0786102003131

Honda

Model HRX217VKA

Internet #100617641

Store SKU #882907

GCV190 21 in. Smart Drive Variable Speed Self-Propelled Deck Mower

$599.00 /each
  • Includes variable-speed smart drive system
  • Provides 7 mowing heights from 3/4 in. to 4 in.
  • Highly rated for powerful engine (see reviews)

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

With Micro-Cut twin blades to produce a smooth cut and fine clippings, the Honda 21 in. GCV190 Smart Drive Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Mower helps you maintain a beautiful lawn. The mower features a 4-in-1 Versa mow system to provide leaf shredding, bagging, mulching and discharge performance. Its self-propelled operation is control with an ergonomically designed paddle handle.

  • Assembled dimensions: 24 in. W x 24 in. D x 18.37 in. H
  • Variable-speed smart drive system provides self-propelled operation with a paddle-style control handle
  • Rugged Nexite cutting deck features a 21 in. cutting width for optimal coverage
  • 3/4 - 4 in. cutting height range with 7 positions to manicure the lawn to your specifications
  • Twin blades provide fine clippings
  • 4-in-1 versamow system with clip director provides mulching, bagging, discharge and leaf shredding
  • 9 in. ball-bearing wheels help to provide smooth movement over varied terrain
  • Handle features foam grips for comfortable maneuvering and 3 positions for easy height adjustment
  • Zone-start system stops the blade engine within 3 seconds when the operator lets go of the handle for safety
  • Handle folds for easy storage
  • Auto-choke system does not require choke adjustment during start-up for your convenience
  • 5-year residential warranty
  • Delivered to your door mostly assembled, simply attach the handle using basic instructions and add gas/oil as instructed
  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

75 Questions187 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

GCV190 21 in. Smart Drive Variable Speed Self-Propelled Deck Mower
GCV190 21 in. Smart Drive Variable Speed Self-Propelled Deck Mower

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
 
7 answers

Concerns about the 'composite' deck

This question is from GCV190 21 in. Smart Drive Variable Speed Self-Propelled Deck Mower
Asked by
Western TN
Read all my Q&A
May 1, 2014
It appears that the wheel adjustments (cutting height) are molded into the deck. Anyone have any problems with this part of the deck breaking? I imagine the 'repair' would be a whole new deck. Same concern about the handle mountings on the deck. I'm sure Honda did some thorough testing on this material not wanting to suffer breakage reports/bad reviews. Still... ;-)
Thanks!
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (7)

Asked by
Fairlawn, Ohio
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 22, 2015
Answer: 
Had my first Honda with the composite deck for 8 years. Mowed my yard and the neighbors every 4 to 5 days. Never had a bit of problem with the deck.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Massillon OH
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 27, 2015
Answer: 
Yes, I had the deck break. It actually cracked all around the motor mounts. The way I noticed it was the fact that the engine seemed to be shaking at start-up. The mower is about 8 years old and the engine runs great, but I am limping along with the shaker until I buy new. JB Weld could not hold it. I will stay with steel this time.
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0

Asked by
Memphis, TN, USA
Read all my Q&A
August 30, 2014
Answer: 
in my case the firs time is kind of hard to set the heights; but yes what? after 03 or 04 months is more difficult to set the heights so l will try to clean up dust or put some liquid lubricant and l will see what happens.
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2

Asked by
Richmond, TX
Read all my Q&A
August 17, 2014
Answer: 
I've used this mower for the first time this morning, so obviously I can't answer about the long term. However, this deck seems to be really strong. I don't know how thick it is, but it's not thin by any means. I adjusted the height and it seems the deck only offers the 'catch' position for the height adjustment tabs, so I don't think there is any concern about breakage. The material seems to be a really Read More
I've used this mower for the first time this morning, so obviously I can't answer about the long term. However, this deck seems to be really strong. I don't know how thick it is, but it's not thin by any means. I adjusted the height and it seems the deck only offers the 'catch' position for the height adjustment tabs, so I don't think there is any concern about breakage. The material seems to be a really strong and stiff composite. It doesn't flex at all like metal decks. Hope this helps. Read Less
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
May 2, 2014
Answer: 
Hi xairbusdriver:
The deck on all Honda HRX mowers is a special synthetic material called NeXite, and was developed by General Electric. It won't rust, fade, or warp, etc. and is similar to the stuff used in car bumpers and football helmets. Honda has been making mower decks of this material since the early 1990s, and current HRX models have a limited LIFETIME warranty on the mower deck (non-commercial Read More
Hi xairbusdriver:
The deck on all Honda HRX mowers is a special synthetic material called NeXite, and was developed by General Electric. It won't rust, fade, or warp, etc. and is similar to the stuff used in car bumpers and football helmets. Honda has been making mower decks of this material since the early 1990s, and current HRX models have a limited LIFETIME warranty on the mower deck (non-commercial use).
Watch a Honda Pilot SUV drive over one; see link:
-Robert@Honda Read Less
+9points
9out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful0

Asked by
Montville, NJ
Read all my Q&A
May 2, 2014
Answer: 
I've had this unit for about 4 years and used it extensively with no problems with the deck or breakage of any kind. Of course I don't keep on adjusting the cutting height so that could be one reason that it hasn't broken yet.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Twin Cities, Mn USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 1, 2014
Answer: 
I've never had an issue with the Composite deck material. It's a tough mower and does a great job.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
 
6 answers

How high can the cutting height be adjusted?

This question is from GCV190 21 in. Smart Drive Variable Speed Self-Propelled Deck Mower
Asked by
GA
Read all my Q&A
July 15, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (6)

Asked by
Memphis, TN, USA
Read all my Q&A
August 30, 2014
Answer: 
the max is this one just four inches.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Tulsa, OK
Read all my Q&A
August 21, 2014
Answer: 
4 inches
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Northport, NY
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 31, 2014
Answer: 
3/4 inch to 4 inches - each wheel has adjustment levers
According to manual, settings in inches:
3/4
1 1/4
2
2 1/2
3
3 1/2
4
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Mass
Read all my Q&A
July 16, 2014
Answer: 
Up to 4 inches
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Boston
Read all my Q&A
July 15, 2014
Answer: 
4 inches. I keep it at 3 inches in the summer but it's vacuuming ability isn't good above 2 inches. I'm getting a lot of pine needles this summer (don't know why) and it does a poor job of picking them up. Great at mulching though.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Hannibal, Mo
Read all my Q&A
July 15, 2014
Answer: 
4 inches
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
 
6 answers

Rough Idle When Starting Engine

This question is from GCV190 21 in. Smart Drive Variable Speed Self-Propelled Deck Mower
Asked by
Northport, NY
Read all my Q&A
June 23, 2014
Just got the Honda mower and have used it a few days. When starting the cold engine, the idle is high/low/high/low for about 30 seconds. Is this normal?
Using FRESH 87 Octane fuel with STA-BIL added.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (6)

Asked by
Tulsa, OK
Read all my Q&A
August 21, 2014
Answer: 
Using premium pure gas with stabilizer. No rough idle observed on my machine straight out of the shipping carton.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Brainerd Lakes Area
Read all my Q&A
June 30, 2014
Answer: 
Fred,
New mower parts sometimes have an oil residue on the components that tends to stick the float and needle valves in the carburetor. Go to premium gas with straight 91 or 92 octane.
STA-BIL is great for over the winter or extended periods of time to protect from varnishing up parts when the machine is unused, but it also tends to cause some engines to run smoky and rough.
If this does not work Read More
Fred,
New mower parts sometimes have an oil residue on the components that tends to stick the float and needle valves in the carburetor. Go to premium gas with straight 91 or 92 octane.
STA-BIL is great for over the winter or extended periods of time to protect from varnishing up parts when the machine is unused, but it also tends to cause some engines to run smoky and rough.
If this does not work then you may have a problem with the adjustment in the governor tension and will need to have it adjusted by a knowledgeable mechanic.
My first option would be to use the premium 91 0r 92 octaine first to see if it is the 87 octane being affected by the STA-BIL.
Good luck! Read Less
+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1

Asked by
Michigan
Read all my Q&A
June 25, 2014
Answer: 
Mine does the same thing, and then runs normally.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Twin Cities, Mn USA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 25, 2014
Answer: 
It appears to be.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1

Asked by
Honda National Office / Alpharetta, GA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
June 25, 2014
Answer: 
Hi FredP:
Most new Honda mowers have an auto-choke, which automatically operates the choke on the engine. It is normal for the engine speed to vary a bit until it is fully warmed up, usually less than a few minutes.
If, after 5 minutes, the engine is not running smoothly, or if you have any problems getting the engine started, contact a servicing Honda dealer; here are the ones closest to you in Read More
Hi FredP:
Most new Honda mowers have an auto-choke, which automatically operates the choke on the engine. It is normal for the engine speed to vary a bit until it is fully warmed up, usually less than a few minutes.
If, after 5 minutes, the engine is not running smoothly, or if you have any problems getting the engine started, contact a servicing Honda dealer; here are the ones closest to you in Northport:
Village Power Tools
139 New York Ave
Huntington, NY 11743-2148
(631) 421-5020
Provenzano's Kings Park Power Equipment
84 E Main St
Kings Park, NY 11754-3825
(631) 269-1080
Seven Gables Power Eqmt., Inc.
1044 W Jericho Tpke
Smithtown, NY 11787-3208
(631) 543-8455
Tnt
235 Higbie Ln
West Islip, NY 11795-2810
(631) 669-2234
Major League Power Equipment, Inc.
86 Comsewogue Rd
East Setauket, NY 11733-3639
(631) 331-8100
Chief Equipment, Inc.
400 W Old Country Rd
Hicksville, NY 11801-4110
(516) 868-1400
Stamford Motorsports
177 Greenwich Ave
Stamford, CT 06902-6703
(203) 323-3141
Champion Honda
544 W Old Country Rd
Hicksville, NY 11801-4111
(516) 433-0701
Contractors Supply, LLC
17 Viaduct Rd
Stamford, CT 06907-2723
(203) 323-3752
Curbside Mower
70 Jayne Blvd
Port Jefferson Station, NY 11776-2934
(631) 509-6900
110 Honda
272 Broadway
Amityville, NY 11701-2710
(631) 789-2929
-Robert@Honda Read Less
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Jackson,Mi
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 25, 2014
Answer: 
The engine will idle rough for 5 to 10 sec. I would use the mower 2 or 3 more times to see if problem clears up.If not take for service.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
 
6 answers

How easy is it to adjust mower height?

This question is from GCV190 21 in. Smart Drive Variable Speed Self-Propelled Deck Mower
Asked by
Sunny
Lakewood, CO
September 11, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (6)

Asked by
Tulsa, OK
Read all my Q&A
August 21, 2014
Answer: 
Easy on one of the back wheels, very difficult on the other back wheel.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Richmond, TX
Read all my Q&A
August 17, 2014
Answer: 
Quite easy. The tabs at each wheel are much easier to move than the tabs are on my Toro Personal Pace mower. It no longer feels like something I don't want to do, if you know what I mean.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Ocala, FL, USA
Read all my Q&A
January 2, 2014
Answer: 
Each wheel has a tab to ajust to the desired level. If you can bend your knees, you are good to go.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Lake Worth, FL, USA
Read all my Q&A
October 1, 2013
Answer: 
Very simple take about 30 sec. numbers on frame help..
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Rome, NY, USA
Read all my Q&A
September 11, 2013
Answer: 
very easy to adjust also height of cut is numbered
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Boise, ID, USA
Read all my Q&A
September 11, 2013
Answer: 
The mower height is very easy to adjust by simply pushing a lever and sliding forward or back to a very visible numbered slot. The rear numbers can be a little harder to see if its dark or shadowed. All four wheels can be done under 30 seconds.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
2 3 4 5 »
  • 2016-08-27 T15:16:32.604-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_100617641, prod, sort_default
2 3 4 5 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 154ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 437 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Easy to use This was the first push mower I have had and It is very easy to maintain as well as use. April 14, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing I purchased this mower because my husband purchased a lawn boy approx. 6 years ago and we have been fighting about it ever since. The lawn boy never started until pull 18 and serveral nasty words later. I got fed up and figured our marriage would be better without the yearly lawn boy fights. I love this mower. I picked it up and assembled it by myself and it started on the very first pull out of the box. It took me less time to mow our 1/2 acre, yard which consists of uneven ground and numerous hills. I wish I would have spent the money sooner. The controls are easy to use and the mower is light weight. This mower will not mess up a manicure but if you want to jog behind it you could. August 30, 2010
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Follow up review This is a follow up review for the Honda mower. I have used it for two months now and I have to say it is without a doubt the best mower I've ever used. I'm comparing it to other mowers by Toro, Ariens,and Lawn Boy. This Honda gives a beautiful cut in almost any condition. The grass in my yard is very thick and I use the mulching setting mostly. After experimenting, I decided that by opening the clip deflector just one or two notches, the cut gets even better because of the increased airflow. Have only used the bag once and it works great also. Overall, I am very pleased with the Honda. August 25, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by The worst mower for the money I live in NC, the foothills to be exact, and we have a variety of grasses. To make it short, this mower does not perform as good as other less expensive mowers. It does not have a side discharge chute. Instead, the grass clippings have to power their way through a rear spring loaded plastic hatch. It clogs up anytime the going gets tough. Forget about cutting damp grass. The expulsion rate is so slow that you will have to stop, flip the mower on its right side and use a paint scrapping tool to remove the grass from the underside mower deck. The bagging system works okay, if you have the time to stop, remove, dump, reattach, and start over and over. Okay the good stuff. It's easy to start. August 10, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Still forming my opinion. I have mowed twice and the mower has taken some getting used to, I have been mowing with a Honda for about 15 years and this new one is very different. While mowing the third time I stopped to go in the house to get a cold drink. When I returned to the mower I hurt my shoulder pulling on it trying to get it started. It had started on the first, easy, pull each time. I put it up and tried it the next morning and it started the first pull. I have no idea what might have caused this problem, sure hope it doesn't happen again. If it does not happen again then I believe it will be a very good mower. Other than that it is fine, I prefer an aluminium deck over the plastic, we will see how it lasts. June 19, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Almost perfect The mower came entirely assembled, and it is very easy to operate. When mowing long flat lawns it does beautifully. it also cut really long grass without a hitch and never leaves lines of dead grass--the mulch function is excellent. My only hesitation in recommending it fully is that it is very big and heavy compared to my former push mower. There is no reverse gear, so in backing it up to get in and around trees, bushes, and slopes, it still requires muscle-power. Good exercise, though! October 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by just bought. as impressive as it is expensive Mowed tons of lawns for money during high school with a John Deere 14SB much like JX75 or JX85. Great mower. Dad bought it in late 80's. Cast alum, bagging biased deck. Mowed great, rarely clogged and quite strong. 25 yrs and 1k+ acres later its back at dad's mowing as well as ever. They dont make them like that anymore but Honda's are promising originals unlike Husq, new JD and Toro which all share same miserable deck clogging design. Mowed 10 minutes after a Florida downpour. Bagged 7-12" grass/weeds like a paper shredder on 2nd highest height. No bogging or clogging. Awesome. Heres to the future!! August 19, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Choice! Written for those who have chosen Honda but don't know which one. My choices were down to two mowers with the larger CVC190 engine, the HRX217VKA @ $599 or the HRX217HYA @$729. The only major difference in features on the more expensive model is the roto-blade stop which stops the blade but allows the engine to continue running while you bag the grass and a "cruise control" transmission that you set with a lever on the left side of the handle. I chose the HRX217VKA and do not regret the choice. The auto choke feature allows the engine to start with one or two pulls. It runs a little rough for a while but maintains a constant engine speed for cutting when it has warmed up - there is no throttle. The Smart Drive is not well explained in the literature but it is great! There is a dial that you set for the speed and you pull the Smart Drive until it is even with the mower handle.. At first the mower will move forward faster than you expect until you get the settings figured out. What the literature does not explain well is the fact that the Smart Drive allows you to change the speed from full stop to full forward set by the dial and any anywhere in between by how much you pull the Smart Drive handle. Like having an accelerator in your hands the only difference is the engine runs at a constant speed the transmission is what varies the speed. The adjustable discharge chute on all new Honda mowers is a great feature that allows you to partially bag and mulch by adjusting the chute. I normally mulch but by partially bagging it eliminates the clumps of grass when mulching tall grass. No more plugs required when I mulch. April 12, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good mower, should last a long time I was surprised that the manual did not mention the belt that drives the rear wheels (part number, etc). I looked around on line and found a U tube video showing how to replace it. (You have to tip it over on its side and remove several things to get to the belt. With some more looking around for Honda mower parts I talked to someone that was able to locate the belt I was talking about. I ordered two of them. So now the original one will probably never break or wear out. The self propel feature works well. There is a thumb laver to control the speed, the farther down you push it the faster the mower goes. To start going foreword you need to push it down all the way to get it moving and then back off or it will go too fast (probably about 4 MPH). June 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by So far, this 600 dollar Honda is no better than my 300 dollar Toro at cutting, but mulching is another story. I spent the extra cash because the lawn is thick and a little wet in places. It did 'ok' on everything but the thickest turf, meaning it left uncut weeds behind here and there in the tallest places but it did no better than my Toro that is 6.5lbs torque to the Honda's (supposed) 8.3lbs. Having said that, the mulching was superior and that is the sole reason I will keep this mower. Just wish they made a stronger push behind so I didn't feel like I HAVE to mow the lawn every week or it will be too long to deal with. The Toro is 2 years old and counting, hopefully this Honda will last much longer. August 14, 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Had high hopes for the price. Perhaps my expectations are too high. I had a Craftsman mower which performed beautifully and consistently for 12 years. I am now in the early stages of "bonding" with my new Honda mower and so far I am not that impressed, especially when you consider the price. The "easy start" has given me trouble twice now. I am not sure I like the paddle controls for the speed. And I am certain I do not like how the wheels "bounce" on slightly uneven terrain. I wish it had larger rear wheels. I had read many reviews before I made this purchase and was really trying to find a long lasting, quality mower. May 12, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Overall. One small Dissappointment. The drive system is nice and easy to use. It mulches or bags very well even in tall thick grass. It starts on the first pull every time. I mow 2/3 of an acre with it. The only thing that bothered me is on the few steeper sections of my yard it was not strong enough to allow me to walk behind. i had to push it for those areas. i thought 190cc it would be able to climb but it falls short only there. Otherwise best mower I've ever had. Spending that kind of money and still having to push on some inclines was the only negative i can muster. July 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by This is a great mower! I've owned this mower for about a year, and it works flawlessly. It starts w/ one pull every time (even after sitting for the winter months). I was a bit hesitant regarding the self-propel paddle controls, but I like them and they work very well, speed range is great. It is easy to back the mower up as I work around trees/flowerbeds. The bag is huge and holds a lot of clippings. I love the bag/mulch control settings (mulch the front, bag the back yard where kids play). I highly recommend this mower...I hope to not buy another mower for decades! June 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent design and performance My previous self-propelled mowers were slow and could not cope with heavy grass or thick patches. The mower allows me to walk as fast as I wish and it is doing all the work. The speed paddles can be controlled with either thumb and it takes just minutes to get used to them. Going around curves or turning around is also pretty smooth as soon as you learn to back off on the paddle as you enter the turn. Quality of mowing job is great. The discharge chute to the rear bag has not clogged yet, unlike my previous mowers where this was a major problem. I highly recommend spending extra for this model. May 15, 2011
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome cut! I've always been a steel-deck, high-rear-wheel, front-wheel-drive person, but this mower will make anyone forget their old machine. I thought the Hexalite deck would be light, but this Honda manuevers like a dream, and the 190cc engine cuts through grass like paper. Picked up this unit today, unfolded the handle, poured in the oil, started up on the first pull. All it is missing is a spoiler on the front end to keep the wheels on the ground -- it's THAT fast! Will have to check back later on reliability -- but from the rest of these comments, I shouldn't have anything to worry about. July 30, 2011
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Used it once; it worked well. Excellent results. Less power than I had expected. Easy to assemble. Started with an easy 1st pull. Chocked out on grass I thought it should handle in mulching mode. Opened discharge lever full open and the discharge immediately clogged on dry grass. Went back to mulching and it did well as long as I went slow. Excellent even cut and grass was very well mulched. I was worried the rear wheel drive might not work too well in my hilly yard but it was great! Paddle controls take some getting used too but they work well and offer precise control. The main reason I bought this model was for the bigger engine. I don't like the plastic deck, just doesn't look like it will hold up. All in all a good first day with this mower. Will rewiew again in the fall. June 24, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Easily goes from mulching to discharge or bagging. Starts on first pull even after it has run for a considerable time. I went for the extra bucks for the composite deck and it feels lighter and all the clippings wash right off with the hose, I rarely bag so the dual blades really chop up the clippings and do not clump up on the lawn. The only drawback is the amount of clippings that build in the discharge shute when the mower is set to mulch, it all needs to be cleaned it out before storing it in the garage or you will be reminded by the odor in a few days. Even with that issue, best performing mower I have ever owned or used (I have been cutting grass for over 40 years). Well worth the investment! August 8, 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great But WAY Too Short I was very impressed with mower right out of the box, and I can't say anything but good things about how well it runs! However, the handle has 3 settings: low, lower and lowest! I honestly don't know who this thing is sized for but if you're 5'8" or taller you're going to have a very sore back pushing this thing around!! I ended up using hose clamps to get the handle bar up to a decent height. If that hadn't worked, I would have returned it as simply unusable. Definitely go into the store, drag one down from the display and check the handle bar height before you buy this!! June 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great choice for a mower. I purchased this moweer last fall after a lot of research. I couldn't be happier! This mower starts on the first pull almost every time and it's easy to pull as well. Two pulls and no more for sure. The smart drive had to take some getting used to as the first time I used it I hated the mower and thought I made a bad choice. After that I was smitten! The mower has great power and it's features are very nice as you can mulch, bag or do a combination of both at the same time! If you can afford a great mower then buy this one!!! May 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best lawnmower I have ever owned. I don't usually write reviews, but since the reviewers from Home Depot helped me decide on this mower, I thought I'd give my two cents. The design and functionality of this mower is so well thought out, I would not change a single thing. The Honda engine runs like a dream and starts first pull every time. This mower is expensive, but worth EVERY CENT if you get stuck with some of the other junk on the market. This thing cuts like no mower I have ever seen, and I believe it vacuums better than our Dyson. I was a little apprehensive about buying a plastic decked mower, but hey, Honda alleviates that fear with a lifetime warranty. Thanks Honda. Give your engineers a pay raise, this mower is a keeper! May 30, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by You get what you pay for Honda makes a nice (but expensive) product; this mower works great so far. Engine runs a little rough when cold, but has good power and the dual blades do a nice job mulching. Plastic deck is lightweight, helping maneuverability and reducing rust risk. The variable speed is a myth, as the self-propel seems to be one speed only (pretty quick). Would be nice if it had variable engine speed, but that too is non-adjustable. My only concerns were: Carton arrived a little beat up, but mower was fine. Where to get mower serviced (particiularly under 5-yr warranty) since HD doesn't. September 6, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by One of the best purchases I have ever made The product works as advertised. I have almost 1/2 acre of turf. The turf has undulation and slopes that the rear drive handles with ease. It starts on the first pull almost every time and it never has taken more than 2 pulls to strart. I bags very well, is easy to operate and removes the hard work out of cutting and pushing the mower. The only adjustment I wish that I could make to its features is to allow the engine to continue to run but the blades to stop when I transition from front to back yard or when I dump the grass from the bag. Overall it is an exceptional product. January 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Incredible mower HRX2174VKA I am so impressed with this mower. I have been fighting my yard with a Craftsman for several years so I finally bought this one. It is great for the reasons already written about but I want to add one BIG thing (to me). It allows you to go backwards! You can propel up the hill then back down the hill on the next row with no resistance or problems. Previous self prop. models I have owned have never wanted to go backwards. They just didn't cut right backwards or weren't easy to handle backwards. This is a big time saver! Also, on bagging. I went from dumping 12-15 or more times when cutting my back yard (7000 sq ft Zoysia) to 3! THREE! I would absolutely put this mower against any ExMark type commercial mower out there. August 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by So far great lawnmower. So far a great lawnmower. Has much more power than my old Toro Recycler especially on side hills. Like the non metal body, makes it much lighter. Not sure about the auto choke, took about 3 pulls to start. Wheel adjustment is simple but feels like plastic levers. The levers were hard to move at first. Assembled right out of the box. Ordered on line. Arrived within A few days. November 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very pleased The HondaLawn Mower. 21 in. Smart Drive Variable Speed Self-Propelled Deck Mower GCV190 starts very easy. The steel bearing wheels roll easily. The weight is so easy to maneuver it's a dream. The only challenge is the speed control. It is hard to keep it going at a constant speed. It is hard to go slow enough. It takes increased throttle pressure to overcome a resistant area, then wants to take off faster. This isn't a serious problem,just getting used to and it is a fantastic machine. I believe it is the finest mover I've ever had. Wish I had bought a Honda years ago. December 23, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A delight to mow the yard This is my second Honda mower and I highly recommend it.My first Honda mower ran for almost 10 years. Assembly took 5 mins. Starts with one pull. Auto throttle and auto choke work well. Low vibration and quiet. Very light and easy to push. The frame won't rust Smart drive took to getting used to. Just a slight pressure will engage the drive. Handles my Texas yard with no problem. Cuts evenly Great job mulching clippings, I don't bag the clippings. Engine runs well on the garbage fuel sold as gasoline/ethanol blend. I add Stabil to every can when I fill the can. June 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great lawnmower, price a little steep. FIrst off this is a great mower. It cuts grass very well. The only real con to this mower is it gets filthy quick. The first mow resulted in the mower covered completely in grass and dirt and myself as well even with the bag attached. I wished that there was an easy way to clean it like other mowers have. Other than that this mower is great. It starts with one easy pull on the cord each time. No hesitations. The smart drive is great too, it does all the work for you with little effort just steer. A great buy overall, I know this will last decades with care. It is great quality. June 5, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Yea it's pricey, but it's a great mower. Quality fit, finish, and operation. Would buy again. This is a great quality Honda mower. I like the clip/mulch door; the larger, softer wheels; dual blades; and the "thumb drive" Variable Speed self propelled feature. This mower is a nice upgrade from my 17 year old Honda 215 which finally lost a motor seal and was leaking too much oil. I didn't know how old old faithful was until I got this new version. This mower has the larger 190cc engine (vice the old 160cc) starts easily and runs very smoothly through everything a walking mower should handle. I'm very happy with it, and expect at least another 17 years of service. September 16, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great mower. Even the wife can start it! Typical Honda quality; you get what you pay for. Since the engine has a compression release and auto-choke, it's effortless to start, even for my wife (our old mower, by comparison, required a stout pull). We both also appreciate the light weight thanks to the Nexite deck; as a result it's easy to turn & maneuver.The bag is very easy to remove and dump; however now I'm using the mulch feature, (cutting once a week) which is great; no bags, no stopping. This model has the 190cc engine; Honda specs put it at 5 + hp, which seems conservative; plenty of power and run time on a tank. Having the fuel cut-off valve is another bonus, so you can run the engine out of gas for storage. All in all, great product, great design. May 30, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by honda mower I have had to use this mower several times and try to like it . I started to take it back , because it has a plastic deck instead of steel . Because of a lack of weight it kept getting stuck on small hills that my old Honda would just plow right through. After adjusting the cutting height several times I eliminated some of this problem. One other thing, HONDA, you could have made it easier to put the mulching bag frame into the bag right out of the box, or at least given better instructions on how to do so. June 17, 2014
  • 2016-08-27 T13:51:15.778-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_437, tr_437
  • loc_en_US, sid_100617641, prod, sort_default
<< 2 3 4 5 6  ... 16 >>
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 76ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT