Model # 3323210210

Internet #202441690

Home Decorators Collection 38 in. H x 27.5 in. W Black Folding and Stacking 3-Shelf Bookcase
0846877005119

Home Decorators Collection

38 in. H x 27.5 in. W Black Folding and Stacking 3-Shelf Bookcase

Was  $85.00
$68.00 /each

Save $17.00 (20%)  through 02/06/2017

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Sturdy and stylish, the Black Folding and Stacking 3-Shelf Bookcase from Home Decorators Collection is perfect for holding books, photographs or other treasures. Portable with a fold-up design that makes moving and set-up a snap, this bookcase is also stackable for more storage space in an instant. Crafted from solid wood, this uniquely designed bookcase has a sleek black finish that will coordinate with a wide variety of decor, while adding beauty to your decor that you will enjoy for years to come.

  • Convenient fold-up design
  • 38 in H x 11.5 in D
  • No assembly required
  • Stackable for optimum versatility
  • Solid wood

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

2 Questions6 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

38 in. H x 27.5 in. W Black Folding and Stacking 3-Shelf Bookcase
38 in. H x 27.5 in. W Black Folding and Stacking 3-Shelf Bookcase

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
 
4 answers

I need to know the depth

This question is from 38 in. H x 27.5 in. W Black Folding and Stacking 3-Shelf Bookcase
Asked by
Sally
Marysville
February 22, 2012
Home Decorators Collection 3 shelf 38in H. 27.5w
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answers (4)

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
September 10, 2015
Answer: 
The depth of the shelves is 10.25 inches. The sides of the bookcase depth is 11.5 inches
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Asked by
Hawthorne, NJ
Read all my Q&A
January 12, 2015
Answer: 
a little over 10"... about 10 1/2"
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
St. Louis, MO
Read all my Q&A
February 23, 2012
Answer: 
Sally,
The Home Decorators Collection 3-Shelf 38 in. H x 27.5 in. W Black Folding/Stacking Bookcase
is 11.5" deep. The shelves are 10.5" deep.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
HD 116
www.community.homedepot.com
February 22, 2012
Answer: 
Greetings Sally,
My name is Tom, also known as HD 116 at Home Depot's How to Community. I am here today assisting with a few product questions and saw yours.
The depth on this model is 11 1/2".
Happy to have helped and thank you for your question.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
 
2 answers

How far apart is each shelf?

This question is from 38 in. H x 27.5 in. W Black Folding and Stacking 3-Shelf Bookcase
Asked by
Tali
Elko Nevada
January 17, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (2)

Asked by
Hawthorne, NJ
Read all my Q&A
January 12, 2015
Answer: 
the top one is about 9"
the other two are about 11 1/2"
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Kennesaw, GA
Read all my Q&A
January 18, 2013
Answer: 
Tali,
The shelves of the Home Decorators Collection 38 in. H x 27.5 in. W Black Folding and Stacking 3-Shelf Bookcase are 11-3/4" apart.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
1 of 1
  • 2016-10-30 T22:42:45.679-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_202441690, prod, sort_default
1 of 1
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 38ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

38 in. H x 27.5 in. W Black Folding and Stacking 3-Shelf Bookcase is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 653.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from good function and look poor fit The good. They are the best functioning and looking folding book shelves I have ever seen. The bad I orders 2 sets book shelves, which is 6 pieces. The book shelves don't fit well together and the tops almost dont fit at all. When you remove one from anther they pull the pins out. I have not attempted to remove the top yet. For the price i expect better fit. I will soon be happy with them again till I have to pull them apart. Looking back I should not have order the tops. Just the folding shelves. The tops are poor value. I would still suggest the shelves to a friend. Since they are the best functioning and looking folding book shelves I have ever seen.
Date published: 2010-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Attractive, functional piece This bookcase caught my eye because it did not have a solid back (I wanted the color of my walls to show through); because it is easy to run a Swiffer under; because the stackable arrangement holds a lot of books and family photos while occupying minimal floor space; and because it was shippable in a collapsed state. I have not been disappointed. It is a charming, functional addition to my small office nook. Assembly was easy with one exception: It comes with a handful of wooden plugs that conceal the screws anchoring horizontal braces between the shelves, and the plugs need to be glued in rather than just popped into place.
Date published: 2011-04-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2010-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Affordable, Quality, Utility-A+++ I purchased a black folding bookcase on sale prior to purchasing the one from Home Decorators from another company, but I had to return the item due to the flimsy nature of the construction. I am a loyal Home Decorators customer & found this folding bookcase with an optional mantel top, even better! I received the items, unpackaged them & in minutes began placing books onto the shelves: classic styling, excellent quality, no tools, easy to assemble, fabulous purchase. In fact, I went ahead & ordered the same items in Honey Oak for my husband's office. I was very happy with my purchase and I know others would be as well.
Date published: 2009-08-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks great I have tried to assemble bookcases in the past and they turn out like leaning towers. These go together just by unfolding them. Because I am not very tall or strong I had trouble stacking them, but they stacked well. I had bought ones from another store that were similar, but slightly smaller. They had a plate on the back that screwed one to the other when they were stacked, and these ones do not, but they are still very sturdy. I bought 6 and just ordered 2 more. They look custom! The shelves are not adjustable, but do fit 99% of the size books I have, and the ease of assembly far outweighs the non adjustability.
Date published: 2011-10-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty Good I already had some of these stacking bookcases from another manufacturer, so when I needed more I bought them from this dealer. The quality is OK, but there is plastic on this narrower bookcase (I bought a larger version too which is better made), and there was a mar in the finish. The quality issues were not bad enough to return the item. The deal is that these are set up in a moment and once the books are on the case, you do not notice the quality issues. One weirdness was that I had six items in my shipment, and they arrived over a period of three days. Get it together guys. Also, do not pinch yourself when you install these. The folding shelves may drop on your fingers.
Date published: 2009-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely Perfect! Bought these shelves to sit on either side of a small apartment dinning area window with a side clearance of just 16 inches. Did not think I could find solid wood shelves narrow enough (or strong enough) for the job. They had to be attractive as well. After looking around and having no luck, I stumbled upon these shelves and thought I would take a chance. The arrived today and they are perfect. Because I am very mobile I also needed something that would break down easily. Again, Perfect! I am back to buy more! Also, the delivery was a breeze and the staff were so pleasant, efficient and professional.
Date published: 2012-09-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Most damaged purchase ever. I purchased the set up shown in the catalog. It arrived in 8 boxes. 2 boxes had shelves that were shattered and splintered into pieces and 2 other boxes had shelf tops one of which was mildly scratched and one that had a deep black gouge. They were great about sending replacements but I have never received anything as damaged as these items and the boxes they came in had no damage at all.
Date published: 2012-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Whiskey Shelves So this is supposed to be a bookshelf, and I'm sure it works just fine for that purpose, but I bought it and am currently using it as a whiskey (whisky) shelf. It looks great as display shelves for whiskey and liquor bottles. Be warned that if you want to use it for this purpose, some of the taller bottles (particularly some Irish whiskies) won't fit by about 1/4". But you can always put those bottles on the top shelf. Insanely easy to put together, just open it up and the shelves fall into place. Honestly, it takes longer to dispose of the box it comes in than it does to put this together.
Date published: 2012-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The perfect Bookcase! Inspired by the cover of a recent Home decorator catalog, I ordered 2 Naturel double stacking bookcases with a single and a top for in between to use in a spare bedroom. let me start by saying it took longer to get the pieces out of the boxes than to put them together! No tools needed, shelves just fold down and hook into the wood. The hardest thing was getting the little tabs on. Followed the suggestion of another reviewer and used a hammer with a towel. Surprisingly sturdy! Holds tons of books. My two small issues are: needed a shim under one shelf, and I didn't think the stacking ones were quite true when together. Both minor issues. Terrific value for these attractive shelves. Would certainly order again.
Date published: 2012-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding quality & value I've owned other stackable bookcases, but these are by far the best I've seen. Folding shelves on other products might rest on a cork nub, but these shelves are supported by mounted metal brackets. I trust the shelves to bear anything I might put on them. The construction is solid wood and feels sturdy. One minor quibble I had was that a couple of the wood nubs that hide the screws on the side of the shelves did not fit snugly into their holes, and I had to apply a little glue to make them stick. But other than that, they are great shelves; I bought two and plan to buy six more!
Date published: 2008-09-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Folding Bookcase I was in search of a small bookcase for my den and purchased this Folding version. I was excited about the variety of colors, sizes and the price. Because the intended space is small, I decided on the RED, 27.5” bookcase. I also thought the color would accent the room, especially since my hardwood floors are Brazilian cherry. I love the color red but this bookcase actually leans more to the color RUST. It is not bad, but I definitely will not call it RED. Overall, functions well for my requirement. Recommend not stacking multiple bookcases without more reinforcement.
Date published: 2013-02-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice but watch color We ordered six products in this group for our family room with the idea that they would blend in with other oak bookcases we had. Products seem to be well made especially for the price and the design and sizes of the pieces were just what we needed. However, the color of the finish of all pieces was VERY red. the finish was more red than our cherry cabinets in the kitchen. The finish was definitely not a honey oak color as described and did not blend in with our other bookcases at all. After I sent pictures to HDC, they took our whole order back without any hassle at all.
Date published: 2011-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No "real" assembly required I originally bought 3 of these bookcases (the red is a warm red) and loved them so much I got a fourth. All you do is unfold the sides and the shelves come down into place. Watch out for your fingers! Other than that the only thing left is to put the coordinated screw covers over the screw holes. A couple of taps with a hammer and you're done. I stacked two of them together to get some height and that was incredibly easy. Love the way these look, makes the room appear larger because there's no solid wall or back. Would love to get more to replace the other bookcases in my house. For some reason there are two different mantel tops on Home Decorators. The one that goes with this particular bookcase is Item No. 33233.
Date published: 2012-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product and Service These shelving units are well constructed, sturdy and really quite pretty. I ordered a red one, and I already had 2 natural wood finish units from years ago. I can't say enough positive about the product or the company. I don't think you can go wrong on this. There isn't any assembly work involved like other products similar to this one. They are constructed of good wood. They arrive at your destination very well packaged. These shelving units are so easy to pack and move and while they are very sturdy they aren't too heavy to lift and move. Get one. You'll want more.
Date published: 2012-03-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just What I Needed Bought several of these and put up along living-room wall. Much more affordable than built-ins and they look really nice to boot. They go well with my eclectic mix of traditional and modern. Love the flexibility of these bookcases. They are easy to assemble, disassemble and move around. I needed to to have available access to a floor intake vent and I still do with these bookcases since the individual shelves easily fold up and out of the way. There is plenty of airflow with the shelf down and when I need to change the filter I don't need to move the whole bookcase.
Date published: 2012-07-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I wanted I needed a bookcase to hold the bazillion children's books that we have on hand for when our grandchildren visit. I ordered two of the narrow bookcases and a top. The bookcase was easy to assemble; I just had to sand down a couple of the buttons in order to fit them in the holes over the screws. The bookcase fits perfectly in the narrow space between the bedroom closet and window and holds lots of books. Although it is not tippy, I think I will find someway to anchor it to the wall: you know kids, they may try to climb up the shelves to get to the top shelf of books!
Date published: 2012-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice rack I had been looking for a small bookcase for my son's room--he is only four so I also wanted something that was relatively low and wouldn't topple over on him if he pulled on it too hard. This bookshelf is fantastic! It was so easy to "assemble" I don't think you could even say it needs assembly! It just folded open right out of the box! My only problem is that I had to order the top shelf separately. I didn't realize this when I purchased it (I guess I just didn't read the fine print) but when I reordered the shelf, they waived my shipping fees. I couldn't be happier!!
Date published: 2009-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Shelves great, but glitch w/ mantle top I got these shelves and the matching mantle top. I am really happy with this set, but the mantle top and the shelves didn't fit together well. There were pegs sticking up from the shelves and holes for them to slide into in the mantle top. However, the holes and the pegs were not the same distance apart. I had to improvise a little to assemble it. If just getting the shelves alone, you wouldn't have this issue. I would recommend the shelves without reservation, and I would recommend the shelves plus mantle top with the caveat that some jury-rigging might be required.
Date published: 2010-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great shelves for the price We ordered the PINK bookcases because (1) they were on a great sale and (2) I have three girls and I know eventually they will end up in a girl's bedroom. They are fantastic. I have stacked two of them and left two unstacked. They hold a good deal of weight. We have A LOT of books! We have put baskets on some of the shelves to hold toys and they look wonderful. All one needs to do to assemble is take the bookcase out of the box and unfold it - simple! They are all wood and the pink isn't overly pink. The stain is okay, but if you had time, it would be better if you painted them. For a playroom though, they are perfect. I would even use these in a living room or another space if they were in black or a more neutral color.
Date published: 2012-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for my Needs I purchased this folding bookcase to use as a show prop for items I sell at antiques shows. It was a perfect size and very sturdy. The fact that it folded was exactly what I needed so I could pack the bookcase easily when I went to various show locations. I specialize in restored antique furniture but also sell smaller items that I did not want to display on my furniture, and this bookcase was great. I was very impressed with the quality as were many people that came to he show. I actually had people ask if I would sell it to them and I gave them your web address.
Date published: 2011-01-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from just what we needed Purchased two of the narrow shelves and top in white and they fit perfectly into a small space in the kitchen. Shelves hold most cook books, although some were too tall. Extremely easy assembly and great value for money. The finish in white is not as nice as I might have liked and there is a notable amount of visible brass finish hardware. The shelf also looks more cheaply made than in the catalogue, but it is sturdy and fits the small space we have very well. When loaded with books and baskets you notice the negatives much less, so I am pleased.
Date published: 2012-02-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from better than my old ones! These are much nicer than my old folding shelves. Much sturdier and far better looking. Be warned that the "honey oak" color is rather orangish and doesn't match the "honey" color of other furniture in the catalog. I'd advise getting one shelf top to look at if you're not sure about the color because it's easily returned. If I'd done that, I'd probably gotten the natural color instead. I'd also advise having a rubber mallet (better than a hammer) and a small block of wood covered with a rag for getting these together without damage. The connectors don't snap together easily; although this is good because these shelves aren't going to come apart easily- which makes them much safer than others I've had- it will make them harder to take apart.
Date published: 2011-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Folding bookcases I am just delighted with the bookcases I ordered. The variety of sizes allowed me to fill the wall exactly to the size needed. I ordered the mantle pieces also and they worked perfectly. The color was true to what was displayed in the catalog. The appearance and quality was great! I am so happy with them that I am now going to order more to line the walls of my home office. Quality was great, appearance is wonderful... and the value was terrific. I would recommend these bookcases to anyone who has a need for a sturdy very nice looking bookcase.
Date published: 2011-11-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty and Practical I was looking for real wood shelving that I could easily set up myself. These shelving units are the perfect size and style for my current needs and I love the fact that they can be folded and stored, stacked or unstacked and the solid wood top adds stability and an attractive "finished" look. Practical and sturdy enough for heavy books and stylish enough for photo and artwork display. Great look and excellent value. If you order two units for stacking it would be best to get two tops in case you decide to use them unstacked in the future.
Date published: 2011-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from fantastic bookcase We love this style of bookcase, and have a few sets already - so much easier than regular bookcases when it comes to moving, or even just rearranging. The hardest part of setting it up - literally - is just getting it out of the packaging. It arrived in good condition, though the alignment on one of them was a little off. But once you set them up they're very sturdy and have a great look to them. This is the only place I found this style in a wide range of colors and widths, and a pretty standard price. Will be back for more.
Date published: 2011-08-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from GREAT bookcases This bookcase met my needs perfectly! I ordered the 16" wide double-stacked bookcases with the top. The style matches perfectly the style of a desk I purcahsed from Home Decorator's Collection last year. The ensemble looks made for my home! It was extremely easy to assmeble: the cases and top aligned perfectly. The bookcase is sturdy and the wood is of quite high quality -- no pressboard here! The hinged shelves are useful to accommodate items that are too tall to fit into one shelf space. A very adaptable and useful product.
Date published: 2011-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Value And Quality This is the most versatile bookshelf ever. It literally folds flat, and is so easy to move around. I bought it for a specific room, but when it arrived I was so impressed with the appearance I decided to see how it looked in other rooms, which was the work of minutes -- all I did was fold it up and move it to each room. I will probably buy a couple more now. Because it was quite inexpensive, I was prepared for it to look inexpensive, but it is beautiful, and doesn't even look out of place next to our custom-built shelves. The only drawback is that the finish seems to be a bit delicate. While I was unpacking and unfolding it, it got banged and it gouged very easily. Fortunately the nick was in the back, but it was a good reminder to treat the bookshelf gently.
Date published: 2009-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what I wanted I have a smaller bookcase like this one in my sewing/computer/2nd guest room. I purchased it about 8 years ago from a store going out of business. I wanted a larger bookcase to go under a flat screen tv we were mounting on the wall in the same room. The one I had was too small to "anchor" the tv. What I found locally were more costly & not as good a quality. This even matches the other in color--I love the open-ness of it; it doesn't appear to take up as much space visually, important as it is just as you come in the door..
Date published: 2010-03-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good value on bookcase I bought two of these bookcases along with a mantel in a natural finish and stacked them in my home office. These are solid and inexpensive storage. My only issue is that they are made of pieces of surplus wood that are glued together, so I hope the shelving does not separate over time. Also, you have to insert small wooden buttons to cover screw holes. The buttons require that you pound them in with a hammer or glue them in place. I used a hammer, but it took a couple of passes to fit the tiny buttons into the tiny holes.
Date published: 2008-12-30
  • y_2017, m_1, d_17, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_653
  • loc_, sid_202441690, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 68ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT