Model # 3323210210

Internet #202441690

Home Decorators Collection 38 in. H x 27.5 in. W Black Folding and Stacking 3-Shelf Bookcase
0846877005119

Home Decorators Collection

38 in. H x 27.5 in. W Black Folding and Stacking 3-Shelf Bookcase

Was  $85.00
$68.00 /each

Save $17.00 (20%)  through 02/06/2017

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Sturdy and stylish, the Black Folding and Stacking 3-Shelf Bookcase from Home Decorators Collection is perfect for holding books, photographs or other treasures. Portable with a fold-up design that makes moving and set-up a snap, this bookcase is also stackable for more storage space in an instant. Crafted from solid wood, this uniquely designed bookcase has a sleek black finish that will coordinate with a wide variety of decor, while adding beauty to your decor that you will enjoy for years to come.

  • Convenient fold-up design
  • 38 in H x 11.5 in D
  • No assembly required
  • Stackable for optimum versatility
  • Solid wood

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

2 Questions6 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

38 in. H x 27.5 in. W Black Folding and Stacking 3-Shelf Bookcase
38 in. H x 27.5 in. W Black Folding and Stacking 3-Shelf Bookcase

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
 
4 answers

I need to know the depth

This question is from 38 in. H x 27.5 in. W Black Folding and Stacking 3-Shelf Bookcase
Asked by
Sally
Marysville
February 22, 2012
Home Decorators Collection 3 shelf 38in H. 27.5w
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answers (4)

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
September 10, 2015
Answer: 
The depth of the shelves is 10.25 inches. The sides of the bookcase depth is 11.5 inches
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Asked by
Hawthorne, NJ
Read all my Q&A
January 12, 2015
Answer: 
a little over 10"... about 10 1/2"
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
St. Louis, MO
Read all my Q&A
February 23, 2012
Answer: 
Sally,
The Home Decorators Collection 3-Shelf 38 in. H x 27.5 in. W Black Folding/Stacking Bookcase
is 11.5" deep. The shelves are 10.5" deep.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
HD 116
www.community.homedepot.com
February 22, 2012
Answer: 
Greetings Sally,
My name is Tom, also known as HD 116 at Home Depot's How to Community. I am here today assisting with a few product questions and saw yours.
The depth on this model is 11 1/2".
Happy to have helped and thank you for your question.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
 
2 answers

How far apart is each shelf?

This question is from 38 in. H x 27.5 in. W Black Folding and Stacking 3-Shelf Bookcase
Asked by
Tali
Elko Nevada
January 17, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (2)

Asked by
Hawthorne, NJ
Read all my Q&A
January 12, 2015
Answer: 
the top one is about 9"
the other two are about 11 1/2"
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Kennesaw, GA
Read all my Q&A
January 18, 2013
Answer: 
Tali,
The shelves of the Home Decorators Collection 38 in. H x 27.5 in. W Black Folding and Stacking 3-Shelf Bookcase are 11-3/4" apart.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
1 of 1
  • 2016-10-30 T22:42:45.679-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_202441690, prod, sort_default
1 of 1
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 41ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

38 in. H x 27.5 in. W Black Folding and Stacking 3-Shelf Bookcase is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 653.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I *love* these book shelves! I bought some of these book shelves from another vendor some years ago and was so disappointed to find that vendor no longer carried them. But, my search led me to Home Decorators Collection which not only had "my" books shelves but lots of other great deals. Back to the book shelves: they are practically self-assembling as you simply open the sides and drop the shelves into place. They have a nice "airy" look - not so heavy and dark as regular book cases.
Date published: 2009-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easiest Assembly Ever! I bought the 37" wide bookcase in black and love it. It truly is the easiest assembly I've ever done. The shelves and the sides are hinged, so you just open it up. It was more difficult getting it out of the box! For the price, the workmanship and appearance are great. I haven't tried to stack it and it might be a little wobbly if I do that. I bought the top shelf, too. Be sure you order the correct width for your bookcase. Highly recommend!
Date published: 2013-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good value The bookcases were perfect for my teaching studio. Extremely easy to put up and they look very nice. I love that they are open on the sides that gives them a much lighter feel. My one complaint is that on one of them one of the shelves came cracked and part of the shelf missing. The cracked piece was not in the box so that tells me it was shipped that way. I was able to fix it so it could be used because the piece is too heavy to have to ship it back.
Date published: 2011-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product I bought two of these and stacked them, and also bought the mantel top. They are extremely easy to stack and the mantel top was easy to put on top. There is no work required--just line up the holes with the pegs. These shelves are very attractive as well. I wanted foldable shelves that were open at the back, because I had an area on my wall with a cable outlet and a regular bookcase wouldn't fit. This set-up has been perfect. I am very satisfied.
Date published: 2012-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The elusive black bookcase. I spent days looking for a black bookcase to match with an existing one i already had. All the other bookcase with a similar style were labeled Espresso with they lead you to believe is black but it's not. It's a very dark brown. I was so happy to find this black bookcase.
Date published: 2014-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am so happy with these shelves- after scouring the internet these were the highest quality for the best price, and they look much better than I expected. Setting them up took seconds, and no tools needed! One review said they were experiencing sagging, but I have none, even with several rows of heavy textbooks. It wasn't quite clear what each set included until I got to the "review your order page"- that was the only problem with this purchase.
Date published: 2010-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bookcase! We purchased two stacking bookcases to use as shelving in our master bathroom closet. I can't say enough good things about the purchase - the price was competitive, purchasing from Home Decorators Collection was easy, the bookcases arrived quickly (less than a week) in perfect condition, and were extremely sturdy and high quality. Overall a great purchase, I would absolutely recommend these bookcases and HDC to friends (and I already have).
Date published: 2011-08-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great idea for a bookcase but... Have a small corner that needed a bookcase to fill in. The size and style are perfect...however...the finish left a lot to be desired. It was as if primer only had been applied. There were several places that had to be touched up with white paint. That should not have to be done with a new product. Again, I would have been more pleased if this bookcase had been made in the USA! I'm sure we have companies here that manufacturer this product.
Date published: 2011-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Bookcases Ever Bought The unique folding nature of this bookcase is fantastic. over the years I have spent many hours trying to assemble bookcases with dozens of screws, trying hold parts together, etc. This is a simple, unpack, and drop the shelves down. And, should you need to move or store them, they fold up into a flat stowable/movable unit!! The quality of the wood and finish is also a real bargin. PS. I only bought a couple. Next sale I bought several more!
Date published: 2011-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great bookcase I bought this bookcase for a small faculty office. I needed something sturdy to hold heavy textbooks but also wanted something that would spruce up a drab space. Also, I needed it to be easily assembled and portable. This was perfect. Set up was a breeze and it just folds up for easy carrying. Many coworkers have commented on the appearance and it looks like more expensive furniture. The quality is great. I also purchased the matching mantle.
Date published: 2009-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great place for books I have at least 8 other bookcases from Home Decorators and I have always been pleased with the quality, workmanship and ease of putting them together. No tools needed as all you do is open the box, remove all the packaging, unfold the sides and the shelves just drop down. My favorite color is the white. I plan on purchasing more as the price is also very reasonable for something that is pure hardwood and not sawdust bound together with glue.
Date published: 2009-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Happy No problems. Quick delivery and in excellent condition. Seems to be a quality product. Solid but not overly heavy. Nice wood and finish. No real assembly other than setting one case on the other, Then setting the top on and tapping with rubber mallet. I ordered a top piece for it not realizing that one came with the set so now I have two. I decided to just keep it so I'll have it for if and when I want to use it as two cases. I'm very happy
Date published: 2010-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It Displays Beautifully I wanted a narrow stand to display some clay sculptures and this, in black, was perfect. With the mantel top (extra), it is 39" tall and 14"-16" wide, perfect for what I wanted. Assembly was so easy; shelves just unfold and lock into placeand top snaps on. The open sides allow viewing from three sides, just what I wanted. Ground delivery was quick (free for this promotion) and the price couldn't be better. Very happy with this purchase
Date published: 2011-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good buy Needed a white book case for a white wicker furnished guest bedroom. Fit beautifully with existing furniture in a small space and offered space for some decorative accessories. Sturdy and Very easy to assemble - had it up and in place in minutes. Screw hole covers fell out until glued in....but easy remedy to an annoyance. Mantle top was a perfect finishing touch - would not have been as happy with product appearance without the mantle.
Date published: 2011-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent value I got 4 of these to go on either side of my bedroom window. They were the only bookcases I could find that would fit so I decided to try them. All I expected for the cost was something usable. What a pleasant surprise to find them to be sturdy, even stacked, and nice looking. I will probably get some in a wider size for my living room, they're so attractive. The fact that they fold and would therefore be easy to move or store is a plus.
Date published: 2010-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent bookcases These bookcases are the best. They require almost no assembly--just fold them out and stack them--perfect! They are simple, incredibly sturdy--trust me I have burdened them with so many books--and come in a variety of colors and widths to fit any space or any decor. We just paid much more for other bookshelves that were time consuming to assemble, look a bit dowdy, and don't hold as many books. I'm sticking with these from now on.
Date published: 2011-09-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Bookcase with a couple minor problems These bookcases are great and look nice. They arrive nearly fully assembled. You just have to hammer these wooden plugs into the bolt holes. The issue with this is that sometimes the plugs tend to splinter around the edges as they go in (I'm using a rubber mallet, if I used a regular hammer, I'm sure they'd disintegrate). They definitely could be better designed. Once the plug splinters around the edges, it leaves an unattractive raw wood look around the plug. Since I ordered black, I was able to use a black furniture marker to cover up the surface damage, but I found it quite vexing. I'd rather have the raw bolts exposed than have these shattered plugs visible. Otherwise, these bookcases are great. And even better stacked with a mantle top. Be sure to put the mantle top on before you stack it! Mantle top is a little hard to get on, so needs to be done first.
Date published: 2012-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Buy!!! For a person who transfers/moves a lot, these bookcases are terrific!!! They fold up and are easy to pack, no assembly required, they look good, and they're made of REAL WOOD so they don't sag with real books on them. And they stack!!! I now have five double sets and one single set in a combo of white and mahogony. Will I buy more of these bookcases if I need more shelving??? You bet!!! They are one of the best values around!!!
Date published: 2011-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pretty Is I was pleasantly surprised with the rich, warm color of the honey oak, the ease of assembly, and evrything about it, except that when my husband placed the shelf on the very top (which must be purchased separately) the little nobs didn't quite match the little holes on the side pieces, and a side piece slightly split, as the top was forced into place. Nevertheless, we are pleased with it, and would buy another, if we needed one.
Date published: 2010-09-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Bookcase at a Good Price This is a review of the mahogany colored bookcase. The mahogany is a beatiful, deep red/brown but the actual detailing is a little boring. It does provide a very clean look though without drawing too much attention to itself. Setup is a breeze since the thing is already put together for you. Take it out, unfold it and start filling the shelves! The construction is sound but some corners don't match-up and the little wood pegs they supply to plug the screw holes could be better. I definitely recommend getting the mantle top piece with this as this bookshelf can look a little messy without it. Be sure to realize that with the mantle on, the top shelf will only be about 8 inches high so your big books won't fit here. I actually bought two of these to stack and the mantle top. I've had them stacked for a few months and they provide a very effective bookshelf.
Date published: 2011-11-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Purchase It's really easy to unfold for one bookcase! I wanted a taller one so bought two. I needed someone to help put the other on top and we have a little bit of a problem doing that...but in the end it worked fine. The mantel needed a little help with a rubber hammer but all in all great shelves. Got the color purple, I couldn't say it was really purple to my standards but a lighter version of plum maybe. Anyway, it worked fine!
Date published: 2011-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Them! These bookcases are not only a great concept, but surprisingly solid and sturdy. I have six of the 27 1/2” wide units stacked three on three to make a library wall. It worked out perfectly and looks great. Of course, not requiring assembly was a plus. One note, if you want to stand the bookcases flush side by side with no space in between, you will need to skip the mantel tops, as they extend beyond the sides of the bookcases.
Date published: 2009-02-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice book case or picture display piece I bought this piece as an extra picture display/bookcase for my son's room. It is nice looking, and easy to put together. Just a matter of slipping on the shelves and folding out the doors. I ordered the mantel top shelf, and it was a little difficult to tap into place, but my husband was able to get it to fit. My only complaint would be the 3 round trim piece on each side did not stay in the holes, and I had to glue them in.
Date published: 2010-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Terrific Shelving Solution I needed shelving for books in our Bonus Room... the height needed to be no higher than the stair railing the shelving would sit next to... These shelves worked! 4 shelves fit exactly into the space... I just had to unwrap,,, clean off the styrofoam 'bubbles' that clung to the shelves... and the labels peeled off easily... I would definitely recommend this for the price and value received. I purchased the black finish.
Date published: 2011-12-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from GREAT ADDITION TO SMALL SPACE FOR THE PRICE I live in the city and have a small apartment. This bookshelf is very versatile and has a great color. I bought it in red. It is a tone down red but it looks awesome. I bought planters of different shades of red, orange and yellow and it adds a burst of color and nature to my dry urban pad. I am very happy with the purchase. I looked for a long time for a bookshelf that was not too deep but tall enough for storage needs.
Date published: 2011-10-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from about as expected The assembly (basically none) was much simpler than anticipated. The look in general and measurements were perfect. My only issue is that the top shelf does not fit well on the top of the bookcase. It should give it a nice finished look, but instead makes the piece look cheap. For my purposes it will work fine as it fits in a hard-to-fit area, but would not recommend it for any place that will be out in the open/seen a lot.
Date published: 2011-01-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Perfect for what we needed We wanted a tall, narrow, open shelving unit to store our shoes near the front door, and this fit the bill perfectly. Really no assembly required - although it arrived in a compact package, it was super easy to set up - and it's nice that we could fold it back down if we want to. The unit leans slightly to one side, but we're not bothered by that. Very happy with this purchase - great quality, especially for the price!
Date published: 2011-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Assembly I am a teacher with lots of books and stuff in my classroom. With a small classroom most of these things were in bins or boxes and I would forget what I had in them. I saw this bookshelf while browsing the magazine for something else. I bought it and have been pleased with my purchase. So much so I bought another one. Assembly is super easy, the only thing you might need help with is pulling it out of the box. Enjoy :)
Date published: 2011-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome bookcase My sister n law recommended this to me after she purchased one to use inside her kitchen pantry. She raved about how easy the assemble was. We were looking for a bookcase for book,DVD, toy storage for our son's room and this was perfect. We chose green and it was the perfect color and it was gender neutral. I never write reviews so this alone speaks for itself. I am trying to figure out where else I could use one.
Date published: 2012-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unusual color I recently broke out of my comfort zone and painted an accent wall yellow. Needing a bookcase, I was surprised to see the many color choices this came in- and indeed it came in yellow. Shipping was great, very well packed- just unwrap, flip down the shelves, stack, and done!! It looks great, and is slim in depth. My only critique is that the height between each shelf could be better- magazine file boxes don't fit.
Date published: 2012-07-03
  • y_2017, m_1, d_17, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_653
  • loc_, sid_202441690, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 62ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT