0043559086590

House of Fara

Model 8659

Internet #202087579

Store SKU #956220

3/4 in. x 4-1/2 in. x 8 ft. MDF Crown Moulding

$11.76 /piece
  • Highly rated as easy to cut, easy to install, easy to paint
  • White Primed medium density fiber product
  • Wide and bold pattern for classic look

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Get the House of Fara 3/4 in. x 4-1/2 in. x 8 ft. MDF Crown Moulding for a smooth, elegant addition to your home interior. It's free of knots, moisture-resistant, and it can be painted. It cuts and installs easily for a quality look when finished. It will add an architectural touch to any room or project.

California residents: see   Proposition 65 information

  • Made of primed MDF
  • Can be painted to match your decor
  • Resistant to moisture
  • For interior use
  • 96 in. Length

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents.  Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Details

Warranty / Certifications

More Products With These Features

Search

Customer Questions & Answers

16 Questions18 Answers

Customer Questions & Answers

3/4 in. x 4-1/2 in. x 8 ft. MDF Crown Moulding
3/4 in. x 4-1/2 in. x 8 ft. MDF Crown Moulding

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search Term
 
 
Sort By:
 
3 answers

Does anyone know the Spring Angle of this Crown Moulding?

This question is from 3/4 in. x 4-1/2 in. x 8 ft. MDF Crown Moulding
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
February 17, 2016
This is used when determining the setting for the miter saw when cutting flat.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (3)

Asked by
Homer Glen, Illinois
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 2, 2016
Answer: 
Decorative trim at the bottom 38 degrees. Decorative trim at the top 52 degrees.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0

Asked by
Dallas, TX
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 21, 2016
Answer: 
the crown i have style 8659 is 38/52 and the way I installed the spring angle is 38.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Topeka, KS
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
February 24, 2016
Answer: 
45 degrees, currently using this molding in my house.
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
 
3 answers

How much would I need to do a house 2831 sq feet?

This question is from 3/4 in. x 4-1/2 in. x 8 ft. MDF Crown Moulding
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
January 8, 2016
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (3)

Asked by
Dallas, TX
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 21, 2016
Answer: 
i would measure each room and then calculate the number of pieces needed. i doubt every room in the house would take crown but a room by room approach is how I would tackle the quantity of product needed.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
January 31, 2016
Answer: 
You need to know the linear measurements, which measures just the perimeter of the room. In order to do this divide the square footage by 2.1. The square footage measures the area of a room. I hope this helps.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
January 13, 2016
Answer: 
It depends on the perimeter of each individual room where you want to install it, not the square foot of the house.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (2)

April 22, 2016
Answer: 
Caseydalpal - that's NOT what I'm asking about. I'm aski g about the molding that's in the picture of someone's home not the HD photos! I can clearly see that the HD photos are a front and side profile.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Dallas, TX
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 21, 2016
Answer: 
one view is of the profile of the moulding ... a end or side view and the other is a straight on or front view. just one moulding.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
 
2 answers

how much would I need to cover 400sq.ft?

This question is from 3/4 in. x 4-1/2 in. x 8 ft. MDF Crown Moulding
Asked by
Read all my Q&A
October 21, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers (2)

Asked by
Dallas, TX
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 21, 2016
Answer: 
depends somewhat on the shape of the room ... a square room that is 20 x 20 I would buy 12 pieces ... you might get by with less but at least 10 pieces. again the room shape will make some difference.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Asked by
Read all my Q&A
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
November 12, 2015
Answer: 
For a 400sq foot hallway measuring 4 feet by 100 feet, you would need one run for each 100 ft wall and one run for each 4 foot wall, or 208 linear feet. If your room is a 20'x20' square, you would need 4x20=80 linear feet. The amount you need depends on the lengths of wall or cabinet where you plan to install it. Add up all those lengths, making sure to add in any protrusions and overage (maybe 10%?), Read More
For a 400sq foot hallway measuring 4 feet by 100 feet, you would need one run for each 100 ft wall and one run for each 4 foot wall, or 208 linear feet. If your room is a 20'x20' square, you would need 4x20=80 linear feet. The amount you need depends on the lengths of wall or cabinet where you plan to install it. Add up all those lengths, making sure to add in any protrusions and overage (maybe 10%?), and then divide that footage by 8 to determine how many pieces you will need. Round up to the next whole piece. It can be quite complicated depending on your layout, so if you aren't good at math or visualizing how this will fit together, you might want to ask somebody you know or a contractor to help you out. Read Less
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
2 »
  • 2016-08-25 T12:39:27.584-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_202087579, prod, sort_default
2 »
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 152ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 29 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by this crownmolding its amazing I love this product look like real wood its not diferent.. April 12, 2016
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by crown molding Looks great.I ordered more for the rest of the house good price for good quality.but first time the order came damage.I return it and ordered more.the second one was perfect April 3, 2016
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Classic looking Good price, seems well build, classic looking,east installation but much heavier than MDF products, arrived 3/10 damaged otherwise it would been five stars. March 9, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by High Quality Molding Excellent quality. Profile is sharp and paint finish is quite smooth, unlike many MDF primed moldings. February 23, 2016
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Overall, good product for painted applications The crown moulding was a great choice for our application. We used this to trim the sides of ceiling beams, and painted the ceiling white. The final effect looks fantastic. The only problem was a ripple in the surface of a couple of pieces over a span of about 3 inches. It's not terribly noticable becasue those pieces were used in the high spot of a vault, but something you may want to check for when selecting your pieces. For painted applications, the MDF composite is a great alternative to natural wood to maintain a stable finished look. April 25, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Really Like It I really liked the design of the moulding. It was nice to be able to order it and have it delivered. Some of the pieces had some slight wear on the corners, but absolutely useable. There was one piece that was damaged enough that I took it in to Home Depot to exchange. After looking through what they had at the store, I felt like overall the pieces I had received were in better shape than the ones at the store. January 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great detail! I loved this crown molding. It looks great on our tall ceilings. The only downside is the some of the pieces were defective, they had a few bumps on the finish. February 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great product Have used this product before. Quality is excellent. Easy to install. Arrives in 8 ft. sections and in a timely manner. No complaints. April 2, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Easy to install, damaged during delivery I had to order this product because it is not stocked in my store. When I opened the package at the homeowners residence I found that two of the pieces were damaged in transit. Both of the pieces were in the bottom of the packing box and had two different damaged areas about 26 inches apart. Luckily, I could use one of the smaller sections on a long wall. I had to order one new piece to replace the other damaged item, because I needed a length of 87". This delay has cost me more money and meant I did not get paid by the homeowner. I actually took the damaged piece back to my Home Depot, but was unable to receive a refund since it was a special order. February 17, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very good product . Easy to install - i used triangular slats cut from 2x4's that go up first and allow easy nailing of the crown into solid wood - This also keeps the angle with ceiling and wall consistent. Excellent finish on the product. August 4, 2015
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by We really like it I would have given it 5 stars if there was a really nice end cap available. We have several rooms where the walls end in a way that the ends would be exposed and we don't want that. The quality, appearance and price are excellent. June 23, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great altertnative to hardwood molding Purchased "Hard rock Maple" molding with new kitchen cabinets & wanted to finish off rest of kitchen with cheaper and much easer to work with molding. Looks great and very happy! June 2, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent product Arrived in perfect shape. Shipped within 5 days of ordering. March 3, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic This was by far one of the best improvement purchases that I could have made. I am very satisfied, the delivery was prompt, nothing was damaged at all and the improvement is so unbelievable great. Installed a nailer underneath because of concrete structure (caused nails to bend when nailed at an angle) January 6, 2015
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by crown molding The crown molding was in good condition when I received my order and the order was on time. And it looks great December 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Value Some of the ends were slightly damaged but overall this product was great for the value. We used it to finish off our kitchen and it really added a nice finishing touch. We're ordering more to continue into the great room. It stands along well. October 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Room Elegance You will love this crown moulding for your room. The detail creates an elegant ceiling. September 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great price and delivered for free to my front door! This moulding really add a nice touch to your home. It's a little tricky to install because of the cuts you have to make. Be prepared to caulk small gaps due to uneven walls and ceiling. The one disapointment was that two damaged pieces were shipped in the box. I am supposed to take them back to the local Home Depot which is fine, however they should have never been placed in the box (they could not have been damaged in transit). January 27, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Got molding super fast and in good condition. I recieved the molding very fast via UPS. It had a few little chips on the end but was in very good shape overall. The only recomendation I would have is to consider ordering it in 12ft or 16ft lengths so you will not have to make as many splices. June 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very pretty in my bathroom. It's nice, I was concerned that it was bent when I got it, but that wasn't a problem. Glad I went with this product. October 29, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful after painted The speed of delivery was fantastic but over all I was dissapointed in the quality of the product. There were 25 individual 8' sections in two boxes and approximately 7 of them had damage to atleast the last 1' of them. Had to remove the last foot from the damaged pieces. January 10, 2012
  • 2016-08-27 T14:09:34.616-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_29, tr_29
  • loc_en_US, sid_202087579, prod, sort_default
<<2
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 101ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT