0786102004510

Honda

Model HRR216K9VKA

Internet #203709643

Store SKU #404997

21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke

$399.00 /each
  • Mulch, bag, or rear discharge with a flick of a switch: no tools!
  • Twin blades for superior cut quality, mulching, and bagging
  • Premium Honda engine: fuel efficient, quiet, and easy starting

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Honda Self-Propelled, 3-in-1, Variable Speed Lawn Mower with Auto Choke that is Simple, Money Saving, Adaptable, Reliable and Time Saving. The Best Mower money can buy. Legendary Reliability from Honda.

  • Simple, variable speed control easily adapts mowing speed to your stride as you rotate the control; adjustable control position for comfort
  • Money saving 3-in-1 system clip director, simply slide the clip director knob to mulch, bag or discharge without tools or costly attachments
  • Adaptable quick-fold handles for convenient storage and transport, easy twist knob release handle for folding quick-release knobs
  • Reliable: Honda GCV160 engine easy starting Honda engines are legendary for providing years of reliable service
  • Time saving micro cut twin blades, less time emptying bag thanks to finer clippings, meaning more clippings per bagful when mulching, provides smaller clippings for faster decomposition
  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

226 Questions1,406 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
This question is from 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
 
25 answers

Can i keep the engine running if i walk away from it, to drink water ? Or do i have re start it again?

This question is from 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
Asked by
Sarasota
Read all my Q&A
July 5, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (25)

Asked by
in front of mycomputer
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 28, 2016
Answer: 
thats why the good lord made rope i had it tied to my lawnmower handle for the last 6 years
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 23, 2016
Answer: 
I use a loose fitting tie wrap to keep it running. If I'm drinking water, I'll let it stop. But even though they are very easy to start (1 or 2nd crank), it would drive me crazy if I had to restart every time I had to pick up a little piece of trash, or move something.
+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1

Asked by
98720
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 4, 2016
Answer: 
All the mowers I have had recently shut down if the handle is released. I made a small rope loop that keeps the handle engaged, the mower runs unless I slip the loop off the bar. It never shuts off unless I tell it to.
-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful2

Asked by
Bartlett, TN
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 9, 2016
Answer: 
I use a bungee cord.
+4points
5out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful1

Asked by
Florida
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
March 5, 2016
Answer: 
Some Honda 21 inch mowers have what is called a Blade Brake Clutch, this feature allows the engine to continue to run while the blade is stopped. When you release the Blade Brake Clutch lever the blade stops but allows the engine to continue to run while you walk away from the mower to remove an obstacle in the yard Etc.. Hopefully the reason to use the blade brake clutch feature which is also called Read More
Some Honda 21 inch mowers have what is called a Blade Brake Clutch, this feature allows the engine to continue to run while the blade is stopped. When you release the Blade Brake Clutch lever the blade stops but allows the engine to continue to run while you walk away from the mower to remove an obstacle in the yard Etc.. Hopefully the reason to use the blade brake clutch feature which is also called roto stop would be a reason related to lawn mowing such as removing a branch in the yard etc. any other reason wouldn't be safe to do in my opinion such as to go inside for a drink of water while the lawn mower is left running and unattended.
This mower does not offer the Blade Brake Clutch option. That option is available on the 21 inch commercial units available only from commercial lawn care equipment dealers and these units available from Home Depot.......Honda Model # HRR216K9VYA Internet # 203709697 Store SKU # 407235, ........HondaModel # HRX217HYA Internet # 100325494 Store SKU # 247765......Honda Model # HRX217HZA Internet # 100643623........Honda Model # HRX217VYA Internet # 205494636 Store SKU # 1000938543 Read Less
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Brandon, Fla.
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 22, 2015
Answer: 
I use a piece of Velcro wrap it around the handle. That way I can pick up trash and move stuff out of the way when I am mowing. I don't ever leave the mower with it running.
+23points
26out of 29found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful26unhelpful3

Asked by
Lexington, KY
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 3, 2015
Answer: 
No engine running when throttle is released. Cannot leave mower with throttle engaged!
+4points
5out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful1

Asked by
Orlando ,Fl
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
October 6, 2014
Answer: 
on this particular model of Honda, there is no blade disengage, therefore when you let go of the safety bar the mower will shut off,,, but don't worry it's one of the easiest mowers that I've ever started,,,
+3points
6out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful3

October 4, 2014
Answer: 
I use a zip tie to lock the bar down so if I step away it will shut off, until I'm ready and cut the zip tie off
-18points
1out of 20found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful19

Asked by
Christiansburg, Virginia
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 8, 2014
Answer: 
No you can't do that with this mower. However, even if you could this practice is not recommended as is is very dangerous. You need to have full control of power equipment at all times.
+2points
10out of 18found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful10unhelpful8

Asked by
Fl
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 8, 2014
Answer: 
Mower will stay at a idle while the blade is in the stopped position well thought out for being safe
-14points
6out of 26found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful20

Asked by
Palm Harbor, FL
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
July 7, 2014
Answer: 
Yes, if you were to walk away then you would release the lever that maintains blade rotation, and acceleration. However, the engine would remain running.
-42points
1out of 44found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful43

Asked by
Ogden, Utah
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 7, 2014
Answer: 
NO. This is a safety feature. When you are not cutting grass, regulations (think lawyers) say that the blade must stop spinning. This is the easiest lawn mower to start that I have ever owned.
+8points
13out of 18found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful13unhelpful5

Asked by
Cortlandt Manor, NY
Read all my Q&A
July 7, 2014
Answer: 
Unfortunately, once the blade control lever is released, the engine stops running. If it's important for you to keep the engine running, you could always tie a small piece of rope or string around the control (may be a waste of fuel but that's your choice). However, the mower starts and restarts very easily.
+5points
7out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful2

Asked by
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
July 7, 2014
Answer: 
Hello Hector:
When you let go of the blade control lever on this model, the engine stops. So you would need to re-start the engine.
Other Honda models offer a blade clutch called Roto-Stop, that keeps the engine running and only stops the blades when you let go of the lever. Search for Honda model HRR216VYA.
-Robert@Honda
+59points
59out of 59found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful59unhelpful0

Asked by
League City, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 7, 2014
Answer: 
The handle has a safety lever that must be sqeezed down to the handle in order to run the motor...let go and it stops. Atlhough I do not advise you do so for safety reasons,the lever could be taped to the handle in order to bypass the safety and the motor would continue to run while you walk away. For me, its a non-issue as I don't mind letting the motor stop while I get a drink... it quickly and easily Read More
The handle has a safety lever that must be sqeezed down to the handle in order to run the motor...let go and it stops. Atlhough I do not advise you do so for safety reasons,the lever could be taped to the handle in order to bypass the safety and the motor would continue to run while you walk away. For me, its a non-issue as I don't mind letting the motor stop while I get a drink... it quickly and easily starts back up with one pull, even after long periods. Read Less
+4points
6out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful2

Asked by
Mississippi
Read all my Q&A
July 7, 2014
Answer: 
No. The blade control will cut off the mower if you walk away.
+4points
7out of 10found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful3

Asked by
Portland, OR
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 7, 2014
Answer: 
You have to restart it, but the engine starts pretty easily.
+6points
7out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful1

Asked by
west des moines, iowa
Read all my Q&A
July 7, 2014
Answer: 
It has to be restarted. Not particularly difficult ... the pull starter doesn't require a lot of strength. The clutch option is available on the next level up, for approximately $100 more. I couldn't justify the difference for that one minor convenience.
+11points
11out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful11unhelpful0

Asked by
Matthews, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
July 7, 2014
Answer: 
It will shut off as soon as you let go of the handle bar.
+7points
8out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful1

Asked by
Charleston, SC
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
July 7, 2014
Answer: 
If you walk away and let go of the lever it will automatically shut off.
+5points
6out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful1

Asked by
Nashville, TN, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 6, 2014
Answer: 
No. For safety reasons, once the bar on the handle is released, the engine will shut-off. Does not seem to be a problem since the mower normally starts with the first pull.
+6points
7out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful1

Asked by
Asheville, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
July 6, 2014
Answer: 
Safety feature. You have to restart the engine.
+10points
14out of 18found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful14unhelpful4

Asked by
Vienna, WV
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 6, 2014
Answer: 
The short answer is No... This model does not have a blade brake which would allow the engine to run while you emptied the bag or moved objects from your path. The mower is so easy to start so there is no reason not to stop it.
+19points
19out of 19found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful19unhelpful0

Asked by
Nashville,TN
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 6, 2014
Answer: 
There is no "idle" on this mower. Since it has such an easy start, it is no problem to stop it, and get a drink of water, and restart.
+22points
22out of 22found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful22unhelpful0
This question is from 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
 
20 answers

Is there any throttle control on this mower or is it always determined by the mower

This question is from 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
Asked by
Ny
Read all my Q&A
July 5, 2014
My old mower has a throttle control for engine speed so it can be idled down when not actively cutting; does the throttle get controlled by this in some way? I assumed the thumb paddles are only for the transmission, and thought maybe it was linked so it throttled up when the drive was engaged, but the responses from a question about using it without the Smart Drive negated that.
Is the engine always running at full cutting speed whenever it's started?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (20)

Asked by
Covington ,La
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Other
July 9, 2016
Answer: 
No throttle control equals "bad" for cold starts.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Lexington, KY
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 15, 2016
Answer: 
No throttle control - 1 speed - full speed at start up!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Virginia Beach VA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 24, 2016
Answer: 
This mower would be a dealbreaker for me without the throttle. It's not just a safety thing to keep the engine at idle while picking up debris (with these it's going full blast), but wasting gasoline on thin or not very long grass is wasteful and somewhat illogical (at least for many of us in the U.S.) Having control of engine speed is critical.
-1point
2out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful3

Asked by
Florida
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Other
August 6, 2015
Answer: 
yes
+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1

Asked by
Illinois, USA
Read all my Q&A
July 23, 2015
Answer: 
Yes, it is. Thumb control only effects the 'self propelled' feature of the mower. To stop the blades you just have to release the 'dead man's' lever (main bar you hold down to keep the engine running, and cut-off when it's released). There's no way to just stop the blade while still having the engine running.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Asked by
Cincinnati, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
July 16, 2014
Answer: 
No manual throttle control on the mower. The engine is always running at cutting speed.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Asked by
Fl
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 8, 2014
Answer: 
Off / slow / full and is regulated by a governor also, whenever the drive control is activated the mower revs to top speed and when its dis in gauged it goes back to idle ,no it dose not stay in full engine speed this is one well worth the money mower its all most a joy mowing the grass
0points
2out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful2

Asked by
Palm Harbor, FL
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
July 7, 2014
Answer: 
The throttle on the left with stop sign to rabbit controls blade speed and engine speed if you release the black bar that runs along the top of frame of the mower the engine will decrease its power and the cutting blade will be disengaged. The grey hand paddles at the top center of frame controls the speed of the self propelled acceleration. The engine is not always running at full cutting speed, you Read More
The throttle on the left with stop sign to rabbit controls blade speed and engine speed if you release the black bar that runs along the top of frame of the mower the engine will decrease its power and the cutting blade will be disengaged. The grey hand paddles at the top center of frame controls the speed of the self propelled acceleration. The engine is not always running at full cutting speed, you must engage the blade rotation by pushing down on the large yellow blade engaging button on the right side of frame and hold the black bar that runs along the main top bar where the acceleration paddles are. You will here the engine increase its power when you do this. Read Less
-1point
5out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful6

Asked by
Naperville
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 7, 2014
Answer: 
The engine speed is constant. Releasing the blade control lever shuts off the engine. You can vary the travel speed through the smart drive control (thumb paddles).
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Asked by
Westchester County, NY, USA
Read all my Q&A
July 7, 2014
Answer: 
Yes - full throttle. Auto-choke throttles up the machine automatically.
-2points
1out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful3

Asked by
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
July 7, 2014
Answer: 
Hi Nick:
This model has a fixed throttle, that starts and runs wide open. This is typical on models that use a blade control that stops both the engine and blades when you let go of the blade control lever.
Other Honda models have a blade clutch; when you let go of the blade control lever, just the blades stop, but the engine continues to run. These are called Roto-Stop models and they all have an Read More
Hi Nick:
This model has a fixed throttle, that starts and runs wide open. This is typical on models that use a blade control that stops both the engine and blades when you let go of the blade control lever.
Other Honda models have a blade clutch; when you let go of the blade control lever, just the blades stop, but the engine continues to run. These are called Roto-Stop models and they all have an adjustable throttle so you can idle down the engine.
-Robert@Honda Read Less
+25points
25out of 25found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful25unhelpful0

Asked by
League City, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 7, 2014
Answer: 
Yes, it has no throttle. The engine runs the same when the paddles are compressed thru thick or thin areas of grass. The fact it has no throttle control has not presented a problem for me as it has plenty of power at any speed.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Mississippi
Read all my Q&A
July 7, 2014
Answer: 
No. There is no throttle control.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
west des moines, iowa
Read all my Q&A
July 7, 2014
Answer: 
Yes, the engine itself is always running at full speed. The paddles only control propulsion speed.
+5points
6out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful1

Asked by
Matthews, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
July 7, 2014
Answer: 
It is a constant speed and usually only varies slightly when you engage the power drive option.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Linthicum Heights, MD, USA
Read all my Q&A
July 7, 2014
Answer: 
As I understand the "product instructions," the throttle and auto-choke work together dependently, set by the manufacture. You can adjust, but you are taking matters into your own hand. The engine on mine seems to always be " running at full cutting speed" AT START & AT DRIVE. It has not been an issue for me to seek any manual adjustment by me, although the owners' manual indicates that you can adjust if Read More
As I understand the "product instructions," the throttle and auto-choke work together dependently, set by the manufacture. You can adjust, but you are taking matters into your own hand. The engine on mine seems to always be " running at full cutting speed" AT START & AT DRIVE. It has not been an issue for me to seek any manual adjustment by me, although the owners' manual indicates that you can adjust if you so choose. I don't. Read Less
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0

Asked by
Nashville, TN, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 6, 2014
Answer: 
There is no manual throttle control. The mower just seems to cut through anything and maintains a steady engine speed. It does not go faster and slower like my old mower. Seems to have plenty of power for my thick lawn turf without a high rev even with the self propelled engaged.
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0

Asked by
Dearborn Heights, MI
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 6, 2014
Answer: 
One RPM for this mower that is optimized for maximum torgue.
+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1

Asked by
Nashville,TN
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 6, 2014
Answer: 
No engine speed throttle, this is always "Full speed ahead".
Variable Speed Self-Propelled system: Easily adjust the mower's speed to your stride by rotating the control. 5 position adjustable control for comfort. Variable speed from 0 to 4 mph.
More info: http://powerequipment.honda.com/lawn-mowers/models/hrr216vka
+9points
10out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful10unhelpful1

Asked by
Vienna, WV
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 6, 2014
Answer: 
You are correct about the thumb drive only controls the ground speed. The mower runs full speed always but the governor compensates for heavy grass so it doesn't bog down but resumes back to normal speed.
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
This question is from 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
 
15 answers

Does this lawn mower's gas tank hold one full gallon or one full quart?

This question is from 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
Asked by
Okemos
Read all my Q&A
July 10, 2014
Someone asked this question earlier and most respondents said that it holds one gallon. My sense is that it holds far less than a full gallon of gas.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (15)

Asked by
Mass
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 1, 2016
Answer: 
no it holds ~1 Quart or 32 US oz.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1

Asked by
Centerville UT
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 7, 2015
Answer: 
Fuel Unleaded gasoline with a pump
octane rating of 86 or higher containing
no more than 10% ethanol by volume
Capacity: 0.25 US gal (0.93 L)
See “FUEL SYSTEM MAINTENANCE”
on page 19 to prevent fuel-related
problems
+14points
14out of 14found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful14unhelpful0

Asked by
32828
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
October 8, 2014
Answer: 
about 32 oz
-2points
2out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful4

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
July 29, 2014
Answer: 
It's a quart. The great thing about that is this mower gets great gas mileage. The other thing that is nice is that you aren't trying to "burn off" a lot of gas at the end of the season before you store it for the winter.
+4points
5out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful1

Asked by
Front Royal, VA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 23, 2014
Answer: 
I believe it is one quart. If you want to get good power try to get no-ethonal gas. You can look on line for gas stations in your area that carry no-ethonal gas. With no-ethonal gas I can mow 3" grass of an half acre on one tank.
+5points
8out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful3

Asked by
Cincinnati, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 16, 2014
Answer: 
1 Quart
+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1

Asked by
League City, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 14, 2014
Answer: 
I am not a tech from Honda so I can't be sure.. I agree it must be less than a gallon..more like a quart or liter or half gallon at most. Whatever it is, when I fill-up there is plenty of gas to mow my 150' x 75' corner lot of St. Augustine grass.
0points
6out of 12found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful6

Asked by
Palm Harbor, FL
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
July 13, 2014
Answer: 
The tank holds 1 full gallon.
-37points
1out of 39found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful38

Asked by
Bristol, TN, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 13, 2014
Answer: 
It holds 0.25 US Gal. 1 quart.
+5points
6out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful1

Asked by
west des moines, iowa
Read all my Q&A
July 13, 2014
Answer: 
One quart.
+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1

Asked by
Dearborn Heights, MI
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 13, 2014
Answer: 
The fuel capacity on this mower is 0.25 US Gallons, or one quart. Due to the engine efficiency, you will get a lot of grass cut before you run out..
+19points
19out of 19found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful19unhelpful0

Asked by
LeRoy, Illinois
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 12, 2014
Answer: 
less than a quart. It does not hold as much gas as the older mowers
+4points
5out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful1

Asked by
Portland, OR
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 12, 2014
Answer: 
This is in the manual. It's 0.25 gallons, which is a quart.
Capacity: 0.25 US gal (0.93 L)
+8points
9out of 10found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful1

Asked by
Nashville, TN, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 11, 2014
Answer: 
You are correct, Randy.
The spec. is incorrectly stated for this model. The tank is .25 gallon or 1 quart not 1 gallon.
+7points
8out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful1

Asked by
Nashville,TN
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 11, 2014
Answer: 
Almost a full, about 0.98 Gallon.
-31points
1out of 33found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful32
This question is from 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
 
15 answers

Do you have to use self propelled feature or can use it as a standard push mower without the self propelled feature?

This question is from 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
Asked by
Tennessee
Tennessee
May 24, 2013
I have a pretty flat yard and enjoy the exercise without using the self propelled feature, but my wife will probably use the self propelled feature. Will the wheels "lock up" if the self propelled is not engaged?
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answers (15)

Asked by
Little Rock, AR
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
July 27, 2016
Answer: 
Sure. And as an added bonus all those features you will not be using make the mower heavy for even more exercise.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Silver Spring, MD, USA
Read all my Q&A
May 29, 2013
Answer: 
Yes, you can elect to not use the self-propelled feature. All you have to do is push and not engage the self-propelled levers that are located on the handle. On slight downhill passes, I do not use the self-propelled features.
+19points
19out of 19found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful19unhelpful0

Asked by
Cape Cod
Read all my Q&A
May 28, 2013
Answer: 
No, you can use it with or without the self-propel feature really easily. There's a lever on the handle (for righties or lefties - doesn't matter) and use it want you want to, release it when you don't. You can also control how fast it self-propels itself by how far down you hold the lever. Sometimes we all need a little help!
+13points
13out of 13found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful13unhelpful0

Asked by
Canton, MI, USA
Read all my Q&A
May 27, 2013
Answer: 
this mower push's very easy. i sometimes don't even use the self propel.
+7points
9out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful2

Asked by
San Antonio, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
May 26, 2013
Answer: 
I only use self-propel about half the time. Not using does not effect wheels or any function.
+9points
12out of 15found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful12unhelpful3

Asked by
Ohio
Read all my Q&A
May 26, 2013
Answer: 
I also enjoy the exercise of pushing the mower and relying on the drive only when I need it. In the mulching function, yes, no problem pushing it. If you are bagging, your really going to get a workout! I should say, my health is very good, I am 55 years old, someone who is not active, would probably not like pushing this.
+10points
10out of 10found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful10unhelpful0

Asked by
Hartselle, AL, USA
Read all my Q&A
May 26, 2013
Answer: 
You can use it without engaging the self-propelled. It is a little harder sometime to push
but I push it manually when trimming and sometimes forget to engage it and don't notice it
The wheels don't lock up
+9points
10out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful10unhelpful1

Asked by
Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA
Read all my Q&A
May 26, 2013
Answer: 
If you want to push, just push. You don't have to engage the drive wheels. :)
+9points
10out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful10unhelpful1

Asked by
Virginia, USA
Read all my Q&A
May 26, 2013
Answer: 
No...you do not have to use the self-propelled feature. The self-propelled feature is controlled with the speed control paddles. If you do not grip the paddles the self-propelled feature is off. The owner's manual also recommends not using the self-propelled feature when in tight quarters like mowing around trees to enhance manuverability.
+12points
12out of 12found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful12unhelpful0

Asked by
California, USA
Read all my Q&A
May 26, 2013
Answer: 
No, the wheels will not lock up. You can both use the mower as you want.
+6points
7out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful1

Asked by
Bay Village, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
May 26, 2013
Answer: 
You can just push it, it is very light and easy to push. There is minimal drag if pushed. The wheels do not lock up.
+7points
8out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful1

Asked by
St. Petersburg, FL, USA
Read all my Q&A
May 26, 2013
Answer: 
Yes, I'm not sure why you would want to, but you can push (or pull) the mower without using the self propulsion You just wouldn't engage it with the "thumb lever".
+5points
7out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful2

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 26, 2013
Answer: 
You can use it either way. This really is a easy to use mower.
+12points
13out of 14found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful13unhelpful1

Asked by
Prattville, AL, USA
Read all my Q&A
May 25, 2013
Answer: 
You can use the mower without engaging the self-propel drive, and the wheels will not lock up when doing so. If you do not push down on the butterfly throttles, the mower can be pushed and pulled in the same way as a mower that is not self-propelled.
+35points
37out of 39found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful37unhelpful2

Asked by
Chester, CA
Read all my Q&A
May 25, 2013
Answer: 
You can use it either way, push or self propelled.
+16points
18out of 20found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful18unhelpful2
2 3 4 5  ... 13 »
  • 2016-09-08 T11:19:27.443-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_203709643, prod, sort_default
2 3 4 5  ... 13 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 265ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 1784 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Honda mowers are worth a few dollars more! This is my third Honda mower in 30 years, they are rugged and get the job done! Mower comes just about ready to use! Add the provided oil, attach the handle add gas and in one pull your on your way! I have acreage to cut and could use the sit down mower but I like the exercise and my last Honda mower mowed many acres of grass for eight years! You can not kill a Honda engine, my last one is still running but the self-propelled died and at almost $300 to get it repaired I was better off putting that into a new mower. I've put many hours on my last Honda and like I said the engine still runs great, the belt that powers the self-propelled never wears out! I'll always purchase Honda products, you get what you pay for! August 9, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Honda Lawnmower The Honda Lawnmower is more then I expected. Very good cutting the grass, love the self propell, etc. September 16, 2016
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not good as the brand name Bought it At the end of May, first time use experience is not good, always stuck at few minutes, recently it's bad, brought it to a dealer but still has the same issue, with the carefully check I found this is a design issue, the grass will be easy stuck at the gap of the blade then the engine stop. Just realized the return day is 30 days (usually other product is 90 days), so nothing can do now. My suggestion: don't buy it because not like Honda's brand name. August 25, 2016
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Autochoke issues, but performs ok otherwise Mine seems to be plagued by the auto-choke issues. After start up in cold weather or warm, you have sit and hold it for about 2 minutes until it starts running at full power. In the mean time, it will sputter and sometimes smoke a bit. Also, if you kill the engine during this period halfway warmed up, it can sometime be difficult to pull start again. Once it is warmed up, it works great. My 10 year old son has no problems mowing the lawn, stopping, restarting, etc once the mower gets fully warmed up. August 17, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Do not doubt How great of a mower this is! I have owned multiple toros, lawnboys, and 3 Husquvaras, this Honda mower is far superior. the drive wheels and mechanics are far above all of these. It will feel very solid, and long lasting as you use it. The "thumb" drive takes very little pressure at all. you can hold with your palms to activate, but thumbs are so easy you wont need to. When mowing grass way to tall, yes it will leave Mohawk effect, but I just go back over and it is perfect. September 2, 2016
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Broke in 3 months. Only after 3 months, the mower would not start when engine was hot. Initial start no problem, but go to dump the bag, and would not start after that. Took to an authorized repair shop, and of course they said the carb was dirty, and not covered by warranty. $111 to fix. Followed all instructions and maintenance procedures by the book, and even used only Chevron gas. Will never buy another Honda product. Overpriced to begin with compared to other mowers I have had that lasted until their decks rusted through (Craftsman, and would you believe Murray?). After researching, many have had problems with the auto-choke, which I feel was my problem as well, but got swindled at the repair shop. July 29, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome! This is the type of mower that saves me so much time. No clogging and if I skip a week it's still no problem. Took some getting used to with the speed bc it's very powerful and can go fast but worth the money. My yard has a lot of inclines and I can still mow it with one hand if I need to!! September 3, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Great mower if I had to do it again I would purchase the same product. Wish it had a bigger engine of Couse sometimes shut off in high grass and have to restart. September 6, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by VARIABLE SPEED SELF-PROPELLED GAS MOWER WITH AUTO CHOKE NO ASSEMBLY REQUIRED JUST THE OIL ADD; RUNS LIKE A JACKRABBIT! September 6, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great mower Added gas and oil and it started first pull. Easy to control speed while mowing. September 13, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Cant be more easy Easy to use, well cutting , easy to start as well, Gas leaking when turn to 90" for cleaning and I thought its normal September 5, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Considering another mower.....................NEVER! Over the years I have had other brands and the moment this mower started and I made the first pass I realized it was not even a contest! No doubt Honda is known for lots of products but they nailed it with this one. I could not be happier! Anyone that doesn't like this one must truly tell me how they are let down or what they feel exceeds it. But to me there is no contest!!!!!!! August 28, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Well worth the money! While I am a novice and this is only my 2nd mower owned, this is well worth the price tag. Ease of use, mobility, power and gas usage are a lot better than my previous mower (different brand). The features are nice and the mower does all the work for you. August 31, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by does the job Happy with the purchase. Bought to mow our bar ditch (Yankees: that means a slope-sided road shoulder) As a 80 yr old lady, it was getting hard to push and control an ordinary mower. The Honda fits the bill. Easy to start. Quality of twin blade cut is excellent, even in dew dampened or wet grass. No need to overlap rows. Traction control sensitive between dead stop and "whee, here we go." CON: mower is really heavy - hard to wrestle around when engine is off. August 16, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good mower Sets up easily out of the box. One reviewer said his lawn had a "bad haircut" look after he mowed. It appears if you go very fast it jumps around a bit causing a weird pattern. So I just mow at a reasonable pace. Very easy to use. I do have to remind myself to turn the gas-on gas-off knob because my old mower didn't have that. But over all it seems very well built, I barely have to pull the cord to start. It came with oil which was nice and the air filter is on the side with an easy open cover. As a women the most important thing for me is, can I start it? Sometimes pull mowers are impossible to start but this one is great. July 19, 2016
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Good at First I loved this mower until the drive belt burned up and it is nightmare to change. It lasted two cuttings in a small yard August 29, 2016
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by variable speed isn't for me This is my third Honda, I have multiple properties so I have replaced the old mowers with Honda's. I love my 2 older Honda's with a three speed, but this variable speed is awful, everytime I hit a bump it causes my hand to move which then changes the mower speed I have to constantly adjust the speed, I want to walk just 1 speed and thats the speed I choose and not constantly adjust the mower speed. I should of returned this back to Home Depot, but I thought I would get used to it, I hate it. Try cutting along a row of trees, my other mowers I just kind of walk to the side to keep the low branches off of me, this new Honda it is very hard to do this and keep the mower moving at a constant speed. Honda you can contact me and take this back anytime. August 8, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wow, this mower does the job better than I expected. It had a little trouble getting up to speed the first couple of minutes, but once it did, it ran great. I bought it because it is difficult to find someone to cut my grass regularly, so my back yard and ditches by the street were very overgrown. I raised it to the highest setting and it had no issues taking on the 3 foot tall weeds and Johnson grass. I was trying to rush before the rain set in again so I didn't get a chance to really see how nice it would cut on the lower setting. The wheels are a little slick for mowing steep ditches, but it was still easier than anything else I have tried. Overall I am extremely happy with this mower. June 28, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great reliable mower Honda has always been a great company.... And this mower is no different. We bag & mulch with it. Starts up so easy every time!! August 29, 2016
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by An Honest Review Let me start by giving you the age old precursor statement of saying: This is the first review I've ever left because I felt it could help someone out. I started with getting a C-list Troy-Bilt mower. The poor ol' boy struggled with my lawn and eventually took a dump on me. Next I purchased a Lawn-Boy AWD mower 149cc. It did "ok" but still stalled out trying to mow the thick Tennessee grass pretty often and on top of that, the rear wheel started coming off within two mowings. Finally I purchased this Honda and thus begins the actual review: Power: (My biggest priority because I don't enjoy cussing 1000 times per mow due to the mower stalling out.) Handled relatively tall grass much better than my previous two mowers mentioned above. It still stalled on me a few times particularly when the caked up grass under the mower finally fell into the blades. Despite this annoyance, you could tell there was more power than the Lawn-Boy's 149cc for certain. Cut: Despite having a bit of a struggle getting through the long grass mentioned above, the mower left an extremely sharp looking cut. I was impressed Maneuverability: The rearwheel drive self propulsion on this guy is awesome. Has more pull than the AWD mower I just came from. Had no difficulty getting up our small backyard incline at all. It also has enough speed to pop a small wheelie should you give it full throttle from a stand still. Pulling backwards didn't bother me at all. And some people complained about having to use your thumbs.... those people are wussies. It's not bothersome at all. Start Up: As advertised (and like most mowers these days) it fires up in one pull everytime unless it just stalled out and still has grass caked underneath, then it may take two pulls. In any case, I'm confident a young child could get this thing started. Bagging: Haven't done it yet. So why did I include it as a category? I don't know. Over All Assessment: I looked at tons of mowers due to how much I hate trying to get through the thick grass here. I originally wanted to pick up a 190cc mower to just power through this stuff, but the reviews on the semi-affordable 190cc mowers were complete trash so I steered away from them. Despite my wishing this mower had just a little bit more power to avoid the occasional stall in thick grass, it has been a fine mower for me. Great cut, great variable speed, great tracktion, easy start, and beasts through the grass on my less thick areas. I would recommend this mower as you get the best bang for your buck that I've seen this far. September 4, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT mower Mower is great, mows good, really fast walking speed. Large capacity bagger. August 24, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best lawn mower ever. The Honda lawn mower lived up to it's excellent ratings. Started on the first pull and the multispeed lever was easy to use. August 23, 2016
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worst Lawn Mower This is a problematic lawn mover. It is designed to run one or two years. Then its small cheap parts start to fail. I bought one of these and failed on me and will never going to buy another Honda lawn mover August 30, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Mower Ever for All Seasons! This is the second Honda mulching mower I've owned. The last one I sold before moving to a condo. I find myself in a house with a park-like back yard, shaded by an awesome oak tree. The mower was fantastic for summer mowing -- I'd fed my St. Augustine grass very early and again early Spring, and it killed all the weeds (there were MANY) and the mulching mower made it look beautiful all summer. The mower is easy to start, lightweight, easy to maneuver, and cuts beautifully. It was easy to assemble. The mulching feature really seems to promote healthy growth. The self-propelling feature makes it super easy to calibrate to my pace. I highly recommend this mower. December 10, 2015
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Liked my old Honda better than this new one My old mower had two speeds and a manual choke. The blade was disengaged when starting. The new Honda has variable speed which means it often lurches ahead when hitting an open space and requires constant control to maintain speed. Not a benefit. Old mower needed less strength to pull start maybe because blade was disengaged. Cannot control engine speed with new mower, there is no idle speed. I see no improvement over my old mower which lasted me nearly 30 years. August 9, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Works as promised Lawn mowers should be reviewed after a couple of years. I've had this one a month. It's quieter, cleaner, and it cuts more evenly than my old John Deere mower, which served well in its time. The Honda starts on the first pull, has enough power to make a pretty good incline with no strain. So far I am very pleased with this purchase. August 17, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best mower ever! Simply fantastic. No unnecessary mower tech here. Just a great engine, great blade design, and a beautiful cut. Started on the first pull right out of the box and on the first pull every time (that's no joke, it really does). Take care of it (ethanol free gas), clean it up after use, change oil every once in a while, and I'm confident it will last forever. August 14, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Purrs like a kitten Very happy with this mower. Engine is smooth, relatively quiet and powerful. Design is simple without a lot of hanging cords. Would highly recommend. August 30, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A Quality Purchase This is the first mower I have ever purchased, so I was skeptical that I would be pleased. since I knew nothing about mowers! It was easy to assemble out of the box (almost nothing required). It was easy to prepare for use, and started up on the first pull. It handles well, is self-propelled with easy to use paddles for engaging the self-propelled feature. I have used the mower for a couple of months, and have absolutely no complaints. I am happy with my purchase, and would recommend it to anyone who wants a quality, easy-to use, self-propelled mower. July 26, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Glad I went with Honda I was considering this mower and a Troybilt mower with the Honda engine. I paid the extra $70 and got the Honda mower. This mower has twin blades and does a fantastic job of mulching. And because of the twin blades I only have empty my bag once mowing my front yard. My old Toro with the single blade I had to empty the bag 4 times. The drive / transmission system on this mower is the best I have ever used. This is a totally awesome machine and for $399 it was well worth spending the extra $70 to get the Honda. August 2, 2016
  • 2016-09-19 T12:42:09.972-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1784, tr_1784
  • loc_en_US, sid_203709643, prod, sort_default
<< 2 3 4 5  ... 61 >>
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 76ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT