0609839820560

Hampton Bay

Model 82056-055SR

Internet #202583832

Store SKU #905007

16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light

$29.97 /each
  • Heavy-duty plastic offers weather resistance
  • Up to eight hours of bright white light
  • Energy-efficient, solar-powered LEDs

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

The Hampton Bay 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light is versatile and easy to use, featuring a clear flexible design with 55 super bright white LEDs. Great for accentuating outdoor railings, trellises, walkways and trim, it's also a perfect choice when decorating your deck, balcony and patio umbrella. The rope includes mounting clips and 6 ft. of cord from solar panel to lighted rope for optimal positioning in the sunlight, as well as handy wall or ground mounting hardware for the solar panel.

  • Durable plastic construction for lasting outdoor use
  • Dual mounting hardware options are included
  • When the sun goes down, lights automatically come on to provide up to eight hours of bright white light
  • Lightweight, bendable design allows for endless installation possibilities
  • Rechargeable 18500 lithium-ion battery is powered by the sun for an energy-efficient and economical lighting solution
  • 1-year limited warranty
  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

16 Questions44 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
This question is from 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
 
6 answers

Can additional lengths of rope lighting be added?

This question is from 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
July 17, 2014
Are other brands of rope lighting comparable to this manufacturer product as well?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (6)

Asked by
Texas
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
August 3, 2016
Answer: 
No.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
April 7, 2016
Answer: 
From Roxy - sorry it says 16 feet. My bad. I had guessed 6-7 feet. it is long.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
April 7, 2016
Answer: 
don't think so. this is quite long. say 6-7 feet and a long lead wire for the solar panel
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Islip, NY
Read all my Q&A
December 17, 2014
Answer: 
Each string has its own non-detachable solar panel and can't be physically linked together. I have two that I installed so that they look like one long 32 foot string.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Los Angeles CA
Read all my Q&A
July 18, 2014
Answer: 
No. The lighting is in a clear rubber tube and it has a closed, sealed end. So if you need a longer length, you have to buy another set of rope lighting and simply install it / continue it where the other rope ends. This is exactly what I did.
As a note, I bought four of these and they are on the same deck's railing -- so they have the same sun exposure. Two have weathered pretty substantially, with the Read More
No. The lighting is in a clear rubber tube and it has a closed, sealed end. So if you need a longer length, you have to buy another set of rope lighting and simply install it / continue it where the other rope ends. This is exactly what I did.
As a note, I bought four of these and they are on the same deck's railing -- so they have the same sun exposure. Two have weathered pretty substantially, with the tubing turning brown / yellow and milky, while the other two strands remain more clear (but still not as crystal clear as when new). The result is half of the rope lighting is still "normal" and white-ish, the other is visibly dull and worn and the rope lights do not have the same intensity / brightness. Which makes for an cruddy looking deck decoration! My guesstimate is these really only have about a 2 year useful life -- which is when I bought mine. Maybe if this is a newer improved version, it will literally weather things better. Read Less
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
San Antonio, Tx area
Read all my Q&A
July 18, 2014
Answer: 
I would not attempt to add additionl lights, it is just as easy to purchase another set with the solar charger. I have three set around my patio.
The batteries and solar charger are sized for maximum charging and length of time for lighting of the rope lights, more lights in the string would probably shorten but lighting time and coulld reduce battery light.
Additionally changes would void the warrenty.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
This question is from 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
 
6 answers

Can we use these rope lights to light up a sign?

This question is from 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
Asked by
South Texas
Read all my Q&A
April 5, 2014
Our little church is located on a deserted country road and the entrance is a distance from any electrical source. We are on a low budget but want a sign to provide notice of where to make the turn on the road to the church at night. Will these lights be able to serve the purpose? It is South Texas and usually very sunny during the day.
Thank you,
Suzie
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (6)

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
April 7, 2016
Answer: 
Maybe not. The plastic is thick so may not bend well.
Better off with solar Christmas type lights, regular wire for this.
You can try it. Save your receipt though.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Islip, NY
Read all my Q&A
December 17, 2014
Answer: 
No. They could outline the sign but are not strong enough to illuminate it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Los Angeles CA
Read all my Q&A
July 18, 2014
Answer: 
It is definitely not bright enough to provide ie, illumination for reading purposes!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Port St. Lucie, FL, USA
Read all my Q&A
April 29, 2014
Answer: 
Yes I believe they would light you sign properly and they work well. Good quality.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Texas, USA
Read all my Q&A
April 15, 2014
Answer: 
These would help call attention to the sign, but I don't think they would illuminate the words. You could use a couple of strands to outline the sign so it could be seen. There are also solar spot lights that work well to light the sign and the words. Our church had a similar issue and we are using solar spot lights.
It just depends on what you need.
Hope this helps.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Atlanta GA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
April 5, 2014
Answer: 
Hey Suzie,
Thank you for your question.
Solar lighting is a great option for when you can't get to an electrical source.
You didn't say what size of the sign you have nor if there will be any trees blocking it from getting light.
While rope light, if done properly, can work for lighting up a sign, it actually be better if you chose instead a Solar Spot Light to focus on the sign better.
Check out Read More
Hey Suzie,
Thank you for your question.
Solar lighting is a great option for when you can't get to an electrical source.
You didn't say what size of the sign you have nor if there will be any trees blocking it from getting light.
While rope light, if done properly, can work for lighting up a sign, it actually be better if you chose instead a Solar Spot Light to focus on the sign better.
Check out this link to view one we carry in our stores:
http://www.homedepot.com/p/Hampton-Bay-Outdoor-Solar-Black-LED-70-Lumen-Spotlight-SS23C-M8-BKT-CPK1/204471418
Hope this has assisted you,
Joseph
Read Less
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
This question is from 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
 
4 answers

Rope lights not working, what can I do?

This question is from 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
Asked by
Millersville, Maryland
Read all my Q&A
January 1, 2015
The batteries are fully charged 3.42V each.
I have the switch turned to "ON".
I have covered the panel to simulate night, but no voltage reading at the output terminal (should be reading about 10 volts?)
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (4)

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
April 7, 2016
Answer: 
Return it. Needs good sunlight. I mounted the solar panel on a tube so it would get maximum light. worked well.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Southeast USA
Read all my Q&A
August 16, 2015
Answer: 
Return them for a refund.
I just submitted a review and had the same issue with two, out of the box new, stings of these lights.
What you are experiencing is poor quality control.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 2, 2015
Answer: 
I'm going to answer this myself. I found there was nothing more for me to check so I returned it for another one. The new one works great.
This had to be a bad circuit in the solar panel. (No voltage out)
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Islip, NY
Read all my Q&A
January 2, 2015
Answer: 
I don't want to seem trite, but use your meter to find the open. Put the neg lead to the neg side of the battery and probe with the positive lead step-by-step until there is no voltage sensed. the open is between the last two places probed. Since these are outdoors, it is possible for a bad connection due to dissimilar metal corrosion in a connector or a rotted through wire or a corroded cold solder Read More
I don't want to seem trite, but use your meter to find the open. Put the neg lead to the neg side of the battery and probe with the positive lead step-by-step until there is no voltage sensed. the open is between the last two places probed. Since these are outdoors, it is possible for a bad connection due to dissimilar metal corrosion in a connector or a rotted through wire or a corroded cold solder joint. Sorry if yoy already checked these, but I mention them in case you missed on. Good luck! Let us all know how you make out. Read Less
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
This question is from 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
 
4 answers

What is the diameter of this rope light?

This question is from 16 ft. Solar LED Rope Light
Asked by
Iowa City, IA
Read all my Q&A
July 4, 2014
I'd like to cut it into 4 - 4' pieces and assemble with a cross fitting to light a lawn windmill..
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (4)

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
April 7, 2016
Answer: 
about a regular finger width.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
montana
Read all my Q&A
July 7, 2014
Answer: 
it is not very thick. It is about a 1/4 in or so around.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Iowa City, IA
Read all my Q&A
July 5, 2014
Answer: 
No way this is 1" diameter rope light. Likely either 3/8" or 1/2", would just like to know which.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Port St. Lucie, FL, USA
Read all my Q&A
July 4, 2014
Answer: 
They are almost an inch thick and give off good light.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
2 »
  • 2016-09-08 T13:20:12.167-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_202583832, prod, sort_default
2 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 68ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 107 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great product These lights did exactly what I wanted them to do. They work great. They give off just enough light. Would definitely recommend. July 17, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Bright, quick to charge even in indirect sunlight A bit pricey, but well worth it We used them to light a stairway in the yard and the next day bought a second set to light a gazebo July 17, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Many uses for this easy to use Solar Rope Light. This was easy to set up, I am using it in my patio umbrella to add a soft light. October 23, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by These lights are very bright! I bought two sets of these lights to place around my flower beds. My backyard looks great at night when they are on. August 16, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Really bright I put this rope light on my deck rail going down the steps just enough light to see where the step are. September 24, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love these! My grandkids love having these lights in their bedroom in their solar, mountain home. December 27, 2011
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by would not buy again not happy with product's brightness and the overall time it lights up. i will look online for a different brand. March 15, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Easy simple and works. Process was easy. Get these in colors for Xmas in Arizona. March 14, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by quite expensive... but very good.. i used these to outline a deck railing. i am always a little wary of the "home depot" brand (this is their in house brand), and these were relatively expensive when i compared the price of other led solar light strings. but... now that i've had them up and running for about 3 months, i can say they are an excellent set of solar led lights. they are very bright, and they seem to last at least 8 hours / night, charged in the los angeles sun. i have some other rope lights off amazon by flipo, and these flipo lights were less expensive in that they were the same price, but 30 feet long -- so literally half the price. but these latter lights are not nearly as bright as the home depot / hampton bay ones. and i probably would not have even noticed or minded, had i not noticed how much brighter the home depot / hampton bay ones were. plus, on my other sets by flipo (i have 3!), the rechargeable battery (just an AA) died after about 2 months on each (i replaced it with them with sanyo enercell AA's from costco!). the home depot set however, has lasted longer and burns brighter. these home depot / hampton bay lights are definitely priced at a bit of a premium... but they are very good quality and provide nice bright white light. so if you can splurge, do so -- it's expensive but worth it. ;-) September 30, 2012
  • 2016-09-10 T11:39:49.782-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_107, tr_107
  • loc_en_US, sid_202583832, prod, sort_default
<< 2 3 4 5
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 95ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT