room at home. I wanted something that wasn't a permanent built in fixture and could be disassembled and moved if needed. At 80 bucks each, it's a no brainer. Going back today to get 1 more.
Date published: 2017-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect This shelf is perfect for my needs. I set it up as a pantry in my closet. It set up easily and is strong enough that my nephew climbed on top. It is stocked with canned goods, jars, and all the usual pantry stuff, and is amazing.
Date published: 2017-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this shelving unit. Fits perfectly in my laundry room for extra storage. You can set the s... Love this shelving unit. Fits perfectly in my laundry room for extra storage. You can set the shelves for where you need them. I have one large area (shelf) and the rest small which makes it work very efficient for storage.
Date published: 2017-01-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This shelving unit was okay. I would describe it as... This shelving unit was okay. I would describe it as medium-duty. It was easy to assemble, but did not offer a lot of options, when locating the shelves. I ended up using only four, as they were too closely spaced, for my needs.
Date published: 2017-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to assemble. I did it myself, but could have used a second hand, specifically when trying to... Easy to assemble. I did it myself, but could have used a second hand, specifically when trying to put the racks on. Still only took less than 1/2 hour to put together. Was exactly what I was looking for. Very pleased with it.
Date published: 2017-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good shelf. Replaced a broken plastic shelf that collapsed in the work shop. Easy to put together... Good shelf. Replaced a broken plastic shelf that collapsed in the work shop. Easy to put together . Follow the directions and you will have no problems. Very sturdy and holds just about everything you can have in a work shop.
Date published: 2016-11-01
  • y_2017, m_4, d_24, h_4
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_1138
  • loc_, sid_100655787, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 101ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT