0786102004510

Honda

Model HRR216K9VKA

Internet #203709643

Store SKU #404997

21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke

$399.00 /each
  • Mulch, bag, or rear discharge with a flick of a switch: no tools!
  • Twin blades for superior cut quality, mulching, and bagging
  • Premium Honda engine: fuel efficient, quiet, and easy starting

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Honda Self-Propelled, 3-in-1, Variable Speed Lawn Mower with Auto Choke that is Simple, Money Saving, Adaptable, Reliable and Time Saving. The Best Mower money can buy. Legendary Reliability from Honda.

  • Simple, variable speed control easily adapts mowing speed to your stride as you rotate the control; adjustable control position for comfort
  • Money saving 3-in-1 system clip director, simply slide the clip director knob to mulch, bag or discharge without tools or costly attachments
  • Adaptable quick-fold handles for convenient storage and transport, easy twist knob release handle for folding quick-release knobs
  • Reliable: Honda GCV160 engine easy starting Honda engines are legendary for providing years of reliable service
  • Time saving micro cut twin blades, less time emptying bag thanks to finer clippings, meaning more clippings per bagful when mulching, provides smaller clippings for faster decomposition
  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

226 Questions1,406 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
This question is from 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
 
25 answers

Can i keep the engine running if i walk away from it, to drink water ? Or do i have re start it again?

This question is from 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
Asked by
Sarasota
Read all my Q&A
July 5, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (25)

Asked by
in front of mycomputer
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 28, 2016
Answer: 
thats why the good lord made rope i had it tied to my lawnmower handle for the last 6 years
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 23, 2016
Answer: 
I use a loose fitting tie wrap to keep it running. If I'm drinking water, I'll let it stop. But even though they are very easy to start (1 or 2nd crank), it would drive me crazy if I had to restart every time I had to pick up a little piece of trash, or move something.
+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1

Asked by
98720
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 4, 2016
Answer: 
All the mowers I have had recently shut down if the handle is released. I made a small rope loop that keeps the handle engaged, the mower runs unless I slip the loop off the bar. It never shuts off unless I tell it to.
-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful2

Asked by
Bartlett, TN
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 9, 2016
Answer: 
I use a bungee cord.
+4points
5out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful1

Asked by
Florida
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
March 5, 2016
Answer: 
Some Honda 21 inch mowers have what is called a Blade Brake Clutch, this feature allows the engine to continue to run while the blade is stopped. When you release the Blade Brake Clutch lever the blade stops but allows the engine to continue to run while you walk away from the mower to remove an obstacle in the yard Etc.. Hopefully the reason to use the blade brake clutch feature which is also called Read More
Some Honda 21 inch mowers have what is called a Blade Brake Clutch, this feature allows the engine to continue to run while the blade is stopped. When you release the Blade Brake Clutch lever the blade stops but allows the engine to continue to run while you walk away from the mower to remove an obstacle in the yard Etc.. Hopefully the reason to use the blade brake clutch feature which is also called roto stop would be a reason related to lawn mowing such as removing a branch in the yard etc. any other reason wouldn't be safe to do in my opinion such as to go inside for a drink of water while the lawn mower is left running and unattended.
This mower does not offer the Blade Brake Clutch option. That option is available on the 21 inch commercial units available only from commercial lawn care equipment dealers and these units available from Home Depot.......Honda Model # HRR216K9VYA Internet # 203709697 Store SKU # 407235, ........HondaModel # HRX217HYA Internet # 100325494 Store SKU # 247765......Honda Model # HRX217HZA Internet # 100643623........Honda Model # HRX217VYA Internet # 205494636 Store SKU # 1000938543 Read Less
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Brandon, Fla.
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 22, 2015
Answer: 
I use a piece of Velcro wrap it around the handle. That way I can pick up trash and move stuff out of the way when I am mowing. I don't ever leave the mower with it running.
+23points
26out of 29found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful26unhelpful3

Asked by
Lexington, KY
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 3, 2015
Answer: 
No engine running when throttle is released. Cannot leave mower with throttle engaged!
+4points
5out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful1

Asked by
Orlando ,Fl
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
October 6, 2014
Answer: 
on this particular model of Honda, there is no blade disengage, therefore when you let go of the safety bar the mower will shut off,,, but don't worry it's one of the easiest mowers that I've ever started,,,
+3points
6out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful3

October 4, 2014
Answer: 
I use a zip tie to lock the bar down so if I step away it will shut off, until I'm ready and cut the zip tie off
-18points
1out of 20found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful19

Asked by
Christiansburg, Virginia
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 8, 2014
Answer: 
No you can't do that with this mower. However, even if you could this practice is not recommended as is is very dangerous. You need to have full control of power equipment at all times.
+2points
10out of 18found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful10unhelpful8

Asked by
Fl
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 8, 2014
Answer: 
Mower will stay at a idle while the blade is in the stopped position well thought out for being safe
-14points
6out of 26found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful20

Asked by
Palm Harbor, FL
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
July 7, 2014
Answer: 
Yes, if you were to walk away then you would release the lever that maintains blade rotation, and acceleration. However, the engine would remain running.
-42points
1out of 44found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful43

Asked by
Ogden, Utah
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 7, 2014
Answer: 
NO. This is a safety feature. When you are not cutting grass, regulations (think lawyers) say that the blade must stop spinning. This is the easiest lawn mower to start that I have ever owned.
+8points
13out of 18found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful13unhelpful5

Asked by
Cortlandt Manor, NY
Read all my Q&A
July 7, 2014
Answer: 
Unfortunately, once the blade control lever is released, the engine stops running. If it's important for you to keep the engine running, you could always tie a small piece of rope or string around the control (may be a waste of fuel but that's your choice). However, the mower starts and restarts very easily.
+5points
7out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful2

Asked by
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
July 7, 2014
Answer: 
Hello Hector:
When you let go of the blade control lever on this model, the engine stops. So you would need to re-start the engine.
Other Honda models offer a blade clutch called Roto-Stop, that keeps the engine running and only stops the blades when you let go of the lever. Search for Honda model HRR216VYA.
-Robert@Honda
+59points
59out of 59found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful59unhelpful0

Asked by
League City, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 7, 2014
Answer: 
The handle has a safety lever that must be sqeezed down to the handle in order to run the motor...let go and it stops. Atlhough I do not advise you do so for safety reasons,the lever could be taped to the handle in order to bypass the safety and the motor would continue to run while you walk away. For me, its a non-issue as I don't mind letting the motor stop while I get a drink... it quickly and easily Read More
The handle has a safety lever that must be sqeezed down to the handle in order to run the motor...let go and it stops. Atlhough I do not advise you do so for safety reasons,the lever could be taped to the handle in order to bypass the safety and the motor would continue to run while you walk away. For me, its a non-issue as I don't mind letting the motor stop while I get a drink... it quickly and easily starts back up with one pull, even after long periods. Read Less
+4points
6out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful2

Asked by
Mississippi
Read all my Q&A
July 7, 2014
Answer: 
No. The blade control will cut off the mower if you walk away.
+4points
7out of 10found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful3

Asked by
Portland, OR
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 7, 2014
Answer: 
You have to restart it, but the engine starts pretty easily.
+6points
7out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful1

Asked by
west des moines, iowa
Read all my Q&A
July 7, 2014
Answer: 
It has to be restarted. Not particularly difficult ... the pull starter doesn't require a lot of strength. The clutch option is available on the next level up, for approximately $100 more. I couldn't justify the difference for that one minor convenience.
+11points
11out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful11unhelpful0

Asked by
Matthews, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
July 7, 2014
Answer: 
It will shut off as soon as you let go of the handle bar.
+7points
8out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful1

Asked by
Charleston, SC
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
July 7, 2014
Answer: 
If you walk away and let go of the lever it will automatically shut off.
+5points
6out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful1

Asked by
Nashville, TN, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 6, 2014
Answer: 
No. For safety reasons, once the bar on the handle is released, the engine will shut-off. Does not seem to be a problem since the mower normally starts with the first pull.
+6points
7out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful1

Asked by
Asheville, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
July 6, 2014
Answer: 
Safety feature. You have to restart the engine.
+10points
14out of 18found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful14unhelpful4

Asked by
Vienna, WV
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 6, 2014
Answer: 
The short answer is No... This model does not have a blade brake which would allow the engine to run while you emptied the bag or moved objects from your path. The mower is so easy to start so there is no reason not to stop it.
+19points
19out of 19found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful19unhelpful0

Asked by
Nashville,TN
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 6, 2014
Answer: 
There is no "idle" on this mower. Since it has such an easy start, it is no problem to stop it, and get a drink of water, and restart.
+22points
22out of 22found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful22unhelpful0
This question is from 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
 
20 answers

Is there any throttle control on this mower or is it always determined by the mower

This question is from 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
Asked by
Ny
Read all my Q&A
July 5, 2014
My old mower has a throttle control for engine speed so it can be idled down when not actively cutting; does the throttle get controlled by this in some way? I assumed the thumb paddles are only for the transmission, and thought maybe it was linked so it throttled up when the drive was engaged, but the responses from a question about using it without the Smart Drive negated that.
Is the engine always running at full cutting speed whenever it's started?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (20)

Asked by
Covington ,La
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Other
July 9, 2016
Answer: 
No throttle control equals "bad" for cold starts.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Lexington, KY
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 15, 2016
Answer: 
No throttle control - 1 speed - full speed at start up!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Virginia Beach VA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 24, 2016
Answer: 
This mower would be a dealbreaker for me without the throttle. It's not just a safety thing to keep the engine at idle while picking up debris (with these it's going full blast), but wasting gasoline on thin or not very long grass is wasteful and somewhat illogical (at least for many of us in the U.S.) Having control of engine speed is critical.
-1point
2out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful3

Asked by
Florida
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Other
August 6, 2015
Answer: 
yes
+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1

Asked by
Illinois, USA
Read all my Q&A
July 23, 2015
Answer: 
Yes, it is. Thumb control only effects the 'self propelled' feature of the mower. To stop the blades you just have to release the 'dead man's' lever (main bar you hold down to keep the engine running, and cut-off when it's released). There's no way to just stop the blade while still having the engine running.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Asked by
Cincinnati, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
July 16, 2014
Answer: 
No manual throttle control on the mower. The engine is always running at cutting speed.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Asked by
Fl
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 8, 2014
Answer: 
Off / slow / full and is regulated by a governor also, whenever the drive control is activated the mower revs to top speed and when its dis in gauged it goes back to idle ,no it dose not stay in full engine speed this is one well worth the money mower its all most a joy mowing the grass
0points
2out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful2

Asked by
Palm Harbor, FL
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
July 7, 2014
Answer: 
The throttle on the left with stop sign to rabbit controls blade speed and engine speed if you release the black bar that runs along the top of frame of the mower the engine will decrease its power and the cutting blade will be disengaged. The grey hand paddles at the top center of frame controls the speed of the self propelled acceleration. The engine is not always running at full cutting speed, you Read More
The throttle on the left with stop sign to rabbit controls blade speed and engine speed if you release the black bar that runs along the top of frame of the mower the engine will decrease its power and the cutting blade will be disengaged. The grey hand paddles at the top center of frame controls the speed of the self propelled acceleration. The engine is not always running at full cutting speed, you must engage the blade rotation by pushing down on the large yellow blade engaging button on the right side of frame and hold the black bar that runs along the main top bar where the acceleration paddles are. You will here the engine increase its power when you do this. Read Less
-1point
5out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful6

Asked by
Naperville
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 7, 2014
Answer: 
The engine speed is constant. Releasing the blade control lever shuts off the engine. You can vary the travel speed through the smart drive control (thumb paddles).
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Asked by
Westchester County, NY, USA
Read all my Q&A
July 7, 2014
Answer: 
Yes - full throttle. Auto-choke throttles up the machine automatically.
-2points
1out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful3

Asked by
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
July 7, 2014
Answer: 
Hi Nick:
This model has a fixed throttle, that starts and runs wide open. This is typical on models that use a blade control that stops both the engine and blades when you let go of the blade control lever.
Other Honda models have a blade clutch; when you let go of the blade control lever, just the blades stop, but the engine continues to run. These are called Roto-Stop models and they all have an Read More
Hi Nick:
This model has a fixed throttle, that starts and runs wide open. This is typical on models that use a blade control that stops both the engine and blades when you let go of the blade control lever.
Other Honda models have a blade clutch; when you let go of the blade control lever, just the blades stop, but the engine continues to run. These are called Roto-Stop models and they all have an adjustable throttle so you can idle down the engine.
-Robert@Honda Read Less
+25points
25out of 25found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful25unhelpful0

Asked by
League City, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 7, 2014
Answer: 
Yes, it has no throttle. The engine runs the same when the paddles are compressed thru thick or thin areas of grass. The fact it has no throttle control has not presented a problem for me as it has plenty of power at any speed.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Mississippi
Read all my Q&A
July 7, 2014
Answer: 
No. There is no throttle control.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
west des moines, iowa
Read all my Q&A
July 7, 2014
Answer: 
Yes, the engine itself is always running at full speed. The paddles only control propulsion speed.
+5points
6out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful1

Asked by
Matthews, NC, USA
Read all my Q&A
July 7, 2014
Answer: 
It is a constant speed and usually only varies slightly when you engage the power drive option.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Linthicum Heights, MD, USA
Read all my Q&A
July 7, 2014
Answer: 
As I understand the "product instructions," the throttle and auto-choke work together dependently, set by the manufacture. You can adjust, but you are taking matters into your own hand. The engine on mine seems to always be " running at full cutting speed" AT START & AT DRIVE. It has not been an issue for me to seek any manual adjustment by me, although the owners' manual indicates that you can adjust if Read More
As I understand the "product instructions," the throttle and auto-choke work together dependently, set by the manufacture. You can adjust, but you are taking matters into your own hand. The engine on mine seems to always be " running at full cutting speed" AT START & AT DRIVE. It has not been an issue for me to seek any manual adjustment by me, although the owners' manual indicates that you can adjust if you so choose. I don't. Read Less
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0

Asked by
Nashville, TN, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 6, 2014
Answer: 
There is no manual throttle control. The mower just seems to cut through anything and maintains a steady engine speed. It does not go faster and slower like my old mower. Seems to have plenty of power for my thick lawn turf without a high rev even with the self propelled engaged.
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0

Asked by
Dearborn Heights, MI
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 6, 2014
Answer: 
One RPM for this mower that is optimized for maximum torgue.
+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1

Asked by
Nashville,TN
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 6, 2014
Answer: 
No engine speed throttle, this is always "Full speed ahead".
Variable Speed Self-Propelled system: Easily adjust the mower's speed to your stride by rotating the control. 5 position adjustable control for comfort. Variable speed from 0 to 4 mph.
More info: http://powerequipment.honda.com/lawn-mowers/models/hrr216vka
+9points
10out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful10unhelpful1

Asked by
Vienna, WV
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 6, 2014
Answer: 
You are correct about the thumb drive only controls the ground speed. The mower runs full speed always but the governor compensates for heavy grass so it doesn't bog down but resumes back to normal speed.
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
This question is from 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
 
15 answers

Does this lawn mower's gas tank hold one full gallon or one full quart?

This question is from 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
Asked by
Okemos
Read all my Q&A
July 10, 2014
Someone asked this question earlier and most respondents said that it holds one gallon. My sense is that it holds far less than a full gallon of gas.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (15)

Asked by
Mass
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 1, 2016
Answer: 
no it holds ~1 Quart or 32 US oz.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1

Asked by
Centerville UT
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 7, 2015
Answer: 
Fuel Unleaded gasoline with a pump
octane rating of 86 or higher containing
no more than 10% ethanol by volume
Capacity: 0.25 US gal (0.93 L)
See “FUEL SYSTEM MAINTENANCE”
on page 19 to prevent fuel-related
problems
+14points
14out of 14found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful14unhelpful0

Asked by
32828
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
October 8, 2014
Answer: 
about 32 oz
-2points
2out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful4

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
July 29, 2014
Answer: 
It's a quart. The great thing about that is this mower gets great gas mileage. The other thing that is nice is that you aren't trying to "burn off" a lot of gas at the end of the season before you store it for the winter.
+4points
5out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful1

Asked by
Front Royal, VA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 23, 2014
Answer: 
I believe it is one quart. If you want to get good power try to get no-ethonal gas. You can look on line for gas stations in your area that carry no-ethonal gas. With no-ethonal gas I can mow 3" grass of an half acre on one tank.
+5points
8out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful3

Asked by
Cincinnati, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 16, 2014
Answer: 
1 Quart
+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1

Asked by
League City, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 14, 2014
Answer: 
I am not a tech from Honda so I can't be sure.. I agree it must be less than a gallon..more like a quart or liter or half gallon at most. Whatever it is, when I fill-up there is plenty of gas to mow my 150' x 75' corner lot of St. Augustine grass.
0points
6out of 12found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful6

Asked by
Palm Harbor, FL
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
July 13, 2014
Answer: 
The tank holds 1 full gallon.
-37points
1out of 39found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful38

Asked by
Bristol, TN, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 13, 2014
Answer: 
It holds 0.25 US Gal. 1 quart.
+5points
6out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful1

Asked by
west des moines, iowa
Read all my Q&A
July 13, 2014
Answer: 
One quart.
+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1

Asked by
Dearborn Heights, MI
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 13, 2014
Answer: 
The fuel capacity on this mower is 0.25 US Gallons, or one quart. Due to the engine efficiency, you will get a lot of grass cut before you run out..
+19points
19out of 19found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful19unhelpful0

Asked by
LeRoy, Illinois
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 12, 2014
Answer: 
less than a quart. It does not hold as much gas as the older mowers
+4points
5out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful1

Asked by
Portland, OR
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 12, 2014
Answer: 
This is in the manual. It's 0.25 gallons, which is a quart.
Capacity: 0.25 US gal (0.93 L)
+8points
9out of 10found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful1

Asked by
Nashville, TN, USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 11, 2014
Answer: 
You are correct, Randy.
The spec. is incorrectly stated for this model. The tank is .25 gallon or 1 quart not 1 gallon.
+7points
8out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful1

Asked by
Nashville,TN
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 11, 2014
Answer: 
Almost a full, about 0.98 Gallon.
-31points
1out of 33found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful32
This question is from 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
 
15 answers

Do you have to use self propelled feature or can use it as a standard push mower without the self propelled feature?

This question is from 21 in. 3-in-1 Variable Speed Self-Propelled Gas Mower with Auto Choke
Asked by
Tennessee
Tennessee
May 24, 2013
I have a pretty flat yard and enjoy the exercise without using the self propelled feature, but my wife will probably use the self propelled feature. Will the wheels "lock up" if the self propelled is not engaged?
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answers (15)

Asked by
Little Rock, AR
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
July 27, 2016
Answer: 
Sure. And as an added bonus all those features you will not be using make the mower heavy for even more exercise.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Silver Spring, MD, USA
Read all my Q&A
May 29, 2013
Answer: 
Yes, you can elect to not use the self-propelled feature. All you have to do is push and not engage the self-propelled levers that are located on the handle. On slight downhill passes, I do not use the self-propelled features.
+19points
19out of 19found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful19unhelpful0

Asked by
Cape Cod
Read all my Q&A
May 28, 2013
Answer: 
No, you can use it with or without the self-propel feature really easily. There's a lever on the handle (for righties or lefties - doesn't matter) and use it want you want to, release it when you don't. You can also control how fast it self-propels itself by how far down you hold the lever. Sometimes we all need a little help!
+13points
13out of 13found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful13unhelpful0

Asked by
Canton, MI, USA
Read all my Q&A
May 27, 2013
Answer: 
this mower push's very easy. i sometimes don't even use the self propel.
+7points
9out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful2

Asked by
San Antonio, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
May 26, 2013
Answer: 
I only use self-propel about half the time. Not using does not effect wheels or any function.
+9points
12out of 15found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful12unhelpful3

Asked by
Ohio
Read all my Q&A
May 26, 2013
Answer: 
I also enjoy the exercise of pushing the mower and relying on the drive only when I need it. In the mulching function, yes, no problem pushing it. If you are bagging, your really going to get a workout! I should say, my health is very good, I am 55 years old, someone who is not active, would probably not like pushing this.
+10points
10out of 10found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful10unhelpful0

Asked by
Hartselle, AL, USA
Read all my Q&A
May 26, 2013
Answer: 
You can use it without engaging the self-propelled. It is a little harder sometime to push
but I push it manually when trimming and sometimes forget to engage it and don't notice it
The wheels don't lock up
+9points
10out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful10unhelpful1

Asked by
Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA
Read all my Q&A
May 26, 2013
Answer: 
If you want to push, just push. You don't have to engage the drive wheels. :)
+9points
10out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful10unhelpful1

Asked by
Virginia, USA
Read all my Q&A
May 26, 2013
Answer: 
No...you do not have to use the self-propelled feature. The self-propelled feature is controlled with the speed control paddles. If you do not grip the paddles the self-propelled feature is off. The owner's manual also recommends not using the self-propelled feature when in tight quarters like mowing around trees to enhance manuverability.
+12points
12out of 12found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful12unhelpful0

Asked by
California, USA
Read all my Q&A
May 26, 2013
Answer: 
No, the wheels will not lock up. You can both use the mower as you want.
+6points
7out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful1

Asked by
Bay Village, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
May 26, 2013
Answer: 
You can just push it, it is very light and easy to push. There is minimal drag if pushed. The wheels do not lock up.
+7points
8out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful1

Asked by
St. Petersburg, FL, USA
Read all my Q&A
May 26, 2013
Answer: 
Yes, I'm not sure why you would want to, but you can push (or pull) the mower without using the self propulsion You just wouldn't engage it with the "thumb lever".
+5points
7out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful2

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
May 26, 2013
Answer: 
You can use it either way. This really is a easy to use mower.
+12points
13out of 14found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful13unhelpful1

Asked by
Prattville, AL, USA
Read all my Q&A
May 25, 2013
Answer: 
You can use the mower without engaging the self-propel drive, and the wheels will not lock up when doing so. If you do not push down on the butterfly throttles, the mower can be pushed and pulled in the same way as a mower that is not self-propelled.
+35points
37out of 39found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful37unhelpful2

Asked by
Chester, CA
Read all my Q&A
May 25, 2013
Answer: 
You can use it either way, push or self propelled.
+16points
18out of 20found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful18unhelpful2
2 3 4 5  ... 13 »
  • 2016-09-08 T11:19:27.443-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_203709643, prod, sort_default
2 3 4 5  ... 13 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 261ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 1775 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Close, but no cigar Nice mower, highly rated by CR, and a good price. I replaced a 13 year old Sears Craftsman when the wheels literally came off, and it seemed time. Complaints with the new Honda: (1) speed is hard to control while walking and turning the mower. Thumb lever is difficult to hold steady and wide open is a slow trot, not the best speed for uneven terrain and 67 year old legs. If not very careful with drive lever, front wheels iump off the ground when engaging drive, causing uneven cut in that spot. Need a some way to adjust mower rpm if not the drive gears. (2). Bag has to be emptied more than my previous mower, assume it's smaller. (3) mysterious problem on 3 of the last 7 starts...mower runs at half idle or even lower rpm, barely putt-putting. Have to kill engine and restart and suddenly it's running at normal speed. Watching this closely as possible reporting for warranty. August 9, 2016
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Honda Lawn Mower Delivered to my door ahead of schedule. Easy to assemble. Have only used it twice so far, but has ample power and I like the rear wheel self propelled feature as opposed to front wheel. When you push the control all the way forward, you better be ready to walk. August 9, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great mower Mower was easy to assemble and, after filling with oil (included) and gas, it started on the first pull and has ever since August 16, 2016
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Mows great. Put together terribly. We have had this mower for about a month and the wheel came off. The entire wheel assembly just fell off while mowing. We lost the height adjuster for the wheel and can't put it back together until we find a replacement. August 14, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wow Had an older model that finally died...stuck with Honda. This model is amazing...great features, much lighter, rear wheel drive...clippings ejected out of rear (deflected down to ground) instead of side. That makes it easy to get close to obstacles from either side and prevents clogging August 14, 2016
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Honda reliable As expected, the Honda engine started on the first pull. The starting rope is easy enough that my wife can pull and start this mower. The forward drive operates easily and pulls strong. There are features not found on this mower that are commonly found in mowers in the$400 price range. There is no washout port making cleanup more difficult. I had to tilt the mower back on its handle and balance it there while cleaning the underside. There is not a lever to adjust all wheels with one adjustment. I have Terrain that requires two different settings. This mower does not have a side discharge. The grass is diverted through the back where the bagger connects and diverted straight down to the ground. I set the deck to 3 in. and the mower still left nothing but clumps of grass behind the mower. This mower would probably cut better with a thin blade grass at 1.5 or 2 inch cut. I have thich southern grass. When cutting with the mower in gear,the forward speed is constantly changing. The mower riding across which is not perfectly smooth my hands are consistently bouncing on the speed control. This is very unnerving. There should be a lock that could be held while walking to eliminate this annoyance . The edge of the deck is rolled to I assume to protect the user from a sharp edge. I appreciate that but dirt is able to embed in the fold created where the deck is rolled under. Since this has a steel deck,rust is a big concern. I live on the gulf coast where humidity is very high Honda could have used composite decks on all of there mowers There is no drain plug to assist in oil changes. The mower must me pot on its side to drain. This could be a bit difficult for some as this is a heavy mower. I purchased this mower because of Honda's well known durability and reliable engines. I will be using this mower in tandem with my yard tractor. . August 24, 2016
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Honda Express The controls of the mower are way to sensitive that when you power the mower it will actually do a wheelie. It wants to run too fast and is very uncontrollable. August 15, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 1st pull start. Nice Real nice and worth the extra$ Honda engine... Nothing else to say about that August 16, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Mower Excellent product. Reliable and easy to use. Would recommend to anyone August 9, 2016
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Mixed results, but overall positive I experienced mixed results with this model after just two uses, to the point that I will be returning it, but my preferences aside it appears to be a quality unit and I would grade it positively overall. Like other reviewers, the mulching isn't perfect. I'm not sure this double-blade they advertise is effective or simply a gimmick. But it did provide a much more consistent cut than the craftsman I just retired. I am curious if the larger engine of the next higher model would be more effective. It moves well. Compared to old mower, it has a lot of power in the drive. I joked to my wife that it isn't a walk-behind but a run-behind mower. Don't worry, you can hold the drive speed at a much slower pace to fit your needs. But rear wheel drive does take a little getting used to after 20 years of front wheel drive. And the mower is a little funny about going backwards (I think that is a safety thing built-in... I saw some reviews say that after a couple of years the wheels locked up and they cannot move backwards at all... I can see this happening and it is worrisome). The engine has been... questionable? I assume it is the auto-choke that I don't pretend to understand. All I know is that sometimes it revs down. I was able to move it to a flat surface and let it work out whatever it's issue is, but... disappointing. Shouldn't have to do that. Ironically, my biggest complaint is the rear discharge. A couple of issues here. First, because i'm working to get my lawn down to a certain height, the mower has had to tackle some longer than usual grass, but nothing extreme. The rear discharge gets easily clogged if you aren't going to be a person that mows religiously. The second larger complaint is how absolutely filthy my legs are after mowing. You are never perfectly clean after mowing, but I am completely plastered with grass clippings. I have to hose my legs down before I can come back into the house! Sure, I could bag, but I dislike the hassle of bagging... I bought this model for the superior engine and what I hoped would be superior mulching capability. Finally, this mower has ground to a complete stop a few times. I assumed it was clogged with grass as I try to get my lawn down to the desired height. I tilt it on the side to find absolutely nothing. So... my lawn is too thick? That's the only thing I can think of... possibly combined with the engine acting a little funny. It started right back up with no problems. So this mower is good and definitely a higher quality than my old craftsman. I would recommend it to others. But getting filthy from the rear discharge, the disappointing power stops... it's not for me. I'm not sure if I am going to try the bigger HRX engine of Honda and hope the mulching/discharge is better, or try a different manufacturer which concerns me because there are a lot of negative reviews out there on Toro and such... August 23, 2016
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed Decided to replace my 8 yr old toro with a more powerful & highly rated mower. The first month of mowing this Honda was great. Twin blades really cut well. Then my problems started. While mowing my front lawn, a small area , the left front wheel fell off & was hit by the blades. The air filter cover became dislodge the following week. Ok, no big deal maybe I should check and retighten all the nuts and bolts from time to time. Now after 7 hrs of mowing, that's 1 hr per week, not starting on one or two pulls. The next week starts on 5 or 6 pulls but sputters like it is going to stall. After a couple mins of this the engine comes up to speed. But once the engine is warm it will not restart, have to wait 20 mins for cool down. After 10 hrs of mowing I took it back to Home Depot no return or replacement allowed must call Honda. I called Honda the reps were very helpful but I had to take mower to a Honda repair center. 40 min drive to service center and 24 days without mower waiting for repairs to be completed. Pros: repairs were covered under warranty. Cons: everything else. Used mower once since repair seems ok. No one explained what was wrong or what was repaired. Never had an issue with a lawn mower like this, especially brand new. Still have an 8 yr old toro, thinking of getting a tune up and using it from time to time. Disappointed August 14, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by over worked home owner fired my gardener and borrowed a push mower that worked me to death. bought my Honda and a world of difference a half hour job became ten minutes. five minutes to unpack and put together. add oil and fuel one pull and it starts. lawn looks great and it beats pushing a lawn mower up a slight hill as opposed to walking behind a machine. great buy and believe the reviews of customers on this equipment. controls are easy to use only had to glance at the instructions pretty self explanatory to operate. July 26, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Honda lawn mower Took it out of the box, put in oil and gas and it started first pull. It has been the only lawn mower that has been capable of mowing my lawn without clumping grass stopping the mower or having to clean out the deck often. I am not real crazy about the levers for the self propelled part, but they are ok and work good. Should have bought this years ago. Still starting on the first pull. August 2, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Mower for what we need. We've used this mower a few times and already impressed with it. My husband said it didn't take long to install it. It's easy to push especially with it being self propelled. August 9, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great mower Bought this mower a couple months ago and couldn't be happier. All around fantastic mower and really like how easy the handle folds forward for better storage and able to keep my tonneau cover on during transportation. August 9, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome!! Started on the 1st pull. Great mower and it's all that I need. It gets the job done. Period! August 9, 2016
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Expensive and poor cutting I bought one, brought it home and the only way I could get it to run was by shutting the gas off long enough to let it run lean then it would run. Took it back and exchanged for the same model. This one started but left a steak of grass where the wheels are. I tried it several different times thinking maybe the grass was too wet or dry. It continued to do it so I took it back and exchanged it for the toro self pace. The toro is a much better mower. July 25, 2016
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Trouble with auto-choke Right out of the box this lawnmower had problems with starting when the engine was warm or hot. If you stopped the mower to empty the grass catcher you could never get it started again until it cooled down. I finally called a Honda serviceman and he said "Oh, that mower is notorious for hot start problems. Honda has even issued a service bulletin to fix the auto choke." So I sent it in for him to repair. Honda did pick up the cost as a warranty repair but I still had to go through the hassle of getting a problem fixed that Honda should have fixed back in the factory. Don't buy this ;lawnmower unless you are potentially ready to get the auto choke fixed right away. Now that it's fixed, I do like its features and ease of use. July 8, 2016
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by dead after 4 years transmission locked up after 4years. now out of warranty. Honda's solution: buy a new transmission . they even wanted to sell me a how to guide for $35. my advice buy a cheap lawnmower. won't be let down when it kicks. it we be as expected. did not expect this from a $400 Honda August 6, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Smooth Mower, a Cadillac on the grass! U get what U pay for. Starts great, easy to push when not using self-propelled wheels. Like it a lot. Great mower, will last me a lifetime (I'm 92) not! just for yuks. August 9, 2016
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Will not buy another Honda mower I bought a Honda mower after searching Consummers Reports for thier recommendations. The first Mower i got wouldn't start and when I did get it started it ran for about 30 minutes and then died. Took it back to Home Depot and picked up another identicle mower. It started up immedialey and ran for a little over an hour before it also stopped running. The clerk at Home Depot told me that one out of five Honda mowers they sell must be retured for the same prooblem. I will be buying another mower but it will not be a Honda. July 20, 2016
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great improvement over my previous mower So far, so good. I am a 70 + female and gave up fighting with my old mower to start. I've used my Honda mower for my large yard three times and it has started on the first pull each try. I also like how easy it is to switch between mulching and bagging. August 2, 2016
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very Pleased After 2 Months Assembly was a bit confusing with regard to straightening out the handle. Other than that, assembly was straight forward. I like the variable forward speed feature but it takes a bit of practice to get used to. That is not a negative....it just requires getting used to the feel of the throttle, Two things I really like: Starts with one pull. The bagging of grass clippings is very efficient. I hope to have this mower a long time. I would like to post a review in a couple of years. July 20, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Starts like a dream Well-packaged, almost ready to go right out of box, started on first pull. August 6, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love, love, love my Honda SP mower. This is my 2nd Honda SP mower, the first was stolen. I will never use another mower again. It is the best!!!! My neighbors say I have the best yard on the block. August 4, 2016
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great results, a few drawbacks Upgraded from an 8 y/o Craftsman. I was in between this mower or the Toro equivalent. I've mowed twice and my yard hasn't looked this great in a long time. Typical 1/3 of an acre suburban home. Likes: -end results: yard looks great -engine: starts up on one pull -variable speed: I really like the placement and ergonomics of the variable speed controls and the ability to adjust. I'm 6'5" and it's nice to be able to have this option to fit my stance. Also, this thing has some giddy up. First run the mower was pulling me. Dislikes: -before purchase I was concerned about the rear discharge. I was hoping it would shoot the grass more down than out. I have had grass up to my knees and it's an absolute mess in and around the mower itself (I know, common sense). Granted I'm two mows in but I dislike the rear discharge. -I always bag my grass in the backyard and the bag opening is quite a bit larger than the craftsman. This has made it a pain to fill yard waste bags. Prior, the mower bag fit nice into the yard waste bag and I could lift and dump. Now I have to McGruber the bag so I don't dump it all back out into the yard. Overall, I'd buy this again based on the results and ease of maneuvering. July 31, 2016
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Works Great Easiest mower to start I have ever owned! Takes a little time to get used to the drive system, but not a big problem. Overall feel and look is top quality. August 2, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great mower for the money This mower replaced my old Honda mower that had the drive system that died. This mower started on the first try and does an excellent job cutting. Thought about purchasing the auto blade stop model but decide to save the $100 since I only stop the mower once to move lawn chairs. Variable speed system works great once I got it adjusted to my hand position. Can't beat the price for a good basic mower that is self propelled. July 22, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great mower for the buck!!! I had to purchase quickly after my old mower died. Didn't have a lot to review except Honda's overall reputation. Definitely not disappointed. August 2, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by BEST MOWER WE EVER OWNED!! My wife and I have owned over 7 mowers and recently bought this HRR216VKA Honda mower and found it to be the best mower we have ever had, it actually makes mowing enjoyable! The quality even of this mid range mower is excellent, the self propelled adjustable drive can climb steep hills and the twin blade design cuts through any length grass without clumping, I only wish we had a Honda mower years ago, it would have saved us a lot of frustration and repair costs. You can't go wrong with this model, I highly recommend it. July 14, 2016
  • 2016-09-08 T11:14:55.255-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1775, tr_1775
  • loc_en_US, sid_203709643, prod, sort_default
<< 2 3 4 5 6  ... 60 >>
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 147ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT