0609839820560

Hampton Bay

Model 82056-055SR

Internet #202583832

Store SKU #905007

16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light

$29.97 /each
  • Heavy-duty plastic offers weather resistance
  • Up to eight hours of bright white light
  • Energy-efficient, solar-powered LEDs

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

The Hampton Bay 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light is versatile and easy to use, featuring a clear flexible design with 55 super bright white LEDs. Great for accentuating outdoor railings, trellises, walkways and trim, it's also a perfect choice when decorating your deck, balcony and patio umbrella. The rope includes mounting clips and 6 ft. of cord from solar panel to lighted rope for optimal positioning in the sunlight, as well as handy wall or ground mounting hardware for the solar panel.

  • Durable plastic construction for lasting outdoor use
  • Dual mounting hardware options are included
  • When the sun goes down, lights automatically come on to provide up to eight hours of bright white light
  • Lightweight, bendable design allows for endless installation possibilities
  • Rechargeable 18500 lithium-ion battery is powered by the sun for an energy-efficient and economical lighting solution
  • 1-year limited warranty
  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

16 Questions44 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
This question is from 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
 
6 answers

Can additional lengths of rope lighting be added?

This question is from 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
July 17, 2014
Are other brands of rope lighting comparable to this manufacturer product as well?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (6)

Asked by
Texas
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
August 3, 2016
Answer: 
No.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
April 7, 2016
Answer: 
From Roxy - sorry it says 16 feet. My bad. I had guessed 6-7 feet. it is long.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
April 7, 2016
Answer: 
don't think so. this is quite long. say 6-7 feet and a long lead wire for the solar panel
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Islip, NY
Read all my Q&A
December 17, 2014
Answer: 
Each string has its own non-detachable solar panel and can't be physically linked together. I have two that I installed so that they look like one long 32 foot string.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Los Angeles CA
Read all my Q&A
July 18, 2014
Answer: 
No. The lighting is in a clear rubber tube and it has a closed, sealed end. So if you need a longer length, you have to buy another set of rope lighting and simply install it / continue it where the other rope ends. This is exactly what I did.
As a note, I bought four of these and they are on the same deck's railing -- so they have the same sun exposure. Two have weathered pretty substantially, with the Read More
No. The lighting is in a clear rubber tube and it has a closed, sealed end. So if you need a longer length, you have to buy another set of rope lighting and simply install it / continue it where the other rope ends. This is exactly what I did.
As a note, I bought four of these and they are on the same deck's railing -- so they have the same sun exposure. Two have weathered pretty substantially, with the tubing turning brown / yellow and milky, while the other two strands remain more clear (but still not as crystal clear as when new). The result is half of the rope lighting is still "normal" and white-ish, the other is visibly dull and worn and the rope lights do not have the same intensity / brightness. Which makes for an cruddy looking deck decoration! My guesstimate is these really only have about a 2 year useful life -- which is when I bought mine. Maybe if this is a newer improved version, it will literally weather things better. Read Less
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
San Antonio, Tx area
Read all my Q&A
July 18, 2014
Answer: 
I would not attempt to add additionl lights, it is just as easy to purchase another set with the solar charger. I have three set around my patio.
The batteries and solar charger are sized for maximum charging and length of time for lighting of the rope lights, more lights in the string would probably shorten but lighting time and coulld reduce battery light.
Additionally changes would void the warrenty.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
This question is from 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
 
6 answers

Can we use these rope lights to light up a sign?

This question is from 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
Asked by
South Texas
Read all my Q&A
April 5, 2014
Our little church is located on a deserted country road and the entrance is a distance from any electrical source. We are on a low budget but want a sign to provide notice of where to make the turn on the road to the church at night. Will these lights be able to serve the purpose? It is South Texas and usually very sunny during the day.
Thank you,
Suzie
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (6)

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
April 7, 2016
Answer: 
Maybe not. The plastic is thick so may not bend well.
Better off with solar Christmas type lights, regular wire for this.
You can try it. Save your receipt though.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Islip, NY
Read all my Q&A
December 17, 2014
Answer: 
No. They could outline the sign but are not strong enough to illuminate it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Los Angeles CA
Read all my Q&A
July 18, 2014
Answer: 
It is definitely not bright enough to provide ie, illumination for reading purposes!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Port St. Lucie, FL, USA
Read all my Q&A
April 29, 2014
Answer: 
Yes I believe they would light you sign properly and they work well. Good quality.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Texas, USA
Read all my Q&A
April 15, 2014
Answer: 
These would help call attention to the sign, but I don't think they would illuminate the words. You could use a couple of strands to outline the sign so it could be seen. There are also solar spot lights that work well to light the sign and the words. Our church had a similar issue and we are using solar spot lights.
It just depends on what you need.
Hope this helps.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Atlanta GA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
April 5, 2014
Answer: 
Hey Suzie,
Thank you for your question.
Solar lighting is a great option for when you can't get to an electrical source.
You didn't say what size of the sign you have nor if there will be any trees blocking it from getting light.
While rope light, if done properly, can work for lighting up a sign, it actually be better if you chose instead a Solar Spot Light to focus on the sign better.
Check out Read More
Hey Suzie,
Thank you for your question.
Solar lighting is a great option for when you can't get to an electrical source.
You didn't say what size of the sign you have nor if there will be any trees blocking it from getting light.
While rope light, if done properly, can work for lighting up a sign, it actually be better if you chose instead a Solar Spot Light to focus on the sign better.
Check out this link to view one we carry in our stores:
http://www.homedepot.com/p/Hampton-Bay-Outdoor-Solar-Black-LED-70-Lumen-Spotlight-SS23C-M8-BKT-CPK1/204471418
Hope this has assisted you,
Joseph
Read Less
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
This question is from 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
 
4 answers

Rope lights not working, what can I do?

This question is from 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
Asked by
Millersville, Maryland
Read all my Q&A
January 1, 2015
The batteries are fully charged 3.42V each.
I have the switch turned to "ON".
I have covered the panel to simulate night, but no voltage reading at the output terminal (should be reading about 10 volts?)
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (4)

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
April 7, 2016
Answer: 
Return it. Needs good sunlight. I mounted the solar panel on a tube so it would get maximum light. worked well.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Southeast USA
Read all my Q&A
August 16, 2015
Answer: 
Return them for a refund.
I just submitted a review and had the same issue with two, out of the box new, stings of these lights.
What you are experiencing is poor quality control.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 2, 2015
Answer: 
I'm going to answer this myself. I found there was nothing more for me to check so I returned it for another one. The new one works great.
This had to be a bad circuit in the solar panel. (No voltage out)
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Islip, NY
Read all my Q&A
January 2, 2015
Answer: 
I don't want to seem trite, but use your meter to find the open. Put the neg lead to the neg side of the battery and probe with the positive lead step-by-step until there is no voltage sensed. the open is between the last two places probed. Since these are outdoors, it is possible for a bad connection due to dissimilar metal corrosion in a connector or a rotted through wire or a corroded cold solder Read More
I don't want to seem trite, but use your meter to find the open. Put the neg lead to the neg side of the battery and probe with the positive lead step-by-step until there is no voltage sensed. the open is between the last two places probed. Since these are outdoors, it is possible for a bad connection due to dissimilar metal corrosion in a connector or a rotted through wire or a corroded cold solder joint. Sorry if yoy already checked these, but I mention them in case you missed on. Good luck! Let us all know how you make out. Read Less
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
This question is from 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
 
4 answers

What is the diameter of this rope light?

This question is from 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
Asked by
Iowa City, IA
Read all my Q&A
July 4, 2014
I'd like to cut it into 4 - 4' pieces and assemble with a cross fitting to light a lawn windmill..
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (4)

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
April 7, 2016
Answer: 
about a regular finger width.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
montana
Read all my Q&A
July 7, 2014
Answer: 
it is not very thick. It is about a 1/4 in or so around.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Iowa City, IA
Read all my Q&A
July 5, 2014
Answer: 
No way this is 1" diameter rope light. Likely either 3/8" or 1/2", would just like to know which.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Port St. Lucie, FL, USA
Read all my Q&A
July 4, 2014
Answer: 
They are almost an inch thick and give off good light.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
2 »
  • 2016-08-29 T15:29:54.731-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_202583832, prod, sort_default
2 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 72ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 106 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Appeal Normally I am not one to write reviews, but if it will help you decide whether this product is worth buying I will take a few moments to give you my opinion. My wife and I built a redwood deck for our hot tub. I used the lights along a bamboo fence that is four feet off the deck. I was skeptacle that solar would work but since the rope light has a long lead to the panel it was easy to position to get maximum sunlight. We were enjoying a summer night and right at dusk the built in sensor turned them on. We were amazed how bright but quaint the lights were.Great buy July 4, 2011
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very good value I installed this on my sliding driveway chainlink gate so I wouldn't back into it at night. It works great! just bright enough to clearly see, and the lights stay light for many hours. January 21, 2015
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by 16 ft. Solar led rope light Easy installation product looks great very disappointed no matter how much sunlight lights only for 21/2 half hours. Anyone else own this Solar product? Is there someway to have the lighting last longer? January 27, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent product We are using this to line the side of our driveway. Stays lit all night long after a day in the Texas sun. January 30, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Solar Rope Lights I bought them because I have had them before and I knew Sandy was going to visit us here in Ct. I would put out the rope lights during the day and at night I would bring them in to light up the inside of the house. I laid them out from my kitchen/family room into the bedrooms so we could see where we were going. worked every night until my lights went back on. they are great outside also, where I have my older set woven into the chain link fence in my driveway, they are bright and cover a large area with light. I love them November 13, 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor design, battery too small. Good: This light rope is easy to install. The Bad: The tube that holds the lights is not securely sealed so there is a strong risk of failure due to moisture ingress. Mine is cloudy with moisture after only 1 week. But all that matters little since they are trying to power 54 LED's from a single 600mAHr 3.2V cell. The engineering doesn't pencil out, nor does it last longer than 3 hours here in Oregon. Maybe if you only need a few hours of light this would be ok, but they really should have at least used the standard larger 1000mAhr cell. December 9, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great buy easy to install.give out the right amount of light that i was looking for December 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Bright Light Rope curls like a snake requiring mounting clips, I used black cable ties attaching under circular 44” black patio table with screen mesh top. Light filters through mesh above table. Illuminated rope light is only 10 feet the remaining length of 6 feet is non-illuminated lead wire connects to solar box, which is long enough to place in flower container where it will get sun to recharge solar batteries. Switch under the solar plate has ON/OFF/AUTO. Excellent for this application. Had to place lead wire through large flower container next to table then solar box out of way, so guests walking or sitting would not stumble over the thin wire taking the table, umbrella and flowers to their doom. Solar box can be mounted or stacked in flower container or in ground. Highly Recommend. June 17, 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Highlighting parking area and works well. We own a Bed & Breakfast and use this for the parking area for guests. We have had one for 1 area for about 6 months and it works welll, so we bought another for the other parking area. It really helps guests find the parking area when they come after dark; they light the parking area well and we are pleased with them. However, the rope brackets are plastic and are easy to break. We broke several until we discovered they sent oversized screws; we had some smaller and used them instead (both sets). May 29, 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not Happy with design Ends are sealed with a soft silicon rubber insert. Heat and cold cause the tubing to change length, and the the end pieces pop of and the LED string works its way out. And then moisture goes into the tube and the lights fail. September 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice & bright I bought these in early spring to wrap around my daughter's swing set. We have been using them for a few months now & they still work great. Nice & bright. They stay lit for several hours after dark. July 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by solar led rope light The lights are real easy to place garden bed or shaped border and the sun does all the work in charging these. They look great in a garden or around a patio or as accent lighting. July 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Easy installation and looks great! This rope light provides excellent accent lighting for my outdoor project. Not to be confused with primary lighting (as some previous reviewers suggest), the light may not be bright enough for some purposes. I purchased multiple ropes and installed one on the north side of the house on a long step-down from one patio level to another to light the way for visitors to avoid trips and falls. Only extra effort is extending the wire length to the solar panel to reach a placement for maximum sun exposure. After that, the rope stays lit for at least 4-7 hours (depending on clouds and other variables). If I really need a long lighting duration (for a late party, etc.), I simply install freshly charged batteries earlier in the day and the rope stays lit all night. The rope on the sunny side (south) of the house stays lit all night, every night. May 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great night lighting I love the solar aspect of this! Stays lit all night long August 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Terrific Terrific addition to backyard. I am using it to light up my water feature in the pool. Works great and easy to install July 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A cheap way to highlight an area I bought the rope to bring a bit of light to the entry gate to my parents' property. The gate didn't need lots of light, just enought to show in the dark whether it was closed or not. I installed it myself easily and works great! Of course, don't expect many hours of light after a gloomy winter day. BTW, since I installed it at Xmas time, it occured to me how much they could pass for Xmas lights. With several strings of them, you would have an inexpensive way to decorate part of your yard or house. December 27, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful outdoor under light for table So easy to install under our outdoor stone coffee table. Gives enough light to see all around in the evening but not so bright that its to much. A perfect glow. August 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Solar rope light - I'm using my solar rope light around a tall queen palm in my yard. I've had it for over a month, and it works and looks great. It charges up during the day and comes on at dusk. It stays on way past midnight. The LED lites in the rope are nicely spaced out and very bright. The solar panel took a little convincing to make it stay in one place, because I chose to fasten it around the upper part of the trunk instead of placing it in the ground. The only thing I wish was different, is that I wish the rope lite was longer. I am definitely buying another lite, because the current lite makes it look like the tree is wearing a tube top and mini-skirt.... looks awkward. The rope light needs to be longer even if it costs more. Or they could sell different lengths. Overall I am satisfied and would recommend to my family. April 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Bright light without electric hookup My solar collector is not in the best place - facing east but blocked mostly, and blocked completely after only a couple of hours. Still, night after night, this strand gives enough light to make a good difference to lighting a doorway. Also, the lighting looks good enough that I'm thinking of adding more for light but also for appearance. January 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great product The solar lights were easy to install and after just a few hours of sunlight were working beautifully! June 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Fits the Need Wanted to add some light to a few trees, these solars work perfectly. They give off more light than I anticipated. The solar tubing is protected on both ends with a plastic plug to prevent moisture from entering. The solar battery can be taken on/off the unground stake. There is a long cord connected to the solar battery so that I can set it out in the sun for recharge. Everything I expected. June 25, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Dim Lights; pass on them Lights and solar panel are easy enough to install but even though I have them in direct sun for over 8 hours a day, they are very dim when lit. Not much more than a poor accent light. June 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Product Excellent product. Easy to assemble. I have 15 of them. July 15, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Less than 2 hrs of light in less than 90 days These lights would be terrific if the batteries had legs but the set I bought, in less than 90 days, wasn't lighting the string for even 2 hours after sundown so I returned them. Not sure if the solar batteries do not hold enough charge or if what I bought just had bad batteries. If it was the latter I'd buy them again but if the former I would not purchase these. You'd be spending a lot replacing batteries too frequently to make these cost-effective. November 2, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Solar Lighting Good product and lights up well. Simple to install in any location. April 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great product. This is a great product. I purchased two units to outline my patio. They charge well and provide a nice outline light. I have recommended them to others. April 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by really good A quick setup from the package and lights up the pathway May 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nicer than the other set/brand I bought Stays bright all night long! Easy to install compared to other brand. May 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely lights My husband had installed the rope lighting around our decking as a night safety feature. They were very easy to install. The solar panel works great. We have it tucked in a flower pot. Even thought it doesn't get direct sunlight (filtered through our tree) the illumination last for hours! It added a little of embiance to our back yard. Great product for the price. June 26, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I love this product I bought this product for pathway lighting for our property in the country (just outside our RV). Very easy to install (secured with landscape fabric stakes), no electricity required and lights stay lit until the very wee hours in the AM. Gives a nice nighttime look and lights the way if you have to step outside. June 4, 2013
  • 2016-08-29 T18:15:25.359-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_106, tr_106
  • loc_en_US, sid_202583832, prod, sort_default
<< 2 3 4 5 >>
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 95ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT