Model # 3323210210

Internet #202441690

Home Decorators Collection 38 in. H x 27.5 in. W Black Folding and Stacking 3-Shelf Bookcase
0846877005119

Home Decorators Collection

38 in. H x 27.5 in. W Black Folding and Stacking 3-Shelf Bookcase

Was  $85.00
$68.00 /each

Save $17.00 (20%)  through 02/06/2017

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Sturdy and stylish, the Black Folding and Stacking 3-Shelf Bookcase from Home Decorators Collection is perfect for holding books, photographs or other treasures. Portable with a fold-up design that makes moving and set-up a snap, this bookcase is also stackable for more storage space in an instant. Crafted from solid wood, this uniquely designed bookcase has a sleek black finish that will coordinate with a wide variety of decor, while adding beauty to your decor that you will enjoy for years to come.

  • Convenient fold-up design
  • 38 in H x 11.5 in D
  • No assembly required
  • Stackable for optimum versatility
  • Solid wood

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

2 Questions6 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

38 in. H x 27.5 in. W Black Folding and Stacking 3-Shelf Bookcase
38 in. H x 27.5 in. W Black Folding and Stacking 3-Shelf Bookcase

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
 
4 answers

I need to know the depth

This question is from 38 in. H x 27.5 in. W Black Folding and Stacking 3-Shelf Bookcase
Asked by
Sally
Marysville
February 22, 2012
Home Decorators Collection 3 shelf 38in H. 27.5w
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answers (4)

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
September 10, 2015
Answer: 
The depth of the shelves is 10.25 inches. The sides of the bookcase depth is 11.5 inches
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Asked by
Hawthorne, NJ
Read all my Q&A
January 12, 2015
Answer: 
a little over 10"... about 10 1/2"
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
St. Louis, MO
Read all my Q&A
February 23, 2012
Answer: 
Sally,
The Home Decorators Collection 3-Shelf 38 in. H x 27.5 in. W Black Folding/Stacking Bookcase
is 11.5" deep. The shelves are 10.5" deep.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
HD 116
www.community.homedepot.com
February 22, 2012
Answer: 
Greetings Sally,
My name is Tom, also known as HD 116 at Home Depot's How to Community. I am here today assisting with a few product questions and saw yours.
The depth on this model is 11 1/2".
Happy to have helped and thank you for your question.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
 
2 answers

How far apart is each shelf?

This question is from 38 in. H x 27.5 in. W Black Folding and Stacking 3-Shelf Bookcase
Asked by
Tali
Elko Nevada
January 17, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (2)

Asked by
Hawthorne, NJ
Read all my Q&A
January 12, 2015
Answer: 
the top one is about 9"
the other two are about 11 1/2"
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Kennesaw, GA
Read all my Q&A
January 18, 2013
Answer: 
Tali,
The shelves of the Home Decorators Collection 38 in. H x 27.5 in. W Black Folding and Stacking 3-Shelf Bookcase are 11-3/4" apart.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
1 of 1
  • 2016-10-30 T22:42:45.679-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_202441690, prod, sort_default
1 of 1
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 64ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

38 in. H x 27.5 in. W Black Folding and Stacking 3-Shelf Bookcase is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 653.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Invention I've bought a few of these bookcases now and just love them. They look great, of course being made of wood and having a rich finish. But the convenience makes these an outstanding product and a great value. They fold, so are easy to stack and move (which, lately, I've been having to do a lot). Firm and stable they hold the heaviest of books with ease. The stacking feature works great, and the stacked cases remain stable and strong. Even though the shelves aren't adjustable, they're sized right to get the most usable space for various sizes of books and notebooks. Great product/
Date published: 2010-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really pleased !! The natural folding bookcase was really sturdy and lovely - it exceeded my expectations. I bought 2 that stack and the only difficulty I had was getting the top one to mesh onto the lower one - seemed the little 'balls' that fit together were a little tough to fit all the way, but I succeeded in the end. A man could have probably done this with no problem. Otherwise, it is beautiful and super easy to assemble (i.e., you unfold it). Thank you - I may get another one !!!
Date published: 2009-12-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Looks nice, assembly glitchy These are good solid wood shelves, and the walnut finish gives them a more expensive look. However, I had to slightly enlarge the holes in the top piece with a router to get the pegs in the shelves to fit, then use a rubber mallet to tap the top piece into place. The finish is not scuff-resistant, so you have to take some care in sliding objects on the shelves. Also, because of the design, you can't adjust the spacing between the shelves. 12 inches is what you get.
Date published: 2010-04-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Almost Perfect This bookcase is a good solution especially for people like me who are not good with assembling/mounting wall shelving. It was very easy to assemble and you can't tell that it's a foldaway bookcase. The only negatives are that the top mantle piece doesn't completely attach, even after hammering it down; and hammering isn't viable because it will leave indentations in the wood. Also, some of the small pegs were difficult to insert into their holes.
Date published: 2011-07-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very nice quality I love this bookcase. It is made of real wood, is sturdy and the color was as described. It came promptly and fits perfectly in my decor. The only drawback is the unfinished look of the bookcase without the mantle top, which is sold separately, and for a separate shipping cost. I finally did order the top because I think it will make the bookcase look a little more classy. But all in all, a nice looking and sturdy piece of furniture. I love it!
Date published: 2011-09-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Look good but so-so for stacking One of these by itself would be great--nice looking, sturdy, and so easy to assemble/move. However, I need to stack two, and they don't fit togehter that well. Also, the dowels that connect them should be longer to make the product more sturdy when stacked. It is essential to secure the top one to the wall because it wobbles and has limited stability on top of another one.
Date published: 2013-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The good, the bad, no ugly The good:The bookcase looks sturdy and doesn't wobble on an even floor. I will be using it to display glass artwork pieces so it needs to be substantial yet I will be transporting it to shows so I needed something that folded and wasn't too heavy. I think this fits the bill. The bad: The shelves are 10.25" deep, not the 11.5 that I was expecting. That measurement would include the sides of the case. It probably won't matter to me, but it might matter to some so they should change that measurement on the listing. Because these are meant to have either a top shelf (which I did not buy) or to be stacked, there are holes in the top that have small pieces of plastic dowel stuck in them. Stuck being the operative word - I can't get them out. It would have been better for them to come separately in a plastic bag rather than being hammered into the holes. I will probably have to take pliers to them, which worries me that I will scuff the finish of the case. Which is my final minor complaint - the finish. The shelves have obvious brushstrokes of the paint. This wouldn't matter to someone who's covering the entire shelf, but I will not. But I searched for quite a while for a nice looking folding shelf that wasn't ridiculously expensive, so even with these minor issues I would still recommend this bookcase.
Date published: 2015-09-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love it- I bought this shelf for extra storage in my DD's room and was impressed by the quality of the shelf itself, very sturdy and clever design. It came well packaged and fit perfectly. Color was slightly more lime green than lighter sage green as it appeared online but overall I love it and would buy another shelf of similar design for other storage needs. Looks great with the matching mantle top also.
Date published: 2011-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FINALLY Finally a bookcase that is made of actual wood and does not require a 14 hour assembly process that ends up with me sitting on the floor staring at a bunch of parts that don't fit together like the picture says they should. This is already assembled--you just unfold it and lay the shelves down. It looks great. You might want ot buy the mantle top, sold separately, which forms a top shelf.
Date published: 2011-08-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The mantel top did not fit and I had to drill out the holes so that the piece would sit properly on the top of the case. What is worse, the two cases did not sit one on top of the other for the same reason: I had to drill the holes out so that the pieces would fit together. Others have had the same problem and I am sorry to see that you have done nothing to correct this deficiency.
Date published: 2011-07-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy bookcase solution The open shelving/bookcase unit was so easy to take from the box, unfold and begin using. I put it in my 18 year old son's room and it looks great. He liked it as well. I chose black as I think this shelf/bookcase unit would look good in almost any room. I am very happy with this purchase and the price was very reasonable for the quality.
Date published: 2012-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality folding bookcase The white folding bookcase was just what I needed for a small section on my sunporch. The units fit securely and provide space for my books and nick-nacks. I have ordered a second set in the 27.5 inch size for the other side of the room. I am very pleased with my purchase.
Date published: 2011-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great purchase i'm always looking for products that require little or no assembly, so this was perfect. You can assemble it blindfolded. Because of the fragile shelves that fold outward, be sure you place it where you want it - if you need to relocate it, you'll need to empty the shelves first.
Date published: 2009-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from just what i needed! handsome and dead simple to put together (you really just kind of unfold it), this bookcase can work in my home office now and somewhere else later. i have two stacked, but i can pull them apart for some other room. the black, at least, is quite nicely made and finished.
Date published: 2010-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice and Easy I was very pleased with the finish and overall quality of the shelves, but I was even more thrilled with the easy set up. Took longer to pull it out of the box then it did to completely set up! The option of stacking makes for more floor space or mix and match.
Date published: 2011-08-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Economical/Useful product I purchased six of the bookcases and am very pleased with them. They look great in my home office and are sturdy enough to handle all my books. I love the fact that they can be folded up and moved and the fact that I can stack one on top of another to conserve space.
Date published: 2011-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Attractive bookcases! I bought two of these bookcases in yellow. It's a beautiful yellow -- bright and cheerful, but not so bright it glows. Very sturdy. I have lots of books on my bookcase. Couldn't be easier to assemble. Great value. Really adds color to the room.
Date published: 2012-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very handy little bookcases These are very nice and handy bookcases--I use mine in a closet for shoe and pant storage. The pool blue is a lovely color. Got me inspired for more "spring cleaning" and storage planning.
Date published: 2012-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just What I Was Looking For This is the answer to a nearly lifetime search: I can carry and set it up by myself, it is well constructed;it looks great; it's NOT made of composite materials but real wood, therefore not too heavy for my uptairs floors.
Date published: 2011-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value I'm very happy with this bookcase. It's well constructed and the finish is lovely. Assembly shouldn't even be called assembly...just open the sides, lower the shelves into place and you're done! All in all, great value.
Date published: 2011-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product We love this bookcase...there was a damaged part in the first shipment, but the company replaced if fairly promptly...and we think this is a wonderful looking/serving bookcase in my husband's study. Bravo!
Date published: 2008-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good buy I bought it for my son's room and he likes it very much. it has nice quality and it looks very elegant. The color is very rich mahogany so make sure there are matching colors in the room.
Date published: 2011-11-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Shakes, rattles and rolls Very flimsy and must be affixed to the wall and you have to be concerned about how much you put on the shelves. Not sure if it will last.
Date published: 2013-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from folding stacking bookcase I bought several folding bookcases for my craft room. Really nice. Heavy duty. Great price.
Date published: 2012-09-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't Bother Poor quality; all kinds of dents and blemishes in key areas. Very Poor, thin paint job. Stacking hardware does not line up properly.
Date published: 2011-09-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Easy Bookcase I love the color! It's true to color & real wood.
Date published: 2012-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value Very functional, good looking, made of real wood, basically no assembly required.
Date published: 2008-10-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Okay bookcase I purchased four of these bookcases. They are attractive, but the construction is flimsy. They are definitely NOT the sturdy, thick wood kinds of bookcases I was expecting. Stacking them was not as easy as expected, either. The wood was warped just slightly, so it made it really hard to line up the pegs on the bottom of one bookcase with the pre-drilled holes on the top of the other bookcase. Finally, I have these bookshelves on carpet...not a good idea! These bookshelves (stacked tall like I have done) should only be used on tile or hardwood floors. These shelves looked a little like the leaning tower of Pisa before I added stabilizers at the bottom.
Date published: 2011-01-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't Waste Your Money On These I bought 2 bookcases and a mantel. Both book cases are wobbly and unstable stacked or unstacked. I need to add bracing to make the units secure before they can be used. But then, that would defeat the purpose of having a folding, stackable book case. The holes for securing the mantel to either book case top were not aligned to the pegs and no amount of hammering or muscle made the mantel fit. By the time I take the effort to retrofit these 3 pieces, I could have bought something of better quality.
Date published: 2015-04-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solid bookcases, easy assembly I am so happy with these new bookcases. I got two of the 27.5" wide ones and stacked them and they are very sturdy. The pieces are simple, the red color is deep and just dark enough that it doesn't look fire engine red. The whole look is quite harmonious with the rest of the room. I'm very pleased with the price, and the incredibly easy assembly. The instructions recommended that two people would be needed to stack them but I (a 5'2" woman with limited armspan) was able to manage lifting and fitting one on top of the other. For a price similar to other big box stores, this bookcase definitely beats theirs for quality, by a lot. It's a really great value.
Date published: 2011-02-17
  • y_2017, m_1, d_23, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_653
  • loc_, sid_202441690, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 113ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT