0085267890762

Honeywell

Model # RTH9580WF

Internet # 203926327

Store SKU # 1000002280

Wi-Fi Smart Thermostat

$199.00 /each
  • Wi-Fi-enabled thermostat allows for remote access.
  • Beautiful full-color, bright and customizable screen.
  • Works with the Wink home automation network.

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Adjust your thermostat from anywhere. Create your own unique look to match your home's decor. Enjoy unsurpassed comfort control. Receive reminders to change a filter or be alerted of extreme home temps. Beauty and brains collide with Honeywell's Smart Wi-Fi Thermostat.

  • Wi-Fi enabled - control from anywhere
  • Full-color, bright and customizable screen
  • Smart response technology for the precise temp when you want it
  • Automatic energy-saving settings that fit your life
  • Customizable color settings to match your decor
  • Auto alerts ensure on-time filter changes; know about extreme temps
  • Local weather conditions including temperature and humidity
  • Simple set up
  • Reliable app backed by Honeywell's dependable network
  • Peace of mind - control energy use, ensures safe temps for pets, or keeps tabs on a vacation home
  • Auto-updates for daylight savings; adjusts for 12/24-hour and multi-language needs
  • Quick schedule changes - update your settings for temporary holds or vacations; restore everyday settings in a snap
  • Help on demand - onscreen help button answers questions as you go
  • This item is compatible with the Wink home automation system and can connect to several other items to control and customize your home with automated rules, shortcuts, & more, all with no monthly fees


Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Display height (in.) 
2.25 in 
Display width (in.) 
3.75 in 
Product Depth (in.) 
0.75 
Product Height (in.) 
3.5 
Product Width (in.) 
4.5 

Details

Batteries Included 
No 
Battery Power Type 
Hardwired 
Battery Size 
.Built-In 
Color Family 
Metallics 
Connected Home Protocol 
Wi-Fi 
Number of HVAC Zones 
Periods per Programmable Day 
Returnable 
90-Day 
Shape 
Rectangle 
Smart Device Enabled 
Enabled 
System Compatible 
Universal 
Thermostat Features 
Automatic Heating/Cooling Changeover,Backlit,Built-in Wi-Fi,Daylight Savings Time Ready,Filter Monitor,Lockable,Touch Screen,Vacation Mode 
Thermostat Type 
Heating and Cooling 
Voltage (volts) 
24 

Warranty / Certifications

Certifications and Listings 
No Certifications or Listings 
ENERGY STAR Certified 
No 
Manufacturer Warranty 
1 year limited warranty 

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

143 Questions455 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

Wi-Fi Smart Thermostat
Wi-Fi Smart Thermostat

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
This question is from Wi-Fi Smart Thermostat
 
12 answers

Does the wi-fi work with both Apple and Android systems?

This question is from Wi-Fi Smart Thermostat
Asked by
Pete R
Port Richey, FL
September 13, 2013
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answers (12)

Asked by
Manassas, Va
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 13, 2014
Answer: 
It doesn't support the standard WEP with 26 character passwords to use the WIFI. I have given access to 24 other devices and would either have to change the password and re-do the others, or buy a seperate router to support the WIFI on the thermostat. The thermostat controls work well otherwise.
-1point
3out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful4

Asked by
Illinois
Read all my Q&A
December 10, 2013
Answer: 
WiFi is not dependent on any type of operating system. The thermostat uses the WiFi connection to connect to the internet and then communicates with Honeywell's servers. You can then access, program and control your thermostat through their servers using your computers web browser or an App available for your Android or iOS based device. The smart phone or your computer does not connect directly to the Read More
WiFi is not dependent on any type of operating system. The thermostat uses the WiFi connection to connect to the internet and then communicates with Honeywell's servers. You can then access, program and control your thermostat through their servers using your computers web browser or an App available for your Android or iOS based device. The smart phone or your computer does not connect directly to the thermostat. Read Less
+14points
14out of 14found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful14unhelpful0

Asked by
Azusa, CA, USA
Read all my Q&A
November 5, 2013
Answer: 
Yes, Apple iPhone, I am running 4 unts
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Redmond, WA
Read all my Q&A
October 29, 2013
Answer: 
Wi-Fi is not an apple or android specific, you need to see what your wireless access point or router uses. It seems to work fine with wireless G and N without issue, have not tested other wireless formats.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Indiana, USA
Read all my Q&A
October 22, 2013
Answer: 
I know it works with Apple. I have not checked for Android apps.
0points
2out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful2

Asked by
Agua Dulce, CA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
October 13, 2013
Answer: 
Yes, my wife downloaded the app to her iPhone 4 and I have the app on my LG Android phone from the Google Play store
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
September 26, 2013
Answer: 
Yes, on both Apple and Android, tablets and smartphones
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0

September 26, 2013
Answer: 
Our apologies for the delay in responding to your question.
Once you have enrolled the Honeywell RTH9580WF thermostat on your WiFi router, you can create an account at the Honeywell Total Connect Comfort site. There are apps for both iPhone and Android that would allow you to access it.
More information is available at the following link: http://wifithermostat.com/ . Another option is to call the Read More
Our apologies for the delay in responding to your question.
Once you have enrolled the Honeywell RTH9580WF thermostat on your WiFi router, you can create an account at the Honeywell Total Connect Comfort site. There are apps for both iPhone and Android that would allow you to access it.
More information is available at the following link: http://wifithermostat.com/ . Another option is to call the Honeywell WiFi Thermostat Hotline at 1-855-733-5465.
Sincerely,
Honeywell Customer Care Read Less
+10points
10out of 10found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful10unhelpful0

Asked by
Montana, USA
Read all my Q&A
September 18, 2013
Answer: 
Yes, it works great. Just download the free app to scan in barcodes and scan the barcode on the thermostat and the application automatically installs. You can login through the internet on a PC also.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Phil
Laguna Hills, CA, USA
September 16, 2013
Answer: 
I am using an android smart phone. I think there is app for the Apple.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1

September 14, 2013
Answer: 
Apple for sure
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1

September 13, 2013
Answer: 
Works with I phone use mine everyday
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
This question is from Wi-Fi Smart Thermostat
 
12 answers

will the honeywell wi-fi smart thermostat have to have internet service in order to operate or can you control it on screen only ???

This question is from Wi-Fi Smart Thermostat
Asked by
stargazer
.
August 25, 2013
I have a second home 200 miles from my primary home and I would like to have a thermostat where i can set it so that nobody else can come in and change it , I won't be living there for another year and don't want to pay for internet service till I actually move in.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (12)

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
September 5, 2015
Answer: 
I called a rep from Honeywell because I wanted to know about that issue as well. You MUST have an internet connection. The app goes out to the internet to Honeywell servers and then communicates with this wi-fi thermostat via internet.
They have something called a red link thermostat which included hardware so you don't need to have an internet connection.
The other thing you may want to look into is Read More
I called a rep from Honeywell because I wanted to know about that issue as well. You MUST have an internet connection. The app goes out to the internet to Honeywell servers and then communicates with this wi-fi thermostat via internet.
They have something called a red link thermostat which included hardware so you don't need to have an internet connection.
The other thing you may want to look into is Control 4. Control 4 works with some Honeywell thermostats but I am not sure how. Control 4 is the hardware and I think that will communicate with this via LAN or local wi-fi and no internet connection is needed. This Control 4 solution may require that red link thermostat. Control 4 makes their own thermostats but they are slow to respond. I had this in our old house and was glad it was only in the theater. Push 'watch movie' lights dim, temp sets and movie comes on. Read Less
+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
September 26, 2013
Answer: 
You must have wi-fi to operate it from a smart device. Otherwise, you can use it, and set the programmable times directly from the thermostat itself.
+6points
7out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful1

Asked by
Long Island, New York, USA
Read all my Q&A
September 24, 2013
Answer: 
it works on-screen only. But there are cheaper alternatives if you never intend to use the wifi features.
-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful2

September 13, 2013
Answer: 
It can be set manually
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1

Asked by
Sarasota, FL, USA
Read all my Q&A
September 11, 2013
Answer: 
You don't need Internet to control when you are home, only when you want to control remotely
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1

Asked by
Auburn Hills
Read all my Q&A
September 11, 2013
Answer: 
Internet access is a requirement for 1) remote control, and 2) external temp and humidity display. Local control does not require internet access. If it has no internet access, then it will be as secure as any old-timey 'stat: unchanging so long as no one has physical access.
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1

Asked by
Phil
Laguna Hills, CA, USA
September 11, 2013
Answer: 
You need the internet to take advantage of the Honeywell features. It will operate the furnace/HAV without an internet connection. Why not just put a plastic lock box on the thermostat with a key and then no one can reset it but You.
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1

Asked by
BryanBPH
Bluffton SC
August 30, 2013
Answer: 
You can operate it without internet via the touchscreen only. You can also set a security code that prevents users from messing with the settings after you program the schedule you want.
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0

Asked by
Newark, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
August 29, 2013
Answer: 
You only need internet access for the unit to display the outside temp and access with remote app. Without internet access it will work like a regular thermostat.
+4points
5out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful1

August 28, 2013
Answer: 
The Honeywell RTH9580WF does not need to be connected to the internet to function as just a thermostat. You would be able to control it from the touch screen display. Further, it does have the option of setting up a password so it could not be accessed unless you knew the password.
If you have additional questions on the Honeywell RTH9580WF, please contact the Honeywell WiFi thermostat hotline at Read More
The Honeywell RTH9580WF does not need to be connected to the internet to function as just a thermostat. You would be able to control it from the touch screen display. Further, it does have the option of setting up a password so it could not be accessed unless you knew the password.
If you have additional questions on the Honeywell RTH9580WF, please contact the Honeywell WiFi thermostat hotline at 1-855-733-5465.
Sincerely,
Honeywell Customer Care Read Less
+13points
13out of 13found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful13unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
August 26, 2013
Answer: 
Hi,
No, you do not need to set up the "wi-fi connection" in order for the thermostat to work. However, it will not give you the outdoor temperature and weather.
Here is the user guide: http://wifithermostat.com/Products/WiFiSmartThermostat/
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
lake Mary Florida
Read all my Q&A
August 26, 2013
Answer: 
It does have a pass code, but I do not recommend this product I installed one in my house and it was 7F out, with a 3F adjustment.
You can ways get one of the lock box's from a AC vendor like you see in store shops to stop people messing with it.
-4points
2out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful6
This question is from Wi-Fi Smart Thermostat
 
12 answers

does this thermostat monitor indoor and outdoor humidity?

This question is from Wi-Fi Smart Thermostat
Asked by
Jim
August 18, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (12)

Asked by
Cleveland, Ohio
Read all my Q&A
May 11, 2014
Answer: 
Yes it does. It measures the indoor humidity on it's own, but the outdoor humidity and temperature are downloaded via the wifi. During signup it asks your location.
+7points
7out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful0

Asked by
Illinois
Read all my Q&A
December 10, 2013
Answer: 
Yes and no. It does monitor your indoor temperature and humidity. This is displayed on the thermostat and web based apps. Outside temp and humidity is also displayed, but this is from a nearby weather reporting source, not from directly outside your home.
Also, although the inside humidity is monitored and displayed, this device does not have the ability to control a humidifier or dehumidifier.
+14points
15out of 16found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful15unhelpful1

Asked by
Branford CT
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
October 29, 2013
Answer: 
Thermostat monitors and displays indoor humidity adjacent to the device. Outdoor humidity information is also displayed but is provided by some third party web-based service provider — the thermostat uses its recorded location for this.
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0

Asked by
Montana, USA
Read all my Q&A
September 18, 2013
Answer: 
Yes, it shows indoor and outdoor humidity. The outdoor humidty is downloaded from the internet.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0

September 13, 2013
Answer: 
Yes
0points
2out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful2

Asked by
Newark, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
August 29, 2013
Answer: 
Yes. Outdoor is obtained via internet.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0

August 28, 2013
Answer: 
The Honeywell RTH9580WF, when enrolled on the My Total Connect Comfort web site, will display the outdoor temperature and humidity based on the zip code used when your account is created.
There is no charge to create an account on My Total Connect Comfort. When you do create one you will be able to view your thermostat from anywhere you can get internet service. There is more information at the web Read More
The Honeywell RTH9580WF, when enrolled on the My Total Connect Comfort web site, will display the outdoor temperature and humidity based on the zip code used when your account is created.
There is no charge to create an account on My Total Connect Comfort. When you do create one you will be able to view your thermostat from anywhere you can get internet service. There is more information at the web site: http://wifithermostat.com/.
Sincerely,
Honeywell Customer Care Read Less
+16points
16out of 16found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful16unhelpful0

Asked by
Goshen NY
Read all my Q&A
August 21, 2013
Answer: 
yes
0points
2out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful2

Asked by
Sarasota, FL, USA
Read all my Q&A
August 19, 2013
Answer: 
It monitors indoor humidity, outdoor hum and temp are based on zip code entered and are supplied to honeywell by some weather service
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0

Asked by
Blackwood, Gloucester Township, NJ 08012, USA
Read all my Q&A
August 19, 2013
Answer: 
Yes
+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1

Asked by
Auburn Hills
Read all my Q&A
August 19, 2013
Answer: 
Yes, it does monitor temp and humidity indoors and out. Indoor monitoring is direct and, in my experience, is quite accurate. External data is internet-sourced with the temp being relatively accurate and humidity less so - good enough to choose clothing.
+7points
7out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful0

Asked by
Phil
Laguna Hills, CA, USA
August 19, 2013
Answer: 
Yes. It gets the info from the internet for the external reading and gives the indoor reading, both on the face of the unit or on the remote screen., PC or smart phone.
+9points
9out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful0
This question is from Wi-Fi Smart Thermostat
 
11 answers

will honeywell wifi thermostat model rth9580wf1005 send an email alert if the house temperature drops below a preset alarm temperature

This question is from Wi-Fi Smart Thermostat
Asked by
don
80537
August 22, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (11)

Asked by
Redmond, WA
Read all my Q&A
October 29, 2013
Answer: 
Yes, you can set alerts using the website to have it email you alerts if it drops below, or rises above, preset limits you specific. I had a faulty unit and used this feature to see how often the temperature was fluctuating.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Asked by
Montana, USA
Read all my Q&A
September 18, 2013
Answer: 
Yes. It has triggers for temeratures dropping below a certain point and above a certain point. It sends them to your email and alerts you when you login through the app on your phone.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0

Asked by
BryanBPH
Bluffton SC
August 30, 2013
Answer: 
Yes, there are a number of alerts you can set (see screenshot attached)
User submitted photo
+10points
10out of 10found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful10unhelpful0

Asked by
Newark, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
August 29, 2013
Answer: 
Yes. You preset the temperatures for alerts.
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0

August 28, 2013
Answer: 
To have an e-mail sent out, alerting you to temperature errors based on what the Honeywell RTH9580WF is sensing, you would need to create an acocunt and then enroll it on the My Total Connect Comfort web site. Your account can be set up to send out a variety of e-mail alerts, including the indoor temperature going above, or dropping below temperature levels you would select.
There is no charge to create Read More
To have an e-mail sent out, alerting you to temperature errors based on what the Honeywell RTH9580WF is sensing, you would need to create an acocunt and then enroll it on the My Total Connect Comfort web site. Your account can be set up to send out a variety of e-mail alerts, including the indoor temperature going above, or dropping below temperature levels you would select.
There is no charge to create an account on My Total Connect Comfort. When you do create one you will also be able to view your thermostat from anywhere you can get internet service. There is more information at the web site: http://wifithermostat.com/.
Sincerely,
Honeywell Customer Care Read Less
+20points
20out of 20found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful20unhelpful0

Asked by
Auburn Hills
Read all my Q&A
August 23, 2013
Answer: 
Unfortunately this thermostat will not issue email alerts about temperature out-of-range events. It has no outbound communication capability. Wish it did.
-16points
0out of 16found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful16

Asked by
Phil
Laguna Hills, CA, USA
August 23, 2013
Answer: 
I believe the answer is yes, but the frequency of the email is a setting you need to pay attention to.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
August 23, 2013
Answer: 
Yes, as well as send an email if temp exceeds a identified level. Also will send an email if humidity exceeds a certain level. There are several options for email alerts that is included in the application.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Asked by
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Read all my Q&A
August 23, 2013
Answer: 
Yes. Mine are set at 82 degrees when away and I am getting alerts that it's gone off,line also. Not sure why but than later (a few hours) its reconnected. The thermostat is still functioning but it's dropping offline or a while. I installed 5 of them in the house. Maybe its getting confused with so many of them? Not all go off line at the same time. It's not an Internet issue.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Sarasota, FL, USA
Read all my Q&A
August 23, 2013
Answer: 
Yes you can set up the alert parameters when you set up online the at the honeywell web site
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Asked by
lake Mary Florida
Read all my Q&A
August 23, 2013
Answer: 
Sorry no.
GB
-13points
1out of 15found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful14
2 3 4 5  ... 8 »
  • 2016-07-23 T14:32:00.168-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_203926327, prod, sort_default
2 3 4 5  ... 8 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 159ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 332 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice buy very nice thermostat I work in the hvac field and bought this thermostat cheaper than at supply house.This thermostat is very easy to set up and operate and at a very good price.but you do need to have an extra thermostat wire or purchase a wire eliminator. July 13, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Device I had a quote from the HVAC inspector at my 60 year old home I had just purchased of $900 to install a Carrier system thermostat that would control both the Carrier heating and air conditioning systems. For less than a quarter of that and may be a hour and a half of my time, I installed this thermostat. No problem following the attachment of the colored wires. No problem shutting off the electrical supply to the gas heater, electric air conditioner and air handler. The hardest part may have been trying to remove the old thermostat without breaking it and the wall behind it. When connected the thermostat it readily found my wireless internet connection and set up was easy. It was also easy to change the background color from blue to gray to stand out less against my walls. The program for temperature changes works easily and in the same fashion as the Carrier thermostat in the home I just sold. I am really pleased each day as I walk by the thermostat and get the weather conditions outside and know the thermostat is well installed and doing it myself saved me a significant sum of money. June 28, 2016
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by starting to get "glitchy" had this thermostat for almost 2 years. It did work fine, now I'm starting to get bad readings on indoor humidity and temperature causing some problems with run times on my a/c unit. June 22, 2016
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Love It With everything going in the direction of all things "smart", this has to be one of the best smart options out there. I had a very nice Honeywell 7-Day Programmable Touchscreen thermostat which worked just fine; however, there were times when I found myself away from home unexpectedly only to have my programmable thermostat heating and cooling as it was scheduled to do. Granted in the fall and early spring it's wasn't such a big deal since the unit won't cycle on as often if at all but the winter and summer months were a different issue. Now with my new Wi-Fi Enabled Thermostat whatever comes up is handled a swipe on my mobile. My RTH9580 would be a 5-star device but there is something going on with the firmware which keeps knocking out it's ability to read the outdoor temp through the 3rd party, AccuWeather I believe and it will continue to show "Waiting for Update". Once the unit is removed from the faceplate it will reset itself but that was a one time chore for me. According to Customer Service they are in the process of correcting this issue but in the grand scheme of things it's not a big deal but it is a feature I enjoy. Now for the pretty stuff, the slim design is very slick and the option to change or even customize the background color is over the top. I really like that I can still see the display even when in power saving mode. However, one of my favorite features is its "timer like" ability. When you change the temp, it allows you to set it to hold that temp for X amount of time or until your schedule kicks in and this feature is also available through the app. Another great feature, No More Batteries. Although I needed my electrician for the install it was well worth it. June 22, 2016
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Defective unit - no refund Worked well for heat during winter but unable to get the air conditioner to work now. A different thermostat was installed and all works fine. Honeywell is refusing to refund my defective unit that is 5 months old. Honeywell says they will replace but I have to have a technicians report to show that. I don't need it replaced as I had to buy a new one to get the ac working, I need a refund. Not sure where to go from here. Out over $200 from what I thought was a respectable company (Honeywell) June 2, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Thermostat ever Easy too install wi-fi friendly smart and programmable. Great experience with this product. No problems. June 15, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Life made easy Great for vacation and working household. Easy to install and Honeywell has great technical assistance if needed. May 31, 2016
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Too much $ for the quality... Called tech support several times to resolve the issue with the thermostat not reading outside temp and humidity. Keep getting a display saying waiting for update. Did all the troubleshooting and still having the same problems. June 3, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome This Wifi smart thermostat is the best and most user friendly thermostat available. Easy to install. I can control all functions from my phone with my preferred notification of temp, humidity and etc. Great product! May 17, 2016
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Wi-Fi Smart Thermostat this one does not have adjustable fan speeds like my old one. Also after 2weeks & being hooked to internet the "outside weather" still does not show. Keep getting error message that it is searching. May 17, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love our high tech thermostat This thermostat allows us to program the a/c and heat at the same time. If it gets below the set degrees for heater, it comes on and if it gets above the a/c setting, the a/c comes on automatically. You can change it remotely through Wi-Fi from other locations. The backlit panel is very easy to read and you can choose the color of the light! Our electric bill has been reduced by 20% as well. Cant wait to see how the summer months fare. April 26, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Thermostat on the market This is the third one I have installed in two separate homes. Programmable, remotely accessible via WIFI, displays both outdoor and indoor temp and humidity and display can be set to a multitude of background and font colors (my wife loves that). If you have a five wire supply to your current thermostat, install is a breeze. If not you may wish to have a pro install as it is a little more complicated and requires going into the control box on the furnace. There are great YouTube videos to help with install and great info on Honeywell website. I will continue to install this thermostat anywhere I live, we love it. For the record, I am not a honeywell rep but a great product deserves a great review! March 29, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by HoneyWell WiFi Thermostat Able to control environment in my home from anywhere. Easy to program and utilize. Nice piece of technology! May 3, 2016
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by SOME FLAWS, POOR CUSTOMER SUPPORT I've had this unit for 8 months. My Outdoor Temperature always shows "Waiting for Update". Customer support was not able to help. The other issue I have is the Indoor Temperature seems to immediately decrease by 3 degrees when my furnace turns on, and immediate increase by 3 degrees when the furnace turns off. I was thinking it is maybe due to the heat generated by the thermostat and airflow from furnace fan. Also, Indoor humidity is off by 10 when compared to multiple other units. Controlling temperature via Wifi seems to work well though. March 31, 2016
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome Product! Just installed this the other day and it works great! Although it requires a "C" wire and my original thermostat only had 4 wires and no "C", there is a simple video on their website on how to connect the device without a "C" wire. Also, you can purchase the Venstar Add-A-Wire module in order to regain independent control of your furnace fan. The only reason why I am not giving this a 5 star rating is because I had to manually change the DNS settings on my router in order for the thermostat to connect to AccuWeather to show the outside temperature. All you need to do is change the DNS settings in your router to Google's (since they own AccuWeather) Google DNS servers (8.8.8.8 / 8.8.4.4). Once done, your external readings will display after a short time. Now I just have to repaint the area where the old thermostat was! August 14, 2015
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Question ...and review Does anyone have trouble with setting the temperature above 20 degrees celsisus? I try to put it above 22 and it will not go?? Other than that, I like the look, the ability to access when I am away from home! But if I can't get it to go above 22, I may need to return it! I am saying until the bugs are worked out- I wouldn't recommend to buy. December 29, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pretty Good Thermostat Bought this thermostat after my Nest thermostat got knocked off the wall and stopped working. This does what it says and is pretty easy to install using the videos. I like the app but it does not have the learning and sensing technology of the Nest. Nonetheless, the screen is easy to read and pretty intuitive which is better than the Nest because I felt like I needed an engineering degree to use that. August 25, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by We love this thermostat, should have bought a Honeywell several years ago when we moved. Ease of use, no problems whatsoever with installation. April 26, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by YouTube directions were better to use than the paper I box Bought this product as an initial step to managing my home from my I phone. Prior Honeywell stat was a 4 wire with my the blue wire being dormant. Once I figured out the blue wire went with my white at the furnace then the installation was smooth sailing from their. The change of screen color feature is a nice feature. The Honeywell registration site allows the registered user to give others access to the thermostat as well, which is nice. An added feature I have come to like is that it tells me the outside temperature along with an icon to touch for the zip codes 5 day forecast. So far, so good. I would recommend. Good value. January 16, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Good Don't be afraid to install this one. The fifth (common) wire is available with cable already in your wall. Hookup was much easier than expected just choose a new color and connect to the control panel on your blower and the "C" on the thermostat. It is much more informative and customizable than the Nest, unless you don't want more information on your system. Wireless setup is easy, and online or mobile control work effectively. March 31, 2016
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good thermostat This t-stat works quite well, but it does have a problem with temperature overruns. I set it 2 degrees lower and when it kicks on in the morning it overshoots the temperature, then seems to settle down. One disappointing thing is my wifi is protected and it sometimes loses it's connection and I have to disable my protection to re-establish a connection to the wifi. This is impossible when you are miles away on holiday and you wish to view your home temperature. November 30, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Easy as pie Easy to install and set up. App is easy to manage from a smartphone. It has saved us a lot of expense because we can set temperature on a schedule or change if we are going to be away for an extended period of time. My friends have the Nest and this is A LOT better. April 12, 2016
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by RTH9580 Ok, So I decided to shell out $200 for a new thermostat partly because I have the entire house hard wired for networking and running two servers, and partly because the old battery powered one was acting up. So why not include the HVAC in the network, It was pretty easy to hook up after I realized I had to run a "C" wire to get 24 volts to the thermostat. So now it's online for about a month, So far...so good. My only complaint...during the night it changes color from the default blue to white for about a hour or so then goes back to the selected color profile..Why ???..Is it checking for software updates ???, Is it transmitting data back to honeywell so they can improve the software ???. Does it have spy software in it ???. It is a learning thermostat so is it storing data it gathers on honeywell's servers ???, Got me..but it does seam rather obvious it is doing something in the background. I am waiting for honeywell to respond to this question July 24, 2015
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Smart thermostat doesnt seem to stay linked to Wink App. Purchased this thermostat because it said it was compatible to the WINK system. You can load it on the wink app, but it continues to lose connection, 99.5% of the time the wrong information is displayed on Wink app, and just looks like it is communicating, but it is not. Have reloaded many times trying to get it to hold connection and work properly, but to no avail. Also, the display stays lite up like a Christmas tree 24/7, there should be a sleep mode, or dimming option. It is like having a light on in the middle of the night. Thermostat does work well with Honeywell app, but the whole point was I didn't want to have a different app for each item in the household, I wanted them to all work together on one app. Not sure if it is a Honeywell issue or a Wink issue, but either way it doesn't work with Wink. Easy to setup, and nice looking on wall. Overall I think it was a bit pricey for basically a glorified programmable thermostat. April 5, 2016
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Works great until it doesn't I travel a lot for work, so it is nice to be able to reach back and monitor the temp of the house. I considered this and the nest, but the nest was too simplistic for what I wanted, and I don't like the commercials, so I went with this one. Glad I did, this thermostat fits the bill nicely. Unfortunately, after 6 months, it stopped connecting to my wifi. It shows: "thermostat's internal wi-fi is no longer working." Manufacturer warranty is good for 1 year. Should be a no-brainer, but it took some effort on my part. Their initial reaction was, take it back to where you purchased it from. Unacceptable. It took 2 emails, a call to Home Depot and a call direct to Honeywell (on back of thermostat) to get them to agree to send me a replacement thermostat. I mean, $200 is not exactly chump change. But I am pretty happy, they are shipping me a new one. As a result, I do recommend this thermostat. When it works, it is terrific. June 27, 2015
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Didn't work Couldn't get it to work with our system. We tried all of the suggested solutions, but no luck March 15, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great product! Liked the backlite touchscreen. It was very easy to install myself especially with the Honeywell videos available online. March 8, 2016
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Will not work with ground source geothermal systems in cold climates This product does not work with a ground source geothermal system in cold climates. It worked perfectly all summer but when winter hit and temperatures go below freezing it will run only auxiliary heat. Heat pump will be bypassed as the algorithm only considers ambient air heat pumps. Spent several hours on the phone with Honeywell Tech support but it just cannot be done with this device at this time. Really hope someone at Honeywell is working on a software update :(. February 10, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great T-stat This is one fantastic Thermostat .The only wish I have is that the dead band would be adjustable My T stat is very very sensitive I seems to kick my unit before it drops even 1 deg below set point I am told there are other settings that can control this I intend to give them a try. This thermostat works perfectly out of the box People should stop bashing products because they can't READ. The instructions state many many times that it will NOT work with out a C wire also says it plainly on the back of the packaging .As for setup if you don't know what type of system you have then this is not the T stat to self install Get a friend who is somewhat mechanically inclined. If you select one wrong setting the system could go haywire..Face it this is a mini computer and computers are only as good as the information YOU provide it's amazing how people provide negative reviews even after realizing they screwed up I am an honest review I review the product for what it DOES not what I THOUGHT it Should do Nuff said February 23, 2016
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Forget Tech Support or Videos, Your on Your Own This was a Christmas gift. I have a four wire system, R G Y W. If you follow the directions, this won't work. the directions suggest that you view the videos. I went to their site, followed the link...Page Not Found! Then I call tech support. After a short wait, I'm connected with a tech that I can't understand. I ask, how's the weather in India? After two more calls, I'm confused and angry. So I returned this the next day. I think they were trying to tell me to install a separate 24 vac. transformer to the C terminal, but I can't say for sure. They couldn't tell me were to land the wires, as the language barrier was too hard to overcome. Then they said it was incompatible with my split system. December 28, 2015
  • 2016-07-27 T00:00:36.364-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_332, tr_332
  • loc_en_US, sid_203926327, prod, sort_default
<<2 3 4 5  ... 12 >>
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 179ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT