0786102004510

Honda

Model HRR216K9VKA

Internet #203709643

Store SKU #404997

21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke

$399.00 /each
  • Mulch, bag, or rear discharge with a flick of a switch: no tools!
  • Twin blades for superior cut quality, mulching, and bagging
  • Premium Honda engine: fuel efficient, quiet, and easy starting

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Honda Self-Propelled, 3-in-1, Variable Speed Lawn Mower with Auto Choke that is Simple, Money Saving, Adaptable, Reliable and Time Saving. The Best Mower money can buy. Legendary Reliability from Honda.

  • Simple, variable speed control easily adapts mowing speed to your stride as you rotate the control; adjustable control position for comfort
  • Money saving 3-in-1 system clip director, simply slide the clip director knob to mulch, bag or discharge without tools or costly attachments
  • Adaptable quick-fold handles for convenient storage and transport, easy twist knob release handle for folding quick-release knobs
  • Reliable: Honda GCV160 engine easy starting Honda engines are legendary for providing years of reliable service
  • Time saving micro cut twin blades, less time emptying bag thanks to finer clippings, meaning more clippings per bagful when mulching, provides smaller clippings for faster decomposition
  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

222 Questions1,391 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
 
25 answers

Can i keep the engine running if i walk away from it, to drink water ? Or do i have re start it again?

This question is from 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
Asked by
Sarasota
Read all my Q&A
July 5, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (25)

Asked by
in front of mycomputer
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 28, 2016
Answer: 
thats why the good lord made rope i had it tied to my lawnmower handle for the last 6 years
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 23, 2016
Answer: 
I use a loose fitting tie wrap to keep it running. If I'm drinking water, I'll let it stop. But even though they are very easy to start (1 or 2nd crank), it would drive me crazy if I had to restart every time I had to pick up a little piece of trash, or move something.
+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1

Asked by
98720
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 4, 2016
Answer: 
All the mowers I have had recently shut down if the handle is released. I made a small rope loop that keeps the handle engaged, the mower runs unless I slip the loop off the bar. It never shuts off unless I tell it to.
-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful2

Asked by
Bartlett, TN
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 9, 2016
Answer: 
I use a bungee cord.
+4points
5out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful1

Asked by
Florida
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
March 5, 2016
Answer: 
Some Honda 21 inch mowers have what is called a Blade Brake Clutch, this feature allows the engine to continue to run while the blade is stopped. When you release the Blade Brake Clutch lever the blade stops but allows the engine to continue to run while you walk away from the mower to remove an obstacle in the yard Etc.. Hopefully the reason to use the blade brake clutch feature which is also called Read More
Some Honda 21 inch mowers have what is called a Blade Brake Clutch, this feature allows the engine to continue to run while the blade is stopped. When you release the Blade Brake Clutch lever the blade stops but allows the engine to continue to run while you walk away from the mower to remove an obstacle in the yard Etc.. Hopefully the reason to use the blade brake clutch feature which is also called roto stop would be a reason related to lawn mowing such as removing a branch in the yard etc. any other reason wouldn't be safe to do in my opinion such as to go inside for a drink of water while the lawn mower is left running and unattended.
This mower does not offer the Blade Brake Clutch option. That option is available on the 21 inch commercial units available only from commercial lawn care equipment dealers and these units available from Home Depot.......Honda Model # HRR216K9VYA Internet # 203709697 Store SKU # 407235, ........HondaModel # HRX217HYA Internet # 100325494 Store SKU # 247765......Honda Model # HRX217HZA Internet # 100643623........Honda Model # HRX217VYA Internet # 205494636 Store SKU # 1000938543 Read Less
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Brandon, Fla.
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 22, 2015
Answer: 
I use a piece of Velcro wrap it around the handle. That way I can pick up trash and move stuff out of the way when I am mowing. I don't ever leave the mower with it running.
+21points
24out of 27found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful24unhelpful3

Asked by
Lexington, KY
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 3, 2015
Answer: 
No engine running when throttle is released. Cannot leave mower with throttle engaged!
+4points
5out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful1

Asked by
Orlando ,Fl
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
October 6, 2014
Answer: 
on this particular model of Honda, there is no blade disengage, therefore when you let go of the safety bar the mower will shut off,,, but don't worry it's one of the easiest mowers that I've ever started,,,
+3points
6out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful3

October 4, 2014
Answer: 
I use a zip tie to lock the bar down so if I step away it will shut off, until I'm ready and cut the zip tie off
-17points
1out of 19found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful18

Asked by
Christiansburg, Virginia
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 8, 2014
Answer: 
No you can't do that with this mower. However, even if you could this practice is not recommended as is is very dangerous. You need to have full control of power equipment at all times.
+2points
10out of 18found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful10unhelpful8

Asked by
Fl
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 8, 2014
Answer: 
Mower will stay at a idle while the blade is in the stopped position well thought out for being safe
-13points
6out of 25found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful19

Asked by
Palm Harbor, FL
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
July 7, 2014
Answer: 
Yes, if you were to walk away then you would release the lever that maintains blade rotation, and acceleration. However, the engine would remain running.
-41points
1out of 43found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful42

Asked by
Ogden, Utah
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 7, 2014
Answer: 
NO. This is a safety feature. When you are not cutting grass, regulations (think lawyers) say that the blade must stop spinning. This is the easiest lawn mower to start that I have ever owned.
+7points
12out of 17found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful12unhelpful5

Asked by
Cortlandt Manor, NY
Read all my Q&A
July 7, 2014
Answer: 
Unfortunately, once the blade control lever is released, the engine stops running. If it's important for you to keep the engine running, you could always tie a small piece of rope or string around the control (may be a waste of fuel but that's your choice). However, the mower starts and restarts very easily.
+5points
7out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful2

Asked by
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
July 7, 2014
Answer: 
Hello Hector:
When you let go of the blade control lever on this model, the engine stops. So you would need to re-start the engine.
Other Honda models offer a blade clutch called Roto-Stop, that keeps the engine running and only stops the blades when you let go of the lever. Search for Honda model HRR216VYA.
-Robert@Honda
+55points
55out of 55found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful55unhelpful0

Asked by
League City, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 7, 2014
Answer: 
The handle has a safety lever that must be sqeezed down to the handle in order to run the motor...let go and it stops. Atlhough I do not advise you do so for safety reasons,the lever could be taped to the handle in order to bypass the safety and the motor would continue to run while you walk away. For me, its a non-issue as I don't mind letting the motor stop while I get a drink... it quickly and easily Read More
The handle has a safety lever that must be sqeezed down to the handle in order to run the motor...let go and it stops. Atlhough I do not advise you do so for safety reasons,the lever could be taped to the handle in order to bypass the safety and the motor would continue to run while you walk away. For me, its a non-issue as I don't mind letting the motor stop while I get a drink... it quickly and easily starts back up with one pull, even after long periods. Read Less
+4points
6out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful2

Asked by
Mississippi
Read all my Q&A
July 7, 2014
Answer: 
No. The blade control will cut off the mower if you walk away.
+4points
7out of 10found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful3

Asked by
Portland, OR
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 7, 2014
Answer: 
You have to restart it, but the engine starts pretty easily.
+6points
7out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful1

Asked by
west des moines, iowa
Read all my Q&A
July 7, 2014
Answer: 
It has to be restarted. Not particularly difficult ... the pull starter doesn't require a lot of strength. The clutch option is available on the next level up, for approximately $100 more. I couldn't justify the difference for that one minor convenience.
+11points
11out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful11unhelpful0

Asked by
Matthews, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
July 7, 2014
Answer: 
It will shut off as soon as you let go of the handle bar.
+7points
8out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful1

Asked by
Charleston, SC
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
July 7, 2014
Answer: 
If you walk away and let go of the lever it will automatically shut off.
+5points
6out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful1

Asked by
Nashville, TN, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 6, 2014
Answer: 
No. For safety reasons, once the bar on the handle is released, the engine will shut-off. Does not seem to be a problem since the mower normally starts with the first pull.
+6points
7out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful1

Asked by
Asheville, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
July 6, 2014
Answer: 
Safety feature. You have to restart the engine.
+10points
14out of 18found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful14unhelpful4

Asked by
Vienna, WV
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 6, 2014
Answer: 
The short answer is No... This model does not have a blade brake which would allow the engine to run while you emptied the bag or moved objects from your path. The mower is so easy to start so there is no reason not to stop it.
+19points
19out of 19found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful19unhelpful0

Asked by
Nashville,TN
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 6, 2014
Answer: 
There is no "idle" on this mower. Since it has such an easy start, it is no problem to stop it, and get a drink of water, and restart.
+22points
22out of 22found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful22unhelpful0
 
20 answers

Is there any throttle control on this mower or is it always determined by the mower

This question is from 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
Asked by
Ny
Read all my Q&A
July 5, 2014
My old mower has a throttle control for engine speed so it can be idled down when not actively cutting; does the throttle get controlled by this in some way? I assumed the thumb paddles are only for the transmission, and thought maybe it was linked so it throttled up when the drive was engaged, but the responses from a question about using it without the Smart Drive negated that.
Is the engine always running at full cutting speed whenever it's started?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (20)

Asked by
Covington ,La
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Other
July 9, 2016
Answer: 
No throttle control equals "bad" for cold starts.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Lexington, KY
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 15, 2016
Answer: 
No throttle control - 1 speed - full speed at start up!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Virginia Beach VA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 24, 2016
Answer: 
This mower would be a dealbreaker for me without the throttle. It's not just a safety thing to keep the engine at idle while picking up debris (with these it's going full blast), but wasting gasoline on thin or not very long grass is wasteful and somewhat illogical (at least for many of us in the U.S.) Having control of engine speed is critical.
-1point
2out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful3

Asked by
Florida
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Other
August 6, 2015
Answer: 
yes
+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1

Asked by
Illinois, USA
Read all my Q&A
July 23, 2015
Answer: 
Yes, it is. Thumb control only effects the 'self propelled' feature of the mower. To stop the blades you just have to release the 'dead man's' lever (main bar you hold down to keep the engine running, and cut-off when it's released). There's no way to just stop the blade while still having the engine running.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Asked by
Cincinnati, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
July 16, 2014
Answer: 
No manual throttle control on the mower. The engine is always running at cutting speed.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Asked by
Fl
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 8, 2014
Answer: 
Off / slow / full and is regulated by a governor also, whenever the drive control is activated the mower revs to top speed and when its dis in gauged it goes back to idle ,no it dose not stay in full engine speed this is one well worth the money mower its all most a joy mowing the grass
0points
2out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful2

Asked by
Palm Harbor, FL
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
July 7, 2014
Answer: 
The throttle on the left with stop sign to rabbit controls blade speed and engine speed if you release the black bar that runs along the top of frame of the mower the engine will decrease its power and the cutting blade will be disengaged. The grey hand paddles at the top center of frame controls the speed of the self propelled acceleration. The engine is not always running at full cutting speed, you Read More
The throttle on the left with stop sign to rabbit controls blade speed and engine speed if you release the black bar that runs along the top of frame of the mower the engine will decrease its power and the cutting blade will be disengaged. The grey hand paddles at the top center of frame controls the speed of the self propelled acceleration. The engine is not always running at full cutting speed, you must engage the blade rotation by pushing down on the large yellow blade engaging button on the right side of frame and hold the black bar that runs along the main top bar where the acceleration paddles are. You will here the engine increase its power when you do this. Read Less
-1point
5out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful6

Asked by
Naperville
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 7, 2014
Answer: 
The engine speed is constant. Releasing the blade control lever shuts off the engine. You can vary the travel speed through the smart drive control (thumb paddles).
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Asked by
Westchester County, NY, USA
Read all my Q&A
July 7, 2014
Answer: 
Yes - full throttle. Auto-choke throttles up the machine automatically.
-2points
1out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful3

Asked by
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
July 7, 2014
Answer: 
Hi Nick:
This model has a fixed throttle, that starts and runs wide open. This is typical on models that use a blade control that stops both the engine and blades when you let go of the blade control lever.
Other Honda models have a blade clutch; when you let go of the blade control lever, just the blades stop, but the engine continues to run. These are called Roto-Stop models and they all have an Read More
Hi Nick:
This model has a fixed throttle, that starts and runs wide open. This is typical on models that use a blade control that stops both the engine and blades when you let go of the blade control lever.
Other Honda models have a blade clutch; when you let go of the blade control lever, just the blades stop, but the engine continues to run. These are called Roto-Stop models and they all have an adjustable throttle so you can idle down the engine.
-Robert@Honda Read Less
+25points
25out of 25found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful25unhelpful0

Asked by
League City, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 7, 2014
Answer: 
Yes, it has no throttle. The engine runs the same when the paddles are compressed thru thick or thin areas of grass. The fact it has no throttle control has not presented a problem for me as it has plenty of power at any speed.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Mississippi
Read all my Q&A
July 7, 2014
Answer: 
No. There is no throttle control.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
west des moines, iowa
Read all my Q&A
July 7, 2014
Answer: 
Yes, the engine itself is always running at full speed. The paddles only control propulsion speed.
+5points
6out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful1

Asked by
Matthews, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
July 7, 2014
Answer: 
It is a constant speed and usually only varies slightly when you engage the power drive option.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Linthicum Heights, MD, USA
Read all my Q&A
July 7, 2014
Answer: 
As I understand the "product instructions," the throttle and auto-choke work together dependently, set by the manufacture. You can adjust, but you are taking matters into your own hand. The engine on mine seems to always be " running at full cutting speed" AT START & AT DRIVE. It has not been an issue for me to seek any manual adjustment by me, although the owners' manual indicates that you can adjust if Read More
As I understand the "product instructions," the throttle and auto-choke work together dependently, set by the manufacture. You can adjust, but you are taking matters into your own hand. The engine on mine seems to always be " running at full cutting speed" AT START & AT DRIVE. It has not been an issue for me to seek any manual adjustment by me, although the owners' manual indicates that you can adjust if you so choose. I don't. Read Less
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0

Asked by
Nashville, TN, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 6, 2014
Answer: 
There is no manual throttle control. The mower just seems to cut through anything and maintains a steady engine speed. It does not go faster and slower like my old mower. Seems to have plenty of power for my thick lawn turf without a high rev even with the self propelled engaged.
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0

Asked by
Dearborn Heights, MI
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 6, 2014
Answer: 
One RPM for this mower that is optimized for maximum torgue.
+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1

Asked by
Nashville,TN
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 6, 2014
Answer: 
No engine speed throttle, this is always "Full speed ahead".
Variable Speed Self-Propelled system: Easily adjust the mower's speed to your stride by rotating the control. 5 position adjustable control for comfort. Variable speed from 0 to 4 mph.
More info: http://powerequipment.honda.com/lawn-mowers/models/hrr216vka
+9points
10out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful10unhelpful1

Asked by
Vienna, WV
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 6, 2014
Answer: 
You are correct about the thumb drive only controls the ground speed. The mower runs full speed always but the governor compensates for heavy grass so it doesn't bog down but resumes back to normal speed.
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
 
15 answers

Does this lawn mower's gas tank hold one full gallon or one full quart?

This question is from 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
Asked by
Okemos
Read all my Q&A
July 10, 2014
Someone asked this question earlier and most respondents said that it holds one gallon. My sense is that it holds far less than a full gallon of gas.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (15)

Asked by
Mass
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 1, 2016
Answer: 
no it holds ~1 Quart or 32 US oz.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1

Asked by
Centerville UT
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 7, 2015
Answer: 
Fuel Unleaded gasoline with a pump
octane rating of 86 or higher containing
no more than 10% ethanol by volume
Capacity: 0.25 US gal (0.93 L)
See “FUEL SYSTEM MAINTENANCE”
on page 19 to prevent fuel-related
problems
+14points
14out of 14found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful14unhelpful0

Asked by
32828
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
October 8, 2014
Answer: 
about 32 oz
-2points
2out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful4

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
July 29, 2014
Answer: 
It's a quart. The great thing about that is this mower gets great gas mileage. The other thing that is nice is that you aren't trying to "burn off" a lot of gas at the end of the season before you store it for the winter.
+4points
5out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful1

Asked by
Front Royal, VA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 23, 2014
Answer: 
I believe it is one quart. If you want to get good power try to get no-ethonal gas. You can look on line for gas stations in your area that carry no-ethonal gas. With no-ethonal gas I can mow 3" grass of an half acre on one tank.
+5points
8out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful3

Asked by
Cincinnati, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 16, 2014
Answer: 
1 Quart
+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1

Asked by
League City, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 14, 2014
Answer: 
I am not a tech from Honda so I can't be sure.. I agree it must be less than a gallon..more like a quart or liter or half gallon at most. Whatever it is, when I fill-up there is plenty of gas to mow my 150' x 75' corner lot of St. Augustine grass.
0points
6out of 12found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful6

Asked by
Palm Harbor, FL
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
July 13, 2014
Answer: 
The tank holds 1 full gallon.
-37points
1out of 39found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful38

Asked by
Bristol, TN, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 13, 2014
Answer: 
It holds 0.25 US Gal. 1 quart.
+5points
6out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful1

Asked by
west des moines, iowa
Read all my Q&A
July 13, 2014
Answer: 
One quart.
+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1

Asked by
Dearborn Heights, MI
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 13, 2014
Answer: 
The fuel capacity on this mower is 0.25 US Gallons, or one quart. Due to the engine efficiency, you will get a lot of grass cut before you run out..
+19points
19out of 19found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful19unhelpful0

Asked by
LeRoy, Illinois
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 12, 2014
Answer: 
less than a quart. It does not hold as much gas as the older mowers
+4points
5out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful1

Asked by
Portland, OR
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 12, 2014
Answer: 
This is in the manual. It's 0.25 gallons, which is a quart.
Capacity: 0.25 US gal (0.93 L)
+8points
9out of 10found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful1

Asked by
Nashville, TN, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 11, 2014
Answer: 
You are correct, Randy.
The spec. is incorrectly stated for this model. The tank is .25 gallon or 1 quart not 1 gallon.
+7points
8out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful1

Asked by
Nashville,TN
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 11, 2014
Answer: 
Almost a full, about 0.98 Gallon.
-31points
1out of 33found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful32
 
15 answers

Do you have to use self propelled feature or can use it as a standard push mower without the self propelled feature?

This question is from 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
Asked by
Tennessee
Tennessee
May 24, 2013
I have a pretty flat yard and enjoy the exercise without using the self propelled feature, but my wife will probably use the self propelled feature. Will the wheels "lock up" if the self propelled is not engaged?
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answers (15)

Asked by
Little Rock, AR
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
July 27, 2016
Answer: 
Sure. And as an added bonus all those features you will not be using make the mower heavy for even more exercise.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Silver Spring, MD, USA
Read all my Q&A
May 29, 2013
Answer: 
Yes, you can elect to not use the self-propelled feature. All you have to do is push and not engage the self-propelled levers that are located on the handle. On slight downhill passes, I do not use the self-propelled features.
+18points
18out of 18found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful18unhelpful0

Asked by
Cape Cod
Read all my Q&A
May 28, 2013
Answer: 
No, you can use it with or without the self-propel feature really easily. There's a lever on the handle (for righties or lefties - doesn't matter) and use it want you want to, release it when you don't. You can also control how fast it self-propels itself by how far down you hold the lever. Sometimes we all need a little help!
+13points
13out of 13found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful13unhelpful0

Asked by
Canton, MI, USA
Read all my Q&A
May 27, 2013
Answer: 
this mower push's very easy. i sometimes don't even use the self propel.
+7points
9out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful2

Asked by
San Antonio, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
May 26, 2013
Answer: 
I only use self-propel about half the time. Not using does not effect wheels or any function.
+9points
12out of 15found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful12unhelpful3

Asked by
Ohio
Read all my Q&A
May 26, 2013
Answer: 
I also enjoy the exercise of pushing the mower and relying on the drive only when I need it. In the mulching function, yes, no problem pushing it. If you are bagging, your really going to get a workout! I should say, my health is very good, I am 55 years old, someone who is not active, would probably not like pushing this.
+10points
10out of 10found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful10unhelpful0

Asked by
Hartselle, AL, USA
Read all my Q&A
May 26, 2013
Answer: 
You can use it without engaging the self-propelled. It is a little harder sometime to push
but I push it manually when trimming and sometimes forget to engage it and don't notice it
The wheels don't lock up
+9points
10out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful10unhelpful1

Asked by
Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA
Read all my Q&A
May 26, 2013
Answer: 
If you want to push, just push. You don't have to engage the drive wheels. :)
+9points
10out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful10unhelpful1

Asked by
Virginia, USA
Read all my Q&A
May 26, 2013
Answer: 
No...you do not have to use the self-propelled feature. The self-propelled feature is controlled with the speed control paddles. If you do not grip the paddles the self-propelled feature is off. The owner's manual also recommends not using the self-propelled feature when in tight quarters like mowing around trees to enhance manuverability.
+12points
12out of 12found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful12unhelpful0

Asked by
California, USA
Read all my Q&A
May 26, 2013
Answer: 
No, the wheels will not lock up. You can both use the mower as you want.
+6points
7out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful1

Asked by
Bay Village, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
May 26, 2013
Answer: 
You can just push it, it is very light and easy to push. There is minimal drag if pushed. The wheels do not lock up.
+6points
7out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful1

Asked by
St. Petersburg, FL, USA
Read all my Q&A
May 26, 2013
Answer: 
Yes, I'm not sure why you would want to, but you can push (or pull) the mower without using the self propulsion You just wouldn't engage it with the "thumb lever".
+5points
7out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful2

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 26, 2013
Answer: 
You can use it either way. This really is a easy to use mower.
+12points
13out of 14found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful13unhelpful1

Asked by
Prattville, AL, USA
Read all my Q&A
May 25, 2013
Answer: 
You can use the mower without engaging the self-propel drive, and the wheels will not lock up when doing so. If you do not push down on the butterfly throttles, the mower can be pushed and pulled in the same way as a mower that is not self-propelled.
+34points
36out of 38found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful36unhelpful2

Asked by
Chester, CA
Read all my Q&A
May 25, 2013
Answer: 
You can use it either way, push or self propelled.
+15points
17out of 19found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful17unhelpful2
2 3 4 5  ... 12 »
  • 2016-08-17 T11:49:38.647-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_203709643, prod, sort_default
2 3 4 5  ... 12 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 299ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 1745 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Happy Set up was a cinch and it started on one pull. Cut nice with the two blade setup. August 3, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Honda Mower This Honda mower was recommended by several members of my immediate family. It was strongly suggested that I move up to a better brand of mower. The ones I have bought in the past only lasted for 1 or 2 mowing seasons. This mower starts with one pull. The drive wheels allow me to move with ease up and down my steep hill in the front yard. It is easy to store with the fold down handle. I would buy this mower again because it does a great job of cutting my lawn. July 19, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good so far Only used this twice...works as described, good speed control, easy to use. August 2, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Mower I've had Lawn Boy, Toro and now Honda. The Lawn Boy just wasn't powerful enough and clogged all of the time. The Toro's Self-Propel system was weak and the crankshaft warped on me. Now onto Honda... I was a little worried getting a mower with no side discharge because I remember the constant trouble I had with the Lawn Boy clogging. I was also a little worried at how comfortable the Honda self-propelled system was. I took the gamble and here is the review... The mower feels like a quality product. It LOOKS nice and feels well made. The setup was a breeze and was basically was just unfolding the handle bar and locking it into one of two positions. It also folds easily if needed. Add your oil and gas and you are good to go. The first mow, I chose to do rear discharge. I have to say, I wasn't too impressed at first. The rear discharge basically just blows all of the grass onto your ankles as you mow. It actually felt a little dangerous. The grass was wet so it was also clumping up and I had to keep lifting the mower to get it to discharge all of the way. It started to rain so I stopped for the day. The 2nd day I decided to try mulch mode. Now this is where the mower shines and the setting I will continue to use from here on. The mower shreds through grass without any problem thanks to its two blades. I mowed my yard in record time and it looks beautiful with clean lines and very little clumping. The self-propel system is incredibly powerful (the most powerful I've seen) and speeds over the grass with ease. Due to the design, you naturally want to use your thumbs to control the paddle but ideally you want to use your palms. You can adjust the position of the paddle easily and the best setting for me is having it point up and when you press it down with your palms, it's level with the handle. It's basically as fast or as slow as you want it to be based on the pressure you put on it. From a slow walk to literally running behind it. I also love how easily the mower turns. It's a fairly heavy mower but when you stop, lift it and turn around, it spins with ease. The mower strangely feels like it gets light as a feather and turns around with nearly zero force. I'm not sure how it works but it's the best I've seen in that regard. It's also worth noting that the mower starts with the very first pull of the ripcord and is easy to pull. I liked my previous electric start but this is almost just as easy. Overall, it's the best mower I've had so far. I can't recommend the rear discharge mode but if you want to mulch or bag, this is a powerful, easy to use and well made mower worth looking at. August 7, 2016
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by speed control handle hard to handle The mower works good, starts great, cuts great.....BUT I cannot get use to that small handle to automatically self propel your mower. Others use a bar that you control with your hand on the mower handle. its part of what you do naturally. This thing has a small thumb like gadget in the middle of the mower handle that you have to use your palm, or thumb, or whatever you can and it is not smooth. either to fast or slow and hard to use. Why change what works for other mowers across the board? Also the grass discharge is sent out the back and not the side....so all over your shoes! June 23, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect Machine Just used the machine today for the first time. The unit performed flawlessly. After the initial set-up (easy and quick), the engine started on the first pull. I had considered spending another $100 for the electric start feature. Glad I didn't. Starting this Honda engine is effortless. The rear-wheel drive feature is a big deal. We have hills, and the mower requires virtually no energy to get to the top. The drive throttle pad attached to the handle bar is easy to use, and adjustable. I'll never buy a "push mower" again. Finally, the dual-blade cutting system works well. I have the mower on "mulch" mode (not using bag), and the blades cut the clippings so fine you can't see them. It's difficult to imagine a better lawnmower design than this one - for consumers, at least. Highly recommended. July 9, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Can't beat it! For $399 you cant beat this mower. Super easy to prep out of the box, added fuel and it started on the very first pull. I thought about paying $100 more for push button start but when it starts this easy, who needs it. Lots of power, tore through our thick tall grass like nothing. I love the variable speed paddles too, makes it easy to match your walking speed as you navigate through the yard. Highly recommended. I would recommend buying ethanol free gas for it for best results and reliability as with any other small engine. July 4, 2016
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Honda Self Propelled Mower Manual has no section/directions for replacing belt. Belt needed replacing within 30 days. Home Depot did not carry belt even through they sold mower. Dis-assembly for belt replacement is bizarre....and overly complicated. Belt failed again with 30 days. Mower holds very very little oil. Mower starts well........... Mower needs replacing within 6mo of purchase because of continuing drive belt failure and difficulty in replacing same. All stickers for operation/direction fell off within 3 mo Suggestion,,,,spend another $500 and buy a commercial mower Long time commercial customer of Home Depot, Surprising poor quality for a Honda. May 25, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best mower for the & I purchased this model 1 year ago from Home Depot The mower even though it is not a expensive one. Is the best I have ever owned. Starts on first pull. Every time. Gets great gas mileage And with the double blades it cuts great' and with the clip director you can switch from bag to mulch with a flick of the wrist. July 24, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great mower Got this mower a few months ago, works great, especially for the price July 26, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best investment I bought this mower to start my lawn care business. I have probably cut 200 lawns with it, with ZERO issues! You couldn't ask for a more reliable product. July 23, 2016
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pleased with Honda motor Easy to start; propels very well; quieter motor than our Craftsman; loved the free delivery; easy shift to adjust the height of clipping. Best mower we've had compared to previous Craftsman & Toro mowers. July 26, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A must have!!!! It comes fully assembled. Put the oil in that comes with it, pull on the cord. Boom starts on the first pull. Cuts beautifully. Be careful when you push on the paddles to engage the belt drive. It will give you a pretty good pull on your arms. Totally Satisfied with my purchase.You won't be disappointed. July 19, 2016
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by very disappointing I was delighted when I started up the mower on the first pull out of the box. Quiet, lightweight, self propel feature works great and easy to turn. Unfortunately because I do not bag, the discharge gets clogged fairly easily (even in dry grass) and leaves very annoying clumps of grass. I have to stop every once in awhile, stop the mower, and clean out the discharge. I love how quiet and lightweight this mower is, but beware if you are cutting high grass without the bag. Very disappointing spend of $400. July 7, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome Machine I bought a Honda CRV in 2011, and Odyssey this year and then I bought this. This is a superb machine. I thought I wouldn't like it at first because of the rear wheel drive, but mowing my lawn is so much easier. I'm 57 years old and I do it in half the time I used to. The variable speed drive goes as fast as you can walk. It literally pulls me along when I'm mowing and the dual blades keep right up with the cutting. Every time I've started it... all 8 times, it started easily with one pull... even after running out of gas. I seriously love this thing... a close friend got one too and he loves his. I highly recommend it. To me, it's worth it's weight in gold. HD gives a 3 year replacement for around $60 but in my experience with Hondas, I didn't take it. I figured it was money thrown away... while I do get these warranties with other equipment. Things I love about it... Dual blades, variable walk speed, it folds very easily and takes up less space in my garage, starts super easy, rugged build, quality manufacturer, filter in gas tank, easy start. I think I will wash and wax it this week. Thanks HD for carrying this brand! July 22, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Its a Beast I bought a house and my father gave me his 15yr old Snapper, I murdered it in 2 mowings. I didn't mow the lawn for like 4 weeks and then went bought this puppy, it had been raining for 2 days so I thought I would put it together and start it up and be ready when it had dried out. I took a swipe expecting it to bog down and clog up, NOPE! I mowed the whole lawn that was 8-12 tall of wet wet grass with no problems. super happy with it! I was also surprised at how quite it is. July 10, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great product Easy to assemble, started on first pull. Cuts and mulches very good. July 26, 2016
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very Nice The power of this mower is conservatively rated. I works very well. I mowed tall grass with it and am impressed. July 26, 2016
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by mower I bought this mower June 10th 2016 this is July 26 2016 and the mower is already having problems. loss of power, barley running. I'm taking it back. July 26, 2016
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by SO FAR SO GOOD Delivered in great condition. Easy to assemble, easy to start, easy to use. A bit loud and the vibration is quite jearring after an hour of use, but overall i think this will be a solid, great lawnmower and an unbeatable value for the price i paid. Thanks Honda and Home Depot. Mulching feature seems to work well, and the self propelled mechanism is more than adequate for even steep hills! July 13, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Mower The mower does a great job in mulching mode. My lawn hasn't looked as evenly cut in years. The self-propel palm paddles take a little getting used to, but after adjustment they work well on hilly terrain. I would recommend this mower highly--an excellent buy. July 19, 2016
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Really nice for the price Only have had it for a month but it seems like a solid product. The engine starts on one pull every time. Advice, after starting from cold let it run for a few minutes. It is hard to restart if not warmed up and likely the source of the complaints about same. I find the speed control a bit jerky when starting from a stop, but overall it works well. It is pretty light and lends itself to easy maneuverability. Only wish is adding a hose adapter clean out port. Otherwise I am very satisfied with this mower. June 28, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Honda Mower Everything I expected I replaced my 5 year old Snapper with the 21 in 3 in 1 Honda mower. What an upgrade ! Starts great, Very little vibration. The mower is extremely easy to switch from catch to mulch. The self propelled feature is so smooth and easy to control. I will never again buy anything but, a Honda. July 19, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best mower I've ever owned Picked up the box, removed the mower, added the oil, gassed it up. One pull start without even having to find the choke. Nice control for the self propulsion speed--adjustable. Comfortable for both me and my wife. Nice even cutting even through overgrown grass. Honda engines are amazing. July 13, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Mower one of tbe best mower I have bought and with back problems it not pulling on my back July 21, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by just get it What a nice machine. Definitely spend the extra and get a self propelled. July 17, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Mower. I needed a new mower as my old one would constantly get stuck, especially with taller grass. I did some research and decided on this one. This is, by far, the best mower I've owned to date. No assembly required, just have to lift up and set the handle, add the provided engine oil and it's ready to go. After adding gas, it started first time and has started first time every time I've used it. The performance of this mower is great, whether mulching or using the bag. I have yet to have any issues with it getting stuck on anything. June 25, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great mower I used this mower about a dozen times. Starts on first pull. Puts a nice cut on grass. Mower is plenty fast but pace is variable depending on how hard you press. I have not used bagger funtion only mulch. One odd thing to note is there is not a side discharge option. Only bag or mulch so not sure how much this would be an issue if grass was high and you didn't want to bag it. Overall it is very well built. Had Husqvarna before it for only 2 years Terrible mower. In shop twice and cut grass poorly, gas cap leaked, and never started on first pull. The Honda works great and would highly recommend. June 10, 2016
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Honda Mower has been returned I bought this June 2015 and what a nice mower. Winter stored it by running out of fuel and placed in garage. Filled up in April with fresh grass and it ran good for two mows, and then suddenly it ran like it had water in fuel, Half power could not get through medium grass. I changed plug, emptied out fuel. I checked air filter, super clean. Nothing blocking exhaust. It continued to run like the choke was fully engaged. Then today it blew serious white smoke! DONE. I have a Toro now, but I'm not sure about Briggs engines. I guess Ill stick to Honda cars. June 21, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Glad I chose this mower. Replaced my 12 year old Toro recycler personal pace with this Honda (i've used the mower about a dozen times now) . I was deciding between this and a cub cadet, but I chose this because the only thing i liked better on the Cub Cadet was the swivel wheels in the front, but the Honda is so light that it wasn't a big deal. Switching between mulching and bagging is a fantastic feature that really sold me. The only thing that i'm getting used to is turning on and off the fuel line petcock, but its not a big deal. Starts first pull, mulches better than my Toro and bags just as good. If I get 12 years out of this mower only time will tell, but I am feeling good about this purchase. This Honda does a better job on the hill in my backyard than my Toro, it really pulls me up the hill. June 28, 2016
  • 2016-08-24 T11:59:13.589-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1745, tr_1745
  • loc_en_US, sid_203709643, prod, sort_default
<< 2 3 4 5 6  ... 59 >>
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 96ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT