Model # RTH9580WF

Internet #203926327

Store SKU #1000002280

Honeywell Wi-Fi Smart Thermostat
0085267890762

Honeywell

Wi-Fi Smart Thermostat

  • Wi-Fi-enabled thermostat allows for remote access
  • Beautiful, bright, full-color customizable screen
  • Works with the Wink home automation network
$19900 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Wink App Ready, No Hub Required


WINK APP READY

Control this product and others from anywhere using Wink mobile app, a quick and simple way to connect you 
and your favorite smart products. It's got Wink technology built right in, so there's no additional hub required. 
For more information, visit homedepot.com/wink

Adjust your thermostat from anywhere. Create your own unique look to match your home's decor. Enjoy unsurpassed comfort control. Receive reminders to change a filter or be alerted of extreme home temps. Beauty and brains collide with Honeywell's Smart Wi-Fi Thermostat.

  • Wi-Fi enabled - control from anywhere
  • Bright, full-color screen for easy visibility
  • Smart response technology for the precise temp when you want it
  • Automatic energy-saving settings that fit your life
  • Customizable color settings to match your decor
  • Auto alerts ensure on-time filter changes and let you know about extreme temps
  • Shows local weather conditions including temperature and humidity
  • Easy to set up
  • Reliable app backed by Honeywell's dependable network
  • Peace of mind - controls energy use, ensures safe temps for pets or keeps tabs on a vacation home
  • Auto-updates for daylight savings; adjusts for 12/24-hour time and multi-language needs
  • Quick schedule changes - update your settings for temporary holds or vacations; restore everyday settings in a snap
  • Help on demand - onscreen help button answers questions as you go
  • How to choose the right thermostat for your home
  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Customers Also Compared These

Price
$149.00 /each
$219.00 /each
$249.00 /each
$249.00 /each
Name Wi-Fi Programmable Touchscreen Thermostat + Free App Wi-Fi Smart Thermostat Learning Thermostat, 3rd generation 3rd Generation Learning Thermostat - White
Brand Honeywell Honeywell Nest Nest
Ratings (611) (441) (511) (500)
Thermostat Program Type 7 - Day 7 - Day 7 - Day 7 - Day
Features Automatic Heating/Cooling Changeover,Backlit Display,Built-in Wi-Fi,Daylight Savings Time Ready,Filter Monitor,Removable Interface,Touch Screen,Vacation Mode Automatic Heating/Cooling Changeover,Backlit Display,Built-in Wi-Fi,Daylight Savings Time Ready,Filter Monitor,Lockable,Touch Screen,Vacation Mode Backlit Display,Battery Back-Up,Built-in Wi-Fi,Daylight Savings Time Ready,Filter Monitor,Lockable,Touch Screen,Vacation Mode Backlit Display,Battery Back-Up,Built-in Wi-Fi,Daylight Savings Time Ready,Daylight Savings Time Ready,Filter Monitor,Lockable,Touch Screen,Vacation Mode
Color Family Whites Metallics Metallics Whites
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

Does the wi-fi work with both Apple and Android systems?

Asked by: Anonymous
It doesn't support the standard WEP with 26 character passwords to use the WIFI. I have given access to 24 other devices and would either have to change the password and re-do the others, or buy a seperate router to support the WIFI on the thermostat. The thermostat controls work well otherwise.
Answered by: Averageuser
Date published: 2017-05-13

will the honeywell wi-fi smart thermostat have to have internet service in order to operate or can you control it on screen only ???

I have a second home 200 miles from my primary home and I would like to have a thermostat where i can set it so that nobody else can come in and change it , I won't be living there for another year and don't want to pay for internet service till I actually move in.
Asked by: Anonymous
I called a rep from Honeywell because I wanted to know about that issue as well. You MUST have an internet connection. The app goes out to the internet to Honeywell servers and then communicates with this wi-fi thermostat via internet. They have something called a red link thermostat which included hardware so you don't need to have an internet connection. The other thing you may want to look into is Control 4. Control 4 works with some Honeywell thermostats but I am not sure how. Control 4 is the hardware and I think that will communicate with this via LAN or local wi-fi and no internet connection is needed. This Control 4 solution may require that red link thermostat. Control 4 makes their own thermostats but they are slow to respond. I had this in our old house and was glad it was only in the theater. Push 'watch movie' lights dim, temp sets and movie comes on.
Answered by: max
Date published: 2017-04-27

does this thermostat monitor indoor and outdoor humidity?

Asked by: Anonymous
Yes it does. It measures the indoor humidity on it's own, but the outdoor humidity and temperature are downloaded via the wifi. During signup it asks your location.
Answered by: Busimus
Date published: 2016-09-14

will honeywell wifi thermostat model rth9580wf1005 send an email alert if the house temperature drops below a preset alarm temperature

Asked by: Anonymous
Yes, you can set alerts using the website to have it email you alerts if it drops below, or rises above, preset limits you specific. I had a faulty unit and used this feature to see how often the temperature was fluctuating.
Answered by: Woodyville
Date published: 2016-01-30
  • y_2017, m_5, d_25, h_24CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_213
  • loc_, sid_203926327, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 12ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Wi-Fi Smart Thermostat is rated 3.9 out of 5 by 439.
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I purchased this thinking it was new, but now realize it was probably a returned item. The Thermo... I purchased this thinking it was new, but now realize it was probably a returned item. The Thermostat ID card had the wrong MAC Id and MAC CRC. Once I figured that out, I was able to register it. The space provided for the wires to connect to the base plate is so small that you need to carve out a hole in the wall behind the base plate and fitting the wires in is a difficult process. You need a pair of small needle nose pliers. The unit does not seat well with the base plate and is loose and will fall off if accidentally brushed up against. The indoor temperature reads about 2 to 3 degrees higher than actual. This seems to be because the unit puts out some heat that raises the temperature Other than that it seems to function well. Honeywell support for complex wiring was needed and was very good otherwise I would not have been able to figure out the wiring.
Date published: 2016-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's smaller than you think, or see in the ads. Works well - relatively straightforward in going ... It's smaller than you think, or see in the ads. Works well - relatively straightforward in going thru the tabs at top of screen. We primarily got it to have a Vacation Mode - which this already has. My wife likes that you can change the background colors. Haven't tried the voice commands yet. Tried the Nest. Many frustrating hours later, we got rid of that. Honeywell works fine. Long history of trust.
Date published: 2017-01-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It is on the pricey side but very functional for a thermostat. What I love is being able to pull ... It is on the pricey side but very functional for a thermostat. What I love is being able to pull up the weather forecast 24/7. I also like the android app which I have on both my cell phone and tablet. I installed 2 of them into a 2 story house. The website they have online is also well thought out. The problem I have with this unit is it only works on a 2.4 GHz Wifi network and it is has a problem recognizing hidden networks. So basically if you have dual band wifi in your house, you have to broadcast the 2.4 GHz network and have it a differing name than the 5 Ghz network for the thermostat to connect to our network without issues. The house itself is less than 20 years old it was built with these old solenoid trane weathertron thermostats where the upstairs unit was not even working correctly. Overall, I am pleased with the thermostats but would have given a 5 star rating if the price was half as expensive.
Date published: 2017-01-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I have currently bought two of these units. The first unit stopped turning on at all and now the ... I have currently bought two of these units. The first unit stopped turning on at all and now the second unit is coming apart. It also doesn't pick up my wifi signal anymore. I my router is working fine, but it just will not pick it up. So now I have to return my second unit in hopes of getting a good thermostat that will last longer than 6 months.
Date published: 2017-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So easy to program! I used another Honeywell programmable for almost fifteen years and every tim... So easy to program! I used another Honeywell programmable for almost fifteen years and every time I had to reprogram it, I had to get out the owners manual. With the light this is easy to see and very intuitive to use.
Date published: 2017-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Honeywell Wi-Fi Smart Thermostate Love it. Easy to install. Very user friendly set up. Remotely control from the Web. And you are able to change/match the LCD to your wall color!
Date published: 2016-12-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This thermostat has serious defect. It shorts out the power provided by the furnace when going fr... This thermostat has serious defect. It shorts out the power provided by the furnace when going from Heat On to Heat Off. This can blow a fuse or damage the control board in the furnace. When the heat should be turned off, the thermostat screen goes blank. This is because the 24V from the heater has dropped to under 4V due to a short circuit in this thermostat. The thermostat will start back up displaying the Honeywell logo. Once the thermostat has restarted, everything will look normal. You have to be standing by the thermostat to see this happen. This has happened in multiple thermostats.
Date published: 2016-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thermostat Love it I'm 72 a d don't have to run back and forth to set it can do it from my phone
Date published: 2016-12-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I would have given this device 5 stars if it was Z-Wave enabled. I replaced a Honeywell Cronother... I would have given this device 5 stars if it was Z-Wave enabled. I replaced a Honeywell Cronotherm III with this device. Installation and setup/programming were easy. Cron III did not require the "C" wire but luckily there was an extra wire in the wall that I was able to utilize for the 12v power. It is great to be able to change the temperature from where ever I am using my portable devices. I bought this device mostly because I wanted the auto switch mode for days that require using the heater and air conditioning. The device is connected to a 20 year old Carrier Infinity system with variable speed fan and this device works well with it.
Date published: 2017-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product is an absolute must for anyone renting out their houses. It allows you to ensure tha... This product is an absolute must for anyone renting out their houses. It allows you to ensure that a house that's sitting empty for several weeks has enough heat to keep the pipes from freezing, but you have the flexibility of changing the heat setting based on the weather outside. This is especially helpful when you have a rental property that 5 hours away from your primary residence! I have purchased two of these and have had great results thus far. IA great buy for the money, also! I've decide I need to buy one of these for every property I own!
Date published: 2017-02-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I would give this five stars, because once installed the unit is wonderful. BUT...it was very dif... I would give this five stars, because once installed the unit is wonderful. BUT...it was very difficult to deal with the installation instructions which state that if you do not have "C wire" the unit will not work. I did not have a C wire, it was only by trial and error that I got the unity to power up. It is very very hard to manipulate the wires required to connect the unit to your system. There must be a better way to avoid having to twist and bend the wire to fit into the connectors. Once set up, which is easy, the unit performs flawlessly and gives you total control over the heating and cooling in your home from anywhere, as long as you have wifi connection.
Date published: 2017-02-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from WARNING!! "Rebate" = 3rd Party Monitoring and More Quick and easy installation for an advanced DIYer. even with adding a "C" wire that had been left disconnected by the previous homeowner the total install time took less than 30 minutes. Backplate fit the old Honeywell unit, so no new mounting holes were needed. Honestly a bit pricey for what you get, but there was an advertised $50 rebate in my area so I thought, why not? Only catch was after using the scan code for that rebate and reading the fine print at home, you're basically giving up all private energy usage information in exchange for a few measly dollars. Read the fine print, folks! Why the sudden interest in monitoring how I choose to heat and cool my home, as long as I can afford the bills who cares?
Date published: 2016-08-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I had a new Carrier HVAC system installed 2 weeks ago and bought this stat from HD. The issue is ... I had a new Carrier HVAC system installed 2 weeks ago and bought this stat from HD. The issue is the temp range is +/- 1 degree so during the night it starts and stops the gas heating system every 2 minutes or so. Very hard on motors and other mechanical devices. I called HW support and they reported that this was the factory setting and not changeable. Very disappointed.
Date published: 2017-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bought this thermostat to replace an old fashioned mercury thermostat.... Bought this thermostat to replace an old fashioned mercury thermostat. This thermostat is perfect. Two thumbs up. So easy to program You have thenoption of programming it from any electronic device but you don't have to. You can program it like a regular thermostat and the numbers are large enough to read that you don't need to strain your eyes to read Honeywell really stands behind their products and you can't beat the price. Worth every penny! You can change the color background to match any color scheme. This thermostat is so versatile. Definitely recommend
Date published: 2017-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy set up The temp was 55 in the house as I was setting up and programming the Honeywell thermostat. It took about an hour. I needed to find an easy thermostat for my 70+ year old mom to operate and this was the easiest to understand of them all! Make sure you have gloves to straighten the old copper wires with and needlenose pliers to assist in pushing the copper wires into the new connections until you hear the click. The writing is so small on the connections you may need a magnifying glass. Easy to set up after turning the power back on! Just had to log into the house wifi and presto! Easy to access on line. I created a bookmark in my webpages. I was watching a 2014 episode of Nicole's Rehab Addict and she had used this model in her house in Minneapolis!!!
Date published: 2017-01-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Stay away I loved this thermostat, but after it started turning off and on by itself I started to get a little worried. I called Honeywell and it took 10 mins before I spoke to a customer service rep and he told me to check the voltage to and ensure it was getting between 20-30 volts. I went out and got a voltage meter and I had the correct voltage, I called back and wait 15 mins on hold this time only to be told that I have a faulty thermostat and my 1 yr warranty was up. Stay away from this thermostat!
Date published: 2017-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from After reading so many precautions about making sure you install it properly, I hesitated, but wen... After reading so many precautions about making sure you install it properly, I hesitated, but went ahead and bought it and am so happy I did. Just make sure you note and/or take picture of the old wiring. Make sure you have a white, common wire going to the old thermostat and follow the wiring diagram. I had no problems and it works great. I am now able to adjust the thermostat before I get home - great idea!
Date published: 2017-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than expected I live in a tri-level home and of course the thermostat is downstairs and the bedroom are upstairs so I am handicapped and sometimes it's hard to get downstairs to change the temperature so getting this is helping me to change the thermostat set the times I give up and go to bed and more importantly when I'm away from home I can turn the heat off and on my way back home I could turn it back on so it works great
Date published: 2017-04-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I do not recommend this product. It would not "speak" to our HVAC unit. The first one we brought ... I do not recommend this product. It would not "speak" to our HVAC unit. The first one we brought home caused our unit to only blow hot air. The second and third would not allow anything to come on. We thought we were doing something wrong despite our success installing thermostats in the past so we called a professional. They confirmed that it wasn't us or our HVAC unit it was something within the "board" of the thermostat that was not functioning properly; because when the thermostat was bypassed everything worked properly. It seems unlikely that we would pick three lemons in a row and since we had success with Honeywell thermostats in the past we went back to Home Depot three times to exchange the ones that would not work. Now I think this is a bad product and I don't recommend it. We ended up going with a non-wifi, non programmable, Honeywell thermostat and everything works just fine.
Date published: 2017-04-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worst thermostat ever. Its always 2-3 degrees different then what the actual temperture is in the... Worst thermostat ever. Its always 2-3 degrees different then what the actual temperture is in the house. I have a digital T/C right next to thermostat and its alway different. Heat stays on waaaaay longer than needed. A/C is always turning on and off. Bill has went up ever since I changed the theremostat out to a programmable one.......I think I'm going to change it out with another brand.
Date published: 2017-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great purchase Very attractive on the wall and easy to read from several feet away, easy to learn how to use. Very nice and easy to use phone app, you can adjust everything from anywhere. It does take 5 wires but check your wiring as sometimes you have 5 wires but they tuck the 5th wire in the wall.The app needs tweaking as the fan on display only half shows, minor problem but still very nice.
Date published: 2017-01-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from HORRIBLE TECH SUPPORT! The thermostat functions reasonably well BUT it cannot be used with an Iphone 6s. I have an Iphone 5s and it works fine with that but NOT the 6s. I have called Honeywell a number of times. Each time we go through the same steps to no avail. Each time I am promised the issue will be escalated and i will hear back from them but also each time NOTHING HAPPENS!! I have given them plenty of time to deal with this issue but apparently they don't care so it's time to write bad reviews and save others from the frustration.
Date published: 2016-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to install. my old thermostat had a jumper wire that I was not sure what to do - called Hone... Easy to install. my old thermostat had a jumper wire that I was not sure what to do - called Honeywell customer service and they walked me through what should be done. Piece of cake! The thermostat works great. The smartphone app is a great feature. It was great to be able to control the setting of the A/C from my phone.
Date published: 2017-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from You will need an electrician. This is a great thermostat. I bought it mostly because reviewers said DIYers could install it themselves. Don't be fooled. Not only did I need to hire an electrician (an extra $100) but HE had to call the company's 800 number for help.Not an easy install by any means. But a great thermostat once it's in the wall.
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I bought this last night for my house built in 1993. Unfortunately they only had wires: R W G Y a... I bought this last night for my house built in 1993. Unfortunately they only had wires: R W G Y and RC. NO C WIRE! My HVAC had it but I was am not fishing new wires through the wall until I get a new HVAC. Solution? From the furnace remove the G wire and screw it into the C terminal. Then run a jumper wire from the G terminal on the furnace to the Y terminal. You lose the "fan" function, but you DON'T need it at all! The jumper turns the fan on for HEAT or AC. Problem solved. Enjoy it. Hope this helps people with older systems.
Date published: 2016-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this thermostat. I work mixed hours and days so we downloaded the online app and I can easi... Love this thermostat. I work mixed hours and days so we downloaded the online app and I can easily turn the heat up or down as needed without having to go downstairs where the thermostat is located. Have only had it less than a month but no problems at all - very easy to use and set up.
Date published: 2017-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this Thermostat! Easy to install and set up. Love the 7 day scheduling and WiFi App. You ... Love this Thermostat! Easy to install and set up. Love the 7 day scheduling and WiFi App. You can remotely change the schedule or temp with the App. I had tried a Sensi, it wouldn't stay online and was absolutely useless. This product is top notch for the price. I would highly recommend!
Date published: 2017-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great device Love the flexiblity of being able to change settings from the road if im arriving home ahead of schedule, also receive alerts if system is down directly to my phone. Just a few quick taps and house is warm or cool when i get home. Only regret, Shouldve invested in this sooner
Date published: 2017-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really enjoying this purchase. Does what is says it will. Can access from mobile device too. Inst... Really enjoying this purchase. Does what is says it will. Can access from mobile device too. Installation was pretty easy. Converted over from older thermostat so i needed to run a "C" wire for power but that was the only difficulty. Easy to program and easy to use.
Date published: 2017-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Honeywell Wi-Fi Smart Thermostat product puts me and my family at the center of its design. ... The Honeywell Wi-Fi Smart Thermostat product puts me and my family at the center of its design. The mobile access to monitor the settings, the website design and the mobile app are all so easy to use. And, it fits well with our décor.
Date published: 2017-04-07
  • y_2017, m_5, d_25, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_439
  • loc_, sid_203926327, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 83ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT