Model # 82056-055SR

Internet #202583832

Store SKU #905007

Hampton Bay 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
0609839820560

Hampton Bay

16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light

  • Heavy-duty plastic offers weather resistance
  • Up to eight hours of bright white light
  • Energy-efficient, solar-powered LEDs
$29.97 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

The Hampton Bay 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light is versatile and easy to use, featuring a clear flexible design with 55 super bright white LEDs. Great for accentuating outdoor railings, trellises, walkways and trim, it's also a perfect choice when decorating your deck, balcony and patio umbrella. The rope includes mounting clips and 6 ft. of cord from solar panel to lighted rope for optimal positioning in the sunlight, as well as handy wall or ground mounting hardware for the solar panel.

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

16 Questions45 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
This question is from 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
 
6 answers

Can additional lengths of rope lighting be added?

This question is from 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
July 17, 2014
Are other brands of rope lighting comparable to this manufacturer product as well?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (6)

Asked by
Texas
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
August 3, 2016
Answer: 
No.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
April 7, 2016
Answer: 
From Roxy - sorry it says 16 feet. My bad. I had guessed 6-7 feet. it is long.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
April 7, 2016
Answer: 
don't think so. this is quite long. say 6-7 feet and a long lead wire for the solar panel
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Islip, NY
Read all my Q&A
December 17, 2014
Answer: 
Each string has its own non-detachable solar panel and can't be physically linked together. I have two that I installed so that they look like one long 32 foot string.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Los Angeles CA
Read all my Q&A
July 18, 2014
Answer: 
No. The lighting is in a clear rubber tube and it has a closed, sealed end. So if you need a longer length, you have to buy another set of rope lighting and simply install it / continue it where the other rope ends. This is exactly what I did.
As a note, I bought four of these and they are on the same deck's railing -- so they have the same sun exposure. Two have weathered pretty substantially, with the Read More
No. The lighting is in a clear rubber tube and it has a closed, sealed end. So if you need a longer length, you have to buy another set of rope lighting and simply install it / continue it where the other rope ends. This is exactly what I did.
As a note, I bought four of these and they are on the same deck's railing -- so they have the same sun exposure. Two have weathered pretty substantially, with the tubing turning brown / yellow and milky, while the other two strands remain more clear (but still not as crystal clear as when new). The result is half of the rope lighting is still "normal" and white-ish, the other is visibly dull and worn and the rope lights do not have the same intensity / brightness. Which makes for an cruddy looking deck decoration! My guesstimate is these really only have about a 2 year useful life -- which is when I bought mine. Maybe if this is a newer improved version, it will literally weather things better. Read Less
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
San Antonio, Tx area
Read all my Q&A
July 18, 2014
Answer: 
I would not attempt to add additionl lights, it is just as easy to purchase another set with the solar charger. I have three set around my patio.
The batteries and solar charger are sized for maximum charging and length of time for lighting of the rope lights, more lights in the string would probably shorten but lighting time and coulld reduce battery light.
Additionally changes would void the warrenty.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
This question is from 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
 
6 answers

Can we use these rope lights to light up a sign?

This question is from 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
Asked by
South Texas
Read all my Q&A
April 5, 2014
Our little church is located on a deserted country road and the entrance is a distance from any electrical source. We are on a low budget but want a sign to provide notice of where to make the turn on the road to the church at night. Will these lights be able to serve the purpose? It is South Texas and usually very sunny during the day.
Thank you,
Suzie
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (6)

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
April 7, 2016
Answer: 
Maybe not. The plastic is thick so may not bend well.
Better off with solar Christmas type lights, regular wire for this.
You can try it. Save your receipt though.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Islip, NY
Read all my Q&A
December 17, 2014
Answer: 
No. They could outline the sign but are not strong enough to illuminate it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Los Angeles CA
Read all my Q&A
July 18, 2014
Answer: 
It is definitely not bright enough to provide ie, illumination for reading purposes!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Port St. Lucie, FL, USA
Read all my Q&A
April 29, 2014
Answer: 
Yes I believe they would light you sign properly and they work well. Good quality.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Texas, USA
Read all my Q&A
April 15, 2014
Answer: 
These would help call attention to the sign, but I don't think they would illuminate the words. You could use a couple of strands to outline the sign so it could be seen. There are also solar spot lights that work well to light the sign and the words. Our church had a similar issue and we are using solar spot lights.
It just depends on what you need.
Hope this helps.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Atlanta GA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
April 5, 2014
Answer: 
Hey Suzie,
Thank you for your question.
Solar lighting is a great option for when you can't get to an electrical source.
You didn't say what size of the sign you have nor if there will be any trees blocking it from getting light.
While rope light, if done properly, can work for lighting up a sign, it actually be better if you chose instead a Solar Spot Light to focus on the sign better.
Check out Read More
Hey Suzie,
Thank you for your question.
Solar lighting is a great option for when you can't get to an electrical source.
You didn't say what size of the sign you have nor if there will be any trees blocking it from getting light.
While rope light, if done properly, can work for lighting up a sign, it actually be better if you chose instead a Solar Spot Light to focus on the sign better.
Check out this link to view one we carry in our stores:
http://www.homedepot.com/p/Hampton-Bay-Outdoor-Solar-Black-LED-70-Lumen-Spotlight-SS23C-M8-BKT-CPK1/204471418
Hope this has assisted you,
Joseph
Read Less
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
This question is from 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
 
4 answers

Rope lights not working, what can I do?

This question is from 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
Asked by
Millersville, Maryland
Read all my Q&A
January 1, 2015
The batteries are fully charged 3.42V each.
I have the switch turned to "ON".
I have covered the panel to simulate night, but no voltage reading at the output terminal (should be reading about 10 volts?)
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (4)

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
April 7, 2016
Answer: 
Return it. Needs good sunlight. I mounted the solar panel on a tube so it would get maximum light. worked well.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Southeast USA
Read all my Q&A
August 16, 2015
Answer: 
Return them for a refund.
I just submitted a review and had the same issue with two, out of the box new, stings of these lights.
What you are experiencing is poor quality control.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 2, 2015
Answer: 
I'm going to answer this myself. I found there was nothing more for me to check so I returned it for another one. The new one works great.
This had to be a bad circuit in the solar panel. (No voltage out)
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Islip, NY
Read all my Q&A
January 2, 2015
Answer: 
I don't want to seem trite, but use your meter to find the open. Put the neg lead to the neg side of the battery and probe with the positive lead step-by-step until there is no voltage sensed. the open is between the last two places probed. Since these are outdoors, it is possible for a bad connection due to dissimilar metal corrosion in a connector or a rotted through wire or a corroded cold solder Read More
I don't want to seem trite, but use your meter to find the open. Put the neg lead to the neg side of the battery and probe with the positive lead step-by-step until there is no voltage sensed. the open is between the last two places probed. Since these are outdoors, it is possible for a bad connection due to dissimilar metal corrosion in a connector or a rotted through wire or a corroded cold solder joint. Sorry if yoy already checked these, but I mention them in case you missed on. Good luck! Let us all know how you make out. Read Less
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
This question is from 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
 
4 answers

What is the diameter of this rope light?

This question is from 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
Asked by
Iowa City, IA
Read all my Q&A
July 4, 2014
I'd like to cut it into 4 - 4' pieces and assemble with a cross fitting to light a lawn windmill..
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (4)

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
April 7, 2016
Answer: 
about a regular finger width.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
montana
Read all my Q&A
July 7, 2014
Answer: 
it is not very thick. It is about a 1/4 in or so around.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Iowa City, IA
Read all my Q&A
July 5, 2014
Answer: 
No way this is 1" diameter rope light. Likely either 3/8" or 1/2", would just like to know which.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Port St. Lucie, FL, USA
Read all my Q&A
July 4, 2014
Answer: 
They are almost an inch thick and give off good light.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
2 »
  • 2016-10-30 T23:38:47.335-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_202583832, prod, sort_default
2 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 116ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 114.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great night lighting I love the solar aspect of this! Stays lit all night long
Date published: 2014-08-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow this is the Kittens' Toe I took the Chance at about $ 30.00 and got Exactly what I wanted; after attaching the solar panel to the roof edge the batteries get more than 8 hours and the lights stay on until 5 AM (only wish there was an on and off stitch. But lately I have been working all night and have noticed that the other solar lights play out around 8 AM >>> Wish they all came with an On / Off switch. One unit is large enough for the average full bath but need 3 units for the kitchen, I intend to put this solar LED rope through out the house and all around the roof line so strangers and Thieves can see me coming and RUN !
Date published: 2015-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Have been thinking about getting a couple more . Product was great ,and I was very happy with it. They only thing I was disappoint in was how I got it. I ask that it be shipped to my store and it wasn,t I had to drive 8 miles to pick it up at another store.
Date published: 2015-08-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Makes a lovely illumination around my deck The light role was easy to install and went up quickly. Illuminates my deck just enough for the added light I wanted. And it looks beautiful. I put up three of these light ropes with ease.
Date published: 2015-09-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solar LED rope lights that meet expectations Solar cell and battery is sufficient for about five hours of lighting in SE Michigan winter. The rope lights aren't fancy but the tubing is clear and the connections are simple. The switches require bare hands to determine the position for on/off due to a protective rubber boot over the switch. It may take more ropes to cover the distance but the price/foot makes this a good deal.
Date published: 2013-01-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from would not buy again not happy with product's brightness and the overall time it lights up. i will look online for a different brand.
Date published: 2012-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this product I bought this product for pathway lighting for our property in the country (just outside our RV). Very easy to install (secured with landscape fabric stakes), no electricity required and lights stay lit until the very wee hours in the AM. Gives a nice nighttime look and lights the way if you have to step outside.
Date published: 2013-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Everything I expected. These lights are just as good as promised. We attached them to the end of our deck which overlaps our garden pond. The lights make a beautiful reflection on the water and add just the right ambiance. I reserved them online and picked them up the next day at our local Home Depot store.
Date published: 2012-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great purchase This is a great product I was very pleased with the purchase. The lights are very bright and the product is very good quality. If you are looking for solar rope lights this is the product for you.
Date published: 2013-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these lights. They are very bright and they stay on a long time. Deck looks enchanting. Love these lights can't wait for the evening to sit out and enjoy them.
Date published: 2013-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! Love these lights -- Great since they are solar!!!
Date published: 2013-08-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from not bright enough was hoping they would shed a bit more light on our pathways when we are camping but they work good enough
Date published: 2013-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from worked very well we put this around our business sign and it works real well,lights up the sign like we hoped it would
Date published: 2013-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a good product. Put it on the sceen tents and it was light in thge dark. It was easy to put up. When it was dark, the solar light came on.
Date published: 2013-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outside Bar addition Great solar product, looks great on my outside bar.
Date published: 2013-06-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really bright I put this rope light on my deck rail going down the steps just enough light to see where the step are.
Date published: 2012-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Bright, quick to charge even in indirect sunlight A bit pricey, but well worth it We used them to light a stairway in the yard and the next day bought a second set to light a gazebo
Date published: 2012-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Many uses for this easy to use Solar Rope Light. This was easy to set up, I am using it in my patio umbrella to add a soft light.
Date published: 2012-10-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Complete Garbage. Terrible Quality. Going back for refund. Hung the light up, waited until night. Was pleased to see it light up. After 60 seconds, mysteriously died. Fiddled with it, but never came back on. Obviously major quality control issues. HD should find a better quality supplier. Major disappointment. I wish I could give ZERO stars.
Date published: 2015-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great lights I purchased these lights to provide an inexpensive light source for my chicken coup. it only took about 5 minutes to install and works very well. I will most likely purchase another set for more conventional use
Date published: 2015-02-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from underneath fence lighting Mounted underneath cedar fence for safety and decor near in ground pool. 5 stars if mounting clips were durable and if there were any other color options.
Date published: 2015-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good purchase very pleased lights are just what i expected easy to put up and light they put out is perfect
Date published: 2015-07-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from solar lights They keep going out and i don't know why. Very frustrating.
Date published: 2015-07-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good value I installed this on my sliding driveway chainlink gate so I wouldn't back into it at night. It works great! just bright enough to clearly see, and the lights stay light for many hours.
Date published: 2015-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product We are using this to line the side of our driveway. Stays lit all night long after a day in the Texas sun.
Date published: 2015-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bright light without electric hookup My solar collector is not in the best place - facing east but blocked mostly, and blocked completely after only a couple of hours. Still, night after night, this strand gives enough light to make a good difference to lighting a doorway. Also, the lighting looks good enough that I'm thinking of adding more for light but also for appearance.
Date published: 2014-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice & bright I bought these in early spring to wrap around my daughter's swing set. We have been using them for a few months now & they still work great. Nice & bright. They stay lit for several hours after dark.
Date published: 2014-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from solar led rope light The lights are real easy to place garden bed or shaped border and the sun does all the work in charging these. They look great in a garden or around a patio or as accent lighting.
Date published: 2014-07-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product. This is a great product. I purchased two units to outline my patio. They charge well and provide a nice outline light. I have recommended them to others.
Date published: 2014-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Terrific Terrific addition to backyard. I am using it to light up my water feature in the pool. Works great and easy to install
Date published: 2014-07-29
  • y_2017, m_1, d_20, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_114
  • loc_, sid_202583832, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 69ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT