Model # 82056-055SR

Internet #202583832

Store SKU #905007

Hampton Bay 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
0609839820560

Hampton Bay

16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light

  • Heavy-duty plastic offers weather resistance
  • Up to eight hours of bright white light
  • Energy-efficient, solar-powered LEDs
$29.97 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

The Hampton Bay 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light is versatile and easy to use, featuring a clear flexible design with 55 super bright white LEDs. Great for accentuating outdoor railings, trellises, walkways and trim, it's also a perfect choice when decorating your deck, balcony and patio umbrella. The rope includes mounting clips and 6 ft. of cord from solar panel to lighted rope for optimal positioning in the sunlight, as well as handy wall or ground mounting hardware for the solar panel.

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

Can additional lengths of rope lighting be added?

Are other brands of rope lighting comparable to this manufacturer product as well?
Asked by: 11B33T
No.
Answered by: szrick
Date published: 2016-12-20

Can we use these rope lights to light up a sign?

Our little church is located on a deserted country road and the entrance is a distance from any electrical source. We are on a low budget but want a sign to provide notice of where to make the turn on the road to the church at night. Will these lights be able to serve the purpose? It is South Texas and usually very sunny during the day. Thank you, Suzie
Asked by: Suzie
Maybe not. The plastic is thick so may not bend well. Better off with solar Christmas type lights, regular wire for this. You can try it. Save your receipt though.
Answered by: Roxy
Date published: 2016-04-08

Rope lights not working, what can I do?

The batteries are fully charged 3.42V each. I have the switch turned to "ON". I have covered the panel to simulate night, but no voltage reading at the output terminal (should be reading about 10 volts?)
Asked by: jobonz
Return it. Needs good sunlight. I mounted the solar panel on a tube so it would get maximum light. worked well.
Answered by: Roxy
Date published: 2016-12-20

What is the diameter of this rope light?

I'd like to cut it into 4 - 4' pieces and assemble with a cross fitting to light a lawn windmill..
Asked by: FrostEOne
about a regular finger width.
Answered by: Roxy
Date published: 2016-04-08
  • y_2017, m_3, d_26, h_14CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_17
  • loc_, sid_202583832, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 22ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 116.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lights work GREAT, just replaced solar batteries after 3 years of continuous use. Lights work GREAT, just replaced solar batteries after 3 years of continuous use.
Date published: 2016-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Solar Rope Lights I put them down both sides of our deck stairs and across the bottom landing. They are very nice and bright. The pictures I included don't show the brightness because of the camera flash. they really light up the steps nicely, a great safety factor. Especially good if a person has low vision. I am a 78 year old female and I installed them myself.
Date published: 2014-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product I purchased two of the solar rope lights to add to my new deck. I was totally amazed at how much light these give off. I have attached them to the railings and then down the edge of the steps. Everyone has loved the way the lights light up the steps and gives off a soft light to the deck. No other lights are needed unless we are having a dining party. These give off a great light for the pool parties so people can easily see but are not bothered by bright light like so many other pools and deck. These are the best solar lights that I have purchased. I'll be getting a few more for the next portion of the deck which is being built now.
Date published: 2013-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy installation and looks great! This rope light provides excellent accent lighting for my outdoor project. Not to be confused with primary lighting (as some previous reviewers suggest), the light may not be bright enough for some purposes. I purchased multiple ropes and installed one on the north side of the house on a long step-down from one patio level to another to light the way for visitors to avoid trips and falls. Only extra effort is extending the wire length to the solar panel to reach a placement for maximum sun exposure. After that, the rope stays lit for at least 4-7 hours (depending on clouds and other variables). If I really need a long lighting duration (for a late party, etc.), I simply install freshly charged batteries earlier in the day and the rope stays lit all night. The rope on the sunny side (south) of the house stays lit all night, every night.
Date published: 2013-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Appeal Normally I am not one to write reviews, but if it will help you decide whether this product is worth buying I will take a few moments to give you my opinion. My wife and I built a redwood deck for our hot tub. I used the lights along a bamboo fence that is four feet off the deck. I was skeptacle that solar would work but since the rope light has a long lead to the panel it was easy to position to get maximum sunlight. We were enjoying a summer night and right at dusk the built in sensor turned them on. We were amazed how bright but quaint the lights were.Great buy
Date published: 2011-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these lights I purchased these lights to put around the edge of a pergola that extends out over our driveway slightly. We glued edging pavers to the driveway and filled in the area with river stones. I wanted to make sure the edge was visible at night but couldn't use any lights that had a stake. This product worked perfectly! We epoxy glued the mounting clips-and a few extras we purchased-to the top of the pavers, let them dry for 24 hours, and then clipped the strand in place. They are holding well, are bright and illuminate the edge well, and stay lit most of the night. I made sure to place the solar panel where it gets sun most of the day, but even on cloudy days I don't notice much of a decrease in the amount of light.
Date published: 2013-08-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor design, battery too small. Good: This light rope is easy to install. The Bad: The tube that holds the lights is not securely sealed so there is a strong risk of failure due to moisture ingress. Mine is cloudy with moisture after only 1 week. But all that matters little since they are trying to power 54 LED's from a single 600mAHr 3.2V cell. The engineering doesn't pencil out, nor does it last longer than 3 hours here in Oregon. Maybe if you only need a few hours of light this would be ok, but they really should have at least used the standard larger 1000mAhr cell.
Date published: 2012-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solar Rope Lights I bought them because I have had them before and I knew Sandy was going to visit us here in Ct. I would put out the rope lights during the day and at night I would bring them in to light up the inside of the house. I laid them out from my kitchen/family room into the bedrooms so we could see where we were going. worked every night until my lights went back on. they are great outside also, where I have my older set woven into the chain link fence in my driveway, they are bright and cover a large area with light. I love them
Date published: 2012-11-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good at first... Bought one rope and installed about 8" from the ground along 8' of steps. Worked great, stayed on through the entire night so we bought a second rope to line the other side of the steps (about 42" away). The two ropes worked great for a couple of weeks and now the first rope is not working. I made sure the panel was clean and replaced the battery. Still not working. I called the customer service number on the USE AND CARE GUIDE and they told me to return to The Home Depot.
Date published: 2016-06-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Less than 2 hrs of light in less than 90 days These lights would be terrific if the batteries had legs but the set I bought, in less than 90 days, wasn't lighting the string for even 2 hours after sundown so I returned them. Not sure if the solar batteries do not hold enough charge or if what I bought just had bad batteries. If it was the latter I'd buy them again but if the former I would not purchase these. You'd be spending a lot replacing batteries too frequently to make these cost-effective.
Date published: 2011-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice accent light. I got this to light a set of stairs. I ran this straight up the side wall, and it fit perfectly, the whole length. It provides just enough light to see each tread. It was perfect for my needs. The charge lasts long enough for our night time use.
Date published: 2013-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent product 2 16' ropes up now for 2 months perfect lights for us - not too bright just right they are still lite up @4am just a ittle dull the only improvement i would suggest is a little more articulation in the panel mounts due to where i had to mount them i cant get one pointed as well as the other to catch the best rays
Date published: 2013-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Buy it! I hung the rope light above my table on the back porch. Perfect lighting for company and visitors while setting outside. Light lasts several hours...doesn't make it through till sunrise. Plenty of clips for hanging and lots of lead wire from the solar collector. Great product!
Date published: 2012-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from quite expensive... but very good.. i used these to outline a deck railing. i am always a little wary of the "home depot" brand (this is their in house brand), and these were relatively expensive when i compared the price of other led solar light strings. but... now that i've had them up and running for about 3 months, i can say they are an excellent set of solar led lights. they are very bright, and they seem to last at least 8 hours / night, charged in the los angeles sun. i have some other rope lights off amazon by flipo, and these flipo lights were less expensive in that they were the same price, but 30 feet long -- so literally half the price. but these latter lights are not nearly as bright as the home depot / hampton bay ones. and i probably would not have even noticed or minded, had i not noticed how much brighter the home depot / hampton bay ones were. plus, on my other sets by flipo (i have 3!), the rechargeable battery (just an AA) died after about 2 months on each (i replaced it with them with sanyo enercell AA's from costco!). the home depot set however, has lasted longer and burns brighter. these home depot / hampton bay lights are definitely priced at a bit of a premium... but they are very good quality and provide nice bright white light. so if you can splurge, do so -- it's expensive but worth it. ;-)
Date published: 2012-10-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 3 years installed & still going strong Two of these lights have been installed on our pergola for almost four years now. They work great, but the installation clips that came with them had to be replaced fairly early on. This didn't affect the light's function, but the screws were too short to get a large enough bite in the wood. The lights give off a great glow for summertime sitting in the yard (when other lights would attract flies), and I am pleased at the durability we've gotten out of our 2 sets. Three years of use at this price definitely gets my five stars.
Date published: 2015-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Light up walkways, decks, retaining walls, etc with Solar Power We built a retaining wall along our back fence and there is no electrical to run electric powered lighting. These were perfect to lightup the base of the wall. They also look great along the edge of the patio. We are also considering lighting up our palm tree trunks with them as well. These would be awesome if they could be innerconnected like the electric ones.
Date published: 2011-07-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Didn't last one month At first, we thought this would be a great solar rope light. The light was bright and strong, lasting through the night. However, it stopped working less than one month after we purchased it.
Date published: 2015-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect I bought two sets of these solar light two or three years ago at our local Home Depot. They work great and are still going. They are installed on the length of my patio and provide just the right amount of light at night to be able to enjoy the stars, but not run into your patio furniture. I wanted another string to run along another deck project, but the store didn't have them. Bought them online and they arrived in a nondescript box marked made in China. The other two were Hampton Bay lights. I don't know if this new unit is the same quality, but it's been working well for a month now.
Date published: 2016-06-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fits the Need Wanted to add some light to a few trees, these solars work perfectly. They give off more light than I anticipated. The solar tubing is protected on both ends with a plastic plug to prevent moisture from entering. The solar battery can be taken on/off the unground stake. There is a long cord connected to the solar battery so that I can set it out in the sun for recharge. Everything I expected.
Date published: 2013-06-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Nice while they lasted. I purchased 2 sets, one in California and one in Colorado. Both sets performed as expected for about a year, then both sets stopped working. New batteries did not bring them back to life.
Date published: 2015-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Bright Light Rope curls like a snake requiring mounting clips, I used black cable ties attaching under circular 44” black patio table with screen mesh top. Light filters through mesh above table. Illuminated rope light is only 10 feet the remaining length of 6 feet is non-illuminated lead wire connects to solar box, which is long enough to place in flower container where it will get sun to recharge solar batteries. Switch under the solar plate has ON/OFF/AUTO. Excellent for this application. Had to place lead wire through large flower container next to table then solar box out of way, so guests walking or sitting would not stumble over the thin wire taking the table, umbrella and flowers to their doom. Solar box can be mounted or stacked in flower container or in ground. Highly Recommend.
Date published: 2012-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Well. I bought two strings for use as "Runway lights" on a retaining wall next to my driveway. It stays lit well past my bedtime after charging on a sunny day. When installing, it is important to make sure that the wire doesn't get pulled out of the thick and heavy outer tube from the panel end. It is hard to get it back in. The panel is hardwired to the led string which makes installation more difficult than if there was a detatchable connector. All in all, the even spacing of the leds, the litium batteries and the pure white light make this an excellent value as a marker system. It is not a good choice for area illumination.
Date published: 2014-12-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Complete Waste of Money We have a bright solar light above each garage door which work beautifully every night no matter how cloudy the day so I didn't even think about our rope lights we ordered from Home Depot not working when we have a cloudy day. Unfortunately, these ropes lights appear to need a lot of sun in order to illuminate. They don't light up our patio on a good day but will illuminate. The illumination is almost still to dark, but truthfully they don't even do that most of the time. We've had to many cloudy days I guess. This tells me what to expect this winter when there's a lot of cloud cover. They also won't stay illuminated at length. They are out by morning before the sun comes up which still defeats their purpose. Again, our lights above the garage door are still bright in the morning so it wasn't expected.
Date published: 2014-10-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not Happy with design Ends are sealed with a soft silicon rubber insert. Heat and cold cause the tubing to change length, and the the end pieces pop of and the LED string works its way out. And then moisture goes into the tube and the lights fail.
Date published: 2014-09-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Replacement battery can't be found This in addition to my previous review. My lights were dimming, so I took out the battery, hoping to replace it. I can't find a replacement anywhere. I emailed Hampton Bay, the manufacturer, and have received no reply. The only thing I can do is tear these out and find some other type to replace them.
Date published: 2013-05-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from 16 ft. Solar led rope light Easy installation product looks great very disappointed no matter how much sunlight lights only for 21/2 half hours. Anyone else own this Solar product? Is there someway to have the lighting last longer?
Date published: 2015-01-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Poor Quality We have now purchased 3 sets of the lighting. Two of the three have failed; not holding a charge and the glass solar panels have fallen out. Taking the product back again and going to try one more time.
Date published: 2016-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Solar lighting This is the fourth set I have purchased. I outlined my patio with them and they have gotten lots of compliments from friends who visited. They were very easy to install and work great.
Date published: 2016-09-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible and Cheap bought these about a month ago and already they have stopped working, they have not been moved around, stepped on or taken any other form of abuse,,,,,, they simply quit working
Date published: 2016-07-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Waste of money and time Bought first one. Didn't charge up after two days. Returned it. Bought second. Wouldn't charge. Lost my receipt on that one. Now I have a solar-nada. Waste of time.
Date published: 2016-06-27
  • y_2017, m_3, d_27, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_116
  • loc_, sid_202583832, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 61ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT