0085267890762

Honeywell

Model # RTH9580WF

Internet # 203926327

Store SKU # 1000002280

Wi-Fi Smart Thermostat

$199.00 /each
  • Wi-Fi-enabled thermostat allows for remote access.
  • Beautiful full-color, bright and customizable screen.
  • Works with the Wink home automation network.

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Adjust your thermostat from anywhere. Create your own unique look to match your home's decor. Enjoy unsurpassed comfort control. Receive reminders to change a filter or be alerted of extreme home temps. Beauty and brains collide with Honeywell's Smart Wi-Fi Thermostat.

  • Wi-Fi enabled - control from anywhere
  • Full-color, bright and customizable screen
  • Smart response technology for the precise temp when you want it
  • Automatic energy-saving settings that fit your life
  • Customizable color settings to match your decor
  • Auto alerts ensure on-time filter changes; know about extreme temps
  • Local weather conditions including temperature and humidity
  • Simple set up
  • Reliable app backed by Honeywell's dependable network
  • Peace of mind - control energy use, ensures safe temps for pets, or keeps tabs on a vacation home
  • Auto-updates for daylight savings; adjusts for 12/24-hour and multi-language needs
  • Quick schedule changes - update your settings for temporary holds or vacations; restore everyday settings in a snap
  • Help on demand - onscreen help button answers questions as you go
  • This item is compatible with the Wink home automation system and can connect to several other items to control and customize your home with automated rules, shortcuts, & more, all with no monthly fees


Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Display height (in.) 
2.25 in 
Display width (in.) 
3.75 in 
Product Depth (in.) 
0.75 
Product Height (in.) 
3.5 
Product Width (in.) 
4.5 

Details

Batteries Included 
No 
Battery Power Type 
Hardwired 
Battery Size 
.Built-In 
Color Family 
Metallics 
Connected Home Protocol 
Wi-Fi 
Number of HVAC Zones 
Periods per Programmable Day 
Returnable 
90-Day 
Shape 
Rectangle 
Smart Device Enabled 
Enabled 
System Compatible 
Universal 
Thermostat Features 
Automatic Heating/Cooling Changeover,Backlit,Built-in Wi-Fi,Daylight Savings Time Ready,Filter Monitor,Lockable,Touch Screen,Vacation Mode 
Thermostat Type 
Heating and Cooling 
Voltage (volts) 
24 

Warranty / Certifications

Certifications and Listings 
No Certifications or Listings 
ENERGY STAR Certified 
No 
Manufacturer Warranty 
1 year limited warranty 

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

143 Questions455 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

Wi-Fi Smart Thermostat
Wi-Fi Smart Thermostat

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
This question is from Wi-Fi Smart Thermostat
 
12 answers

Does the wi-fi work with both Apple and Android systems?

This question is from Wi-Fi Smart Thermostat
Asked by
Pete R
Port Richey, FL
September 13, 2013
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Answers (12)

Asked by
Manassas, Va
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
December 13, 2014
Answer: 
It doesn't support the standard WEP with 26 character passwords to use the WIFI. I have given access to 24 other devices and would either have to change the password and re-do the others, or buy a seperate router to support the WIFI on the thermostat. The thermostat controls work well otherwise.
-1point
3out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful4

Asked by
Illinois
Read all my Q&A
December 10, 2013
Answer: 
WiFi is not dependent on any type of operating system. The thermostat uses the WiFi connection to connect to the internet and then communicates with Honeywell's servers. You can then access, program and control your thermostat through their servers using your computers web browser or an App available for your Android or iOS based device. The smart phone or your computer does not connect directly to the Read More
WiFi is not dependent on any type of operating system. The thermostat uses the WiFi connection to connect to the internet and then communicates with Honeywell's servers. You can then access, program and control your thermostat through their servers using your computers web browser or an App available for your Android or iOS based device. The smart phone or your computer does not connect directly to the thermostat. Read Less
+14points
14out of 14found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful14unhelpful0

Asked by
Azusa, CA, USA
Read all my Q&A
November 5, 2013
Answer: 
Yes, Apple iPhone, I am running 4 unts
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Redmond, WA
Read all my Q&A
October 29, 2013
Answer: 
Wi-Fi is not an apple or android specific, you need to see what your wireless access point or router uses. It seems to work fine with wireless G and N without issue, have not tested other wireless formats.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
Indiana, USA
Read all my Q&A
October 22, 2013
Answer: 
I know it works with Apple. I have not checked for Android apps.
0points
2out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful2

Asked by
Agua Dulce, CA
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
October 13, 2013
Answer: 
Yes, my wife downloaded the app to her iPhone 4 and I have the app on my LG Android phone from the Google Play store
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
September 26, 2013
Answer: 
Yes, on both Apple and Android, tablets and smartphones
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0

September 26, 2013
Answer: 
Our apologies for the delay in responding to your question.
Once you have enrolled the Honeywell RTH9580WF thermostat on your WiFi router, you can create an account at the Honeywell Total Connect Comfort site. There are apps for both iPhone and Android that would allow you to access it.
More information is available at the following link: http://wifithermostat.com/ . Another option is to call the Read More
Our apologies for the delay in responding to your question.
Once you have enrolled the Honeywell RTH9580WF thermostat on your WiFi router, you can create an account at the Honeywell Total Connect Comfort site. There are apps for both iPhone and Android that would allow you to access it.
More information is available at the following link: http://wifithermostat.com/ . Another option is to call the Honeywell WiFi Thermostat Hotline at 1-855-733-5465.
Sincerely,
Honeywell Customer Care Read Less
+10points
10out of 10found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful10unhelpful0

Asked by
Montana, USA
Read all my Q&A
September 18, 2013
Answer: 
Yes, it works great. Just download the free app to scan in barcodes and scan the barcode on the thermostat and the application automatically installs. You can login through the internet on a PC also.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Phil
Laguna Hills, CA, USA
September 16, 2013
Answer: 
I am using an android smart phone. I think there is app for the Apple.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1

September 14, 2013
Answer: 
Apple for sure
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1

September 13, 2013
Answer: 
Works with I phone use mine everyday
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
This question is from Wi-Fi Smart Thermostat
 
12 answers

will the honeywell wi-fi smart thermostat have to have internet service in order to operate or can you control it on screen only ???

This question is from Wi-Fi Smart Thermostat
Asked by
stargazer
.
August 25, 2013
I have a second home 200 miles from my primary home and I would like to have a thermostat where i can set it so that nobody else can come in and change it , I won't be living there for another year and don't want to pay for internet service till I actually move in.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (12)

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
September 5, 2015
Answer: 
I called a rep from Honeywell because I wanted to know about that issue as well. You MUST have an internet connection. The app goes out to the internet to Honeywell servers and then communicates with this wi-fi thermostat via internet.
They have something called a red link thermostat which included hardware so you don't need to have an internet connection.
The other thing you may want to look into is Read More
I called a rep from Honeywell because I wanted to know about that issue as well. You MUST have an internet connection. The app goes out to the internet to Honeywell servers and then communicates with this wi-fi thermostat via internet.
They have something called a red link thermostat which included hardware so you don't need to have an internet connection.
The other thing you may want to look into is Control 4. Control 4 works with some Honeywell thermostats but I am not sure how. Control 4 is the hardware and I think that will communicate with this via LAN or local wi-fi and no internet connection is needed. This Control 4 solution may require that red link thermostat. Control 4 makes their own thermostats but they are slow to respond. I had this in our old house and was glad it was only in the theater. Push 'watch movie' lights dim, temp sets and movie comes on. Read Less
+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
September 26, 2013
Answer: 
You must have wi-fi to operate it from a smart device. Otherwise, you can use it, and set the programmable times directly from the thermostat itself.
+6points
7out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful1

Asked by
Long Island, New York, USA
Read all my Q&A
September 24, 2013
Answer: 
it works on-screen only. But there are cheaper alternatives if you never intend to use the wifi features.
-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful2

September 13, 2013
Answer: 
It can be set manually
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1

Asked by
Sarasota, FL, USA
Read all my Q&A
September 11, 2013
Answer: 
You don't need Internet to control when you are home, only when you want to control remotely
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1

Asked by
Auburn Hills
Read all my Q&A
September 11, 2013
Answer: 
Internet access is a requirement for 1) remote control, and 2) external temp and humidity display. Local control does not require internet access. If it has no internet access, then it will be as secure as any old-timey 'stat: unchanging so long as no one has physical access.
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1

Asked by
Phil
Laguna Hills, CA, USA
September 11, 2013
Answer: 
You need the internet to take advantage of the Honeywell features. It will operate the furnace/HAV without an internet connection. Why not just put a plastic lock box on the thermostat with a key and then no one can reset it but You.
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1

Asked by
BryanBPH
Bluffton SC
August 30, 2013
Answer: 
You can operate it without internet via the touchscreen only. You can also set a security code that prevents users from messing with the settings after you program the schedule you want.
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0

Asked by
Newark, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
August 29, 2013
Answer: 
You only need internet access for the unit to display the outside temp and access with remote app. Without internet access it will work like a regular thermostat.
+4points
5out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful1

August 28, 2013
Answer: 
The Honeywell RTH9580WF does not need to be connected to the internet to function as just a thermostat. You would be able to control it from the touch screen display. Further, it does have the option of setting up a password so it could not be accessed unless you knew the password.
If you have additional questions on the Honeywell RTH9580WF, please contact the Honeywell WiFi thermostat hotline at Read More
The Honeywell RTH9580WF does not need to be connected to the internet to function as just a thermostat. You would be able to control it from the touch screen display. Further, it does have the option of setting up a password so it could not be accessed unless you knew the password.
If you have additional questions on the Honeywell RTH9580WF, please contact the Honeywell WiFi thermostat hotline at 1-855-733-5465.
Sincerely,
Honeywell Customer Care Read Less
+13points
13out of 13found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful13unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
August 26, 2013
Answer: 
Hi,
No, you do not need to set up the "wi-fi connection" in order for the thermostat to work. However, it will not give you the outdoor temperature and weather.
Here is the user guide: http://wifithermostat.com/Products/WiFiSmartThermostat/
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0

Asked by
lake Mary Florida
Read all my Q&A
August 26, 2013
Answer: 
It does have a pass code, but I do not recommend this product I installed one in my house and it was 7F out, with a 3F adjustment.
You can ways get one of the lock box's from a AC vendor like you see in store shops to stop people messing with it.
-4points
2out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful6
This question is from Wi-Fi Smart Thermostat
 
12 answers

does this thermostat monitor indoor and outdoor humidity?

This question is from Wi-Fi Smart Thermostat
Asked by
Jim
August 18, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (12)

Asked by
Cleveland, Ohio
Read all my Q&A
May 11, 2014
Answer: 
Yes it does. It measures the indoor humidity on it's own, but the outdoor humidity and temperature are downloaded via the wifi. During signup it asks your location.
+7points
7out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful0

Asked by
Illinois
Read all my Q&A
December 10, 2013
Answer: 
Yes and no. It does monitor your indoor temperature and humidity. This is displayed on the thermostat and web based apps. Outside temp and humidity is also displayed, but this is from a nearby weather reporting source, not from directly outside your home.
Also, although the inside humidity is monitored and displayed, this device does not have the ability to control a humidifier or dehumidifier.
+14points
15out of 16found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful15unhelpful1

Asked by
Branford CT
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
October 29, 2013
Answer: 
Thermostat monitors and displays indoor humidity adjacent to the device. Outdoor humidity information is also displayed but is provided by some third party web-based service provider — the thermostat uses its recorded location for this.
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0

Asked by
Montana, USA
Read all my Q&A
September 18, 2013
Answer: 
Yes, it shows indoor and outdoor humidity. The outdoor humidty is downloaded from the internet.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0

September 13, 2013
Answer: 
Yes
0points
2out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful2

Asked by
Newark, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
August 29, 2013
Answer: 
Yes. Outdoor is obtained via internet.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0

August 28, 2013
Answer: 
The Honeywell RTH9580WF, when enrolled on the My Total Connect Comfort web site, will display the outdoor temperature and humidity based on the zip code used when your account is created.
There is no charge to create an account on My Total Connect Comfort. When you do create one you will be able to view your thermostat from anywhere you can get internet service. There is more information at the web Read More
The Honeywell RTH9580WF, when enrolled on the My Total Connect Comfort web site, will display the outdoor temperature and humidity based on the zip code used when your account is created.
There is no charge to create an account on My Total Connect Comfort. When you do create one you will be able to view your thermostat from anywhere you can get internet service. There is more information at the web site: http://wifithermostat.com/.
Sincerely,
Honeywell Customer Care Read Less
+16points
16out of 16found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful16unhelpful0

Asked by
Goshen NY
Read all my Q&A
August 21, 2013
Answer: 
yes
0points
2out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful2

Asked by
Sarasota, FL, USA
Read all my Q&A
August 19, 2013
Answer: 
It monitors indoor humidity, outdoor hum and temp are based on zip code entered and are supplied to honeywell by some weather service
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0

Asked by
Blackwood, Gloucester Township, NJ 08012, USA
Read all my Q&A
August 19, 2013
Answer: 
Yes
+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1

Asked by
Auburn Hills
Read all my Q&A
August 19, 2013
Answer: 
Yes, it does monitor temp and humidity indoors and out. Indoor monitoring is direct and, in my experience, is quite accurate. External data is internet-sourced with the temp being relatively accurate and humidity less so - good enough to choose clothing.
+7points
7out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful0

Asked by
Phil
Laguna Hills, CA, USA
August 19, 2013
Answer: 
Yes. It gets the info from the internet for the external reading and gives the indoor reading, both on the face of the unit or on the remote screen., PC or smart phone.
+9points
9out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful0
This question is from Wi-Fi Smart Thermostat
 
11 answers

will honeywell wifi thermostat model rth9580wf1005 send an email alert if the house temperature drops below a preset alarm temperature

This question is from Wi-Fi Smart Thermostat
Asked by
don
80537
August 22, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (11)

Asked by
Redmond, WA
Read all my Q&A
October 29, 2013
Answer: 
Yes, you can set alerts using the website to have it email you alerts if it drops below, or rises above, preset limits you specific. I had a faulty unit and used this feature to see how often the temperature was fluctuating.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Asked by
Montana, USA
Read all my Q&A
September 18, 2013
Answer: 
Yes. It has triggers for temeratures dropping below a certain point and above a certain point. It sends them to your email and alerts you when you login through the app on your phone.
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0

Asked by
BryanBPH
Bluffton SC
August 30, 2013
Answer: 
Yes, there are a number of alerts you can set (see screenshot attached)
User submitted photo
+10points
10out of 10found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful10unhelpful0

Asked by
Newark, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
August 29, 2013
Answer: 
Yes. You preset the temperatures for alerts.
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0

August 28, 2013
Answer: 
To have an e-mail sent out, alerting you to temperature errors based on what the Honeywell RTH9580WF is sensing, you would need to create an acocunt and then enroll it on the My Total Connect Comfort web site. Your account can be set up to send out a variety of e-mail alerts, including the indoor temperature going above, or dropping below temperature levels you would select.
There is no charge to create Read More
To have an e-mail sent out, alerting you to temperature errors based on what the Honeywell RTH9580WF is sensing, you would need to create an acocunt and then enroll it on the My Total Connect Comfort web site. Your account can be set up to send out a variety of e-mail alerts, including the indoor temperature going above, or dropping below temperature levels you would select.
There is no charge to create an account on My Total Connect Comfort. When you do create one you will also be able to view your thermostat from anywhere you can get internet service. There is more information at the web site: http://wifithermostat.com/.
Sincerely,
Honeywell Customer Care Read Less
+20points
20out of 20found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful20unhelpful0

Asked by
Auburn Hills
Read all my Q&A
August 23, 2013
Answer: 
Unfortunately this thermostat will not issue email alerts about temperature out-of-range events. It has no outbound communication capability. Wish it did.
-16points
0out of 16found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful16

Asked by
Phil
Laguna Hills, CA, USA
August 23, 2013
Answer: 
I believe the answer is yes, but the frequency of the email is a setting you need to pay attention to.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
August 23, 2013
Answer: 
Yes, as well as send an email if temp exceeds a identified level. Also will send an email if humidity exceeds a certain level. There are several options for email alerts that is included in the application.
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Asked by
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Read all my Q&A
August 23, 2013
Answer: 
Yes. Mine are set at 82 degrees when away and I am getting alerts that it's gone off,line also. Not sure why but than later (a few hours) its reconnected. The thermostat is still functioning but it's dropping offline or a while. I installed 5 of them in the house. Maybe its getting confused with so many of them? Not all go off line at the same time. It's not an Internet issue.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Sarasota, FL, USA
Read all my Q&A
August 23, 2013
Answer: 
Yes you can set up the alert parameters when you set up online the at the honeywell web site
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0

Asked by
lake Mary Florida
Read all my Q&A
August 23, 2013
Answer: 
Sorry no.
GB
-13points
1out of 15found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful14
2 3 4 5  ... 8 »
  • 2016-07-23 T14:32:00.168-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_203926327, prod, sort_default
2 3 4 5  ... 8 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 210ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 331 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Requires too much personal information It was easy enough to install and register, but there is no need for the detailed personal information required to get access to my thermostat over the internet. Otherwise I would have given it a better rating. There is no need for an exact street address (which Honeywell requires!) and many of the required "security" questions attempt to eke out more personal information. August 22, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Recirc function did the trick I helped my Father-in-Law select a thermostat that has the Recirc feature into a summer condo. The condo construction is a bit odd in that there isn't any ductwork. The funrace/A/C blower sends air into the crawlspace and the air comes up the floor registers. After spending a ton of money on encapsulation of the crawlspace to honor the warranty terms air needed to be circulated. Since they only live there part of the year (didn't even go there last summer) the thermostat would be set for minimum utility use when they are not there thus less circulation. The recirc feature on this product has dine the trick. Upon inspection of the crawlspace and the overall air quality we are very satisfied. The only negative I see is there is some complexity that we didn't need and had to pay for. No one cares that you can change the color of the display in our case. Frankly we'd be even more happy if it was as simple as Fan on/auto/recirc on a manual switch. When shopping we could not find this simple an offering so settled for this one. August 28, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Honeywell got it right Worked like a charm right out of the box. Great TStat. September 9, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Butch Arizona At first look it has nice lines and compact. Now, as far as the installation and programming is concerned it was very easy. I recommend this Product to anyone. Thank You! August 27, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Works if you research it Only thing I had to call about was a power wire that support helped find and connect. Had this on my home since October 2013. Someone here said it did not have an automatic mode, it does. Set to automatic And fan preference, select heat and cool points and walk away. Phone app easy to use and works anywhere I have cell service. Read the manual and is easy to install and operate. Have had no problems with this product! Only problems I have seen is users do not research product to their system and either read installation instructions or have a professional (or kid that is technically competent) install it! February 26, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Had the Honeywell RTH9580WF 2 Months I had a new HVAC installed along with the Honeywell Wi-Wi Smart RTH9580WF Thermostat in early June by a HVAC contractor. I registered on the Honeywell site and added the App to mine and my wife's IPhones. Thus far, Absolutely Great! When we depart on trips, we turn up the temp and about an hour out from returning home, we return it to our normal cool temperature from the IPhone. Arrive in comfort... & SAVE MONEY. No more getting up to adjust temp. up or down at home, just pick up the IPhone and make the adjustment. Convenience all around. I was skeptical about losing my Wi-Fi connection & having to reset but so far no problems. Lost our electricity twice for short brief periods during some southern thunderstorms but as soon as the electricity came back on and the router was back up; so was the thermostat. We love it , hope it stays that way! July 31, 2015
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by NOT SUCH A SMART BUY!!! Customer service for Honeywell was horrible to begin. No answers to my questions but doing some research and reading reviews my superstition was verified. The thermostat tries to maintain the set temperature with very small difference in temperature possibly less than 1/2 a degree. This causes my A/C to cycle on and off way too frequently. Since installing this thermostat, the A/C will cycle on and off an average 10-12 times per hour during the day and 6-8 times during the night. Talk about wasting energy! Ideally the temperature Span or Differential setting with the factory default setting being +-1 degree before cycling as most thermostats. Honeywell knowing this has yet to correct the issue. If this thermostat was made with the intent to save energy I think it has failed. I will try to return the thermostat asap but I bought about a year ago but just installed it because my house was under construction. What a mistake in purchasing! July 28, 2015
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Design issue regarding screen protective mode Found the thermostat to be very competitive. I formerly used competitors thermostats in my CA home but selected the Honeywell as I found our household's non-traditional and variable schedule did not lend itself to a learned programming approach. The instillation of the product was textbook and when installed in a bedroom the selection of a coordinating and subdued color screen along with reduced backlight settings were just perfect for a tranquil sleeping environment. THEN 2AM, the screen automatically goes in to a screen preservation mode which overrides these settings and floods the room in stark bright light. A screen saver that goes bright not dark. Solution get up, touch screen to the Home button and wait for the screen to resume your program settings. Oh, manufacture says no design flaw intentionally programed that way with no cancel option or time variable on screen saver option. If you don't sleep between 2am and 3am should work for you. July 23, 2015
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor quality and customer service. Installed on a 3 wire heat (gas furnace only) system. It was easy to install and setup and after some searching their website did recommend installed the "G" wire on the "C" terminal at both ends. After 4 hours the thermostat shut off completely and had to be pulled off, pushed onto the mount to reboot (or reset the circuit breaker). It came up, ran for a few hours then died again, permanently. No way to revive it. Attempted to call customer service but after 30 minutes on hold gave up. This was an online order from Home Depot and the local store was happy to refund the cost so I could buy a Nest thermostat. January 11, 2015
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not sure if it is a Honeywell problem or a Home Depot problem I bought this product. It was missing the back plate and had registration for two unit in the box. Exchanged the unit and the new one is deffective. It will not find any wifi network. Again I am not sure if it is a Honeywell problem or Home Depot problem........Contacted Honeywell and they blamed it on my Internet provider......It does not see any wifi from my hotspot or my neighbor wifi that all my other devices see. Maybe I got two units that were returned to Home Depot and we're just restocked or maybe the problem is with Honeywell......Just don't know April 20, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Simple, Functional, & Attractive Installation was SOMEWHAT easy. Apparently it is VERY easy to short out the connecting wires (assuming you're installing this yourself). Other than that, following the provided installation videos, everything was very straightforward. The device itself is very attractive. It's large enough to be easy to read and operate, but not so large that it's taking up a large amount of wall space. Set up was very easy. Operation is VERY easy. It's very nice that I can use the app to control the a/c as well. Ultimate laziness ensues when I'm downstairs reading on my iPad and want to turn the a/c down. Why walk up the stairs when I can just hit a couple buttons on my iPad. Overall I'm very pleased with this product. Only note: make sure you don't allow your "C" chord touch *anything* as you could short it out and have to replace a fuse. June 2, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by How can I get the correct time? I adjusted the time on the main screen but as soon as the Internet is hooked up, the time changes on the thermostat and becomes 2 1/2 hours fast. !!! I would like to have it display the correct time. What do I do? July 15, 2015
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Made my bill go UP, put extra wear on my system, and Honeywell Customer service is TERRIBLE Bought this unit in June hoping to increase the aesthetic appeal along with improve the efficiency of my system by adding in "programmable days" function. Spent the $200 on this product and at first I thought it was really neat. Who doesnt love something color and touchscreen.... Well, then issues started happening. The thermostat would kick the outside compressor on but not the air handler intermittently. I would come home probably once a week to a HOT house and find that there was cold air coming out of my INTAKE vent and the thermostat would show the temp was 7-8 degrees above the "desired temp." I thought it was a fluke, reset the thermostat and then what do you know, now the compressor kicks on and off like it should, but it now runs my fan inside the home almost continuously. It speeds the fan up, then down, then up, then down. EVEN WHEN THE DESIRED TEMP WAS REACHED. I called about this issue to Honeywell after 2 weeks of emails telling me that "my system was messed up" and "operator error" and the response I received was nothing short of amazing "Sir, your system is failing, you need a contractor out there." So you are telling me that I should have to pay a tech to come out and diagnose your faulty unit at MY cost??? The 5 year old system is in fact not failing, I replaced the "upgraded" thermostat with the original and ::bing bang boom:: the system works 100% perfect as it should....fan and compressor kick on and off as they should. I call Honeywell back about the issue and explain to them that after much troubleshooting, the issue is with THEIR unit. They deny and deny again that it could be their issue. After 2 hours on the phone, I finally ask for a refund, they say there are no refunds given at the corporate level. I then ask for a replacement unit, they hang up on me....they call me back a few minutes later and connect me to a supervisor who tells me that she will NOT send me a replacement because it isnt their "way of operating business." This was by far the worst customer service experience I received from any high cap company and would discourage ANYONE from using their products for fear that something goes wrong and no available common-sense retribution. I was able to return the unit to the home depot about 2 weeks ago and tried a brand new unit thinking that I could blame it on a defective unit. That one exhibited all the same issues with the AC FAN by not letting it spool down completely when the AC compressor shuts off, running the fan for an extra 5-10 minutes each time the compressor is kicked off. This thermostat increased my daily usage by almost 1$ a day (2$ on the hottest day) increasing my power bill by over 10%. There are NO energy savings to be had with this unit. ***DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT*** August 19, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Nice Product, March 13, 2015 Followed Quick Start Guide, and within 30 minutes thermostat was up and running. Followed all the prompts. Within no time of loading thermostat's Mac address and ID, it found my network. Typed in my p/w I was able to communicate with their app. No hitches for me. Scheduling was straight forward with the option to choose help if needed. Outside temp is a nice feature. Thermostat did an update with no hick ups. I was able to match my decor as well. Many options to use if needed, and easy to get to them. Honeywell did very well with this thermostat and instructions. Hopefully one day they will be able to control modulating furnaces. Note 1: this thermostat was offered cheaper at a competitor. The staff at Home Depot were more than happy to match the price plus give an additional 10% off after verifying it. Saved me an hour and half driving. Great purchasing experience at my local Home Depot. Note 2: if you purchase this thermostat and a few others carried at Home Depot, Hydro One will also give a rebate of $100 if purchased before March 27, 2015. March 15, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great product! We purchased this Honeywell thermostat for two reasons: to be able to monitor the temperature when on vacation and because of the fan recirculation feature. My husband would have had to add the "C" wire but with our house layout it was easier for him to run new wiring and relocate the thermostat. The installation went quickly and once installed he left it to me to do the set up. It only took a few minutes to do this thanks to the guided steps. We have been using the thermostat for about 10 days now and love it. We haven't had any issues with wifi connectivity and if you want to override the programmed settings, it's very easy. We are very happy with our purchase and highly recommend this thermostat. January 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Simple yet sophisticated Easy to install, no need to read the enclosed manual for setup. Nice to look at, no need to change batteries, no need to switch from cool to heat with each season. The fact I will be alerted when the temp falls or rises outside of the range I set gives me peace of mind for my animals while I am away. June 16, 2015
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by JUNK Purchased 3 units for a vacation home located in the UP of Michigan, one of the three out of the box did not work, no big deal. Home Depot did the exchange no problem but it was a hassel since HD is located an hour away, but HD took care of everything. Then today from 7:30am in the morning until at least 12:30 (5 hours) the servers crashed for Honeywell. Called Honeywell support two times and they did answer the phone and were nice people to talk about but how terrible is if for a company such as Honeywell to have a server crash that completely takes everyone off line? Lost my turst in Honeywell and these are going back to the store for a refund. March 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great purchase We bought this over a year ago and it still works great. We changed our router during this time and it was easy to reprogram to find the new router. I like the ability to change the temp, fan setting, and heating or cooling when I am out of town. June 16, 2015
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by overrated this device will not auto connect to wifi if connections broken for any reason. have one installed in my second home.everytime I leave for a long period I lose the wifi connection. the internet connection is useless if the unit will not reconnect by itself. my iris system I have in my other house does auto reconnect to the wifi buy the iris May 17, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by It takes two to make one and Tech support is a jok I bought the above thermostat and installed it. After the install I found that everything was working in heating (Heat pump and Gas heating) but the thermostat was indicating that the temperature was going down ( I had a digital thermometer installed on the same wall showing the temp going up). So it was not stopping the gas heating. I spent 1.5 hrs with tech support for nothing. Mu first reaction was to return the thermostat and get my money back. Instead I asked for a replacement. Which I installed and was able to get working in less than 15 minutes. HW tech support is obviously useless and they might have lost a sale of this thermostat and future Honeywell products. BTW, after the installation, the new thermostat updated its software from 1.04 to 2.03! Strange since the old one did not even after one day. It was the first question I asked the tech and she said there was no software updates. Obviously, she doesn't know what she's talking about... I now love the thermostat but I think they could make it better if we could control the humidity with it! January 28, 2015
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Cannot Get WiFi to Work I had a professional install the thermostat but we could never get the wifi to connect. Because he charges by the hour, I told him I would call Honeywell and find out what was going on. I call Honeywell three times and waited on hold an average of 20 minutes each time. I am going to assume their technical support is offshored because it was very hard to understand what they were saying. One tech blamed my apple router, one said the thermostat was wired wrong, another said I needed to set up an account and then the wifi would work - really?! February 4, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Product and Wiring I purchased this item today. Install should have been really easy. I would have been done in maybe 15 minutes. I had the notorious "C" wire issue. Apparently that wire was never hooked up in my home. I failed to take my old thermostat apart and did not realize we were lacking that wire. Fearing I would have to return the product I did some research. I had a spare blue wire at my thermostat. I hooked that up thinking maybe that would work. Nothing! I was able to find the other end hooked up to my heater and the blue wire was not used in there. Found the slot with the "C" next to it and hooked it up. Hey IT WORKS now!! Set up was easy. Now I shall attempt to register online and hopefully see how it works the next few months. The product itself is cheap plastic. At least the back plate is. Careful of the circuit board on the back plate because it will pop out easy. I have large hands which made wiring this a bit of a pain. I would recommend a set of needle nose to help grip the wires and slide them into place. That is all for now. Ill update in a few weeks after It has had time to work (or not). June 8, 2015
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Sells stand alone with no other parts. I bought this after speaking to the Home Depot guy. Stated it was better for wifi and being able to use to adjust on my phone. The cards they have as an anti theft said nothing about the C wire, which you need come to find out. I informed the Home Depot guy that I had a two wire set up (a red and white wire) simple turns the heat off and on and he said not to worry it has the power I need. So I get home try to install it and what do I find? I need to power the device with the C wire or basically a line you use to power off the boiler or furnace with a 5 or 8 wire setup. Look online and there is literally no information or videos for people like me. Everyone assumes you have the 5 or 8 wire setup. Even gimmicks designed around splitting and adding wires don't work on the two wire setup. So you think that a unit that needs power would at least come with a transformer. It doesn't, and the Home Depot doesn't carry them anywhere except online. Everything you need is basically online now. I could have bought everything, including the thermostat on Amazon, if I wanted to buy online. I go to the Home Depot for you to carry the things I need right now for the peace of mind I don't have to wait for delivery and if it damaged or not the right product it's simply a drive to the store. So I bought a 200 dollar thermostat with no power cord and basically have to rewire every thermostat in the house and ad a vac transformer off boiler. If I do go with the plug tranformer online then I have to wire in an outlet to hide the wire. Need to figure out a way to power these things with two wires. Just leave it on the shelf folks and avoid a head ache. June 29, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Really is smart Easy to install and get working. I like the vacation feature the best. June 9, 2015
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by I Bought This To Reduce My Utility Bill, Not Increase It The quality of this unit is good, problem is that it will not let me stop it from using back up/aux heat. I have an electric furnace and as many of you know its extremely expensive to run. My heat pump has run just perfectly in sub zero temps and not once did I need aux heat. Ever since I put this in it constantly uses aux heat and its 35 Degrees outside! Instead of seeing a decrease on my utility bill I saw an increase in warmer weather than I did with my old $15 Honeywell. I will be returning this and getting either a nest or putting my old system back in. So disappointed in this product. I really wanted to like it. February 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Easy set up and to use. Wifi works great! Read the reviews and ordered it to replace an old battery powered thermostat. Easy, clear instructions to install the thermostat. Had a bit of a problem getting it to light up and work, but that was due to the fact the 'C' wire was not properly connected at the HVAC unit. Once I got that figured out, the rest was a breeze. It is easy to program, and use the wifi app. I love that it can switch from heat to cool as needed. The only issue I have is that the touch screen does not dim or go to a 'sleep' mode. That means the display is always on. Even though you can change it to a wide range of colors you may not like the thermostat display being a part of your home or office décor. May 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Finally! A thermostat that I can read! A bit pricey, but I am very happy with this thermostat. It took me a couple of tries to get the wiring right. It was really just a matter of taking my time to map the old to new without panic. I was a bit rushed because I decided to do this replacement on the coldest day of the year. In hindsight, not such a good idea. Anyway, I love the display. It is very easy to read in all light levels. The programming was intuitive and easy. I like the remote access feature (via smartphone app), too. March 10, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good product, but some quirks I decided on the RTH9580WF, but missed the fact it requires a C wire to supply the unit with 24v. Fortunately, it was easy enough for me to run a new 18/5 wire between the furnace and the thermostat, but had to fish the new wire into place. From there is was easy, I wire it up and did the setup and connected the unit to Wi Fi and registered the device. The front panel was fully functional. The unit did a self upgrade and then found the outdoor temp/humidity kept saying waiting to update... after the upgrade. After a few hours, nothing changed. After reading a few blogs on the issue, I found the outdoor info actually comes from AccuWeather via their web API. I am not sure what the unit is sending AccuWeather, but found the combination "Alliston" and "L9R 0E2" wasn't working to update the outdoor info on the display. I change my address info online to "New Tecumseth" and "L9R 0E2" and the outdoor info now appears. Odd, either combination should have worked, but the former did not. The unit is working great and a good buy for the features. In particular you can control it remotely via an APP, but the fact that I can have the an circulate automatically for periods throughout the day was my main interest, than running the fan 24x7 which gets expensive to do. Too bad the unit doesn't have a alternate battery option which my old stat had to make it more flexible for locations that a C wire option is not available. February 17, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Worth the investment I bought this advanced thermostat to enable easier control of day to day and within day/night temperature change needs - it does that well. It was Interesting in that it wasn't my first choice when I went to the store, however it's physical footprint matched my current thermostat wall location the best. I have found however that it is easy to setup and use & really like being able to control it from my iPhone when I need to make a change to the system when I'm out of town. It was definitely worth the investment! January 27, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by AMAZING!!! Had this installed in mid-December and have loved every second of having it! It is so wonderful to be able to set the temperatures for when I have to be out of town, and come home to a house that is comfortable. It can be controlled via a laptop or a smartphone--both work well, but you can also program before leaving the house. Can't say enough good about this product or encourage people enough to get one today. April 2, 2015
  • 2016-07-23 T14:15:33.446-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_331, tr_331
  • loc_en_US, sid_203926327, prod, sort_default
<< 3 4 5 6 7  ... 12 >>
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 79ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT