0609839820560

Hampton Bay

Model # 82056-055SR

Internet # 202583832

Store SKU # 905007

16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light

$29.97 /each
  • Heavy-duty plastic offers weather resistance
  • Up to eight hours of bright white light
  • Energy-efficient, solar-powered LEDs

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

The Hampton Bay 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light is versatile and easy to use, featuring a clear flexible design with 55 super bright white LEDs. Great for accentuating outdoor railings, trellises, walkways and trim, it's also a perfect choice when decorating your deck, balcony and patio umbrella. The rope includes mounting clips and 6 ft. of cord from solar panel to lighted rope for optimal positioning in the sunlight, as well as handy wall or ground mounting hardware for the solar panel.

  • Durable plastic construction for lasting outdoor use
  • Dual mounting hardware options are included
  • When the sun goes down, lights automatically come on to provide up to eight hours of bright white light
  • Lightweight, bendable design allows for endless installation possibilities
  • Rechargeable 18500 lithium-ion battery is powered by the sun for an energy-efficient and economical lighting solution
  • 1-year limited warranty

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Product Depth (in.) 
4.25 
Product Height (in.) 
12.99 
Product Length (in.) 
263.77 
Product Width (in.) 
2.99 

Details

Actual Color Temperature (K) 
5000 
Bulb Type Included 
LED 
Color Rendering Index 
65 
Color Temperature 
Bright White 
Exterior Lighting Accessory Type 
Specialty Light 
Exterior Lighting Product Type 
Rope and String Lights 
Fixture Color/Finish 
Clear 
Fixture Material 
Plastic 
Glass/Lens Type 
No glass/lens 
Landscape Lighting Application 
Deck & Stair Lighting 
Light Output (lumens) 
10 
Lighting Kit 
Yes 
Motion Sensor 
No 
Mounting Type 
Stair 
Number of Bulbs Required 
Number of Housings Included 
Outdoor Lighting Features 
Dusk to Dawn,Solar Powered,Weather Resistant 
Power Type 
Solar 
Product Weight (lb.) 
1 lb 
Returnable 
90-Day 

Warranty / Certifications

Certifications and Listings 
No Certifications or Listings 
ENERGY STAR Certified 
No 
Manufacturer Warranty 
1 Year Limited Warranty 

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

14 Questions40 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
This question is from 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
 
6 answers

Can we use these rope lights to light up a sign?

This question is from 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
Asked by
South Texas
Read all my Q&A
April 5, 2014
Our little church is located on a deserted country road and the entrance is a distance from any electrical source. We are on a low budget but want a sign to provide notice of where to make the turn on the road to the church at night. Will these lights be able to serve the purpose? It is South Texas and usually very sunny during the day.
Thank you,
Suzie
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (6)

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
April 7, 2016
Answer: 
Maybe not. The plastic is thick so may not bend well.
Better off with solar Christmas type lights, regular wire for this.
You can try it. Save your receipt though.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Islip, NY
Read all my Q&A
December 17, 2014
Answer: 
No. They could outline the sign but are not strong enough to illuminate it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Los Angeles CA
Read all my Q&A
July 18, 2014
Answer: 
It is definitely not bright enough to provide ie, illumination for reading purposes!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Port St. Lucie, FL, USA
Read all my Q&A
April 29, 2014
Answer: 
Yes I believe they would light you sign properly and they work well. Good quality.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Texas, USA
Read all my Q&A
April 15, 2014
Answer: 
These would help call attention to the sign, but I don't think they would illuminate the words. You could use a couple of strands to outline the sign so it could be seen. There are also solar spot lights that work well to light the sign and the words. Our church had a similar issue and we are using solar spot lights.
It just depends on what you need.
Hope this helps.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Atlanta GA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
April 5, 2014
Answer: 
Hey Suzie,
Thank you for your question.
Solar lighting is a great option for when you can't get to an electrical source.
You didn't say what size of the sign you have nor if there will be any trees blocking it from getting light.
While rope light, if done properly, can work for lighting up a sign, it actually be better if you chose instead a Solar Spot Light to focus on the sign better.
Check out Read More
Hey Suzie,
Thank you for your question.
Solar lighting is a great option for when you can't get to an electrical source.
You didn't say what size of the sign you have nor if there will be any trees blocking it from getting light.
While rope light, if done properly, can work for lighting up a sign, it actually be better if you chose instead a Solar Spot Light to focus on the sign better.
Check out this link to view one we carry in our stores:
http://www.homedepot.com/p/Hampton-Bay-Outdoor-Solar-Black-LED-70-Lumen-Spotlight-SS23C-M8-BKT-CPK1/204471418
Hope this has assisted you,
Joseph
Read Less
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
This question is from 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
 
5 answers

Can additional lengths of rope lighting be added?

This question is from 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
July 17, 2014
Are other brands of rope lighting comparable to this manufacturer product as well?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (5)

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
April 7, 2016
Answer: 
From Roxy - sorry it says 16 feet. My bad. I had guessed 6-7 feet. it is long.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
April 7, 2016
Answer: 
don't think so. this is quite long. say 6-7 feet and a long lead wire for the solar panel
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Islip, NY
Read all my Q&A
December 17, 2014
Answer: 
Each string has its own non-detachable solar panel and can't be physically linked together. I have two that I installed so that they look like one long 32 foot string.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Los Angeles CA
Read all my Q&A
July 18, 2014
Answer: 
No. The lighting is in a clear rubber tube and it has a closed, sealed end. So if you need a longer length, you have to buy another set of rope lighting and simply install it / continue it where the other rope ends. This is exactly what I did.
As a note, I bought four of these and they are on the same deck's railing -- so they have the same sun exposure. Two have weathered pretty substantially, with the Read More
No. The lighting is in a clear rubber tube and it has a closed, sealed end. So if you need a longer length, you have to buy another set of rope lighting and simply install it / continue it where the other rope ends. This is exactly what I did.
As a note, I bought four of these and they are on the same deck's railing -- so they have the same sun exposure. Two have weathered pretty substantially, with the tubing turning brown / yellow and milky, while the other two strands remain more clear (but still not as crystal clear as when new). The result is half of the rope lighting is still "normal" and white-ish, the other is visibly dull and worn and the rope lights do not have the same intensity / brightness. Which makes for an cruddy looking deck decoration! My guesstimate is these really only have about a 2 year useful life -- which is when I bought mine. Maybe if this is a newer improved version, it will literally weather things better. Read Less
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
San Antonio, Tx area
Read all my Q&A
July 18, 2014
Answer: 
I would not attempt to add additionl lights, it is just as easy to purchase another set with the solar charger. I have three set around my patio.
The batteries and solar charger are sized for maximum charging and length of time for lighting of the rope lights, more lights in the string would probably shorten but lighting time and coulld reduce battery light.
Additionally changes would void the warrenty.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
This question is from 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
 
4 answers

Rope lights not working, what can I do?

This question is from 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
Asked by
Millersville, Maryland
Read all my Q&A
January 1, 2015
The batteries are fully charged 3.42V each.
I have the switch turned to "ON".
I have covered the panel to simulate night, but no voltage reading at the output terminal (should be reading about 10 volts?)
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (4)

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
April 7, 2016
Answer: 
Return it. Needs good sunlight. I mounted the solar panel on a tube so it would get maximum light. worked well.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Southeast USA
Read all my Q&A
August 16, 2015
Answer: 
Return them for a refund.
I just submitted a review and had the same issue with two, out of the box new, stings of these lights.
What you are experiencing is poor quality control.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 2, 2015
Answer: 
I'm going to answer this myself. I found there was nothing more for me to check so I returned it for another one. The new one works great.
This had to be a bad circuit in the solar panel. (No voltage out)
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Islip, NY
Read all my Q&A
January 2, 2015
Answer: 
I don't want to seem trite, but use your meter to find the open. Put the neg lead to the neg side of the battery and probe with the positive lead step-by-step until there is no voltage sensed. the open is between the last two places probed. Since these are outdoors, it is possible for a bad connection due to dissimilar metal corrosion in a connector or a rotted through wire or a corroded cold solder Read More
I don't want to seem trite, but use your meter to find the open. Put the neg lead to the neg side of the battery and probe with the positive lead step-by-step until there is no voltage sensed. the open is between the last two places probed. Since these are outdoors, it is possible for a bad connection due to dissimilar metal corrosion in a connector or a rotted through wire or a corroded cold solder joint. Sorry if yoy already checked these, but I mention them in case you missed on. Good luck! Let us all know how you make out. Read Less
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
This question is from 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
 
4 answers

What is the diameter of this rope light?

This question is from 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
Asked by
Iowa City, IA
Read all my Q&A
July 4, 2014
I'd like to cut it into 4 - 4' pieces and assemble with a cross fitting to light a lawn windmill..
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (4)

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
April 7, 2016
Answer: 
about a regular finger width.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
montana
Read all my Q&A
July 7, 2014
Answer: 
it is not very thick. It is about a 1/4 in or so around.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Iowa City, IA
Read all my Q&A
July 5, 2014
Answer: 
No way this is 1" diameter rope light. Likely either 3/8" or 1/2", would just like to know which.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Port St. Lucie, FL, USA
Read all my Q&A
July 4, 2014
Answer: 
They are almost an inch thick and give off good light.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
2 »
  • 2016-07-29 T15:59:54.867-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_202583832, prod, sort_default
2 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 56ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 105 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by love it! I bought one and had compliment all the time I have owned the first one for about a year now and it is as strong as it was when I first bought it! i even bought one as a Christmas gift to my aunt she loved it ! January 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Solar LED rope lights that meet expectations Solar cell and battery is sufficient for about five hours of lighting in SE Michigan winter. The rope lights aren't fancy but the tubing is clear and the connections are simple. The switches require bare hands to determine the position for on/off due to a protective rubber boot over the switch. It may take more ropes to cover the distance but the price/foot makes this a good deal. January 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely lights My husband had installed the rope lighting around our decking as a night safety feature. They were very easy to install. The solar panel works great. We have it tucked in a flower pot. Even thought it doesn't get direct sunlight (filtered through our tree) the illumination last for hours! It added a little of embiance to our back yard. Great product for the price. June 26, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Light up walkways, decks, retaining walls, etc with Solar Power We built a retaining wall along our back fence and there is no electrical to run electric powered lighting. These were perfect to lightup the base of the wall. They also look great along the edge of the patio. We are also considering lighting up our palm tree trunks with them as well. These would be awesome if they could be innerconnected like the electric ones. July 9, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Works Great and Easy to Use bought this for a party and want to get 2 more to light outdoor trees for the holidays. once you put it up you don't have to worry about it - it just goes on when the sun goes down and voila! love it December 10, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Replacement battery can't be found This in addition to my previous review. My lights were dimming, so I took out the battery, hoping to replace it. I can't find a replacement anywhere. I emailed Hampton Bay, the manufacturer, and have received no reply. The only thing I can do is tear these out and find some other type to replace them. May 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent product 2 16' ropes up now for 2 months perfect lights for us - not too bright just right they are still lite up @4am just a ittle dull the only improvement i would suggest is a little more articulation in the panel mounts due to where i had to mount them i cant get one pointed as well as the other to catch the best rays March 27, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice product So far, I like this light. I installed the ropes underneath some benches I built on my deck. The indirect light they provide makes for a nice atmosphere. I only hold back from 5 stars across the board because I want to see how well the lights hold up over the winter, as taking them down is not feasible. September 18, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Everything I expected. These lights are just as good as promised. We attached them to the end of our deck which overlaps our garden pond. The lights make a beautiful reflection on the water and add just the right ambiance. I reserved them online and picked them up the next day at our local Home Depot store. August 28, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 2 years and still working I bought two sets of these lights to place around my driveway but decided I would move them to my backyard to my arbor. My backyard looks great at night when they are on. A inexpensive way to light up your yard by the SUN June 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by wow! love this. Used 4 sets on my walkway and I just love them. Yes, the pipe that attaches to the spike breaks very easily. I used duct tape to fix that. not a big deal. They are bright and beautiful. Highly recommended. June 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice solor rope light Bought this for my backyard - for the price honestly it should have been a lot longer in length. That is only real negative I have about this. The product itself is very nice. July 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by I'll buy more if they continue to work this well. I've only owned these lights for about a month and so far they are working great. Of course, it all depends on the amount of sun they get. I've bought other string solar lights from Home Depot that did not last very long. The rope lights are much brighter and are very attractive strung along my bannister. Just hope they last! December 27, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great purchase This is a great product I was very pleased with the purchase. The lights are very bright and the product is very good quality. If you are looking for solar rope lights this is the product for you. July 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Buy it! I hung the rope light above my table on the back porch. Perfect lighting for company and visitors while setting outside. Light lasts several hours...doesn't make it through till sunrise. Plenty of clips for hanging and lots of lead wire from the solar collector. Great product! November 7, 2012
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by LIghts don't last that long The lights only stay on for about 4 hours. I live in CA, so I certainly have enough sunlight to power them. Plus, I've had these about a year and a half, and the bulbs a slowing burning out. May 2, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by not bright enough was hoping they would shed a bit more light on our pathways when we are camping but they work good enough June 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love these lights. They are very bright and they stay on a long time. Deck looks enchanting. Love these lights can't wait for the evening to sit out and enjoy them. August 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great product! Love these lights -- Great since they are solar!!! August 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best solar powered lighting for a patio! Two of these, weaved threw the trees along our 20x25ft. patio, made a huge difference in lighting. A LOT BETTER than 10 little solar landscaping lights I had there last year. I can actually see more than just the ground around the lights now. June 1, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by bright Good price, bright and I own 2 now.its great for the price. July 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outside Bar addition Great solar product, looks great on my outside bar. June 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The LED lights are nice and bright I love,love solar rope lighting for decorating and this strand appears to be good quality all though its only been two weeks. I espicially like the LED lighting there nice and bright. C.M. from Mn December 20, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by This is a good product. Put it on the sceen tents and it was light in thge dark. It was easy to put up. When it was dark, the solar light came on. April 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Bright! Placed around bricks in front of my home where I have flowers planted, so, so beautiful at night April 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by worked very well we put this around our business sign and it works real well,lights up the sign like we hoped it would May 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I got the lights to add a little romance to my backyard.. They are actually very nice . The lights have an on/off switch which I think is wonderful. May 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by solar rope light works great to light areas with no electric We used these lights at a cabin in Ga to help light the driveway at night, no electric hook up, no electric usage, also bought the solar stair lights and loved them both. January 17, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great product These lights did exactly what I wanted them to do. They work great. They give off just enough light. Would definitely recommend. July 17, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Bright, quick to charge even in indirect sunlight A bit pricey, but well worth it We used them to light a stairway in the yard and the next day bought a second set to light a gazebo July 17, 2012
  • 2016-07-30 T15:16:04.401-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_105, tr_105
  • loc_en_US, sid_202583832, prod, sort_default
<< 2 3 4 5 >>
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 87ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT