Model # 82056-055SR

Internet #202583832

Store SKU #905007

Hampton Bay 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
0609839820560

Hampton Bay

16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light

  • Heavy-duty plastic offers weather resistance
  • Up to eight hours of bright white light
  • Energy-efficient, solar-powered LEDs
$29.97 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

The Hampton Bay 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light is versatile and easy to use, featuring a clear flexible design with 55 super bright white LEDs. Great for accentuating outdoor railings, trellises, walkways and trim, it's also a perfect choice when decorating your deck, balcony and patio umbrella. The rope includes mounting clips and 6 ft. of cord from solar panel to lighted rope for optimal positioning in the sunlight, as well as handy wall or ground mounting hardware for the solar panel.

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

16 Questions45 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
This question is from 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
 
6 answers

Can additional lengths of rope lighting be added?

This question is from 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
July 17, 2014
Are other brands of rope lighting comparable to this manufacturer product as well?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (6)

Asked by
Texas
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
August 3, 2016
Answer: 
No.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
April 7, 2016
Answer: 
From Roxy - sorry it says 16 feet. My bad. I had guessed 6-7 feet. it is long.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
April 7, 2016
Answer: 
don't think so. this is quite long. say 6-7 feet and a long lead wire for the solar panel
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Islip, NY
Read all my Q&A
December 17, 2014
Answer: 
Each string has its own non-detachable solar panel and can't be physically linked together. I have two that I installed so that they look like one long 32 foot string.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Los Angeles CA
Read all my Q&A
July 18, 2014
Answer: 
No. The lighting is in a clear rubber tube and it has a closed, sealed end. So if you need a longer length, you have to buy another set of rope lighting and simply install it / continue it where the other rope ends. This is exactly what I did.
As a note, I bought four of these and they are on the same deck's railing -- so they have the same sun exposure. Two have weathered pretty substantially, with the Read More
No. The lighting is in a clear rubber tube and it has a closed, sealed end. So if you need a longer length, you have to buy another set of rope lighting and simply install it / continue it where the other rope ends. This is exactly what I did.
As a note, I bought four of these and they are on the same deck's railing -- so they have the same sun exposure. Two have weathered pretty substantially, with the tubing turning brown / yellow and milky, while the other two strands remain more clear (but still not as crystal clear as when new). The result is half of the rope lighting is still "normal" and white-ish, the other is visibly dull and worn and the rope lights do not have the same intensity / brightness. Which makes for an cruddy looking deck decoration! My guesstimate is these really only have about a 2 year useful life -- which is when I bought mine. Maybe if this is a newer improved version, it will literally weather things better. Read Less
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
San Antonio, Tx area
Read all my Q&A
July 18, 2014
Answer: 
I would not attempt to add additionl lights, it is just as easy to purchase another set with the solar charger. I have three set around my patio.
The batteries and solar charger are sized for maximum charging and length of time for lighting of the rope lights, more lights in the string would probably shorten but lighting time and coulld reduce battery light.
Additionally changes would void the warrenty.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
This question is from 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
 
6 answers

Can we use these rope lights to light up a sign?

This question is from 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
Asked by
South Texas
Read all my Q&A
April 5, 2014
Our little church is located on a deserted country road and the entrance is a distance from any electrical source. We are on a low budget but want a sign to provide notice of where to make the turn on the road to the church at night. Will these lights be able to serve the purpose? It is South Texas and usually very sunny during the day.
Thank you,
Suzie
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (6)

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
April 7, 2016
Answer: 
Maybe not. The plastic is thick so may not bend well.
Better off with solar Christmas type lights, regular wire for this.
You can try it. Save your receipt though.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Islip, NY
Read all my Q&A
December 17, 2014
Answer: 
No. They could outline the sign but are not strong enough to illuminate it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Los Angeles CA
Read all my Q&A
July 18, 2014
Answer: 
It is definitely not bright enough to provide ie, illumination for reading purposes!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Port St. Lucie, FL, USA
Read all my Q&A
April 29, 2014
Answer: 
Yes I believe they would light you sign properly and they work well. Good quality.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Texas, USA
Read all my Q&A
April 15, 2014
Answer: 
These would help call attention to the sign, but I don't think they would illuminate the words. You could use a couple of strands to outline the sign so it could be seen. There are also solar spot lights that work well to light the sign and the words. Our church had a similar issue and we are using solar spot lights.
It just depends on what you need.
Hope this helps.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Atlanta GA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
April 5, 2014
Answer: 
Hey Suzie,
Thank you for your question.
Solar lighting is a great option for when you can't get to an electrical source.
You didn't say what size of the sign you have nor if there will be any trees blocking it from getting light.
While rope light, if done properly, can work for lighting up a sign, it actually be better if you chose instead a Solar Spot Light to focus on the sign better.
Check out Read More
Hey Suzie,
Thank you for your question.
Solar lighting is a great option for when you can't get to an electrical source.
You didn't say what size of the sign you have nor if there will be any trees blocking it from getting light.
While rope light, if done properly, can work for lighting up a sign, it actually be better if you chose instead a Solar Spot Light to focus on the sign better.
Check out this link to view one we carry in our stores:
http://www.homedepot.com/p/Hampton-Bay-Outdoor-Solar-Black-LED-70-Lumen-Spotlight-SS23C-M8-BKT-CPK1/204471418
Hope this has assisted you,
Joseph
Read Less
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
This question is from 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
 
4 answers

Rope lights not working, what can I do?

This question is from 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
Asked by
Millersville, Maryland
Read all my Q&A
January 1, 2015
The batteries are fully charged 3.42V each.
I have the switch turned to "ON".
I have covered the panel to simulate night, but no voltage reading at the output terminal (should be reading about 10 volts?)
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (4)

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
April 7, 2016
Answer: 
Return it. Needs good sunlight. I mounted the solar panel on a tube so it would get maximum light. worked well.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Southeast USA
Read all my Q&A
August 16, 2015
Answer: 
Return them for a refund.
I just submitted a review and had the same issue with two, out of the box new, stings of these lights.
What you are experiencing is poor quality control.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 2, 2015
Answer: 
I'm going to answer this myself. I found there was nothing more for me to check so I returned it for another one. The new one works great.
This had to be a bad circuit in the solar panel. (No voltage out)
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Islip, NY
Read all my Q&A
January 2, 2015
Answer: 
I don't want to seem trite, but use your meter to find the open. Put the neg lead to the neg side of the battery and probe with the positive lead step-by-step until there is no voltage sensed. the open is between the last two places probed. Since these are outdoors, it is possible for a bad connection due to dissimilar metal corrosion in a connector or a rotted through wire or a corroded cold solder Read More
I don't want to seem trite, but use your meter to find the open. Put the neg lead to the neg side of the battery and probe with the positive lead step-by-step until there is no voltage sensed. the open is between the last two places probed. Since these are outdoors, it is possible for a bad connection due to dissimilar metal corrosion in a connector or a rotted through wire or a corroded cold solder joint. Sorry if yoy already checked these, but I mention them in case you missed on. Good luck! Let us all know how you make out. Read Less
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
This question is from 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
 
4 answers

What is the diameter of this rope light?

This question is from 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
Asked by
Iowa City, IA
Read all my Q&A
July 4, 2014
I'd like to cut it into 4 - 4' pieces and assemble with a cross fitting to light a lawn windmill..
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (4)

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
April 7, 2016
Answer: 
about a regular finger width.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
montana
Read all my Q&A
July 7, 2014
Answer: 
it is not very thick. It is about a 1/4 in or so around.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Iowa City, IA
Read all my Q&A
July 5, 2014
Answer: 
No way this is 1" diameter rope light. Likely either 3/8" or 1/2", would just like to know which.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Port St. Lucie, FL, USA
Read all my Q&A
July 4, 2014
Answer: 
They are almost an inch thick and give off good light.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
2 »
  • 2016-10-30 T23:38:47.335-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_202583832, prod, sort_default
2 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 106ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 114.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Rope lights They need to be brighter and the clips to put them up stronger, they kept breakng.
Date published: 2016-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lights work GREAT, just replaced solar batteries after 3 years of continuous use. Lights work GREAT, just replaced solar batteries after 3 years of continuous use.
Date published: 2016-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Solar Rope Lights I put them down both sides of our deck stairs and across the bottom landing. They are very nice and bright. The pictures I included don't show the brightness because of the camera flash. they really light up the steps nicely, a great safety factor. Especially good if a person has low vision. I am a 78 year old female and I installed them myself.
Date published: 2014-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product I purchased two of the solar rope lights to add to my new deck. I was totally amazed at how much light these give off. I have attached them to the railings and then down the edge of the steps. Everyone has loved the way the lights light up the steps and gives off a soft light to the deck. No other lights are needed unless we are having a dining party. These give off a great light for the pool parties so people can easily see but are not bothered by bright light like so many other pools and deck. These are the best solar lights that I have purchased. I'll be getting a few more for the next portion of the deck which is being built now.
Date published: 2013-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy installation and looks great! This rope light provides excellent accent lighting for my outdoor project. Not to be confused with primary lighting (as some previous reviewers suggest), the light may not be bright enough for some purposes. I purchased multiple ropes and installed one on the north side of the house on a long step-down from one patio level to another to light the way for visitors to avoid trips and falls. Only extra effort is extending the wire length to the solar panel to reach a placement for maximum sun exposure. After that, the rope stays lit for at least 4-7 hours (depending on clouds and other variables). If I really need a long lighting duration (for a late party, etc.), I simply install freshly charged batteries earlier in the day and the rope stays lit all night. The rope on the sunny side (south) of the house stays lit all night, every night.
Date published: 2013-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Appeal Normally I am not one to write reviews, but if it will help you decide whether this product is worth buying I will take a few moments to give you my opinion. My wife and I built a redwood deck for our hot tub. I used the lights along a bamboo fence that is four feet off the deck. I was skeptacle that solar would work but since the rope light has a long lead to the panel it was easy to position to get maximum sunlight. We were enjoying a summer night and right at dusk the built in sensor turned them on. We were amazed how bright but quaint the lights were.Great buy
Date published: 2011-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these lights I purchased these lights to put around the edge of a pergola that extends out over our driveway slightly. We glued edging pavers to the driveway and filled in the area with river stones. I wanted to make sure the edge was visible at night but couldn't use any lights that had a stake. This product worked perfectly! We epoxy glued the mounting clips-and a few extras we purchased-to the top of the pavers, let them dry for 24 hours, and then clipped the strand in place. They are holding well, are bright and illuminate the edge well, and stay lit most of the night. I made sure to place the solar panel where it gets sun most of the day, but even on cloudy days I don't notice much of a decrease in the amount of light.
Date published: 2013-08-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor design, battery too small. Good: This light rope is easy to install. The Bad: The tube that holds the lights is not securely sealed so there is a strong risk of failure due to moisture ingress. Mine is cloudy with moisture after only 1 week. But all that matters little since they are trying to power 54 LED's from a single 600mAHr 3.2V cell. The engineering doesn't pencil out, nor does it last longer than 3 hours here in Oregon. Maybe if you only need a few hours of light this would be ok, but they really should have at least used the standard larger 1000mAhr cell.
Date published: 2012-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solar Rope Lights I bought them because I have had them before and I knew Sandy was going to visit us here in Ct. I would put out the rope lights during the day and at night I would bring them in to light up the inside of the house. I laid them out from my kitchen/family room into the bedrooms so we could see where we were going. worked every night until my lights went back on. they are great outside also, where I have my older set woven into the chain link fence in my driveway, they are bright and cover a large area with light. I love them
Date published: 2012-11-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good at first... Bought one rope and installed about 8" from the ground along 8' of steps. Worked great, stayed on through the entire night so we bought a second rope to line the other side of the steps (about 42" away). The two ropes worked great for a couple of weeks and now the first rope is not working. I made sure the panel was clean and replaced the battery. Still not working. I called the customer service number on the USE AND CARE GUIDE and they told me to return to The Home Depot.
Date published: 2016-06-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Less than 2 hrs of light in less than 90 days These lights would be terrific if the batteries had legs but the set I bought, in less than 90 days, wasn't lighting the string for even 2 hours after sundown so I returned them. Not sure if the solar batteries do not hold enough charge or if what I bought just had bad batteries. If it was the latter I'd buy them again but if the former I would not purchase these. You'd be spending a lot replacing batteries too frequently to make these cost-effective.
Date published: 2011-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice accent light. I got this to light a set of stairs. I ran this straight up the side wall, and it fit perfectly, the whole length. It provides just enough light to see each tread. It was perfect for my needs. The charge lasts long enough for our night time use.
Date published: 2013-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent product 2 16' ropes up now for 2 months perfect lights for us - not too bright just right they are still lite up @4am just a ittle dull the only improvement i would suggest is a little more articulation in the panel mounts due to where i had to mount them i cant get one pointed as well as the other to catch the best rays
Date published: 2013-03-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Didn't last one month At first, we thought this would be a great solar rope light. The light was bright and strong, lasting through the night. However, it stopped working less than one month after we purchased it.
Date published: 2015-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Buy it! I hung the rope light above my table on the back porch. Perfect lighting for company and visitors while setting outside. Light lasts several hours...doesn't make it through till sunrise. Plenty of clips for hanging and lots of lead wire from the solar collector. Great product!
Date published: 2012-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from quite expensive... but very good.. i used these to outline a deck railing. i am always a little wary of the "home depot" brand (this is their in house brand), and these were relatively expensive when i compared the price of other led solar light strings. but... now that i've had them up and running for about 3 months, i can say they are an excellent set of solar led lights. they are very bright, and they seem to last at least 8 hours / night, charged in the los angeles sun. i have some other rope lights off amazon by flipo, and these flipo lights were less expensive in that they were the same price, but 30 feet long -- so literally half the price. but these latter lights are not nearly as bright as the home depot / hampton bay ones. and i probably would not have even noticed or minded, had i not noticed how much brighter the home depot / hampton bay ones were. plus, on my other sets by flipo (i have 3!), the rechargeable battery (just an AA) died after about 2 months on each (i replaced it with them with sanyo enercell AA's from costco!). the home depot set however, has lasted longer and burns brighter. these home depot / hampton bay lights are definitely priced at a bit of a premium... but they are very good quality and provide nice bright white light. so if you can splurge, do so -- it's expensive but worth it. ;-)
Date published: 2012-10-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 3 years installed & still going strong Two of these lights have been installed on our pergola for almost four years now. They work great, but the installation clips that came with them had to be replaced fairly early on. This didn't affect the light's function, but the screws were too short to get a large enough bite in the wood. The lights give off a great glow for summertime sitting in the yard (when other lights would attract flies), and I am pleased at the durability we've gotten out of our 2 sets. Three years of use at this price definitely gets my five stars.
Date published: 2015-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Light up walkways, decks, retaining walls, etc with Solar Power We built a retaining wall along our back fence and there is no electrical to run electric powered lighting. These were perfect to lightup the base of the wall. They also look great along the edge of the patio. We are also considering lighting up our palm tree trunks with them as well. These would be awesome if they could be innerconnected like the electric ones.
Date published: 2011-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect I bought two sets of these solar light two or three years ago at our local Home Depot. They work great and are still going. They are installed on the length of my patio and provide just the right amount of light at night to be able to enjoy the stars, but not run into your patio furniture. I wanted another string to run along another deck project, but the store didn't have them. Bought them online and they arrived in a nondescript box marked made in China. The other two were Hampton Bay lights. I don't know if this new unit is the same quality, but it's been working well for a month now.
Date published: 2016-06-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fits the Need Wanted to add some light to a few trees, these solars work perfectly. They give off more light than I anticipated. The solar tubing is protected on both ends with a plastic plug to prevent moisture from entering. The solar battery can be taken on/off the unground stake. There is a long cord connected to the solar battery so that I can set it out in the sun for recharge. Everything I expected.
Date published: 2013-06-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Nice while they lasted. I purchased 2 sets, one in California and one in Colorado. Both sets performed as expected for about a year, then both sets stopped working. New batteries did not bring them back to life.
Date published: 2015-10-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not Happy with design Ends are sealed with a soft silicon rubber insert. Heat and cold cause the tubing to change length, and the the end pieces pop of and the LED string works its way out. And then moisture goes into the tube and the lights fail.
Date published: 2014-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Bright Light Rope curls like a snake requiring mounting clips, I used black cable ties attaching under circular 44” black patio table with screen mesh top. Light filters through mesh above table. Illuminated rope light is only 10 feet the remaining length of 6 feet is non-illuminated lead wire connects to solar box, which is long enough to place in flower container where it will get sun to recharge solar batteries. Switch under the solar plate has ON/OFF/AUTO. Excellent for this application. Had to place lead wire through large flower container next to table then solar box out of way, so guests walking or sitting would not stumble over the thin wire taking the table, umbrella and flowers to their doom. Solar box can be mounted or stacked in flower container or in ground. Highly Recommend.
Date published: 2012-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Well. I bought two strings for use as "Runway lights" on a retaining wall next to my driveway. It stays lit well past my bedtime after charging on a sunny day. When installing, it is important to make sure that the wire doesn't get pulled out of the thick and heavy outer tube from the panel end. It is hard to get it back in. The panel is hardwired to the led string which makes installation more difficult than if there was a detatchable connector. All in all, the even spacing of the leds, the litium batteries and the pure white light make this an excellent value as a marker system. It is not a good choice for area illumination.
Date published: 2014-12-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from 16 ft. Solar led rope light Easy installation product looks great very disappointed no matter how much sunlight lights only for 21/2 half hours. Anyone else own this Solar product? Is there someway to have the lighting last longer?
Date published: 2015-01-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Complete Waste of Money We have a bright solar light above each garage door which work beautifully every night no matter how cloudy the day so I didn't even think about our rope lights we ordered from Home Depot not working when we have a cloudy day. Unfortunately, these ropes lights appear to need a lot of sun in order to illuminate. They don't light up our patio on a good day but will illuminate. The illumination is almost still to dark, but truthfully they don't even do that most of the time. We've had to many cloudy days I guess. This tells me what to expect this winter when there's a lot of cloud cover. They also won't stay illuminated at length. They are out by morning before the sun comes up which still defeats their purpose. Again, our lights above the garage door are still bright in the morning so it wasn't expected.
Date published: 2014-10-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Replacement battery can't be found This in addition to my previous review. My lights were dimming, so I took out the battery, hoping to replace it. I can't find a replacement anywhere. I emailed Hampton Bay, the manufacturer, and have received no reply. The only thing I can do is tear these out and find some other type to replace them.
Date published: 2013-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pleasantly surprised! Followed directions to let charge first, and my strings worked beautifully. Used while camping for 2 weeks and got great light for the first 2 days, but due to very little sun at my site, much dimmer and shorter lighting the rest of the time, which I expected. I'm concerned the wiring where it connects to the control/solar panel might not last, but for now is holding up. And the ground stakes for the solar panel/controller shouldn't be moved repeatedly. Very flimsy plastic spikes break rather easily. Overall, pleased with these strings. I just hope they last through storage until next summer.
Date published: 2014-09-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Light my path! Small problem with the LED string- sometimes half of the lights would not light; just manipulated where the unlit section started, and it worked. Perhaps better quality control is needed - but I did get it to work. This is excellent for lighting along a sidewalk - just enough light to show the way, but not so much as to distract.
Date published: 2016-01-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not Very Useful Plastic clips included broke very easily when trying to install. I have bought three of these, two will be returned as one would not light during dark after a full day of sunshine. Of the other two which are still up, one works pretty well while the second one works off and on.
Date published: 2016-03-01
  • y_2017, m_1, d_16, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_114
  • loc_, sid_202583832, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 81ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT