Model # RTH9580WF

Internet #203926327

Store SKU #1000002280

Honeywell Wi-Fi Smart Thermostat
0085267890762

Honeywell

Wi-Fi Smart Thermostat

  • Wi-Fi-enabled thermostat allows for remote access
  • Beautiful, bright, full-color customizable screen
  • Works with the Wink home automation network
Was  $199.00
$17900 /each

Save $20.00 (10%)

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Wink App Ready, No Hub Required


WINK APP READY

Control this product and others from anywhere using Wink mobile app, a quick and simple way to connect you 
and your favorite smart products. It's got Wink technology built right in, so there's no additional hub required. 
For more information, visit homedepot.com/wink

Adjust your thermostat from anywhere. Create your own unique look to match your home's decor. Enjoy unsurpassed comfort control. Receive reminders to change a filter or be alerted of extreme home temps. Beauty and brains collide with Honeywell's Smart Wi-Fi Thermostat.

  • Wi-Fi enabled - control from anywhere
  • Bright, full-color screen for easy visibility
  • Smart response technology for the precise temp when you want it
  • Automatic energy-saving settings that fit your life
  • Customizable color settings to match your decor
  • Auto alerts ensure on-time filter changes and let you know about extreme temps
  • Shows local weather conditions including temperature and humidity
  • Easy to set up
  • Reliable app backed by Honeywell's dependable network
  • Peace of mind - controls energy use, ensures safe temps for pets or keeps tabs on a vacation home
  • Auto-updates for daylight savings; adjusts for 12/24-hour time and multi-language needs
  • Quick schedule changes - update your settings for temporary holds or vacations; restore everyday settings in a snap
  • Help on demand - onscreen help button answers questions as you go
  • How to choose the right thermostat for your home
  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Customers Also Compared These

Price
Was $149.00
$99.00 /each
Save $50.00 (34%)
Was $219.00
$179.00 /each
Save $40.00 (18%)
$185.00 /each
$249.00 /each
Name Wi-Fi Programmable Touchscreen Thermostat + Free App Wi-Fi Smart Thermostat Ecobee3 7-Day Smarter Wi-Fi Programmable Thermostat with Remote Sensor, HomeKit Enabled Learning Thermostat, 3rd generation
Brand Honeywell Honeywell ecobee Nest
Ratings (612) (449) (850) (524)
Thermostat Program Type 7 - Day 7 - Day 7 - Day 7 - Day
Features Automatic Heating/Cooling Changeover,Backlit Display,Built-in Wi-Fi,Daylight Savings Time Ready,Filter Monitor,Removable Interface,Touch Screen,Vacation Mode Automatic Heating/Cooling Changeover,Backlit Display,Built-in Wi-Fi,Daylight Savings Time Ready,Filter Monitor,Lockable,Touch Screen,Vacation Mode Automatic Heating/Cooling Changeover,Backlit Display,Built-in Wi-Fi,Daylight Savings Time Ready,Filter Monitor,Lockable,Touch Screen,Vacation Mode Backlit Display,Battery Back-Up,Built-in Wi-Fi,Daylight Savings Time Ready,Filter Monitor,Lockable,Touch Screen,Vacation Mode
Color Family Whites Metallics Blacks Metallics
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

Does the wi-fi work with both Apple and Android systems?

Asked by: Anonymous
It doesn't support the standard WEP with 26 character passwords to use the WIFI. I have given access to 24 other devices and would either have to change the password and re-do the others, or buy a seperate router to support the WIFI on the thermostat. The thermostat controls work well otherwise.
Answered by: Averageuser
Date published: 2017-05-13

will the honeywell wi-fi smart thermostat have to have internet service in order to operate or can you control it on screen only ???

I have a second home 200 miles from my primary home and I would like to have a thermostat where i can set it so that nobody else can come in and change it , I won't be living there for another year and don't want to pay for internet service till I actually move in.
Asked by: Anonymous
I called a rep from Honeywell because I wanted to know about that issue as well. You MUST have an internet connection. The app goes out to the internet to Honeywell servers and then communicates with this wi-fi thermostat via internet. They have something called a red link thermostat which included hardware so you don't need to have an internet connection. The other thing you may want to look into is Control 4. Control 4 works with some Honeywell thermostats but I am not sure how. Control 4 is the hardware and I think that will communicate with this via LAN or local wi-fi and no internet connection is needed. This Control 4 solution may require that red link thermostat. Control 4 makes their own thermostats but they are slow to respond. I had this in our old house and was glad it was only in the theater. Push 'watch movie' lights dim, temp sets and movie comes on.
Answered by: max
Date published: 2017-04-27

does this thermostat monitor indoor and outdoor humidity?

Asked by: Anonymous
Yes it does. It measures the indoor humidity on it's own, but the outdoor humidity and temperature are downloaded via the wifi. During signup it asks your location.
Answered by: Busimus
Date published: 2016-09-14

will honeywell wifi thermostat model rth9580wf1005 send an email alert if the house temperature drops below a preset alarm temperature

Asked by: Anonymous
Yes, you can set alerts using the website to have it email you alerts if it drops below, or rises above, preset limits you specific. I had a faulty unit and used this feature to see how often the temperature was fluctuating.
Answered by: Woodyville
Date published: 2016-01-30
  • y_2017, m_6, d_23, h_1CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_216
  • loc_, sid_203926327, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 99ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Wi-Fi Smart Thermostat is rated 3.9 out of 5 by 449.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Great idea but poor execution I have had the thermostat installed for about 6 months. I am running an air to air heat pump with electric back up. During the summer months things seemed to be going fine. When the winter temps set in things changed. This thing would come up in the morning around 5 AM (my choice) and would after about 10 minutes kick on the Aux heat trying to heat the house up . It would run the aux heat for up to 45 minutes and the house would heat up to around 24 degrees C even though the thermostat read 21. It has a real problem reading the correct temperature in the house to shut itself down at the correct time. Reading other fourms it seems to be a growing prob. Honeywell has been contacted and they tell me that there is a new software update coming. I have seen a few come and go with no improvement. I would hold off buying this until it is fixed properly. Other than that one glaring issue I think the idea behind it is great.
Date published: 2014-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Thermostat on the market This is the third one I have installed in two separate homes. Programmable, remotely accessible via WIFI, displays both outdoor and indoor temp and humidity and display can be set to a multitude of background and font colors (my wife loves that). If you have a five wire supply to your current thermostat, install is a breeze. If not you may wish to have a pro install as it is a little more complicated and requires going into the control box on the furnace. There are great YouTube videos to help with install and great info on Honeywell website. I will continue to install this thermostat anywhere I live, we love it. For the record, I am not a honeywell rep but a great product deserves a great review!
Date published: 2016-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Honeywell Wi-Fi Smart Thermostate Love it. Easy to install. Very user friendly set up. Remotely control from the Web. And you are able to change/match the LCD to your wall color!
Date published: 2016-12-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This thermostat has serious defect. It shorts out the power provided by the furnace when going fr... This thermostat has serious defect. It shorts out the power provided by the furnace when going from Heat On to Heat Off. This can blow a fuse or damage the control board in the furnace. When the heat should be turned off, the thermostat screen goes blank. This is because the 24V from the heater has dropped to under 4V due to a short circuit in this thermostat. The thermostat will start back up displaying the Honeywell logo. Once the thermostat has restarted, everything will look normal. You have to be standing by the thermostat to see this happen. This has happened in multiple thermostats.
Date published: 2016-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thermostat Love it I'm 72 a d don't have to run back and forth to set it can do it from my phone
Date published: 2016-12-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't waste your money Installed the first one. The wi fi was good, looked impressive however it would not calibrate. I would set it for 76 and it would keep running. Finally getting so cold I would have to turn it off manually. Same thing on heat cycle. Called tech support they claim unit is defective. Sent new one and same results. Took back for a refund and got the Sensi. Works great and is less money. also have it hooked up to my Amazon Echo.
Date published: 2016-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very cool and really easy The installation process turned out a lot easier than expected. My old thermostat did not have the C wire hookup but it did have the extra wire so it turned out to be pretty easy to install. The unit is smaller than my old one so I had some drywall and paint touchup to do. The unit itself is very readable and very easy to use. However, the Honeywell Apps for iPad and iPhone were really nice. Setting the schedule was extremely simple. The reason I picked this one over all the others (including the Nest) was the circulating fan. What a great feature to moderate house temperature. The circulating feature will run your fan periodically so that you can keep temps on two levels more consistent. I rated the value high, even though it is expensive, as it had more capabilities than the Nest for the same price.
Date published: 2013-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great purchase... This has to be one of the best thermostat's I've ever purchased. It was simple to install (myself) and has a very small footprint with a large easy-view colour screen! The real killer feature is that when you register, it gets your outside temperature and humidity using the built-in WiFi, without the need for external sensors! So, you get both inside and outside temps at a glance. It's easy to use - simple to setup and very intuitive. It beats thermostats at twice the price -- and there are plenty of those. My only issue is, as was mentioned by another reviewer here, the mobile app has no access to advanced settings and the web interface isn't easy to navigate when trying to access advanced settings. Other than that - I think this is tremendous value when compared to other devices out there, and it's very reliable. I have had Honeywell advanced thermostats for a very long time and they have always proven to be very reliable. I love the mobile app on my Android phone. I also love the fact that it will send me messages should there be issues where the temps either exceed, or are below the setpoints, and you can tell it what the allowable thresholds are and how often to send those messages. I'm about to install a 2nd heat pump in my home and I think I'll buy another one of these for that system too!
Date published: 2013-11-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works great until it doesn't I travel a lot for work, so it is nice to be able to reach back and monitor the temp of the house. I considered this and the nest, but the nest was too simplistic for what I wanted, and I don't like the commercials, so I went with this one. Glad I did, this thermostat fits the bill nicely. Unfortunately, after 6 months, it stopped connecting to my wifi. It shows: "thermostat's internal wi-fi is no longer working." Manufacturer warranty is good for 1 year. Should be a no-brainer, but it took some effort on my part. Their initial reaction was, take it back to where you purchased it from. Unacceptable. It took 2 emails, a call to Home Depot and a call direct to Honeywell (on back of thermostat) to get them to agree to send me a replacement thermostat. I mean, $200 is not exactly chump change. But I am pretty happy, they are shipping me a new one. As a result, I do recommend this thermostat. When it works, it is terrific.
Date published: 2015-06-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Update Update from before - I contacted Honeywell by email and received no response finally called and they said could solve problem, asked me to disconnect wi-fi and they would take care of problem and call me back in 15 minutes. Glad I didn't take the faceplate off as he suggested because it's now 14 hrs later and no call. So would have been without AC all night in 100 weather. They apparently fixed it because I could finally register it but apparently all the wi-fi does is let you look at and change schedule on the thermostat. BUT the primary reason I changed out the thermostat is because I wanted one that would automatically change from AC to heat when needed. This one was supposed to do that but apparently does not. Directions say automatic option depends on how it was installed so no idea what that means but it doesn't show up on this thermostat. So I am stuck with this thermostat that has already cost me almost 400.00 to buy and install and it does nothing different than the old one. Can't afford to replace now so will leave it in till I can afford to get one that does what it says - NOT a Honeywell if I can afford it.
Date published: 2016-08-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't waste your time! I have used Honeywell thermostats for years and recommended them to friends. Due to the Honeywell brand I was happy to purchase this new thermostat. I installed the backing plate without a problem. The material used to construct the backing plate and thermostat is flimsy and could not keep its shape. The thermostat would not lock into the backing plate. I wasted my time and had to reinstall my old thermostat.
Date published: 2016-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally! A 21st century thermostat from Honeywell! I am probably not alone in that I had looked at the Nest many times drooling over the sleek look and fancy features. However, being a techy, I really didn't need a thermostat that auto-learns for me. Instead what I wanted was a thermostat that combined Honeywell's easy to program touch screen models with the looks of a modern device. Finally, I am happy to say, this is it! Aesthetics/Build Quality - This unit finally ditches the "1990's plastic toy" look of all the other touch screen thermostats. Its trades the thick white plastic look for a nice sleek, thin light grey panel and color display. The display itself is probably the most welcome change allowing the unit to display high contrast text and beautiful graphics in one. The themes are very nice and I am currently using "Blaze" a dark yellow/orange theme that is very classy. The default theme looks very nice as well. Custom themes are nice, but unfortunately they lose some of the graduations that are included with the included themes. Build quality wise, no it's not a nest. It doesn't have a metal ring around the outside or a true glass front panel. However, it is solid and well built. The touchscreen works well while still displaying a lot of information. The screen doesn't have the high quality feel of modern high tech devices that I wished it would have given the price tag. However, it works just fine. Interface - The thermostat is very intuitive. Honeywell needs to be congratulated on always executing on creating an easy to program thermostat. With the ability to ask contextual questions given the LCD screen, setup was a breeze. It asks easy questions like: "Is your cooling system energy efficient (>90%)?" On previous models this was in a service menu where you had to open the instruction manual to relate numbers to certain settings. A welcome improvement. The main screen displays a wealth of information. It has current indoor temperature, current indoor humidity, outdoor temperature, outdoor humidity, set temperature, time, date, and system status. The outdoor temp and humidity is particularly welcome as a nice way to determine if it would be wise to turn off the system and just open the windows. Tapping any section of this screen takes you to the relevant screen of thermostat as a sort of "shortcut". Again, a very welcome and intuitive feature. Performance - Given some of the reviews here, I was prepared to take the unit back if the temperature reading was inaccurate. However, I kept my old thermostat right next to it along with a temperature sensor and a thermocouple and the thermostat was consistent in its measurement. It was generally reading a degree warmer than the old thermostat but I always felt that the old thermostat might be off by a small amount. Programming, as previously mentioned, is very easy. It asks logical questions like: "When does the last person leave the home?" or "When does the last person go to sleep?" These make it even easier to set up your thermostat. If you can't set this one up even the Nest probably can't help you! One extremely welcome feature is the ability to set the fan to circulate. This forces the fan to run approximately 35% of the time, even if the heat or AC is not. This helps, in my experience so far, keep my upstairs cool and equal to my main floor temp. Another welcome addition is that this feature can be programmed to only be active during certain time periods. For example, it can be set to only circulate the air when sleeping. Wifi setup is also fairly easy. I will agree with another reviewer that it would be nice for the website address to be a bit more compact. However, I imagine most people will be using the app to control their thermostat so this is really inconsequential. The app works well and has a very similar interface to the device itself. My only complaint is that it appears that sometimes the command issued by the app can take some time to actually by registered by the device. I have not used this enough yet to learn how long it can take. The first time I used it the temp setting was changed 2 seconds after confirmation. The second time I waited for 30 seconds or so without anything happening. It eventually changed but I was not around to see it happen. Lastly, I wanted to mention a feature that isn't advertised from what I have seen. This is the QUIETEST thermostat I have used. Previous Honeywell's and Emerson (White-Rodgers) clicked audibly when the system was activated. This model still clicks, however the sound level is greatly reduced. If I am standing right in front of it I usually here a very quiet click and then wonder if I actually heard it or not. It really is that quiet. If your thermostat is in a room where disruptions are annoying, this feature could be invaluable. Why they didn't advertise this I have no idea. Value - Regardless of your exact price paid, this is not a cheap thermostat. It is similar in price to the Nest. Is it deserving of that price? Well, on one hand the large touchscreen is very "luxurious". The features are pretty jam packed. The build quality is good and the performance is there. In short, its probably a little high in price for justifying this over some of their lesser models. But if you want the looks, you have to pay the price. Conclusion - This is an excellent, easy to use thermostat that combines great looks with top of the line performance. It is a little on the pricey side, but the competition to this model is a bit sparse so if you were looking for a modern Honeywell Thermostat...this is pretty much it.
Date published: 2013-07-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great thermostat, fixed the temperature control problem Like many other reviewer, I had temperature control problem. In the morning, asking increase house from 62F to 68F. The temperature reading on the thermostat lagging 3 F. while temperature reading on the old thermostat saying already reached 68F, the new one still saying 65F and furnace keep running for another 30min until house almost reached 72F. What is I found is that the new Honeywell thermostat is so thin and install so close to the wall, the thermostat is reading wall temperature rather room air temperature. When you heats up house in the morning, it will take long time for wall to heat up so the new honeywell thermostat reads 3-4F behind and keep the furnace running. the fix is simple, I installed 2 small piece of wood, 1/2 wide, 1"long and 1/4 thick. put those two piece woods between thermostat back plate and wall so that the backing plate is 1/4 away from the wall and has some spacing for air to move behind back plate. This fixed the problem!
Date published: 2014-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from YouTube directions were better to use than the paper I box Bought this product as an initial step to managing my home from my I phone. Prior Honeywell stat was a 4 wire with my the blue wire being dormant. Once I figured out the blue wire went with my white at the furnace then the installation was smooth sailing from their. The change of screen color feature is a nice feature. The Honeywell registration site allows the registered user to give others access to the thermostat as well, which is nice. An added feature I have come to like is that it tells me the outside temperature along with an icon to touch for the zip codes 5 day forecast. So far, so good. I would recommend. Good value.
Date published: 2016-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pricey - but worth it We just replaced out old thermostat with the Honeywell WiFi Smart Thermostat. Installation, for the most part, was quite simple. The biggest hiccup came when we realized that we didn't a "C" wire at which point we were faced with two options - 1. Use the "G" wire as the power, which would result in the fan only running when either the heater or AC was running or 2. Run a new wire. We ran a new wire. The measurements for temp and %RH seem both accurate and precise, and if you have a WiFi connection you'll be able to see the current outdoor conditions. The unit looks beautiful, and the color choices are limitless. Great Buy!
Date published: 2013-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good looking, fun, easy to use I was sooo excited to install this thermostat. The smart aspect really appealed to me, not to mention the 'color matching' feature - how fun! I did the installation myself (even though electricity scares me) and it was super easy. You need a 24 VAC common C wire, which is the fifth wire inside your thermostat wall. It may pay to check before buying this WIFI thermostat. I did NOT have the fifth wire, but found easy to follow instructions online for converting my wiring for the WIFI connection. I first called an HVAC service company, but their quoted charge was VERY high, so I did it myself in minutes! Just follow all the instructions in your guide and you'll soon be enjoying a brand new way to control your heating and cooling!
Date published: 2013-06-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Just wanted to cool Not sure if I have a defective thermostat , we are in Florida just want the house to stay cool Set at 74° If the temperature falls below's the heat kicks on to bring it back to 74° Not sure if I'm wired incorrectly or if it's the thermostat have rewired it a couple times Care less for the heat to kick on when it falls below 74°
Date published: 2016-07-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good thermostat This t-stat works quite well, but it does have a problem with temperature overruns. I set it 2 degrees lower and when it kicks on in the morning it overshoots the temperature, then seems to settle down. One disappointing thing is my wifi is protected and it sometimes loses it's connection and I have to disable my protection to re-establish a connection to the wifi. This is impossible when you are miles away on holiday and you wish to view your home temperature.
Date published: 2015-11-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Good Product Picked this device up yesterday and installed it immediately as my old thermostat bit the dust. I price matched with another store and got a additional 10% off thanks to a tip by a previous reviewer. The installation of this device was rather simple and the wire connectors on the device were very handy, you simply push the wires instead of needing to use a screwdriver. I found it a bit annoying that you had to use a C wire as mine was not connected on the furnace end so needed to do that as well. If I didn't have a C wire this would have been a nightmare to install. Once mounted the setup on the thermostat was simple with guided on screen menus that take you through the various options. There is also a help button on every screen which when selected gives you a brief description of what everything actually does. Connection to my home WiFi was done quickly and easily as well. From the app point of view I will say I'm not wow'd but I am satisfied. I had to go to a website to first create an account and register the device and then could download the app and connect. The app has all the basic functions including, manual temp override, scheduling, fan control and system control. Overall it functions well but could look and flow a little nicer imo. The other thing I noticed is that it doesn't connect to the thermostat in real time, meaning as I adjust the temp it is not adjusting the thermostat. It rather builds a 'batch' of all the changes you make and then when you save it sends them all to the device. This can take time in some instances and seems like this could have been setup more efficiently. Either way, I'm satisfied and it works. The other limitation to the device and app is that there is ZERO reporting of any kind. So if your interested in monitoring your energy use in anyway this is not the thermostat for you. From a usability perspective on the device itself it's very nice. It allows multiple ways to customize the look of the screen and colour scheme. The screen itself for a thermostat is actually very sharp and bright, the touch response is poor at best but since all buttons are large and you rarely need to touch it, I'm OK with it. The device also comes with a link to 'accuweather' via your WiFi which gives you a read out of the outdoor temperature and humidity. While this is nice, I would have liked the option of actually running something outside to control this rather than accuweather. When I initially installed the device the weather was working, once it self-updated the firmware though it broke. I was left with a permanent 'waiting for updates'. After a lot of troubleshooting I discovered that the software is very temperamental with the city and postal code combination. I had to try neighbouring postal codes until it finally populated the outdoor temp. Overall the device has some quirks but I fully recommend it. Just note the few limitations with this device since it's now using 3-4 year old tech.
Date published: 2015-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great thermostat Got a new A/C+Furnance installed and was in market for a thermostat. It came down between the Nest and the Honeywell RTH9580. Nest has a few more features but the reviews were very mixed. Decided to go with Honeywell instead based on the brand name, company reputation, past experiences and dual-stage heating control. Ordered online but waited nearly three weeks before the unit arrived. The first impression was great. The unit is small and about the size of my palm and with a minimalistic design. Simple yet elegant to fit in most of decor. Installation was a piece of cake and Wi-Fi setup was a breeze (Linksys WRT160NL, three-year old router, IT guy myself). Setup was easy and of an interviewing style. Please note that some selections from the user guide may or may not present based on your answers to previous questions. For instance, if you selected Electric as your heating system type then you won't see or be able to select the Efficiency of the Heating System (user guide, pg. 65). The heating system efficiency only applies to Gas/Oil system type. I tested and verified both the cooling and the heating are working perfect.
Date published: 2013-05-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from RTH9580WF not sensing temperature correctly Brand new unit - installed and connected without problems - temperature measurement is unfortunately very inaccurate in comparison to the prior battery operated Honeywell unit it replaced. I have already reduced back light to 2 on idle to minimize heat generated by the display unit itself to be the cause of the problem. I believe the temperature measuring problem may be related to the c wire power supply setup System is pretty standard gas/forced air Trane XV80 furnace and XR15 AC. ---------------------------------- Unit information Software Revision 01.00.01.00 Application Revision 01.00.01.00 Configuration Revision 04.00 Radio Revision 01.03.00.00 Date Code 1322 ------------------------------------- I'll give it another day or so and will do some more research - if I cant get it to run and work correctly it will have to go back.
Date published: 2013-07-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Beautiful Thermostat But All Over the Place Accuracy-Wise We previously had 2 Filtrete 3M50 WiFi thermostats in our upstairs/downstairs of our house for the past several years. The one downstairs was fried about a week ago following a storm that rolled through. Since the Filtrete 3M50 isn't manufacturered any longer by Filtrete, I had to look for a different WiFi thermostat to replace it with. I chose the Honeywell RTH9580WF thermostat due to Honeywell's reputation and due to the appearance and features of the thermostat. I could be more dissatisfied with this purchase and the up and down inaccuracy the thermostat reports as far as its interpretation of the temperature of the downstairs of our home. I can stand in front of the thermostat on the wall and sit there motionless without anything going on in the house and watch the reported indoor temperature of the house vary from time to time by a swing of several degrees in both directions. I have a manual thermometer sitting directly on top of the RTH9580WF and have tried more times than I can explain to adjust the thermostat's "offset" setting to match what the manual thermometer is reporting temperature-wise, basically to no avail. I literally was standing in front of the thermostat this morning and the thermometer in the house was reporting it was 72, the Honeywell thermostat was reporting it to be 74. As I stood there several feet from both the thermostat and the thermometer, the Honeywell thermostat jumped down to reporting it was 72 instead of 74. A few min. later, the Honeywell thermostat jumped back up to reporting it was 74 again instead of 72. It's literally all over the place and I do not in any form or fashion trust that the temperature it's reading is correct. Our previous thermostat by the different manufacturer was rock solid. I simply installed it about 3 years ago and walked away and it just simply worked. Another issue with the Honeywell thermostat is the face that it's constantly dropping connection to our wireless router in the house. Again, the previous WiFi thermostat was rock solid in terms of maintaining a connection to the wireless router and literally was rarely offline only when our power to the house was knocked out due to a storm. The thermostat is within close proximity to the wireless router in the house, so it's not an issue of the wireless router being upstairs in one side of the house and the thermostat being far away in the downstairs/opposite side of the house trying to maintain a connection. There's supposedly new firmware being released and pushed to the thermostats throughout this week that's supposed to address/resolve the temperature inaccuracy/calibration issues as well as other issues. I'm doing the best I can to hang onto the thermostat to see if the firmware update, when my device receives it, resolved the calibration issues. If it doesn't, this thing is back in the box and back to Home Depot. $250 is too much to spend for a device that you constantly have to fiddle with to try to compensate for the temperature calibration issues myself and so many others are experiencing. Check the complaints within this review section... they're rampant regarding the temperature calibration situation. I simply cannot recommend this thermostat based on my experiences with it thus far over the past week. Might be a different story after new firmware is pushed to the device, but I'll wait and see on that once the device receives it.
Date published: 2013-07-31
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Wasn't able to use it This item didn't work for me. I would have need to hire an hvac guy to add a cord to get me to 24volts. I guess I need something battery operated.
Date published: 2016-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better after firmware updates After first installing this thermostat I was having the same problems others were mentioning with the temperature being off 4-5 degrees compared with my old thermostat and with another room thermometer. Now a few firmware updates later, it is reading the same as the old thermostat. (Current Software: 01.01.02.00, Application: 01.00.11.00, Configuration: 04.00, Radio: 01.07.00.00) My previous thermostat was battery operated and did not have a C wire. Fortunately there was an extra wire in the bundle so I only had to hook it up at the new thermostat and run a couple feet of wire over to the C terminal on the furnace control panel. Overall this is an improvement over my old thermostat as it is 7 day programmable (vs weekday and weekend) and has a circulation fan mode (vs auto and on). Previously I left the fan running 24/7 to balance the temperature between floors. Now I am running the fan 65% less and the temperature is still balanced.
Date published: 2013-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use and set up. The product is sleek and modern looking. As advertised it is easy too install and very easy too operate. I was considering a Nest Thermostat but saw this one and it's features. For the price you are getting everything but the kitchen sink. The app that is used in conjunction is easy to use as well. One of my favorite features that is not on many t-stats is the ability to run the fan on it's own at predetermined times. It's great for circulating the air to keep a more even temperature throughout the house. It also has the ability to heat and cool at the same time. Two set points for areas that change temperature dramatically. In other words, you don't need to switch too heat or cooling manually, it does it on it's own. If it gets too hot, the A/C kicks on...just as if it gets too cold, the heat will kick on. All without having to switch between modes manually. After using it for several days i'm very pleased with it. And I think you will be too!
Date published: 2014-05-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Important Information for all owners Bought the rth9580wf when Home Depot first got them in. Like many of you, major problems with in-accurate temp readings. Called Tech support twice had me try various things, nothing worked. Called this morning 7-26-2013 They had me read the full model number on the back of the unit. In my case it was rth9580wf-005 As soon as I read that number they informed me that they are recalling my rev and that they would be sending me out a new unit and to put mine in the return envelope that will be sent with the new unit. I did not have to give a creit card number. Tech support led me to believe that this is a major recall but for only those customers that contact them. I'll let you know how the new rev works and what revision number that it it
Date published: 2013-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No problems as of yet works fine I am a construction worker but i dont deal with wires lol. Anyway i had no problems getting it set up had to do a google search for a wire as i wanted to make sure it was right. I have a heat pump and it works great with it. I have had no problems with the login to there site using phones and PC it has been working for 8 mouths without any problems. My only worry is what if honewell goes out of busioness and the website is no more but i hope that never happens as i love this thing and my girlfriend is planing on buying one for her job
Date published: 2016-09-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Garbage! I work in the trades; so i know what I'm doing. Installation was a breeze, with no problems. The main issue with this thermostat is what others have stated; in that the temperature it senses is all over the place. I have a very accurate electronic temp/humidity thermometer that I use for work, which I placed directly on top of the thermostat.Right out of the box, the stat was 5 degrees off and the Realitive humidity was off by almost 10%.This was even after letting the thermostat get acclimated to the room and insulating the area behind the thermostat for drafts. In the advanced settings I adjusted it to be closer to what the actual room temperature was; but the thermostat would always show the room temperature 4-5 degrees higher or lower that what the actual temperature. There is no way this thing will ever work acting like this. A call to tech support could not come up with a solution either. Honeywell makes great products; but at the price this costs, I cannot recomend this one. I will be returning this back to the store.
Date published: 2013-06-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Complicated to use. Why can't you just put it on a setting and forget it like 73 and it stays at ... Complicated to use. Why can't you just put it on a setting and forget it like 73 and it stays at that temperature instead cool is at one setting and heat is at a different. So I set it at 73 and heat automatically sets at 70. I want 73 constant. Maybe it's me but I'm usually pretty good with electronics.
Date published: 2016-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Has every feature needed. This WiFi thermostat has every feature you need, and it is easy to program. It is the smallest of all the thermostats I have seen recently, so when you install, get ready to do some minor patching and touchup painting if needed. See photo. When you install, be sure the excess wires go back into the wall or in the wiring compartment. Some of my wires were too long and extended across the mounting plate, causing the thermostat to be loose on the wall. I moved the wires into the wall, and it secures nicely. See photos. This thermostat also is full color so you can color-coordinate with your interior. ANd of course it has remote access, which works great. The only minor concern is that the remote access web site does not allow you to program ALL the settings of the thermostat, just the schedule, and basic controls. I wish it had full remote programming. Finally, its a Honeywell thermostat so you get a great product and superior support. They even have online videos to show you how to install under even unusual conditions. So watch those videos first; they help.
Date published: 2013-07-02
  • y_2017, m_6, d_23, h_8
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_449
  • loc_, sid_203926327, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 271ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT