Model # RTH9580WF

Internet #203926327

Store SKU #1000002280

Honeywell Wi-Fi Smart Thermostat
0085267890762

Honeywell

Wi-Fi Smart Thermostat

  • Wi-Fi-enabled thermostat allows for remote access.
  • Beautiful full-color, bright and customizable screen.
  • Works with the Wink home automation network.
$199.00 /each

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Wink App Ready, No Hub Required


WINK APP READY

Control this product and others from anywhere using Wink mobile app, a quick and simple way to connect you 
and your favorite smart products. It's got Wink technology built right in, so there's no additional hub required. 
For more information, visit homedepot.com/wink

Adjust your thermostat from anywhere. Create your own unique look to match your home's decor. Enjoy unsurpassed comfort control. Receive reminders to change a filter or be alerted of extreme home temps. Beauty and brains collide with Honeywell's Smart Wi-Fi Thermostat.

  • Wi-Fi enabled - control from anywhere
  • Full-color, bright and customizable screen
  • Smart response technology for the precise temp when you want it
  • Automatic energy-saving settings that fit your life
  • Customizable color settings to match your decor
  • Auto alerts ensure on-time filter changes; know about extreme temps
  • Local weather conditions including temperature and humidity
  • Simple set up
  • Reliable app backed by Honeywell's dependable network
  • Peace of mind - control energy use, ensures safe temps for pets, or keeps tabs on a vacation home
  • Auto-updates for daylight savings; adjusts for 12/24-hour and multi-language needs
  • Quick schedule changes - update your settings for temporary holds or vacations; restore everyday settings in a snap
  • Help on demand - onscreen help button answers questions as you go
  • How to choose the right thermostat for your home
  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Customers Also Compared These

Price
$149.00 /each
$199.00 /each
$249.00 /each
$249.00 /each
Name Wi-Fi Programmable Touchscreen Thermostat + Free App Wi-Fi Smart Thermostat Learning Thermostat, 3rd generation Ecobee3 7-Day Smarter Wi-Fi Programmable Thermostat with Remote Sensor, HomeKit Enabled
Brand Honeywell Honeywell Nest ecobee
Ratings (474) (406) (380) (705)
Features Automatic Heating/Cooling Changeover,Backlit Display,Built-in Wi-Fi,Daylight Savings Time Ready,Filter Monitor,Removable Interface,Touch Screen,Vacation Mode Automatic Heating/Cooling Changeover,Backlit Display,Built-in Wi-Fi,Daylight Savings Time Ready,Filter Monitor,Lockable,Touch Screen,Vacation Mode Backlit Display,Battery Back-Up,Built-in Wi-Fi,Daylight Savings Time Ready,Filter Monitor,Lockable,Touch Screen,Vacation Mode Automatic Heating/Cooling Changeover,Backlit Display,Built-in Wi-Fi,Daylight Savings Time Ready,Filter Monitor,Lockable,Touch Screen,Vacation Mode
Thermostat Program Type 7 - Day 7 - Day 7 - Day 7 - Day
Color Family Whites Metallics Metallics Blacks
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

Does the wi-fi work with both Apple and Android systems?

Asked by: Anonymous
It doesn't support the standard WEP with 26 character passwords to use the WIFI. I have given access to 24 other devices and would either have to change the password and re-do the others, or buy a seperate router to support the WIFI on the thermostat. The thermostat controls work well otherwise.
Answered by: Averageuser
Date published: 2016-06-05

will the honeywell wi-fi smart thermostat have to have internet service in order to operate or can you control it on screen only ???

I have a second home 200 miles from my primary home and I would like to have a thermostat where i can set it so that nobody else can come in and change it , I won't be living there for another year and don't want to pay for internet service till I actually move in.
Asked by: Anonymous
I called a rep from Honeywell because I wanted to know about that issue as well. You MUST have an internet connection. The app goes out to the internet to Honeywell servers and then communicates with this wi-fi thermostat via internet. They have something called a red link thermostat which included hardware so you don't need to have an internet connection. The other thing you may want to look into is Control 4. Control 4 works with some Honeywell thermostats but I am not sure how. Control 4 is the hardware and I think that will communicate with this via LAN or local wi-fi and no internet connection is needed. This Control 4 solution may require that red link thermostat. Control 4 makes their own thermostats but they are slow to respond. I had this in our old house and was glad it was only in the theater. Push 'watch movie' lights dim, temp sets and movie comes on.
Answered by: max
Date published: 2016-08-27

does this thermostat monitor indoor and outdoor humidity?

Asked by: Anonymous
Yes it does. It measures the indoor humidity on it's own, but the outdoor humidity and temperature are downloaded via the wifi. During signup it asks your location.
Answered by: Busimus
Date published: 2016-09-14

will honeywell wifi thermostat model rth9580wf1005 send an email alert if the house temperature drops below a preset alarm temperature

Asked by: Anonymous
Yes, you can set alerts using the website to have it email you alerts if it drops below, or rises above, preset limits you specific. I had a faulty unit and used this feature to see how often the temperature was fluctuating.
Answered by: Woodyville
Date published: 2016-01-30
  • y_2017, m_2, d_26, h_15CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_201
  • loc_, sid_203926327, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 59ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Wi-Fi Smart Thermostat is rated 3.9 out of 5 by 406.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good looking, fun, easy to use I was sooo excited to install this thermostat. The smart aspect really appealed to me, not to mention the 'color matching' feature - how fun! I did the installation myself (even though electricity scares me) and it was super easy. You need a 24 VAC common C wire, which is the fifth wire inside your thermostat wall. It may pay to check before buying this WIFI thermostat. I did NOT have the fifth wire, but found easy to follow instructions online for converting my wiring for the WIFI connection. I first called an HVAC service company, but their quoted charge was VERY high, so I did it myself in minutes! Just follow all the instructions in your guide and you'll soon be enjoying a brand new way to control your heating and cooling!
Date published: 2013-06-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great thermostat, fixed the temperature control problem Like many other reviewer, I had temperature control problem. In the morning, asking increase house from 62F to 68F. The temperature reading on the thermostat lagging 3 F. while temperature reading on the old thermostat saying already reached 68F, the new one still saying 65F and furnace keep running for another 30min until house almost reached 72F. What is I found is that the new Honeywell thermostat is so thin and install so close to the wall, the thermostat is reading wall temperature rather room air temperature. When you heats up house in the morning, it will take long time for wall to heat up so the new honeywell thermostat reads 3-4F behind and keep the furnace running. the fix is simple, I installed 2 small piece of wood, 1/2 wide, 1"long and 1/4 thick. put those two piece woods between thermostat back plate and wall so that the backing plate is 1/4 away from the wall and has some spacing for air to move behind back plate. This fixed the problem!
Date published: 2014-01-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Just wanted to cool Not sure if I have a defective thermostat , we are in Florida just want the house to stay cool Set at 74° If the temperature falls below's the heat kicks on to bring it back to 74° Not sure if I'm wired incorrectly or if it's the thermostat have rewired it a couple times Care less for the heat to kick on when it falls below 74°
Date published: 2016-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great thermostat Got a new A/C+Furnance installed and was in market for a thermostat. It came down between the Nest and the Honeywell RTH9580. Nest has a few more features but the reviews were very mixed. Decided to go with Honeywell instead based on the brand name, company reputation, past experiences and dual-stage heating control. Ordered online but waited nearly three weeks before the unit arrived. The first impression was great. The unit is small and about the size of my palm and with a minimalistic design. Simple yet elegant to fit in most of decor. Installation was a piece of cake and Wi-Fi setup was a breeze (Linksys WRT160NL, three-year old router, IT guy myself). Setup was easy and of an interviewing style. Please note that some selections from the user guide may or may not present based on your answers to previous questions. For instance, if you selected Electric as your heating system type then you won't see or be able to select the Efficiency of the Heating System (user guide, pg. 65). The heating system efficiency only applies to Gas/Oil system type. I tested and verified both the cooling and the heating are working perfect.
Date published: 2013-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use and set up. The product is sleek and modern looking. As advertised it is easy too install and very easy too operate. I was considering a Nest Thermostat but saw this one and it's features. For the price you are getting everything but the kitchen sink. The app that is used in conjunction is easy to use as well. One of my favorite features that is not on many t-stats is the ability to run the fan on it's own at predetermined times. It's great for circulating the air to keep a more even temperature throughout the house. It also has the ability to heat and cool at the same time. Two set points for areas that change temperature dramatically. In other words, you don't need to switch too heat or cooling manually, it does it on it's own. If it gets too hot, the A/C kicks on...just as if it gets too cold, the heat will kick on. All without having to switch between modes manually. After using it for several days i'm very pleased with it. And I think you will be too!
Date published: 2014-05-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Forget Tech Support or Videos, Your on Your Own This was a Christmas gift. I have a four wire system, R G Y W. If you follow the directions, this won't work. the directions suggest that you view the videos. I went to their site, followed the link...Page Not Found! Then I call tech support. After a short wait, I'm connected with a tech that I can't understand. I ask, how's the weather in India? After two more calls, I'm confused and angry. So I returned this the next day. I think they were trying to tell me to install a separate 24 vac. transformer to the C terminal, but I can't say for sure. They couldn't tell me were to land the wires, as the language barrier was too hard to overcome. Then they said it was incompatible with my split system.
Date published: 2015-12-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Good Product Picked this device up yesterday and installed it immediately as my old thermostat bit the dust. I price matched with another store and got a additional 10% off thanks to a tip by a previous reviewer. The installation of this device was rather simple and the wire connectors on the device were very handy, you simply push the wires instead of needing to use a screwdriver. I found it a bit annoying that you had to use a C wire as mine was not connected on the furnace end so needed to do that as well. If I didn't have a C wire this would have been a nightmare to install. Once mounted the setup on the thermostat was simple with guided on screen menus that take you through the various options. There is also a help button on every screen which when selected gives you a brief description of what everything actually does. Connection to my home WiFi was done quickly and easily as well. From the app point of view I will say I'm not wow'd but I am satisfied. I had to go to a website to first create an account and register the device and then could download the app and connect. The app has all the basic functions including, manual temp override, scheduling, fan control and system control. Overall it functions well but could look and flow a little nicer imo. The other thing I noticed is that it doesn't connect to the thermostat in real time, meaning as I adjust the temp it is not adjusting the thermostat. It rather builds a 'batch' of all the changes you make and then when you save it sends them all to the device. This can take time in some instances and seems like this could have been setup more efficiently. Either way, I'm satisfied and it works. The other limitation to the device and app is that there is ZERO reporting of any kind. So if your interested in monitoring your energy use in anyway this is not the thermostat for you. From a usability perspective on the device itself it's very nice. It allows multiple ways to customize the look of the screen and colour scheme. The screen itself for a thermostat is actually very sharp and bright, the touch response is poor at best but since all buttons are large and you rarely need to touch it, I'm OK with it. The device also comes with a link to 'accuweather' via your WiFi which gives you a read out of the outdoor temperature and humidity. While this is nice, I would have liked the option of actually running something outside to control this rather than accuweather. When I initially installed the device the weather was working, once it self-updated the firmware though it broke. I was left with a permanent 'waiting for updates'. After a lot of troubleshooting I discovered that the software is very temperamental with the city and postal code combination. I had to try neighbouring postal codes until it finally populated the outdoor temp. Overall the device has some quirks but I fully recommend it. Just note the few limitations with this device since it's now using 3-4 year old tech.
Date published: 2015-07-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from RTH9580WF not sensing temperature correctly Brand new unit - installed and connected without problems - temperature measurement is unfortunately very inaccurate in comparison to the prior battery operated Honeywell unit it replaced. I have already reduced back light to 2 on idle to minimize heat generated by the display unit itself to be the cause of the problem. I believe the temperature measuring problem may be related to the c wire power supply setup System is pretty standard gas/forced air Trane XV80 furnace and XR15 AC. ---------------------------------- Unit information Software Revision 01.00.01.00 Application Revision 01.00.01.00 Configuration Revision 04.00 Radio Revision 01.03.00.00 Date Code 1322 ------------------------------------- I'll give it another day or so and will do some more research - if I cant get it to run and work correctly it will have to go back.
Date published: 2013-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better after firmware updates After first installing this thermostat I was having the same problems others were mentioning with the temperature being off 4-5 degrees compared with my old thermostat and with another room thermometer. Now a few firmware updates later, it is reading the same as the old thermostat. (Current Software: 01.01.02.00, Application: 01.00.11.00, Configuration: 04.00, Radio: 01.07.00.00) My previous thermostat was battery operated and did not have a C wire. Fortunately there was an extra wire in the bundle so I only had to hook it up at the new thermostat and run a couple feet of wire over to the C terminal on the furnace control panel. Overall this is an improvement over my old thermostat as it is 7 day programmable (vs weekday and weekend) and has a circulation fan mode (vs auto and on). Previously I left the fan running 24/7 to balance the temperature between floors. Now I am running the fan 65% less and the temperature is still balanced.
Date published: 2013-12-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Beautiful Thermostat But All Over the Place Accuracy-Wise We previously had 2 Filtrete 3M50 WiFi thermostats in our upstairs/downstairs of our house for the past several years. The one downstairs was fried about a week ago following a storm that rolled through. Since the Filtrete 3M50 isn't manufacturered any longer by Filtrete, I had to look for a different WiFi thermostat to replace it with. I chose the Honeywell RTH9580WF thermostat due to Honeywell's reputation and due to the appearance and features of the thermostat. I could be more dissatisfied with this purchase and the up and down inaccuracy the thermostat reports as far as its interpretation of the temperature of the downstairs of our home. I can stand in front of the thermostat on the wall and sit there motionless without anything going on in the house and watch the reported indoor temperature of the house vary from time to time by a swing of several degrees in both directions. I have a manual thermometer sitting directly on top of the RTH9580WF and have tried more times than I can explain to adjust the thermostat's "offset" setting to match what the manual thermometer is reporting temperature-wise, basically to no avail. I literally was standing in front of the thermostat this morning and the thermometer in the house was reporting it was 72, the Honeywell thermostat was reporting it to be 74. As I stood there several feet from both the thermostat and the thermometer, the Honeywell thermostat jumped down to reporting it was 72 instead of 74. A few min. later, the Honeywell thermostat jumped back up to reporting it was 74 again instead of 72. It's literally all over the place and I do not in any form or fashion trust that the temperature it's reading is correct. Our previous thermostat by the different manufacturer was rock solid. I simply installed it about 3 years ago and walked away and it just simply worked. Another issue with the Honeywell thermostat is the face that it's constantly dropping connection to our wireless router in the house. Again, the previous WiFi thermostat was rock solid in terms of maintaining a connection to the wireless router and literally was rarely offline only when our power to the house was knocked out due to a storm. The thermostat is within close proximity to the wireless router in the house, so it's not an issue of the wireless router being upstairs in one side of the house and the thermostat being far away in the downstairs/opposite side of the house trying to maintain a connection. There's supposedly new firmware being released and pushed to the thermostats throughout this week that's supposed to address/resolve the temperature inaccuracy/calibration issues as well as other issues. I'm doing the best I can to hang onto the thermostat to see if the firmware update, when my device receives it, resolved the calibration issues. If it doesn't, this thing is back in the box and back to Home Depot. $250 is too much to spend for a device that you constantly have to fiddle with to try to compensate for the temperature calibration issues myself and so many others are experiencing. Check the complaints within this review section... they're rampant regarding the temperature calibration situation. I simply cannot recommend this thermostat based on my experiences with it thus far over the past week. Might be a different story after new firmware is pushed to the device, but I'll wait and see on that once the device receives it.
Date published: 2013-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great! This thermostat was really easy to install and set up. The app was just as user friendly. I followed the instructions and had it all working in less than 30 minutes. I love the fact that I can check on the house temperature while I am away from home. (Teenagers at home) The color schemes really integrate it with the decor. I would recommend this product to anybody. If a 56 yr old woman can install it, anybody can.
Date published: 2014-09-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Important Information for all owners Bought the rth9580wf when Home Depot first got them in. Like many of you, major problems with in-accurate temp readings. Called Tech support twice had me try various things, nothing worked. Called this morning 7-26-2013 They had me read the full model number on the back of the unit. In my case it was rth9580wf-005 As soon as I read that number they informed me that they are recalling my rev and that they would be sending me out a new unit and to put mine in the return envelope that will be sent with the new unit. I did not have to give a creit card number. Tech support led me to believe that this is a major recall but for only those customers that contact them. I'll let you know how the new rev works and what revision number that it it
Date published: 2013-07-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Garbage! I work in the trades; so i know what I'm doing. Installation was a breeze, with no problems. The main issue with this thermostat is what others have stated; in that the temperature it senses is all over the place. I have a very accurate electronic temp/humidity thermometer that I use for work, which I placed directly on top of the thermostat.Right out of the box, the stat was 5 degrees off and the Realitive humidity was off by almost 10%.This was even after letting the thermostat get acclimated to the room and insulating the area behind the thermostat for drafts. In the advanced settings I adjusted it to be closer to what the actual room temperature was; but the thermostat would always show the room temperature 4-5 degrees higher or lower that what the actual temperature. There is no way this thing will ever work acting like this. A call to tech support could not come up with a solution either. Honeywell makes great products; but at the price this costs, I cannot recomend this one. I will be returning this back to the store.
Date published: 2013-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Has every feature needed. This WiFi thermostat has every feature you need, and it is easy to program. It is the smallest of all the thermostats I have seen recently, so when you install, get ready to do some minor patching and touchup painting if needed. See photo. When you install, be sure the excess wires go back into the wall or in the wiring compartment. Some of my wires were too long and extended across the mounting plate, causing the thermostat to be loose on the wall. I moved the wires into the wall, and it secures nicely. See photos. This thermostat also is full color so you can color-coordinate with your interior. ANd of course it has remote access, which works great. The only minor concern is that the remote access web site does not allow you to program ALL the settings of the thermostat, just the schedule, and basic controls. I wish it had full remote programming. Finally, its a Honeywell thermostat so you get a great product and superior support. They even have online videos to show you how to install under even unusual conditions. So watch those videos first; they help.
Date published: 2013-07-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Just a little dissapointed. A/C run's almost constantly. Installation was quick and easy and so was the setup. Where my problem cones in at is after I buy and install the thermostat I find out there is only a 1 degree differential between set point and start. In other words with thermostat set on 76 degrees and the temp climbs up to 77 the A/C kicks back on. A/C runs way more with this thermostat than my old Honeywell. You would think it would be more like a 3 degree spread in temps. or at least user adjustable. My air handler constantly drips water/condensation from being on so much (cold air handler in a warm/hot crawl space), it's a good thing it's under my house or there would be water damage it drips so much. And yes my vent ducts also drips a little water. They are insulated well also. Never had this problem with the old thermostat. I will be watching my electric bill and if there's a drastic change I will return this to H.D.
Date published: 2016-07-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not Geared for Home Heat Pumps I bought the Honeywell RTH9580 wifi thermostat hoping to use it with my 10-year-old home heat pump system. All was well until I tried to wire it up to my existing heat pump set up of 8 wires (all were used by my 10-year-old no-frills RobertShaw thermostat). The Honeywell wifi unit has no good explanation in the printed instructions nor in the online FAQ/videos to address this problem. In fact, they list a number of workarounds for heat pumps which deviate from their normal wiring procedure (none fit my case). This tells me this unit was not primarily designed for home heat pumps. Customer service does not answer the phone during office hours. I'm returning it for something that works with a heat pump!
Date published: 2015-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Nice Product, March 13, 2015 Followed Quick Start Guide, and within 30 minutes thermostat was up and running. Followed all the prompts. Within no time of loading thermostat's Mac address and ID, it found my network. Typed in my p/w I was able to communicate with their app. No hitches for me. Scheduling was straight forward with the option to choose help if needed. Outside temp is a nice feature. Thermostat did an update with no hick ups. I was able to match my decor as well. Many options to use if needed, and easy to get to them. Honeywell did very well with this thermostat and instructions. Hopefully one day they will be able to control modulating furnaces. Note 1: this thermostat was offered cheaper at a competitor. The staff at Home Depot were more than happy to match the price plus give an additional 10% off after verifying it. Saved me an hour and half driving. Great purchasing experience at my local Home Depot. Note 2: if you purchase this thermostat and a few others carried at Home Depot, Hydro One will also give a rebate of $100 if purchased before March 27, 2015.
Date published: 2015-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EXCELLENT CHOICE THIS IS THE SECOND HONEYWELL WIFI THERMOSTAT THAT I HAVE PURCHASED. IT IS VERY EASY TO INSTALL AND GIVES THE HOMEOWNER MAXIMUM FLEXIBILITY TO CHANGE HEATING OR COOLIN SETTINGS TO MATCH ANY CONDITION. SETTING UP THE SCHEDULE IS SUPER EASY AND MUCH QUICKER THAN OTHER THERMOSTATS THAT I HAVE OWNED. THE WIFI CONNECTION ALLOWS FOR CHECKING CONDITIONS AND MAKING ADJUSTMENTS WHILE AWAY FROM HOME. THIS IS PARTICULARLY USEFUL FOR THOSE WHO VACATION FOR EXTENDED PERIODS. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS THERMOSTAT.
Date published: 2016-07-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not Worth It Installed the thermostat and used it for 45 days with no problem. On the coldest day of the year it just crapped out completely. Also the customer service was terrible to deal with. I bought a Nest for $20 more and it's well worth the extra money. Hope this helps!
Date published: 2016-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great buy for the money... I really like the features of this thermostat, especially the large display does not require me to put my glasses on to read it.The Wi-Fi connectivity is great in that I can get both outdoor and indoor temperature & humidity at a glance either from the panel or online. Added bonus is makes a great night light for the hallway. This device entitled us to a $50 rebate from our natural gas utility. There is one weird thing it does - around 2AM, the panel changes color for a while then changes back after an hour or so - very strange, but not a deal breaker. So far we love it.
Date published: 2016-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love technology and this is excellent! My initial impression seeing it in the box was WOW! I tend to be a little nerdy when it comes to electronic gadgets and new technologies. Needless to say I was excited, to say the least, to get this installed. I was replacing another Honeywell brand programmable (but not wi-fi) thermostat with this one. I've switched thermostats a few times in my house (from old dial type to programmable) so I was familiar with the process. After removing the old thermostat I realized it did not have a "C" wire as indicated and needed for powering this unit. Luckily for me I pulled some of the slack wiring from the wall and discovered a blue wire folded over not being used. I went to the basement where my furnace is and low and behold there was the same blue wire being unused at the furnace. Thankfully my furnace is less than 5 years old so it had a "C" terminal. It was only a matter of connecting that to the "C" terminal on my furnace control panel and then connecting the other end to the corresponding "C" terminal on the thermostat. Simple really! Once I had all the connections secured and the thermostat wall mounted (I was able to use the same holes thankfully) I turned power back on to my furnace and viola the thermostat came to life! Now was the fun part! It was very intuitive and guided you through setup onscreen. The touch screen is very responsive and user friendly. Connecting to my in home wireless network was easy to do after I had to stop and think for a minute for what my password was. I went through powering up my heat, cooling, and fan to make sure everything was working right. I really like that it has a new option for circulating your fan to freshen up and allow an air exchange in your house. It still has an on and auto option as well. The screen is clear and bright and I really like the option of selecting your own background color. It helps for decor matching if you're into that. One other feature I like on this is it showing the outside weather and indoor/outdoor humidity. This is all done through your wireless Internet connection using your area you program during initial setup. It comes with reminders, customizable, like air filter changing. Best of all is the flexibility of being able to control this from wherever you are! I installed the Honeywell app on my iPhone and iPad and can tap into my home thermostat wherever I'm at. You just need to setup a free account through Honeywell to do so. This has proved handy lately as it has been extremely hot and humid lately and when I'm getting ready to leave work, about a half hour drive, I can tap into my home system and start the cooling process so it'll be comfortable once I arrive. Of course be sure to do this prior to getting behind the wheel to be safe! The app also allows you to program all the various parameters if you'd like. This can also be done onscreen with the device. Pretty much anything you can do on the thermostat itself the app allows you to do. If I had one complaint, somewhat minor, it would be that it will often say "waiting for update" on the screen. When this appears you are unable to see the outside temperature/humidity. I know it's not my Internet connection as my other gadgets maintain just fine. Again this is so minor that I can live with it. Highly recommend this excellent Wi-Fi Smart thermostat from Honeywell! I think in the long run it'll allow my system to run more efficiently and save me money in the process.
Date published: 2013-06-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice display! The only item not available on the app interface is the ability to see if the unit is running and what 'mode' it is in. On the actual thermostat you see "COOL MODE" or "COOL ON" which means the unit is running. If I am in the house I already know that it is running. Away from home it would be nice to know.
Date published: 2014-08-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love It! Installed in about 30 minutes after a review of the install on youtube. Love the ease of use with the programs available to set. We are saving about $40 a month on power bills. Nice to be able to check on the home from anywhere with a smartphone or tablet. Needs an alert like Nest for power efficiency.
Date published: 2014-08-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not recommended for an older home We have an older home with old wiring, and my husband is an electrical engineer and could not install it. We returned it for a different model.
Date published: 2016-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Diminutive, sleek, and very stylish The first thing that struck me about the thermostat was how compact it is. I replaced an existing Honeywell WiFi enabled thermostat with this model (see the side by side photographs for an idea on size). The display is crisp and bright, and the touchscreen is responsive and accurate. Previous WiFi enabled Honeywell thermostats required a more involved setup procedure to link to your home WiFi. This new model connects to your home network using an intuitive onscreen setup process, with guidance for each step. I had this setup and connected to my home network in less than a minute. I was extremely happy to see this model has a "recirculate" setting for the fan. The fan can be set to run continuously, only when heating or cooling, and now in recirculate mode. This new mode will run the fan whenever you call for heat/cooling, but will also periodically run just the fan to refresh stale air or balance heated/cooled areas. If your home is energy efficient and your AC/heat does not run often, then this recirculate setting is a great addition. Another new feature is compressor protection, this will pauses the compressor for 2 minutes if it has just shut off and you call for cool again. Inside humidity is shown onscreen, and if connected to your wireless network it will show approximate outside temperature by connecting to the internet and looking up the weather for your area. Like all modern thermostats, this requires the "C" wire be present to work. The unit is so compact, installing wires can be fiddly. I've been using the free iPhone app from Honeywell to flawlessly control my previous WiFi thermostat for around 6 months. This new thermostat was quick to add to the application. I moved the previous thermostat to our Mother-In-Law suite. We can now wirelessly control both thermostats at the same time. Programming time periods can be done onscreen, on the iPhone app, or via the internet. This makes setting up the thermostat a breeze. The convenience of being able to adjust the temperature before you get home is awesome. If I am going to be early or late home I can set the temperature on my drive home.
Date published: 2013-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding wifi programmable thermostat, provided you can supply power to it This is an outstanding wifi thermostat. Our existing thermostat only had Y,G,W and R wires. This thermostat requires a C wire to operate, as it is powered by a 24V current. I was able to power this thermostat by hooking up the Rc and C terminals to a separately purchased 24 volt AC transformer. There are other wiring configurations as well if you have no C wire in your existing thermostat setup. I connected all the other wires to the same terminals as the former thermostat, and everything worked! The wifi connection and downloadable app to control the thermostat work flawlessly. There are countless ways to control the heating and cooling functions. Once I was able to solve the wiring problem, the thermostat worked great! I highly recommend it.
Date published: 2015-12-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Smart thermostat doesnt seem to stay linked to Wink App. Purchased this thermostat because it said it was compatible to the WINK system. You can load it on the wink app, but it continues to lose connection, 99.5% of the time the wrong information is displayed on Wink app, and just looks like it is communicating, but it is not. Have reloaded many times trying to get it to hold connection and work properly, but to no avail. Also, the display stays lite up like a Christmas tree 24/7, there should be a sleep mode, or dimming option. It is like having a light on in the middle of the night. Thermostat does work well with Honeywell app, but the whole point was I didn't want to have a different app for each item in the household, I wanted them to all work together on one app. Not sure if it is a Honeywell issue or a Wink issue, but either way it doesn't work with Wink. Easy to setup, and nice looking on wall. Overall I think it was a bit pricey for basically a glorified programmable thermostat.
Date published: 2016-04-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It's upsetting, but ultimately pleased Initially, I was not impressed. Out of the box, the 9580 is programmed for manual operation. I don't know what dummy programmed it this way. With any New gadget, you would expect all options top be available as soon as it's plugged in. I'm sure they suffered many returns due to this feature not being the default. Auto change over is a setting that needs to be setup in the advanced preferences menu. Go to "MENU" > "Preferences" > "Advanced Preferences" After you set up the advanced Preferences for auto change over. Go to "System" on the main thermostat display and select "Automatic".
Date published: 2015-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent / easy setup product Tstat sets up easily. Good replacement for old Tstat had o hook up 24v wire rom Air handler to tstat. Can control from my phone via internet. Was easy to setup Internet connection. Help at home depot was limited had to look up needed wiring on google.but ladies tried to help best they could
Date published: 2016-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy as pie Easy to install and set up. App is easy to manage from a smartphone. It has saved us a lot of expense because we can set temperature on a schedule or change if we are going to be away for an extended period of time. My friends have the Nest and this is A LOT better.
Date published: 2016-04-12
  • y_2017, m_2, d_27, h_4
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_406
  • loc_, sid_203926327, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 152ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT