0846877005119

Home Decorators Collection

Model # 3323210210

Internet # 202441690

38 in. H x 27.5 in. W Black Folding and Stacking 3-Shelf Bookcase

$85.00 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Sturdy and stylish, the Black Folding and Stacking 3-Shelf Bookcase from Home Decorators Collection is perfect for holding books, photographs or other treasures. Portable with a fold-up design that makes moving and set-up a snap, this bookcase is also stackable for more storage space in an instant. Crafted from solid wood, this uniquely designed bookcase has a sleek black finish that will coordinate with a wide variety of decor, while adding beauty to your decor that you will enjoy for years to come.

  • Convenient fold-up design
  • 38 in H x 11.5 in D
  • No assembly required
  • Stackable for optimum versatility

Specifications

Dimensions

Assembled Depth (in.) 
11.5 in 
Assembled Height (in.) 
38 in 
Assembled Width (in.) 
27.5 in 
Product Depth (in.) 
11.5 
Product Height (in.) 
38 
Product Width (in.) 
27.5 

Details

Adjustable Shelves 
No 
Assembly Required 
No 
Bookcase Style 
Open 
Collection Name 
None 
Color/Finish 
Black 
Color/Finish Family 
Black 
Finish 
Black 
Hardware Included 
Yes 
Material 
solid wood 
Number of Shelves 
Product Style 
Arts & Crafts 
Product Weight (lb.) 
29 lb 
Removable Shelves 
No 
Returnable 
90-Day 
Storage Capacity (cu. ft.) 
5.66 
Style 
Cottage 

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty 
None 

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

2 Questions6 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

38 in. H x 27.5 in. W Black Folding and Stacking 3-Shelf Bookcase
38 in. H x 27.5 in. W Black Folding and Stacking 3-Shelf Bookcase

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
 
4 answers

I need to know the depth

This question is from 38 in. H x 27.5 in. W Black Folding and Stacking 3-Shelf Bookcase
Asked by
Sally
Marysville
February 22, 2012
Home Decorators Collection 3 shelf 38in H. 27.5w
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answers (4)

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
September 10, 2015
Answer: 
The depth of the shelves is 10.25 inches. The sides of the bookcase depth is 11.5 inches
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Asked by
Hawthorne, NJ
Read all my Q&A
January 12, 2015
Answer: 
a little over 10"... about 10 1/2"
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
St. Louis, MO
Read all my Q&A
February 23, 2012
Answer: 
Sally,
The Home Decorators Collection 3-Shelf 38 in. H x 27.5 in. W Black Folding/Stacking Bookcase
is 11.5" deep. The shelves are 10.5" deep.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
HD 116
www.community.homedepot.com
February 22, 2012
Answer: 
Greetings Sally,
My name is Tom, also known as HD 116 at Home Depot's How to Community. I am here today assisting with a few product questions and saw yours.
The depth on this model is 11 1/2".
Happy to have helped and thank you for your question.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
 
2 answers

How far apart is each shelf?

This question is from 38 in. H x 27.5 in. W Black Folding and Stacking 3-Shelf Bookcase
Asked by
Tali
Elko Nevada
January 17, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (2)

Asked by
Hawthorne, NJ
Read all my Q&A
January 12, 2015
Answer: 
the top one is about 9"
the other two are about 11 1/2"
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Kennesaw, GA
Read all my Q&A
January 18, 2013
Answer: 
Tali,
The shelves of the Home Decorators Collection 38 in. H x 27.5 in. W Black Folding and Stacking 3-Shelf Bookcase are 11-3/4" apart.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
1 of 1
  • 2016-07-25 T19:40:40.080-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_202441690, prod, sort_default
1 of 1
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 107ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 653 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Easiest Assembly Ever! I bought the 37" wide bookcase in black and love it. It truly is the easiest assembly I've ever done. The shelves and the sides are hinged, so you just open it up. It was more difficult getting it out of the box! For the price, the workmanship and appearance are great. I haven't tried to stack it and it might be a little wobbly if I do that. I bought the top shelf, too. Be sure you order the correct width for your bookcase. Highly recommend! February 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Shelves I ordered three double sets to stack, with the mantle piece. One of the units was visibly crooked, but customer service was great and replaced it right away. I lined up the sets for a "wall of books," and have received compliments on how great they look. Not sure I would use these around young kids, as they are a little wobbly. I used a black sharpie to touch up a couple of small spots with no paint & you can't tell the difference. Very, very pleased with these units. August 14, 2011
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Looks nice, assembly glitchy These are good solid wood shelves, and the walnut finish gives them a more expensive look. However, I had to slightly enlarge the holes in the top piece with a router to get the pegs in the shelves to fit, then use a rubber mallet to tap the top piece into place. The finish is not scuff-resistant, so you have to take some care in sliding objects on the shelves. Also, because of the design, you can't adjust the spacing between the shelves. 12 inches is what you get. April 19, 2010
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Really pleased !! The natural folding bookcase was really sturdy and lovely - it exceeded my expectations. I bought 2 that stack and the only difficulty I had was getting the top one to mesh onto the lower one - seemed the little 'balls' that fit together were a little tough to fit all the way, but I succeeded in the end. A man could have probably done this with no problem. Otherwise, it is beautiful and super easy to assemble (i.e., you unfold it). Thank you - I may get another one !!! December 19, 2009
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Not exactly Perfect The bookcases are very attractive and easy to set up. They wood stain is very true to the color patch on the website page and they match the furniture in the room. Unfortunately, one of them came in broken [I got four in all]. Home Decorators was great about it and sent a replacement out immediately. When it arrived, it was broken too - but like the first time, customer service was great and very apologetic for the inconvenience. They shipped a new one immediately. September 27, 2010
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great bookcases for the price I was very pleased with the construction and quality for the price of the bookcases. They could not have been simpler to put together and were shipped in sturdy packaging. I bought the set of two with the top and it looks great and holds all of my books and bric-a-brac without wobbling or sagging. I would definitely recommend these bookcases to a buyer looking for a convenient, easily moveable yet sturdy piece of furniture that looks great for the reasonable price! June 18, 2009
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I *love* these book shelves! I bought some of these book shelves from another vendor some years ago and was so disappointed to find that vendor no longer carried them. But, my search led me to Home Decorators Collection which not only had "my" books shelves but lots of other great deals. Back to the book shelves: they are practically self-assembling as you simply open the sides and drop the shelves into place. They have a nice "airy" look - not so heavy and dark as regular book cases. October 4, 2009
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Value for the price This had to be the easiest assembly ever. The sides fold out, the shelves fold down, and you're done. I would have given this product a full 5 stars in each catagory if not for the the small nicks due to shipping, but a black sharpie took care of the worst of it. The 14 in bookcase is extreemly well buit and just the right size for my small office cubicle. If you're looking for a well built bookcase for a small space, I highly recommend this one. August 11, 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great idea for a bookcase but... Have a small corner that needed a bookcase to fill in. The size and style are perfect...however...the finish left a lot to be desired. It was as if primer only had been applied. There were several places that had to be touched up with white paint. That should not have to be done with a new product. Again, I would have been more pleased if this bookcase had been made in the USA! I'm sure we have companies here that manufacturer this product. December 6, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great shelves! I bought these for my son's room at college. They are great! The ease of the assembly was exactly what we needed. Just open the sides and drop the shelves. They are well made and the finish on the wood is very nice especially, for the price. We purchased the top seperately and it really finished them off nicely. It looks like a more expensive piece of furniture than it was. Excellent Value. He was so happy wtih them that we have already ordered another set. September 5, 2008
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great product I bought two of these and stacked them, and also bought the mantel top. They are extremely easy to stack and the mantel top was easy to put on top. There is no work required--just line up the holes with the pegs. These shelves are very attractive as well. I wanted foldable shelves that were open at the back, because I had an area on my wall with a cable outlet and a regular bookcase wouldn't fit. This set-up has been perfect. I am very satisfied. February 6, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by good value The bookcases were perfect for my teaching studio. Extremely easy to put up and they look very nice. I love that they are open on the sides that gives them a much lighter feel. My one complaint is that on one of them one of the shelves came cracked and part of the shelf missing. The cracked piece was not in the box so that tells me it was shipped that way. I was able to fix it so it could be used because the piece is too heavy to have to ship it back. February 2, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I am so happy with these shelves- after scouring the internet these were the highest quality for the best price, and they look much better than I expected. Setting them up took seconds, and no tools needed! One review said they were experiencing sagging, but I have none, even with several rows of heavy textbooks. It wasn't quite clear what each set included until I got to the "review your order page"- that was the only problem with this purchase. January 29, 2010
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Almost Perfect This bookcase is a good solution especially for people like me who are not good with assembling/mounting wall shelving. It was very easy to assemble and you can't tell that it's a foldaway bookcase. The only negatives are that the top mantle piece doesn't completely attach, even after hammering it down; and hammering isn't viable because it will leave indentations in the wood. Also, some of the small pegs were difficult to insert into their holes. July 22, 2011
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice quality I love this bookcase. It is made of real wood, is sturdy and the color was as described. It came promptly and fits perfectly in my decor. The only drawback is the unfinished look of the bookcase without the mantle top, which is sold separately, and for a separate shipping cost. I finally did order the top because I think it will make the bookcase look a little more classy. But all in all, a nice looking and sturdy piece of furniture. I love it! September 6, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place for books I have at least 8 other bookcases from Home Decorators and I have always been pleased with the quality, workmanship and ease of putting them together. No tools needed as all you do is open the box, remove all the packaging, unfold the sides and the shelves just drop down. My favorite color is the white. I plan on purchasing more as the price is also very reasonable for something that is pure hardwood and not sawdust bound together with glue. July 15, 2009
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great bookcase! We purchased two stacking bookcases to use as shelving in our master bathroom closet. I can't say enough good things about the purchase - the price was competitive, purchasing from Home Decorators Collection was easy, the bookcases arrived quickly (less than a week) in perfect condition, and were extremely sturdy and high quality. Overall a great purchase, I would absolutely recommend these bookcases and HDC to friends (and I already have). August 23, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by good buy Needed a white book case for a white wicker furnished guest bedroom. Fit beautifully with existing furniture in a small space and offered space for some decorative accessories. Sturdy and Very easy to assemble - had it up and in place in minutes. Screw hole covers fell out until glued in....but easy remedy to an annoyance. Mantle top was a perfect finishing touch - would not have been as happy with product appearance without the mantle. April 5, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great bookcase I bought this bookcase for a small faculty office. I needed something sturdy to hold heavy textbooks but also wanted something that would spruce up a drab space. Also, I needed it to be easily assembled and portable. This was perfect. Set up was a breeze and it just folds up for easy carrying. Many coworkers have commented on the appearance and it looks like more expensive furniture. The quality is great. I also purchased the matching mantle. September 22, 2009
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Happy No problems. Quick delivery and in excellent condition. Seems to be a quality product. Solid but not overly heavy. Nice wood and finish. No real assembly other than setting one case on the other, Then setting the top on and tapping with rubber mallet. I ordered a top piece for it not realizing that one came with the set so now I have two. I decided to just keep it so I'll have it for if and when I want to use it as two cases. I'm very happy October 3, 2010
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Bookcases Ever Bought The unique folding nature of this bookcase is fantastic. over the years I have spent many hours trying to assemble bookcases with dozens of screws, trying hold parts together, etc. This is a simple, unpack, and drop the shelves down. And, should you need to move or store them, they fold up into a flat stowable/movable unit!! The quality of the wood and finish is also a real bargin. PS. I only bought a couple. Next sale I bought several more! February 19, 2011
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Bookcase with a couple minor problems These bookcases are great and look nice. They arrive nearly fully assembled. You just have to hammer these wooden plugs into the bolt holes. The issue with this is that sometimes the plugs tend to splinter around the edges as they go in (I'm using a rubber mallet, if I used a regular hammer, I'm sure they'd disintegrate). They definitely could be better designed. Once the plug splinters around the edges, it leaves an unattractive raw wood look around the plug. Since I ordered black, I was able to use a black furniture marker to cover up the surface damage, but I found it quite vexing. I'd rather have the raw bolts exposed than have these shattered plugs visible. Otherwise, these bookcases are great. And even better stacked with a mantle top. Be sure to put the mantle top on before you stack it! Mantle top is a little hard to get on, so needs to be done first. April 17, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Buy!!! For a person who transfers/moves a lot, these bookcases are terrific!!! They fold up and are easy to pack, no assembly required, they look good, and they're made of REAL WOOD so they don't sag with real books on them. And they stack!!! I now have five double sets and one single set in a combo of white and mahogony. Will I buy more of these bookcases if I need more shelving??? You bet!!! They are one of the best values around!!! November 19, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by It Displays Beautifully I wanted a narrow stand to display some clay sculptures and this, in black, was perfect. With the mantel top (extra), it is 39" tall and 14"-16" wide, perfect for what I wanted. Assembly was so easy; shelves just unfold and lock into placeand top snaps on. The open sides allow viewing from three sides, just what I wanted. Ground delivery was quick (free for this promotion) and the price couldn't be better. Very happy with this purchase November 24, 2011
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Bookcase at a Good Price This is a review of the mahogany colored bookcase. The mahogany is a beatiful, deep red/brown but the actual detailing is a little boring. It does provide a very clean look though without drawing too much attention to itself. Setup is a breeze since the thing is already put together for you. Take it out, unfold it and start filling the shelves! The construction is sound but some corners don't match-up and the little wood pegs they supply to plug the screw holes could be better. I definitely recommend getting the mantle top piece with this as this bookshelf can look a little messy without it. Be sure to realize that with the mantle on, the top shelf will only be about 8 inches high so your big books won't fit here. I actually bought two of these to stack and the mantle top. I've had them stacked for a few months and they provide a very effective bookshelf. November 17, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent value I got 4 of these to go on either side of my bedroom window. They were the only bookcases I could find that would fit so I decided to try them. All I expected for the cost was something usable. What a pleasant surprise to find them to be sturdy, even stacked, and nice looking. I will probably get some in a wider size for my living room, they're so attractive. The fact that they fold and would therefore be easy to move or store is a plus. August 7, 2010
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent bookcases These bookcases are the best. They require almost no assembly--just fold them out and stack them--perfect! They are simple, incredibly sturdy--trust me I have burdened them with so many books--and come in a variety of colors and widths to fit any space or any decor. We just paid much more for other bookshelves that were time consuming to assemble, look a bit dowdy, and don't hold as many books. I'm sticking with these from now on. September 27, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Unusual color I recently broke out of my comfort zone and painted an accent wall yellow. Needing a bookcase, I was surprised to see the many color choices this came in- and indeed it came in yellow. Shipping was great, very well packed- just unwrap, flip down the shelves, stack, and done!! It looks great, and is slim in depth. My only critique is that the height between each shelf could be better- magazine file boxes don't fit. July 3, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Purchase It's really easy to unfold for one bookcase! I wanted a taller one so bought two. I needed someone to help put the other on top and we have a little bit of a problem doing that...but in the end it worked fine. The mantel needed a little help with a rubber hammer but all in all great shelves. Got the color purple, I couldn't say it was really purple to my standards but a lighter version of plum maybe. Anyway, it worked fine! August 18, 2011
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice book case or picture display piece I bought this piece as an extra picture display/bookcase for my son's room. It is nice looking, and easy to put together. Just a matter of slipping on the shelves and folding out the doors. I ordered the mantel top shelf, and it was a little difficult to tap into place, but my husband was able to get it to fit. My only complaint would be the 3 round trim piece on each side did not stay in the holes, and I had to glue them in. December 13, 2010
  • 2016-07-21 T13:56:37.911-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_653, tr_653
  • loc_en_US, sid_202441690, prod, sort_default
<< 2 3 4 5 6  ... 23 >>
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 117ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT