0609839820560

Hampton Bay

Model 82056-055SR

Internet #202583832

Store SKU #905007

16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light

$29.97 /each
  • Heavy-duty plastic offers weather resistance
  • Up to eight hours of bright white light
  • Energy-efficient, solar-powered LEDs

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

The Hampton Bay 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light is versatile and easy to use, featuring a clear flexible design with 55 super bright white LEDs. Great for accentuating outdoor railings, trellises, walkways and trim, it's also a perfect choice when decorating your deck, balcony and patio umbrella. The rope includes mounting clips and 6 ft. of cord from solar panel to lighted rope for optimal positioning in the sunlight, as well as handy wall or ground mounting hardware for the solar panel.

  • Durable plastic construction for lasting outdoor use
  • Dual mounting hardware options are included
  • When the sun goes down, lights automatically come on to provide up to eight hours of bright white light
  • Lightweight, bendable design allows for endless installation possibilities
  • Rechargeable 18500 lithium-ion battery is powered by the sun for an energy-efficient and economical lighting solution
  • 1-year limited warranty
  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

16 Questions44 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
This question is from 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
 
6 answers

Can additional lengths of rope lighting be added?

This question is from 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
July 17, 2014
Are other brands of rope lighting comparable to this manufacturer product as well?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (6)

Asked by
Texas
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
August 3, 2016
Answer: 
No.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
April 7, 2016
Answer: 
From Roxy - sorry it says 16 feet. My bad. I had guessed 6-7 feet. it is long.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
April 7, 2016
Answer: 
don't think so. this is quite long. say 6-7 feet and a long lead wire for the solar panel
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Islip, NY
Read all my Q&A
December 17, 2014
Answer: 
Each string has its own non-detachable solar panel and can't be physically linked together. I have two that I installed so that they look like one long 32 foot string.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Los Angeles CA
Read all my Q&A
July 18, 2014
Answer: 
No. The lighting is in a clear rubber tube and it has a closed, sealed end. So if you need a longer length, you have to buy another set of rope lighting and simply install it / continue it where the other rope ends. This is exactly what I did.
As a note, I bought four of these and they are on the same deck's railing -- so they have the same sun exposure. Two have weathered pretty substantially, with the Read More
No. The lighting is in a clear rubber tube and it has a closed, sealed end. So if you need a longer length, you have to buy another set of rope lighting and simply install it / continue it where the other rope ends. This is exactly what I did.
As a note, I bought four of these and they are on the same deck's railing -- so they have the same sun exposure. Two have weathered pretty substantially, with the tubing turning brown / yellow and milky, while the other two strands remain more clear (but still not as crystal clear as when new). The result is half of the rope lighting is still "normal" and white-ish, the other is visibly dull and worn and the rope lights do not have the same intensity / brightness. Which makes for an cruddy looking deck decoration! My guesstimate is these really only have about a 2 year useful life -- which is when I bought mine. Maybe if this is a newer improved version, it will literally weather things better. Read Less
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
San Antonio, Tx area
Read all my Q&A
July 18, 2014
Answer: 
I would not attempt to add additionl lights, it is just as easy to purchase another set with the solar charger. I have three set around my patio.
The batteries and solar charger are sized for maximum charging and length of time for lighting of the rope lights, more lights in the string would probably shorten but lighting time and coulld reduce battery light.
Additionally changes would void the warrenty.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
This question is from 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
 
6 answers

Can we use these rope lights to light up a sign?

This question is from 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
Asked by
South Texas
Read all my Q&A
April 5, 2014
Our little church is located on a deserted country road and the entrance is a distance from any electrical source. We are on a low budget but want a sign to provide notice of where to make the turn on the road to the church at night. Will these lights be able to serve the purpose? It is South Texas and usually very sunny during the day.
Thank you,
Suzie
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (6)

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
April 7, 2016
Answer: 
Maybe not. The plastic is thick so may not bend well.
Better off with solar Christmas type lights, regular wire for this.
You can try it. Save your receipt though.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Islip, NY
Read all my Q&A
December 17, 2014
Answer: 
No. They could outline the sign but are not strong enough to illuminate it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Los Angeles CA
Read all my Q&A
July 18, 2014
Answer: 
It is definitely not bright enough to provide ie, illumination for reading purposes!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Port St. Lucie, FL, USA
Read all my Q&A
April 29, 2014
Answer: 
Yes I believe they would light you sign properly and they work well. Good quality.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Texas, USA
Read all my Q&A
April 15, 2014
Answer: 
These would help call attention to the sign, but I don't think they would illuminate the words. You could use a couple of strands to outline the sign so it could be seen. There are also solar spot lights that work well to light the sign and the words. Our church had a similar issue and we are using solar spot lights.
It just depends on what you need.
Hope this helps.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Atlanta GA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
April 5, 2014
Answer: 
Hey Suzie,
Thank you for your question.
Solar lighting is a great option for when you can't get to an electrical source.
You didn't say what size of the sign you have nor if there will be any trees blocking it from getting light.
While rope light, if done properly, can work for lighting up a sign, it actually be better if you chose instead a Solar Spot Light to focus on the sign better.
Check out Read More
Hey Suzie,
Thank you for your question.
Solar lighting is a great option for when you can't get to an electrical source.
You didn't say what size of the sign you have nor if there will be any trees blocking it from getting light.
While rope light, if done properly, can work for lighting up a sign, it actually be better if you chose instead a Solar Spot Light to focus on the sign better.
Check out this link to view one we carry in our stores:
http://www.homedepot.com/p/Hampton-Bay-Outdoor-Solar-Black-LED-70-Lumen-Spotlight-SS23C-M8-BKT-CPK1/204471418
Hope this has assisted you,
Joseph
Read Less
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
This question is from 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
 
4 answers

Rope lights not working, what can I do?

This question is from 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
Asked by
Millersville, Maryland
Read all my Q&A
January 1, 2015
The batteries are fully charged 3.42V each.
I have the switch turned to "ON".
I have covered the panel to simulate night, but no voltage reading at the output terminal (should be reading about 10 volts?)
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (4)

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
April 7, 2016
Answer: 
Return it. Needs good sunlight. I mounted the solar panel on a tube so it would get maximum light. worked well.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Southeast USA
Read all my Q&A
August 16, 2015
Answer: 
Return them for a refund.
I just submitted a review and had the same issue with two, out of the box new, stings of these lights.
What you are experiencing is poor quality control.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 2, 2015
Answer: 
I'm going to answer this myself. I found there was nothing more for me to check so I returned it for another one. The new one works great.
This had to be a bad circuit in the solar panel. (No voltage out)
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Islip, NY
Read all my Q&A
January 2, 2015
Answer: 
I don't want to seem trite, but use your meter to find the open. Put the neg lead to the neg side of the battery and probe with the positive lead step-by-step until there is no voltage sensed. the open is between the last two places probed. Since these are outdoors, it is possible for a bad connection due to dissimilar metal corrosion in a connector or a rotted through wire or a corroded cold solder Read More
I don't want to seem trite, but use your meter to find the open. Put the neg lead to the neg side of the battery and probe with the positive lead step-by-step until there is no voltage sensed. the open is between the last two places probed. Since these are outdoors, it is possible for a bad connection due to dissimilar metal corrosion in a connector or a rotted through wire or a corroded cold solder joint. Sorry if yoy already checked these, but I mention them in case you missed on. Good luck! Let us all know how you make out. Read Less
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
This question is from 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
 
4 answers

What is the diameter of this rope light?

This question is from 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
Asked by
Iowa City, IA
Read all my Q&A
July 4, 2014
I'd like to cut it into 4 - 4' pieces and assemble with a cross fitting to light a lawn windmill..
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (4)

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
April 7, 2016
Answer: 
about a regular finger width.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
montana
Read all my Q&A
July 7, 2014
Answer: 
it is not very thick. It is about a 1/4 in or so around.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Iowa City, IA
Read all my Q&A
July 5, 2014
Answer: 
No way this is 1" diameter rope light. Likely either 3/8" or 1/2", would just like to know which.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Port St. Lucie, FL, USA
Read all my Q&A
July 4, 2014
Answer: 
They are almost an inch thick and give off good light.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
2 »
  • 2016-08-24 T14:42:53.266-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_202583832, prod, sort_default
2 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 196ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 106 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not Very Useful Plastic clips included broke very easily when trying to install. I have bought three of these, two will be returned as one would not light during dark after a full day of sunshine. Of the other two which are still up, one works pretty well while the second one works off and on. March 1, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by EKB Love those rope lights. First one we bought little over a year ago, it still worked. It just took a beating from the rain and sun. February 10, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Solar Rope Lights I put them down both sides of our deck stairs and across the bottom landing. They are very nice and bright. The pictures I included don't show the brightness because of the camera flash. they really light up the steps nicely, a great safety factor. Especially good if a person has low vision. I am a 78 year old female and I installed them myself. February 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Light my path! Small problem with the LED string- sometimes half of the lights would not light; just manipulated where the unlit section started, and it worked. Perhaps better quality control is needed - but I did get it to work. This is excellent for lighting along a sidewalk - just enough light to show the way, but not so much as to distract. January 24, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice accent light. I got this to light a set of stairs. I ran this straight up the side wall, and it fit perfectly, the whole length. It provides just enough light to see each tread. It was perfect for my needs. The charge lasts long enough for our night time use. November 5, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Bought 2 sets 2 weeks ago I picked up two sets of these lights two weeks ago. They were easy to install and we're working great. First problem I had was one was white and look nice and the other has a yellow tint to it even though it's the supposed to be white like the other. Second problem is the white one that looked good now no longer works. Both lights purchased at same location at the same time and installed same day. November 6, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wow this is the Kittens' Toe I took the Chance at about $ 30.00 and got Exactly what I wanted; after attaching the solar panel to the roof edge the batteries get more than 8 hours and the lights stay on until 5 AM (only wish there was an on and off stitch. But lately I have been working all night and have noticed that the other solar lights play out around 8 AM >>> Wish they all came with an On / Off switch. One unit is large enough for the average full bath but need 3 units for the kitchen, I intend to put this solar LED rope through out the house and all around the roof line so strangers and Thieves can see me coming and RUN ! July 26, 2015
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Bough 4 sets I bought 4 sets, had to return one since it throws a yellowish light not bright white, the replacement had the same problem. The other two sets are fine and glow white. On Both defective units I swapped out the lights with the sets that are bright and still they glowed yellow. A bit frustrated as I like them however I cant get that final set to match my yard. October 24, 2015
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Nice while they lasted. I purchased 2 sets, one in California and one in Colorado. Both sets performed as expected for about a year, then both sets stopped working. New batteries did not bring them back to life. October 16, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Free Lights I used these in my vendor tent to be able to see my products I was selling. When not using them then, we put them on the camper awning for light when camping. We normally dry camp, which means we don't have hook ups. Will purchase again if need arises. September 29, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Works fantastic Solar rope light just works straight out of the packaging. I am using for a nontraditional reason, lighting quail cages during winter months and it was zero effort for it to work correctly. October 6, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Makes a lovely illumination around my deck The light role was easy to install and went up quickly. Illuminates my deck just enough for the added light I wanted. And it looks beautiful. I put up three of these light ropes with ease. September 15, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Works Well. I bought two strings for use as "Runway lights" on a retaining wall next to my driveway. It stays lit well past my bedtime after charging on a sunny day. When installing, it is important to make sure that the wire doesn't get pulled out of the thick and heavy outer tube from the panel end. It is hard to get it back in. The panel is hardwired to the led string which makes installation more difficult than if there was a detatchable connector. All in all, the even spacing of the leds, the litium batteries and the pure white light make this an excellent value as a marker system. It is not a good choice for area illumination. December 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Have been thinking about getting a couple more . Product was great ,and I was very happy with it. They only thing I was disappoint in was how I got it. I ask that it be shipped to my store and it wasn,t I had to drive 8 miles to pick it up at another store. August 26, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by underneath fence lighting Mounted underneath cedar fence for safety and decor near in ground pool. 5 stars if mounting clips were durable and if there were any other color options. July 13, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 16 ft. solar led rope light I am very happy with the rope lights. They are very bright. I only wish that they were longer. August 11, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 3 years installed & still going strong Two of these lights have been installed on our pergola for almost four years now. They work great, but the installation clips that came with them had to be replaced fairly early on. This didn't affect the light's function, but the screws were too short to get a large enough bite in the wood. The lights give off a great glow for summertime sitting in the yard (when other lights would attract flies), and I am pleased at the durability we've gotten out of our 2 sets. Three years of use at this price definitely gets my five stars. April 6, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by good purchase very pleased lights are just what i expected easy to put up and light they put out is perfect July 14, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasantly surprised! Followed directions to let charge first, and my strings worked beautifully. Used while camping for 2 weeks and got great light for the first 2 days, but due to very little sun at my site, much dimmer and shorter lighting the rest of the time, which I expected. I'm concerned the wiring where it connects to the control/solar panel might not last, but for now is holding up. And the ground stakes for the solar panel/controller shouldn't be moved repeatedly. Very flimsy plastic spikes break rather easily. Overall, pleased with these strings. I just hope they last through storage until next summer. September 2, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by solar lights They keep going out and i don't know why. Very frustrating. July 9, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent product I purchased two of the solar rope lights to add to my new deck. I was totally amazed at how much light these give off. I have attached them to the railings and then down the edge of the steps. Everyone has loved the way the lights light up the steps and gives off a soft light to the deck. No other lights are needed unless we are having a dining party. These give off a great light for the pool parties so people can easily see but are not bothered by bright light like so many other pools and deck. These are the best solar lights that I have purchased. I'll be getting a few more for the next portion of the deck which is being built now. June 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Solar led rope light Bought one five years ago to put around a post in the yard,original battery still in the unit ,bought a second one this year as accent lighting for our garden works great. My yard gets sun most of the day May 26, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent solar light I have purchased many solar lights before usually disappointed, this rope light is the exception. Used two of them for backlighting on my spa/gazebo & they work excellent. Leave them on Ll day/night & still working great after a month. Would purchase again. April 14, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Illumination Product Have used three of these units and all are reliable. Shortcoming is the mounting hardware. You need to purchase 3/8" cable tiedowns for either end and any bends in mounting surfaces. Protective plastic tubing is rather stiff and the clips are not very good for other than straight, flush mounting. The LED provide great illumination for walkways. Just make sure you select a place to mount the solar collector first before laying out the lamps. You need good sun exposure to ensure all night illumination. December 11, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Complete Garbage. Terrible Quality. Going back for refund. Hung the light up, waited until night. Was pleased to see it light up. After 60 seconds, mysteriously died. Fiddled with it, but never came back on. Obviously major quality control issues. HD should find a better quality supplier. Major disappointment. I wish I could give ZERO stars. March 30, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great exterior lighting For solar powered, these little gems stay bright til almost midnight (during the winter months)...I anticipate during summer's longer days, to last much longer. but you must place the solar device in as much full sun as possible. I uses them along the deck railing and looks so pretty in the evening...two strings (16' ea) lights half the deck. Plan to purchase two more to complete. December 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love these lights I purchased these lights to put around the edge of a pergola that extends out over our driveway slightly. We glued edging pavers to the driveway and filled in the area with river stones. I wanted to make sure the edge was visible at night but couldn't use any lights that had a stake. This product worked perfectly! We epoxy glued the mounting clips-and a few extras we purchased-to the top of the pavers, let them dry for 24 hours, and then clipped the strand in place. They are holding well, are bright and illuminate the edge well, and stay lit most of the night. I made sure to place the solar panel where it gets sun most of the day, but even on cloudy days I don't notice much of a decrease in the amount of light. August 23, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Complete Waste of Money We have a bright solar light above each garage door which work beautifully every night no matter how cloudy the day so I didn't even think about our rope lights we ordered from Home Depot not working when we have a cloudy day. Unfortunately, these ropes lights appear to need a lot of sun in order to illuminate. They don't light up our patio on a good day but will illuminate. The illumination is almost still to dark, but truthfully they don't even do that most of the time. We've had to many cloudy days I guess. This tells me what to expect this winter when there's a lot of cloud cover. They also won't stay illuminated at length. They are out by morning before the sun comes up which still defeats their purpose. Again, our lights above the garage door are still bright in the morning so it wasn't expected. October 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great lights I purchased these lights to provide an inexpensive light source for my chicken coup. it only took about 5 minutes to install and works very well. I will most likely purchase another set for more conventional use February 3, 2015
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Didn't last one month At first, we thought this would be a great solar rope light. The light was bright and strong, lasting through the night. However, it stopped working less than one month after we purchased it. January 27, 2015
  • 2016-08-23 T13:15:44.115-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_106, tr_106
  • loc_en_US, sid_202583832, prod, sort_default
<<2 3 4 5 >>
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 133ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT