0085267890762

Honeywell

Model RTH9580WF

Internet #203926327

Store SKU #1000002280

Wi-Fi Smart Thermostat

$199.00 /each
  • Wi-Fi-enabled thermostat allows for remote access.
  • Beautiful full-color, bright and customizable screen.
  • Works with the Wink home automation network.

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Wink App Ready, No Hub Required


WINK APP READY

Control this product and others from anywhere using Wink mobile app, a quick and simple way to connect you 
and your favorite smart products. It's got Wink technology built right in, so there's no additional hub required. 
For more information, visit homedepot.com/wink

Adjust your thermostat from anywhere. Create your own unique look to match your home's decor. Enjoy unsurpassed comfort control. Receive reminders to change a filter or be alerted of extreme home temps. Beauty and brains collide with Honeywell's Smart Wi-Fi Thermostat.

  • Wi-Fi enabled - control from anywhere
  • Full-color, bright and customizable screen
  • Smart response technology for the precise temp when you want it
  • Automatic energy-saving settings that fit your life
  • Customizable color settings to match your decor
  • Auto alerts ensure on-time filter changes; know about extreme temps
  • Local weather conditions including temperature and humidity
  • Simple set up
  • Reliable app backed by Honeywell's dependable network
  • Peace of mind - control energy use, ensures safe temps for pets, or keeps tabs on a vacation home
  • Auto-updates for daylight savings; adjusts for 12/24-hour and multi-language needs
  • Quick schedule changes - update your settings for temporary holds or vacations; restore everyday settings in a snap
  • Help on demand - onscreen help button answers questions as you go
  • How to choose the right thermostat for your home
  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

152 Questions493 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

Wi-Fi Smart Thermostat
Wi-Fi Smart Thermostat

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
This question is from Wi-Fi Smart Thermostat
 
12 answers

Does the wi-fi work with both Apple and Android systems?

This question is from Wi-Fi Smart Thermostat
Asked by
Pete R
Port Richey, FL
September 13, 2013
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answers (12)

Asked by
Manassas, Va
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 13, 2014
Answer: 
It doesn't support the standard WEP with 26 character passwords to use the WIFI. I have given access to 24 other devices and would either have to change the password and re-do the others, or buy a seperate router to support the WIFI on the thermostat. The thermostat controls work well otherwise.
-1point
3out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful4

Asked by
Illinois
Read all my Q&A
December 10, 2013
Answer: 
WiFi is not dependent on any type of operating system. The thermostat uses the WiFi connection to connect to the internet and then communicates with Honeywell's servers. You can then access, program and control your thermostat through their servers using your computers web browser or an App available for your Android or iOS based device. The smart phone or your computer does not connect directly to the Read More
WiFi is not dependent on any type of operating system. The thermostat uses the WiFi connection to connect to the internet and then communicates with Honeywell's servers. You can then access, program and control your thermostat through their servers using your computers web browser or an App available for your Android or iOS based device. The smart phone or your computer does not connect directly to the thermostat. Read Less
+16points
16out of 16found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful16unhelpful0

Asked by
Azusa, CA, USA
Read all my Q&A
November 5, 2013
Answer: 
Yes, Apple iPhone, I am running 4 unts
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Redmond, WA
Read all my Q&A
October 29, 2013
Answer: 
Wi-Fi is not an apple or android specific, you need to see what your wireless access point or router uses. It seems to work fine with wireless G and N without issue, have not tested other wireless formats.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Indiana, USA
Read all my Q&A
October 22, 2013
Answer: 
I know it works with Apple. I have not checked for Android apps.
0points
2out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful2

Asked by
Agua Dulce, CA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
October 13, 2013
Answer: 
Yes, my wife downloaded the app to her iPhone 4 and I have the app on my LG Android phone from the Google Play store
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
September 26, 2013
Answer: 
Yes, on both Apple and Android, tablets and smartphones
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0

September 26, 2013
Answer: 
Our apologies for the delay in responding to your question.
Once you have enrolled the Honeywell RTH9580WF thermostat on your WiFi router, you can create an account at the Honeywell Total Connect Comfort site. There are apps for both iPhone and Android that would allow you to access it.
More information is available at the following link: http://wifithermostat.com/ . Another option is to call the Read More
Our apologies for the delay in responding to your question.
Once you have enrolled the Honeywell RTH9580WF thermostat on your WiFi router, you can create an account at the Honeywell Total Connect Comfort site. There are apps for both iPhone and Android that would allow you to access it.
More information is available at the following link: http://wifithermostat.com/ . Another option is to call the Honeywell WiFi Thermostat Hotline at 1-855-733-5465.
Sincerely,
Honeywell Customer Care Read Less
+10points
10out of 10found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful10unhelpful0

Asked by
Montana, USA
Read all my Q&A
September 18, 2013
Answer: 
Yes, it works great. Just download the free app to scan in barcodes and scan the barcode on the thermostat and the application automatically installs. You can login through the internet on a PC also.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Phil
Laguna Hills, CA, USA
September 16, 2013
Answer: 
I am using an android smart phone. I think there is app for the Apple.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1

September 14, 2013
Answer: 
Apple for sure
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1

September 13, 2013
Answer: 
Works with I phone use mine everyday
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
This question is from Wi-Fi Smart Thermostat
 
12 answers

will the honeywell wi-fi smart thermostat have to have internet service in order to operate or can you control it on screen only ???

This question is from Wi-Fi Smart Thermostat
Asked by
stargazer
.
August 25, 2013
I have a second home 200 miles from my primary home and I would like to have a thermostat where i can set it so that nobody else can come in and change it , I won't be living there for another year and don't want to pay for internet service till I actually move in.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (12)

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
September 5, 2015
Answer: 
I called a rep from Honeywell because I wanted to know about that issue as well. You MUST have an internet connection. The app goes out to the internet to Honeywell servers and then communicates with this wi-fi thermostat via internet.
They have something called a red link thermostat which included hardware so you don't need to have an internet connection.
The other thing you may want to look into is Read More
I called a rep from Honeywell because I wanted to know about that issue as well. You MUST have an internet connection. The app goes out to the internet to Honeywell servers and then communicates with this wi-fi thermostat via internet.
They have something called a red link thermostat which included hardware so you don't need to have an internet connection.
The other thing you may want to look into is Control 4. Control 4 works with some Honeywell thermostats but I am not sure how. Control 4 is the hardware and I think that will communicate with this via LAN or local wi-fi and no internet connection is needed. This Control 4 solution may require that red link thermostat. Control 4 makes their own thermostats but they are slow to respond. I had this in our old house and was glad it was only in the theater. Push 'watch movie' lights dim, temp sets and movie comes on. Read Less
+1point
3out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful2

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
September 26, 2013
Answer: 
You must have wi-fi to operate it from a smart device. Otherwise, you can use it, and set the programmable times directly from the thermostat itself.
+7points
8out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful1

Asked by
Long Island, New York, USA
Read all my Q&A
September 24, 2013
Answer: 
it works on-screen only. But there are cheaper alternatives if you never intend to use the wifi features.
-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful2

September 13, 2013
Answer: 
It can be set manually
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1

Asked by
Sarasota, FL, USA
Read all my Q&A
September 11, 2013
Answer: 
You don't need Internet to control when you are home, only when you want to control remotely
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1

Asked by
Auburn Hills
Read all my Q&A
September 11, 2013
Answer: 
Internet access is a requirement for 1) remote control, and 2) external temp and humidity display. Local control does not require internet access. If it has no internet access, then it will be as secure as any old-timey 'stat: unchanging so long as no one has physical access.
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1

Asked by
Phil
Laguna Hills, CA, USA
September 11, 2013
Answer: 
You need the internet to take advantage of the Honeywell features. It will operate the furnace/HAV without an internet connection. Why not just put a plastic lock box on the thermostat with a key and then no one can reset it but You.
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1

Asked by
BryanBPH
Bluffton SC
August 30, 2013
Answer: 
You can operate it without internet via the touchscreen only. You can also set a security code that prevents users from messing with the settings after you program the schedule you want.
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0

Asked by
Newark, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
August 29, 2013
Answer: 
You only need internet access for the unit to display the outside temp and access with remote app. Without internet access it will work like a regular thermostat.
+4points
5out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful1

August 28, 2013
Answer: 
The Honeywell RTH9580WF does not need to be connected to the internet to function as just a thermostat. You would be able to control it from the touch screen display. Further, it does have the option of setting up a password so it could not be accessed unless you knew the password.
If you have additional questions on the Honeywell RTH9580WF, please contact the Honeywell WiFi thermostat hotline at Read More
The Honeywell RTH9580WF does not need to be connected to the internet to function as just a thermostat. You would be able to control it from the touch screen display. Further, it does have the option of setting up a password so it could not be accessed unless you knew the password.
If you have additional questions on the Honeywell RTH9580WF, please contact the Honeywell WiFi thermostat hotline at 1-855-733-5465.
Sincerely,
Honeywell Customer Care Read Less
+15points
15out of 15found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful15unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
August 26, 2013
Answer: 
Hi,
No, you do not need to set up the "wi-fi connection" in order for the thermostat to work. However, it will not give you the outdoor temperature and weather.
Here is the user guide: http://wifithermostat.com/Products/WiFiSmartThermostat/
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
lake Mary Florida
Read all my Q&A
August 26, 2013
Answer: 
It does have a pass code, but I do not recommend this product I installed one in my house and it was 7F out, with a 3F adjustment.
You can ways get one of the lock box's from a AC vendor like you see in store shops to stop people messing with it.
-4points
2out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful6
This question is from Wi-Fi Smart Thermostat
 
12 answers

does this thermostat monitor indoor and outdoor humidity?

This question is from Wi-Fi Smart Thermostat
Asked by
Jim
August 18, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (12)

Asked by
Cleveland, Ohio
Read all my Q&A
May 11, 2014
Answer: 
Yes it does. It measures the indoor humidity on it's own, but the outdoor humidity and temperature are downloaded via the wifi. During signup it asks your location.
+8points
8out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful0

Asked by
Illinois
Read all my Q&A
December 10, 2013
Answer: 
Yes and no. It does monitor your indoor temperature and humidity. This is displayed on the thermostat and web based apps. Outside temp and humidity is also displayed, but this is from a nearby weather reporting source, not from directly outside your home.
Also, although the inside humidity is monitored and displayed, this device does not have the ability to control a humidifier or dehumidifier.
+16points
17out of 18found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful17unhelpful1

Asked by
Branford CT
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
October 29, 2013
Answer: 
Thermostat monitors and displays indoor humidity adjacent to the device. Outdoor humidity information is also displayed but is provided by some third party web-based service provider — the thermostat uses its recorded location for this.
+7points
7out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful0

Asked by
Montana, USA
Read all my Q&A
September 18, 2013
Answer: 
Yes, it shows indoor and outdoor humidity. The outdoor humidty is downloaded from the internet.
+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1

September 13, 2013
Answer: 
Yes
-1point
2out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful3

Asked by
Newark, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
August 29, 2013
Answer: 
Yes. Outdoor is obtained via internet.
+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1

August 28, 2013
Answer: 
The Honeywell RTH9580WF, when enrolled on the My Total Connect Comfort web site, will display the outdoor temperature and humidity based on the zip code used when your account is created.
There is no charge to create an account on My Total Connect Comfort. When you do create one you will be able to view your thermostat from anywhere you can get internet service. There is more information at the web Read More
The Honeywell RTH9580WF, when enrolled on the My Total Connect Comfort web site, will display the outdoor temperature and humidity based on the zip code used when your account is created.
There is no charge to create an account on My Total Connect Comfort. When you do create one you will be able to view your thermostat from anywhere you can get internet service. There is more information at the web site: http://wifithermostat.com/.
Sincerely,
Honeywell Customer Care Read Less
+18points
18out of 18found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful18unhelpful0

Asked by
Goshen NY
Read all my Q&A
August 21, 2013
Answer: 
yes
-1point
2out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful3

Asked by
Sarasota, FL, USA
Read all my Q&A
August 19, 2013
Answer: 
It monitors indoor humidity, outdoor hum and temp are based on zip code entered and are supplied to honeywell by some weather service
+7points
7out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful0

Asked by
Blackwood, Gloucester Township, NJ 08012, USA
Read all my Q&A
August 19, 2013
Answer: 
Yes
+2points
4out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful2

Asked by
Auburn Hills
Read all my Q&A
August 19, 2013
Answer: 
Yes, it does monitor temp and humidity indoors and out. Indoor monitoring is direct and, in my experience, is quite accurate. External data is internet-sourced with the temp being relatively accurate and humidity less so - good enough to choose clothing.
+7points
7out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful0

Asked by
Phil
Laguna Hills, CA, USA
August 19, 2013
Answer: 
Yes. It gets the info from the internet for the external reading and gives the indoor reading, both on the face of the unit or on the remote screen., PC or smart phone.
+9points
9out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful0
This question is from Wi-Fi Smart Thermostat
 
11 answers

will honeywell wifi thermostat model rth9580wf1005 send an email alert if the house temperature drops below a preset alarm temperature

This question is from Wi-Fi Smart Thermostat
Asked by
don
80537
August 22, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (11)

Asked by
Redmond, WA
Read all my Q&A
October 29, 2013
Answer: 
Yes, you can set alerts using the website to have it email you alerts if it drops below, or rises above, preset limits you specific. I had a faulty unit and used this feature to see how often the temperature was fluctuating.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Asked by
Montana, USA
Read all my Q&A
September 18, 2013
Answer: 
Yes. It has triggers for temeratures dropping below a certain point and above a certain point. It sends them to your email and alerts you when you login through the app on your phone.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0

Asked by
BryanBPH
Bluffton SC
August 30, 2013
Answer: 
Yes, there are a number of alerts you can set (see screenshot attached)
User submitted photo
+10points
10out of 10found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful10unhelpful0

Asked by
Newark, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
August 29, 2013
Answer: 
Yes. You preset the temperatures for alerts.
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0

August 28, 2013
Answer: 
To have an e-mail sent out, alerting you to temperature errors based on what the Honeywell RTH9580WF is sensing, you would need to create an acocunt and then enroll it on the My Total Connect Comfort web site. Your account can be set up to send out a variety of e-mail alerts, including the indoor temperature going above, or dropping below temperature levels you would select.
There is no charge to create Read More
To have an e-mail sent out, alerting you to temperature errors based on what the Honeywell RTH9580WF is sensing, you would need to create an acocunt and then enroll it on the My Total Connect Comfort web site. Your account can be set up to send out a variety of e-mail alerts, including the indoor temperature going above, or dropping below temperature levels you would select.
There is no charge to create an account on My Total Connect Comfort. When you do create one you will also be able to view your thermostat from anywhere you can get internet service. There is more information at the web site: http://wifithermostat.com/.
Sincerely,
Honeywell Customer Care Read Less
+20points
20out of 20found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful20unhelpful0

Asked by
Auburn Hills
Read all my Q&A
August 23, 2013
Answer: 
Unfortunately this thermostat will not issue email alerts about temperature out-of-range events. It has no outbound communication capability. Wish it did.
-18points
0out of 18found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful18

Asked by
Phil
Laguna Hills, CA, USA
August 23, 2013
Answer: 
I believe the answer is yes, but the frequency of the email is a setting you need to pay attention to.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
August 23, 2013
Answer: 
Yes, as well as send an email if temp exceeds a identified level. Also will send an email if humidity exceeds a certain level. There are several options for email alerts that is included in the application.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Asked by
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Read all my Q&A
August 23, 2013
Answer: 
Yes. Mine are set at 82 degrees when away and I am getting alerts that it's gone off,line also. Not sure why but than later (a few hours) its reconnected. The thermostat is still functioning but it's dropping offline or a while. I installed 5 of them in the house. Maybe its getting confused with so many of them? Not all go off line at the same time. It's not an Internet issue.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Sarasota, FL, USA
Read all my Q&A
August 23, 2013
Answer: 
Yes you can set up the alert parameters when you set up online the at the honeywell web site
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Asked by
lake Mary Florida
Read all my Q&A
August 23, 2013
Answer: 
Sorry no.
GB
-14points
1out of 16found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful15
2 3 4 5  ... 9 »
  • 2016-09-19 T12:45:17.757-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_203926327, prod, sort_default
2 3 4 5  ... 9 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 91ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 348 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Don't waste your money Installed the first one. The wi fi was good, looked impressive however it would not calibrate. I would set it for 76 and it would keep running. Finally getting so cold I would have to turn it off manually. Same thing on heat cycle. Called tech support they claim unit is defective. Sent new one and same results. Took back for a refund and got the Sensi. Works great and is less money. also have it hooked up to my Amazon Echo. August 4, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Easy to install and configure I bought this thermostat to replace a Nest which I had gotten several years ago. I found the networking capacity of the nest was a bit touchy and frequently drops limited it's wireless capacity. The Honeywell appears rocksolid and very easy to use. we have a Honeywell alarm system and the thermostat inrefracted very nicely with it. August 30, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love it Pricy upgrade that really was not necessary, but it has made a huge difference for us, particularly in being able to adjust temperature without walking to thermostat and in being able to see temp easily from a distance. Easy to install, easy to figure out how to use. Have had a month or so with no issues. Have not switched to heat yet. Will update if any issues then, but it seems pretty straightforward. August 17, 2016
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Update Update from before - I contacted Honeywell by email and received no response finally called and they said could solve problem, asked me to disconnect wi-fi and they would take care of problem and call me back in 15 minutes. Glad I didn't take the faceplate off as he suggested because it's now 14 hrs later and no call. So would have been without AC all night in 100 weather. They apparently fixed it because I could finally register it but apparently all the wi-fi does is let you look at and change schedule on the thermostat. BUT the primary reason I changed out the thermostat is because I wanted one that would automatically change from AC to heat when needed. This one was supposed to do that but apparently does not. Directions say automatic option depends on how it was installed so no idea what that means but it doesn't show up on this thermostat. So I am stuck with this thermostat that has already cost me almost 400.00 to buy and install and it does nothing different than the old one. Can't afford to replace now so will leave it in till I can afford to get one that does what it says - NOT a Honeywell if I can afford it. August 8, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Here's a well designed Honeywell thermostat Here's another in a long line of well designed Honeywell thermostats. It works well with my multistage furnace and air conditioner, and does everything as advetised. August 9, 2016
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not recommended for an older home We have an older home with old wiring, and my husband is an electrical engineer and could not install it. We returned it for a different model. August 2, 2016
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by HORRIBLE TECH SUPPORT! The thermostat functions reasonably well BUT it cannot be used with an Iphone 6s. I have an Iphone 5s and it works fine with that but NOT the 6s. I have called Honeywell a number of times. Each time we go through the same steps to no avail. Each time I am promised the issue will be escalated and i will hear back from them but also each time NOTHING HAPPENS!! I have given them plenty of time to deal with this issue but apparently they don't care so it's time to write bad reviews and save others from the frustration. July 13, 2016
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Just wanted to cool Not sure if I have a defective thermostat , we are in Florida just want the house to stay cool Set at 74° If the temperature falls below's the heat kicks on to bring it back to 74° Not sure if I'm wired incorrectly or if it's the thermostat have rewired it a couple times Care less for the heat to kick on when it falls below 74° July 19, 2016
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Don't waste your time! I have used Honeywell thermostats for years and recommended them to friends. Due to the Honeywell brand I was happy to purchase this new thermostat. I installed the backing plate without a problem. The material used to construct the backing plate and thermostat is flimsy and could not keep its shape. The thermostat would not lock into the backing plate. I wasted my time and had to reinstall my old thermostat. August 9, 2016
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not a good thermostat I only had this thermostat 3 weeks. I love the look of the thermostat but it doesn't read the temperature in my home correctly. It can be on a lower temperature matching the read of the house then all of a sudden it jumps up 2 degree. This has caused my ac to keep running. I also notice that when it is hot, the thermostat will not cool my house down past 82 which keeps the ac running. If I would have known all this, I would never purchased this thermostat. July 6, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Purchase The Thermostat was easy to install. It is simple to operate and the ability to operate it remotely is a huge plus August 2, 2016
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by nice try, but . . . I bought this thinking it was a decent less expensive alternative to the Nest thermostat I have at home. Key features for me were being able to monitor the thermostat remotely and lock the settings as this was for a rental property. I wanted to be able to program the thermostat at two hour intervals throughout the daytime so that my tenants could not leave the A/C running all day. Design was nice and build quality was pretty good. The touch screen seemed a little flimsy though. Setting up the unit was easy enough but when I started to program the unit, I realized that it only allows for four setpoints throughout the day - wakeup, departure, return, and bedtime. The Nest thermostat is a little bit more flexible. HD took it back in exchange for the Nest, no questions asked. July 20, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice buy very nice thermostat I work in the hvac field and bought this thermostat cheaper than at supply house.This thermostat is very easy to set up and operate and at a very good price.but you do need to have an extra thermostat wire or purchase a wire eliminator. July 13, 2016
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice but lacking 1 very important feature. I have been using 2 Nest's since they were introduced. It is a nice T-Stat but I don't like the fact it doesn't have a HOLD feature. It can be very annoying to say the least. I decided to get the Honeywell's and I really like it. However, you have no way of knowing the usage. The whole idea of these T-Stats is to allow you to save energy. How are we supposed to know if we can't see the usage? I will be returning these and am going to try the Ecobee. July 5, 2016
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Wont measure temperature acurately No problem setting it up and I have had it for about a year but for that last month or so the temperature reading in inaccurate. Set it at 76 and it runs the AC forever. Turnoff the AC, temp jumps to 78 int he room. Turn on the AC and temp goes to 79, then when your not looking its at 76. Seems this problem goes way back to 2013 after reading the reviews. Time for another thermostat. Maybe the nest this time. Honeywell, you are a major disappointment. July 24, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent / easy setup product Tstat sets up easily. Good replacement for old Tstat had o hook up 24v wire rom Air handler to tstat. Can control from my phone via internet. Was easy to setup Internet connection. Help at home depot was limited had to look up needed wiring on google.but ladies tried to help best they could August 2, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by EXCELLENT CHOICE THIS IS THE SECOND HONEYWELL WIFI THERMOSTAT THAT I HAVE PURCHASED. IT IS VERY EASY TO INSTALL AND GIVES THE HOMEOWNER MAXIMUM FLEXIBILITY TO CHANGE HEATING OR COOLIN SETTINGS TO MATCH ANY CONDITION. SETTING UP THE SCHEDULE IS SUPER EASY AND MUCH QUICKER THAN OTHER THERMOSTATS THAT I HAVE OWNED. THE WIFI CONNECTION ALLOWS FOR CHECKING CONDITIONS AND MAKING ADJUSTMENTS WHILE AWAY FROM HOME. THIS IS PARTICULARLY USEFUL FOR THOSE WHO VACATION FOR EXTENDED PERIODS. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS THERMOSTAT. July 5, 2016
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Love It With everything going in the direction of all things "smart", this has to be one of the best smart options out there. I had a very nice Honeywell 7-Day Programmable Touchscreen thermostat which worked just fine; however, there were times when I found myself away from home unexpectedly only to have my programmable thermostat heating and cooling as it was scheduled to do. Granted in the fall and early spring it's wasn't such a big deal since the unit won't cycle on as often if at all but the winter and summer months were a different issue. Now with my new Wi-Fi Enabled Thermostat whatever comes up is handled a swipe on my mobile. My RTH9580 would be a 5-star device but there is something going on with the firmware which keeps knocking out it's ability to read the outdoor temp through the 3rd party, AccuWeather I believe and it will continue to show "Waiting for Update". Once the unit is removed from the faceplate it will reset itself but that was a one time chore for me. According to Customer Service they are in the process of correcting this issue but in the grand scheme of things it's not a big deal but it is a feature I enjoy. Now for the pretty stuff, the slim design is very slick and the option to change or even customize the background color is over the top. I really like that I can still see the display even when in power saving mode. However, one of my favorite features is its "timer like" ability. When you change the temp, it allows you to set it to hold that temp for X amount of time or until your schedule kicks in and this feature is also available through the app. Another great feature, No More Batteries. Although I needed my electrician for the install it was well worth it. June 22, 2016
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Question ...and review Does anyone have trouble with setting the temperature above 20 degrees celsisus? I try to put it above 22 and it will not go?? Other than that, I like the look, the ability to access when I am away from home! But if I can't get it to go above 22, I may need to return it! I am saying until the bugs are worked out- I wouldn't recommend to buy. December 29, 2015
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by starting to get "glitchy" had this thermostat for almost 2 years. It did work fine, now I'm starting to get bad readings on indoor humidity and temperature causing some problems with run times on my a/c unit. June 22, 2016
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good thermostat This t-stat works quite well, but it does have a problem with temperature overruns. I set it 2 degrees lower and when it kicks on in the morning it overshoots the temperature, then seems to settle down. One disappointing thing is my wifi is protected and it sometimes loses it's connection and I have to disable my protection to re-establish a connection to the wifi. This is impossible when you are miles away on holiday and you wish to view your home temperature. November 30, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Device I had a quote from the HVAC inspector at my 60 year old home I had just purchased of $900 to install a Carrier system thermostat that would control both the Carrier heating and air conditioning systems. For less than a quarter of that and may be a hour and a half of my time, I installed this thermostat. No problem following the attachment of the colored wires. No problem shutting off the electrical supply to the gas heater, electric air conditioner and air handler. The hardest part may have been trying to remove the old thermostat without breaking it and the wall behind it. When connected the thermostat it readily found my wireless internet connection and set up was easy. It was also easy to change the background color from blue to gray to stand out less against my walls. The program for temperature changes works easily and in the same fashion as the Carrier thermostat in the home I just sold. I am really pleased each day as I walk by the thermostat and get the weather conditions outside and know the thermostat is well installed and doing it myself saved me a significant sum of money. June 28, 2016
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome Product! Just installed this the other day and it works great! Although it requires a "C" wire and my original thermostat only had 4 wires and no "C", there is a simple video on their website on how to connect the device without a "C" wire. Also, you can purchase the Venstar Add-A-Wire module in order to regain independent control of your furnace fan. The only reason why I am not giving this a 5 star rating is because I had to manually change the DNS settings on my router in order for the thermostat to connect to AccuWeather to show the outside temperature. All you need to do is change the DNS settings in your router to Google's (since they own AccuWeather) Google DNS servers (8.8.8.8 / 8.8.4.4). Once done, your external readings will display after a short time. Now I just have to repaint the area where the old thermostat was! August 14, 2015
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Defective unit - no refund Worked well for heat during winter but unable to get the air conditioner to work now. A different thermostat was installed and all works fine. Honeywell is refusing to refund my defective unit that is 5 months old. Honeywell says they will replace but I have to have a technicians report to show that. I don't need it replaced as I had to buy a new one to get the ac working, I need a refund. Not sure where to go from here. Out over $200 from what I thought was a respectable company (Honeywell) June 2, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Life made easy Great for vacation and working household. Easy to install and Honeywell has great technical assistance if needed. May 31, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Thermostat ever Easy too install wi-fi friendly smart and programmable. Great experience with this product. No problems. June 15, 2016
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by RTH9580 Ok, So I decided to shell out $200 for a new thermostat partly because I have the entire house hard wired for networking and running two servers, and partly because the old battery powered one was acting up. So why not include the HVAC in the network, It was pretty easy to hook up after I realized I had to run a "C" wire to get 24 volts to the thermostat. So now it's online for about a month, So far...so good. My only complaint...during the night it changes color from the default blue to white for about a hour or so then goes back to the selected color profile..Why ???..Is it checking for software updates ???, Is it transmitting data back to honeywell so they can improve the software ???. Does it have spy software in it ???. It is a learning thermostat so is it storing data it gathers on honeywell's servers ???, Got me..but it does seam rather obvious it is doing something in the background. I am waiting for honeywell to respond to this question July 24, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love our high tech thermostat This thermostat allows us to program the a/c and heat at the same time. If it gets below the set degrees for heater, it comes on and if it gets above the a/c setting, the a/c comes on automatically. You can change it remotely through Wi-Fi from other locations. The backlit panel is very easy to read and you can choose the color of the light! Our electric bill has been reduced by 20% as well. Cant wait to see how the summer months fare. April 26, 2016
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Too much $ for the quality... Called tech support several times to resolve the issue with the thermostat not reading outside temp and humidity. Keep getting a display saying waiting for update. Did all the troubleshooting and still having the same problems. June 3, 2016
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by SOME FLAWS, POOR CUSTOMER SUPPORT I've had this unit for 8 months. My Outdoor Temperature always shows "Waiting for Update". Customer support was not able to help. The other issue I have is the Indoor Temperature seems to immediately decrease by 3 degrees when my furnace turns on, and immediate increase by 3 degrees when the furnace turns off. I was thinking it is maybe due to the heat generated by the thermostat and airflow from furnace fan. Also, Indoor humidity is off by 10 when compared to multiple other units. Controlling temperature via Wifi seems to work well though. March 31, 2016
  • 2016-09-19 T12:42:33.377-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_348, tr_348
  • loc_en_US, sid_203926327, prod, sort_default
<<2 3 4 5  ... 13 >>
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 763ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT