Home Decorators Collection Hamilton Walnut 6-Shelf Bookcase-2649430850 - The Home Depot
Discontinued

Home Decorators Collection

Model # 2649430850

Internet # 202719475

Hamilton Walnut 6-Shelf Bookcase


Home Decorators Collection Hamilton Walnut 6-Shelf Bookcase
 

This item has been discontinued.
The Home Depot no longer carries this specific product.
Please select another option below.

$299.00 / each
Loading...

PRODUCT OVERVIEW

Model # 2649430850

Internet # 202719475

Place anything from books and movies to photos and supplies on the 6 spacious shelves of the Hamilton Wide Bookcase. Inspired by early American design, this furniture blends with many types of decor and features the top quality of an expert construction. Complete any room today with stylish storage.

  • Constructed of solid wood and wood veneer
  • Inspired by traditional american design
  • 72 in. H x 38 in. W x 13.5 in. D
  • Very sturdy and durable construction

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

SPECIFICATIONS

Dimensions
Assembled Depth (in.)  13.2 in  Assembled Height (in.)  72 in 
Assembled Width (in.)  38 in  Product Depth (in.)  13.2 
Product Height (in.)  72.0  Product Width (in.)  38.0 
Details
Adjustable Shelves  Yes  Assembly Required  Yes 
Bookcase Style  Open  Collection Name  None 
Color/Finish  Walnut  Color/Finish Family  Reddish Brown Wood 
Finish  Walnut  Hardware Included  Yes 
Material  Solid Wood  Number of Shelves 
Product Style  Classic  Product Weight (lb.)  107.8 lb 
Removable Shelves  No  Returnable  90-Day 
Storage Capacity (cu. ft.) 
Warranty / Certifications
Manufacturer Warranty  n/a 

CUSTOMER REVIEWS

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 178 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice style, poor quality This bookcase arrived in a box that did not appear to be damaged in any way. As I was assembling it, I found 2 pieces that were damaged. One was minor and would be covered by books. I was able to glue it together. The other area of damage was a large dent in the very front of the bookcase. Also, the trim at the bottom did not square up, leaving a noticeable gap between the trim and bottom shelf on the right side. We disassembled the bookcase and managed to minimize the gap but could not get rid of it altogether. Very disappointing! October 17, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Addition to Household. Beautiful and very helpful for someone who loves books only a few problems,the shelves when we put them in should fit closer to the wall of the shelves. And thepilot holes should have been measured accurately. But I'm happy I bought them. August 18, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Nice looking but easily damaged The unit looks very nice and was easy to assemble, but the wood is very soft and although we had shipping difficulties that may have contributed, there were several nicks and dents in several pieces when we got it. It is very sturdy. August 19, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Overpriced I was very disappointed in this bookcase, I have assembled 5 bookcases in my home over the past few yrs and this one, not only was missing pg 2 of instructions, it had to be taken apart 2X's in order to make the top slide on. Apart from that the materials used were poor quality, the inside of bookcase was flat pressboard without a wood finish. The exterior has a rough finish, unlike the picture on line. Was NOT worth the money. May 15, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Bargain The bookcase looks like it cost more money that it did. Easy assembly, overall finish of case realistic , number of shelves good. September 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Value, nice appearance I purchased two bookcases. They shipped quickly and were relatively easy to assemble. The finish looks good and they hold my books August 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Gorgeous No two ways about it...these bookcases are beautiful. They are 100% solid wood and VERY sturdy. The finish is a nice honey color. This was an excellent purchase for the money. Quality control was a bit of an issue. The inside of one of the shelves came with a crack in it, and a piece of moulding was missing. The company made good and offered to send me a brand new bookcase or take money off what I was billed to keep it “as is”. You will need a rubber mallet to attach the decorative moulding. While one person can put this together, it was much easier with two. October 8, 2009
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Disapointing Quality! Description says made of hardwood and veneers, however the interior sides, and full back panel are slighting sprayed particle board which looks really cheap compared to the real wood. I thought the back might be melamine wood grain, but it was worse. Two pieces were damaged. One of the major uprights was split and there was a chip on the side panel. By the time these were discovered, we were too far along to disassemble, repack and return. But we're not happy. Lastly the reviews saying the wood is very orange are correct. Its like bad knotty pine paneling color. No wonder the mahogany color is sold out! On the positive side, the fluted trim is nice and was easy to install. The mfr. could improve this design easily to make it a much better product. April 14, 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Run, don't walk.....from this... This was such a disappointment, I had ordered the walnut bookcase, it looks more like a very red cherry. It is quite large for the money and had the color been true I would have given it three stars but with the off color and some of the trim appearing to be warped, it only rates one star. The company agreed to take it back and sent a return shipping label, but it had already been assembled and I wasn't about to dismantle it and then try to box and ship....so I stuck it in the corner of my living room and hopes no one notices. February 6, 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Hamilton Bookcase The bookcase looks nice when all is said and done, but I was disappointed to find that one of the factory installed screws in the base was missing which led to the bottom of the base seperating from the unit and it looked terrible. I was able to use some wood glue and my own hardware to fix it, but was again disappointed in the product that was sent to me. I should have built my own bookcase for a heck of a lot cheaper. January 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good bookcase for the price These are nice bookcases, but be aware they are heavy and a little challenging to assemble. I bought two bookcases, and one of the bookcases did not have holes pre-drilled in an critical piece of the assembly. The biggest frustration was that the holes along the sides of both bookcases were not drilled properly, and I spent a few hours struggling to get the screws in using the included allen wrench. I finally wised up and just used my own phillips head screws and power drill, and this got the job done. Also one of the bookcases was damaged in shipping (may have been the fault of the delivery company). But the damage was to the side facing the wall so I elected not to return it. Overall, good looking bookcases. I like the sturdy shelves. Solid and heavy. August 26, 2009
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Not up to the quality of other furniture I bought this bookcase looked good on the computer and from previous purchases I expected Home Decorrators quality. The staining was very uneven and a number of dings and dents were evident. I asked my wife if she wanted to return, but she said no - we would never have been able to get it back in the box it shipped in. We had to do quite a bit of touch up with a stain marker. Overall it's ok but I won't buy another Hamilton product. December 18, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by HAMILTON BOOKCASE Packaging seemed very good to protect material from shipping damage, though there was a small indentation on the very top front sill. Product is well constructed of solid wood, no particle board. Assembly is rather simple, but you have no clue as to what tools you will need for assembly and some of the assembly instructions are a guess. Shelves are of solid wood and should not sag over time. For the price this is a product of value. November 21, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Does not worth as much as it looks or said. It should not be called as a solid hardwood bookcase. The quality of the bookcase is overstated. June 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful! Just moved, ordered 3 to house my many boxes of books. I wanted a step up from big-box store particleboard but didn't want to pay furniture store prices. This was a great compromise! They're sturdy, they look beautiful, and once you snap the trim pieces in place, you really can't tell that I built them myself. Minor assembly irritations, like a few screw holes that didn't line up quite right and a few dings in the wood, but overall I'm thrilled with my choice and I'm happy when I walk by and see them. August 10, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Hamilton Bookcase is Quality I was pleased to see how sturdy and how much solid woods were used with this bookcase. It is quite heavy for such an item. The assembly was fine, with one comment that there are no instructions on how to assemble the final appearance pieces (cover holes, adds detail). Actually, you just beat them onto some sort of plastic devices--but be careful to use a wooden buffer or rubber hammer so as not to dent. I am not a fan of the golden color, but it's unfortunately the only color available for the 4-shelf. February 21, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great look This was our 5th one! They have the look of much more expensive bookcases. You save hundreds over the furniture brands. They are a little difficult to figure out assembly the first time but not bad over all. We love the look they have given our ever expanding library. If there was one thing I would change it would be the top and bottom side overhang. It would be nice to be able to place them tightly together. Overall, they are great! August 22, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Sign of the Time I bought two of these bookcases, which show the typical type of furniture we have become used to: pre-assesmbled, looks good and moderately priced. In general I am pleased with the product as it satisfy my needs: Hold my books without having the shelves sag under the weight as the shelves are made of wood as well as the side panels. I was also amused as to how the back is formed by use of structural ribs and thin compressed wood panels. A particular aspect of this product is that the oak color looks redish rather that blond. The assembly was generally easy, but it will facilitate a second person to speed the process. Parts are well labeled. The product was delivered in good condition as the wood components are individually wrapped and enough cushion is provided to avoid scratches and broken parts. September 25, 2010
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful and Practical Very beautiful and well-constructed bookshelf. It is a very sturdy, solid piece. The only trouble we had was in some of the assembly. The rubber "bolts" were difficult to enter into the holes while adding the trim edges. Make sure there is a strong man in the house! Also, one of the rubber bolts broke while we were putting a piece of the trim onto the shelf, and we had to end up getting wood glue to cement one of the trim edges on. Other than that, the product is very nice. August 28, 2011
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good bookshelf Construction was fairly straight forward...though I did have to backtrack a couple times due to a lack of detail. The final product is very good quality. It looks good. Build time was short...under an hour. Much better than flimsy particle board bookcases. February 12, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice and good value This was fairly easy to put together. Took about 2 hours. It can be a little challenging to get it all lined up properly. But with some patience it will all fit together nicely. It is a two person job. I recommend putting it together where you plan to place it because it is heavy! My only complaint is that there is about a quarter inch gap between the bottom-most shelf and the front base board. You can only see it if you are standing up and looking down, that is why I didn't give it 5 points. Also, getting the decorative molding on requires some fiddling. And yes, they are all correct when they say to use a rubber mallet. We used a hammer with a towel and it wasn't as efficient. it looks very nice and it is solid. The shelves are adjustable. I may well purchase the smaller version for the same room. December 2, 2009
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice bookshelves Was disappointed to open the box and find a small chip on one of the sides but called the company and they immediately offered several solutions to remedy the problem. I thought these bookcases were great value for money and would order a 3rd one if I had the space! January 22, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Iffy product construction upon beginning assembly and attaching the small boards to the right side of the bookcase, the metal inserts pulled out of the wood and we found that we had to be careful in how we tightened the rest of the screws in the rest of them. The manufacturer needs to assess their installation procedures. December 24, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by looks professional the wood quality and appearance is very good - the carved edges on the side and top give a professional look March 17, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Dissappointed I have ordered other furniture from Home Decorators and was excited to get these bookshelves (ordered 2). Just taking them out of the box I could tell the quality wasn't there. the pieces don't fit nicely together so there are gaps, the back is cheap looking so rather than use for books and nicknacks I want to fill completely with books so no one can see how cheap looking they are. Unfortunately they weren't cheap. April 23, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by nice bookcases Was delivered in good time and condition, i ordered 3 so took the afternoon to put them together with a couple breaks! only needed help in tipping back to tap the panels on the bottom. that is the only thing i wonder if could come loose since they only are tapped in place on plastic peggs. might consider wood glue or fininshing nails if they ever come loose. overall i think they look nice and will work for me! May 1, 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice looking, functional, goof price It is ready-to-assemble furniture. The look is more attractive then other similar ready-to-assemble name brands. We think the product is appropriate for the value and we are happy with our choice. January 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Sturdy and good looking bookcase I actually hired someone to assemble this bookcase and he did it within an hour. It's terrific because it's all hardwood, 38" wide, 6' tall with 6 shelves. It hold many books. I've pleased and have received many compliments. I recommend it without reservations. December 13, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by very satisfied order was processed just as specified on website, was able to track via FedEx site. was delivered on time. assembly was easy but I did need to rely on my own allen wrench as the one provided was a cheap throw away that started to round off when I went back to tighten down all the screws. I wouldn't expect any company to provide quality tools for one time usage though so I was fine with that. I'm very pleased with the bookcase. it looks great in my son's room. December 28, 2009
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice---But.... This is a nice bookcase, however, the color has a much more orange finish than pictured. There were also several flaws in the wood (scrapes/dents or something). When put together, it's nice and sturdy and was not hard to put together and is a nice bookcase. After you get it all out, the last thing you want to do is repack it to try to send it back, so will live with the color for awhile, anyway. May try to refinish. January 22, 2012
  • 2015-04-18T11:31:39.443-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_178, tr_178
  • loc_en_US, sid_202719475, prod, sort_default
<< 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>

SHIPPING AND DELIVERY OPTIONS

Standard Shipping includes delivery by small parcel service. Processing time varies by product.


If product is eligible for shipping to AK, HI and US Territories additional transit time and remote surcharges may apply.