0786102003131

Honda

Model HRX217VKA

Internet #100617641

Store SKU #882907

GCV190 21 in. Smart Drive Variable Speed Self-Propelled Deck Mower

$599.00 /each
  • Includes variable-speed smart drive system
  • Provides 7 mowing heights from 3/4 in. to 4 in.
  • Highly rated for powerful engine (see reviews)

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

With Micro-Cut twin blades to produce a smooth cut and fine clippings, the Honda 21 in. GCV190 Smart Drive Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Mower helps you maintain a beautiful lawn. The mower features a 4-in-1 Versa mow system to provide leaf shredding, bagging, mulching and discharge performance. Its self-propelled operation is control with an ergonomically designed paddle handle.

  • Assembled dimensions: 24 in. W x 24 in. D x 18.37 in. H
  • Variable-speed smart drive system provides self-propelled operation with a paddle-style control handle
  • Rugged Nexite cutting deck features a 21 in. cutting width for optimal coverage
  • 3/4 - 4 in. cutting height range with 7 positions to manicure the lawn to your specifications
  • Twin blades provide fine clippings
  • 4-in-1 versamow system with clip director provides mulching, bagging, discharge and leaf shredding
  • 9 in. ball-bearing wheels help to provide smooth movement over varied terrain
  • Handle features foam grips for comfortable maneuvering and 3 positions for easy height adjustment
  • Zone-start system stops the blade engine within 3 seconds when the operator lets go of the handle for safety
  • Handle folds for easy storage
  • Auto-choke system does not require choke adjustment during start-up for your convenience
  • 5-year residential warranty
  • Delivered to your door mostly assembled, simply attach the handle using basic instructions and add gas/oil as instructed
  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

75 Questions187 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

GCV190 21 in. Smart Drive Variable Speed Self-Propelled Deck Mower
GCV190 21 in. Smart Drive Variable Speed Self-Propelled Deck Mower

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
 
7 answers

Concerns about the 'composite' deck

This question is from GCV190 21 in. Smart Drive Variable Speed Self-Propelled Deck Mower
Asked by
Western TN
Read all my Q&A
May 1, 2014
It appears that the wheel adjustments (cutting height) are molded into the deck. Anyone have any problems with this part of the deck breaking? I imagine the 'repair' would be a whole new deck. Same concern about the handle mountings on the deck. I'm sure Honda did some thorough testing on this material not wanting to suffer breakage reports/bad reviews. Still... ;-)
Thanks!
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (7)

Asked by
Fairlawn, Ohio
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 22, 2015
Answer: 
Had my first Honda with the composite deck for 8 years. Mowed my yard and the neighbors every 4 to 5 days. Never had a bit of problem with the deck.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Massillon OH
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 27, 2015
Answer: 
Yes, I had the deck break. It actually cracked all around the motor mounts. The way I noticed it was the fact that the engine seemed to be shaking at start-up. The mower is about 8 years old and the engine runs great, but I am limping along with the shaker until I buy new. JB Weld could not hold it. I will stay with steel this time.
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0

Asked by
Memphis, TN, USA
Read all my Q&A
August 30, 2014
Answer: 
in my case the firs time is kind of hard to set the heights; but yes what? after 03 or 04 months is more difficult to set the heights so l will try to clean up dust or put some liquid lubricant and l will see what happens.
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2

Asked by
Richmond, TX
Read all my Q&A
August 17, 2014
Answer: 
I've used this mower for the first time this morning, so obviously I can't answer about the long term. However, this deck seems to be really strong. I don't know how thick it is, but it's not thin by any means. I adjusted the height and it seems the deck only offers the 'catch' position for the height adjustment tabs, so I don't think there is any concern about breakage. The material seems to be a really Read More
I've used this mower for the first time this morning, so obviously I can't answer about the long term. However, this deck seems to be really strong. I don't know how thick it is, but it's not thin by any means. I adjusted the height and it seems the deck only offers the 'catch' position for the height adjustment tabs, so I don't think there is any concern about breakage. The material seems to be a really strong and stiff composite. It doesn't flex at all like metal decks. Hope this helps. Read Less
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
May 2, 2014
Answer: 
Hi xairbusdriver:
The deck on all Honda HRX mowers is a special synthetic material called NeXite, and was developed by General Electric. It won't rust, fade, or warp, etc. and is similar to the stuff used in car bumpers and football helmets. Honda has been making mower decks of this material since the early 1990s, and current HRX models have a limited LIFETIME warranty on the mower deck (non-commercial Read More
Hi xairbusdriver:
The deck on all Honda HRX mowers is a special synthetic material called NeXite, and was developed by General Electric. It won't rust, fade, or warp, etc. and is similar to the stuff used in car bumpers and football helmets. Honda has been making mower decks of this material since the early 1990s, and current HRX models have a limited LIFETIME warranty on the mower deck (non-commercial use).
Watch a Honda Pilot SUV drive over one; see link:
-Robert@Honda Read Less
+9points
9out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful0

Asked by
Montville, NJ
Read all my Q&A
May 2, 2014
Answer: 
I've had this unit for about 4 years and used it extensively with no problems with the deck or breakage of any kind. Of course I don't keep on adjusting the cutting height so that could be one reason that it hasn't broken yet.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Twin Cities, Mn USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 1, 2014
Answer: 
I've never had an issue with the Composite deck material. It's a tough mower and does a great job.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
 
6 answers

How high can the cutting height be adjusted?

This question is from GCV190 21 in. Smart Drive Variable Speed Self-Propelled Deck Mower
Asked by
GA
Read all my Q&A
July 15, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (6)

Asked by
Memphis, TN, USA
Read all my Q&A
August 30, 2014
Answer: 
the max is this one just four inches.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Tulsa, OK
Read all my Q&A
August 21, 2014
Answer: 
4 inches
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Northport, NY
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 31, 2014
Answer: 
3/4 inch to 4 inches - each wheel has adjustment levers
According to manual, settings in inches:
3/4
1 1/4
2
2 1/2
3
3 1/2
4
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Mass
Read all my Q&A
July 16, 2014
Answer: 
Up to 4 inches
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Boston
Read all my Q&A
July 15, 2014
Answer: 
4 inches. I keep it at 3 inches in the summer but it's vacuuming ability isn't good above 2 inches. I'm getting a lot of pine needles this summer (don't know why) and it does a poor job of picking them up. Great at mulching though.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Hannibal, Mo
Read all my Q&A
July 15, 2014
Answer: 
4 inches
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
 
6 answers

Rough Idle When Starting Engine

This question is from GCV190 21 in. Smart Drive Variable Speed Self-Propelled Deck Mower
Asked by
Northport, NY
Read all my Q&A
June 23, 2014
Just got the Honda mower and have used it a few days. When starting the cold engine, the idle is high/low/high/low for about 30 seconds. Is this normal?
Using FRESH 87 Octane fuel with STA-BIL added.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (6)

Asked by
Tulsa, OK
Read all my Q&A
August 21, 2014
Answer: 
Using premium pure gas with stabilizer. No rough idle observed on my machine straight out of the shipping carton.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Brainerd Lakes Area
Read all my Q&A
June 30, 2014
Answer: 
Fred,
New mower parts sometimes have an oil residue on the components that tends to stick the float and needle valves in the carburetor. Go to premium gas with straight 91 or 92 octane.
STA-BIL is great for over the winter or extended periods of time to protect from varnishing up parts when the machine is unused, but it also tends to cause some engines to run smoky and rough.
If this does not work Read More
Fred,
New mower parts sometimes have an oil residue on the components that tends to stick the float and needle valves in the carburetor. Go to premium gas with straight 91 or 92 octane.
STA-BIL is great for over the winter or extended periods of time to protect from varnishing up parts when the machine is unused, but it also tends to cause some engines to run smoky and rough.
If this does not work then you may have a problem with the adjustment in the governor tension and will need to have it adjusted by a knowledgeable mechanic.
My first option would be to use the premium 91 0r 92 octaine first to see if it is the 87 octane being affected by the STA-BIL.
Good luck! Read Less
+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1

Asked by
Michigan
Read all my Q&A
June 25, 2014
Answer: 
Mine does the same thing, and then runs normally.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Twin Cities, Mn USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 25, 2014
Answer: 
It appears to be.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1

Asked by
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
June 25, 2014
Answer: 
Hi FredP:
Most new Honda mowers have an auto-choke, which automatically operates the choke on the engine. It is normal for the engine speed to vary a bit until it is fully warmed up, usually less than a few minutes.
If, after 5 minutes, the engine is not running smoothly, or if you have any problems getting the engine started, contact a servicing Honda dealer; here are the ones closest to you in Read More
Hi FredP:
Most new Honda mowers have an auto-choke, which automatically operates the choke on the engine. It is normal for the engine speed to vary a bit until it is fully warmed up, usually less than a few minutes.
If, after 5 minutes, the engine is not running smoothly, or if you have any problems getting the engine started, contact a servicing Honda dealer; here are the ones closest to you in Northport:
Village Power Tools
139 New York Ave
Huntington, NY 11743-2148
(631) 421-5020
Provenzano's Kings Park Power Equipment
84 E Main St
Kings Park, NY 11754-3825
(631) 269-1080
Seven Gables Power Eqmt., Inc.
1044 W Jericho Tpke
Smithtown, NY 11787-3208
(631) 543-8455
Tnt
235 Higbie Ln
West Islip, NY 11795-2810
(631) 669-2234
Major League Power Equipment, Inc.
86 Comsewogue Rd
East Setauket, NY 11733-3639
(631) 331-8100
Chief Equipment, Inc.
400 W Old Country Rd
Hicksville, NY 11801-4110
(516) 868-1400
Stamford Motorsports
177 Greenwich Ave
Stamford, CT 06902-6703
(203) 323-3141
Champion Honda
544 W Old Country Rd
Hicksville, NY 11801-4111
(516) 433-0701
Contractors Supply, LLC
17 Viaduct Rd
Stamford, CT 06907-2723
(203) 323-3752
Curbside Mower
70 Jayne Blvd
Port Jefferson Station, NY 11776-2934
(631) 509-6900
110 Honda
272 Broadway
Amityville, NY 11701-2710
(631) 789-2929
-Robert@Honda Read Less
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Jackson,Mi
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 25, 2014
Answer: 
The engine will idle rough for 5 to 10 sec. I would use the mower 2 or 3 more times to see if problem clears up.If not take for service.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
 
6 answers

How easy is it to adjust mower height?

This question is from GCV190 21 in. Smart Drive Variable Speed Self-Propelled Deck Mower
Asked by
Sunny
Lakewood, CO
September 11, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (6)

Asked by
Tulsa, OK
Read all my Q&A
August 21, 2014
Answer: 
Easy on one of the back wheels, very difficult on the other back wheel.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Richmond, TX
Read all my Q&A
August 17, 2014
Answer: 
Quite easy. The tabs at each wheel are much easier to move than the tabs are on my Toro Personal Pace mower. It no longer feels like something I don't want to do, if you know what I mean.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Ocala, FL, USA
Read all my Q&A
January 2, 2014
Answer: 
Each wheel has a tab to ajust to the desired level. If you can bend your knees, you are good to go.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Lake Worth, FL, USA
Read all my Q&A
October 1, 2013
Answer: 
Very simple take about 30 sec. numbers on frame help..
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Rome, NY, USA
Read all my Q&A
September 11, 2013
Answer: 
very easy to adjust also height of cut is numbered
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Boise, ID, USA
Read all my Q&A
September 11, 2013
Answer: 
The mower height is very easy to adjust by simply pushing a lever and sliding forward or back to a very visible numbered slot. The rear numbers can be a little harder to see if its dark or shadowed. All four wheels can be done under 30 seconds.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
2 3 4 5 »
  • 2016-08-29 T15:13:43.243-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_100617641, prod, sort_default
2 3 4 5 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 71ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 437 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by New lawnmower. Easy to assemble. Works well. I would recommend it; although a bit pricey. May 26, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Built to last Very easy assembly out of the box. Cuts extremely well - plenty of power. There is no way I could mow with the powered wheels on full blast - that would mean a fast jog behind mower. Got useful tips from this site: Use fresh gas with StaBil or Lucas Safeguard Ethanol Treatment added, turn off gas feed line on mower and let engine run itself off when finished, change oil as directed in manual (BUT do not open oil filler cap until mower is on it's side - less spillage), and clean underside after each use. Kind of pricey, but sort of like buying a Weber grill instead of a cheaper alternative. July 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great for leaves, very smooth & quiet I've had this mower for a year and it has been great. I've bagged about 50 bags full of oak leaves, really saves time and the lawn. I've only had to pull start it after it sets up a while and doesn't have a charge on the battery, but it always starts on the first pull. My wife thought I was crazy spending this much on a mower, but to me it's worth it. You can't go wrong with this one. April 23, 2015
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Powerful, But I Returned It I tried this for a few weeks but then returned it. My main problem was with the design of the controls, and was a bit of an idiosyncratic issue: I'm apparently developing early osteoarthritis, and the drive control on this mower requires a lot of thumb squeezing. By the end of a mowing session, my hands were sore. For $600, this didn't seem right. It also was difficult to maneuver on the uneven parts of my slightly hilly front yard and around tight corners. It's quite heavy, and in addition to the above-mentioned thumb control issue, I didn't like the angled main handle -- I prefer one that runs straight across. Also, the overall angle of the handle relative to the mower isn't adjustable and is set really low, which -- combined with the large size of the deck -- makes the mower really "long"; this was another annoyance when trying to mow under low branches, etc. Finally, the bag was difficult to get off and on -- even after a dozen or so times removing and replacing it, I was still struggling. This is partly because a lot of grass gets caught up in the little groove where the top bag-attachment bars fit onto the mower, and partly because the bottom attachment bars easily slip below where they're supposed to go. The mower does mulch pretty nicely, and there 's a knob for adjusting the mulching-to-bagging ratio so you can change how much grass ends up back on your lawn vs. how much goes into the bag. The mower is really powerful -- I literally had to almost run when I set the speed control on a higher setting -- and it does start easily and cut very nicely. If you have strong thumbs; and if you plan to mulch rather than bag most of your grass; and if you have a big, flat, and even yard, this might be a good choice. But for the price, I think it's overrated (was #2 in Consumer Reports). June 18, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by lawn mower There was no assembly necessary, which made it a snap to remove from box put the oil and gas in and mow. June 7, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by High performance machine ,,,',, The best machine ever on mine yard,,,,,I used to do lands keeping June 9, 2015
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Great motor bad design First, it is a Honda with a Honda motor that starts on one pull and purrs like a kitten. However the rest of the design was not for me, the rear wheel drive made the front of the mower bounce especially when the bag starts filling. The speed control is hard to keep at constant pace unless you are on a flat strait run. The last major complaint area is the bagging system, it does not butt well with the mower and grass comes out around the edge and the opening of the bag is rather large which may be fine unless you are required as I am by my city to use the big brown paper yard bags and it is impossible to empty the bag into them without spilling grass on the ground. May 27, 2010
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The Stealth Fighter Jet of Lawn Mowers This mower has exceeded my high expectations. It is expensive but it is worth every penny. I purchased this to replace a 11 year old Craftsman mower that had the smaller Honda GCV160 engine. The new mower is superior in every way. First of all, it is FAST. The bigger engine is more powerful and the rear wheel drive self propel will ramp up to a quick pace if you want it to. The engine is VERY quiet and the Nexite deck seems to be indestructible (note the lifetime warranty on the deck). The twin blade system does an outstanding job of evenly cutting grass. The free shipping from Home Depot was convenient considering that the box that the mower comes in is rather large. June 11, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Purchase Mower starts up very easily (that is if the fuel valve is on). I mowed over an acre without a burp. I also went over a hole, the mower and I both took a tumble causing the neighbors to give a resounding "WHOA." The mower started right up again, and I finished the job! This was a good purchase. April 28, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best mower I've ever owned Over 25 years, I've owned mid-range Lawn Boy and Craftsman mowers. This is my first high-end mower, and now I know what I was missing. The adjustable handle is great since I'm 6'7". The engine has way more power than the 6.75HP Tecumseh in my Craftsman, and the Versamow system is slick. I always mulch, and if it's ever too wet or too tall, I'll send some out the back - no more piles of cut grass to turn brown and look bad. The variable speed drive is easy to use with either hand and I run it full-speed on straight sections - it's cut my mowing time by 25% or so. This is where I'd list the negatives, but I don't have any. June 2, 2010
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Huge improvement I've had two Personal Pace Toro's and Ive had serious issues with terrible rear wheel spin on both. the bagging system was terrible and it always bogged down in heavier grass. This Honda is lighter, cuts the grass so finely that I had to empty the bag once after mowing the backyard. Best lawyer mower by far. April 24, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Can't go wrong with this mower Very good mower with lots of useful and convenient features. Very easy to start, large grass bag and a solid deck are but a few of the top-notch features on this mower. It has good "vacuuming" action, though not as good as my old Snapper Hi-Vac. I wish the height adjustment could be done with a single lever instead of having to adjust each wheel individually. And the self-propelled lever is a little tricky---it takes time to learn how to ease the lever so the mower doesn't "jump" from a low speed to a high speed. I still find myself popping wheelies with this thing. But overall, I recommend this mower. October 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Does a great job. Time for this 75 year old guy to get a self propelled lawn mover, especially on a hilly lawn. With five white pine trees in the yard, and with those dual blades, worked exactly what I hope for. Just like a super vacuum cleaner. And really powdered those leaves with far less stops to empty the bag. And could dump a lot more in my trailer with less drives to the dumping area. If I wished for one improvement, would be an adjustable stop on that speed control. Hitting a bump, this baby really wants to take off. Maybe I will make one, somehow. November 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Solid Purchase I did a lot of research before purchasing. I have a 0.6 acre lot and this has worked perfectly. The variable speed control is easy to use and a great feature. The cut is top quality and power is plentiful. Honda is what Honda does. April 21, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing mower, if you're tall this mower is for you! I've owned and used quite a few lawn mowers; Toro, Lawn Boy, Yard Machines. This Honda is by far the best I have ever used. The honda engine is quiet, buttery smooth, starts on one pull every time, and better on gas than my old Briggs and Stratton. Cuts grass clean, mulching is very good. Works great on hillside. I'm tall, 6'6", and this is the first lawn mower that has a comfortable handle height for me. If you are tall, buy this mower! Self propelled controls are great. When my son is old enough to mow it will be a great mower that I will feel comfortable with him using. June 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I USE IT COMMERCIALLY!!!!!!!! I use the tar out of this mower! I use it commercially mowing 30 someodd yards a month @ 10-12 yards a day and NEVER a hickup! Mulches Superiour, and i had a commercial snapper with the heavy steel deck, and the honda is smoother, easier starting, and you CAN NOT SEE THE CLIPPINGS!!! Unlike the Snapper Pro. I had ppl complain about the grass trails, so i got a honda and never looked back. Will be buying another one this year so i can have two mowers going at once when the weedeating is done. Will not recomend the bagger for big yards bc it does get full fast! If you do use it, id recomend putting a 5lbs weight on the nose of the deck to offset the weight. I LOVE THIS THING!!!!! March 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Used it three times and works fantastic. I especially like the Mulch/Bag adjustment. Looking forward to Honda reliability and many years of use. April 30, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Push Mower Easy out of the box setup. Mulching setting is amazing. The only reason I didn't rate anything as excellent is because you still have to walk behind it. Great mower but compares to the John Deere self propelled I recently gave to my father who has a bad back. I had the John Deere for a couple of years and still cranks on first pull with no oil changes or tune ups. Would have purchased another John Deere Self propelled push style but they are hard to find. The Honda cranked on first pull and I hope it will hold up as well as the green and yellow. October 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very impressive This lawn mower was very easy to put together.Took about 2 minutes. I have only mowed the yard once but i am very impressed how it works. i used the mulching mode to get rid of a few leaves left over from the fall. Starts on either first or second pull. Very easy to maneuver. I would recommend this mower to anyone. April 5, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Is it wrong to want to mow the lawn? It may be because the mower this one replaces was such a dog, but since I brought this one home, I have actually enjoyed mowing the lawn again. It is super easy to start and being able to switch quickly from mulch to bag or any combination in the middle is awesome - I can bag completely near the porch and walkways so they are not littered with mulched grass (although there is not much even if I do not bag) and then switch to mulch completely when doing the body of the lawn. the self propelling portion took some getting used to as it will rocket away at full throttle, but once you have it under control, it makes the 180 degree turn arounds easier even in tight corners. Over all this is one of the best mowers I have ever owned. July 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Now THIS is a lawnmower! This past month I let me old Craftsman lawnmower die a gentle death and went to Sears for a new one. I tried for 2 weeks and 4 cuts to like it. I could not. Called the store and the manager said bring it back. I got a different model, cut the grass once and took it back and got a refund. Today, I do not think the Craftsman brand is engineered to be as effective as the brand used to be. I wound up at Home Depot and bought this Honda lawnmower. It, unlike the 2 new Craftsmans, did what it was supposed to and exceptionally well. Just like my old Craftsman mower USED to do. May 22, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Reliability My Honda lasted through two seasons before it needed to be brought into the shop. It was blowing lots of blue smoke (oil), and was hard to start. It ended up needing a new choke, a new carburetor, and a valve adjustment. The carburetor was not covered under warranty, even though (according to what the mechanic told me, and I trust him) they fail ALL. THE. TIME. on these machines. I took care of my lawnmower meticulously, and followed all directions to the letter, including seasonal storage. My mechanic advised doing what they recommend for storage, but then also letting it run until it dies from fuel starvation, and then using a 10-mm wrench to remove the carburetor bowl, and dumping out any gas in it. This should help prevent the carb from going bad. Another thing that will likely help a lot is avoiding gas that contains ethanol. Unfortunately, for most of us, this is not possible. I've had lawnmowers that lasted for many years, despite worse treatment. This will be my last Honda small-engine product. March 14, 2015
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by do not buy Bought 2 and had to return 2 all within a two month period! The 3rd one worked for 8 months then died too. The last one I had for 10 years. I don't know what's going on with Honda but they all are horrible now. Such a hassle to buy and return. Home Deport made it look like it was my fault but their techs tied and it wouldn't start on them too. The 3rd one I tried to fix myself and was so irritated I just tore it apart. $600+ dollars for headache, stress, and no lawn mower. Pieces of junk now! Once I understand but 3 times that's junk!!!! September 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best mower I've ever used I've been mowing lawns since I was 10 years old(42 years now).I bought this mower (june 11) and waited til now (nov 11) to rate it.I have used it at least twice a week now for the last 5 months at the townhomes we own.Approx 3/4 of an acre. It starts first pull every time. Runs great, and after the blades are sharpened (which is easy to do) it leaves such a perfect cut. Even in the mulch setting.The nexite deck is light and very easy to maneuvre. The variable speed adjustment is a great feature. It's a little on the pricy side,but I'm a firm believer in "you get what you pay for". and this was well worth it. October 27, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by impressive start pull, blade, self-assist I had a John Deere before this and returned it in 6 months after I discovered a manufacturing defect. The mulch, start pull, self-assist, and ergonomics of the Honda is vastly superior. Pull start is smooth and doesn't require a jerking motion; twin blade mulches into tiny pieces; ergonomics of the handle makes pushing the mower up and down and sideways on hills for hours a non-issue; and the self-assist variable control is amazing, the fastest speed requires you to run with it. I am blown away at how much better the Honda is in every category. To be fair, it was almost double the price of the John Deere. April 16, 2011
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Ok mower I bought this mower because it was Consumer Reports top rated self propelled device. It is a fine unit but I should have done more research. The body is plastic not steel, it is a rear discharge so you either bag or mulch. I needed a more heavy duty mower....my fault not Honda or Home Depot. This mower starts easy, cuts nice, but i am tall and the handle does not adjust upright enough to mow comfortably. You cannot engage the propulsion without having the blade engaged. You must stop and restart the mower each time you empty the bag. August 26, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Hands down this is a painful paddle system. Ouch! The quality of the mower and the cut is fine, but I could not stand the paddle system of this mower. It absolutely killed my wrists/hands to use this thing, and I tried all the height adjustments on the paddle. I cannot believe that ergonomic engineers tested this and deemed it to be the best option. Took the mower back after two mowing attempts because the pain in my wrists/fingers was so bad. And I'm a healthy, youngish man with no prior wrist or hand problems. I ended up buying (and keeping) the more expensive Honda model with the hyrdostatic drive control. May 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Mower I am loving this mower. I have an acre of sloped country lawn and this machine has powered through long damp grass time and again. It bags well. Two small things that I would change. 1) The lever that adjusts the grass clipping from mulch to bag opens into the blade compartment. I have been hit in the forehead by flying debris a couple of times. I think it is coming through that opening. 2) I wish there were a hose hookup for cleaning out under the deck. Damp grass does collect under there and is hard to remove without help. I don't know if those actually work, but I have seen them on other models. August 7, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Spendy but worth it. This mower sucks! and that is a good thing. My 3 year old craftsman just wasn't cutting it, pun intended, or bagging it for that matter. I have very thick, moist grass and my old mower would never properly bag the grass, always had clumps everywhere, looked horrible. I started shopping around, doing some research and I found this Honda. Without regret so far, I bought it and it works wonderfully. I would have bought the less expensive model, but this one has a larger engine and I really wanted a mower that would bag properly. This Honda is like a vacuum cleaner, it picks up everything. I attatched an early morning photo of my back yard lawn after being cut by the Honda the night before. May 14, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing I purchased this mower because my husband purchased a lawn boy approx. 6 years ago and we have been fighting about it ever since. The lawn boy never started until pull 18 and serveral nasty words later. I got fed up and figured our marriage would be better without the yearly lawn boy fights. I love this mower. I picked it up and assembled it by myself and it started on the very first pull out of the box. It took me less time to mow our 1/2 acre, yard which consists of uneven ground and numerous hills. I wish I would have spent the money sooner. The controls are easy to use and the mower is light weight. This mower will not mess up a manicure but if you want to jog behind it you could. August 30, 2010
  • 2016-08-30 T14:46:52.621-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_437, tr_437
  • loc_en_US, sid_100617641, prod, sort_default
<< 2 3 4 5  ... 16 >>
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 101ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT