Model # RTH9580WF

Internet #203926327

Store SKU #1000002280

Honeywell Wi-Fi Smart Thermostat
0085267890762

Honeywell

Wi-Fi Smart Thermostat

  • Wi-Fi-enabled thermostat allows for remote access
  • Beautiful, bright, full-color customizable screen
  • Works with the Wink home automation network
$21900 /each
store icon Loading Buying Options...
package icon Loading Buying Options...
Sorry, but we ran into issues loading these options. Please try refreshing.

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Wink App Ready, No Hub Required


WINK APP READY

Control this product and others from anywhere using Wink mobile app, a quick and simple way to connect you 
and your favorite smart products. It's got Wink technology built right in, so there's no additional hub required. 
For more information, visit homedepot.com/wink

  • Wi-Fi-enabled thermostat allows for remote access
  • Beautiful, bright, full-color customizable screen
  • Works with the Wink home automation network
Adjust your thermostat from anywhere. Create your own unique look to match your home's decor. Enjoy unsurpassed comfort control. Receive reminders to change a filter or be alerted of extreme home temps. Beauty and brains collide with Honeywell's Smart Wi-Fi Thermostat.
  • Wi-Fi enabled - control from anywhere
  • Bright, full-color screen for easy visibility
  • Smart response technology for the precise temp when you want it
  • Automatic energy-saving settings that fit your life
  • Customizable color settings to match your decor
  • Auto alerts ensure on-time filter changes and let you know about extreme temps
  • Shows local weather conditions including temperature and humidity
  • Easy to set up
  • Reliable app backed by Honeywell's dependable network
  • Peace of mind - controls energy use, ensures safe temps for pets or keeps tabs on a vacation home
  • Auto-updates for daylight savings; adjusts for 12/24-hour time and multi-language needs
  • Quick schedule changes - update your settings for temporary holds or vacations; restore everyday settings in a snap
  • Help on demand - onscreen help button answers questions as you go
  • How to choose the right thermostat for your home
  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Product Overview

Adjust your thermostat from anywhere. Create your own unique look to match your home's decor. Enjoy unsurpassed comfort control. Receive reminders to change a filter or be alerted of extreme home temps. Beauty and brains collide with Honeywell's Smart Wi-Fi Thermostat.

  • Wi-Fi enabled - control from anywhere
  • Bright, full-color screen for easy visibility
  • Smart response technology for the precise temp when you want it
  • Automatic energy-saving settings that fit your life
  • Customizable color settings to match your decor
  • Auto alerts ensure on-time filter changes and let you know about extreme temps
  • Shows local weather conditions including temperature and humidity
  • Easy to set up
  • Reliable app backed by Honeywell's dependable network
  • Peace of mind - controls energy use, ensures safe temps for pets or keeps tabs on a vacation home
  • Auto-updates for daylight savings; adjusts for 12/24-hour time and multi-language needs
  • Quick schedule changes - update your settings for temporary holds or vacations; restore everyday settings in a snap
  • Help on demand - onscreen help button answers questions as you go
  • How to choose the right thermostat for your home
  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Customers Also Compared These

Price
$199.00 /each
$219.00 /each
$249.00 /each
$249.00 /each
Name Smart Wi-Fi 7 Day Programmable Color Touch Thermostat, works with Amazon Alexa, SmartThings, Google Home, IFTTT Wi-Fi Smart Thermostat Learning Thermostat, 3rd generation ecobee4 7-Day Smart Wi-Fi Programmable Thermostat with Room Sensor and Built-In Alexa Voice Service
Brand Honeywell Honeywell Nest ecobee
Ratings (16) (487) (643) (68)
Features Automatic Heating/Cooling Changeover,Backlit Display,Built-in Wi-Fi,Filter Monitor,Touch Screen,Vacation Mode Automatic Heating/Cooling Changeover,Backlit Display,Built-in Wi-Fi,Daylight Savings Time Ready,Filter Monitor,Lockable,Touch Screen,Vacation Mode Backlit Display,Battery Back-Up,Built-in Wi-Fi,Daylight Savings Time Ready,Filter Monitor,Lockable,Touch Screen,Vacation Mode Automatic Heating/Cooling Changeover,Backlit Display,Built-in Wi-Fi,Daylight Savings Time Ready,Filter Monitor,Lockable,Touch Screen,Vacation Mode
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Display height (in.)
2.25 in
Display width (in.)
3.75 in
Product Depth (in.)
0.75
Product Height (in.)
3.5

Details

Battery Power Type
Hardwired
Battery Size
.Built-In
Color Family
Metallics
Features
Automatic Heating/Cooling Changeover,Backlit Display,Built-in Wi-Fi,Daylight Savings Time Ready,Filter Monitor,Lockable,Touch Screen,Vacation Mode
Included
Thermostat
Periods per Programmable Day
4
Power Options
C-wire
Remote Access
Remote Access
Requires Hub?
No Hub Required
Returnable
90-Day
Shape
Rectangle
Smart Device Enabled
Enabled
Smart Home
Smart Home Enabled
Smart Home Protocol
Wi-Fi
Smart Technology
Smart Home Hub Compatible
Thermostat Product Type
Smart/Wi-Fi
Thermostat Type
Heating and Cooling
Voice Control Hub Required
No Hub Required for Voice Control
Voltage (volts)
24
Works With
Universal
Works With
Alexa, Google, Logitech Harmony, Lutron, Proprietary App, Samsung SmartThings, Siri, Wink

Warranty / Certifications

Certifications and Listings
No Certifications or Listings
Manufacturer Warranty
1 year limited warranty

Specifications

Dimensions

Display height (in.)
2.25 in
Display width (in.)
3.75 in
Product Depth (in.)
0.75
Product Height (in.)
3.5

Details

Battery Power Type
Hardwired
Battery Size
.Built-In
Color Family
Metallics
Features
Automatic Heating/Cooling Changeover,Backlit Display,Built-in Wi-Fi,Daylight Savings Time Ready,Filter Monitor,Lockable,Touch Screen,Vacation Mode
Included
Thermostat
Periods per Programmable Day
4
Power Options
C-wire
Remote Access
Remote Access
Requires Hub?
No Hub Required
Returnable
90-Day
Shape
Rectangle
Smart Device Enabled
Enabled
Smart Home
Smart Home Enabled
Smart Home Protocol
Wi-Fi
Smart Technology
Smart Home Hub Compatible
Thermostat Product Type
Smart/Wi-Fi
Thermostat Type
Heating and Cooling
Voice Control Hub Required
No Hub Required for Voice Control
Voltage (volts)
24
Works With
Universal
Works With
Alexa, Google, Logitech Harmony, Lutron, Proprietary App, Samsung SmartThings, Siri, Wink

Warranty / Certifications

Certifications and Listings
No Certifications or Listings
Manufacturer Warranty
1 year limited warranty

More Products With These Features

Search

Questions & Answers

Does the wi-fi work with both Apple and Android systems?

Asked by: Pete R
It doesn't support the standard WEP with 26 character passwords to use the WIFI. I have given access to 24 other devices and would either have to change the password and re-do the others, or buy a seperate router to support the WIFI on the thermostat. The thermostat controls work well otherwise.
Answered by: Averageuser
Date published: 2017-05-13

will the honeywell wi-fi smart thermostat have to have internet service in order to operate or can you control it on screen only ???

I have a second home 200 miles from my primary home and I would like to have a thermostat where i can set it so that nobody else can come in and change it , I won't be living there for another year and don't want to pay for internet service till I actually move in.
Asked by: stargazer
I called a rep from Honeywell because I wanted to know about that issue as well. You MUST have an internet connection. The app goes out to the internet to Honeywell servers and then communicates with this wi-fi thermostat via internet. They have something called a red link thermostat which included hardware so you don't need to have an internet connection. The other thing you may want to look into is Control 4. Control 4 works with some Honeywell thermostats but I am not sure how. Control 4 is the hardware and I think that will communicate with this via LAN or local wi-fi and no internet connection is needed. This Control 4 solution may require that red link thermostat. Control 4 makes their own thermostats but they are slow to respond. I had this in our old house and was glad it was only in the theater. Push 'watch movie' lights dim, temp sets and movie comes on.
Answered by: max
Date published: 2017-04-27

does this thermostat monitor indoor and outdoor humidity?

Asked by: Jim
Yes it does. It measures the indoor humidity on it's own, but the outdoor humidity and temperature are downloaded via the wifi. During signup it asks your location.
Answered by: Busimus
Date published: 2016-09-14

will honeywell wifi thermostat model rth9580wf1005 send an email alert if the house temperature drops below a preset alarm temperature

Asked by: don
Yes, you can set alerts using the website to have it email you alerts if it drops below, or rises above, preset limits you specific. I had a faulty unit and used this feature to see how often the temperature was fluctuating.
Answered by: Woodyville
Date published: 2016-01-30
  • y_2017, m_9, d_25, h_24CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_234
  • loc_, sid_203926327, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 100ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Wi-Fi Smart Thermostat is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 487.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good thermostat. I was looking for a replacement for an older standard one, and this was what I c... Good thermostat. I was looking for a replacement for an older standard one, and this was what I chose. The online wiring instructions were fantastic, it was a breeze to install. The unit can be a little tricky because there are so many options, and it takes a while to go through and set all the options. But, once it's in and you have it set, it works flawlessly. When the internet goes out at the house, the unit defaults to the programs you've set, and you don't have online access. Once the internet comes back up, the unit reconnects, and runs perfectly. Recommended!
Date published: 2017-01-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I have installed several of these. The only problems I have had is reluctance to hook up to the ... I have installed several of these. The only problems I have had is reluctance to hook up to the WiFi networks in some locations. It turns out that you cannot have special characters in your wifi password, and it doesn't seem to like complicated network names either. Congested wifi neighborhoods may be a problem too. Honeywell phone help is excellent and knows the issues, but the manuals never seem to get updated. The one thing to avoid is using the "Vacation hold". Sounds like a good idea, but its a left over from this units prior history, before it had wifi access. If you put it on vacation hold you cannot change that remotely! You are stuck with no remote control of the thermostat. Return a little early - it's going to be cold! It's a feature that should have been removed.
Date published: 2017-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from simple installation/connections for wires. Requires "C" wire to power up. For our home we just ha... simple installation/connections for wires. Requires "C" wire to power up. For our home we just had to run a new 5 wire to the furnace. Lots of videos on Honeywell website and Youtube to switch over. If you currently have a 4 wire thermostat and not want to switch to 5 wire, you can change the "G" wire to a "C" wire only lose ability to turn fan on manually (not an issue for most). WIFI Connectivity simple, app to control thermostat looks awesome on Apple products, could use some polish for Android platform for appearances only. Been installed for month and love it!
Date published: 2016-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from After reading so many precautions about making sure you install it properly, I hesitated, but wen... After reading so many precautions about making sure you install it properly, I hesitated, but went ahead and bought it and am so happy I did. Just make sure you note and/or take picture of the old wiring. Make sure you have a white, common wire going to the old thermostat and follow the wiring diagram. I had no problems and it works great. I am now able to adjust the thermostat before I get home - great idea!
Date published: 2017-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than expected I live in a tri-level home and of course the thermostat is downstairs and the bedroom are upstairs so I am handicapped and sometimes it's hard to get downstairs to change the temperature so getting this is helping me to change the thermostat set the times I give up and go to bed and more importantly when I'm away from home I can turn the heat off and on my way back home I could turn it back on so it works great
Date published: 2017-04-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I do not recommend this product. It would not "speak" to our HVAC unit. The first one we brought ... I do not recommend this product. It would not "speak" to our HVAC unit. The first one we brought home caused our unit to only blow hot air. The second and third would not allow anything to come on. We thought we were doing something wrong despite our success installing thermostats in the past so we called a professional. They confirmed that it wasn't us or our HVAC unit it was something within the "board" of the thermostat that was not functioning properly; because when the thermostat was bypassed everything worked properly. It seems unlikely that we would pick three lemons in a row and since we had success with Honeywell thermostats in the past we went back to Home Depot three times to exchange the ones that would not work. Now I think this is a bad product and I don't recommend it. We ended up going with a non-wifi, non programmable, Honeywell thermostat and everything works just fine.
Date published: 2017-04-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Installation wasn't too difficult and I appreciated the wiring matrix... Installation wasn't too difficult and I appreciated the wiring matrix provided in the guide as many older thermostats don't have the same wiring letters, and this helped to match to the current standards and which electrical port to hook it up to. I did have some problems with the app not working to access it remotely as it said I didn't have a connection when I tried to make a change (but was showing the correct current temp which didn't make sense). After a few days and deciding to power my phone off and on it cleared itself and works fine since. Note: I attempted to call Honeywell for help on this app issue but it was horrible. They don't operate the hours they say or do on their website, documentation or message you get after hours, they actually close SEVERAL hours prior to. Horrible to tell your customers when you are available to support them then don't even take calls at those times.
Date published: 2017-07-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the internet control The only thing I wish I had was auto switch over from heating to cooling. I am not sure if my furnace can handle it, though. Still even without that I love being able to turn my AC on when I decide to come home early. Installation was very simple and so was connecting to my network and the internet. An auto dimming or way to turn the screen off would be nice but again, not a show stopper.
Date published: 2017-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wifi thermostat This a Great buy! It took me about an hour to install including connecting a C wire to my outdoor air conditioner/heater. Easy to setup and the app is just what I expected. At $179.00 it was well worth the price. Alright I've only had it for a day but I'm very satisfied. Great screen colors too! My only downside is that it could be a little bigger to make a statement on the wall.
Date published: 2017-08-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pros: 1) Easy to install 2) Great user friendly App and web portal 3) Able to remotely control th... Pros: 1) Easy to install 2) Great user friendly App and web portal 3) Able to remotely control the settings using the app on the phone 4) Intuitive display and menu settings on the unit 5) Automated software updates (Needs to be connected via Wifi) Cons: 1) Outdoor temp/humidity is not very accurate (seems off by ~+/- 10oF) - Information is downloaded from AccuWeather
Date published: 2017-06-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Haven't installed yet Haven't installed yet. Read the instructions, and watched the video. Kinda nervous about doing it, because my wiring is not the common one shown. Asked a local company to install and they made a face saying they never touch the wireless installs, that they r a pain. So i really don't know what to do....
Date published: 2017-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A very nice surprise. Looks good and seems to... A very nice surprise. Looks good and seems to work well. I needed the ability to check temp from a distance and this has done just that. No problem for me but depending on the wallpaper color you choose, this can be a little bright. Makes for an additional hallway nightlight.
Date published: 2017-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great device Love the flexiblity of being able to change settings from the road if im arriving home ahead of schedule, also receive alerts if system is down directly to my phone. Just a few quick taps and house is warm or cool when i get home. Only regret, Shouldve invested in this sooner
Date published: 2017-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a great Thermostat, however, it was hard to understand the instruction, but able to get i... This is a great Thermostat, however, it was hard to understand the instruction, but able to get it done. It's work well with my smartphone and easy to change the setting. I will buy this again for my other house. The price is right when I did my research on the product.
Date published: 2017-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really enjoying this purchase. Does what is says it will. Can access from mobile device too. Inst... Really enjoying this purchase. Does what is says it will. Can access from mobile device too. Installation was pretty easy. Converted over from older thermostat so i needed to run a "C" wire for power but that was the only difficulty. Easy to program and easy to use.
Date published: 2017-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My old thermostat did not have a "C" wire but... My old thermostat did not have a "C" wire but after discussion with the company that installed my central heating and air system I found that the "B" wire on my old thermostat should be connected to the "C" wire location on this new Honeywell thermostat.
Date published: 2017-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Much easier and faster to program than the 15 year-old Honeywell thermostat it replaced. The disp... Much easier and faster to program than the 15 year-old Honeywell thermostat it replaced. The display is also brighter and easier to read. It's just like the display pics. I wish there was a way to track the running time like the old thermostat.
Date published: 2017-08-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product works very good for us. we are able to set the thermostat away from home and it is ... This product works very good for us. we are able to set the thermostat away from home and it is also voice activated. I will recommend this product if you are a on the go person or just don't want to get up and turn on or off the thermostat.
Date published: 2017-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Honeywell Wi-Fi Smart Thermostat product puts me and my family at the center of its design. ... The Honeywell Wi-Fi Smart Thermostat product puts me and my family at the center of its design. The mobile access to monitor the settings, the website design and the mobile app are all so easy to use. And, it fits well with our décor.
Date published: 2017-04-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't waste your time and money on this product, I could't have access to the unit remotely, ever... Don't waste your time and money on this product, I could't have access to the unit remotely, every time I tried to set up the thermostat i had this message "Sorry, an error occurred while processing your request" Very disappointed.
Date published: 2017-06-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The overall performance is fine but I still am not... The overall performance is fine but I still am not happy about having to replace the two year old one I had that failed to function after such a short time. Honeywell offered nothing except it is out of warranty. BAHHHHH
Date published: 2017-08-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Unfortunately I had to return mine. I would say the set-up instructions are quite clear. Importan... Unfortunately I had to return mine. I would say the set-up instructions are quite clear. Important note for potential buyers: This thermostat requires a "C" wire, to power the thermostat. Many homes are not equipped with this wire, so double check before purchasing. Most "normal" thermostats just use batteries to power itself, but because of the large screen and electronics, a little more power is needed for most wifi thermostats. I ended up getting another brand of wifi thermostat that didn't require the "C" wire.
Date published: 2016-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Have had this unit for about 4 years now. Love it. Use the wifi feature all the time. Easy to ... Have had this unit for about 4 years now. Love it. Use the wifi feature all the time. Easy to set up and use. No issues. Cannot get any better than that. I especially like the fact you can change the background color.
Date published: 2017-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it, Love it. There is nothing like having to get out of bed in the middle of the night becau... Love it, Love it. There is nothing like having to get out of bed in the middle of the night because you are too hot or too cold. I can now just row over and grab my phone and adjust the temp on my Smart Thermostat.
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Honeywell Wi-Fi Smart Thermostat if super. So much... The Honeywell Wi-Fi Smart Thermostat if super. So much nicer than the Nest. We would recommend the Honeywell over the Nest. Love how all the important data is on the screen at all times. Very easy to use. *****
Date published: 2017-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the second unit purchase (different property) since it's... This is the second unit purchase (different property) since it's easy to use and customer service is excellent if you have a question or need support. Best n Love the Wifi function and use it often.
Date published: 2017-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husband put this in and even though he had... My husband put this in and even though he had a few hiccups, the install was quick. I love being able to control it from my phone while I am at work. Best investment we made on a thermostat.
Date published: 2017-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it It was easy to install and love the fact you don't even have to be by the thermostat any more just to change the temperature I can change chge it for anywhere
Date published: 2017-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great unit easy to install only problem that crops up, need 5 wires on system. will work with 4... great unit easy to install only problem that crops up, need 5 wires on system. will work with 4 wies with a moification to board in funace. but easy to moify
Date published: 2017-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This thing is REALLY cool (sorry about the pun). Does... This thing is REALLY cool (sorry about the pun). Does what it is advertised to do and I got my $125 rebate on my SCE bill within a week!
Date published: 2017-07-18
  • y_2017, m_9, d_26, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_487
  • loc_, sid_203926327, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 247ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT